Hamann kit for the F01 BMW 7-Series

Hamann F01

Once I was driving around town and saw an E39 5-Series with a long horizontal strip of LED daytime running lights, one strip on each side of the bumper. I later found out that these long strips of LEDs were available from accessory shops and you could put them on anywhere on the car you want. These horizontal strips of lights have become so popular (by Audi) that even Mercedes-Benz, and Porsche have implemented them. And now it comes to BMW via a namebrand bodykit, thanks to Hamann.

The Hamann bodykit for the F01 and F02 BMW 7-Series features a short strip of daytime running lights integrated into the front bumper. The rest of the bodykit does well to make the car seem more dynamic and aggressive, including a roof spoiler and some mean-looking quad tailpipes with 90mm diameter outlets. The Hamann side skirts are only for the short wheelbase F01.

Hamann F01

The 730d and 740i receive 4 new springs which lower the car’s centre of gravity at the front and rear axles by 40mm each, while the 750i and 750Li gets a set with 2 new springs and an “evening kit” – I’m not entirely sure what that is. Wheels are 22 inchers wrapped with 265/30ZR22 tyres at the front axle and 295/25ZR22 tyres at the rear axle.

Hamann has also thrown in some engine tuning for the 730d. The single turbo alumininum crank turbodiesel engine gets its 245hp power upped by another 45, and Hamann says this is just the first stage.

Look after the jump for a full image gallery.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=288]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ignas on May 19, 2009 at 7:40 pm

looks dated…typical Hamann..zzZZzzZZzz…

• nabill on May 19, 2009 at 8:02 pm

looks awesome , bt i stil dont like the front…cant get used to it…those monster wheels are larger than life !

• bangkhai on May 19, 2009 at 9:35 pm

like ah beng car..

• Calvin De La Rosa on May 19, 2009 at 10:24 pm

I pretty much doubt, Malaysian who can afford the new 7 series will do that to their car…

• B33tL3S on May 19, 2009 at 10:27 pm

WOW!!

headlamp look like GEN 2 @ PERSONA!!

Can use the bumper in PERSONA? sure HOT!!

• gangully on May 19, 2009 at 10:41 pm

As with any bmw nowadays, pictures do not do it any justice and it grows on you. An i have to say, seeing one almost every other day has made the look grow on me too!

but i think Hamman has taken it one step in the wrong direction… especially those rear wings!

• lonlonjp on May 19, 2009 at 11:07 pm

B33tL3S- Dream on. Gen 2? Are you absent minded or what?

nabill- you'll get used to it one day. Just like you get used to the e60 5 series when it 1st came out!

Calvin De La Rosa – Totally agree with you. So far, i only saw 2 new 7 series on the road.

Hmmm Hanmann 7 or S600 AMG? Anyoone?

• azrai on May 19, 2009 at 11:40 pm

Since the swine flu swept the earth, the nose of this BMW also noted swine elements.

• MyviKiller on May 19, 2009 at 11:44 pm

What a pair of big nostrills…

• haha, everyone is imitating Audi's Daytime LEDs.

it wont be long before you see the japanese adopt it too.(GTR already has it) then slowly they will make their way to cars in the lower segments, so probably in anther 5-10 years. led lights will be commonplace. yeah.

• MyviKiller on May 20, 2009 at 2:59 am

[quote comment="239662"]WOW!!

headlamp look like GEN 2 @ PERSONA!!

Can use the bumper in PERSONA? sure HOT!![/quote]

Soon we'll see the big nosed Persona on our roads.

• mystvearn on May 20, 2009 at 3:19 am

abit ah beng la. Also why soup up an executive-limo car? Should be the 1, 3,5,6 series.

• prefer the front bumper for my waja…haha the rear light already the bmw 'led wing' type…but the front light can make it to the persona what…

• mitlanevo on May 20, 2009 at 4:46 am

rear wing and oversized wheels spoiled everything… 20" should be enough….

and i think matte black will be better……

• mkrafz on May 20, 2009 at 6:37 am

if u look closely the headlamp…

it does not fit very well…

are you sure this is from Hamann..?

as far i concern, Hamann is very strict in quality builds…

• number6 on May 20, 2009 at 7:19 am

cheapish bling bling look, not that its low on quality though, or is it??[quote comment="239792"]if u look closely the headlamp…

as far i concern, Hamann is very strict in quality builds…[/quote]

yeah, noted…apalah, dat day saw couple of lambos at time square, most ppl din realise, but got water trapped in the tail lamps of one of the gallardos

• mohdjiman on May 20, 2009 at 8:38 am

Nothing Cheap from Hamann

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 20, 2009 at 4:58 pm

[quote comment="239792"]if u look closely the headlamp…

its not a fitting issue.. its part of the design of the bumper. the original car is exactly the same.

and personally, i see nothing "bling" about this car.. its typical euro mods.. low key and understated. the body kit is subtle, and the rims are not even chrome.. how can it be called "bling" or "ah beng"???

• aksMs on May 21, 2009 at 4:09 am

[quote comment="239921"][quote comment="239792"]if u look closely the headlamp…

its not a fitting issue.. its part of the design of the bumper. the original car is exactly the same.

and personally, i see nothing "bling" about this car.. its typical euro mods.. low key and understated. the body kit is subtle, and the rims are not even chrome.. how can it be called "bling" or "ah beng"???[/quote]

Low key and understated. Those are the words I've been looking for. Simple but yet gives an impact to the outlook and ecstatic. Locally, it's a rare sight. Fuck the design. Business comes first. We have been fed with mediocre aftermarket fibre glass seller. Oh well…..

Btw, I heard that someone who just bought this new 7 here already had to send the car in for parts replacement. I repeat, PARTS. I bet it didnt even clock 10k miles on its mileage. Unlucky owner. So much for German marquee. Heheh…

• fuyiopo on May 21, 2009 at 9:58 am

-CSV

Actually audi's LED is inspired by the e60 5 series eyebrow( which the orange in colour). Audi just put the led at the bottom, which looks nice as well. As far as i know, BMW is the 1st car manufacturer who puts LED lights as a decorative at the front lights. So as far as i concern, others are inspired by BMW, not audi.

• Not talking bout the brilliant engine yet only from the aesthetic view, seriously, i really couldn't see any sports DNA from the exterior. Especially that rear really looks old school (outdated). Is there anyone feels the same?

• It's like the car's being torn in two:

The lower half has this conservative, if unexciting, bodykit that's pretty meh.

Then, the upper half has these chav spoilers threatening to rip the top off.

And the wheels? I like them simple, and won't look further than Radial-spoke 252s.

• fuyiopo on May 22, 2009 at 7:57 am

Honest talk, this car is too big to be sporty=.=

• master of designer on Jun 03, 2009 at 10:05 am

again,again n again…

why bmw creat a bad design of the back view??

7 series should be a nice looking car that have a goodloking car..

it dosent go like that…the front should be more aggresive.. it must have a sharp end but it dosent.. but it is people want it to be that way it ok..

back design is kind of sport.. but it look simply and pimple.. why not just creat a simply design but superb..

overall 4/10

bmw always can try again