New Peugeot 5008 7-seater MPV – first details!

Peugeot 5008

Peugeot has just unveiled a new MPV called the Peugeot 5008, which is based on the 3008‘s technical underpinings but with a larger body to seat up to 7 passengers in a three row 2-3-2 configuration. It is a competitor to other people movers such as the Volkswagen Touran, the Citroen C4 Grand Picasso and the Opel Zafira from the west and the Toyota Wish and Honda Stream from the east.

The new Peugeot 5008 measures 4530mm long and 1640mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2728mm and a drag coefficient of 0.29. Like the 3008, the chassis and suspension is derived from the 308’s, which uses a pseudo-MacPherson-type assembly with a drop link anti-roll bar at the front. The rear is a torsion beam but adapter to adjust to the higher weights that the 5008 will carry.

Peugeot 5008

Once launched, there will be a choice of 6 engines to pick from including 2 petrols and 4 oil burners. The two petrol engines are 1.6 litres in displacement, one normally aspirated with 120bhp and the other turbocharged making 156bhp. Both are Euro 5 compliant.

Peugeot 5008

The diesel engines include two 110hp 1.6 litre HDi FAP engines (one with lower emissions at 135g/km versus 143g/km) and the other two 2.0 litre HDi FAP units producing 150hp and 163hp, with the lower powered version putting out less emissions at 151g/km versus 178g/km. The 150hp version also uses less fuel at 5.8L/100km versus 6.8l/100km. The most economical engine is the 110hp 135g/km 1.6 litre turbodiesel which consumes only 5.2 litres per 100km/

Peugeot 5008

In the interior we see the new classy dashboard design that first debuted on the 3008. The shifter is mounted slightly higher than the rest of the center console running through the area between the front seats. One thing I like about the new French people movers are that the interior has been designed to give a very roomy and airy feeling to the passengers. Just check out that huge 1.69m2 panoramic glass roof!

Peugeot 5008

For the driver’s convenience, there is a heads-up display system for the 5008 wihch displays essential driving information such as the speed, cruise control functions and distance alert. Distance alert is basically a radar located behind the lower front bumper panel which displays the time in seconds between your car and the vehicle in front. It can help inform the driver if he is driving too close to the car in front of him. All of these extra driver assist systems should help this Pug score full marks in the safety assist category on the next round of EuroNCAP tests, like the 3008 managed to do. ESP is also fitted as standard and there are seat belt sensors on all seats.

Peugeot 5008

Elbow width is 1476mm at the front and 1520mm in the second row, which has three individual seats of equal width. Third row elbow width is 1341mm. Peugeot insists the third row are real proper seats that can fit adults and from photos it looks like it’s true, but with the third row up there isn’t much luggage space at the rear, quite similiar to the Exora. The 5008’s middle row can slide back and front over 130mm and can tilt to two positions. The second and third row can fold odwn to create a flat loading area.

Peugeot 5008

There is a rear multimedia system for the 5008’s rear passengers entertainment, which consists of two 7 inch colour screens mounted on the first row headrests. A connection console can accept connections from various equipment including video consoles, game consoles, DVD player etc, and up to two Bluetooth wireless headsets can be hooked up. The two colour screens can display separate video sources.

Nasim Sdn Bhd has proven that it has been able to bring in the latest Peugeot models with very attractive pricing in the past. Will they bring in the 5008 to give Malaysian carbuyers with European tastebuds an alternative product in a segment and price point dominated by the Mazda 5, Toyota Wish and Honda Stream?

Look after the jump for a full hi-res gallery of the new 7-seater Pug!

[zenphotopress number=99 album=313]

[zenphotopress number=99 album=314]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• impressive… should be a good competitor to stream, wish, g.livina and exora.

cheers!

• EuroNCAP5Star Supporter on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:15 pm

I doubt we will get those equipment shown in the pictures. Most probably, due to our tax structure, Msian specs will be watered down. But definitely, will be getting at least 6 airbags including curtain bags. This is good as children/rear passengers will be better protected.

KUDOS to NAZA for at least not skimming on safety.

“SUPPORT Curtain AirBags equipped cars, Support cars with EuroNCAP 5Star rating. Give your children maximum safety protection.”

• azmer on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:10 am

anybody knows how much the price for 5008??

• sixspeed on Jun 02, 2009 at 2:07 pm

Interior looks amazing, and the feature list is impressive.

• Paul Tan on Jun 02, 2009 at 2:56 pm

The 120hp petrol 5008 is likely going to feel like the Exora. Wish we had Proton's equivalent to the 5008 1.6 turbo quicker than late next year!

• Bodow on Jun 02, 2009 at 3:58 pm

Similar to the Citroen C4 ….same ibubapa &rakan-rakan …

If nasim can bring this below 150K …i'll trade in my Grandis

• gen2lama on Jun 02, 2009 at 4:01 pm

torsion beam?………hey they got many engine, but still decided to use 1.6 120bhp…..they dont do R&D ka? not underpower ka?..oooo i.c….they 'learn' from PROTON – people bashed like hell, but still can sell..

sighhh…..make me proud to own EXORA – the most underpowered MPV in this world….

• Automotive_Critics on Jun 02, 2009 at 4:22 pm

This is superb design. P1 designer and Azlano, take note.

• rejabali on Jun 02, 2009 at 4:28 pm

Normally Citreon is cheaper than Peugeot so 5008 pricing will not less than C4 (which already very high).

• Brown on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:13 pm

Nonsence. C5 cost much more than 407!! And the Grand Picasso that is offered at te chepaer price now is not the on with the 2.0 litre engne. Even the Xantia costs more than the 406 many years back.. Not forgetting the C2, C3and C4!!!!!!!

• rejabali on Jun 02, 2009 at 4:33 pm

Normally Citreon is cheaper than Peugeot so 5008 pricing will not less than C4 (which already very high). Don't understand why can't is cheaper since both share many items.

• wow…similar to WIsh in different view..

but nice design…

• ilmondo on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:03 pm

haha.. 1st glance thought it was theophiluschin-ed :P

nice one..hope naza gonna do its magic on this :) should be a good MPV as the French has high safety and comfort standards.. should giv relatively good driving dynamics too if everyone can overlook the reliability issue of what the french is famous for. really nice car anyway, though it wont appeal to everyone.

happy motoring :)

• ilmondo on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:04 pm

ohya.. dashboard is r8-ish huh??

• lowprofile on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:10 pm

[quote comment="242816"]Normally Citreon is cheaper than Peugeot so 5008 pricing will not less than C4 (which already very high).[/quote]

the 407 is cheaper than the c5, the 308 is cheaper than the c4. so, maybe the 5008 can be cheaper than the c4 mpv?

citroen used to be cheaper to buy than peugeot but that was then.

• kaOne2000 on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:23 pm

[quote comment="242822"][quote comment="242816"]Normally Citreon is cheaper than Peugeot so 5008 pricing will not less than C4 (which already very high).[/quote]

the 407 is cheaper than the c5, the 308 is cheaper than the c4. so, maybe the 5008 can be cheaper than the c4 mpv?

citroen used to be cheaper to buy than peugeot but that was then.[/quote]

well, the peogoet is CKD whereas citroen is CBU.. hopefully Nasim will CKD the 5008 and sell it below 140k

• barca on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:25 pm

[quote comment="242815"]This is superb design. P1 designer and Azlano, take note.[/quote]

couldn't agree more.

look at the pics and tell me that your senses and sane mind would, at the very least, consider buying this car (at the right price, that is)?

• King Samurai on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:37 pm

One word: NICE!!!

I'm sick of Japanese MPV all these days. But are the Europeans now moving into MPVs instead of station wagons?? Anyhow..Nasim bring it here with the right pricing. At least we have a better choice rather than going around the same ol' japs MPV.

• regadas on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:41 pm

If proton put 1.6l in huge body, everybody for sure will slam it till down but if conti or japanese put 1.6 in their huge car everybody will said.. NICE!!!

• muryadi on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:45 pm

[quote comment="242832"]If proton put 1.6l in huge body, everybody for sure will slam it till down but if conti or japanese put 1.6 in their huge car everybody will said.. NICE!!![/quote]

Hahaha… typical most Malaysian….

• King Samurai on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:46 pm

[quote comment="242832"]If proton put 1.6l in huge body, everybody for sure will slam it till down but if conti or japanese put 1.6 in their huge car everybody will said.. NICE!!![/quote]

That's what happened when you have bad reputation & history tells everything… Once good turn bad then bad turn ugly…no more trust given…sins were unforgiven.

• I don't see air-cond blower for 2nd and 3rd row seats. at lease 3rd row seats need to have.

Hi Paul, you have details on its air cond configuration? I believe this is highly prefered in Malaysia hot weather.

• muryadi on Jun 02, 2009 at 6:03 pm

[quote comment="242836"][quote comment="242832"]If proton put 1.6l in huge body, everybody for sure will slam it till down but if conti or japanese put 1.6 in their huge car everybody will said.. NICE!!![/quote]

That's what happened when you have bad reputation & history tells everything… Once good turn bad then bad turn ugly…no more trust given…sins were unforgiven.[/quote]

Hopefully this attitude is not really in most Malaysian heart.

• prolever on Jun 02, 2009 at 6:04 pm

second……..

tipical malaysian ppl…. look la, even the 5008 body is still large…

similar 2 exora, but ppl still want to hentam exora……

but still, exora can fight with this car with the price tag..

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 02, 2009 at 6:23 pm

Nice.

Except for the base 1.6, which is already quite unpowerpowered in the 307 SW. Finally someone does it right with a front pass folding seat….(I know its not the first, but its nice for these compact MPVs to have them)

Proton's sins are its own undoing. You just have to understand why they had such a bad reputation in the first place. Even if they had improved lots, a bad reputation is a tough stigma to shake off. It will take time.

• barca on Jun 02, 2009 at 6:25 pm

nobody was slamming proton in this thread until YOU brought it up.

looks like you're asking for it. :)

• prolever on Jun 02, 2009 at 6:25 pm

[quote comment="242836"][quote comment="242832"]If proton put 1.6l in huge body, everybody for sure will slam it till down but if conti or japanese put 1.6 in their huge car everybody will said.. NICE!!![/quote]

That's what happened when you have bad reputation & history tells everything… Once good turn bad then bad turn ugly…no more trust given…sins were unforgiven.[/quote]

when u talk about trust…… how about the 11000 booking since the exora first lunch…well every car maker has their own black history…… still they try to correct it…now one is perfect….i dont now la if u is 100% perfect…. but i still a proton lover……

• lowprofile on Jun 02, 2009 at 6:36 pm

if the 5008 really comes to malaysia, it will only be with the turbo 1.6. no point repeating proton's mistake by bringing in the n/a engine. the turbo will provide 156bhp and it probably is the same engine as the 308 so the torque could be 240nm @ 1400 (if it is same as the 308 turbo). that's quite good for a vehicle of this size. in comparison, the torque for the stream 1.8 and wish 2.0 are only 174nm @ 4300 rpm and 192nm @ 4000rpm respectively.

so, in the japanese cars, you will need to rev all the way to 4300rpm and 4000rpm respectively to feel the maximum torque. below the optimum rpm, the torque will be lower. but for the turbo peugeot engine, the driver can experience the full torque of 240nm from as low as 1400rpm.

• regadas on Jun 02, 2009 at 6:52 pm

[quote comment="242849"][quote comment="242832"]If proton put 1.6l in huge body, everybody for sure will slam it till down but if conti or japanese put 1.6 in their huge car everybody will said.. NICE!!![/quote]

looks like you're asking for it. :)[/quote]

Im not asking, it is just my opinion. As we know, people will compare anything with proton.

• barca on Jun 02, 2009 at 7:03 pm

[quote comment="242857"][quote comment="242849"][quote comment="242832"]If proton put 1.6l in huge body, everybody for sure will slam it till down but if conti or japanese put 1.6 in their huge car everybody will said.. NICE!!![/quote]

Im not asking, it is just my opinion. As we know, people will compare anything with proton.[/quote]

in my humblest opinion, it's *not fair* to compare proton with peugeot. :)

• cyrusdass on May 04, 2010 at 4:39 pm

yes we cant compare proton with peugeot. proton is copycat and peugeot is original car maker. Like comparing mike tyson (usa) with mike tyson(hulu selangor). what a joke.

• kalau saya ada mpv ni, saya tak nak parking bawah pokok, takut kena tahi burung. then the view from the glass roof would be ugly… huhu…

• Paddington Bear on Jun 02, 2009 at 7:20 pm

Those kids sure don't look too excited about the car.

• Tengokaje.. on Jun 02, 2009 at 7:28 pm

Looks nice.

Salam..

• Wak Rempit on Jun 02, 2009 at 7:38 pm

Proton has done a great job when they design the Exora, I've seen a handful and they seems to have a place on the road. I was doing 110kmh on Putrajaya hiway on monday and one Exora zoom pass me… for a 1.6er it seem to be in good shape.

On the current topic. A nicely designed car indeed… but sometimes citroen cars are too contemporary, I mean the look doesn't last. Wait for a couple of years the car will get old pretty fast.

But one good thing about citroen engineer is they always maintain citroen's design flare, totally ignoring the current car design trends.

While other car manuf. are copycat'ing each other, citroen is always a citroen…

my 2 cents

• gen2lama on Jun 02, 2009 at 7:47 pm

[quote comment="242859"][quote comment="242857"][quote comment="242849"][quote comment="242832"]If proton put 1.6l in huge body, everybody for sure will slam it till down but if conti or japanese put 1.6 in their huge car everybody will said.. NICE!!![/quote]

Im not asking, it is just my opinion. As we know, people will compare anything with proton.[/quote]

in my humblest opinion, it's *not fair* to compare proton with peugeot. :)[/quote]

i think he/she is not comparing proton with peugeot….just want to know whether people will say the same thing as the displacement is the same as EXORA…..exora 1.6 125bhp – underpower…..then 5008 1.6 120 bhp ???????

will people say it's ok?……just wonder….

btw….what is the weight of this 5008?

• muryadi on Jun 02, 2009 at 8:18 pm

[quote comment="242866"]

i think he/she is not comparing proton with peugeot….just want to know whether people will say the same thing as the displacement is the same as EXORA…..exora 1.6 125bhp – underpower…..then 5008 1.6 120 bhp ???????

will people say it's ok?……just wonder….

btw….what is the weight of this 5008?[/quote]

Peugeot 3008 = Kerb weight = 1425 Kg, I think since 5008 is bigger, so most probably it'll be more than that.

Exora's Kerb weight = 1422 Kg for M-line…

• lowprofile on Jun 02, 2009 at 9:10 pm

the 120hp won't make it to malaysia so no point talking about it.

• CRUDE on Jun 02, 2009 at 9:10 pm

look at the interior design…thats so nice… exora's interior looks like it was just plonked in rather than designed!.

• lowprofile on Jun 02, 2009 at 9:13 pm

gosh, why are we even talking about the exora in this thread? i think the more obvious competitors would be the wish and stream as they are more closely matched in the engine performance, size and most importantly, price point.

• aksMs on Jun 02, 2009 at 9:18 pm

[quote comment="242805"]The 120hp petrol 5008 is likely going to feel like the Exora. Wish we had Proton's equivalent to the 5008 1.6 turbo quicker than late next year![/quote]

Lookwise, beats the Exora hands down. Yeah, can't wait till next year. Let's see if Proton can beat the 156bhp 5008 1.6 turbo.

• arcryliss on Jun 02, 2009 at 9:49 pm

i think there are too many features are squeezed in this car…

• Automotive_Critics on Jun 02, 2009 at 9:59 pm

[quote comment="242828"][quote comment="242815"]This is superb design. P1 designer and Azlano, take note.[/quote]

couldn't agree more.

look at the pics and tell me that your senses and sane mind would, at the very least, consider buying this car (at the right price, that is)?[/quote]

Eh..I just give them a challenge to design model like what other makes is doing now. At least Pug is 3 times better than P1. So they can learn. Are you going to tell your son to benchmark bad student in School? Any problem?

Cost can tone down with improve economy of scale. Current Proton oversea project should viable at least within 2 years. But if P1 designer not learn from now, they for sure can't utilize by the time all the oversea market is ready.

• BRAZBUZ on Jun 02, 2009 at 10:14 pm

come on r.no need to argue,just buy what u wish 4 that's it…

• gen2lama on Jun 02, 2009 at 10:14 pm

someone says that the 120hp wont come to malaysia……and somebody remind us that pug is 3 times better than p1….

well i did remember another person says that to sell exora outside proton has to came out with more powerfull engine as the people 'there' is bigger than us and they prefer more powerfull car…so in 'their market' pug knows people will buy…

pug is 3 times better than p1,so they know what is the best strategies…

so PROTON is good in targeting the market…..the result? think urself…

• regadas on Jun 02, 2009 at 10:18 pm

[quote comment="242885"]come on r.no need to argue,just buy what u wish 4 that's it…[/quote]

second

• Srotong on Jun 02, 2009 at 10:21 pm

Why on earth would anyone want a sun-moon roof in this climate?! Off with it and lower the price! Otherwise damn good looking. Choice of engines a bit disappointing. With the quality of our diesel sure premature death…

Cannot see why you guys keep comparing with the Exora. This babe will retail at 2x the price min. and won't sell. C5 fugly and citroen designs far out.

Meanwhile why doesn't P1 just plunk into the exora a retuned verson of the perdana v6 with cps? Impossible? Even @ price of say 80-90k, there may be takers… Turbo an MPV is nonsense.

• hm , the peugeot 1.6NA is at least 10 nm more then cps

(equilent to 1.xx kgm)

torque is the important thing when come to an mpv

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 02, 2009 at 10:34 pm

very nice mpv.. but i've always liked mpv's from the europeans.

• Danial on Jun 02, 2009 at 10:39 pm

[quote comment="242835"][quote comment="242832"]If proton put 1.6l in huge body, everybody for sure will slam it till down but if conti or japanese put 1.6 in their huge car everybody will said.. NICE!!![/quote]

Hahaha… typical most Malaysian….[/quote]

[quote comment="242850"][quote comment="242836"][quote comment="242832"]If proton put 1.6l in huge body, everybody for sure will slam it till down but if conti or japanese put 1.6 in their huge car everybody will said.. NICE!!![/quote]

when u talk about trust…… how about the 11000 booking since the exora first lunch…well every car maker has their own black history…… still they try to correct it…now one is perfect….i dont now la if u is 100% perfect…. but i still a proton lover……[/quote]

WO HO HA HA!Looks like Peugot is learning from Proton,bigger body but 1.6cc but when Proton done it peoples,the basher were happy coz they got opportunity to bash Proton again

Those young people don't know anything,even the internet connection they were using to bash Proton is still paid by their father and mother.Wayback 'in 1970's when they were single lifeform cell (a.k.a sperm or women's egg)Toyota were producing egg shell car body, people at that time refered them as "Tin Milo kereta" the design were out of taste compared to the European car such as Alfa Romeo, Ford Escort,Fiat,Ford Cortina,Vauxhal Viva(The Perodua take after the name Viva from Vauxhal) The engine produce

No wonder they got so many mistakes, but time by time they will improve,may be quicker than Toyota after 30years in 1970 still producing 'Tin Can Car' that everybody, most people who could afford European car whould shrugged their head when talking about Japanese car

Not that I love Proton cars so much but it is the fact!!The Proton Saga that we regarded as First national car came with 1970's gine is so so with power just enough to move the car.All the powerfull car came from the West and Europe.If you own a Japanese car that time you were considered low class for low income people.

, regarded Japanese are still lagged behind them, they start produced car in 1950-s but still in 1970 the Japanese car were not in the same level with European car. Why ?because after 30 years Toyota were still producing 'tin can car' that cannot stand crash impact, the car will ripped open to many pieces and badly dented!!Why ?because European car are stronger .Also when Japanese and European car collided ,the badly damaged, torned and wrecked into pieces were always the Japanese cars.

The West also make fun of Japanese products.In one of a British film,a robber pointed a gun at two peoples and attempted to shoot them, but the pistol didn't blow. So, one of the people being pointed gun at said"Maybe the pistol was made in Japan"!,People at that time labelled Japanese product as inferior

compared to Western product.

Proton now is only in 9th year producing its own car in true sense ,started from Waja in 2000(body only, engine from Mitsu) starts from Gen2-body

and engine

But I am already looking forward to other car brand other than Proton. My previous 3 car were all Protons

So do you know what is the price of the Peugot 5008 1.6 n.a and 5008turbo 1.6?.

• WhiteFox on Jun 02, 2009 at 10:50 pm

Nice car….. I love the sunroof design (at malaysia, that think is useless when afternoon unless u want make urelf darker lol)

BTW a great product agasint jap car and hope there ckd here w/o downgrade it too much lol

• if you looked into the spec

this mpv is same height with exora and 3 cm wider then exora

yet the car look compact and nice, unlike the …..

• Hon..fan on Jun 02, 2009 at 10:57 pm

Honda Stream is still the best…. Wish is too common…

• nighttrain on Jun 03, 2009 at 12:49 am

[quote comment="242865"][quote comment="242832"]If proton put 1.6l in huge body, everybody for sure will slam it till down but if conti or japanese put 1.6 in their huge car everybody will said.. NICE!!![/quote]

Proton has done a great job when they design the Exora, I've seen a handful and they seems to have a place on the road. I was doing 110kmh on Putrajaya hiway on monday and one Exora zoom pass me… for a 1.6er it seem to be in good shape.

On the current topic. A nicely designed car indeed… but sometimes citroen cars are too contemporary, I mean the look doesn't last. Wait for a couple of years the car will get old pretty fast.

But one good thing about citroen engineer is they always maintain citroen's design flare, totally ignoring the current car design trends.

my 2 cents[/quote]

Wak.. We're discussing Pug 5008 here, u must be on wrong thread, wak.

IMHO for a 1.6 MPV, this Pug doesn't look any better than Exora. Feature wise is a totally different thing, Exora kalah la interior design. Good news is both have the same 5 star pedestrian and passenger crash rating. When you drive your loved ones around, that's all you need. The safest car. Can't understand the morbid fascination with power even for MPVs. Wan't a fast car, buy a 308 GTi. Should be about the same price.

• barca on Jun 03, 2009 at 12:54 am

[quote comment="242883"][quote comment="242828"][quote comment="242815"]This is superb design. P1 designer and Azlano, take note.[/quote]

couldn't agree more.

look at the pics and tell me that your senses and sane mind would, at the very least, consider buying this car (at the right price, that is)?[/quote]

Eh..I just give them a challenge to design model like what other makes is doing now. At least Pug is 3 times better than P1. So they can learn. Are you going to tell your son to benchmark bad student in School? Any problem?

Cost can tone down with improve economy of scale. Current Proton oversea project should viable at least within 2 years. But if P1 designer not learn from now, they for sure can't utilize by the time all the oversea market is ready.[/quote]

dude, my second statement is a general question to all, so that people would consider buying peugeot (at the right price!) :)

• farghmee on Jun 03, 2009 at 5:47 am

overall: i like it :)

interior: nice looking lines, foldable seatings, weird dashboard?

exterior: modern.

• Littlefire on Jun 03, 2009 at 6:34 am

I think Paul forget to put the transmission type…

Even the 1.6L engine only have 120hp, but i doubt that the torque level should be better compare to our local Exora.

Besides that, by looking in the picture. They do offer manual, and should have 6-speed manual standart as European specs now.. I also doubt that Proton will introduce 6-speed manual also…

Anyway Exora never have an indipendent EURONCAP result, but from a private company and they only received 4 star for safety.. Compare to this 5-star..

Exora is totally different category compare to this. If both Exora 1.6 and 5008 1.6 (+6-speed manual) is same price which 1 you choose?!? Even safety is way more advance compare to Proton…

Exora is budjet MPV, while this 1 i think is more towards higher level..

So it is not fair to compare both..

• that kid sure looks pissed seating at the last row. lol.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 03, 2009 at 7:34 am

[quote comment="242908"][quote comment="242865"][quote comment="242832"]If proton put 1.6l in huge body, everybody for sure will slam it till down but if conti or japanese put 1.6 in their huge car everybody will said.. NICE!!![/quote]

my 2 cents[/quote]

Wak.. We're discussing Pug 5008 here, u must be on wrong thread, wak.

IMHO for a 1.6 MPV, this Pug doesn't look any better than Exora. Feature wise is a totally different thing, Exora kalah la interior design. Good news is both have the same 5 star pedestrian and passenger crash rating. When you drive your loved ones around, that's all you need. The safest car. Can't understand the morbid fascination with power even for MPVs. Wan't a fast car, buy a 308 GTi. Should be about the same price.[/quote]

Did I just typed Citroen? sorry bout that dude I was in the office… guess work and pleasure doesn't mix huh…

But they are in the same consortium though… some brownie points for me.. hehehe

Second to your post dude… safety comes first.

• infinity on Jun 03, 2009 at 7:42 am

the dashboard looks very complicated..haha

the double rear view mirror for wat ar??

overall, nice car…hopefully at an affordable price..

• Gajen on Jun 03, 2009 at 9:24 am

[quote comment="242949"]the dashboard looks very complicated..haha

the double rear view mirror for wat ar??

overall, nice car…hopefully at an affordable price..[/quote]

the smaller one is to see the rear passengers particularly kids…its a convex mirror if im not mistaken…

this is a very nice car…the interior offers more than stream and even wish…the dashboard looks audi-ish tho

• ribbit on Jun 03, 2009 at 3:56 pm

Lol nowadays every MPV story sure got some Exora lovers picking fight…even against one like this that might never even be sold in M'sia

5 less peak hp? big deal, the PSA Prince 1.6 has got more torque throughout the range than the Campro, especially low rpms where it's needed most. Better don't even talk about refinement and smoothness la. And that's only the base engine, there's FIVE more powerful engine to choose from. How many for the Exora? Better just stick to bashing Perodua MPV…

• zafid (Member) on Jun 03, 2009 at 4:40 pm

nice, the center aircond vent reminds me the infamous 206's bonnet air vent.

• Peugeot – nice ma..wanna buy 1 maa…120hp powerfull maa…2 lcd maa

Proton – not gud ma..no hell wan to buy 1 maa…125hp underpowered maa..only 1 lcd maa..

just joking guys…hehehe

• this y malaysia has so many drug addict…we never forgive them although they are better..the history tainted them..we outcast them..they become addict back..we blame them again..

this apply to proton to….they are bad before..try to better…still history tainted them….so what u think bout that?

• harry77 on Jun 03, 2009 at 9:26 pm

really amazing and outstanding, the prestious luxury design. if the price between 150k then should be no problem.

• Exora 1.6T will be 170hp & 240Nm torque maa………… more powerful than pug turbo engine

• leonardo on Jun 03, 2009 at 10:58 pm

I think it's not fair to compare this Peugeot woith Exora. Exora should be compared to Renault Grand Espace! And Peugeot should sell at Malaysian price of about 75K since it is only 1.6 cc. (Talking about ridiculous comparisons!)

• gen2lama on Jun 03, 2009 at 11:17 pm

[quote comment="243006"]Exora 1.6T will be 170hp & 240Nm torque maa………… more powerful than pug turbo engine[/quote]

u wish….

malaysian will always say the PUG is more powerful…

• I still wondering about the power of the turbo 1.6 campro cps.

I read a comment somewhere at Utube, it said the engine power ill be 180hp and have same torque like wat K said 240Nm, is this true?

Where is 460 and sifu?

We here wanna know this info….

• Samuel Tan on Jun 04, 2009 at 1:31 am

Wow, it looks so much like the Citroen Grand C4 Picasso.

Nice one!

• zafid (Member) on Jun 04, 2009 at 1:34 am

[quote comment="243014"][quote comment="243006"]Exora 1.6T will be 170hp & 240Nm torque maa………… more powerful than pug turbo engine[/quote]

u wish….

malaysian will always say the PUG is more powerful…[/quote]

agree…anything is better than proton,if not the best.

• chaos on Jun 04, 2009 at 1:42 am

BMW and Peugeot Citroen have been collaborating for years to develop an 1.6 engine that gives max 175hp and 240Nm. They use in it the Mini and 308. I would find it hard to believe if Proton could beat that. If they claim to do it, I want dyno proof.

Sorry, I'm not bashing Proton. They are developing well and i am proud of their recent success but I don't expect them to reach "that" level yet until another decade or so.

• initial R on Jun 04, 2009 at 2:55 am

[quote comment="243038"]BMW and Peugeot Citroen have been collaborating for years to develop an 1.6 engine that gives max 175hp and 240Nm. They use in it the Mini and 308. I would find it hard to believe if Proton could beat that. If they claim to do it, I want dyno proof.

Sorry, I'm not bashing Proton. They are developing well and i am proud of their recent success but I don't expect them to reach "that" level yet until another decade or so.[/quote]

Apa yang aku nampak, apa yang ditawarkan dalan Peug baru nie tak banyak beza dengan Exora. Tak nafikan Exora & 5008 lain kelas tapi hampir 70% yg Peug tawarkan dah ada kat dalam Exora. Seat boleh lipat sampai depan. Ada skrin LCD, BCM, Ruang pemanduan yang selesa serta ruang penumpang yang luas, selain tu bahan ruang dalaman juga hampir sama dengan Exora tak caya cuba compare sbb ada yang kata 3rd row seat cam sempit & pakai light color kat panel blakang. Satu lagi, tak nampak plak yang kata torsion beam tak bagus pakai kat Paug nie. Cuma beza yang nampak, Exora tak ada cargo bar, Sunroof & variasi pilihan enjin, tu aje..!. Agihan kuasa plak Peug sediakan minimum 1.6 enjin dengan 120bhp. Pun ada yang kata OK.

• slimershine on Jun 04, 2009 at 5:05 am

ow.. this mpv got 1.6 120hp inside. can it move?

now, who want to compare this van to exora?

• chaos on Jun 04, 2009 at 6:19 am

[quote comment="243047"][quote comment="243038"]BMW and Peugeot Citroen have been collaborating for years to develop an 1.6 engine that gives max 175hp and 240Nm. They use in it the Mini and 308. I would find it hard to believe if Proton could beat that. If they claim to do it, I want dyno proof.

Sorry, I'm not bashing Proton. They are developing well and i am proud of their recent success but I don't expect them to reach "that" level yet until another decade or so.[/quote]

Apa yang aku nampak, apa yang ditawarkan dalan Peug baru nie tak banyak beza dengan Exora. Tak nafikan Exora & 5008 lain kelas tapi hampir 70% yg Peug tawarkan dah ada kat dalam Exora. Seat boleh lipat sampai depan. Ada skrin LCD, BCM, Ruang pemanduan yang selesa serta ruang penumpang yang luas, selain tu bahan ruang dalaman juga hampir sama dengan Exora tak caya cuba compare sbb ada yang kata 3rd row seat cam sempit & pakai light color kat panel blakang. Satu lagi, tak nampak plak yang kata torsion beam tak bagus pakai kat Paug nie. Cuma beza yang nampak, Exora tak ada cargo bar, Sunroof & variasi pilihan enjin, tu aje..!. Agihan kuasa plak Peug sediakan minimum 1.6 enjin dengan 120bhp. Pun ada yang kata OK.[/quote]

Nampak mmg x banyak beza..but the difference between a european made vehicle and malaysian made vehicle is still a huge gap..narrowing since the introduction of exora but still a long way to go..Moonroof, head on display and such.. is a luxury feature offered by european made models..what malaysian don't see are values that can only be experienced once you own a european made car….the quality of the materials (interior doesn't look so plastic), the strength of the chassis , the efficiency of the engine,the effort put into safety (body strength, driver safety, passenger safety, child safety and pedestrian safety plus ESP and other safety oriented electronics)…malaysian basically look more into space, looks and engine (probably in that order)..

Now if we want to compare the Exora to Peug 5008. The Exora is most definitely the price winner and the space winner as well. If its trying to compete in other aspects, the winner is most probably the 5008.

• realy a good n fantastic car, but not good for FC…prefer exora than this one

• SwiftMatrix on Jun 04, 2009 at 8:04 am

[quote comment="242811"]Similar to the Citroen C4 ….same ibubapa &rakan-rakan …

If nasim can bring this below 150K …i'll trade in my Grandis[/quote]

Pray hard Bro….

I wish I could join you if Nasim can CKD it just like its sibling 308….

It will make it more affordable…

• alfisti on Jun 04, 2009 at 4:00 pm

[quote comment="243054"]ow.. this mpv got 1.6 120hp inside. can it move?

now, who want to compare this van to exora?[/quote]

so far only proton fanboys who apparently don't know what torque is

everyone else knows the Peugeot is in a higher league

• BukaMinda on Jun 04, 2009 at 4:07 pm

Thing that we love and care, we will always talk (or bash) about it at what ever place and time. (Cherry Easter nobody want to say anything)

• lowprofile on Jun 04, 2009 at 4:56 pm

[quote comment="243038"]BMW and Peugeot Citroen have been collaborating for years to develop an 1.6 engine that gives max 175hp and 240Nm. They use in it the Mini and 308. I would find it hard to believe if Proton could beat that. If they claim to do it, I want dyno proof.

chaos,

just to add to your post, from what i find on the net, peugeot will probably be developing another 2 tunes for the twin scrool engine. 220hp (probably 308rcz) and 180hp. today, the max is 175hp but those 2 new tunes could come in as early as next year but i think the higher tunes will be used for their heavier vehicles like the 3008 and 5008 and also the hot 308rcz.

i didn't hear about the 156hp tune anywhere earlier so it is new to me. wondering if the 156hp could be for the manual. e.g. the 308 turbo in malaysia has 140hp as an auto. the manual which is not sold here has 150hp. both have same amount of torque though, 240nm which is the same as the 175hp engine.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 04, 2009 at 6:34 pm

Chaos,

I am pretty sure Proton already have the ability and knowledge to develop and produce engines comparable to your liking… they own Lotus remember.

But the problem is to sell the technology… since proton's market is small they can't afford to spend so much in research/development/marketing and eventually production where the market is so small, remember technology is not cheap!

Correct me if I'm wrong the campro engine fitted in the 1st generation Gen2 was a basic engine and it is designed like "LEGO" where other improvements can be easily fitted and added. Sure enough later they add IAFM (is this correct?), CPS etc… now they are adding turbo!

I think proton is trying hard to satisfy people's demand but they also have to be wise in choosing which demand to be satisfied.

Since people will even buy a kitchen sink if it has a BMW logo and Peugeot/Citroen has a market 20 times larger than Proton… they can afford to play "trial and error". So it is unfair to compare them with Proton.

my 2 cents

• gen2lama on Jun 04, 2009 at 11:01 pm

[quote comment="243077"][quote comment="243054"]ow.. this mpv got 1.6 120hp inside. can it move?

now, who want to compare this van to exora?[/quote]

so far only proton fanboys who apparently don't know what torque is

everyone else knows the Peugeot is in a higher league[/quote]

yeaa i did admit that 5008 is far better than my exora….i dont even compare it….budget local mpv vs >150k mpv? aiya…cannot compare la..everybody knows it

just wonder what is the weight of this 5008 & the torque…..

coz we (proton fanboys) just want to know what people will say about the performance of the 1.6 gasoline 5008….that's all…..

• qwerty on Nov 09, 2010 at 9:00 am

sure bashers can bash this 5008 is a bread van, bus van that carries school children, why not? even cannot go climb to genting , always follows big lorries, cannot take over cars, even kancils, moves like snails..etc
      the thing is all those specs like torque and hp will be left on papers, won’t practically be felt and sometimes it is useless because all the vehicles surely move, it for example an s class merc and a persona move to a place, the merc moves at 160km/h and the persona at 130km/h, the merc arrives 20 seconds earlier , the merc big engine with huge hp and torque is not worth it at all

• lowprofile on Jun 04, 2009 at 11:29 pm

[quote comment="243093"][quote comment="243038"]BMW and Peugeot Citroen have been collaborating for years to develop an 1.6 engine that gives max 175hp and 240Nm. They use in it the Mini and 308. I would find it hard to believe if Proton could beat that. If they claim to do it, I want dyno proof.

Chaos,

I am pretty sure Proton already have the ability and knowledge to develop and produce engines comparable to your liking… they own Lotus remember.

But the problem is to sell the technology… since proton's market is small they can't afford to spend so much in research/development/marketing and eventually production where the market is so small, remember technology is not cheap!

Correct me if I'm wrong the campro engine fitted in the 1st generation Gen2 was a basic engine and it is designed like "LEGO" where other improvements can be easily fitted and added. Sure enough later they add IAFM (is this correct?), CPS etc… now they are adding turbo!

I think proton is trying hard to satisfy people's demand but they also have to be wise in choosing which demand to be satisfied.

Since people will even buy a kitchen sink if it has a BMW logo and Peugeot/Citroen has a market 20 times larger than Proton… they can afford to play "trial and error". So it is unfair to compare them with Proton.

my 2 cents[/quote]

wak, i agree with you too.

let's leave proton to handle their matters. i think you are right in saying that they will need to satisfy a bigger demand. and guessing the proton buyer profile, they are not too fussy about what the other premium brands offer. imho, their needs are simple. to have a vehicle to fit their whole family and to be able to travel as a family (regardless of the dangers) at the lowest possible price. quality, safety and extended creature comforts matter little in this segment.

• Mienzz (Member) on Jun 04, 2009 at 11:53 pm

My oh my…

• nighttrain on Jun 05, 2009 at 12:36 am

Agree with Wak there.. the issue is economy of scale. If Proton want's to stand alongside these demi-gods of automakers, I'd suggest JVs all round. With any of the major automakers – hint Volkswagen. Then we can play 'trial-and-error'. But sigh, pride is pride.

Sharing the tech on advanced frame and chasis, latest green diesels, heads up display… cheap high quality parts unlike our local vendors.

• when proton JV, they are very scared of their pride . the problem that proton has now is that they are not willing to share . i cant talk for proton side or the other maker's side becasue we dont know why proton called off the decision to JV. it could be that VW are too exploitative or whatever reason they got . we simply dont know, so best is to stop any not-related speculation on it.

• peroempat on Jun 05, 2009 at 12:26 pm

And this will be the NAZA MPV, LOL.

• initial R on Jun 05, 2009 at 6:26 pm

[quote comment="243127"]when proton JV, they are very scared of their pride . the problem that proton has now is that they are not willing to share . i cant talk for proton side or the other maker's side becasue we dont know why proton called off the decision to JV. it could be that VW are too exploitative or whatever reason they got . we simply dont know, so best is to stop any not-related speculation on it.[/quote]

Pride is the 2nd place, right now how to survive. Lets say that proton JV with VW, Proton can't survive like now coz ekonomi crisis that VW faceing right now. Memang Proton akan dapat pengalaman macam mana nak buat kereta Conti tapi semua akan bermula semula macam JV dengan Mitshu dulu sbb nak gerak pun tak boleh (kena ikat) time tu mesti bashier proton still kutuk lagi "apasal design satria nak macam Scirocco ?. Macam tadak idea lain ?." tu dah satu, nanti banyak lagi kuar isu. JV nie kalau bleh untung dua dua pihak "win-win situation". kalau sebelah VW aje untung Proton rugi nak macam mana. Teknologi sesebuah syarikat sebenarnya tak boleh dikongsi dengan syarikat luar. Pergi memana pun dasar syarikat tak membenarkan ditiru. Jadi Proton bergerak sendiri skarang atas pengalaman yang diperolehi masa dengan mitshubishi dulu. Sejak keluar dari JV Mitshu dulu kita lihat hanya model yang dibeli dan yang dapat lesen pengeluaran aje yang kuar. Itu pun kena buat face lift untuk bezakan proton ngan mitshu. Contoh yang terbaik Produa, nama kereta nasional kedua tapi nak kuar model sendiri pun tak dapat, apa lagi nak bangunkan teknologi sendiri. Katakan Toyota lepaskan pegangan saham dengan P2, sure P2 terkapai2 tak tentu arah sekejap dan model seperti Myvi jadi premium car diaorang. Time tu kerajaan terpaksa tanggung kejap dan seperti biasa rakyat akan kata buat apa nak tanggung semua tu ?.

• this is much better than jap wish and stream, at least on paper and picture

• natadecoco on Jun 06, 2009 at 12:30 am

InitialR,

Why are you so die hard proton supporter!!

At the end of the day what do you get from being so loyal.

Our mkt share is so small with a population of only 28 mil(Apr.09)

even the Philipines(92mil)Indo(230mil)Taiwan(23mil)Thai(63mil)

do not produce their own cars.

The domestic demand for Japan is sustainable cos

they hv 127mil people.

no use you support proton who gives you substandard models

wherelse the export models is fully equipped.

what P2 and naza doing is also contributing to the economy

by providing jobs too.

The amount of tax credit 50mil and Research Grant of 81mil

could be put to better use.How long do we hv to put up

with this spoon feeding / subsidies.?

450 mil was spent on the R&D for exora , i think that amount is

not justified + how is Proton gonna re-coup their investment?

Obviously by charging Msian higher prices!!! and offering substd

stuff again.

JV is the only way forward Proton. Sit down and re-think yr business model.

U need new and radical approach to remain relevent.

• [quote comment="243234"]InitialR,

they hv 127mil people.

by providing jobs too.

stuff again.

U need new and radical approach to remain relevent.[/quote]

natadecoco… i believe you had made enormous research to prove that Proton is a disaster…

hehe… ingat jual kereta macam jual goreng pisang….

rileks la… dont be so emotional…. sape nak meniaga kalo rugi saja… instead of bashing.. better u give some opinion rather than giving facts on how to show that the establishment of Proton is a mistake… maybe if you luck… you might be the next Proton MD….

bese la … typical Malaysian…

budak drjah satu boleh paham… jadi org tgh dgn jadi manufacture certain products… which one is more profitable ??….

or else… you should change your NATIONALITY…. ?? … Malaysia is not a better place for you… please migrate to europe or other continents …. nobody force you to buy, stare and see proton…. HEHE

• Wak Rempit on Jun 06, 2009 at 6:33 pm

[quote comment="243234"]InitialR,

they hv 127mil people.

by providing jobs too.

stuff again.

U need new and radical approach to remain relevent.[/quote]

Dude, sorry if I intervene… I am guessing he's a proton supporter because he is Malaysian, so does myself and so should the rest of malaysians in this thread…

Smaller market is not a question if domestic consumer is supporting the product… look at Korea and Japan, the people there supports their local brands no matter how bad they are, that is what we call PRIDE. Gradually the brand will improve as what our proton is trying presently and quality takes time and money.

You said Proton produces substandard models, woo.. dude your are talking like 10 years ago man… current models are quite respectable (Persona).

I have nothing to say about P2 except they are just a toyota substandard brand. You wanna drive coffins with wheels… get a P2.

my 2 cents

• intermilan on Jun 09, 2009 at 11:38 pm

Wah!.. look like PT release the article about the surprising 5008 at the not-so-right time lah. Now sadly, this good thread seem to almost completely turn into exora / proton pro and con fighting thread .. not to forget the side-tracking 5008 vs. exora, especially regarding both mpv's N/A 1.6 engine power output.

Well, Peugeot offer that as one of the base offering, the other one is a mere 110hp diesel (but should come with good torque). European ain't so obsessed with this coz Peugeot do have more powerful engines on offer for the 5008 and there are market to served for the lowly-powered 5008.

As for exora, 120~hp is suffice for daily use and proton are developing a more powerful engine. They can't wait till that turbo campro finish only then release the exora. that will be suicidal in current bleak market. they need sales and the N/A campro exora will plug some gaps. So.. in the end, proton will have exora in alomst similar engine line-ups like what Peugeot did with it petrol 5008. start with 120bhp and move up from there. Price-wise, Peugeot will be more expensive (so does Toyota, Honda Mitsu etc), but which to buy? up to you..

For me, i'm must admit that the existent of this model surprise me (at first) as i have never heard of it. Never though Peugeot gonna somewhat follow-up the 807 (a mpv) not with 808 but a 5008!. where that come from?

Nevertheless, it is about time their mpv line-up got refresh. 807 has been 'forgotten' for quite some time. But i am not 100% sure that this 5008 is a direct replacement for the 807. it might be the 807 smaller sibling.

The interior design, especially the dashoard is similar to 3008, if i'm not mistaken. everybody should know, it is rather Audi look-a-like, but since it does look good and premium, i think its ok. dont mind 'inspiration' as long as its give good result. the rest of the interior might not differ so much with c4 picasso, which is currently the best mpv in Europe. this 5008 will surely be loaded with lotsa safety, creature comfort and technological features and accessories.

As for the panoramic roof, it will surely get sniped at by certain quarter in Bolehland. But i believe this is just optional and does not come as a standard accessory. If Nasim want to bring and (hopefully) CKD it here, its very nice to have it but not a must. beside omitting it should reduce the cost thus price.

The engine, like what lowprofile mentioned, i too agree if only the turbo petrol engine is bring over, but a 156hp? i didnt know there is one. Beside, reading the attached brouchure, the 156hp petrol engine seems to be a non-turbo engine as it is only listed with "VTi" and not "THP", which will tell that it's a turbo petrol. What i know, there is a 140hp and a 150hp 1.6 petrol engine. the 140hp is mated to auto g/b while the 150hp to a muanual g/b 9as far as the 308 series is concern). Well .. unless they revise the engine lah. which they tend to do from time to time. Beside this is not a 308, so they might revised the Prince engine to fit the 5008 requirements.

The info about the tranmission is silent (but its there in the attached brouchure). i reckoned if Nasim do bring the 5008 here, it shall be an automatic as we M'sian don't really buy a manual MPV. But reading the brouchure, all offerings are equipped with manual gearbox (so does the 156hp pterol engine -> mated with 5-speed manual), except a 2.0 turbodiesel that churned out 163hp. this is equipped with the 6-speed auto box (is it the AM6 gearbox?, which is a semi auto gearbox.. i dont know).

And since diesel is out of the question, thanks to the G policy on diesel quality n its political ramification to BN popularity, it is only possible to bring in petrol engine for M'sia market. And as far as petrol engine is concern, Peugeot has only a 4-speed auto box, which didn't make it in the 5008 brouchure. They do have a 6-speed auto box, but so far, this has only been used in a diesel (as mentioned above). Again, we M'sian will most likely bashed the 4 speeder as inadequate, so Nasim need to think about this, if they wish to bring the 5008 in. But so far, there in none petrol + 4-speed auto combination for the 5008. A headache really.

The exterior, is okay.. nothing that spectacular, its a little premium and elegant but mostly, i am relieve that it is not ugly. the front is okay, so does the rear. perhaps the side profile, specially the lower half (inc. the wheel arches) does look bland and look like toyota (which represent bland design).

Overall, Peugeot might design it this way (rather contemporary) since its a mpv, but it does still look better than at least half of the mpv out there.

It will be wonderful to see this being CKD for us M'sian and the ASEAN market in general, but i do wonder whether there is business case to do it? i hope there is.

• Paul Tan on Jun 10, 2009 at 12:16 am

intermilan, the 156hp petrol engine is called a vti but the spec lists clearly say it is a 1.6 liter engine, for a 1.6 to put out 156hp in normally aspirated form it would be quite a highly strung engine. this could be a new version of tuning for the engine, or perhaps the "VTi" means the Prince engine has finally received variable valve management?

But that is a long shot la… if it was a new engine they would shout about it more. I think it's for some marketing reason they decided to call it VTi with a small 6hp boost. I tried looking around and actually found this search results pointing to a Peugeot page but when I load the page its all Flash. They referred to it as a 1.6 THP instead of 1.6 VTi. Maybe different names for different markets? See screenshot below.
    http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/8844/peugeot156v…

Anyway I have asked Nasim… they said they will ask Peugeot and revert.

As for model lineup, this is more of a Touran competitor… the 807 (and future 807 replacement?) is more of a Volkswagen Sharen competitor, larger with a wheelbase approximately 100mm longer than this.

• intermilan on Jun 10, 2009 at 12:34 am

PT,

i agree with you that its a 1.6L engine. as far as i know the Prince engine that was co-developed with BMW is only available in 1.6L form. And also agree that 'normally', a N/A 1.6 "couldn't" possibly produce 156bhp, especially if its from factory. Not an engine for the masses..

VTi does stand for variable valve timing (for the Prince engine) but i suspect that this is a turbo Prince engine (that was uprated from the turbo 150hp option), hence their press kit should highlight it with a THP acronym instead of VTi (as VTi is normally being use to describe a N/A Price engine).

Maybe.. just maybe… they wish not to associate the word 'turbo' with a MPV?

• Paul Tan on Jun 10, 2009 at 12:50 am

yeah it should be some kind of marketing reason. anyway could it be that 156hp and 180hp will replace 150hp and 175hp for peugeot?

• intermilan on Jun 10, 2009 at 5:30 pm

huh.. 180hp engine? they have it with the Prince?

i guess it make sense to assume that (ur above statement). perhaps the 2nd gen of the 175hp(1st gen).

boost it a little and there you have it. improvement. in 2 years time they boost it to 187hp.. and generate 're-new' interest towards their line-ups / new offerings. i'm guessing marketing is now dictating very much everything.

Its akin to the fate that befall the Estate.

It is quite disappointing to see PSA is 'playing' this power improvement game in this small percentage improvement (less than 5%). it does help create the mediore image that seem to very eager to struck and stay with them.

and where is the ~230hp-ish Prince engine in a true sport Peugeot (beside the upcoming 308 RCZ – coz that don't fit the bill). They have more than enuff know-how to produce iconic hothatch or sport sedan but choose to produce passable and luke warm stuff for far too long. its dang long overdue to banish the ghost of the 205gti. with a proper over-the-top replacement. over engineered it. even if just for the sake of it. even if they not gonna make money out of it.

there you have it.

alas, this compact MPV i.e. the 5008 (therefore not a direct 807 replacement) will obviously generate sales but since they are very late in joining this segment with a tall architecture offering , i guess sales will not going to be strong. but hopefully better than the sorry 4007.

• Paul Tan on Jun 10, 2009 at 6:13 pm

I dunno, derick told me got 180hp with the 3008

• intermilan on Jun 10, 2009 at 6:24 pm

hehehe… he not around thou..

but seriously, 180hp for the 3008 (the smallish crossover)? wow .. they want to enter the 3008 into the IRC or what? hahaha..

• Fridz (Member) on Jun 11, 2009 at 12:41 am

Conti car thread is rarely get many comments in PT forum.but this Pug 5008 thread has hiked to 40+ comments due to 5008 vs exora issue…(maybe this is bcoz of proton kot)

hope to see proton can design like this..(azlano,pls hehe)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 16, 2009 at 12:38 am

i must say, this is what i call an MPV!!! =)

• 3rd party mlaka on Nov 30, 2009 at 9:27 am

just to say..WOW!!!!!

wish if i could effort for this machine…truly…

• veysi on Jan 18, 2010 at 8:29 am

yok böle birsey muhtesem :

• mr_3m on Jan 27, 2010 at 6:48 am

so many junk talk comparing this to exora etc… it's not fair at all to compare this car to exora when you have 'silly' duties & taxes on CBU or imported cars, even CKD cars also suffer…

if exora can compete on an 'equal' ground i.e. at same rate of taxes/duties applies, this 5008 or any other MPV would 'kill' off the Exora for good, 1.6liter or not… doesn't matter, who in the right mind would only come up with ONE CHOICE of engine at launch? Even if they put 1.6 small engine in the 5008 or whatever, but at least the manufacturer is decent enough to offer the Turbo version or the bigger engine option at launch… unlike stupid Proton, just make the people suffer & suffer & suffer at their expense, nak bagi choice pun lembap!!!

Sebab tu lah orang kata 'underpowered'….. sbb ada satu choice saja… kalau bg choice engine besar sikit, 1.6 tu mungkin tak laku pun… Proton bashing or not, who cares… talk about cars biarlah objective sikit… Proton supporters/defenders always too sentimental & emotional lah… at the end of the day, i foresee in 10-20yrs Proton jadi macam SAAB jer (too bad)… or MG Rover… just another car maker that will not survive if they continue to operate like today & the last 5 years…

• Is this 307SW replacement? Or something compareble?

• skudap on Jul 07, 2010 at 11:00 pm

I think this is a new entry, just like 3008. 307SW is replaced by 308SW. I dont think this model replace 807 as well, because 807 is a different story, the plant not wholly owned by peugeot.

• jaafar on Feb 06, 2010 at 3:21 am

japanese mpv cannot match european ones, especially from ford, citroen and peugeot. Jap mpv gaya kosong saja…european ones miles ahead in terms of engineering, comfort, safety, design and comfort

• anxious on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:46 am

I can't wait for 5008 to 'port' here. Will likely to own it.

Don't care about the 'power' of it…as long there's comfort for my family.

It's going to be my third ride anyway.

• Faizal on Apr 26, 2010 at 8:01 pm

Errmmmm intrested to comment to those who keep on thinking the 1.6 engine that produce by peugeot is same like 1.6 in Proton. to tell u the truth is not the same….its diffrent…it can produce more power than Proton engine.

• suhaimi on May 12, 2010 at 6:37 pm

macam exora aku je rupanya.. sapa tiru sapa la ni

• skudap on Jul 07, 2010 at 11:08 pm

p 3008 tiru exora ka? P3008 ni platform base on C4 grand picasso (peugeot ngan citroen ni under satu umbrella peugeot-citroen-PSA), model ni dah lama keluar dah, lama sebelum exora keluar, kalu exora tiru P3008 / C4 grand picasso tu logik gak kwang kwang kwang

• mghong on May 13, 2010 at 1:09 am

haha of cause men…although both company start with Pxxx as their names…

I am waiting for this 5008 while pending from my order for Wish or even Mit-Grandis..

• ahmadjb on May 14, 2010 at 9:10 am

the 3rd row make me remember of Grand picasso C4. very thin sit , foldable( i guess).
    planned to buy picasso early this year but was told that only 1 unit was slod in JB through out the year. Continental car particularly peugeot + citroen are very good technically but may need time to change our mindset which still admire the Japanese

• Nice looking Conti …. Love it.

For practicality purpose (after sales quality of service, parts availability, cheaper parts, long term use, technical know how), I would go for Nissan Serena. I know, the looks may not be appealing….

Cheers.

• faroki on May 27, 2010 at 10:59 am

Salam,

Pugot car is comfort drive, not for speedy or greedy like japan car..
    hope price less <95K :)

Engineered to be Enjoyyyy brooooo…

• People who compare Conti Car to the likes of Proton and Japanese Cars
    has brain problem.

• likehondanotsomuch on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:39 pm

sick of having small mpv,,,,next move ,paying attention to toyota hi ace or nissan van,,,12 seater and furnish it with 30 grand of leather,audio n visual, 19 inch rims and suspension upgrades ,,,cant afford alphard,,,at least cheaper and comfortable than his car