Lotus not happy about Litespeed’s “Team Lotus” Formula One 2010 entry

F3 team Litespeed will be participating in the Formula One along with a few other new teams like Campos Racing, Lola, Prodrive (future Aston Martin) and USGPE for the 2010 season. But get this – they will be calling themselves Team Lotus.

The team founded by ex-Lotus employees Nino Judge and Steve Kenchington wants to use the Lotus brand name to help the team secure a place on the grid. They say they’ve licensed it, but the real Lotus has come out with a statement today saying they have nothing to do with the team and may take action to protect its brand name. It could be that Litespeed is only still in negotiations to license the name and Lotus is not too happy about them going around announcing it without confirmation.

“Team Lotus” will use Cosworth engines and a chassis designed by a team led by former Toyota and Renault technical director Mike Gascoyne. They will be leasing the RTN factory in Hingham near the real Lotus.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• P33RiClE5 on Jun 11, 2009 at 7:50 pm

LOTUS mean PROTON… use CAMPRO CPS cannot meh?

anyway… 1ST!!!

• so many new teams gonna compete next season

shud be interesting

cheers!

• Blue1 on Jun 11, 2009 at 7:59 pm

yes.. new rule in F1 attract mane car manufacturer to join F1. hehe!

• Chris Chong on Jun 11, 2009 at 8:00 pm

Lotus should give Team Lotus a whole bunch of money and ask them to rename themselves "Team Proton"…

Then, they can bolt two Campro engines together at the crankshaft, reduce the bore / stroke to come up with a 2.4L V8 Campro engine, which will be reliable but – for some reason – has a weird torque dip between 3000 to 4000 rpm…

And it shall be mated to a 4-speed auto box.

• I just dont get it why teams would hire Mike Gascoyne? Ever since he left Renault for some reason, he hasn't been able to create a winning car. He has even being dropped by low performing teams and now being hired by Litespeed? This team , and any other team who employs him is heading towards the bottom of the timesheet…. period!

If I am the team owner, i wont be proud announcing mike as part of my team…

• madboy on Jun 11, 2009 at 8:23 pm

lol…team lotus is not lotus

• madboy on Jun 11, 2009 at 8:24 pm

lol…tem lotus is not lotus. better get lotus curry house to sponsor them leh.

• Tiadaid on Jun 11, 2009 at 8:25 pm

Of course Lotus are not happy. You think the public can tell the difference between unofficial Team Lotus and Lotus Cars? What if Team Lotus are tailenders, what would that do to Lotus Cars' reputation?

• Wak Rempit on Jun 11, 2009 at 8:52 pm

Lotus team but not a Lotus… why can't they just maintain Litespeed?

Good to hear more teams are participating. Ferrari and McLaren are just boring…

I hope these new team can give punch like Brawn GP is currently doing… they show the big boys that money doesn't always buy success.

• elpaciko on Jun 11, 2009 at 9:10 pm

all current f1 teams except force india and william is on the verge of quiting F1 altogether because of the propose budget cap.

Yes, there are many many new small team already apply to enter F1 for next season, but without all those current big manufacturer team, F1 will become no more than A1GP.

good luck F1

• perotujuh on Jun 11, 2009 at 9:24 pm

Lotus not happy, Proton also not happy.

• nabill on Jun 11, 2009 at 9:24 pm

ppl wil pay millions jus to put their names on f1 cars , lotus should thank them for the free publicity! bt i see the point , if this new team always ends up like Force India Cars at the botom , thn u wont get much publicity..

• bmpower on Jun 11, 2009 at 10:19 pm

what publicty? what if the "team lotus" is a joker in f3? , crash, burn, no podium at all. Etc etc.

Just sue them lotus.. got big bucks of money then. Easy money.. easy money.

"Steve Kenchington" ????

hahaha.. the kencing one. What a name! hahahaha

• ooo so not only china like to clone things… even mat salleh so called civilized people also simply take and use things like that aaa… i dont think this fella serious about competing in f1, there is other motive perhaps..

• tokmoh on Jun 11, 2009 at 11:17 pm

[quote comment="244127"]I just dont get it why teams would hire Mike Gascoyne? Ever since he left Renault for some reason, he hasn't been able to create a winning car. He has even being dropped by low performing teams and now being hired by Litespeed? This team , and any other team who employs him is heading towards the bottom of the timesheet…. period!

If I am the team owner, i wont be proud announcing mike as part of my team…[/quote]

lol. True I guess.

Ross Brawn meanwhile is 'the man' today. Somehow, every time I see him, he almost as if emits the same aura when you see Steve Jobs.

• mitlanevo on Jun 12, 2009 at 1:02 am

can consider Team Lianhua, sounds nice too, lol~

• initial R on Jun 12, 2009 at 1:14 am

[quote comment="244156"][quote comment="244127"]I just dont get it why teams would hire Mike Gascoyne? Ever since he left Renault for some reason, he hasn't been able to create a winning car. He has even being dropped by low performing teams and now being hired by Litespeed? This team , and any other team who employs him is heading towards the bottom of the timesheet…. period!

If I am the team owner, i wont be proud announcing mike as part of my team…[/quote]

lol. True I guess.

Ross Brawn meanwhile is 'the man' today. Somehow, every time I see him, he almost as if emits the same aura when you see Steve Jobs.[/quote]

yes, Ross Brawn is Steve Jobs in F1. Do the miracle.

• fauzi on Jun 12, 2009 at 1:23 am

They just using “Team Lotus” it does't means name of Lotus car maker maybe name of lotus plant.Are they going to use Lotus logo too?

• moha774 on Jun 12, 2009 at 1:35 am

They should instead rename their team X-Lotus or Lotus-X to avoid confrontation with the real Lotus

• [quote comment="244171"][quote comment="244156"][quote comment="244127"]I just dont get it why teams would hire Mike Gascoyne? Ever since he left Renault for some reason, he hasn't been able to create a winning car. He has even being dropped by low performing teams and now being hired by Litespeed? This team , and any other team who employs him is heading towards the bottom of the timesheet…. period!

lol. True I guess.

Ross Brawn meanwhile is 'the man' today. Somehow, every time I see him, he almost as if emits the same aura when you see Steve Jobs.[/quote]

yes, Ross Brawn is Steve Jobs in F1. Do the miracle.[/quote]

Yeah man Ross Brawn, Ross Brawn, Ross Brawn!

He is true genius in the past, current and future!

• Dinamo (Member) on Jun 12, 2009 at 1:53 am

maybe will work

• wrongturn on Jun 12, 2009 at 2:03 am

In F1, Lotus name means a lot….I remembered Ayrton Senna used to drive Lotus with JPS (John Player Special) livery on his car.. and followed by the yellow Camel livery in following years!

Although Lotus was not No1…the team regularly hit the podium! Well..you may say Lotus used to be top F1 team…

And that reputation still being remembered until today!

By letting whatever team using Lotus name…in current F1 without solid results or proven reputation..it's a big NO WAY…

– BTW, I was a Lotus Fan ..

• [quote comment="244135"]Lotus team but not a Lotus… why can't they just maintain Litespeed?

Good to hear more teams are participating. Ferrari and McLaren are just boring…

I hope these new team can give punch like Brawn GP is currently doing… they show the big boys that money doesn't always buy success.[/quote]

Do you know that Honda spent a lot of their 2008 budget to develop that Brawn car? and Honda F1 2008 expenditure is comparable to those of McLaren and Ferrari. So in F1, money does matter.

• actually, all those new teams are bidding for only 3 places available to new teams. So not all of them would be in the championship next year. That is unless some of the current teams actually follow through their threat of pulling out of F1.

• fadzly on Jun 12, 2009 at 5:10 am

Lotus = Proton

i love lotus. but i don't think i can fit in.. LMAO

• blaze on Jun 12, 2009 at 9:36 am

A bunch of moronic low budget teams who doesnt seems to understand why F1 is the pinnacle of motorsports and why Indy, CART, F3, F2000, Formula Renault, Formula BMW etc exist.. If you dont have the money, stay where you are. Dont spoill F1. Its better to have even 8 quality teams in F1 rather than 15 half baked teams with a budget cap and different set of rules..

• Wak Rempit on Jun 12, 2009 at 6:21 pm

[quote comment="244182"][quote comment="244135"]Lotus team but not a Lotus… why can't they just maintain Litespeed?[/quote]

Do you know that Honda spent a lot of their 2008 budget to develop that Brawn car? and Honda F1 2008 expenditure is comparable to those of McLaren and Ferrari. So in F1, money does matter.[/quote]

Trying to recall whether Honda win anything in 2008…. lalalalalala…nahhhh… nada!!

Sometimes money does matter but brains come first… salute to Brawn for making Honda look foolish.

[quote comment="244249"]A bunch of moronic low budget teams who doesnt seems to understand why F1 is the pinnacle of motorsports and why Indy, CART, F3, F2000, Formula Renault, Formula BMW etc exist.. If you dont have the money, stay where you are. Dont spoill F1. Its better to have even 8 quality teams in F1 rather than 15 half baked teams with a budget cap and different set of rules..[/quote]

Wahh dude you're talking like you're so high and mighty… I suspect you don't even touch the ground when you walk…

To suit your statement don't send our athletes to the Olympic since they are not competitive enough… since they will spoil the Olympic let them compete in SUKMA and SEA games only.

Just let USA, China and all the big names compete.

What lar..

• blaze on Jun 13, 2009 at 4:59 am

Halo Wak, I dont know why must you said as i don't even touch the ground when i walk. Do you know me?

Do you know anything about budget caps that the FIA proposing?

So, why lar we didnt participate in all games in the Olympics?? Is it because we have no money?? Or is it becoz WE ARE NOT COMPETITIVE ENOUGH?? Whats the point of having QUALIFYING ROUND for FIFA World Cup, ASIAN AFC Cup etc??

Might as well use taxpayers money and send all your Mat Rempits to MOTO GP. BTW, Brawn was already in the Honda Team in 2008. Its the technical rule changes that they capitalized (the confusion over the diffuser is one of them) and FYI, Honda was one of the biggest budget teams in F1.Duhhhh..

• Annihilated on Jun 13, 2009 at 7:54 am

Now the real Lotus please stand up.. please stand up..

• kampung boy on Jun 13, 2009 at 9:00 am

[quote comment="244394"]Halo Wak, I dont know why must you said as i don't even touch the ground when i walk. Do you know me?

So, why lar we didnt participate in all games in the Olympics?? Is it because we have no money?? Or is it becoz WE ARE NOT COMPETITIVE ENOUGH?? Whats the point of having QUALIFYING ROUND for FIFA World Cup, ASIAN AFC Cup etc??

Might as well use taxpayers money and send all your Mat Rempits to MOTO GP. BTW, Brawn was already in the Honda Team in 2008. Its the technical rule changes that they capitalized (the confusion over the diffuser is one of them) and FYI, Honda was one of the biggest budget teams in F1.Duhhhh..[/quote]

im totally agree with u blaze!!! wak rempit pliz think properly b4 stat 2 bash people opinions…

• mitlanevo on Jun 14, 2009 at 4:50 am

[quote comment="244394"]Halo Wak, I dont know why must you said as i don't even touch the ground when i walk. Do you know me?

Might as well use taxpayers money and send all your Mat Rempits to MOTO GP. BTW, Brawn was already in the Honda Team in 2008. Its the technical rule changes that they capitalized (the confusion over the diffuser is one of them) and FYI, Honda was one of the biggest budget teams in F1.Duhhhh..[/quote]

totally agree with u, dude…..

• LotusLover on Jun 15, 2009 at 6:08 am

Lotus F1 team was 1 of the greatest team in F1. Hmmm… should keep this Lotus Team as the name for the team. Great to hear LOTUS IS RETURN!!! So Excited!

• LotusLover on Jun 15, 2009 at 6:24 am

Lotus F1 team was 1 of the greatest teams in F1. Hmmm… should keep this Lotus Team as the name for the team. Great to hear LOTUS IS RETURN!!! So Excited!

• bmpower on Jun 15, 2009 at 5:26 pm

regarding Brawn team.. for me… it's honda's engine crap.

Merz engine in Brawn is great.. even greater than ferrari engine. And.. it's the way they tune it.

• PROTON F1 2010 on Jun 20, 2009 at 3:07 pm

next year 2010, most probably PROTON will be in F1..

LOTUS TEAM said PROTON already know about it, plus they have set the factory at Northfolk near LOTUS already.. PROTON and LOTUS only do psycho war..

they know it la.. CAMPRO in F1???

• Kagaya on Sep 26, 2009 at 10:41 pm

When I read that Government not linked directly nor indirectly, there's Petronas in the game and Petronas is a GLC… WTF?!!?

Anyway, link or not, I think this is a bunch of underdogs. I hope this will be a platform that truly helps Malaysian to create a team of our own that brings improvement to our automotive technology.

Maybe better Proton and a second chance for Lotus to regain its fame? CAMPRO CPS is too primitive but better than nothing. Hope that they learn something useful from the racetrack, fine-tune and down-tune to street legal and dump it into every Proton out there.