New Ford Escape facelift coming to Malaysia!

Ford Escape

A new facelifted Ford Escape will go on sale at Sime Darby Auto Connexion showrooms from the 12th of June 2009. A single model will be offered – the 2.3 litre inline-4 engine mated to a 4-speed automatic transmission which Sime Darby says will be priced at below RM140,000 OTR with insurance. The official price will be unveiled sometime this week.

The V6 model has been dropped for this generation of Escape, which actually differs from the new American market model that was unveiled in 2007 and showcased on this blog previously. Ford decided to split the Escape into two models, with Malaysia getting this Asia-Pacific model which was previewed at the 2007 Tokyo Motor Show as the Ford Escape Adventure Concept, while the US gets one with a more traditionally truck-like look.

Ford Escape

Tech-wise, the US Escape gets some new changes this year – the 2.3 has been replaced by a 2.5 and the V6 gets a 40hp boost to 240 horses, along with an upgrade from a 4-speed to a 6-speed auto transmission. There is even a hybrid model mated to a CVT. Our Asian market version continues with the 2.3 litre and the 4-speed auto.

The new facelifted Ford Escape will come with a 3 year or 100,000 km warranty. Initial specs are revealed to include ABS, EBD, a sunroof, cruise control and a imported leather interior (not wrapped locally).

Look after the jump for a gallery of the Asian market Escape.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=316]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• peroduaeatmydunk on Jun 08, 2009 at 5:07 am

same like previous 1 with minor changes.

last time few running around but now i dont see even 1 old escape .

maybe they scrapped it.

• ambipur on Jun 08, 2009 at 5:31 am

the rear lights kinda look like a mini landcruiser.

wonder hows the market for the escape. can barely see any on the road.

• almostthere on Jun 08, 2009 at 5:32 am

Nothing much changed except it's styling even interior wise looks like Ford AU had a hand in it

• theanswer on Jun 08, 2009 at 5:39 am

the front look nice…(old ford focus)..the rear..kinda small light for a suv.

• pjeul on Jun 08, 2009 at 5:45 am

boring! better get a new pajero sports..

• Christopher Tan on Jun 08, 2009 at 6:01 am

I find it nice.Exterior nice.Interior nice.Cant see much bout the interior cause only one photo but look luxury.To me looks better than CRV.

• Looks WAYYYYY better than CR-V!!!! the rear looks more like KIA BORRENGO!!!

• Indian says "same story different actor"

china man say " change the soup but did not change the ingredient"

Malay man say Tukar baju tapi tarak mandi"

do you thhink it will sales like hot cakes for RM140k maybe cold cakes

• Gajen on Jun 08, 2009 at 6:58 am

the rear lights looks like a toyota…overall the car is ok only…i hardly see any on the road..ppl just prefer crv, xtrail, fortuner,sorento

• Srotong on Jun 08, 2009 at 7:13 am

Test drove the current model sometime 2005 – excellent dynamics, much better than CRV/X-Trail and definitely way ahead of Fortunner(truckish) and Sorento (rubberband steering). Solid stuff. Then thought about resale value – sure die! Then knowing that when one thing goes wrong, others follow in sequence as in any Ford. In the end opted for the X-Trail 2.5, but what a drinker! Maybe only 16-18mpg in town… Otherwise got foot drop.

If this new one upgrade to 5spd auto will consider change – X-Trail very 'kasar' la. CRV looks more 'pondan-ish'.

• You dont know me on Jun 08, 2009 at 7:23 am

What is this?Has the world gone mad.New Ford Escape facelift coming to Malaysia!

• it is like proton waja, still in production ?

i would like to see escape stops the production or proton waja stops first.

• the design make da car look big

• still cant escape from showroom

• CocoBear on Jun 08, 2009 at 9:37 am

Escape from WHAT?

Boring age old design.

At least give the Volvo's sales with a good stir la…

Where's the good XC60?

It's a good looking and powerful(T6) CUV.

Sien..

• Where is the Mondeo ?

• peroduaeatmydunk on Jun 08, 2009 at 10:13 am

remember last time ford promote ranger like mad , and the sales also like mad.

nowdays they nvr market it , they seems dead after nisan frontier etc engine churns out more hp n bigger body.

they only hv ranger that really sells.

who buy their focus 1 ppl 2 ppl , i guess will be less than5 ppl will buy it.

alfa romeo and ford really no luck with malaysia.

malaysian prefer japanese .

maintenance is really big factor now .

• peroduaeatmydunk2 on Jun 08, 2009 at 10:14 am

remember last time ford promote ranger like mad , and the sales also like mad.

nowdays they nvr market it , they seems dead after nisan frontier etc engine churns out more hp n bigger body.

they only hv ranger that really sells.

who buy their focus 1 ppl 2 ppl , i guess will be less than5 ppl will buy it.

alfa romeo and ford really no luck with malaysia.

malaysian prefer japanese .

maintenance is really big factor now .

• Rulered on Jun 08, 2009 at 3:47 pm

Why do Japanese needs SUV or a 4WD in the first place? Their terrain and population doesn't really require the use of SUVs let alone an all in all 4WD. It doesn't really surprise me that most of their SUVs or 4WD which initially built copying from Jeep or Land Rover are currently not suitable to be driven in rough terrain let alone our tropical jungle unless if you are an overfed timber tycoon or an oil sheikh going shopping needing the extra space or perhaps govt car or specifically modified. Why do we glorify their SUVs and 4WD? Think about it, they build something they themselves don't use that much, we sibuk-sibuk glorify it, we buy it a lot and naturally the price becomes more competitive. Give other makes some chance.

• lowprofile on Jun 08, 2009 at 4:24 pm

at least they moved the gear lever from the stering wheel column to the floor.

• Goniothalamus on Jun 08, 2009 at 5:27 pm

fortuner for the front, land cruiser for the back.

Escape has lost it's identity…

• henry on Jun 08, 2009 at 6:25 pm

did i see a Touareg throughout the design?

• CARing on Jun 08, 2009 at 7:34 pm

I like the US version more.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 08, 2009 at 7:41 pm

The revised front and back makes the car quite "handsome" actually, not great but definately not boring.

Interior wise Ford will never let you down. With the target buyers are soccer moms and housewives, the facelift are just right and conservative.

For and old car with new face,140k is just right as an alternative to CRV, X-Trail and Fortuner.

• Now that American does not think the idea of having big vehicles at right at this time of economy, manufacturers start launching big-size vehicles at other parts of the world.

Vehicles these days are getting bigger and bigger*, one set back of course is the fuel consumption worsen, regardless or whatever the sales people tells you about their new generation engines economical to run; big and heavy weight vehicles will consume more fuel, that is physics. If the engine is so fuel saving, they should have just build the car of the right size and save fuel altogether.

I only see more lone driver on big vehicles every morning rush hour. I really don't see any good valid reason to drive such big vehicles to work when the only advantage is the higher driving position to overcome one weakness in driving skill.

*Have anyone recently seen the size of Mazda CX9? Toyota Fortuner? Now the new Pajero and this Ford. Despite the big size exterior, sad to say none of them having much more EXTRA interior space than regular sedans or local MPVs. Still, nothing beats the good old Pajeros and Land Cruisers in the jungle.

• nabill on Jun 08, 2009 at 9:37 pm

its jus a mini landcruiser…bt the old one actually very comfortble to drive unlikke most 4×4 cars…bt i always hear the old one had nasty gearbox issues…

• Ford lover on Jun 09, 2009 at 8:56 pm

Ford Escape should produce diesel engine.

• BRAZBUZ on Jun 09, 2009 at 11:16 pm

quite late already…

it is 2007 model…

• mitlanevo on Jun 10, 2009 at 1:28 am

[quote comment="243628"]Now that American does not think the idea of having big vehicles at right at this time of economy, manufacturers start launching big-size vehicles at other parts of the world.

Vehicles these days are getting bigger and bigger*, one set back of course is the fuel consumption worsen, regardless or whatever the sales people tells you about their new generation engines economical to run; big and heavy weight vehicles will consume more fuel, that is physics. If the engine is so fuel saving, they should have just build the car of the right size and save fuel altogether.

I only see more lone driver on big vehicles every morning rush hour. I really don't see any good valid reason to drive such big vehicles to work when the only advantage is the higher driving position to overcome one weakness in driving skill.

*Have anyone recently seen the size of Mazda CX9? Toyota Fortuner? Now the new Pajero and this Ford. Despite the big size exterior, sad to say none of them having much more EXTRA interior space than regular sedans or local MPVs. Still, nothing beats the good old Pajeros and Land Cruisers in the jungle.[/quote]

fuel consumption worsen??? dude, u just ran out from jungle or what?

and btw, its a pain to drive a Pajero (old one)….

no power, no torque, uncomfortable sitting position…..

• bukapintubayartol on Jun 11, 2009 at 1:57 am

at least the transmission stick is back in between the driver and the front passenger…

• Low_Giut on Oct 01, 2009 at 7:29 pm

common lar..

I better make my own SUV.

• still waiting for Proton SUVs…. and very hope they come with turbodiesel power…. thumbs up Proton, show your best :-)

• brnkoh on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:37 pm

any one know a good service center for escape in KL or PJ? need to change the V-belt, very expensive to do it at the ford services center.

• JongTK on Jun 04, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Dear Friends,

I intend to buy ford escape, when i read the comments form website is more negative than positive….why…. please send me a fare comment on new ford escape. Please…. Thanks