New Hyundai Verna Transform (facelifted Accent)

Hyundai Verna Transform

The model that we know as the Hyundai Accent has been updated in Korea and called the Hyundai Verna Transform, a naming scheme that seems to echo the Sonata facelift which was also called a Sonata Transform.

Most of the equipment and engines remain the same and the only other change from the exterior looks seem to be an Eco indicator on the instrumentation panel which lets you know when you are driving economically, a revised dash design and blue backlighting for the dashboard instead of green. Those stuff they put on the grille don’t really look too good on such a narrow grille.

While its sibling Kia’s cars are all very aesthetically pleasing now, it looks like Hyundai still has to work hard on establishing its own corporate design language. It went one direction with the i30 and i20 but everything suddenly changed with the Genesis, and then now we have this. Kia’s design language thanks to Peter Schreyer is very stable with its simple but sleek and dynamic-looking designs and the Schreyer grille identity.

Check out more photos after the jump.

Hyundai Verna Transform

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 1st!!

• First word comes in my mind…..not transfomers, but ugly

• Stallone on Jun 05, 2009 at 10:36 am

Yeakks!!…looks abit like the old Kia Spectra…but the chicks are pretty,hek hek…

• model look nicer then the car!!

• design disaster

• design disaster.

cheers!

• lol.. i'm not looking at de car.. but the show girls.. haha. the car is drop dead ugly -.-

• Paul Tan on Jun 05, 2009 at 11:09 am

It looks like some kind of angry crab or prawn.

• Fiziks on Jun 05, 2009 at 11:13 am

models show, look at my boobs. Car is real ugly. The logo area spoilt the whole thing

• Gajen on Jun 05, 2009 at 11:14 am

omg….its super ugly….

• madimat on Jun 05, 2009 at 11:29 am

LOL should not be allowed to be sold here.!!! Tighter security is needed in all our international borders to prevent the smuggling of this, er,.. angry crab, or something…

..just kidding :-)

• madimat on Jun 05, 2009 at 11:30 am

BTW I think our Gen2 front profile look much nicer than this one.

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 05, 2009 at 11:42 am

If the car could speak… "Somebody whack my designer, please!"

• Damm its looks more uglier then dugong… I guess the designer got his idea after having a seafood meal thtz y it looks like some kinda angry crab,prawn.. lolz……

• peroempat on Jun 05, 2009 at 12:05 pm

All those crab and prawn allso come from sea lah, but they are not a mamalia like dugong. This is Hyundai Altis Vios aka pawn crab dugong.

• [quote comment="243151"]It looks like some kind of angry crab or prawn.[/quote]

it looks more like some kind of retarded crab or prawn to me.

haha

cheers!

• Wak Rempit on Jun 05, 2009 at 4:49 pm

Woo… dude, I thought the other car (V**S) is ugly but this one already book its place in the ugliest car award.

Have nothing positive to say about this car accept… Yucks!

The chick is hot by the way.. :P

• not nice at all…

what were the designers/stylist thinking wen they come up with this design???

• Vios married with Gen2, and their son named Verna

• Lancermania on Jun 05, 2009 at 5:03 pm

it just me or why the head lamp look like the Gen2/persona one???

the front design look like Gen2/persona(head lamp)+vios(front grill)+insect???

weird design……

• the front design look complicated..

• barca on Jun 05, 2009 at 5:19 pm

i suddenly 'sakit kepala' when looking at the front of this facelifted Accent.

Hyundai is slowly moving to become "T No. 2" – no engine improvements, just more makeup (and markup!)

however, thanks to the models, my "sakit kepala" hilang instanteneously. :)

• Spoiled the current model pleasant look. Thought they have got some good direction for their lineup, this is going backward.

• Commerdz on Jun 05, 2009 at 5:33 pm

the 7th and 8th picture soooo nice..with the babes..hehe..

WoooW.. big and marvellous…hehe!!

so, later Gen2 and Personas's owner can convert their headlamp an bumper to this new brand Hyundai.. rite? :)

and also, Hyundai owner can also get sparepart by using gen2 headlamp.. :)

• lazyf on Jun 05, 2009 at 5:40 pm

current facelift Accent is much-much nicer than dis "transformation"…

• kambing on Jun 05, 2009 at 5:53 pm

ugly car ever.

The front grill kinda weird bcoz using big blade.

head lamp like my persona lah..

i give 1/10. firm..

• Charger on Jun 05, 2009 at 6:20 pm

Looks like pouty lip. Start making the Accent SR concept laaa, aiyohh!!

• skyline on Jun 05, 2009 at 6:33 pm

very bad..current verna looks nicer..

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 05, 2009 at 6:34 pm

Hyundai seem not to know which direction they would want to go design wise. The current range all seem a bit bubbly and soft, lacking a distinct character which started with the jelly bean Santa Fe

FWIW though, the Genesis is a good looking car.

• Phelix on Jun 05, 2009 at 6:59 pm

import the girls! not the car~!!

but angry crab.. this is funny!!

• nice….i mean the girl…:)

for a minute i thought this was the facelifted dugong…

• nighttrain on Jun 05, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Will sell well in China. I guess they should employ a bunch of Americans or Europeans and open a design center overseas too. Just like Proton. Must mention Proton maa..;) in any thread…ahakss

• alfist168 on Jun 05, 2009 at 7:14 pm

damn. The new sonata spyshot also features this double-jaw grille thing.

• ong chin aun on Jun 05, 2009 at 7:30 pm

Haha, Ya, facelift front esp. the grille look like back to old century type. See

where the fingers of the Model pointing at better ! not the front of the car.

How is the back look like ?

• BrakeFader on Jun 05, 2009 at 7:36 pm

Looks like a ugly looking reptile. This looks like they are going back to the older organic like design of the past model. Reminds me of the first Hyundai coupe.

• hyundai accident

• I think it is better than the Dugong wo… :D

• Wak Rempit on Jun 05, 2009 at 7:47 pm

[quote comment="243210"]Haha, Ya, facelift front esp. the grille look like back to old century type. See

where the fingers of the Model pointing at better ! not the front of the car.

How is the back look like ?[/quote]

Dude, Which back? car or girl… hehehe

• Srotong on Jun 05, 2009 at 7:55 pm

Aiyo! Tis truly fugly – besides being a crabby prawn it also resembles some ancient Korean trishaw. Yep the model is pointing to her boobs…

• mokkf82 on Jun 05, 2009 at 7:58 pm

Wau, love the girls… but the car, err…..not seems to get my attention.

• Tengokaje.. on Jun 05, 2009 at 8:18 pm

Looks more to angry crab to me.. Just kidding.

The current Accent nicer than this facelift.. IMO

Salam..

• nabill on Jun 05, 2009 at 8:45 pm

aweful , wat wer they thinking ?

• it looks like there just put the bumper near a fire and it melts .

• selekohboi on Jun 05, 2009 at 10:00 pm

i wont say its ugly xz if u look more careful, it doesnt have similarity with Pesona, which I find quite ok.

• Christopher Tan on Jun 06, 2009 at 12:11 am

Is okay.Safety come first. Hyundai Accent aka Hyundai Accindent.

• gattaca on Jun 06, 2009 at 12:26 am

i hope all the crab society around the world will not feel annoyed when they see this design…huhu..

crab or crap?…whatever..

• hyundai on Jun 06, 2009 at 1:25 am

nice lady..

• _xXx_ on Jun 06, 2009 at 2:06 am

[quote comment="243158"]All those crab and prawn allso come from sea lah, but they are not a mamalia like dugong. This is Hyundai Altis Vios aka pawn crab dugong.[/quote]

emmmm, what's mamalia?

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jun 06, 2009 at 2:31 am

wow!! nice boobs..

• peroempat on Jun 06, 2009 at 3:53 am

[quote comment="243240"]

emmmm, what's mamalia?[/quote]

Kawan, try google tanslate to translate Indonesian to English.
    http://translate.google.com/translate_t

The crab pawn are so Korean as well the girl.

The girl need dressing the Naza brand shirt before import.

I think you all got wrong mistake, this is really Korean's dugong species came from Korean's great sea but it really look like crab pawn.

• Geez guys.. Just turn off ya light and view the car at night.. man its scary… Whatta design.Aiyoo… whatta hack went wrong wif the designer….Well i this if this car is used in the movie transformers, It wouldn't be called bumblebee but BULUBABI.. Lolzzzzzzz

• HyundaiLove on Jun 06, 2009 at 9:54 am

Better than the Balik Kampung Proton, after transformed still looks same ..haha!

• [quote comment="243148"]design disaster[/quote]

Agreed. looks scary

• San Peng Road on Jun 06, 2009 at 4:36 pm

Dont hits me mr Verna Transform.. Please!

• afkar on Jun 06, 2009 at 6:25 pm

name it anything…

"what r the new and old accent have in common?"

answer : terrible design..

but paul, where's the rear pic?

• turboKEV on Jun 06, 2009 at 7:27 pm

looks like the creature in Ultraman series~~

• mr868 on Jun 06, 2009 at 9:57 pm

so ugly 'seafood' car

• alansmithz (Member) on Jun 06, 2009 at 10:23 pm

Hyundai Lobster!!! In red, ready for dinner serving.

Hyundai design work really gone the wrong way. They should look up to brother KIA how to go forward with their styling dept!!!

• looks great mostly the last 2!!!!!

• accent design never looked good. it will win ugly car of the year award always

• Quentin Roberts on Jun 07, 2009 at 12:26 am

the front, to me an odd amalgamation of the gen2 and current vios, strangely brings to mind some kind of insect

• mitlanevo on Jun 07, 2009 at 2:28 am

the front is so damn weird and ugly, no wonder the promo girls rather point their own boobs, not the car…..

• soft shell crab

• headlamps and bumper is not bad……..but the grill is ugly

• ericfoong81exe on Jun 08, 2009 at 7:34 pm

The front grill look damn urgly, like those A Beng aftermarket face lift.

• regadas on Jun 09, 2009 at 1:53 am

remind me of Kia Sephia front grill.. Maybe hyundai admiring Kia Sephia design… haha

• i like the chick in the pink top.

• This crab is crap

• bpkid on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:24 pm

since when hyundai hired an "ah beng" to do the facelift jobs for the Accent/Verna?

• neeraj garg on Jul 12, 2010 at 4:13 pm

it’s to good

• vignesh on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:16 pm

wat a mind blowing car in world

• JOHN CELLONE on Apr 18, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Is it verna transform? shame…shame….