Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Chatenet CH26: the French’s idea of a ’smart’

Advertisement

Chatenet CH26

I don’t blame you if you think this is what happens when a Chinese car company cannot decide whether to rip off the MINI or the Alfa Romeo MiTo and decided to just do both at once. But no, this is actually a product of a French company, and the car is called the Chatenet CH26.

I’m sure you are wondering where did this Chatenet company come from. Automobiles Chatenet currently only has one other car for sale called the Barooder. That particular car is a tiny two-door with a 505cc engine that makes just over 20 horsepower. There is even a convertible version.

Chatenet CH26

The new CH26 however, is powered by a diesel engine (looks like there’s no turbo) and apparently it puts out just over 5 horsepower from a 523cc diesel? Even with a kerb weight of about 350kg that still seems awfully low. It measures 3065mm long, with a wheelbase of 2054mm.

Look after the jump for more pix of the abomination.

Chatenet CH26 8
Chatenet CH26 9
Chatenet CH26 5
Chatenet CH26 7
Chatenet CH26 6
Chatenet CH26 2
Chatenet CH26 10
ch_26_choix_gris
ch_26_choix_bleu
Chatenet CH26 11

30 Comments »

1. V8 said,

June 13, 2009 @ 8:03 pm

Smart? i would say it’s a smart mini though.

2. Nutty said,

June 13, 2009 @ 8:07 pm

Ahh…looks cute in a way…

3. yop said,

June 13, 2009 @ 8:11 pm

First!
    weird car…

4. mitlanevo said,

June 13, 2009 @ 8:40 pm

5hp????? u gotta be kidding…….

5. Julian-Lee said,

June 13, 2009 @ 8:48 pm

BMW 1-series better than China crap car

6. below100k said,

June 13, 2009 @ 8:57 pm

not 5 lar..additional 5hp ftom other model..means 25hp..if 5hp, better buy ex5

7. mystvearn said,

June 13, 2009 @ 9:07 pm

IMHO its very ugly. The front end that is. Rear, fine.

8. ali38hak said,

June 13, 2009 @ 9:22 pm

i think this a new ‘no driving licence need car’,
    in france there is allowed to drive with no licence if its drives less then 25(or 35) Km/h
    very normal there, i saw a lot of them in france, and my friend in france has had one, they are very loud :)
    but its populer by older ladies and gentlemens in the city..

P.S.: Actually not the correct place but
    i think my love to proton is going down very fast :(

9. dp said,

June 13, 2009 @ 9:49 pm

watcha gonna do wit tat man. let 10 yr old play wit it? 20hp is not todays world. remind me of fiat 500

10. dd said,

June 13, 2009 @ 10:40 pm

mini look-alike

11. Gajen said,

June 13, 2009 @ 11:59 pm

too light no good…very unstable…esp if its a small car…the shape is really weird..

ill take toyota IQ anytime…

12. csv said,

June 14, 2009 @ 12:11 am

5 hp from a diesel?

lets calculate. 350kg x 3= 1050kg. (estimate)

5hp to move 1050kg, seriously underpowered.

13. csv said,

June 14, 2009 @ 12:13 am

opps, i mean 15hp to move 1050kg.

14. natkid said,

June 14, 2009 @ 11:02 am

gotta admit, it’s quite cute..
    but 5hp?
    it’ll go faster if there’re 2 slaves carrying d car

15. wonderful small diesel car said,

June 14, 2009 @ 11:12 am

Small diesel engine car nust be very economy. It is a right time to sales in the present bad economy situation.

16. droll said,

June 14, 2009 @ 1:15 pm

0-100 in 35 hours? LOL!

17. bahtosaius said,

June 14, 2009 @ 3:22 pm

what a weird car…..how come the french start copycatx10 like china car maker???

18. Fiziks said,

June 14, 2009 @ 4:21 pm

worst than china car, completely rubbish

19. awak said,

June 14, 2009 @ 5:09 pm

got character

20. raybrig85 said,

June 14, 2009 @ 10:08 pm

[quote comment="244478"]BMW 1-series better than China crap car[/quote]

wtf u alwiz compare all cars with bmw…

21. raybrig85 said,

June 14, 2009 @ 10:09 pm

ugly version of mini

22. lazyf said,

June 14, 2009 @ 10:10 pm

eventhough it looks weird…but i like it…

23. mibs said,

June 14, 2009 @ 11:21 pm

wahhhh!! if this car has P1 name on it.. sure kena hemtam kaw-kaw punyaa more than 30 comments for sure

24. azrai said,

June 15, 2009 @ 7:44 am

Maybe our local car manufacturer should name their car with Chedet to pay tribute. :-)

25. the stik said,

June 15, 2009 @ 8:35 am

rear light macam Mito.. sape agree?

26. initial R said,

June 15, 2009 @ 9:07 am

BMW mini cooper wanabe.

27. icyd said,

June 15, 2009 @ 12:50 pm

looks like it’s got aircond.i estimate the aircond only gonna sap 2 hp.so left only 3 hp to move the car?

28. mkrafz said,

June 15, 2009 @ 6:03 pm

ya..
    the front is from Mito,
    and would u look at the rear end…!
    a ferrari rip off…!
    copycat..!

29. Ezal said,

June 30, 2009 @ 4:15 am

looks like it’s design and made in China… lol…

30. John Ash said,

November 15, 2009 @ 8:53 am

I would very much like to know were i can buy one of this car, and also the cost of same

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: All-new Jaguar XJ: Bowers & Wilkins teaser clip
next post: Mercedes-Benz ESF 2009 Safety Innovations