Mazda 3 Sport 1.6 and 2.0 launched in Malaysia!

Mazda 3

The new Mazda 3 Sport is now in Malaysia. I apologise for the delay in the launch writeup as I’ve only just managed to get the press kit. Only the sedan models with 1.6 and 2.0 engines have been launched at the moment but I am told the hatchbacks will be introduced later.

This new Mazda 3 does share some underpinings with the previous Mazda 3 sold here but sports a completely new look. At the front you of course have the smiley grille which everyone was commenting on when this model was first unveiled. Even Mazda calls this a “smiley” face grille!

Mazda 3

The side profile looks way more dynamic than the outgoing model, with a shoulderline that rises upwards instead of the flat one on the previous model. The rear end is an evolution of the outgoing car, also looking more sportier and with an obvious family resemblance to the larger Mazda 6 sedan.

The 2.0 litre model is really quite chock full of equipment. You’ve got bi-xenon headlamps (xenon for both main beam and high beam) with auto leveling, rain sensor wipers, power folding mirrors, automatic climate control, LED rear lamps, light sensor for the headlamps, and fog lamps for the exterior. The interior has an in-dash 6 CD changer, a multi-info display featuring exterior air thermometer, trip computer with speed alarm, blue mood lighting, a sliding arm rest, paddle shifters, a black-out meter cluster, leather seats and a leather steering. Both models have ABS, and the 1.6 litre model has dual front airbags while the 2.0 litre model has 6 airbags.

UPDATE: I apologize for the mistake, the Mazda 3 Sport 2.0 has 6 airbags. There are two at the front, two at the A-pillars and another two integrated into the front seats.

Mazda 3

The MID display is one of the most full-featured ones that I’ve seen at this price range and segment. It even has reminder functions for your next service as well as a built-in trip computer and reminder for tyre rotation. The seats are manually adjustable for both models, and the rear bench splits 60:40. The steering wheel is both tilt and telescopically adjustable, and runs on an electric hydraulic system.

In the engine bay, the 1.6 litre base model features a 103 horsepower inline-4 with 144Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. This is mated to a 4-speed auto with a single overdrive. The 2.0 litre model produces 145 horsepower at 6,500rpm and 182Nm of torque at 4,500rpm. This engine is mated to a 5-speed auto with two overdrives, but the first overdrive has a ratio of 0.933 which is very close to 1.000.

Mazda 3

The new Mazda 3 shares the same 2,640mm wheelbase as the outgoing car. It now measures 4,580mm long, 1,75mm wide and 1,470mm tall. The 1.6 litre model has wider treads of 1,535mm at the front and 1,520mm at the rear, while the 2.0 litre model front tread is 1,530mm and 1,515mm for rear tread. The 2.0 has larger wheels naturally, measuring 205/50R17 compared to 195/65R15 for the 1.6 model.

What you lose on the 1.6 model are the CD changer, xenon headlamps, rain sensor wipers, LED tail lamps, power folding mirrors, leather steering and sports seats, trip computer with speed alarm, auto climate control, lamps on the sun visors, and the sliding arm rest.

Mazda 3

The 1.6 model is currently going for RM 111,017.50 OTR with insurance while the 2.0 litre model is going for RM 131,537.90 OTR with insurance. Mazda says these are special introductory prices for the first 100 customers only. In addition, the first 50 of these buyers will receive a maintenance package from Goodyear Tyres and Shell Lubricants.

Look after the jump for more photos of the new Mazda 3.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=317]

[zenphotopress number=99 album=318]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• a happy car. reminds me of bugs bunny when smiling. what's up, doc?

• The tail lights looks like the mazda 6……NICE

• I would say, it is beating off civic 2.0

• Mazda Marketing = Sleeping Beauty on Jun 12, 2012 at 12:11 pm

Civic (Honda) actually is NOT a good car in other country but Malaysia. BOON SIEW group is very successful to build the Honda brand image but not via built up quality (made in Melaka).
      Honda & Perodua is over price due to good demands. Honda is high price bcoz the company control the supply (avoid mass production, so that the price is sky high), whereby Perodua fight with no competitors bcoz Proton is a sleeping UGGLY.
      “A” segment (entry model) monopoly by Perodua, because our market is NOT really open in competition, so that Perodua take granted to over charge the price to SLEEPING customer.
      Mazda good in design, great in performance & excellent in build up quality but Blind in marketing. I personally think the marketing team of Mazda should aware of their weakness. Good example is, I fall in love with Mazda 3 but married Civic. Simply bcoz I am fail to test drive Mazda 3 in Kota Bharu & nearest state (Trengganu). The worst thing is, dealer promoting Madza 3 by display the fizical products (U can see, touch but CAN’T FEEL via experience). Another shocking thing is dealer in K.B denied current offer in Klang valley (June 2012), free insurance (RM3,400) & Free DVD Touch Screen (RM3,350) & 0 salesman Rebate which easilly can touch up RM1,550 in other place. Mean in K.B, it’s over price by RM8,300++. I wish I can go to Klang Valley or Penang or JB to purchased Mazda 3 but thinking of times to spend, risk to drive back (8 hours), might as well I get Civic.
      If I were the management team of Mazda, I ll open direct shop in all state + 3S. The potential for mazda 3 to growth is high bcoz the all New Civic is Uggly, Altis an oldman, Inspira carry shame & imitation reputation with low quality fact. Perodua is over price toys with low quality for poor guy & lack knowledge

• kokwei on Jun 10, 2009 at 6:33 pm

The outside and inside looks good. Am curious of the legroom …

• amirzaim on Jun 10, 2009 at 6:37 pm

First look, the front design is just like RX8 models but when i'm looked at this model twice, then the front car is looks smile. Hehehe… mazda would do this to attract the car buyers and make the car buyers going to smile at it.

• pelams on Jun 10, 2009 at 6:43 pm

cool…..adjustable steering wheel?

• Why the mazda engine always have lower output compared to other japanese car (example T n H brand) :~

• Bose sound system on the 2.0 model?

• knoxx on Jun 10, 2009 at 7:04 pm

like a baby smile to me hehehe… better charge the font bumper

• peroduasaupei on Jun 10, 2009 at 7:06 pm

the 100k+ 1.6 model , 103hp , 144Nm torque?

waja or gen2 cps is 125hp ,145nm torque.

with lighter body will whoop this car anytime, not to say the manual transmission sure fater than automatic.

how bout 2.0 model , the price really kill its model.

question , can u afford , and are u willing to put ur money on it?

Hell no . Nvm , The buyers or buyer will determine . huahuahua

• Paul Tan on Jun 10, 2009 at 7:10 pm

no bose sound system indicated in the specs list, if not they would have shouted about it. those are just press photos i guess.

• Syedz on Jun 10, 2009 at 7:16 pm

If Mazda start their CKD program they can beat Honda and Toyota, for me Mazda Car is overprice

• Jkucing on Jun 10, 2009 at 7:17 pm

expensive…tats y mazda nvr get so populated in mlysia… :D

• farghmee on Jun 10, 2009 at 7:32 pm

Cantik~ :)

• xatomic on Jun 10, 2009 at 7:39 pm

I have booked the 2.0 liter…and it doesnt come with leather seats..optional for extra RM2,800 (i know some of the units in Berjaya sports leather seats..)

• aliBaPa on Jun 10, 2009 at 7:39 pm

expensive for 1.6 model

• [quote comment="243899"]the 100k+ 1.6 model , 103hp , 144Nm torque?

with lighter body will whoop this car anytime, not to say the manual transmission sure fater than automatic.

Hell no . Nvm , The buyers or buyer will determine . huahuahua[/quote]

pls exlcude boleh-land make cars when you do comparison.

tis is CBU unit.

• Srotong on Jun 10, 2009 at 7:50 pm

Aiyo, the price,,, Mazda to my mind beats T,H&M always in styling cues and having more 'euro' feel. They are the japo version of 'think out of the box' with their Miatas and RX8. Only carmaker who dares to build rotary engines for wankers. Mazda 1-6 series are a sight for sore eyes in this utilitarian existence filled with P1&2 and plebian japos'. But… Aiyo the price!

• redwings on Jun 10, 2009 at 7:58 pm

[quote comment="243902"]If Mazda start their CKD program they can beat Honda and Toyota, for me Mazda Car is overprice[/quote]

If you compare the quality of CBU and CKD… the differences seem justify,

Don't think CKD for mazda will be so soon… but you can expect Mazda from Thailand once they start assembly the Mazda2 later this year and the rest in future. Then, we will see the price will be attractive…

I was at the roadshow at Time Square recently and really proud on what Bermaz is doing by bring almost full range of Mazdas' to Malaysia compare to 5 years back, only Mazda6 and Fighter. Heard that bermaz will also bring in CX-7 later this year.

ZOOM ZOOM

• Jolly_idiot on Jun 10, 2009 at 8:00 pm

Saw the real car. Abit too crampy for the rear leg room. Probably due to oversize front seat. Overall, it's kinda good stuff compare to H or T.

• SavvyTron on Jun 10, 2009 at 8:01 pm

I love Mazda A6 Sport..

• shahzane on Jun 10, 2009 at 8:06 pm

the car is great! but the rear seat is not so practical. why did they have to fit a 'split' seats instead of the normal straight ones?it is so impractical to carry passengers and reduce the capacity to only 2 adults at the rear. can't they be sporty n a bit more practical too??

• keeekeee on Jun 10, 2009 at 8:21 pm

[quote comment="243913"][quote comment="243902"]If Mazda start their CKD program they can beat Honda and Toyota, for me Mazda Car is overprice[/quote]

Don't think CKD for mazda will be so soon… but you can expect Mazda from Thailand once they start assembly the Mazda2 later this year and the rest in future. Then, we will see the price will be attractive…

I was at the roadshow at Time Square recently and really proud on what Bermaz is doing by bring almost full range of Mazdas' to Malaysia compare to 5 years back, only Mazda6 and Fighter. Heard that bermaz will also bring in CX-7 later this year.

ZOOM ZOOM[/quote]

Oh really???? They are bring in CX-7 soon????? i cant wait for that. wanted to buy it but dun like those AP one. I wanna brand new one :) I like CX-9 as well but it just too big for me to drive around in KL :) Looking forward for the CX-7 :)

• Jolly_idiot on Jun 10, 2009 at 8:21 pm

It's a confirm 2 Bose front door speaker for 2.0 model. This car is kinda loaded with gadgets. The steering wheels is stuffed with buttons

• wallstreet on Jun 10, 2009 at 8:25 pm

our bolehland tax aside..why ppl still complaining Mazda is overpriced is really mind boggling. CBU from Japan, 6 airbags, bi-xenon auto leveling, rain sensor, auto lamp, 6 airbags and loads more..and is only cost 1500 more than CKD Thailand Civic. IMO Mazda quality now is far better than the H and T. Generally Malaysians mind are stick to H and T only even Civic priced at 140K, Malaysian will still say cheap……because its a Honda or Toyota…Looks like Malaysians will never get a taste of what good car are like….because they think of how much they can sell before they even buy the car…

• newbie on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:12 pm

strongly agree with you.. i just don’t get it when people starts thinking about re selling it when they haven’t bought it at the first place. so typical of malaysians i guess..

• bmpower on Jun 10, 2009 at 8:27 pm

i nicely design.. as Mazda as it is.

but engine not as good as their previous version of engine.

B8 / KFZE / KJZEM etc etc etc. What engine code they use in this?

And sadly… it's really overprice. :(

and it will make people not 'smile'.

• nabill on Jun 10, 2009 at 8:33 pm

looks great bt those two engines look abit weak on power and torque

• bpkid on Jun 10, 2009 at 8:39 pm

the smiling car :D

• heman on Jun 10, 2009 at 8:48 pm

since berjaya bought the mazda, their service centre still havent stable yet. better ask about service schedule and price before buying a mazda car. you will shock by their after service price or maintainance management.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 10, 2009 at 9:00 pm

Nice smiley car but too pricey, I can't understand why since Mazda is not that preferable in Malaysia.

A friend of mine intended to own M6 2.0 but when he see this M3 2.0 with all those gadgets, he changed his mine… but the price… oh the price (as quoted by him) is like a stab to his heart.

He is quoted 126K for the CKD Civic 2.0 but eventually observed some assembly defects (Honda take note) especially the dashboards in another friend's civic… I second to him after visited the "other" car forums… numerous complaints.

No doubt this CBU M3 is a nice car with cool interior… but the price is not that smiley.

My 2 cents

• Ariff on Jun 10, 2009 at 9:07 pm

i was thinking of getting '04 Caldina GT4 N-Spec as my 1st car,but now i'm bewildered.This one is more eye-catching and new.But it is smaller than a Cald n lacks turbo engine.But do you think this is better in term of long-term value.And the toys inside is better than a Cald.If I pick this one,I'll surely take the 2.0 hatchback and add mazdaspeed aftermarket bodykit.I has always been a fan of Mazda.

• JimmyTeng on Jun 10, 2009 at 9:17 pm

Agreed, price too expensive for 1.6 and with most of the features excluded.

I would easily coosider the Peugeot 308 1.6 VTi/Turbo and Ford Focus 2.0S.

• wanderlei silva on Jun 10, 2009 at 9:22 pm

why the large grin? other than that it looks very much like a compact M6. A bit on the 'pricey' side compared to its competitors.

• wallstreet on Jun 10, 2009 at 9:51 pm

[quote comment="243926"]since berjaya bought the mazda, their service centre still havent stable yet. better ask about service schedule and price before buying a mazda car. you will shock by their after service price or maintainance management.[/quote]

Err…I think you are one of those who don't know anything about Mazda, let alone owning it that will 'presume' this and that…. I hv no problem getting it service for my Mazda 6 all done in 1.5hr. No major service needed up to 50K km and interval of 10K km instead of 5K in Accord/Camry. Each service will be filled with Helix Ultra cost 260 plus oil filter (from Japan not Thailand) cost 45. Total 305. Accord service interval 5K cost 164.2 and 235.50 at 10K. Total 399.70 excluding the time your spend on the long que twice. At 20K Accord service getting more expensive at 389.80 plus 15K service 164.20. Total 554. Mazda still 305. Accord need major service at 40K, Mazda 50K. Bear in mind, all Mazda parts are from Japan whereas Honda from Thailand. Still think Honda and Toyota cheaper? Go on….

• Wallstreet….pls advise me. Honda City 1.5, RM90k or Mazda 3 1.6, RM 105 (including the leather seats)? is it worth to fork out another RM20K? U were saying maintenance wise Mazda is better than Honda. what about the parts?

• turboKEV on Jun 10, 2009 at 10:07 pm

[quote comment="243916"]the car is great! but the rear seat is not so practical. why did they have to fit a 'split' seats instead of the normal straight ones?it is so impractical to carry passengers and reduce the capacity to only 2 adults at the rear. can't they be sporty n a bit more practical too??[/quote]

Agree! i'm comparing this with PUG308THP, 308 interior more spacious.. if comparing with M3 2.0, THP gadgets is pretty much the same or more, but THP dun hav Xeon headlamp :(

Wat i think..if comparing T or H..M3 is worth than civic 2.0, its CBU, more gadgets, at least not so dull on the road..

but if comparing PUG, 308THP cheaper by 17k.. woo…

That's owner choice in the end :)

• Kokben on Jun 10, 2009 at 10:16 pm

if mazda is overprice..then is honda overprice? not to forget mazda is CBU

• looks like M3 is competitively priced. It seems to head directly against Civic 2.0, although it lacks power (145 vs 155PS), cruise control, and traction control. However, it adds auto-level head lamps, auto head lamps, rain-sensor wipers, LED rear lamps, and of course, the smiley face grille. The CKD vs CBU may not hold up until you see the quality yourself (e.g., Lancer CBU vs Civic CKD).

• aksMs on Jun 10, 2009 at 10:40 pm

[quote comment="243882"]a happy car. reminds me of bugs bunny when smiling. what's up, doc?[/quote]

I second that! Yeah…first look got that impression.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 10, 2009 at 10:44 pm

Ouch. 130k for what is basically an entry level car in other markets.

The hatch would be nice….but..as much as I like the 3, the price makes the other smiley face 308Turbo at 111k a more compelling buy (if you could live with the depreciation – but not like the Mazda is stellar in that regards as well). Better power delivery than the 2.0 3 and jsut as good handling characteristics…as well as kitted up with 6 airbags

That said, even if they did bring the hatch in, would it sell in the face of the Pug Turbo or its own sister Focus 2.0 hatch (which are price almost identically to the Pug)?

• Wak Rempit on Jun 10, 2009 at 10:47 pm

[quote comment="243943"]if mazda is overprice..then is honda overprice? not to forget mazda is CBU[/quote]

Dude, Toyota and Honda have strong followers and huge demand in Malaysia therefore they can gasak the price… a CKD civic 2.0 at 126k… that is ridiculous!

Mazda is not so popular thus they should lower the price to be noticed in the market. Majority of buyers don't care about CKD or CBU, they just want the brand and cheap.

• lchan on Jun 10, 2009 at 11:04 pm

price is a bit on the high side.

• peroduasaupei on Jun 10, 2009 at 11:13 pm

[quote comment="243909"][quote comment="243899"]the 100k+ 1.6 model , 103hp , 144Nm torque?

Hell no . Nvm , The buyers or buyer will determine . huahuahua[/quote]

tis is CBU unit.[/quote]

What make you think bolehland car is CKD?

think la bodo

• Andy214 on Jun 10, 2009 at 11:21 pm

Paul,

You said the MID/MFD is the most full featured ones in this segment/category. Have you tested the 308 THP version? How does both compares?

The 308 THP version have better display than the VTi and slightly more information. You can access to menu/settings and adjust the settings available on the car (e.g. DRL, Auto Headlights, Auto Wipers, etc).

The "intelligent" service countdown counter was available even in the 206 itself, but the 308 comes with a special button for simple diagnostic test/check on the car. You also can a "seat-belt" monitor for the 308, while on the MFD of the THP, it can show detail picture of a car showing which door is opened.

I personally haven't seen the Mazda3 version, but from the pictures it looks like there is 2 screen. Interesting~ Kinda like the Civic UK interior, but is the local model the same?

• familiman on Jun 11, 2009 at 12:15 am

i have been a fan of mazda 3 hatchback since 2007.. road tested the mazda 3 2.0 and it was superb, the handling handsdown H & T cannot compete. anyway the price was too much.. since i wanted the 3 in 2.0 hatchback form..

now i've ordered 308thp but will only get it in August.. would love to have owned a mazda 3 in 2.0 hatchback

but the 308thp in 1.6turbo.. not to mention the 20k price difference was too much too ignore lah :P

• dcwhz83 on Jun 11, 2009 at 12:40 am

too pricey…

Mazda gotta have a local partner that can invest heavily on local assembly lines… Suzuki and Pug have started it… and the 308 Turbo is just marvellous… but since Mazda is a Jap brand, the public will be able to accept easily if it comes with a CKD price…

• slimershine on Jun 11, 2009 at 1:07 am

peugeot look a like..

• motosonic on Jun 11, 2009 at 1:22 am

IT'S A GOOD CAR….

I already buy one…but it can be better, if BERMAZ install it with Satellite Navigation.

• Kokben on Jun 11, 2009 at 1:25 am

[quote comment="243995"]IT'S A GOOD CAR….

I already buy one…but it can be better, if BERMAZ install it with Satellite Navigation.[/quote]

there's a free garmin gps for 1st 100 customer

• motosonic on Jun 11, 2009 at 1:25 am

Ask BERMAZ to bring THE MAZDA 3 MPS and also MAZDA 3 SP23…IT going to be crazy in Malaysia!!!!Ask them to bring that little beast!!!

• Kokben on Jun 11, 2009 at 1:36 am

[quote comment="243998"]Ask BERMAZ to bring THE MAZDA 3 MPS and also MAZDA 3 SP23…IT going to be crazy in Malaysia!!!!Ask them to bring that little beast!!![/quote]

get real..who's gonna buy….ppl will rather get subaru sti or evo more..

• WALASiZO on Jun 11, 2009 at 1:44 am

i loveee Mazda!!..hunggg..

• deadpixel on Jun 11, 2009 at 1:55 am

Last weekend, I tested 308 THP then drop by Bermaz and tested this new M3 1.6. I'm sure you wont be enjoy the new M3 after you tested 308 THP. This Turbo Lion have all the fun and really enjoy it… probably I'll book a Turbo Lion soon… Cheers!

• cyful on Jun 11, 2009 at 2:16 am

yes its more expensive compare to other cars in its class but look into the spec…. thats is what you are paying…. on the road this car is awesome compare to T & H….

the windows can be wind down by remote in hot weather.. the boot can be open using remote as well.. this car is wow and after comparing this and that its value for money….. just the question either can you afford it or not. its not an expensive car but price is higher than T & H…

• Miss Janet on Jun 11, 2009 at 2:34 am

Dear Paul,

They din mention anything about Active Adaptive Shift system in the transmission of the 2.0 model in Malaysia? HongKong version comes with AAS that's also featured in RX-8.

Anyway if any1 has any doubt on the real performance on this new M3 (considering the lower HP/torque figure) here's a good review from Hongkong of M3 vs civic 1.8 vs Subaru WRX 2.0.

Google translate to english if u wish
    http://www1.tvboxnow.com/thread-693128-1-1.html

Introduction of AAS on new 2.0 M3
    http://www1.tvboxnow.com/thread-688126-1-1.html

It's also interesting to note that THE WIND DRAG COEEFICIENT of M3 i.e. 0.3Cd is actually lower than LAMBO Murcielago's 0.34Cd !

Now, tat's a damn good car!

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jun 11, 2009 at 2:51 am

I'd reckon its' smaller than Civic? I'll hv to sit down and compare the measurements.

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 11, 2009 at 3:15 am

Few months ago i went for Honda Accord 2.4, Toyota Camry 2.4 and Mazda 6 2.5 test drive. Buying for my company car.

Every car i stop by petrol station and fill in RM20 fuel, to observe and make non-scientific finding of the fuel consumption. Observed the fuel indicators. Comb of heavy pedaling and lite cruising in both city and highway driving…

base on my obsrv… Mazda 6 2.5 > Accord 2.4 > Camry 2.4.

So we tackled the most concerning part of our small company in considering these 3 cars… FC.

And base on Paul's article above, i'm not sure about the new Mazda 3's FC (1.6 or the 2.0), but if you considering this car, at that price, base on my own xp, better think twice, and spend a lil bit more, and go for the Mazda 6 2.5.

Feature wise the 2.5 is mind blowing… i mean even the spare tyre comes with 18in sports rim and tyre matching the fours tyres! When you look at the steering you'll think… OMG! am i driving a car or a star trek enterprise fleet??

U can read more about the impressive feature of the car from hundred of reviews online but what sold us to the car is the space. If you sit in the cockpit, u feel like ur in a race car… snug, but roomier. But when u sit at the back, the seats are like the one that reserve in higher class car like the beemer 5 series.

Expensive? To certain extend yes… but if u consider the excellent CKD built quality together with small differences in price compared to the CBU competitors… it's a peanut.

It takes some thinking out side of the T&H box to appreciate this car but once u test drive all three of them, then u'l realized, no wonder Mazda 6 2.5 won Car of the Year for 2008.

• Leseid Obrut on Jun 11, 2009 at 3:35 am

Well finally someone got the shifter orientated the proper way – pull back for upshift and push forward for downshift. Well done Mazda! =D

• 1 of the best handling cars…

• pekan on Jun 11, 2009 at 3:48 am

it's a mazda..

and it's smiling..

• weezerd on Jun 11, 2009 at 4:58 am

Im liking this M3 2.0 very much. But im worried about its resale value. Anyone has an idea of how much is their 2.0 2007 and 2008 model worth now? If there are great feedbacks from anyone would be great. What do you guys think would the depreciation be after i drive it off the showroom….10%?20%?40%? any help would be great!!

• redwings on Jun 11, 2009 at 6:20 am

[quote comment="243918"][quote comment="243913"][quote comment="243902"]If Mazda start their CKD program they can beat Honda and Toyota, for me Mazda Car is overprice[/quote]

ZOOM ZOOM[/quote]

Oh really???? They are bring in CX-7 soon????? i cant wait for that. wanted to buy it but dun like those AP one. I wanna brand new one :) I like CX-9 as well but it just too big for me to drive around in KL :) Looking forward for the CX-7 :)[/quote]

Yup. That will be new facelift of CX-7. Cool. You're right, CX-9 just too huge, CX-7 will be just good enough..

• Maserati on Jun 11, 2009 at 6:42 am

Price too high on a 1.6? Wat the? How about the Honda Jazz 1.5 selling at 105k-110k? Isnt that even more ridicolous?

And comparing 2.0 Civic and 2.0 Mazda 3,Both are about RM 130k.

The difference is Mazda is CBU while Civic is CKD.So now pls tell me which one is overpriced?

• Maserati on Jun 11, 2009 at 6:47 am

Oh yeah,but one thing lah,The peugeot 1.6 TURBO that I test drove was simply awesome!

So between M1.6 and Pug 308 Turbo.Confirm Pug Turbo!!!

Power was sublime and instantaneous!

• BeemerFreak on Jun 11, 2009 at 8:31 am

the 100k+ 1.6 model , 103hp , 144Nm torque?

Hell no . Nvm , The buyers or buyer will determine . huahuahua

tis is CBU unit.

What make you think bolehland car is CKD?

think la bodo

Hey a18, dont waste ur breath trying to convince people with no automotive knowledge. If power is every thing why dont a merc s class beat a lotus elise on the road. lotus only has 180hp against the merc with a minimum of 230hp in the s300. This little Mazda outhandles everyfamily sedan car in its class, including subaru impreza S-GT 2.0T. Based on the perfect almost flawless ford focus platform, it is not surprising at all. If a waja can beat a mazda 3, this is no longer proton, its somethign else.

• arcana on Jun 11, 2009 at 8:36 am

booked the 2.0, good spec and build quality from a CBU

but the spec sheet that i have with me, says 6 airbags instead of 4 mentioned by paul. i dont know where to look for the other airbag compartment besides the 2 visible front ones.

also it comes with fabric seats instead of leather seats as indicated on this web.

the seats i can confirm becoz i sat in the showroom car…..

the sales person also did not mention any maintenance package by goodyear or shell…..

the spec posted on here also says rear UV glass only, but i'm told that its for all windscreen + windows.

• Paul Tan on Jun 11, 2009 at 9:07 am

arcana: If you look at the story above, there is a spec sheet too as you've also seen. It only says dual front srs airbags, and side airbags for a total of 4. It's quite confusing isn't it, hmmm.

As for seats, I have also seen the car at the Mazda showroom in Glenmarie and the 2.0 has two-tone combination leather seats. It was black and beige. In fact I drove that very car.

• for those who say this car is expensive better think twice…cos this is CBU from japan. CBU yaris 1.5 already cost 100k .

and that 100k buys you an ugly car…this car has got conti looks…to me it looks alot like 407 from the front and looks like RX8 from the side.

so pls compare properly next time.

• [quote comment="243921"]our bolehland tax aside..why ppl still complaining Mazda is overpriced is really mind boggling. CBU from Japan, 6 airbags, bi-xenon auto leveling, rain sensor, auto lamp, 6 airbags and loads more..and is only cost 1500 more than CKD Thailand Civic. IMO Mazda quality now is far better than the H and T. Generally Malaysians mind are stick to H and T only even Civic priced at 140K, Malaysian will still say cheap……because its a Honda or Toyota…Looks like Malaysians will never get a taste of what good car are like….because they think of how much they can sell before they even buy the car…[/quote]

totally agree

• I would say it is a shame on those who comparing this M3 with bolehland cars. Please compare it at least to CKD of H or T, or probably Mit Lancer GT. As for the entry pricing, this is totally value for money. You pay on the quality, safety, and comfort. Even CKD Civic from Thailand you will find problems like noise at the dashboard, panels wasn't fully tightened, and etc.

As of those telling about the pricing of Jazz and Yaris, I would totally agree, and this M3 is definitely not overpriced…

• initial R on Jun 11, 2009 at 5:29 pm

[quote comment="243921"]our bolehland tax aside..why ppl still complaining Mazda is overpriced is really mind boggling. CBU from Japan, 6 airbags, bi-xenon auto leveling, rain sensor, auto lamp, 6 airbags and loads more..and is only cost 1500 more than CKD Thailand Civic. IMO Mazda quality now is far better than the H and T. Generally Malaysians mind are stick to H and T only even Civic priced at 140K, Malaysian will still say cheap……because its a Honda or Toyota…Looks like Malaysians will never get a taste of what good car are like….because they think of how much they can sell before they even buy the car…[/quote]

Yes, i also agree. Nowdays malaysian forget the pleasure of driving. Even you get the very good handling with comfort from other manifacture but still they blind with T & H badge. I own Honda Accord but mazda was superb when come to sporty racing car. If u have drive lotus, thats mean you can feel it in mazda car. Price for me are compatative since they have lots of funtional gadget inside. Dual airbag are standard since all european car must have at lease dual airbag. It look can say Waja 1.6 CPS can put side by side with this M3. Sweet. :)

• tikus on Jun 11, 2009 at 5:30 pm

Hey guys all post about Mazda3 vs Civic, dont you guys forgot about Mitsu Lancer 2.0GT and also CBU form Japan.The price still better then Mazda 3 2.0.

• campro is 125hp/150nm far far more powerful. See we are actually better of compared with are established brands. still some m'sian criticise now why dont you guys criticise mazda for such coming up with such engine. from my source in proton says early 2010 they will be launching Campro with Light Pressure Turbo(LPT). says to churn out about 160-170hp/230-250nm

• Wak Rempit on Jun 11, 2009 at 7:30 pm

[quote comment="244111"]campro is 125hp/150nm far far more powerful. See we are actually better of compared with are established brands. still some m'sian criticise now why dont you guys criticise mazda for such coming up with such engine. from my source in proton says early 2010 they will be launching Campro with Light Pressure Turbo(LPT). says to churn out about 160-170hp/230-250nm[/quote]

I agree Proton's strong position is their Campro engine and lets not forget chassis and handling. But they should improve other parts in their car also, no point of having a car that can compete in rally but bad quality in some parts.

A good car is the car in a whole not just driveability. That's what Mazda is doing here, their priority is not the engine and performance but the whole car itself.

• xatomic on Jun 11, 2009 at 7:32 pm

yeah everybody seems to be solely comparing engine horsepower…probably coz that is something measurable..

but what determines a car is just not that.. How often do u pull ur engine to the max and only on a straight road? i value handling more in a car.

the looks and coolness factor alone is enough to justify the premium over T&H…

if price is just ur single factor, just get a local car..

i m sort of glad too coz if it is so damn cheap, then everyone will be driving this car and it wont be so special anymore…:)

• Wak Rempit on Jun 11, 2009 at 7:45 pm

[quote comment="244018"]

And base on Paul's article above, i'm not sure about the new Mazda 3's FC (1.6 or the 2.0), but if you considering this car, at that price, base on my own xp, better think twice, and spend a lil bit more, and go for the Mazda 6 2.5.

Feature wise the 2.5 is mind blowing… i mean even the spare tyre comes with 18in sports rim and tyre matching the fours tyres! When you look at the steering you'll think… OMG! am i driving a car or a star trek enterprise fleet??

It takes some thinking out side of the T&H box to appreciate this car but once u test drive all three of them, then u'l realized, no wonder Mazda 6 2.5 won Car of the Year for 2008.[/quote]

Calvin, you got that right dude… owning a M6 2.0 myself I must agree with that sportiness feel you've mentioned every time I drive my car.

I think Mazda is really successful with their "kizuna" philosophy where everything blends together nicely, every inch of the car is moderate and not excessive. I really wish I can afford a 2.5 with the extra features but the 2.0 is good enough for me.

• wallstreet on Jun 11, 2009 at 7:48 pm

[quote comment="244097"]Hey guys all post about Mazda3 vs Civic, dont you guys forgot about Mitsu Lancer 2.0GT and also CBU form Japan.The price still better then Mazda 3 2.0.[/quote]

Unfortunately Lancer does not have loads of features in this Mazda 3 plus NVH in Mazda are way better than Mitsu…IMO they are now close to the conti.

• intermilan on Jun 11, 2009 at 8:13 pm

a CBU 1.6L for RM111K OTR is not that bad. but it isn't cheap. mazda haven't managed to sell their models at price-buster price but how could they (with their current conditions).

i am sure the ride and handling will be up there, no doubt. the equipment list seem to be quite okay for the 1.6L. again, it is not class-leading but somewhere not so far off.

the engine power and torque (103/144) seem to dissappoint for a 1.6L engine in year 2009. it should at least churned out 100hp and 147Nm of torque but hey… it might not weight that much, so power-to-weight ratio might be good. or the power and torque curve might tell a few hidden information (i.e. like no dip in torque at crucial rpm range).

ntl, in the end, they should just really give us a 'better' spec engine than this.

but be aware that some manufacturers do intentionally understated and/or overstated their engine performance.

the look, especially the front end (which graps the most attention) follow the furai concept. but i've long dislike mazda decision on this one as this 'smiley face' front end does mimic Peugeot front end corporate look, just the smile is now more 'dynamic' and a little too extreme. I expect no copycat in these important aspect, so that why i dislike mazda decision.. they could've done better.

comparing against some of its peer in C-segment, my immediate guess is the 3 will have a tough time convincing customers to do the swing. as an example, for the same amount of money, one could get the warm 308 Turbo which have a whopping 37 extra hp and 96Nm (!) of torque. this is seriously a lot of extra umpphh. good that the 3 is a sedan, so the rear boot should be bigger. and i suspect the ride n handling could be minute better than that of the 308 turbo, which will be great for a sedan. but then, the 308 turbo, rather surprisingly, has a suspension setup that is tuned slightly for comfort more, rather than handling. the 308 VTi (fairer competitor) is almost Rm15,000 cheaper (and still got more power and torque). its own sibling, the new Focus, will also give it a run for its money. but focus didn't look as youthful as the 3.

and things will get similarly or even tougher when it is pitted against it's Jap counterparts which almost all just need to depends on their 'perceived' reputations (basically perceived as a safe choice nomatterwhat) in order to get customers to sign on the dot.

so, all the best zoom zoom.. its gonna be tough out there.

• intermilan on Jun 11, 2009 at 8:14 pm

a CBU 1.6L for RM111K OTR is not that bad. but it isn't cheap. mazda haven't managed to sell their models at price-buster price but how could they (with their current conditions).

i am sure the ride and handling will be up there, no doubt. the equipment list seem to be quite okay for the 1.6L. again, it is not class-leading but somewhere not so far off.

the engine power and torque (103/144) seem to dissappoint for a 1.6L engine in year 2009. It should at least churned out 100hp and 147Nm of torque but hey… it might not weight that much, so power-to-weight ratio might be good. or the power and torque curve might tell a few hidden information (i.e. like no dip in torque at crucial rpm range).

ntl, in the end, they should just really give us a 'better' spec engine than this.

but be aware that some manufacturers do intentionally understated and/or overstated their engine performance.

the look, especially the front end (which graps the most attention) follow the furai concept. but i've long dislike mazda decision on this one as this 'smiley face' front end does mimic Peugeot front end corporate look, just the smile is now more 'dynamic' and a little too extreme. I expect no copycat in these important aspect, so that why i dislike mazda decision.. they could've done better.

comparing against some of its peer in C-segment, my immediate guess is the 3 will have a tough time convincing customers to do the swing. as an example, for the same amount of money, one could get the warm 308 Turbo which have a whopping 37 extra hp and 96Nm (!) of torque. this is seriously a lot of extra umpphh. good that the 3 is a sedan, so the rear boot should be bigger. and i suspect the ride n handling could be minute better than that of the 308 turbo, which will be great for a sedan. but then, the 308 turbo, rather surprisingly, has a suspension setup that is tuned slightly for comfort more, rather than handling. the 308 VTi (fairer competitor) is almost Rm15,000 cheaper (and still got more power and torque). its own sibling, the new Focus, will also give it a run for its money. but focus didn't look as youthful as the 3.

and things will get similarly or even tougher when it is pitted against it's Jap counterparts which almost all just need to depends on their 'perceived' reputations (basically perceived as a safe choice nomatterwhat) in order to get customers to sign on the dot.

so, all the best zoom zoom.. its gonna be tough out there.

• Boss of Intermilan on Jun 12, 2009 at 2:44 am

Intermilan,

Come to my office now, how many times i told u office hour cannot Internet u somemore wrote so long comment in ah tan site and then and then u somemore sent ur comments TWICE, mind u, i m old but i ain't dead. now come to my office!

• Abai431 on Jun 12, 2009 at 3:31 am

Great Car! Too bad the bigger Mazda6 look a lot better! Anyway if you really want it, go and get it! Guarantee to look like no other cars for miles! The price is not too bad if you consider its exclusivity. Based on my experience Mazda is good at producing Great Cars but sucks at selecting local partner/distributor! Bermaz better get your act together. your service centres sucks!

• Paul Tan on Jun 12, 2009 at 4:22 am

Hi guys. Here is a photo of the Mazda 3 2.0 Sport I snapped myself. See the link below. The seats are perforated leather, not fabric.
    http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/237/mazda3seats….

• adrian on Jun 12, 2009 at 5:30 am

I have test driven both Mazda3 2.0 and Mazda 6 2.5L.

The Mazda3 2.0 is surely full of features but the biggest drawback is the rear seats. Its difficult to get in and out of cuz the seats are low. Plus 2 adults in the back seat will already feel a bit claustrophobic. I dont understand the need for such a huge booth space while sacrifycing rear legroom.

The aircon is not as good as u would expect. Even with full blast the rear passengers can feel warm. Maybe this is due to the large front seats plus less legroom at the rear which results in your body positioned much closer to the front thus blocked.

I drove long distance including highway (hit 120kmph) and also bumpy roads.The car's pickup is worse than a Toyota Vios maybe cuz of the low hp to weight ratio. Have to floor the peddle before u feel the surge. At high speeds, the cars suspension feels rough and all bumps are felt. This is a vast difference from the Mazda6. Mazda3's engine is very quiet when idle but once ure at 120kmph u can hear it. This is again a big difference from the Mazda6.

The various buttons on the steering and dash gives the Mazda3 a cluttered look. Gives the impression that Mazda just dumped everything in all spaces they could find. But we need to ask ourselves, how much of these functions will we use? Alot of it is cosmetic. Just like the new generation phones. Full of features but how many are really practical?

Mazda3 is a great car but i was really disappointed with the drawbacks i mentioned above. For the past 3 months i have been surfing the web going through various websites getting as much info and feedback about the car. I was really hoping to upgrade but have since changed my mind.

• it's a nice ccar but simply overpriced! what a disappointment being a civic rival..

• adrian on Jun 12, 2009 at 7:07 am

[quote comment="244212"]it's a nice ccar but simply overpriced! what a disappointment being a civic rival..[/quote]

The Mazda3 2.0L is about RM 1500 more than the Civic 2.0. But for that price you get a lot of extras. The problem here is the after sale service and the resale value. This is whr you will lose. Mazda's after sale service is still lacking compared to Toyota for instance. The lack of rear legroom is also a problem. It has got almost the same legroom as a Toyota Vios 1.5. This speaks for itself.

• adrian on Jun 12, 2009 at 7:11 am

Mazda could have even used a more futuristic wiper blade instead of the old Proton Saga style evident in low to medium end cars. Pack the car to the brim with features and yet use old style wipers. Haha!

• coolDog on Jun 12, 2009 at 8:10 am

[quote comment="243947"]Ouch. 130k for what is basically an entry level car in other markets.

The hatch would be nice….but..as much as I like the 3, the price makes the other smiley face 308Turbo at 111k a more compelling buy (if you could live with the depreciation – but not like the Mazda is stellar in that regards as well). Better power delivery than the 2.0 3 and jsut as good handling characteristics…as well as kitted up with 6 airbags

That said, even if they did bring the hatch in, would it sell in the face of the Pug Turbo or its own sister Focus 2.0 hatch (which are price almost identically to the Pug)?[/quote]

I have a thought. when everyone talking about he depreciation for those not so popular car, e,g Peugeot. Maybe you guys can start to think like this from now onwards~~~

Mazda 2.0 – RM131k

PUG 308THP – RM114k

15% different at start.

ok. PUG will depreciate more than Mazda rite?

but Mazda is higher price by 15% in the first place..

so when depreciate down the road..accoding to percentage year by year

maybe 4-5 years later.. both car might sell at the same price..

so why not get a Conti car in the first place?

but i sure other ppl will put in other consideration,

e.g. CBU or CKD, spare parts…

so . at the end.. still depends on your Heart looooo..

like choosing a girl fren, since when we can break down the details comparing which girl is better ?

(normally, we will choose the girl who pretty with big boob first, AGREE ?)

ahha..still out look come first!

• Jennifer Lee on Jun 12, 2009 at 9:06 am

at the end still depends on $$$ in bank a/c, if u can sell ur kidney high price then mayb can depend on kidney, definitely not ur heart lol…..

we can actually break down components in girls to compare one, tat's how ter value their stock in brothel i suppose….cause since u put girls as an example here, i suppose ter r for sale like cars too i.e. commodity vs commodity so only makes sense….

anyway, it's 1.13am, y so serious lol…jus a god damn car anyway….

• its all about pricing. the yen is rocketing so high that we need to pay more. if not, i think the mazda3 2.0 vs civic 2.0 would be a nice comparison…..specs r great man…… the 1.6 is near civic 1.8 boundary……. 2k differences onli….i think

• xatomic on Jun 12, 2009 at 7:33 pm

if want to look at cars like how u choose a girl…then we have to start discounting the value from the extra $ u pay for the car..

Just like there is a survey that says that BMW owners actually gets the most sex compared with other makes hahahaa …i duno bout mazda vs other japanese makes

i guess that comparing CBU and CKD is like comparing ur local and imported japanese/korean whores

haahaa..why do ppl willing to pay more for these girls? every human girl has the the same set of qualities …but quality differs in certain areas

• coolDog on Jun 12, 2009 at 9:09 pm

[quote comment="244242"]at the end still depends on $$$ in bank a/c, if u can sell ur kidney high price then mayb can depend on kidney, definitely not ur heart lol…..

we can actually break down components in girls to compare one, tat's how ter value their stock in brothel i suppose….cause since u put girls as an example here, i suppose ter r for sale like cars too i.e. commodity vs commodity so only makes sense….

anyway, it's 1.13am, y so serious lol…jus a god damn car anyway….[/quote]

jennifer

ya..its a good damn car, no doubt:)

so r u a god damn girl too?

• redwings on Jun 12, 2009 at 9:42 pm

[quote comment="244074"]arcana: If you look at the story above, there is a spec sheet too as you've also seen. It only says dual front srs airbags, and side airbags for a total of 4. It's quite confusing isn't it, hmmm.

As for seats, I have also seen the car at the Mazda showroom in Glenmarie and the 2.0 has two-tone combination leather seats. It was black and beige. In fact I drove that very car.[/quote]

FYI, the red Mazda3 interior will come with 2-tone black and beige, the rest are black…

• keeekeee on Jun 12, 2009 at 11:17 pm

[quote comment="244053"][quote comment="243918"][quote comment="243913"][quote comment="243902"]If Mazda start their CKD program they can beat Honda and Toyota, for me Mazda Car is overprice[/quote]

ZOOM ZOOM[/quote]

Oh really???? They are bring in CX-7 soon????? i cant wait for that. wanted to buy it but dun like those AP one. I wanna brand new one :) I like CX-9 as well but it just too big for me to drive around in KL :) Looking forward for the CX-7 :)[/quote]

Yup. That will be new facelift of CX-7. Cool. You're right, CX-9 just too huge, CX-7 will be just good enough..[/quote]

cant wait anymore. any ideas when will be available for the new facelift CX-7 … hope can get it end of this year. Wanna get one japanese CBU to try :)

• adrian on Jun 13, 2009 at 8:51 am

Any other test drive reports for the Mazda3 2.0L?

• Mazda Marketing = Sleeping Beauty on Jun 12, 2012 at 12:24 pm

Don’t trust report bcoz BIAS but trust your own self in experience.
      I heard 2.0 is powerful but I don’t have any change to experience it.
      Anyhow, when I go inside Mazda 3, I can feel it’s about Vios & City cabin, even though it’s “C” segment.
      My friend told me Mazda 3 is a sport car, so that they emphasis on performance but if u want BIG in cabin, just buy Proton Exora or if u expect more space, then buy lorry

• spiller on Jun 13, 2009 at 10:10 pm

test drived already:

– no sun roof as advertised

– no leather seat, even for 2.0

– prices will be RM 2K higher after 14 June, and no more free GPS after that

– only 4-5 colours available

– aircond is cool enough for me, IMO

– dual aircond controller is something useful for me, IMO

– not tinted, only standard UV glass

– for KL folks, u can service your car @ Jln Ampang branch on Mon, Wed and Fri. no need to go all the way to PJ

– no BOSE speaker, duh

– rear legroom is indeed smaller than expected

– but damn huge boot space

– loan interest quite high, 3.3% for 5 years, and 3.5% for 9 years, i think?

– car seat seems higher than normal car, i feel that i'm higher than MyVi even

overall a very sporty and compact car, price seems reasonable. u do get the feeling of uniqueness driving this car on the road, coz there're so many T and H brands around. if u can folk out RM 2K per month (for loan and maintenance), then i say go for it.

if u looking for Horse Power only and pick up and speed, then go for Peugeot lor. i personally don't like Peugeot exterior, so i say Mazda 3 FTW!!

• Ariff on Jun 13, 2009 at 11:00 pm

[quote comment="244456"]test drived already:

– no sun roof as advertised

– no leather seat, even for 2.0

– prices will be RM 2K higher after 14 June, and no more free GPS after that

– only 4-5 colours available

– aircond is cool enough for me, IMO

– dual aircond controller is something useful for me, IMO

– not tinted, only standard UV glass

– for KL folks, u can service your car @ Jln Ampang branch on Mon, Wed and Fri. no need to go all the way to PJ

– no BOSE speaker, duh

– rear legroom is indeed smaller than expected

– but damn huge boot space

– loan interest quite high, 3.3% for 5 years, and 3.5% for 9 years, i think?

– car seat seems higher than normal car, i feel that i'm higher than MyVi even

overall a very sporty and compact car, price seems reasonable. u do get the feeling of uniqueness driving this car on the road, coz there're so many T and H brands around. if u can folk out RM 2K per month (for loan and maintenance), then i say go for it.

if u looking for Horse Power only and pick up and speed, then go for Peugeot lor. i personally don't like Peugeot exterior, so i say Mazda 3 FTW!![/quote]

how come no leather??i thought got leather seats??does it have push start button like the one on singapore models??

• spiller on Jun 14, 2009 at 9:32 pm

no leather, at least not for white, aluminum and black colours. maybe red colour model got (as shown in BTS and Glenmarie roadshow).

no push start button.

another thing i notice, Mazda sales personnel are pretty poor in doing their sales (at least in BTS and Jln Ampang branch). nobody approach you, they never explained in detail until you ask them, not enthusiastic enough and very pushy after that, i.e. calling your hp a few times after that to ask you about your decision.

• duorenz on Jun 15, 2009 at 11:03 pm

Somebody here can confirm that both 1.6 and 2.0 does not come with any ESP or at least Traction Control?

If yes, found this exclusion very surprising, almost murderous at this price range…. especially for the 2.0

• intermilan on Jun 15, 2009 at 11:15 pm

[quote comment="244183"]Intermilan,

Come to my office now, how many times i told u office hour cannot Internet u somemore wrote so long comment in ah tan site and then and then u somemore sent ur comments TWICE, mind u, i m old but i ain't dead. now come to my office![/quote]

Thanks for reading boss! Twice some more.. Ahak!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 16, 2009 at 3:57 am

yea, i already ordered a 2.0!!!!

• metrodude350 on Jun 18, 2009 at 6:46 am

Would like to get some practical feedback from old Mazda3 owner, rumour says the cost (such as maintenance, 2nd yr onwards insurance etc) after owned the car will be comparatively high against Toyota & Honda, is this true ? Pls put in some figure so I can truly know the differences.

thanks !

• amran on Jun 21, 2009 at 2:15 am

i test drived the 2.0 liter old and new model…..

what a nice car..!!!!

i test drived civic, altis, sylphy and mazda.

ranking :

1. mazda

2. sylphy

3. civic

4. altis

mazda 3 price a bit expensive..but….bare in mind…cheap thing not good….and good thing are not cheap!!

i'll get he mazda 3 sport next year….!!!!!

• Mazda 3 Lover on Jun 21, 2009 at 9:48 am

I love when people mentioned the car is expensive. So not many people will actually buy it. Just look at Civic, so many of them on the road. Kinda boring don't you think so?

• shakur on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:06 am

Must agree that it's kinda boring to see all those Civics on the road. This Mazda should be a good eye catcher…

Hey, but i should share this with you guys…. heard that dealers got the car out first and not Bermaz. Dealers seems to have the 2 allocated cars with them and additional cars for delivery. the word is, someone is getting a big cut and have release the cars to the dealers first…Now there are so many furious customers (the first to book) wanting to complaint to Mazda Japan/Berjaya Group as it is pointless complaining to Bermaz…

Well, this is what i heard and to make things worst, my friends did see the Mazda 3 sport on the road. Even one of their blogger mentioned it in bermaz blog….

Sad but true

• Road Thunder on Oct 17, 2010 at 9:33 pm

many boring Civics on the road? how about a lot more many many many boring Myvis, Proton Sagas, Personas, Vivas, Vioses, Grand Livinas, Camries, Kancils on the road eh? i don’t think u even have the $$ to buy a Mazda.
      by the way, I own a Civic and a Mazda 3. bugger off

• seems like it still lacks legroom in the rear. civic is still the most spacious!

• civiclover on Jun 25, 2009 at 6:21 am

prefer civic 2.0 !!

• metrodude350 on Jun 25, 2009 at 7:12 am

Got the latest price list & spec from Bermaz (as of 15-June) after the first launch special…

1.6 OTR with insurance RM113,016.50.

For 2.0 is RM133,536.90.

1.6 is over-priced and not worth to buy as lots of stuffs were absence, only 2.0 is completed with those new features which Mazda currently promoted.

• KKZOOOOM on Jul 14, 2009 at 1:41 am

Obviously, this SMILEY created quite a euphoria to all auto seekers here in Bolehland. What I wanna say is with this marvelous MAZDA3 entry will pave

way for more consumer choices rather than stuffing ourselve to boredoom of seeing the similar make on most of our roads. Real Bored man!!

• KKZOOOOM on Jul 14, 2009 at 1:47 am

I remember someone was asking about the CX7…. Yes!! it is definetely

coming this year, probably in Oct, It will be the facelift model and we

only hope that it will be fitted with the Award Winning DISI engine. CHEERS!!

• MBX Boy on Jul 16, 2009 at 6:30 pm

Paul , when want to do test drive review for this Mazda3 ?

• DeVil on Aug 30, 2009 at 6:11 am

CX7 is definitely coming but the sad side is..it's been fully book.

This is the latest CX7 with 2.3L Turbo Disi engine…

Bermaz Malaysia will be launching the CX7 either in Sep or Oct.

Who would like to attend the launching???

• kampunginvestor on Sep 14, 2009 at 8:35 pm

I couldn't understand why Malaysians always go back to Toyota and Honda. Isn't the Mazda 3 looks fierce if compared to Altis and Civic?

My first car will surely be a Mazda. ^^ Mazda for life!

• adrian on Sep 14, 2009 at 10:30 pm

Looks is only 1 factor. There are many more plus points which the Civic has e.g space, price, resale value, etc. Even now despite being 3 months since the launch, there are very few Mazda3's on the road. So far, ive only seen the car 2 times in KL (and i drive around alot).

• metrodude350 on Sep 22, 2009 at 9:04 pm

Agreed, not many Mazda3 on the road, though i like M3 a lot…

I am having this dilemma between getting Altis 1.8L or M3:

– to me Altis is more spacious, comfy experience either for those who are driving or sitting in the backseats

– my normal driving routine doesn't takes many passenggers, thus M3 (2.0L full spec) for me is enough. Moreover it's more sporty, i'm still young and getting this car sure matches my lifestyle. I am also enjoying surrounded by the vibrant interior layout.

In conclusion, M3 2.0L is my choice…

• I just got the M3 Sports…It is worth the money and I love it.

Excellent….

I just don't understand why people keep saying it is overprice. For a CBU and the features available, it is fairly priced…..

• adrian on Oct 01, 2009 at 9:34 pm

HZ,

How did u come to the conclusion that it is NOT overpriced? Did u compare the following?

1) Actual specs

2) Cosmetic specs

3) Price of spare parts

4) Interior space

5) Resale value

6) Target group

We have to look and measure each of the factors above in deciding whether a car is overpriced or otherwise not merely on what u see at a glance.

The argument on CBU or CKD doesnt really hold weight for the past 5 yrs. Many of the CKD cars assembled in ASEAN have similar build quality as the CBU. It all depends on which company and the quality control programs in place.

Ive had my 2003 Toyota Vios and the only problem ive had is with my front passenger seatbelt since June this year. Not a single other problem even after more than 6 yrs and 110K mileage.

The CBU is still being used as a selling point by companies who do not have the funds or the demand to set up production lines outside their home country. Plus there are many cases of car recalls from popular brands like Alpha Romeo, Toyota, Volvo, etc even though they are CBU models. So dont get taken in too much by the CBU salesman talk.

The Mazda3 is a nice car. Ive been closely reading reviews since its initial launch in Los Angeles in late 2008. Have also test driven it 3 times. The comfort is nothing to shout about in comparison to the Civic or the Altis. Ppl who buy the M3 are mostly trying to breakaway from the dominance of Toyota and Honda and trying to stand out. Nothing wrong with that but sometimes we gotta be practical and think ahead. There must be a reason why thr's only so few M3's on the road despite the price and specs and class range. M3 targets the younger generation. But this is also the generation which is highly unstable and will change cars. Thats when ull face a problem with the resale value.

• maxku on Oct 02, 2009 at 2:29 am

Hi HZ, when did you book and gotten your car? how long have u been driving it?

as to adrian's reply, well, again its a matter of self preference. Whether or not the resale value or watever the arguments are, as long as the owner is comfortable with the money spent on the M3, then its is really up to them. PERIOD.

• adrian on Oct 07, 2009 at 11:29 pm

The Honda Civic 2.0L is also well priced and still very much in demand despite the Mazda3's inclusion. It costs approx RM 130K compared to RM 134K for the Mazda3 (OTR). Plus the Civic also has a full host of safety features e.g ABS, VSA, EBD, BA, 6 airbags and many other cosmetic accessories. The Mazda3 does have a few other features not found in the Civic but then again how much of these features are we actually gonna use?? Plus if u compare the losses in resale value later, i dont think the price tag of 134K for the Mazda3 is competitive enough.

• chermaine (Member) on Oct 17, 2009 at 10:06 pm

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/motors/ken_g…

YOU GUYS SHOULD CHECK OUT TIS ARTICLE

• linebacker on Oct 31, 2009 at 2:22 am

hey, does anyone know about the mazda2? when is it coming to malaysia?

• fxxtheProton on Oct 31, 2009 at 7:27 pm

linebacker said,

October 30, 2009 @ 6:22 pm

hey, does anyone know about the mazda2? when is it coming to malaysia?

yes! early next year!!!

• Mazda Lover on Nov 02, 2009 at 1:35 pm

Adrian,

I think choosing M3 is self preference choice. Personally i feel M3 is much better looking than Civic or Altis. It has that little more UMMPH…

Yes, for the price it is a bit overpriced but hey this is a CBU. No matter what quality made in Japan is anytime better than CKD in Melaka (Civic). I am sorry but we Malaysians is still not up there yet. You were lucky with your Vios but i was not. Just fedup with my 2004 Vios giving so many problems like the dashboard and engine (intermittent shut down!). Intend to sell off soon and maybe consider M3. I have been to Japan factories many times and you will be amazed how these low level operators work and think compare to our operator. When you talked to the Japanese operators is like you are to an Engineer or even manager. They know so much and so confident and so much detailing in their work. SIMPLY AMAZING!

Buying a CKD car is like buying a lottery. Sometimes you get lucky and your car is problem-free. Or like mine…sigh! I am not going to take anymore risk in my next purchase. I am going for fully imported car. The more i surveyed and study the M3 esp the 2.0 i like it so much. You can sense the reliability and quality in it. People say the resale value is not good etc etc but in truth how many Mazda owners wanted to sell? Not many. And the fact the so called resale value is poor is made by most second car dealers who want to make qucik profit by saying this car no one wants, hard to sell, servicing not convenient etc etc. You know la, all the salesman talk like a credit card salesman. People with strong minds will choose their own thinking but sadly most of us are so influenced by what people said.

I also think most people say bad thing about M3 is because they cannot afford one. In this generation, be bold and different. Civic is so boring look and gives many problems too esp the dashboard. What for the comfort when the quality is not there. Some units are good quality but some are not.

• adrian on Nov 02, 2009 at 7:43 pm

Mazda Lover

Yes i agree that sometimes u get a problem free car and sometimes u dont. But how do u know whether ure one of the few with such problems or 1 of the many? After i bought my Vios, i recommended to many ppl and 4 of my close friends ended up buying 04 and 05 Vios models. None of them have complained of problems. I have also other friends who drive Camry's and Altis and all say the same thing. Minor problems will always be there as there is no such thing as a perfect car. But overall, i have no complaints and it will take a seriously good buy to make me change from a Toyota. Their after sale service is truly exemplary. Thus your statement that i was lucky with my Vios surely does not hold any water.

• Ariff on Nov 02, 2009 at 10:40 pm

I totally agree with Mazda Lover.TOTALLY!!i really want a 3,but am waiting for the hatchback.i feel the hatchback is better for a student like me.it looks more.."teen".hahaha!any idea when the hatch will be out??

• Mazda Lover on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:46 pm

Adrian,

For a good reliable car like Mazda, we are not looking for excellent after sales service. Because Mazda cars in general has no need for it. Furthermore there are ample service centres around Malaysia to accomodate should there be one. Look around. How many Vios or Civic or Altis on the road? It is so common that likened to seeing auntie and uncle in the market. But with Mazda furai you get the 2 look and the wow factor! But that is not all. Which car gives your virtually no big issues after 10years usage? I can only think of Volkswagen to be the other reliable car.

This is personal choice thing. I am not promoting Mazda here or because i owned one. But i am one guy that do not like to follow the crowd for the sake of it. People always say about resale value being bad about Mazda but in truth how many Mazda owners sell their cars in the market. Just buy a copy of Motor Trader and you will see for yourself against cars like Vios. If people always think of resale value before even buying a car then what is the point of buying one in the first place. Hey, cars is to be driven-enjoyed. And to be reliable and to be looked at…hahaha.

but i am sure Vios is also a good average family car.

• Mazda Lover on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Ariff,

The hatch will be out in MARCH next year and the estimate selling price is RM88K-90K. Good looking car too! And of course since it is MAZDA you come to expect the reliabilty.

• Mazda Lover on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:54 pm

Many people always have the perception that Mazda cars is not so good and the price is too high but if you are looking at quality then that is the price to pay. Anyone been to Australia can see Mazda cars all over the road. They called it the People's Cars. And with so many awards won, these Australians are not wrong. Also in Europe you can see many Mazda zoom zoom around.

When you drive a Mazda the feeling is so different. Just like their philosophy of ZOOM ZOOM. I myself owned a Vios (now 3 years old) and I must say the design engineers are so stupid that the steering wheel block the aircond path (middle driver part). I wonder anyone notice that. And the tightness in the car is so obvious. Whenever I shift driving my M3 and Vios I can immediately feel the difference in the power, in the cabin quality and the seats. Not to mention the aircon that is so powerful in the M3. Need I say more guys? Your choice!

• adrian on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:19 pm

U feel a tightness in the Vios and u dont feel it in the M3? Then you obviously have not sat in the rear seat of the M3. Plus u are comparing a Vios to a Mazda? Dont forget that the M3 is almost 1.7X the price of the Vios. Compare apple for an apple. If u wanna compare then do it against the Civic 2.0. Yes Vios is not perfect but dont forget the amount u paid for it. U didnt pay for a Camry so stop expecting one.

U wanna compare aircon? Try sitting in the rear seat of the M3 and see if u can feel the aircon or not on a hot day. If u wanna test aircon dont sit in front and put your face in front of the blower and then say its strong.

U also need to check on the power difference that u see. The Vios has got an acceleration pickup of 0-100kmph of 9.8 secs under ideal driving conditions with driver only. U tell me which car in the same class has that kind of rating. The Mazda3 has got a poor pickup. Ive driven the test drive model and also a friend's 4 month old car. Both similar in pickup. The M3 has higher torque thus more sustaining power on higher Revs (which is common in high cc cars) buts its wrong to say u feel the difference in power immediately incomparison with the Vios. if u cant get good acceleration in a Vios then something must be wrong with your car. Get it checked.

U see alot of Mazda's in foreign countries because of the pricing. For the prices their cars are sold, ppl arent picky. If a Mazda 3 sells for 50K here in Malaysia, i wouldnt be bothered about the rear seat or air con or resale value. Ill just go and by it cash!

But Malaysians are more careful with the money they spend because of the inflated prices of cars. Thats why we think of all the possibilities to ensure we get a near perfect buy. U cannot compare the buying scenario here in Malaysia to other countries. Again, compare an apple for an apple.

But again, i say that im not implying that MAzda3 is not a good car. Of course it is. I too was sure of buying the Mazda3 until i test drove the car (3 times).

Cheers!

• Mazda Lover on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:57 pm

Adrian,

I can go on and argue with you here but at the end i know i am going to win hands down just like the Mazda with Vios.

From the way you write, i think you are jealous of Mazda cars because you could not afford one. Just like you admit, if the price is RM50K you will buy it by CASH! In your heart somewhere, you try to find faults with the car that financially you wish could afford. So for your standard only Vios is what you can afford and try to do best in fullfilling your emotional needs. Man, that is more sad than any lousy cars!

Malaysians are more careful with the money? Man! Yes, only those average or poor people. Just look on the road how many BMW or Mercs. Go to a fancy restaurant or even Starbucks, you can see "smart" people willing to pay. Unless you are an uncle who always say Starbuck coffee is so expensive and only stupid people go there because he can get a Kopi-peng" at Rm1.30 at the coffee shop. Trust me, he will say taste better! Just like you man! Vios is better than M3.

And don't brag too much that you have ready RM50K to buy if Mazda selling at that price. Can you swear that you have cash to buy? No man! People when showing off like to say he can buy cash this and that and the end it is the bank loan that he is referring to. Sad man….

• West McLaren on Sep 02, 2010 at 8:41 pm

Agree with mazda lover…its a malaysian way of thinking….T or H is always a good car…hahahaha….think out of the box dude….talk about mazda only when u can buy one…and pls get yr product knowledge equipped. Dont pressumed and listen to other ppl……. Mazda 3 rocks!

PS:
      FYI, i’ved juz had a quarter mile race with a civic last week….and sorry to say…i won the race…..so dont talk bullshit here…go buy a brand new Saga BLM with yr 50k…cheers dumb ass coconut shell mind…

• Mazda Lover on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:03 pm

Adrian,

By the way, I got my Vios checked and checked many times. Sadly even the engineers say what to expect from this Thailand-assembled cars??? So here you go.

Anyone thinks the new Vios shape is nice must go for an eye check up. Kinda funny shape. Sad looking car not like the M3 with Smiley face! We all want to be happy no?

You want good pick up? Haha. I mean are you rushing to go anywhere? You want a big rear room? I mean are you that big size? Everything must be in balance than you achieve equilibrium.

From the way you write, I think you still a young guy that needs to learn more about cars. Do you know our Mazda is factory tuned to an acceptable speed for safety purposes. If the owner wants more power, it can be done so easily by re-tuning the ECU. And the pick up and acceleration up by 30%.

You can test drive 100 times the Mazda but you will still say bad comments simply because you cannot afford one! Admit la…Normally people will say bad things about a succesful person…We understand la don't worry…

• Mazda Lover on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:05 pm

Adrian,

Nobody so stupid to test a power of an aircon by putting his face on the blower. You are talking kids stuff here. People check the cooling of it. Hey are you ok man?

• adrian on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:10 pm

HAHA! I dont have the cash to buy? U are so damn wrong. Im sure if i dont have the funds i wouldnt be staying in TTDI. Come look for me and ill show u where i stay. I just dont believe in blowing up 133K for a car. I have a perfect car right now which doesnt give me any problems so why would i wanna change? Property is of more value my friend. As long as my current car serves its purpose i dont see a reason to change. I wanted to change to the M3 just to upgrade cuz i liked the shape but once i drove it i changed my mind. If i wanted i could blow up my entire cash savings (excluding EPF) and get a Camry and a Civic CASH. And this aint a lie. Come meet me and ill come with my proof of finance.

For your info, i worked in Indonesia for 2.5 yrs earning between 22-25K (tax free) depending on the currency exchange. That money would not have possibly have disappeared would it? Why dont u send me an email at [email protected] and ill scan and send u copies of my pay slips. If u want i can also send you some copies of bank statements. If u want i could even show u my income tax statements for extra proof of earnings.

If i can prove my finances to you, you pay me RM500. And if i cant prove my finances to you ill pay you RM 1K. We can do the transaction in a lawyer's office. No loss to you since ure so certain that i cant afford rite?

Come my friend. Please take me up on my challenge. Im doing it here for everybody to see.

• you need to work to get your money im born a millionair try beating that and yah what you earn in a month is what i pay my driver gardener and admin clerk

• adrian on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:11 pm

U silly man. I was refering to the ACCELERATION not the TOP SPEED. U fool! read carefully before u open yer mouth and make a fool of yerself. Haha!

• adrian on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:33 pm

U dont see many Mazda cars being sold 2nd hand because not many new Mazda cars are being sold in the first place.U see many BMW and Merc being sold 2nd hand. Does this mean its a bad car? Of course not. This is fundamental basics of sale and resale. U need sufficient quantity of new sales in order to see a difference in 2nd hand sales. Simple concept. Number of cars being sold 2nd hand is nothing to do with the quality of the cars. Period.

Yes i know u dont wanna go with the crowd. But im a practical buyer. I dont buy for the sake of going with the flow. My investments and money expenditures are always thought thru n thru. I took about 8 months of looking around and researching before buying my property in TTDI. I test drove my Vios 7 times before i bought it in 2003 and i have not regretted since.

• fxxtheProton on Nov 04, 2009 at 8:23 pm

HEY YOU TWO ~ SHUT UP LAH~~ Don't flooded my mail box~~ go chit chat on your own..exchange ur mobile no. k???

• Ariff on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:39 pm

*yawn*~~i'm 17 n i felt that u guys r quite childish~~lolz!!no offense though~~Mazda Lover,are u sure it's 88-90k??that sounds like a Mazda2 to me.i was expecting Mazda3 Hatch 2.0 to be like 120-130k.

• bigVWfan on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:05 am

Hey Ariff, this place is for 18 YEARS OLD ABOVE you just got your licensed, still P logo!! so please play with your dad money else way~~

• West McLaren on Sep 02, 2010 at 8:47 pm

HAHAHAHA……….go to sunway laggon and buy ice cream with yr dad’s money….

• bigVWfan on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:06 am

wat.?

cannot comment?

• Mazda Lover on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:33 am

Adrian,

The more you write the more i think you are a nutshell! Anymore no more comments needed for a nutshell because it is no use.

Anyway, just to make you feel good, your VIOS is a SUPER car, SUPER looker, damn expensive and most reliable car in the world. Evryone will look many times at your VIOS. Man, this is V—-i—–O——S!!!

• Mazda Lover on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:36 am

Ariff,

yeah man, we are so childish but the fact is you are because you are only 17. Do not buy any Mazda or any cars unless with your own money. Owning a car with your parents money is not consider your car! It belongs to your parents.

No show off in this forum please…except if you owned a VIOS!!!

• Mazda Lover on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:38 am

bigVWfan,

with you Bro! this place is for adult, under 17 is a baby….using parents money to buy and then trying to sound like his own is so so so VIOS-like….hahaha

• Mazda Lover on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:51 am

fxxtheProton,

hey, two persons arguing doesn't mean is bad, if you want nice chat with no comments or arguing, then go to a church!

• Ariff on Nov 05, 2009 at 3:37 am

Haiz,now i kene hentam.Lolz!!relax la,bros~~.ths site is for those who are interested in the automotive industries le~~no age limits.i bet some five-year-olds who love cars and jz nw how to use pc are here as well~~sorry la if i hurt you guys~~huhu~~still wondering abt Mazda3 Hatch wei~

• Mazda Lover on Nov 05, 2009 at 4:25 am

Ariff,

sorry bro, you are simply too young to start a good conversation…try find someone your age…

• benny on Nov 10, 2009 at 4:27 am

tis year superb carrrrrrrrm

• KKZOOOOM on Nov 27, 2009 at 6:03 pm

Dear Readers,

Just trying to sum up some of my opinion and info.

Never talk about RESALE value, can someone define how much

your car will be from the next 5 years??? Never knows, right. It is

priceless………….!! Just go out a buy the car that you feel is evrything

to you, ok.

Mazda 3 hatchback will be coming next year but no date. Price is slightly higher than sedan. Hope Bermaz will brings in the MPS.

Mazda 2 will be launching in 1st qtr of 2010. hurray!!

• ridz (Member) on Dec 02, 2009 at 10:47 pm

i think Mazda3 sport hatchback will be coming in 1st qtr of 2010..CBU unit from Hiroshima,Japan..estimated price around 138k..

Mazda2 is CBU from Thailand price around 70k-80k maybe Bermaz will brings sedan and hatchback..

• Hairul on Jan 04, 2010 at 8:00 pm

awesome! should grab 1 of this machine and compare with d other machines that i adore before…such as lancer evo X…this xterior better than lancer..aerodynamic factor just nice!

• whatever dudes…

it's the compact category killa, bang for the buck!

go zoom zoom! wappishhhh!!!

• felix on Mar 21, 2010 at 1:35 pm

I say, some people are comparing this car with Gen 2 or Persona.. i mean WTF bro? Do you really know about cars?Oh c'mon…

Engine:

1.Do you know camPro engine is suck? It suck in acceleration and reliability. Ask any expert, car technician who knows about camPro.

2.1.8 Civic is still using SOCH engine I dunno why..

3.Mazda 3 1.6 is using 16-valve DOHC which has better acceleration and abit better output than SOCH engine. It's reliable, but spare parts abit expensive than SOCH..

Interior:

1.Gen2/Persona? Forget about it..

2.Old-style look in Civic's .At 1.8 range of cars, you compare it to the Mazda 3's 1.6, you know the answer.

Exterior:

Hello, as usual, you buy a Civic and stop in front of red light. When you look at your left, there's a uncle with retard sunglasses,Civic, looking at you; when you look at right, there's an auntie with 70's hairstyle, Civic, scratch abit at front bumper, smiling at you..

so, your opinion?

• yang suka kereta on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:25 am

eiii..!!!! This car is soooo cute……and look at it…it smiles at everyone…..MY DREAM CAR…heheh….^_^ ….=)

• Road Thunder on Oct 17, 2010 at 9:26 pm

Dream on then. Mazda 3 cant even beat Uncle Altis and Formidable Forte’s sales. Dream further on about beating Civic.

• Who cares the car is overprice or expensive?!people who can afford their lovely cars then just buy it!

I can’t say Civic and Altis is garbage coz i never drive them!but Mazda 3 is awesome!

• Jasmine on Mar 03, 2011 at 1:27 pm

hi. any comment on teh CKD unit that out recently? what is the difference?

• not much different tested for both unit CKD and CBU . I just bought a CKD 2.0 GLS full spec with just 128K

• Jasmine on Mar 03, 2011 at 1:30 pm

hi… any comment on the CKD unit? waht is the difference between the CKD and CBU unit?