Mitsubishi Pajero Sport SUV on sale for RM163k!

Mitsubishi Pajero Sport

Those who are looking for a rugged ladder frame-based 4WD vehicle as an alternative to the Ford Everest or the Toyota Fortuner can now opt for the Mitsubishi Pajero Sport, which is based on the multi-Malaysian-award-winning Mitsubishi Triton pick-up truck.

Mitsubishi has engineered a SUV body for the Triton’s ladder frame and change the rear leaf spring suspension to one based on coil springs mated to a 3-link live axle with stabilizer bar. The front rides on double wishbones with coil springs and a stabilizer bar. It is essentially the replacement for the Mitsubishi Challenger which can be found on Malaysian roads, which is a 4WD SUV version of the Mitsubishi Storm which preceded the current Triton.

Under the hood is a 16 valve 4 cylinder direct injection intercooled turbocharged 2.5 litre diesel engine producing 136 PS at 3,500rpm and 314Nm of torque at 2,000rpm. This is mated to a 4-speed automatic transmission with INVECS-II shift control. No 3.2 litre version like the one in the Triton currently available.

Mitsubishi Pajero Sport

The 4WD system features Super Select 4WD. SS-4WD features four modes – 2H for regular driving, 4H for a 50:50 torque split between the front and rear axle, 4HLc which locks the center differential for equal power to all four wheels, and 4LLc which engages 4WD, the center differential lock, and in addition drives power through a set of low gear ratios for torque multiplication. 2H to 4H can be selected at speeds of up to 100km/h. 4LLc provides a maximum climb angle of 35 degrees. Departure angle and approach angles are 25 degrees and 36 degrees respectively. The ramp break-over angle is 23 degrees. Lateral travel angle (tilted sideways) is up to 45 degrees.

The Pajero Sport features a beige interior with three rows of seats in a 2-3-2 configuration, which means space for 7. The second row splits 60:40, with two 3-point seatbelts for the sides and one 2-point center lapbelt for the middle. The third row has 3-point seatbelts for both seats. For smaller families that don’t require the third row, it can be folded down flat and kept that way most of the time to make way for a larger boot space. The second row shares air conditioning vent airflow from the front dash with the first row while the third row gets their own side vents with manual fan speed control.

Mitsubishi Pajero Sport

The interior’s dashboard design looks quite close to the Triton but there are a few subtle changes such as a different steering wheel, a slightly different design for the center dash area, and a different automatic shifter to accommodate the Tiptronic manual shifting ability. The area where the Triton featured an RV meter has been replaced with a 2-DIN touch screen DVD/CD head unit with USB and AUX input, mated to a 6-speaker audio system (including 2 tweeters).

The Pajero sport rides on 265/65R17 tyres. It has dual SRS airbags for the front. Brakes are ventilated discs at the front and drums at the rear. To help with maneuvering its larger bulk it has both front and rear sensors. The wing mirrors have power folding function. A total of 5 body colours are available – Eisen Grey Mica, Cool Silver Metallic, Platinum Beige Metallic, Dark Blue Mica and White Pearl. It goes for RM162,980.00 OTR with insurance for individual private registration, and RM163,450.51 for company private registration.

Mitsubishi Pajero Sport

Now that’s a huge gap of tens of thousands between the price of the Pajero Sport and the Triton but it’s all because of taxes as the price difference between the Pajero Sport and Triton in Langkawi is just slightly more than RM3k – RM88,888.00 for the Pajero Sport SUV versus RM85,299.05 for the Triton pick-up, both for individual private reg. The Pajero Sport is brought in as a fully imported CBU from Thailand.

Look after the jump for more images of the Pajero Sport.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=209]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Hustle N Flow on Jun 08, 2009 at 8:33 am

first!!

this pajero looks fierce…!

• isabella on Jan 11, 2011 at 11:46 am

I’ve alreadly have this Pajero Sport (White Pearl)… really smooth driving experince! It’s rugged & tough yet very large SUV sure to give me very comfortable feeling… shall i say this SUV is sexy enuff for a woman like me!

• what a cool car is it

• A fancier alternative for uncle ?? I will put this in my list… haha

• WhiteFox on Jun 08, 2009 at 9:13 am

ya…. definitely a good alternative 4wd on the road.

I already too bored so many Toyota Landcruser on the road lol.

BTW now money to once it :P dream it enough

• They shud consider selling cheaper & lighter RWD version just like everest 4×2. They shudnt fooling malaysian (which easily obsessed by foreign makes) with pajero nameplate

• funkbanana on Jun 08, 2009 at 10:02 am

So this is a fortuner competitor? Which would you prefer?

• Gajen on Jun 08, 2009 at 10:08 am

i prefer fortuner…fortuner looks less hilux..this looks more trition…this one looks like a triton with trunk cover…fortuner has a better interior too…however this is definately better than everest…=)

• bmpower on Jun 08, 2009 at 10:56 am

paul said:

multi-Malaysian-award-winning Mitsubishi Triton pick-up truck.

even so.. it doesn't sell well as it's previously successful Storm. I bet it gonna be the same with this new Pajero. The old pajero's spirit is gone!

I personally think that Mitsu's pajero and 'new storm' just out of their targeted customer.

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 08, 2009 at 10:57 am

replaced the 17in rims to 18in then you have a looker. Current setup leaves too much gap between the tyres and the fenders, even for a pick-up.

• ambipur on Jun 08, 2009 at 12:26 pm

sad that its named a 'Pajero'

should have named it Triton Sport, doenst even have a hint of Pajero looks on it.

if anyone is familiar with the pajero iO aka mini pajero, that even looks like one.

this seems similar to the Ford Everest, a ranger with rear cover.

wonder how it will sell

• pions on Jun 08, 2009 at 3:31 pm

good alternatif other than fortuner.but the price damn high .

• kambing on Jun 08, 2009 at 3:59 pm

Look no tough.

Rear was ok.

Look more to triton.

163k was bad.

I better get Grand vitara..

• JULIAN_LEE on Jun 08, 2009 at 5:06 pm

get BMW X5 lah

• prolever on Jun 08, 2009 at 5:14 pm

[quote comment="243569"]Look no tough.

Rear was ok.

Look more to triton.

163k was bad.

I better get Grand vitara..[/quote]

dude…… come on la……. u want 2 compare this suv with a mpv…

get a life….

• lazyf on Jun 08, 2009 at 5:19 pm

nice…

• razee hussin on Jun 08, 2009 at 5:26 pm

This new pajero has a clear advantage of a tiptronic transmission over fortuner. I would definitely put my money on this pajero for sure. But then toyota has a better brand. And by that advantage, they keep being the best selling imported brand in malaysia and in the world…

• [quote comment="243587"][quote comment="243569"]Look no tough.

Rear was ok.

Look more to triton.

163k was bad.

get a life….[/quote]

grand vitara is mpv ??

• hahaha…i thnik the "pro" is not so pro after all. the "pro" must mistaken grand vitara for grand livina…lets get a life! huhuhu

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 08, 2009 at 6:17 pm

just wondering, is there any possibility of swapping a fortuner headlamps into a hilux headlamp housing?

• steven on Jun 08, 2009 at 6:20 pm

wow i like the shifttronic … if can install to my vigo nice …

• henry on Jun 08, 2009 at 6:31 pm

[quote comment="243595"][quote comment="243587"][quote comment="243569"]Look no tough.

Rear was ok.

Look more to triton.

163k was bad.

get a life….[/quote]

grand vitara is mpv ??[/quote]

grand vitara is a girlish suv compare to this Pajero. what a non-sense comparison.

• RS Raichand on Jun 08, 2009 at 7:02 pm

[quote comment="243607"][quote comment="243595"][quote comment="243587"][quote comment="243569"]Look no tough.

Rear was ok.

Look more to triton.

163k was bad.

get a life….[/quote]

grand vitara is mpv ??[/quote]

grand vitara is a girlish suv compare to this Pajero. what a non-sense comparison.[/quote]

I think he meant 'Grand Livina'… btw is Vitara still in the market? I thought Suzuki discontinued that SUV already??

• CARing on Jun 08, 2009 at 7:38 pm

Girlish pajero.Its look like pajero had undergone plastic surgery

• roti naan1 on Jun 08, 2009 at 7:44 pm

4 speed only?? kinda outdated g/b….

• I can agree that the interior needs improvements. The performance, better than the Malaysian Fortuner by a mile. Check out the super smooth SUPER SELECT GEAR BOX.

• nyawere on Jun 08, 2009 at 8:00 pm

I went to see the car last Saturday.

The BAD

1) This 160K car only has 5 speed…? even the Ford ranger has 5 speed. My 130K Sorento has 5 speed and it makes lots of difference

2) NO disc brakes at the back..!

3) NO Electric seats..!

4) Aircond is manual (Like the iswara controls). Even the Triton 3.2 has climate control.

5) Towing Capacity is 1.5 tonnes according to the sales manager. FYI the sorento has a towing capacity of 3 tonnes. (This is important to me as i tow boats & jet skis)

THE GOOD

1) Very nice interior…

2) Good ICE system with optional Garmin gps & reverse camera..! 7 inch monitor looks good..!

3) 6th & 7th seat is bearable

4) 17 inch wheels…! with 265 65 series

5) I like the leather seat..!

After weighing the pro's & cons, i have decided not to opt for this car. Too many missing items for such an expensive car. For this price, you might as well get the Captiva, Santa Fe or the Sorento. Much better specs..! But if you compare it with Toyota Fortuner, then you have a face off…!

Just my 2 cents..!

• Wak Rempit on Jun 08, 2009 at 8:17 pm

For a ladder framed SUV it sure is expensive at 163k. To me it is nothing more than a Triton (a truck) with extra cabin, roofing and added electronics, the same with Fortuner and Hilux.

If compare with Ford Escape spec wise, I preferred Escape since it share the same G platform with Mazda CX7 and Mazda6 so dynamically its proven, not to mention driveability and comfort.

My 2 cents.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 08, 2009 at 10:37 pm

I think we are all missing the point here.

All these trucks are supposed to be "Cheap" 7 seat capable with half decent off road use.

The taxes piled on it just made this completely irrelevant. This is only slightly more expensive than the Triton if it wasn't the disapportionate (did I just make that word up? lol) taxes.

The Escape is a "softroader" like a CRV/Rav4/Tucson/CX7..etc, not meant for the tougher stuff these trucks are made to traverse. What you loose in drivability and comfort, you make up in ruggerdness and a real 4WD drivetrain.

If you live in Sabah and need 7 seats, these are the only things that will do. Softroaders will be ripped to shreads.

• Thomas on Jun 08, 2009 at 11:12 pm

This will kill the Toyota Fortuner for bloody sure!

• bmpower on Jun 08, 2009 at 11:22 pm

the main problem is.. the current pajero and triton, just not as..

as though and as strong as before. No wonder ford ranger win over this. It's just lost of their focus.

Nissan Frontier is my choice btw.

• It's a bad looker :( …… I prefer the old pajero…

• not bad mitsu…….

but like the above, agree the the LUX n fortuner has different front end that distinquishes the truck n the suv. at least its not that identical.

the triton n pajero sport…..all is ok for me, only if they put a bit more effort to distinquish it from truck n suv. will it come with a 3.2?….

the fortuner is going down man….. 2.5 litre w/o intercooler…102bhp…the power is sluggish….crude at todays time……wonder if the isuzu MU7 or nissan pathfinder wil find a way to m'sia……

• rexis on Jun 09, 2009 at 10:47 pm

Is it me or what? Why do I feel that Triton face looks nicer?

Engine wise, pwning Fortuner. But Fortuner is not a best seller anyway. CRV still beats all.

• mitlanevo on Jun 10, 2009 at 1:40 am

[quote comment="243554"]replaced the 17in rims to 18in then you have a looker. Current setup leaves too much gap between the tyres and the fenders, even for a pick-up.[/quote]

17? 18? how about 22" matte black or fully chrome spinner?

hehezzz….

• mitlanevo on Jun 10, 2009 at 1:45 am

[quote comment="243649"]This will kill the Toyota Fortuner for bloody sure![/quote]

no, don't think so…

even though the sales of Fortuner is not good, most naive buyers will still get an overhyped T badge without test drive, without comparing, research and surveys….

but hopefully this new Pajero will be MUCH better than the old one, in terms of power and handling…. the old one is a pain to drive…..

• Leseid Obrut on Jun 10, 2009 at 1:55 pm

[quote comment="243667"]It's a bad looker :(

…… I prefer the old pajero…[/quote]

I think it's important to note that this is NOT a replacement for the Pajero. It's called Pajero Sport, which, as Paul had pointed out, is based on the Triton. The 'real' Pajero is still being produced. It's bigger than this and has a unibody/monocoque construction as opposed to ladder frame. =)

Anyway I'm guessing that this Pajero Sport might have a better ride quality than the Fortuner, judging by its apparently longer suspension travel. It should fare better off-road due to the same reason, and fuel economy should be slightly better that the Fortuner since the Pajero Sport doesn't employ full-time 4WD. Mind you, Super Select 4WD is one of the best systems around.

• Leseid Obrut on Jun 10, 2009 at 2:08 pm

[quote comment="243642"]I think we are all missing the point here.

All these trucks are supposed to be "Cheap" 7 seat capable with half decent off road use.

The taxes piled on it just made this completely irrelevant. This is only slightly more expensive than the Triton if it wasn't the disapportionate (did I just make that word up? lol) taxes.

The Escape is a "softroader" like a CRV/Rav4/Tucson/CX7..etc, not meant for the tougher stuff these trucks are made to traverse. What you loose in drivability and comfort, you make up in ruggerdness and a real 4WD drivetrain.

If you live in Sabah and need 7 seats, these are the only things that will do. Softroaders will be ripped to shreads.[/quote]

Being a Sarawakian, I couldn't agree more – our trunk roads are simply HORRENDOUS! Bumpy, twisted, potholes abound, blind corners, blind summits, adversely cambered corners – sometimes I wonder how our state government spends the oil royalty. And I truly envy our fellow Malaysians across the pond enjoying the beautifully smooth highway tarmac without worrying about suspension damage and steering misalignment…SIGH… =(

• Thomas.T on Jun 15, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Yalah..each time travel Kch-Miri-Kch always servis my 4WD steering misallignment

• Solomon on Jun 14, 2009 at 9:57 pm

want one so i can share my triton part with it

• Lam Joul on Jun 25, 2009 at 5:59 am

Anybody is interested to view the car pricing before excise duty plus sales tax plus ap.Then u should comment about our malaysia car price compare to other countries.

• best of the best super suv

• No manual version?

4 speed auto gear box? Very2 odd isn't it for this engine?

Should've mate with a 5 speed manual or 5 speed whatever-shift gear box isn't it?

• Thomas.T on Jun 15, 2010 at 12:58 pm

Dude i couldn’t agree more.
      When they’re gonna bring Pajero Sports 3.2 to Malaysia?

• magetan on Aug 22, 2010 at 11:09 am

More feminism than before

• Chuck on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:22 pm

Pajero Sport year Aug 2010 is giving drivetrain problem (invec ii). It is said to be Intelligent but I disagree with it. This drivetrain has given me lots of sharp jerk as if it is considering what gear to select; the noise is “krup.” MIT of Malaysia, can you please fix this problem as I spend myr163 fir this suv. Will you buy if this thing happen? If your company do not attend to this matter quickly, I bet you will lose out in business. Without any doubt, I will put this out big in the news media and tell the whole world about it.
    Lots of thks.

• isabella on Jan 11, 2011 at 11:55 am

I’ve already have this Pajero Sport SUV (white pearl)… It’s rugged & tough SUV that can give me very smooth driving experience! Pajero Sport is a large SUV sure to give me safety and comfortable feeling… shall i say, ‘his’ handsome fierce look, is sexy enuff for a woman like me…!

• sick&tired on Apr 04, 2011 at 1:26 am

i really don’t know how anyone can consider paying an extra RM80k for a pajero sports which is essentially a Triton! Even uses the same engine! and to make matters worse, in langkawi the price difference is only RM3k! madness!

• We have both Fortuner 2.7 Petrol and Pajero Sport 2.5 Diesel at our office. Both has a high spec accesorries. Fortuner has better pickup due to higher engine capacity and petrol. Yet in a high speed driving (above 100kmh), reliabilty (rough terrain) and sharp cornering, the pajero sport surpass the fortuner a lot. My bos regret buying 1 fortuner and 1 pajerosport, if he had know he would have buy 2 pajerosport instead. fortuner sway alot…u may feel dizzy at the 2nd row. Not good if u want to bring your important client along…heheeh