New Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V with Dual VVT-i engine introduced in the ASEAN market!

Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V

Toyota has added a 2.0 litre variant with sporty intentions to the Toyota Corolla Altis in Thailand and Indonesia called the 2.0V. It even has a new sportier mesh grille to complement the new more powerful engine under the hood.

Under the hood of this updated Altis is the 3ZR-FE which has Dual VVT-i which means variable valves on both the intake and exhaust. While more modern than the 1AZ-FE VVT-i found in the Camry, it’s still not the top of the range 2.0 litre from Toyota as the current crown is held by the 158 PS 3ZR-FAE with Valvematic continuous valve lift control, eliminating the need for a throttle butterfly.

The 3ZR-FE in the Altis 2.0V is tuned differently in different countries. In Indonesia it produces 152 PS at 5,600rpm and 21.2 kgm (I used a calculator and this translates to a whopping 208Nm!) of torque at 4,400rpm.

Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V

That’s actually some pretty impressive torque figures for a 2.0 litre engine as all of its competitors only produce roughly between 190Nm to 200Nm. In Thailand and Philippines the engine is somewhat detuned, producing only 141 PS at 5,600rpm and a more sedate 189Nm of torque at 4,400rpm.

What you’ll notice immediately when it comes to transmission is the addition of paddle shifts, but there are more changes underneath. The Altis 2.0V’s gear ratios are completely different from the 1.8 litre version. The Altis 1.8 gear ratios are 2.847, 1.552, and 1.000 for the first three gears and an overdrive of 0.700 with a final drive of 4.237, but the 2.0V uses revised ratios of 3.943, 2.197, 1.413 and finally a fourth gear ratio of 1.020 with no overdrive gear. But to make up for the new ratios, the final drive has been changed to 2.923.

Look after the jump for a photo gallery of the new Altis 2.0V.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=308]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• michael on May 31, 2009 at 7:04 am

will it available in Malaysia?! any news about latest toyota prius in malaysia?

• wormie on May 31, 2009 at 7:07 am

what's the price like?

• Littlefire on May 31, 2009 at 7:23 am

This model have been long due.. It have been in Japan for a few years already.. But in 1.5L Dual VVT-i version.

Well is time to challenge the Civic 2.0s, Lancer 2.0 GT and also sylphy 2.0.

But how about the price?!? If not mistaken the T. Altis 1.8G almost the same as Civic 2.0S.. Just a few thousand i think..

• roti naan1 on May 31, 2009 at 7:39 am

is it just me that I'm seeing this new Altis that looks similar to the Dugong Vios?

• [quote comment="242154"]is it just me that I'm seeing this new Altis that looks similar to the Dugong Vios?[/quote]

————

My oh My…

Dugong Concept applied to Altis…

huh..economy is not good, so to cut cost..maybe this is the best way..

• Leseid Obrut on May 31, 2009 at 7:49 am

4-speed? Faux wood fascias? Wow…I'm breathless…

• San Peng Road on May 31, 2009 at 7:55 am

Jimat old tak ini kereta?

• theanswer on May 31, 2009 at 7:59 am

at last..dual vvti…but how abt the perice? unless umw revise the price for 1.8..sure it can compete with civic,sylphy and lancer..the 4 speed tranny? naah…just drive the car..later on we'll accept for what it is.

• Perhaps, only UNCLE will buy this car. I'll love to have if they bring TOD with this engine or even 1.6 but with much cheaper pricetag.

• kaskusaja on May 31, 2009 at 8:10 am

its already availaible in indonesia

• superman_stephen on May 31, 2009 at 8:35 am

Hmmm…. Black looks hot !!

• Gajen on May 31, 2009 at 8:36 am

very plain…a car tht does the job and last for a very long time…thats all…

• infinity on May 31, 2009 at 9:12 am

a bit out topic…i still cant get the meaning of final drive in a transmission..i understand the normal gear ratios..

i would highly appreciate if anyone can explain in layman term..haha

thanks!!

• TheGunner on May 31, 2009 at 9:47 am

No overdrive?

• plz give us 5 speed auto…toyota….u can do it in other regions…y not here?..

• Paul Tan on May 31, 2009 at 10:02 am

Even though there is no overdrive, highway speed RPM should be low because of the final drive that compensates.

• VTECkiller on May 31, 2009 at 10:24 am

[quote comment="242153"]This model have been long due.. It have been in Japan for a few years already.. But in 1.5L Dual VVT-i version.

But how about the price?!? If not mistaken the T. Altis 1.8G almost the same as Civic 2.0S.. Just a few thousand i think..[/quote]

i thought T.Altis most expensive was around 120k..which was actually near Civic 1.8 and Lancer 2.0GT.. Where Civic 2.0 was should be place around 130k? btw im in east msia..

• shoon1983 on May 31, 2009 at 10:57 am

a 2.0, but with 4 gear transmission. zzz

why the first picture shows manual aircon control, while other 2 pics shows automatic climate control?

• CocoBear on May 31, 2009 at 11:29 am

I guess, 20th century design is still acceptable by the majority.

• you can be sure that when it comes here, which i strongly believe it will, toyota will probably overprice it for the equipment it offers.

the altis 1,8 we have here is already pretty overpriced, compared to the offerings by Sylphy and Lancer. but of course, the badge appeal compensates for the so called "standard" offerings.

to really sell, i guess toyota can lower the price of the 1.8 to a more "realistic" level.

• Calvin De La Rosa on May 31, 2009 at 12:12 pm

Toyota is getting lazy and complacent with thte exterior design… other asia(n) automakers should capitalized on this.

• turboKEV on May 31, 2009 at 12:32 pm

[quote comment="242186"]you can be sure that when it comes here, which i strongly believe it will, toyota will probably overprice it for the equipment it offers.

the altis 1,8 we have here is already pretty overpriced, compared to the offerings by Sylphy and Lancer. but of course, the badge appeal compensates for the so called "standard" offerings.

to really sell, i guess toyota can lower the price of the 1.8 to a more "realistic" level.[/quote]

AGREE, toyota & Honda malaysia are both smart!!!!!! what they have been offer are over price!! Their cars are not CBU but CKD..rite? but their salesman will never mentioned that word!

Y would nissan, mitsubishi, or even Peugeot can offer better pricing (comparing the same class)?? sure it is not their cars are cheaper. (just check thru the oversea car magz price list.e.g taiwan,HK…)

Simply bcos T & H, their cars can sell by itself here in malaysia! and this two 'giant' somehow i feel they have mutual aggrement?? they never compete with each other.. just let the customer choose, becos when ppl reach the stage to upgrade or grown up from local P1P2…the choice is always either Toyota or Honda

that's why what we get from T&H is always "empty" (in term of features, accessories!) i saw a lot of Civic and Altis in HK, China they all have sunroof)

Imagine, if Honda start to offer their Civic with MoonRoof or Leather Seat as standard specs, wat would Toyota react? will toyota just sit there doing nothing??

Once they compete more, the customer get more, and customer win..but now the fact is they win, they are the winner!!

Hey guys, start to opt for other car now..currently they are many choices when coming to buy a car.. not like 10 years ago.

i really sick of whenever stopping at the traffic light, u can always count the same cars of T & H queuing up. Vios side by side, Civic side by side..camry side by side.. sometimes 2 or 3 generation of the same family together……….

• yup. something is really amiss here…. OLIGOPOLY !!

• i 120% support what u says>all malaysian only know honda or toyota brand>why not for other like ford focus 2.0,price only Rm:106k OTR

• Andrew on May 31, 2009 at 2:30 pm

Yawn… still a Toyota, not to mention a Corolla.

• ManUSellRonaldo on May 31, 2009 at 2:52 pm

IS that LCD touchscreen GPS & ICE integrated display? I wonder Toyota will include it for Malaysia Market?? Usually they just change to Kenwood or Blaupunkt Radio… He he he… Just Stop Dreaming Boys… UMW if FPOC (Full Profit Oriented Company).

• jamsbong on May 31, 2009 at 3:14 pm

I want this car in Australia as well. I always wonder why Corolla in Aus remained 1.8l when cars like Mitsubishi, Honda, Mazda, ford… and the lists goes on

They all have 2L engines… except the corolla.

• White Jack on May 31, 2009 at 4:22 pm

Whoaaa.. now uncle also become sporty :)

Ada paddle shift liao ! (flip 3 times already finish shifting.. wahaha)

• hi Paul, between Civic, Altis and Lancer, which model gives the best value for money?

• still a drawback compare to the upmarket honda civic

• i do agree with what turboKEV said though, but i think most car buyers concern about resale n trade-in value..

actually i'm planning to get a Lancer GT but i have received alot of same opinion that Mitsubishi has no resale value, expensive spare parts, etc etc etc…

• Yesterday my friend and his wife went to three dealerships, UMWT-Mitsu-Honda. He drove both the later and only sits inside the Altis 1.8 while telephone me. I said- You better test drive first before decide. He said-Nope thanks. From the interior design more than enough for me to judge this car. Simply too expensive for your hard-earned money and Toyota was too complacent to offer more for their prospects, even though l argued with him; the Altis feels better than the paper suggested in the real life.

Actually if many Altis' prospect share common feeling like my friend, UMWT will suffer. The only way now is; better better tranny with stop-start function to minimize gas usage and slightly lower. This taxi model simply expensive though inexpensive to maintain and very very reliable (as the result of older engine and tranny).

A much improved interior and amenities Altis1.6 should be less than RM95k; 1.8E not more than RM103k and 1.8G less than RM107k and 2.0 with dual VVTi TOD RM115k the most. Many will buy this Unclish car.

• mitlanevo on May 31, 2009 at 5:18 pm

huh?? NEW??? improvement????? just nothing new but the same old dull and boring Tor-tis…..

Civic and Lancer, anyday anytime :-)

• lazyf on May 31, 2009 at 6:29 pm

i'll put my money on facelift Civic 2.0 or Lancer GT 2.0… ;-)

• theanswer on May 31, 2009 at 7:16 pm

we mention lancer,sylphy and civic..but we forgot ford focus..less than 120k for 2.0 engine.

• Migrate to US and get a 3.0 BMW 328i for RM117k (USD $33,600), cheaper than RM120k. Go to bmwusa.com and check yourself. Engineers there make USD55k per year starting on average, can buy new BMW cash after 1 year working.

• altis 1.8

4th gear ratio x final drive

0.7 x 4.237= 2.966

20v

1.020 x 2.923= 2.9814

final gear cruising is more or less is in overdrive mode for both car.

2.966 and 2.981 is so close..

2.9 turn of the flywheel to produce one rev of tyre rotation.

• overpriced car

when it come here, we get outdated engine…

nice grill

• bonbon on May 31, 2009 at 9:54 pm

[quote comment="242153"]This model have been long due.. It have been in Japan for a few years already.. But in 1.5L Dual VVT-i version.

But how about the price?!? If not mistaken the T. Altis 1.8G almost the same as Civic 2.0S.. Just a few thousand i think..[/quote]

I don't think this would challange the civic 2.0.

if you notice civic were 5AT, whereas altis still on 4AT (4 gear automatic transmition).

So, i don't think this altis will sell well.

• Littlefire on May 31, 2009 at 11:09 pm

[quote comment="242276"][quote comment="242153"]This model have been long due.. It have been in Japan for a few years already.. But in 1.5L Dual VVT-i version.

if you notice civic were 5AT, whereas altis still on 4AT (4 gear automatic transmition).

So, i don't think this altis will sell well.[/quote]

But the sad truth that in Malaysia, anything start with Toyota sales like hot cake.. Even the Vios & Avanza spec sucks, still sell like pisang goreng also…

• Jake02 on Jun 01, 2009 at 12:32 am

That is even more disgusting than the Aus-market Corolla (same car as above).

FAKE-WOOD!!! 4-SPEED AUTO! HVAC AIR-CON( not climate-control for a lux model)

208Nm is not amazing at all! How about a 1.4 turbo Toyota? That would have abit more torque yet use alot less fuel!

• Srotong on Jun 01, 2009 at 12:56 am

Sheesh… dugong or not – this thing is totally designless, shapeless, amorphous and overpriced. Dun know how it handles but must be 'uncle-ish'. Can't compare between h-civic 2.0, m-lancer, different priorities. Maybe compare n-sylphy, if diehard japo. Any comments about korean stuff like k-optima or h-elantra or sonata? Yep, will take f-focus or p-407, if parts cheap.

• peYno on Jun 01, 2009 at 1:48 am

[quote comment="242286"][quote comment="242276"][quote comment="242153"]This model have been long due.. It have been in Japan for a few years already.. But in 1.5L Dual VVT-i version.

So, i don't think this altis will sell well.[/quote]

But the sad truth that in Malaysia, anything start with Toyota sales like hot cake.. Even the Vios & Avanza spec sucks, still sell like pisang goreng also…[/quote]

but time has changed now..

it might be true for the past 3-5 years ago..

but now malaysian smart oredi.. not simplty connned by T and H.. esp. T and H downgraded and for ASEAN market..hehe

• Buyers patience has limit they should aware about hard fact. The challenge: no obvious reason for them to reduce price while increasing amenities as demand still strong for H and T models. Only in Malaysia this thing prevail. WE, supposed to gradually reduce our car price before 2010 but nobody remember that in 2006 price higher than 2007 but after 2007 price never down but increase for Civic though a little.

• mitlanevo on Jun 01, 2009 at 6:06 am

[quote comment="242251"]we mention lancer,sylphy and civic..but we forgot ford focus..less than 120k for 2.0 engine.[/quote]

ya, i rather drive a focus, mazda 3 or 407, or even the old reliable sentra…

and pity the focus, very underrated, most malaysians don't appreciate….

• I bet even VW Golf with very reasonable price will not getting 'reasonable' acceptance by critical Malaysians.

• caseyc on Jun 01, 2009 at 6:44 am

Still using Torsion Beam set up for rear suspension? if so , very pricey and tyres worn off very fast.

• _xXx_ on Jun 01, 2009 at 7:12 am

advanced engine mated with dated gearbox…what a match. If mated with a 6MT, I place my order on the launch day

• Tan Tee Lim on Jun 01, 2009 at 8:25 am

Still a 4Gear auto? Sad!!

and with the wood trim, its hardly sporty… :(

• alldisc on Jun 01, 2009 at 8:28 am

[quote comment="242192"]

AGREE, toyota & Honda malaysia are both smart!!!!!! what they have been offer are over price!! Their cars are not CBU but CKD..rite? but their salesman will never mentioned that word!

..[/quote]

the new altis and camry are both CBU from thai. yaris from japan. rush from indonesia the only CKDs are vios, hiace, innova, fortuner and hilux. avanza is assembled at perodua sharing some colours with myvi/viva.

honda city is from thai. stream from japan. previous honda stream also from indonesia. jazz from japan

[quote comment="242150"]will it available in Malaysia?! any news about latest toyota prius in malaysia?[/quote] expect the 3rd gen prius to enter our market towards end of this year. a bit pricey though. [quote comment="242171"]No overdrive?[/quote] the fourth gear is an overdrive. overdrive means the gear ratio is below 1.000 for altis if not mistaken its 0.700. [quote comment="242276"] I don't think this would challange the civic 2.0. if you notice civic were 5AT, whereas altis still on 4AT (4 gear automatic transmition). So, i don't think this altis will sell well.[/quote] actually the altis power delivery is better than the the Honda due to the variable valve timing system is continuous. for Honda Civic it is not continuous but a 3 stage phasing (Low, Mid, High) therefore even with 4 speed the performance between Civic 1.8 and Altis 1.8 is not far off. Civic 1.8 is also a SOHC compare to DOHC in Altis. of course, for out and out performance, Civic has the edge.

• _xXx_ on Jun 01, 2009 at 9:15 am

[quote comment="242405"]…for Honda Civic it is not continuous but a 3 stage phasing (Low, Mid, High)…..[/quote]

sure or not but nevertheless it's better than potong's campro, low and high only….

• Bodow on Jun 01, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Wow !!Cousts Mamammoth furniture wood lost and found in Altis …. Where's glass table glass …Ohh they use it for the front and rear windows ….where's the table pedestal …Ohh it's used for the gear knob lever .

• But think the best 2.0 is mitsubishi Lancer since it is imported from Japan. I do found the CKD Civic 2.0 quality still not that good compare to Civic CKD in US. I think this is good, more choice to Malaysia buyer, but one thing sure, the car in Malaysia is still so much expensive compare to other countries.

Hope we can start enjoy cheaper car in recent years…hope…

• this would new traffic light winner. =D

• intermilan on Jun 01, 2009 at 6:20 pm

all the power and torque but ride n handling macam bawak sampan tengah2 laut china selatan buat apa?

• carperson on Jun 01, 2009 at 7:12 pm

you people will always.. always.. condemning toyota..

especially honda and local car owners..

honda cars have 5 gears so it is better?

bollocks.

so if toyota comes out with 6 gears then it becomes better?

Mazdas has 7 gears so mazdas are better?

cmon design of cars are a matter of taste..

i love the civic design but hate the city design..

some of you guys are being intentionally dense or are naturally dense..when it comes to this department

for those who wants to get cheap cars, migrate or whatever..

there are already too many cars on the road today.. lowering the prices will only make things worst..

i thought altis is ugly but thats just my opinion..

but you can never fault japanese cars reliability and efficiency..

others? i am not too sure..

• apehal tetibe ade kayu?..

• the ultimate uncle – car .

only old ppl that like old tech and old design will buy this car .

• they should not call this car toyota altis …..should be called toyota antique…more suitable

• motberg on Jun 01, 2009 at 9:30 pm

the sad thing is, so many of you guys are totally unrealistic. sure, having so many gadgets and techno upgrades will surely make the Corolla so much more desirable…. heck man, I would sure like to have the full works i my car too! but this is real life and reality is different from fantasy. If it's based on fantasies, all cars on the road will have ABS, drilled carbon disc brakes, fully adjustable shocks, GPS, reverse cameras, 20 inch bling wheels, rear diffusers, leather seats, LED headlights, paddle shifters, etc, etc… but would you be able to afford it??

• A Ford 2.0 Sport is so much better specs than this, Ford provide first class service better than Toyota and Honda and Proton or even Perodua. Still not many people buying due to worry on resale value (which is silly, cars are not assets).

It has nothing to do with the specs i guess, more like over priced-complacent-uninspired-dated design by Toyota before this. In this case for Altis, it might not work with just the brand it self. And the built quality was not the top notch as well, have a ride in Macau taxis should give you more clue.

• peroempat on Jun 01, 2009 at 11:34 pm

[quote comment="242535"]the ultimate uncle – car .

only old ppl that like old tech and old design will buy this car .[/quote]

What really old tech? Google image yourself >>> axio gt <<<

• Paul Tan on Jun 02, 2009 at 1:15 am

Here are the specs for the Thai car.

Styling Ahead

>> Sporty front and rear apron plus side skirts and rear spoiler (2.0V Navi and 2.0V)

>> Unique sporty front grille (2.0 Navi and 2.0V)

>> HID headlamps with auto-leveling offers brighter lights and longer visibility during night driving (2.0 Navi and 2.0V)

>> 10-spoke 16-inch alloy wheels

>> Sporty front fog lamps for added safety

>> Eye-catching rear LED lights visible from long distance

Technology Ahead

High-tech interior equivalent to luxury cars

>> Touch-screen LCD navigation system allows you to reach destinations easily through GPS mapping plus Bluetooth mobile phone connectivity (2.0 Navi)

>> Three-spoke multi-function steering wheel with volume controls for the audio system and accept/hangup buttons for the mobile phone, offering high safety (2.0 Navi)

>> Cruise control maintains constant cruising speed with speed increase/decrease control without having to use the accelerator (2.0 Navi and 2.0V)

>> Push start button for increased convenience (2.0 Navi and 2.0V)

>> Smart Entry for automatic door unlocking with a touch of a button (2.0 Navi and 2.0V)

Comfort Ahead

Spacious interior for a comfortable journey

>> 4-way adjustable steering (height and reach) to match driver build

>> 8-way adjustable powered driver’s seat for the highest comfort level (2.0 Navi and 2.0V)

>> 60/40 split folding rear seat backrests for long objects while flat floor contribute to higher passenger comfort

>> Powered windows with jam protection on driver side

Safety Ahead

Outstanding safety standards help protect every life on board

>> GOA safety structure absorbs impact and reduces intensity from crash by dispersing forces to the body structure

>> Automatic headlights with automatic leveling turns on automatically as the vehicle moves into dark area and automatically adjusts headlight height according to the road inclination (2.0 Navi and 2.0V)

>> Rear spoiler with LED type third brake light for added safety (2.0 Navi and 2.0V)

>> Large 4-wheel disc brakes for shorter stopping distance, VSC (Vehicle Stability Control) helps maintain stability while cornering or on wet roads, TRC (Traction Control) prevents wheels from spinning (2.0 Navi and 2.0V)

>> ABS/EBD and BA (Brake Assist) for safe braking in every situation

>> Immobilizer key prevents the engine from being started if the ID code embedded in the key and that stored in the ECU does not match

>> SRS airbags prevents injury for the driver and front passenger during frontal impact

>> Front seatbelts with pretension and force limiters helps keep occupants in place and reduce injuries from impact

>> Five 3-point ELR seatbelts with pretension

>> Rearview camera helps provide safe and accurate reverse parking with video images on LCD screen (2.0 Navi)

>> WIL (Whiplash Injury Lessening) seats help reduce neck injury and upper back in rear-end crash

• fuckin fugly thing on torsion beam

sporty?

• wow….

nice HID lamps….

• Jimmy on Jun 03, 2009 at 6:49 am

I am not young but I will not buy this ugly looking 4-speed car. And I am not keen to buy Camry either although I can afford it unless the G-spec is 5-speed. The 2.4 variant is overpriced also. Better buy Accord.

• Wisdom on Jun 04, 2009 at 10:49 pm

As always people here condemn Toyota like hell in here but still Toyota leading the sales out there. Dont u guy do something real to stop this madness?

Haa i know u just throw all your hatred to Toyota here, just like how u clear your wet dream.

Come on wake up. Its not all about specs. Its the CAR as a whole.

What good a car with thousands pages of specs but end up rattling plus engine knocking 2 days out of showroom? – normal for Honda Civic. Go to their fanclub websites for a full list of problems.

What good a car that 'made in Japan' but end up with jerky CVT and steering vibrates when braking after few month old – happens to Lancer GT

Sylphy is smooth but they failed the thing that they so much advertised; the car ripples on uneven road? And that knocking steering seems to loud to live with.

While in the mean time Altis stays cool and boring. Thats good coz sometimes we need a boring car to get all the other job done!

• Gruv Docta on May 12, 2010 at 12:22 pm

Well Said. If Toyota is reali dat bad, thn it wud mean ther r alot of stupid ppl out ther in the world! Enuf said.

• here in the Philippines, that new Altis reigned the compact segment for some time. after all, Civic continued to lead the C-segment and still sells like hotcakes. the problem with this generation of Altis is that it is trying hard to match a luxury car even though it is meant for that kind.

• Terence on Jun 28, 2009 at 11:37 pm

hey guys, i'm so lucky that both honda civic 2.0 (bought in last yr Aug) and toyota altis 1.8G sporty (newly bought 1 week ago) are parked in my house car posh. So, i can really taste the driving feeling between honda & toyota, unlike many ppls down here just compare the on paper specs, 5AT vs 4 AT, …. etc.

In terms of tranmission, i don't really feel any advantage from the civic 2.0 5 speed gearbox. Yes, the Civic's acceleration still as fast as previous generation, but the new altis also give a very fast respond in acceleration once you step a bit on the throttle.

In terms of reliability and driving smoothness, this is the major factor why those uncle choose toyota over honda. No doubt the sound proof, suspension in my new altis is far more better than my 1 yr old civic, although most of you would say toyota use cheap beam, lousy material……, etc.

Right now my father not even want to step in the poor honda civic anymore. he is deeply "fall in love" with his "mistress" altis.

Hope you guys before make comments, PLEASE do get a test drive first, DO NOT SIMPLY CRITISIZE BASE ON SPEC OR PHOTOS……

• Terence on Jun 28, 2009 at 11:43 pm

One more thing, many ppls down here always critised malaysian always care about their car re-sale value. I think most of you guys never really feel the pain yet. Last yr when my father wanted to trade in his kia spectra (bought in 2004) to buy the civic, he still need to pay RM7k to settle the car loan! Not even mention he completely lost his RM30k downpayment and monthly installment down the yrs……..

• grezer29 on Jul 12, 2009 at 8:01 am

Yadayadayada… what do you do anyway besides sitting down and oogling at all daddy does?

• Terence on Jul 14, 2009 at 12:10 am

I just talking about the facts down here, and people already start to critisize me like a crying baby sitting beside my dad…… Why people down here always lost the their cool when discussion come to toyota, honda? Why people always critisize UMW toyota or Honda Malaysia give us cheap material and yet they still buy the cars? In this bolehland, we have no choice but to accept the fact: "PROTON, PERODUA, HONDA & TOYOTA ARE THE ONLY CHOICE FOR MOST OF MALAYSIAN"

• grezer29 on Jul 15, 2009 at 6:55 am

Guess some of us are not so lucky to have both T & H on our porch i guess. LOL.

Anyway – look further from daddy's porch and you'll see that both big brother jap's models in neighboring countries enjoy higher specs at a lower price. Yeah – blame it on government policies all you want but at least try to comprehend this – if a Continental CKD can be sold at sub 110k (308?) with incredulous specs, why not the japs? Even the Koreans are coming up with very good models & value for money!

I do agree – after sales, spare parts, maintenance, resale value etc. will all be in the ecosystem of any brand/model/make – irregardless! Some have built up their names through the years and are able to command a hefty *ahem* margin on this ground – and slowly strip their offerings down model after model – shucks – those malaysians are suckers! Let's reuse the engine, do a facelift, launch as a new model and see if it sells! Oh yeah, let's strip off the leather, less wood trimmings more plastics etc. as we go. OMG!! It does SELL !!

Why not? We're so gullible we stand back and preach "THEY ARE THE ONLY CHOICE! ACCEPT THE FACT! ACCEPT!" It's wonderful what hefty advertising dollars can do for your business.

I don't know about you, but I find this sad. I don't own any of the makes you suggest. Open your mind and explore – I'm sure you'll realise there's plenty of "NO 2nd hand value" brand/models that you'll learn to enjoy. TIP : Try Koreans as well – they're picking up real fast!

Cheers !

• Alpha02 on Jul 20, 2009 at 8:31 am

Well said grazer:) i'm now looking at honda civic, toyota altis, mazda 3 and peugeot 308. So far 308 is my personal choice coz of top safety features, specs, moonroof (actually tats a bonus) and is a continental although have been strongly advised on poor resale value, exp parts, unknown reliability, poor aftersales service by colleagues, friends and wife. No wonder other cars cant sell. We claimed we love cars that are cool but when comes to getting one, we'll go get the safest choice. I admit i was 'burned' in terms of resale value when i got myself hyundai elantra in 1996 but i enjoyed my drive while i had it. After proton waja and now myvi, i've to think of a safe car for my new born daughter.

• topui on Nov 18, 2009 at 11:21 pm

toyota and honda double standard difference spec in every country , but lancer 2.0 gt ok same ….

• adrian on Jan 18, 2010 at 10:23 pm

Any updates on the Malaysian launch date for the Altis 2.0V?

• altisprefer on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:35 am

just receive a call from toyota dealer, new 2.0V altis will out by this september 2010!!!

• adrian on Feb 03, 2010 at 1:23 am

Do you know whats the expected price?

• Abdul Saboor on Feb 28, 2010 at 12:22 pm

2.0 toyota altis i am for it its amazing the pick iz unbelievable

automatic shift+ its wooden interior and leather including the tv for which we can se reverse camera

its greatttttttt!!! ! !!!!

• Christopher on Mar 20, 2010 at 6:43 am

maybe a 2.0 TRD Sportivo !!!!

• Christopher on Mar 20, 2010 at 6:58 am

one more thing i just notice. it still use 4 speed autogearbox with paddle shift.

• waiting for 2.0V coming to our shores..wish the specs listed by Paul is similar in msia later..

• The Titan on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:36 am

wow this new altis 2010 really pretty good with 7speed would amazing,i’m proud of toyota now,this time the altis can really compete with civic 5speed.

looking good interior and exterior i’m really satisfied with toyota this time!

• Alitstar on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Yes agree, glad that the white collars at UMW Toyota woke up.

I’m sure six months down the road, they will launch the TRD version.

• rajeswari on Sep 28, 2010 at 4:15 pm

can i have the prize 4 altis 2.0

• Alitstar on Sep 28, 2010 at 7:02 pm

RM 131,800.00. Better yet, check out their webpage and call the nearest branch to you.

• Mohd Rodzi on Oct 16, 2010 at 7:57 pm

saya baru beli Toyota Altis 1.8E no pendaftaran BKY 80XX baru.macam drive Camry, semua mata memandang saya… Tunggu body kit..nka pasang.
    Terima kasih Allah di atas rezeki yang Kau berikan.Harga 1.8E 112,000 ke atas. tambah RM800/- sebab cat White Pearl

• New altis 1.8E vs Honda 1.8sl which one is better