First look at Hyundai Santa Fe facelift

Hyundai Santa Fe

The first images of Hyundai’s mid-life refreshing of the Hyundai Santa Fe has been revealed, and it looks like the odd grille that first appeared on the facelifted “angry crab” Accent/Verna Transform will be making its way onto many other Hyundai models. The most significant change is under the hood, where the new R-Engine turbodiesel engine family will be installed. The 2.0 and 2.2 litre engines have an all-aluminium construction and produce 184PS/392Nm and 200PS/436Nm respectively. These are pretty strong numbers for turbodiesel engines of these size, especially with only a single turbocharger. More details and pix to be revealed as they are released.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• geekfiredog on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:45 pm

Will Malaysia get this version?

• AJIBUGAU on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:46 pm

Nice, this will be my next car..

• The interior like European and if the ownership cost is reasonable Santafe is decent 7-seater car. i love the diesel.

• Black Dog on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:21 pm

This year seems like a good time to consider 7 seaters SUVs, Chevy Captiva, Mitsubishi Pajero Sport, upcoming Kia Sorrento, this Hyundai Santa Fe & the older Toyota Fortuner.

Not to mention other SUVs like Ford Escape, CRV, Rav 4, Nissan Murano, Toyota Harrier, Ssangyong, Cayenne, X5, Volvo etc etc etc. More choices to choose from now, compared to 5 years ago?

Who says ppl don't like SUVs? Who says the economy is bad??

• kimi_ on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:26 pm

I HATE very much that korean cars which come to MALAYSIA has the badge changed….wth is that..

Sure this HYUNDAI will changed to INOKOM or KIA to NAZA……

this will spoiled the whole car and DOWNGRADE it…by putting IDIOTIC , CHEAP, CRAP , AWFUL , UGLY , DUMB….. NAZA badge!!!!!!!!!!!!1

• kimi_ on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:27 pm

Sure this HYUNDAI will changed to INOKOM or KIA to NAZA……

this will spoiled the whole car and DOWNGRADE it…by putting IDIOTIC , CHEAP, CRAP , AWFUL , UGLY , DUMB , shit, silly, ….. NAZA badge!!!!!!!!!!!!1

• but ….. i still prefer rexton II…

• Wak Rempit on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:39 pm

Can't made up my mind over this car, one part of me says its nice while the other says the otherwise… still have the "angry crab" syndrome i guess… hehehe

[quote comment="245072"]

this will spoiled the whole car and DOWNGRADE it…by putting IDIOTIC , CHEAP, CRAP , AWFUL , UGLY , DUMB , shit, silly, ….. NAZA badge!!!!!!!!!!!!1[/quote]

Woo.. dude you sure have a lot of hate in you… cool down.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Can’t made up my mind over this car, one part of me says it’s nice while another part says the otherwise… still have the “angry crab” syndrome I guess.

[quote comment="245072"]Sure this HYUNDAI will changed to INOKOM or KIA to NAZA……

this will spoiled the whole car and DOWNGRADE it…by putting IDIOTIC , CHEAP, CRAP , AWFUL , UGLY , DUMB , shit, silly, ….. NAZA badge!!!!!!!!!!!!1[/quote]

Woo.. dude, lots of hate in you… cheer up. hehehe

• roti naan1 on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:56 pm

facelifts are to usually for "tak-laku" models after their sales volume drop like crazy.

• bmpower on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:57 pm

recession caused trend…

FACELIFT! as long as you can.

• l3ryan on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:10 pm

The 2.0 and 2.2 liter engines have an all-aluminium construction and produce 184PS/392Nm and 200PS/436Nm respectively

that's some great looking numbers. it's nice to see proper facelifts which includes technical improvements like these, unlike those insincere offers by UMW and our local producers of facelifting by slapping on bodykits or new rims etc.

• kimi_ on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:39 pm

childish

• kimi_ on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:39 pm

fish

• wrongturn on Jun 17, 2009 at 10:06 pm

mid life crisis

• l heard local franchisor offer pre-reg Santa Fe. Some even with decent reg plate number BUT turbodiesel one still priced higher than gasoline. Early RM110+k for low mileage cars.

• nice attempt but bad result . the facelift makes the car have the melted bumper look. the same disease that can be seen on the accent.

• Black Dog on Jun 18, 2009 at 2:18 am

[quote comment="245185"]l heard local franchisor offer pre-reg Santa Fe. Some even with decent reg plate number BUT turbodiesel one still priced higher than gasoline. Early RM110+k for low mileage cars.[/quote]

Are u sure? Where to find them?

• rejabali on Jun 18, 2009 at 6:05 pm

[quote comment="245088"]facelifts are to usually for "tak-laku" models after their sales volume drop like crazy.[/quote]

Faceliffts are normal for most car manufacturer nowdays especially for a model > 2 years old.

• oh why the grille? they think it looks nice thus decide to put on every hyundai models? i hate to see nice future hyundai models ruined by the grille

• EricG on Jun 19, 2009 at 2:24 am

THAT IS ONE ANGRY LOBSTER.

• KitKat on Jun 19, 2009 at 5:22 am

Soon to be Mr Krabs car…

• the worst facelift ever! let's start with the intake grille!

• mancoi on May 07, 2010 at 11:07 pm

any idea if this car coming here?