Chevrolet Captiva 7-seater SUV updated in Malaysia with new features!

Captiva

The Chevrolet Captiva is an interesting and good looking alternative to the regular Honda CR-V and the aging Nissan X-Trail that people usually opt for when they look for an SUV under RM200,000. In fact, the Captiva is Hicom-Chevrolet’s best-seller and it’s refreshing that a company has been offering a turbodiesel variant for people to enjoy diesel power in a more family-friendly format without resorting to driving a pick-up truck.

There are various versions of the 7-seater (third row folds flat) Captiva available and the highlight is the top of the line Captiva Diesel with all-wheel drive. The 2.0 litre engine produces 150 horsepower at 5,000rpm but the really nice thing is it has 320Nm of torque from 2,000rpm for an effortless drive around town, no need to rev the engine to get good momentum.

Even the 2.4L petrol is tuned for very good torque – horsepower is low at 136hp for a 2.4L engine but it is a compromise in order to get 220Nm at only 2,200rpm. Both engines are mated to a 5-speed auto.

Chevrolet Captiva

The Diesel version gets beige leather upholstery as standard, an 8-speaker sound system with MP3, USB and Bluetooth Audio support, ESP stability control with Active Rollover Protection, Hill Descent Control, and Traction Control.

Safety features for all Captivas include dual front airbags, ABS, disc brakes on all wheels and ISOFIX child seat points for the second row, which is something that certain car manufacturers think Malaysians do not know how to use or perhaps do not deserve, but if you don’t have the points in the first place how are people going to learn?

The first 50 customers will also get a holiday package to a resort at Lake Kenyir, a GPS navigation system and a rear view camera which is mounted cleanly on the rear bumper. The GPS map is customised with the locations of Chevrolet dealers nationwide.

Chevrolet Captiva

The following are the prices for the new Captiva. The top of the range is the 2.0L AWD Diesel with beige interior, this is the model with all the goodies and safety features. All prices are OTR with insurance.

Chevrolet Captiva 2.4L AWD Petrol (Beige Interior) RM 150,306.20
Chevrolet Captiva 2.0L AWD Diesel (Beige Interior) RM 161,442.30
Chevrolet Captiva 2.4L AWD Petrol (Grey Interior) RM 151,332.20
Chevrolet Captiva 2.4L FWD Petrol (Grey Interior) RM 143,124.20
Chevrolet Captiva 2.0L FWD Diesel (Grey Interior) RM 150,982.30

There are two accessory packages available for you to add-on. One is the Captiva Sporty Package which includes a Front Bumper Guard, Black Chrome Bezel headlamps, Side Steps, Chrome Wind Deflector and Clear Chrome Rear Lamps for RM 7,700.

The other is the Captiva Elegant Package which includes the Molding Package, Black Chrome Bezel Headlamps, Side Steps, Chrome Wind Deflector and Clear Chrome Rear Lamps for RM 6,800.

VIDEO: Chevrolet Captiva

This is the pre-facelift version though… but I could not find any videos of the updated model so please enjoy this video produced by GM to promote the Captiva.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BravoMan on May 26, 2009 at 12:29 am

1sttt !! whoa..

BEAUTIFOOL

can get all 4 babes if i but that car? hehe..

• KitKat on May 26, 2009 at 12:46 am

[quote comment="241152"]1sttt !! whoa..

BEAUTIFOOL

can get all 4 babes if i but that car? hehe..[/quote]

and a dude?

• KitKat on May 26, 2009 at 12:47 am

Isn't that the Indian girl one of the contestants for Malaysian Dream Girl?

• Paul Tan on May 26, 2009 at 1:00 am

All the girls are from Malaysian Dream Girl. Chevrolet sponsored season 2.

• fauzi on May 26, 2009 at 1:46 am

what a lucky guys is he,can see from his face.(being with these 4 babes) .but pitty him only can touch the car.

• secrets on May 26, 2009 at 2:07 am

can it transform? :P

• JULIAN_LEE on May 26, 2009 at 2:32 am

BMW X5 nicer

• linebackerU on May 26, 2009 at 2:34 am

i bet it sucks gas like water

• linebackerU on May 26, 2009 at 2:35 am

what an attractive package for rm150k suv

• mystvearn on May 26, 2009 at 2:49 am

Good to report, video does not hang!

Not sure if this is a one off as no one likes MPV's or just my luck.

I am not sure this will sell a lot or even dent Honda's dominance.

GM is going bust right, would you buy their product? Well going bust just to restructure is about the same right. Same thing happen with Rover Malaysia. Released new models, parent company says we cannot make cars anymore.

• theanswer on May 26, 2009 at 3:38 am

[quote comment="241179"]BMW X5 nicer[/quote]

agree! but then if only u can get a new bmw x5 with rm150k…tell us all if u can get it at that price.

the price and specs kinda worth it than crv..considering the amount of torque that we get.

• Bebelon on May 26, 2009 at 3:46 am

I think we should compare this car with Hyundai Santa Fe, Toyota Fortuner, and Sanggyong Rexton. However, this car still stand up compare with its competitors, both in term of pricing and features.It is not fair to make comparison with CRV or X trail although they are in the same price range.

• Any air cond vent in 2nd or 3rd rows??

• Nutty on May 26, 2009 at 3:56 am

[quote comment="241192"][quote comment="241179"]BMW X5 nicer[/quote]

agree! but then if only u can get a new bmw x5 with rm150k…tell us all if u can get it at that price.

the price and specs kinda worth it than crv..considering the amount of torque that we get.[/quote]

Agree with you! :P

• uh huhuh..

with this price….

i prefer civic 2.0 type R..

or marry with all 4 babes.. the hehe..

anyway.. the interior look luxurious… nice..

• you a-hole on May 26, 2009 at 4:27 am

[quote comment="241179"]BMW X5 nicer[/quote]

how the f do u compare this with an X5?

• bugbear1986 on May 26, 2009 at 5:17 am

how come all the models looks kinda……

underage… lolz…

• turboKEV on May 26, 2009 at 5:25 am

[quote comment="241206"]uh huhuh..

with this price….

i prefer civic 2.0 type R..

or marry with all 4 babes.. the hehe..

anyway.. the interior look luxurious… nice..[/quote]

how the F u compare with Civir Type R? two different segment, some more type R is about 200k..

• edwindudley2003 on May 26, 2009 at 5:44 am

solid suv, only drawback would be its resale value.

• arent the girls all from malaysia dream girl contest?

• [quote comment="241201"][quote comment="241192"][quote comment="241179"]BMW X5 nicer[/quote]

the price and specs kinda worth it than crv..considering the amount of torque that we get.[/quote]

Agree with you! :P[/quote]

rm150k not really, more like rm165k if you migrate to USA. X5 xDrive30i starting at USD$47.5k

• Littlefire on May 26, 2009 at 5:58 am

I just saw an Inokom Santa Fe with this SUV on the road…

This SUV look nice in white and on the road… but still looking at the size & performance Inokom Santa Fe seems got a bit more Umh.. I think maybe due to the 2.2L diesel.

If Inokom Santa Fe change the logo into Hyudai logo, i think it will sell even more!

• mohdjiman on May 26, 2009 at 6:59 am

This car have VIP parking at big shopping mall…hmmm

• sutheshkumar on May 26, 2009 at 7:18 am

[quote comment="241221"]I just saw an Inokom Santa Fe with this SUV on the road…

This SUV look nice in white and on the road… but still looking at the size & performance Inokom Santa Fe seems got a bit more Umh.. I think maybe due to the 2.2L diesel.

If Inokom Santa Fe change the logo into Hyudai logo, i think it will sell even more![/quote]

you can actually request for the logo change in hyundai. i remembered a salesgirl told me about it once in a KL roadshow.

and what exactly they have updated besides a beige interior?

• punisher on May 26, 2009 at 7:19 am

buy@ 150/160k after 6 mths only fetch 50-70k……..so much so if its not toyota or HONDA,,,,,,,,,

• WhatGoons on May 26, 2009 at 8:34 am

This 'updated' Captiva they are selling…. It's not the facelift model, right?

This is what the facelift looks like:
    http://www.captivians.com/CAPTIVIANS.COM/News/Ent…

• Paul Tan on May 26, 2009 at 8:48 am

Look at the first photo in this story, isn't it the same as the Captivians link?

• asraf on May 26, 2009 at 5:32 pm

bro paul..

wat about its reliability? logistic support? i mean its maintenance, servicing and parts. is it costly to maintain the korean suv compare to japs suv?

• nice and with full accesories….job well done…i wonder will they be a sub 200k 4wd(diesel n petrol) comparison in near future…. crv vs captiva vs rav4 vs fortuner dan lain lain……the chevy badge is really something……r they bringing in the colorado version of the local isuzu dmax in?…..looks more ganas!…..hahaha…..

• k_man on May 26, 2009 at 9:51 pm

looking fwd to compare this wit the pajero sport 7seater

• King Samurai on May 26, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Went to the showroom at Fed Hiway (Cergazam)…pretty impressive with lots of goodies compare to the boring (too many on the road) odd-like CR-V. But a bit pricey for a 2.0L diesel korean car made in Tomyum land…if cbu korea might be acceptable for RM160k price tag. The beige interior also a bit let down though it looks more roomy compare to the 08 model where its all black inside…It may entice potential buyers but what about the resale value??That's what makes me think twice before to pen down signature and flushing off the booking fees…

• cl_qwertyuiop on May 26, 2009 at 9:55 pm

No cruise control? What a let down. Really like this car though.

• King Samurai on May 26, 2009 at 11:14 pm

[quote comment="241361"]No cruise control? What a let down. Really like this car though.[/quote]

Bro, cruise control ada….now can get free navi and reverse camera oso..buying time very tempting..but selling time..very 'sakit'ing.

• Annihilated on May 27, 2009 at 1:54 am

The car look ok. The goodies are attractive.

BTW, those are the dream girls? Well, not that much to dream at all. *just to my cents – please don't comment my comment*. Even Captiva is more attractive. ;)

• Annihilated on May 27, 2009 at 1:55 am

The cars look ok. The goodies are attractive.

BTW, those are the dream girls? Well, not that much to dream at all. *just to my cents – please don’t comment my comment*. Even Captiva is more attractive. ;)

• roti naan1 on May 27, 2009 at 3:07 am

very nice. i mean the girls only….

• WhatGoons on May 27, 2009 at 5:43 am

[quote comment="241248"]Look at the first photo in this story, isn't it the same as the Captivians link?[/quote]

How is the first photo in your story the facelifted Captiva? No chrome grille, no chrome foglight inserts.

• Paul Tan on May 27, 2009 at 5:58 am

[quote comment="241409"][quote comment="241248"]Look at the first photo in this story, isn't it the same as the Captivians link?[/quote]

How is the first photo in your story the facelifted Captiva? No chrome grille, no chrome foglight inserts.[/quote]

You're right, those are missing in the first photo of this story. I just checked my email for the Captiva release sent by their PR company and it had another "live" photo from the event sent to me featured another Captiva and it had the chrome on the grille and foglamps that you mentioned.

Here's the photo in high res which I've uploaded:

http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/962/mrsanjeevg…

I am not sure why there are two… I suspect there are actually two variations of the front grille now?

Also, the Captivians link did mention new chrome for the rear lenses but it turns out the chrome rear lense is part of the two "Elegant" and "Sporty" package which cost extra.

• Paul Tan on May 27, 2009 at 6:21 am

I've updated the first photo and moved the other photo down.

• WhatGoons on May 27, 2009 at 8:57 am

[quote comment="241417"]

You're right, those are missing in the first photo of this story. I just checked my email for the Captiva release sent by their PR company and it had another "live" photo from the event sent to me featured another Captiva and it had the chrome on the grille and foglamps that you mentioned.

Here's the photo in high res which I've uploaded:

http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/962/mrsanjeevg…

I am not sure why there are two… I suspect there are actually two variations of the front grille now?

Also, the Captivians link did mention new chrome for the rear lenses but it turns out the chrome rear lense is part of the two "Elegant" and "Sporty" package which cost extra.[/quote]

OK, so this is confusing. Chevy is selling both the pre-facelift and facelifted Captivas together?

• Paul Tan on May 27, 2009 at 10:06 am

One thing we can learn is that chicks tend to flock around the old Captiva more? Haha

• Black Dog on May 27, 2009 at 1:21 pm

I think they are selling the facelifted & pre-facelifted models together 'cos they still have plenty of stock for the old model. Actually, as early as last month, they have just finished selling of their 2008 models (with discount given).

• GM in US actually not really busted, yet. The sales in SEA is still continuing as currently the assembly plant is in Thailand. There's a nego between Daewoo and GM Australia to focus a plant in Shanghai, which means Thailand plant will only produce small amount of Chevy cars while Shanghai will do the rest and export it back to Korea, Thailand, M'sia and Australia.

There's also plan to centralise the sales and service back here in M'sia by channel it to Cergazam Sdn Bhd, which is currently the biggest dealer for Hicom.

Cergazam Sdn Bhd is selling all 2009 models and they no longer have any 2008 stock. They are also currently the sole dealer for Hummer in Malaysia. For those who owed a SAAB, Cergazam can do the servicing of your car there with original parts.

I have personally tested the vehicle (2.0 Diesel) by taking it for a spin to Penang and Kuantan (for fishing trip). The car handling is smooth and solid and sufficient power to carry 5 adults with luggage. Even my trip to Kuantan was a supprise because there were 3 of us with ice box (50Q ice box) and other fishing equipments, overtaking was effortless. Althought the diesel price and petrol price in M'sia is not much difference, but I guess this is a superb deal for those who travel outstation alot and a full tank can easily take you for a 600KM ride.

• Anuar on Jan 20, 2011 at 7:36 pm

May I know if chevrolet captiva model engine is made up from Daewoo or GM? Because too many story version I heard from the respective dealer.. TQ.

• How much is the full tank for the 2.0awd diesel?..