Toyota Vios 1.5 TRD Sportivo arrives in Malaysia, replaces the Vios 1.5S!

Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo

The new Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo is here, and it replaces the Vios 1.5S as the flagship model of the Vios range. The Vios TRD Sportivo is estimated to be priced at RM90,900.00 OTR with insurance, though apparently it’s not 100% finalised yet.

The Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo project started off as a response to customer feedback that they wanted a sportier Vios. This new variant is a development of the 1.5S, the model that it replaces. What you get is a new bodykit, Enkei alloy wheels, door visors, a new interior trim style, and an optional sports suspension kit.

TRD Sportivo is not TRD. It’s a Toyota accessory brand that’s more towards aesthetics. In fact some accessories that UMW Toyota were trying out with the Vios TRD development cars such as the air filter did not make it to this production car that will go on sale. Even the different exhaust system from the development cars did not make it to the production car. UMW Toyota says they did not want to touch those to keep the regular Vios 3 year and 100,000km warranty.

Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo

The bodykit consists of front and rear lips, a bootlid spoiler, and side skirts, all made of polyurethane (PU) except for the bootlid spoiler which is made of ABS plastic. This particular bodykit is exclusive to the Malaysian market – it is not the same one as Thailand’s Toyota Vios GT.

On the interior you get two-tone red and black fabric on the seats and door panels, TRD Sportivo floor mats, a leather gearknob, stainless steel cruff plates with the TRD Sportivo logo on the door sills, and some carbon fiber lookalike inserts on the center console. The 15 inch alloy wheels were wrapped with Bridgestone Potenzas at the media launch, and the wheels manufactured by Enkei are said to be 10% lighter than the standard Vios 15 inch alloy wheel.

There is an optional sports suspension kit that’s not included in the standard car. This suspension kit has a sportier damping rate and also lowers the car by 10mm.

Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo

• Toyota Vios 1.5 TRD Sportivo (AT) – RM90,900.00
  • Toyota Vios 1.5G (AT) – RM85,025.00
  • Toyota Vios 1.5E (AT) – RM79,425.00
  • Toyota Vios 1.5J (AT) – RM73,525.00
  • Toyota Vios 1.5J (MT) – RM69,825.00

The new TRD Sportivo is about RM2k+ more expensive than the 1.5S it replaces, which used to go for RM88,600.00 last I checked. It’s quite interesting to see the Vios span such a huge price range, with the cheapest Vios 1.5J costing over RM20k cheaper than the TRD Sportivo car. If you add the sports suspension kit, it brings the price up to RM94,050.

The new Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo is available in a few colours: Silver Metallic, Coal Black, White, Grey Mica, Bronze Metallic and the signature colour which is Medium Silver Metallic, the colour you see in the product photos published in this story.

Check out our previous story where we tried out the development cars.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wisdom on Jun 17, 2009 at 1:20 am

The lips transform this dugong to flowerhorn.

The spoiler doesnt match, the seat doesnt match, the tiny weird mags doesnt match, the center meter doesnt match the racy image, in fact rm90k doesnt match with this whole money suck-up package.

Just change the bodykits and add rm2k? you’re lame UMW!

• those higher-up in UMW don’t even bother buying this car for their children. only show up for photo session.

• l3ryan on Jun 17, 2009 at 1:27 am

10k for a slap-on bodykit and some interior trimmings, only idiots would buy this piece of marketing bullshi*t.

but since it’s a toyota it’ll still sell like hot cupcakes, really a sad case of a brainwashed community

• hahaha
    it will fail, since city original suspension better than this

that bodykit will help u look sportier hahaha

• like the Grand Livina bodykit, at least that one has more modifications and changes to the car.

this one will probably be sold in low volume to the few that wants it.

• nabill on Jun 17, 2009 at 1:31 am

u got to be kidding me…90k for this ??

• MisterBenjo on Jun 17, 2009 at 1:34 am

OMG! SO SPORTY!!!

• infinity on Jun 17, 2009 at 1:45 am

it all boils down to the T brand..the cheapest of the vios is at 69k..which is way above the most expensive persona and waja..somehow, i never like vios..u might say proton no quality,etc, but, i dun think 69k vios quality is more superior that that of waja/persona..

my 2cents…

• edwindudley2003 on Jun 17, 2009 at 1:50 am

In what way, all this dead weight is going to make it go any faster ? More of a showpiece than anything else.

• Christopher Tan on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:57 am

Not bad.To me,is sportier than the current one.I wonder whether is it better than Gen 2 CPS

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:05 am

Cue the dugong comment(s)… :D

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:07 am

Since its targetted at more sporty drivers, they should've offered it in manual tranny too.

• peroduasaupei8 on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:15 am

is this a boat?

who wants to buy a rm10,000 bodykit? ,unless is ur mommy buy it for u.

this car will fail i mean it .

Nvm the sales will give the feedback soon.

• peroduasaupei9 on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:16 am

is this a boat?

who wants to buy a rm10,000 bodykit? ,unless is ur mommy buy it for u.

this car will fail i mean it .

Nvm the sales will give the feedback soon.

• gen 2 cps for me… with that 30k balance can buy ori R3 bodykits + new sets of rims and tyres + sound system + bucket seats+ angel light + led tailamps +aftermarket air filters & exhaust system and if not satisfied with its handling ability add sports suspensions and still got more money left to go shopping…

or

go for a honda city…

• dcwhz83 on Jun 17, 2009 at 10:18 am

if i buy 90k for such a sporty car… i wont wanna get smoked by a RM69k Vios J manual… but the fact is its gonna get smoked… there is no way to match the manual wif that kind of dead weight…

i'd be ashamed…

• montana on Jun 17, 2009 at 10:20 am

blood sucker T

• Wow. Toyota sure know how to make sports cars! To me, Toyota is the antithesis of all things that is sporty. They have almost zero kudos for sports cars. What do they have right now? No Celica, no MR2, no Supra. I can't think of a single sports car or car from them right now. (Not counting Lexus with their one IS-F). Toyota is a car manufacturer in need dire of a soul. This abomination of a sporty car is just so cheap looking.

• S.Roma on Jun 17, 2009 at 11:18 am

[quote comment="244956"]Not bad.To me,is sportier than the current one.I wonder whether is it better than Gen 2 CPS[/quote]

Better? absolutely not, i can bet with that !

• S.Roma on Jun 17, 2009 at 11:21 am

[quote comment="244971"]gen 2 cps for me… with that 30k balance can buy ori R3 bodykits + new sets of rims and tyres + sound system + bucket seats+ angel light + led tailamps +aftermarket air filters & exhaust system and if not satisfied with its handling ability add sports suspensions and still got more money left to go shopping…

or

go for a honda city…[/quote]

Totally agree with u, install 4G93T if can le… make suspension system better, buy bigger sport rim and low profile tyre, already can tapau 90K vios le…

• slimershine on Jun 17, 2009 at 11:28 am

wtf? maroonish bucket seat? wakakakaka..

gear knob also so tall like bus gear. hahahah..

sporty sh*te…

• peroduasaupei9 on Jun 17, 2009 at 11:39 am

[quote comment="244956"]Not bad.To me,is sportier than the current one.I wonder whether is it better than Gen 2 CPS[/quote]

If u let me choose this car with gen2 cps, i pick gen2.

tested too.

• Fluxs on Jun 17, 2009 at 11:45 am

RM 90k+ for this car? Still couldn't convince me with the so over price towards the body kits cosmetic and the so call semi racing seat.

The engine seems still stock as original, if there r some horse power done to the engine then it can b consider

• RS Raichand on Jun 17, 2009 at 12:03 pm

I will ask UMW to PAY ME to buy this car… how's that for a free market survey.

• Bodow on Jun 17, 2009 at 1:12 pm

Aisey … bodykit and aesthetic upgrade pun nak launch ka ?

Extra Dead weight & auto transmission, what shit is this …utterly pointless

• tunomura on Jun 17, 2009 at 1:37 pm

one question…multilink ka?

• RM94,050 with spoiler+kits? I rather buy better car, Altis 1.6 at slightly dearer. For me UMW is smart (to make us justify to fork out extra money for this very basic taxi of ASEAN-Indonesia, Vietnam, Thailand).

Kudos UMWT, buat lagi ok.

If l were you City is my pick. BTW we Malaysians were outsmarted by our companies and the government. Remember in 2006 the Civic 1.8 was RM116.8k, 2007 slashed to RM112.8k thanks to AFTA anticipation and now due to monetary reason said, the price increase to RM114.8k.

THUS, in Malaysia cars were regarded as investment; they can increase easily.

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jun 17, 2009 at 3:33 pm

lol, nvm mah, its a toyota..put RM99000 for dugong oso ppl will buy..LoL

• Better go for Civic…..

5 speed gear box….

Ask T-brand keep the TRD Sportivo to themselves….

• azrai on Jun 17, 2009 at 3:48 pm

Should we say this is the 'macho' dugong? Don't think so.

• onda onda on Jun 17, 2009 at 3:55 pm

any engine tune?

• onda onda on Jun 17, 2009 at 3:58 pm

90k??? i rather paid SG45 for singapore zoo to see the real dugong.

• kima_said on Jun 17, 2009 at 4:01 pm

E spec for RM79425

• beatnik on Jun 17, 2009 at 4:18 pm

More Beng for the buck!

Is UMW Toyota slowly becoming what Kah Motor used to be?

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 17, 2009 at 4:32 pm

Rather silly.

The Vios is a good cheap car. Not something that costs 90k, not even in malaysia.

Unless they toss in a 2ZR engine, then we can talk some sense.

• kington on Jun 17, 2009 at 4:34 pm

This car has taken a lot of flak for its low budget nature. Likewise, if you remeber the original Toyota Soluna which was sold in Singapore back in the 90s, it didn't even come with rear demisters! And yet, despite its lame looks, it still manage to sell, alongside the City, against the better specced Accent.

the main culprit here is the pricing factor in this country that enables UMW and Honda to charge sky high prices for these cars.

• I donno bout tou guys.

TRD sound great but only the interior n outlook + 10% light weighted wheel? hmmmmm why don they come out with something that can boost a bit of the engine it self.

TRD no just body kit right? ^_^

• just want to add on… lighten 10% on wheel but added few kg on the body kit… com'on la TYT lets do the math

• Michly on Jun 17, 2009 at 4:39 pm

Not worth it .. 90K .. get a Latio or City.. BLOODDDD SUCKINGG TOYOTA

• bmpower on Jun 17, 2009 at 4:40 pm

TRD = toyota RACING development?..

but there's no such ENGINE upgrade?

EPIC FAIL!

and their 1.5 engine are sluggish and underpower!

Anytime Gen2 CPS …

Lame TRD.

• lazyf on Jun 17, 2009 at 4:47 pm

Gen2 CPS anytime…

• Jason G on Jun 17, 2009 at 4:58 pm

i cant find any improvement in this vios. dugong 4ever is a dugong.

save ur money go for city!

• Cutester on Jun 17, 2009 at 4:58 pm

Toyota Vios 1.5G (AT) – RM80,025.00

Is that a typo mistake or is the G spec price drop already?

• take a good look at the driver of one of these when i rolls down the road near you…that's the face of the people who would by this thing

• gugusan melur on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:06 pm

TRD = Toyota Rubbish Development

• Paul Tan on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:07 pm

Sorry it was a typo. Here is a scan of the new price list:

http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/5084/viosprice…

• chaos on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:13 pm

[quote comment="245005"]TRD = toyota RACING development?..

EPIC FAIL!

Anytime Gen2 CPS …

Lame TRD.[/quote]

Must every car entry be compared to a Proton….Seriously man…Compare this car to City, Forte, Accent, etc etc..

• dreckker on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:13 pm

oh my…. the interior looks so colourful with black, red and *dunno what colour* in the centre console… I still think all black interior is most sexy and practical…

• Use RM94,050 as your indicator. Start saving a bit another RM20k and treat yourself a better C-segment car; Altis 1.6E at Rm102k, 1.8E at RM110k but if you prefer SOHC values go for RM114k Civic 1.8S as new Altis not really new but more inclined towards FACELIFT as the car remain similar to the outgoing model it replaced.

Better, if we can use our car and put our decision on hold as car distributors trying to deceive us and we got nothing special from AFTA advantage though we have less than a six months to embrace AFTA.

I'm not sure what reasons the government of the day going to use to third time delaying AFTA in automotive.

• theanswer on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:31 pm

[quote comment="244978"]Wow. Toyota sure know how to make sports cars! To me, Toyota is the antithesis of all things that is sporty. They have almost zero kudos for sports cars. What do they have right now? No Celica, no MR2, no Supra. I can't think of a single sports car or car from them right now. (Not counting Lexus with their one IS-F). Toyota is a car manufacturer in need dire of a soul. This abomination of a sporty car is just so cheap looking.[/quote]

no sports car? dont worry they still compete in F1 race..in fact perform better than ferrari team.

• farghmee on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:35 pm

botox-ed

• initial R on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:48 pm

Gen2 CPS are more batter than this Vios sportivo wanebe base on handling & looks. For extra RM++ I can make Gen2 CPS more sporty with change the absorber set to TIEN, Seat RECARO, Rear Spoiler, Aerobody kit, or wait till new CPS Turbo lunching. Maybe Proton will came out with Neo & Gen2 Turbo. So this Vios sportivo wanebe can eat the smoke after been left "3 ke 4 tiang". Mmmmmmmm……. Neo & Gen2 1.6T, sound nice…. :)

• Tom_said on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:51 pm

Altis RM102,900 1.6E better

• xatomic on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:55 pm

i agree with initial R

this is not a car to be modded…how do u mod a fishing boat like this? supposed to an economical and practical compact car… our gen 2 will definitely look nicer modded…its so ugly modding cars like city and vios

only the malaysian mkt this car can sell

• mitlanevo on Jun 17, 2009 at 6:02 pm

90k for a dugong????

i love animals, but this is too much…..

rather go for City or Latio….

• Automotive_Critics on Jun 17, 2009 at 6:03 pm

They better facelift this Vios earlier than it's cycle rather than come out with this make over. I still admire Vios side profile and tail gate design but front end prfthhhh.

• S-Vee-four on Jun 17, 2009 at 6:21 pm

Ah Beng car… For the likes of typical chinese youngster with a bit of $.

not much street cred for the the amount of $ you are going to spend in it.

Better u keep the money by buying the standard spec and spend less than half of it on a better looking rim and good set of lowering suspensions. Or get leather seats (way more premium feel than the ah beng seat covers.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 17, 2009 at 6:34 pm

Can't help to noticed the same business strategy when they sell the crappy Myvi… no technical upgrades just cut and paste and claim its TRD. Not that it is that great anyway, I think its a big embarrassment to the iconic TRD.

I know malaysians love the T brand, but 90k for this car is a daylight robbery. It seems like our consumers are so easy to be fooled.

my 2 cents

• interior vios TRD Siamese much better than this 1.looks classic…y not put leather seats

• sam620 on Jun 17, 2009 at 6:57 pm

hahahaha… funny…. you can said gen 2 cps better than this but… it still proton

nowaday almost people buy a car 1st will think about brand.

now matter how good proton I wont buy proton again

• bobdbilder on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:12 pm

Lighter rims compensate for more weight…only if the bodykit doesn't weigh more than 5kg. For RM 90k, no leather seats? Oh, it will disturb the 3y/100k warranty…

Buy UMW shares. Profit shall be high coz sad punters (there's lots of 'em) will still buy. More green spikes. Good for the economy. Bad for the soul.

• deadpixel on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:13 pm

No deal of 90k+ for 3rd world countries car ie Vios or City. Its silly and too fxxking overprice instead of quality, safety, specs, handling…etc. I'll strongly recommend a Latio or 308 vti if those who has 90k+ budget, at least its nicely built and specs/safety is accepted in most of countries around the world. Else Gen 2 CPS is better i agree… Wake up Malaysian… T & H badges is earning a fortune by selling their "kancil" with extremely high price…

• kimi_ on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:14 pm

BEtter than persona SE…

• hell no multilink..just simple thin torsion beam, altis also uses tbeam. Atleast g2 uses independent. OMG the dash looks like a thong

• What so great about this? UMW treat it like a new car launch…nothing special at all.

IMO Honda city with bodykit is way better than vios!

• Whats the point???? This is a stupid move by UMW. Do u guys think we are stupid and dont know our maths?

Its not worth buying this crap facial lift. Minus, new exhaust, air filter, what else did they remove? Personally, i will buy this toyota if they give us a better deal than this…

• voodoo (Member) on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:39 pm

Paul, in your last Vios TRD Prototype review, the Vios S TRD (auto) with no plate BKD 6831comes with Brown Black colour.

Is it available now?

• perosembilan on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:46 pm

Funny dugong with funny price.

A joke of UMW.

So funny. LOLOLOLOL

• bmpower on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:54 pm

[quote comment="245016"][quote comment="245005"]TRD = toyota RACING development?..

EPIC FAIL!

Anytime Gen2 CPS …

Lame TRD.[/quote]

Must every car entry be compared to a Proton….Seriously man…Compare this car to City, Forte, Accent, etc etc..[/quote]

WHY NOT?

Because many of people like you comparing proton cars to MANY CARS… including the Supercar one!

So.. Gen2 CPS is a better choice than this dugong what?

again.. WHY NOT?

• kethon27 on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:57 pm

The bodykit comes with 2 years warranty if not mistaken..read it somewhere.. cant remember.. 2k with warranty i think its a good deal..hopes the warranty do covers crack..

• mytouch on Jun 17, 2009 at 7:59 pm

Blood sucking price tag,who are they try to fooled?Better top up 10K & get a better car like Civic or Lancer, rather then this out-dated car…

• roti naan1 on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:00 pm

I lost my appetite after seeing just the pics of the car. Will probably puke if see it real on the road….

Excuse me, pls

• stephenstreets on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:01 pm

Yet another dugong.

Its like installing a spoiler on the behind of a real dugong. Whatever you put on it is still a dugong.

• l3ryan on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:04 pm

there is only one available brand new sporty 90k car on the market now, and it's the Suzuki Swift Sport manual.

any car enthusiast who wants a new car with some decent driving enjoyment only have that choice, or fork out another 20k then the VW Polo GTI worth 120k would be available.

this so-called TRD dugong has nothing to do with anything sporty

• Clayton Narcis on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:11 pm

Hate it or not, it will sell like hot cakes…

Marketing and brand positioning will matter here. Thank goodness Honda don't have the tendency to come up with this crap.

• intermilan on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:13 pm

vios… desirable…, well that what they 'claimed' in the tv advert.

hahaha.. simply overboard.

its a pathetic mindset-shaping campaign to me.

ferrari, lambo or most super cars is desirable, alrite?

add another rm5.6K (or around RM66 per month for 9 years loan – with interest calculated in) to the 'estimated' OTR price and you could get yourself the nice 308vti (which is a C-segment car).

i wonder what other cars could be in the similar 'affordability range'.

latio sport come to mind.

This to me makes this one vios clearly overprice/out-of-it-league.

Is this not the most expensive B-segment sedan in Malaysia?

• Intan on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:16 pm

Was involved in a freak accident in the new Vios… the airbag on the driver's seat went off only when the car stopped spiralling/flipping and upside down, it was very small. Car was quite wrecked. Sigh. Despite feeling upset about the airbag, I'm thankful I'm fine.

• initial R on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:20 pm

On behalf of TRD "Tahniah kepada Toyota kerana berjaya menambat hati peminat toyota dengan mempekenalkan model make up vios. Tahniah juga kepada pembeli Myvi kerana sokongan anda membeli Myvi make up. Dengan ini toyota dapat melipatkan keuntungan keatas model2 yang dah lama dalam stok tanpa melakukan perubahan midifikasi enjin & hanya menambah bodykit yang berat 20kg++. Dengan ini Toyota japan corp mengumumkan UMWT akan dapat bonus 6 bulan untuk semua pekerjanya atas kejayaan memasarkan Make up wanebe sporty ini. Tahniah".

• osh_kosh on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:27 pm

still a dugong.. i rather go fishing & catch a real dugong than waste 90K of my hard earn money on something like this… for that kind of price, i still prefer 308 Vti or perhaps slap a few K more for a 308 Turbo… hmmm… some ppl want sedan but with that kind of price there's still a few decent option out there for 1.5 small sedan..

• frankly speaking this car is starting to b bit dull & outdated inside out

with only 15" wheels some more.

with its price i sure go for new city that looks more sportier, meaner &

has more horses plus 5 speed paddle shift/auto gear feels more racey.

• osh_kosh on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:41 pm

intermilan…exactly bro, can't agree more :)

• 80/90K, 1.5car

plus minus 900rm per month,

good luck.

• muryadi on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:01 pm

Janganlah panggil kereta ni dugong…cantik apa..

Tapi ambo tak da duit, kalau ada duit lebih pun, ambo will mod my 2006-Gen2 kaw-kaw..

• bmpower said,

June 17, 2009 @ 8:40 am · Quote

TRD = toyota RACING development?..

but there’s no such ENGINE upgrade?

EPIC FAIL!

Anytime Gen2 CPS …

Lame TRD.

——————————–

Have u ever driven the new vios@dugong, you are comparing a 1.5 with 1.6 engine.the hp and cc of this engines might be diff, but the torque is more or less the same.And have you ever heard of anything known as power to weight ratio? the vios can do 0-100 under 10sec.what is the waja CPS figure and it can top 200 on the straights. if i am not mistaken,some where in this forum on honda city ,paul has mentioned that a vios is better in term of performance compared to the new city,cause the vios has better power to weight ratio. come on la bro dont just give out comments just because you dont like the brand.

• [quote comment="244972"]it all boils down to the T brand..the cheapest of the vios is at 69k..which is way above the most expensive persona and waja..somehow, i never like vios..u might say proton no quality,etc, but, i dun think 69k vios quality is more superior that that of waja/persona..

my 2cents…[/quote]

_____

i agree…those ppl that bought dis car try to cheat each other n their friends that it is of superior quality. need to jaga resale value ma…

• maxlee on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:09 pm

Sigh…..just curve and curves at the wrong place. New Honda city looks better even though wi out the kits…..

• OMFG 94k for this ???!!!

can't believe this car is priced higher than pug 308vti which is much larger, higher spec,10 times better built quality and 1000 times more beautiful than dis ugly overpriced and outdated beng dugong junk.

only pathetic malaysians will buy this piece of crap.

• [quote comment="245039"]They better facelift this Vios earlier than it's cycle rather than come out with this make over. I still admire Vios side profile and tail gate design but front end prfthhhh.[/quote]

—-

brader…how many times want to facelift? this is already the facelift la.

• initial R on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:22 pm

[quote comment="245137"][quote comment="245039"]They better facelift this Vios earlier than it's cycle rather than come out with this make over. I still admire Vios side profile and tail gate design but front end prfthhhh.[/quote]

—-

brader…how many times want to facelift? this is already the facelift la.[/quote]

if i not mistake 4 time facelift already. After this Vios MJ (Jacko Facelift).

• barca on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:27 pm

OMG, if you readers read the 2nd and 3rd paragraphs AND if you're not p*ssed off at T, you must be a T supporter/UMW staff. :)

just to recap….

"The Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo project started off as a response to CUSTOMER FEEDBACK that they wanted a SPORTIER VIOS. What you get is a new …….and (wait for it…!) an OPTIONAL sports suspension kit."

what's the point of labeling a car sporty if the kit is not standard?

sigh.

"TRD Sportivo is not TRD. It’s a Toyota accessory brand that’s more towards aesthetics."

such blatant daylight robbery.

"In fact some accessories that UMW Toyota were trying out with the Vios TRD development cars such as the air filter did not make it to this production car that will go on sale. Even the different exhaust system from the development cars did not make it to the production car. UMW Toyota says they did not want to touch those to keep the regular Vios 3 year and 100,000km warranty."

excuses by T/UMW. as the world's largest carmaker, they can offer more than just aesthetics.

it's just they don't want to.

• ambipur on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:34 pm

TRD Sportivo is a kit part of TRD and not TRD itself.

theres TRD Sportivo for the Toyota Harrier, Ipsum, Alphard etc.

modulo kits for honda costs 5k plus and no one complains? what about impul kits for nissan?

given choices as comments above on 308 or polo or swift etc, anyone that goes to sarawak or sabah will notice that more than 50% of cars there are toyota's and then honda's. vios and city do sell good in these parts.

• hahaha on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:36 pm

I pass this one, another facelift please.

• sohai car … :D

• Almanzo on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:53 pm

THE SEAT NOT TOO SPORTY… ~sigh~

BUT THE INTERIOR COLOUR A LITTLE BIT OKAY, BETTER THAN PREVIOUS TRD.

GEN2 CPS LOOK MORE SPORTIVE INTERIOR..

FRUSTED WITH SPORTIVO CONCEPT..

-just drop it from my favorite car list..

• barca on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:57 pm

[quote comment="245102"]add another rm5.6K (or around RM66 per month for 9 years loan – with interest calculated in) to the 'estimated' OTR price and you could get yourself the nice 308vti (which is a C-segment car).

Is this not the most expensive B-segment sedan in Malaysia?[/quote]

please, please, please….

for the love of peugeots, please don't compare the 308gti with this sorry excuse of "sportier upgrade of a car", regardless of price, segment or any other criteria.

i think i lost my mind and breath for a moment there :)

• intermilan on Jun 17, 2009 at 10:12 pm

then its meant that the sarawakian and sabahan are pretty much 'kesian' lah. i'm sure they want to consider other marques beside T & H. But had to settle for these two mainly not because their cars are great cars n affordable but because other factors mostly related to ease of ownership experience.

and this is the exact reason why these two players will continue to milk it until all are dry. just give the ~RM91K (RM92.4K in East M'sia) price tag a second deep look. there's nothing extra beside some PU.. and even the 1.5S its replaced is pricey.

mindset in peninsular are gradually changing. people here knew there are life beyond T&H and the gang. some already choose to opt out from T&H fastacy world, while many more are waiting for a more conducive environment / situation that suit their appetite before jumping in the bandwagon.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 17, 2009 at 10:20 pm

the rims are horrible…i like the red seats though

• Sorry, F1 doesn't count. We're talking about real world cars here. OK,if you want to talk about F1, all the other car manufacturers in F1 have sports cars in their lineup. Renault, a mainstream brand like Toyota has some pretty hardcore sports cars like the Megane RS and Clio RS. Toyota, nada!

• This piece of crap only hardens my opinion that Toyota has peaked and is on it's way down. Look at the piece of crap truck in the US, the Tundra. They have major quality issues there. The Toyota of old would not have let that slip by.

• no matter how much body kit you put for dis ugly beng dugong edition still no difference.

just like no matter how expensive dress and make-up an ugly and fat 50-year old woman wear also can't make her look like jessica alba etc.

• Michly on Jun 17, 2009 at 10:40 pm

308, suzuki, City, latio sport is much much more better than this.. WTH

• [quote comment="245128"]
    Have u ever driven the new vios@dugong, you are comparing a 1.5 with 1.6 engine.the hp and cc of this engines might be diff, but the torque is more or less the same.And have you ever heard of anything known as power to weight ratio? the vios can do 0-100 under 10sec.what is the waja CPS figure and it can top 200 on the straights. if i am not mistaken,some where in this forum on honda city ,paul has mentioned that a vios is better in term of performance compared to the new city,cause the vios has better power to weight ratio. come on la bro dont just give out comments just because you dont like the brand.[/quote]

Not fair meh? We compare it all the time.

.. check your fact first.
    Vios 80kw vs Gen2 CPS 93kw
    Vios 141 Nm vs Gen2 150Nm

Vios 1050 vs Gen2 1245kg kerb weight
    Gen2 0-100 at 10.5 sec (M) and 13.2s(A). But toyota website did not put any vios figure.
    Gen2 Max 190km/h (I had been in one at 195km/h)
    Vios max speed?…

• A Waste of money on this ..

• This is Why i change to NHC

• Zaff1984 on Jun 18, 2009 at 1:00 am

a big no no from me. seat ugly in the picture. I rather choose City E, got paddle shift. Are they really affected by the new City since it out?

• RT said,

June 17, 2009 @ 4:33 pm · Quote

Mi16 wrote:

Have u ever driven the new vios@dugong, you are comparing a 1.5 with 1.6 engine.the hp and cc of this engines might be diff, but the torque is more or less the same.And have you ever heard of anything known as power to weight ratio? the vios can do 0-100 under 10sec.what is the waja CPS figure and it can top 200 on the straights. if i am not mistaken,some where in this forum on honda city ,paul has mentioned that a vios is better in term of performance compared to the new city,cause the vios has better power to weight ratio. come on la bro dont just give out comments just because you dont like the brand.

Not fair meh? We compare it all the time.

.. check your fact first.

Vios 80kw vs Gen2 CPS 93kw

Vios 141 Nm vs Gen2 150Nm

Vios 1050 vs Gen2 1245kg kerb weight

Gen2 0-100 at 10.5 sec (M) and 13.2s(A). But toyota website did not put any vios figure.

Gen2 Max 190km/h (I had been in one at 195km/h)

Vios max speed?…

Do you even get the point? POWER to WEIGHT RATIO!!!, Gen2 cps, addtional 9 Nm to power an addtional 195kg.I have been in 2 vios at 200 and 205

• intermilan on Jun 18, 2009 at 1:35 am

what is the use of power without control…

• stanley9394 on Jun 18, 2009 at 2:40 am

Serious overpriced…they should sell the MAKE UP separately instead of making a NEW model without anything NEW….the car looked very horrible with its interior colour combination…very suitable for AH Bengs…haha… toyota designers are either "outta ideas" or "outta their MINDS"

the extra money is better spend on other things….

• Maserati on Jun 18, 2009 at 2:51 am

Honestly speaking,I am driving the New Honda City now.

After about 1 month of driving,it still has not proven its mettle.It still has not liven up to its hype.

Engine is inconsistent at at times sluggish.Honestly,I hate the SOHC engine..

5 speed gearbox is a real mess…I donno why I bought this car oso..

So as a conclusion…

If you want Good looking car but not really nice to drive ,get NHC

If you want NOT SO GOOD LOOKING CAR but nice and fun to drive ,get a VIOS.

• un-proud proton owne on Jun 18, 2009 at 3:17 am

i'm not saying toyota is good but why everyone wanna compare toyota with local proton….proton cars looks very powerful on PAPER…can sent u from point A to B without any BIG problem…BUT

the biggest problem is with Proton car's car built n its high maintenance issue …all proton owners know how GOOD Quality Proton are…

HANDLE PATAH, can smell outdoor air/smoke when u switch aircond on, rust here rust there, power window no more POWER-cannot repair & have to change WHOLE set of POWER WINDOW, engine sound like pudu bus conductor calling for passenger (KLANG KLANG KLANG)..the plastic interior will fade if expose to sun … wiring/misc electronic rosak n cost a bomb to repair/change(cuz the sc needs more than once to get it repaired).petrol indicator/temperature indicator also prone to stupid errors…all this are my personal experience with my car..sometimes i really wanna push my car down to SELAT melaka for wasting my time n money!!.

in addition, SC useless…can't detect problems, lousy after sales service…not to mention-NO SECOND HAND value…scrap value ada..haha trade in back to proton for 5k(min 10 years car)

fyi, i'm owner of 2 proton cars….the first one which is in year 1997 is very good…until i changed to the new proton which is in year 2007…proton standard had dropped very much….i really don't know where they get the ISO standard from(malaysia boleh).if those who doesn't believe me… just drive to any proton SC n you will c a lot of unsatisfied customers…

I have not even mention about the safety measures of proton MILO TIN body…u know i know lah…toyota at least got 4-5 star NCAP rating… proton..u know i know lah..

unless someone got tonnes of annual leave to spare and have a lot of spare cash to repair car/sent to SC..i won't recommend proton until the GAMEN do something to it instead of protecting it blindly.

i'm used to be proud of our national car… but now… sigh….malaysia BOLEH

• Tiadaid on Jun 18, 2009 at 3:23 am

This car gives new meaning to that very old Toyota slogan from the 80's (check out the old Malaysian Corolla LE ad on youtube by abangcantik if you're not familiar) : Alangkah puasnya Toyota! They memang puas taking money from blinded-by-badge Malaysians!

• jowey on Jun 18, 2009 at 3:38 am

[quote comment="245243"]Honestly speaking,I am driving the New Honda City now.

After about 1 month of driving,it still has not proven its mettle.It still has not liven up to its hype.

Engine is inconsistent at at times sluggish.Honestly,I hate the SOHC engine..

5 speed gearbox is a real mess…I donno why I bought this car oso..

So as a conclusion…

If you want Good looking car but not really nice to drive ,get NHC

If you want NOT SO GOOD LOOKING CAR but nice and fun to drive ,get a VIOS.[/quote]

NHC?? – New Honda City?…hahaha, transformers Gigi wanabe..LOL!!!!

• roti naan1 on Jun 18, 2009 at 4:13 am

TRD = Toyota's Rotten Dugong

• Automotive_Critics on Jun 18, 2009 at 4:33 am

[quote comment="245137"][quote comment="245039"]They better facelift this Vios earlier than it's cycle rather than come out with this make over. I still admire Vios side profile and tail gate design but front end prfthhhh.[/quote]

—-

brader…how many times want to facelift? this is already the facelift la.[/quote]

This Vios is "all new" to it's predessor. It is not "facelift" to it. So far it yet to receive any minor facelift e.g head/tail light or bumper design. If it just bodykit, it is not facelift but merely a make over. (if you understand brader).

• dandalao on Jun 18, 2009 at 4:38 am

how many proton can be seen in singapore and how many toyota honda can be seen? only Malaysian likes Toyota? Price does ALL the matters, if only all cars sell same price, then u tell me which u would buy. cheers

what's the price of proton in singapore? u world is just too small.

• secrets on Jun 18, 2009 at 5:23 am

lol. welcome the new Vios The Retarded Dugong (TRD)

even the old honda city looks better especially so when it's upgraded with the Mugen kit

• jowey on Jun 18, 2009 at 5:45 am

[quote comment="245262"]how many proton can be seen in singapore and how many toyota honda can be seen? only Malaysian likes Toyota? Price does ALL the matters, if only all cars sell same price, then u tell me which u would buy. cheers

what's the price of proton in singapore? u world is just too small.[/quote]

U from singapore bro? alamak, dont la underestimate proton to much bro, we know the company still small and not so advanced like toyota and honda :). still have time and space to improve the technology.,

i always see singapore car come to Kuala Terengganu here. Mostly they drive Toyota. a lot. Is that Toyota is a popular choice there??

• Tom_said on Jun 18, 2009 at 6:13 am

lazyf said,

June 17, 2009 @ 8:47 am · Quote

Gen2 CPS anytime…

one is japan engibe, one is malysia engine….which one u like ?? buatan malaysia tak boleh gi punya

• perosembilan on Jun 18, 2009 at 6:22 am

Ignore the pity Singaporean, they also need to pay 100% duty to buy a Proton's car like honda, toyota, nissan, etc, becuz they don't have nasional car. But nevermind lah, we are very welcome Singaporean driving on our highway, but don't forget to pay the toll.

BTW, I always see the Thai's car, they drive the vios dugong and new altis.

• Tom_said on Jun 18, 2009 at 6:24 am

stop comparing vios and GEN 2 cps la, proton car…u know i know la….no need to say already…everybody know, which car is better @@ hehe. i owening a vios 2007 old model, till today my millage done 56000km, everyday travel frm seremban to LCCT… running the LBJ sepang road….but the car condition and suspension still function well… ii very love toyota car…stop saying proton wat gen2 cps is good la….broder.. vios only 1.5 cc and gen 2 is 1.6 cc….not same…forever also not same…..cannot compare…japan car how can compare to copy cat proton national car… if u buy one LCD plsma today, would u buy SONY brand or PENSONIC brand…no nedd to answer me…hehehehehe

• Nutty on Jun 18, 2009 at 6:25 am

Oh mind, the rear spoiler looks like a big dragon with a pair of little baby dragon wings =.=…looks weird tho. Oh yea…TWIN MUFFERS please UMW!!! Do this for CAMRY as well!

• Nutty on Jun 18, 2009 at 6:27 am

Oh mind, the rear spoiler looks like a big dragon with a pair of baby dragon wings. (0.o)

By the way UMW, ….TWIN MUFFERS Please!!!!!! =.=

• bmpower on Jun 18, 2009 at 6:31 am

[quote comment="245272"]lazyf said,

June 17, 2009 @ 8:47 am · Quote

Gen2 CPS anytime…

one is japan engibe, one is malysia engine….which one u like ?? buatan malaysia tak boleh gi punya[/quote]

Neo already tapau dugong many time in AFOS race and many more race.

It's you T blind fan.

• Jimmy on Jun 18, 2009 at 7:28 am

This is a dugong with 'tongkang' handling quality, even worse than 'sampan' handling of Myvi. You put a lipstick on an ugly thing, it is still ugly, just a lil' less uglier than before…

• tokmoh on Jun 18, 2009 at 7:34 am

lol, UMWT at it again.

Funny how on one hand Msians like to complain their right to own ehpencif Toyota robbed cuz want to protect Proton. Then blame govt, umno, malay, NEP, AP, mahathir, blablabla.

Yet, on the other hand, sales for these sohai cars always high, even higher than most Proton models aside from Saga n Persona. Doesn't sound like their rights have been robbed to me.

Just that some emofags think the world owes them a living without working at all. Heh.

• fazron80 on Jun 18, 2009 at 7:57 am

Of course lah people will compare this to gen2 cps. This vios TRD supposed to be sporty. Gen2 CPS is also Proton's version of a sporty car. Unlike this vios dugong, gen2 cps now have a decent engine to go with the sporty looks. This vios TRD just cosmetic change only and even that it fail miserably. Like Myvi SE drivers like to drive fast because it looks fast.

I agree Proton still sucks big time at their after sales service. I don;t agree malaysian engine cannot go (tak boleh gi). Gen2 cps standard can tapau this vios anytime. Both handling and engine performance gen2 wins. But that's about it lah heheh.

Fuel effeciency I think is still Toyota's territory. On Vios this is due to their lighter weight and very good transmission. I test drove honda city and I think vios drives better if you want to drive a bit faster. City even with good hp(120hp?) on paper struggles to get speed. At least on Vios you can feel decent acceleration. Put toyota transmission to City good looks that's a good combination. Right now VIos just looks too ugly. I'm honestly ashamed to be seen in one even with all the cosmetic facelift. What to do, once a dugong will always be a dugong.

• roti naan1 on Jun 18, 2009 at 8:10 am

Slap that TRD sticker on he car and toyota can jack-up the car price edi.

I'm gonna slap a couple of TRD on my rusty Toyota KE70 and i believe I can sell it more than the market price. Yahuuuuuu!!!

• typical toyota fans exaggerating all the time…vios speedo only up to 200kmh. how you know you are travelling 205 kmh?

you use gps?

• [quote comment="245261"][quote comment="245137"][quote comment="245039"]They better facelift this Vios earlier than it's cycle rather than come out with this make over. I still admire Vios side profile and tail gate design but front end prfthhhh.[/quote]

—-

This Vios is "all new" to it's predessor. It is not "facelift" to it. So far it yet to receive any minor facelift e.g head/tail light or bumper design. If it just bodykit, it is not facelift but merely a make over. (if you understand brader).[/quote]

—–

all new? dun kid around pls!

new engine? new gearbox? pls la…honda city is all new…but this dugong crap is a poor excuse for a new vios.

• Toyota_n_Proton_love on Jun 18, 2009 at 12:04 pm

I'm using both proton and oso toyota…saga blm modded, gen-2(standard) and vios g modded…and what i can tell u guys…yes…my vios does look a bit (a bit only) like dugong but i've modded da car with trd bodykits wif mugen type-R spoilers with modulofront-lips wing and etc…what i can tell u dis car have become quite descent in looks and for the handling side i'm telling u guys dat the pick-up is ok and not sluggish at all and i can get full meter for da top speed..around 195-200km'j on a straight road…0-160km/j sap-sap-soey only a bit slow to climb to full meter…i agree wif most of u guys out there..its quite over price for a vios to be priced at over RM90k…when it comes to compare between vios and gen-2(cps)..i think it is not fair to compare between both models coz gen-2 cps is 1.6 and vios only 1.5…but what i can say and compare through my experience with the 3 cars that i have…i can say saga blm have a better handling at cornering compared to vios and a more stable feeling while driving on straight road…but saga blm definitely have less pick-up compared to vios due to its 1.3 dohc campro engine…..my gen-2 have the same stable feeling like the blm but the minyak consumption is quite bad compared to the other 2 models…my blm can get around 60-70km for every rm10…my vios 70-85km for every rm10 of petrol while gen-2…50km for every rm10…so…my conclussion…every car models have its pro and con…so don't simply pass jdgement without having First hand experience…mybe for vios there are something good and oso some setbacks…same goes for blm or gen-2 cps….lastly hidup DUGONG…HIDUP SAGA BLM…HIDUP GEN-2 and HIDUP OPTIMUS PRIME SENYUM SAMPAI NAMPAK GIGI!!!!!

• Automotive_Critics on Jun 18, 2009 at 1:51 pm

[quote comment="245261"][quote comment="245137"][quote comment="245039"]They better facelift this Vios earlier than it's cycle rather than come out with this make over. I still admire Vios side profile and tail gate design but front end prfthhhh.[/quote]

—-

This Vios is "all new" to it's predessor. It is not "facelift" to it. So far it yet to receive any minor facelift e.g head/tail light or bumper design. If it just bodykit, it is not facelift but merely a make over. (if you understand brader).[/quote]

Many makes use "all new" term when they introduce totally new design which replace the predessor. Regarding the engine, Toyota is saving cost there and who might now may be the VVTI+Super ECT is yet to get it's ROI. FYI, all new Honda civic which receives engine "downgrade" uses 5AT slushbox like one in the Civic instead of 7 speed CVT to cut cost also.If you lancer GT upgrade from to slushbox to CVT than I can agree. So where can you say necessary when makes introduce all new and always need all to be upgraded altogether? It may or may not. Ok brader king?

• Automotive_Critics on Jun 18, 2009 at 2:23 pm

[quote comment="245323"][quote comment="245261"][quote comment="245137"][quote comment="245039"]They better facelift this Vios earlier than it's cycle rather than come out with this make over. I still admire Vios side profile and tail gate design but front end prfthhhh.[/quote]

—-

Many makes use "all new" term when they introduce totally new design which replace the predessor. Regarding the engine, Toyota is saving cost there and who might now may be the VVTI+Super ECT is yet to get it's ROI. FYI, all new Honda civic which receives engine "downgrade" uses 5AT slushbox like one in the Civic instead of 7 speed CVT to cut cost also.If you lancer GT upgrade from to slushbox to CVT than I can agree. So where can you say necessary when makes introduce all new and always need all to be upgraded altogether? It may or may not. Ok brader king?[/quote]

Sorry typo. I meant Honda City which receives

• why not round it up to 100k terus?people wil still buy coz…vios is sooooo desirable!

"UMW Toyota says they did not want to touch those to keep the regular Vios 3 year and 100,000km warranty."….lame excuse

• agree with most.rather pick gen2 cps.or even secondhand classic merc 190e and use the balance to do it up nicely.

• gen2lama on Jun 18, 2009 at 6:55 pm

[quote comment="245277"]stop comparing vios and GEN 2 cps la, proton car…u know i know la….no need to say already…everybody know, which car is better @@ hehe. i owening a vios 2007 old model, till today my millage done 56000km, everyday travel frm seremban to LCCT… running the LBJ sepang road….but the car condition and suspension still function well… ii very love toyota car…stop saying proton wat gen2 cps is good la….broder.. vios only 1.5 cc and gen 2 is 1.6 cc….not same…forever also not same…..cannot compare…japan car how can compare to copy cat proton national car… if u buy one LCD plsma today, would u buy SONY brand or PENSONIC brand…no nedd to answer me…hehehehehe[/quote]

hahahah u make me proud of my 2004 GEN2……still going strong after 4 times changing the timing belt…..just calculate yr self on the total KM….

• the stik on Jun 18, 2009 at 9:02 pm

vios? hahahahahaha totally crap.. yela sape beli tu memang kaya laa tp i wonder laa diorang tu got brain or not hehehehehehe

• [quote comment="245325"][quote comment="245323"][quote comment="245261"][quote comment="245137"][quote comment="245039"]They better facelift this Vios earlier than it's cycle rather than come out with this make over. I still admire Vios side profile and tail gate design but front end prfthhhh.[/quote]

—-

Many makes use "all new" term when they introduce totally new design which replace the predessor. Regarding the engine, Toyota is saving cost there and who might now may be the VVTI+Super ECT is yet to get it's ROI. FYI, all new Honda civic which receives engine "downgrade" uses 5AT slushbox like one in the Civic instead of 7 speed CVT to cut cost also.If you lancer GT upgrade from to slushbox to CVT than I can agree. So where can you say necessary when makes introduce all new and always need all to be upgraded altogether? It may or may not. Ok brader king?[/quote]

Sorry typo. I meant Honda City which receives[/quote]

—–

i know what you mean. I never say is necessary, but look at what other manufacturers are offering. lets take an example ok. look at BMW E90 320i . When 1st launched in 2005 it came with 2.0 litre engine with 150hp / 200Nm. When it was facelifted in 2008, the engine was improved to 156hp / 200Nm at a lower rpm and lower fuel consumption and better emission. Now that is what i call a company that deserves credit. The pre-facelift 320i was never even criticised for lack of power but mostly on looks. this is due to the stiff competition from merc and audi. Even facelift also good maufacturers are offering so much upgrade.

So what the hell is toyota doing? sleeping? busy designing TRD ( Totally Retarded Dugong ) bodykits? or busy trying to convince brad pitt to be their brand ambassador so that can attract more ladies / aunties to buy?

So here we have a all "new" vios with the same old engine and the same old gearbox and old stretched chassis with an even uglier design.But toyota can sleep ( not for long ) because they never face any real challenge at all.

HOnda gave us the 5-speeder cos that is what m'sians wanted. Our 3rd world mentality consumers are not ready for CVT technology.

summary: so you already know that toyota saved cost on this dugong model by maintaining the same stuff and paying that money to brad pitt. say 5000 from each car. And now their engineers are too free nothing to do cos got no engine development or gearbox upgrade and they make this TRD retarded dugong bodykit.

so which do you think a smart consumer will buy? No offence but everyone knows that the foolish always outnumber the smart ppl. ( just an example – 10000 PhD doctors vs 100000000 SPM holders)

peace

• Tom_said on Jun 18, 2009 at 10:53 pm

for no money / low income they will buy gen2 cps or others proton's model or p2 , high income / alot of money….. they will not buy proton's car…. u all can see singaporean and thailand…know already… they choose toyota/ honda/ nissan and others for their car…. not proton… u know i know la…proton…mana boleh fight ??? engine good.. gen2 cps engine good, so wat ?? we want the brand !!! ok ?

• fazron80 on Jun 19, 2009 at 2:30 am

Sorry but malaysian are not poor anymore contrary to what u think. Lower income or no money that buy proton models or P2 can more than afford toyota vios nowadays. Vios is way down the chain for showing off wealthy. Vios is now a just ordinary car. If you have money you don;t buy vios. You buy something higher up the chain like the Altis or Camry. This Vios is just too expensive not worth the money. Ugly looks plus ordinary performance for obscene amount of money.

Now even BLM can smoke vios with its 1.6 offering. And BLM isnt that bad of a car; if u can drop the proton=no quality but Toyota=confirm excellent quality attitude and tried driving one. I would say that if you have the money skip this vios and get the 308. I personally don't even dare comparing gen2 cps with that car. Unlike this vios the 308 price seems right.

• Automotive_Critics on Jun 19, 2009 at 2:48 am

[quote comment="245365"][quote comment="245325"][quote comment="245323"][quote comment="245261"][quote comment="245137"][quote comment="245039"]They better facelift this Vios earlier than it's cycle rather than come out with this make over. I still admire Vios side profile and tail gate design but front end prfthhhh.[/quote]

—-

Sorry typo. I meant Honda City which receives[/quote]

—–

i know what you mean. I never say is necessary, but look at what other manufacturers are offering. lets take an example ok. look at BMW E90 320i . When 1st launched in 2005 it came with 2.0 litre engine with 150hp / 200Nm. When it was facelifted in 2008, the engine was improved to 156hp / 200Nm at a lower rpm and lower fuel consumption and better emission. Now that is what i call a company that deserves credit. The pre-facelift 320i was never even criticised for lack of power but mostly on looks. this is due to the stiff competition from merc and audi. Even facelift also good maufacturers are offering so much upgrade.

So what the hell is toyota doing? sleeping? busy designing TRD ( Totally Retarded Dugong ) bodykits? or busy trying to convince brad pitt to be their brand ambassador so that can attract more ladies / aunties to buy?

So here we have a all "new" vios with the same old engine and the same old gearbox and old stretched chassis with an even uglier design.But toyota can sleep ( not for long ) because they never face any real challenge at all.

HOnda gave us the 5-speeder cos that is what m'sians wanted. Our 3rd world mentality consumers are not ready for CVT technology.

summary: so you already know that toyota saved cost on this dugong model by maintaining the same stuff and paying that money to brad pitt. say 5000 from each car. And now their engineers are too free nothing to do cos got no engine development or gearbox upgrade and they make this TRD retarded dugong bodykit.

so which do you think a smart consumer will buy? No offence but everyone knows that the foolish always outnumber the smart ppl. ( just an example – 10000 PhD doctors vs 100000000 SPM holders)

peace[/quote]

Malaysian wanted 5 speeder? I want 7 speeder than 5 speeder. It's smooth and more fuel efficient. I'm also malaysian. If they are two variant lancer GT which is slushbox and CVT with same price (New city which slushbox is more expensive than CVT one) which one malaysian will choose? Aiyo brother where did you get the fact? or you're jenjenjeng Honda Malaysia car layman SA or what?? Honda Malaysia bad quality and service is well known inside out.

Flagship debutant with brake caliper broken nearly kill their so called valued customer. At least Toyota get better fool proof for safety!! Toyota Engineers sleeping because many carry over but what about Honda? You know, they are even without engineers in plant!!

Please get your fact before you say something. Yes I'm not highly educated but I really value my hard earned technical cert during my tender years. But people so called "not foolish" like to blindly slap Japs yellow to your own face. Shame on you bro. kekeke dont angry. peace no war.

• come on guys…toyota not only sell vios TRD…although they have type j, the cheapest one, among the viosla..they still have many such cars which better than vios in their showroom…it seems like new TRD is unacceptable for u guys..just wait n see if the dugong TRD still attract others to buy it…

• come on guys..toyota not only sell vios TRD..they still have other type to choose..otherwise, they still have such many cars in their showroom comparing with other brands like Honda@[email protected] seems like viosTRD is unacceptable for u guys..just wait and see if new TRD really atract others to buy it…

• GOOD CAR

• peroenam on Jun 19, 2009 at 5:57 pm

UMW just wanna moving uphill $$ with same things.

• alpha0201 on Jun 19, 2009 at 6:59 pm

Wow. This car actually make Nissan Latio Impul a bargain buy.

• Why cant they just tune abit on the engine ? How about a manual variant ? Seems just so cosmetic changes. TRD should have done more since Toyota has been promoting its TRD Vios all around since last year.

• SoFunNy on Jun 20, 2009 at 4:42 am

Went Belta came here on UMW's hand, it become Vios TRD – The Racing Dugong.

Why not give us the cheap 1.3L Vios, allow 55k – 65k. Uncle and auntie must buy one for their girls, because it is normal Belta cannot move faster. My mummy also want buy one for me instead Myvi.

• Tom_said on Jun 21, 2009 at 5:37 am

xin said,

June 19, 2009 @ 12:50 pm

Why cant they just tune abit on the engine ? How about a manual variant ? Seems just so cosmetic changes. TRD should have done more since Toyota has been promoting its TRD Vios all around since last year.

dun simply said tune engine bro, u r not engineer , u dun know, so shut up. if u know, u tune the engine b4 it launch

• Rulered on Jun 21, 2009 at 5:40 am

UMW can apply for World Guiness Record for most variant in a single model car within just less than 3 years, first in the world, as they always aimed.

• Tom_said on Jun 22, 2009 at 1:42 am

good than all proton and perodua cars

• Then explain it to me about the Tune engine before launch ? I never had any news on this. Yes i dont know and i will shutup when u prove it to me by giving CONCRETE PROVE. I dont believe just by your words MR TOM. Dont bother reply when you have no prove. Thanks

Tom_said said,

June 20, 2009 @ 9:37 pm

xin said,

June 19, 2009 @ 12:50 pm

Why cant they just tune abit on the engine ? How about a manual variant ? Seems just so cosmetic changes. TRD should have done more since Toyota has been promoting its TRD Vios all around since last year.

dun simply said tune engine bro, u r not engineer , u dun know, so shut up. if u know, u tune the engine b4 it launch

• msnail on Jun 22, 2009 at 9:33 pm

Toyota is world class brand and car manufacture, Proton local only cant campare ma.not balance n fair.Even in Europe people will choose toyota rather than proton.I think if toyota selling vios below or same price than Gen 2 cps, proton already "gulung tikar" cos till today proton still struggle to sell their cars. Even the best proton product Wira also using Mitsubishi engine to won rally race. CPS is clone from Lotus engine, without Lotus involvement can Proton build this engine? i think already bankrupt. At least TOYOTA have their own brand & product not like Proton need to corporate with Lotus or Mitsubishi or Nissan expert to build the engine and make sell their car increase. U can proud with Gen 2 CPS but dont make comparison with Vios@dugong bcos Gen 2 not pure from proton, they just clone Lotus Tech. Even the design of car also clone la. That design have use by Europe cars previously. Do you proud having clone cars like you have thailand or indon products?. Compare to Kia car la bcos both like to copy other cars design. At least Vios have their own design even some people not like it but still buy it. Proton dont have their own brand, they just now to copy other car design and engine and just doing some modification.Then buy it to you.Still cheating right.Proud kaa??

Vios is suitble for everybody, you have more money you can but TRD sportivo but if dont buy spec j only la, then modified it. I always look around, i saw to many vios@dugong in road, what happen to New City? and More vios be modified than New City. meaning for regular using TOYOTA is more suitable cost bcos every one can buy it compare to the international brand that they have. In my place i found 5 Vios@Dugong but only 1 New City. 3 of it have be modified but city modified is old city only. For me, Vios also have so many choices and customers like variaty of choise to buying a product. But if you want to race you just put turbo engine la then you can race. regular car not for race maa but u want to race make it turbo. Honda is very expensive but they have same brand like TOYOTA. Now Vios have TRD Sportivo as market demand it, how about City? do you have any option to choose?You just can choose E or S. TOYOTA "Moving Foward" , HONDA "The Power of Dream" , NISSAN "The Way Yo Move" PROTON and PERODUA"Copy It ???????"

• un-proud proton owne on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:46 am

totally agreed with msnail,

can't compare local with world class brand…however, there are a rumour spreading in forums that proton engages BLOGGERS or net surfers to condemn other brands and protect proton in NET FORUMS….

you wanna know proton better or toyota better? check out youtube..quote proton-top gear… u get sorts of things… n comments from top gear host which is very true.if u wanna c how our proton fair in crash test quote ncap-proton….u'll be surprised how waja crumple in the test….

toyota may not be the best but at least NOT BAD LAH…if got money buy BMW lo… no money BO-PIAN buy proton or perodua loh…

i think everyone deserved a right to say what he wants but we can't deny whats happening to our proton.U KNOW I KNOW LA!!

• Antistereotype on Jun 24, 2009 at 2:55 am

@xin:

Research and development needs money to improve their engine designs. They need to do designs, build prototypes, testing and a lot of things.

If they sell that car over RM100k, prolly nobody's going to buy it, except you maybe.

Also it's a family engine they are using, so they won't be focusing much on performance. Reliability is more important.

Go "tune" it yourself lah dude.

If you want aftermarket tuning, there are lots of tuning packages out there.

• turntoeast on Jun 25, 2009 at 1:08 am

I'm one of the "personel" assigned by UMWT to coordinate in-plant installation of this VIOS TRD. Personally..from the beginning of this project I hate the car concept.

So…I'm beginnning my own skunk work for to be proposed as the next "sporty VIOS". Anybody…please submit your request and idea so a sporty, under 90k VIOS can be materialized… I will appreciate each of your comments.

Submit your idea to [email protected]

• r_raving on Jun 25, 2009 at 6:21 am

dh la huduh..bertambah2 huduh la plak

• msnail on Jun 26, 2009 at 6:22 pm

haha..UglyBetty but people still buy it bro…but performance is excellent, always moving foward.

• infinity1333 on Jun 27, 2009 at 2:13 am

It would be good to have TRD turbo edition in Malaysia,, just top up alittle bit $$$$.. it worth for value vs money ,,,,

• John Stamos on Jun 29, 2009 at 9:16 pm

heahea u fools. how can some of u prefer a proton to a toyota? thats plain stupid. buying a gen 2 and modifying to smoke Toyota TRD? thats stupid. u probably cant afford the 90k now and think that u and ur proton look like a celebrity in a aston martin. even if u decide to buy a gen2 and modify it, it would probably take u 2 to 3 years to save the money to modify the car and smoke the toyota trd and even by that time the TOYOTA TRD fella probably saved enough money to change their car to something bigger while you fools are still trying to change the suspension and harder blabla in ur proton gen2.

just my 10 cents.

• even i, my self r one of Toyota fans. Well UMW sure have put a lot of hard work trying to promote VIOS on youngster but still if for me i still prefer the older version of VIOS. Comparing the Body looks, is a bit bulky. Hopefully in future VIOS will be more sporty looks (^_^)b.

• infinity1333 on Jun 30, 2009 at 9:13 pm

I m upgrading my old vios, inject with the TRD turbo engine, budget should be less than 10k, ,, hopefully it will work perfectly ..

• Anand on Jul 02, 2009 at 12:51 am

still all the apek wil buy wut…

• Anand on Jul 02, 2009 at 12:53 am

Still all the apek wil buy tis piece of ugly shit..

• msnail on Jul 02, 2009 at 2:08 am

Then what kind of shit that will you buy tambi?

• Baby3v0 on Jul 04, 2009 at 12:44 am

WTF….car is this….90K for this piece of shit, bodykits?

at least engine tune, and parts from TRD thats better…TRD is not making bodykits…dont make us laugh la UMW and Toyota Malaysia…

We are not stupit, you all just want to make money with bloody sucking to nation ppl…balik la you…

• wochomi on Jul 04, 2009 at 9:37 am

Well, if you wanna be special, you've got to pay the premium…. uniqueness comes with a price…

For me, I only can afford a baseline model (e-type which already booked)…. and what I feel is necessary. I'm a bit skeptical bout all the additional safety features they put into cars these days. There were great drivers before the time of ABS, EBD, and all… maybe we all just got a little FASTER these days.

OR maybe we all want ALL-IN-ONE workhorse, sports-car and family car from our hard-earned money.

That's just my thought. : P

• prasad (Member) on Jul 04, 2009 at 5:42 pm

Vios TRD sportivo, it just made the car look worst. They should come up with a better body kit. If there was a smoked light option would have been a lot better.

• sarawakian on Jul 19, 2009 at 9:08 am

I agree with msnail and john stamos!

Why bother to compare gen2 to vios, everything is different from specs to price and BRAND obviously. Honestly, I've driven both proton and toyota cars and based on my experience, vios is way much better than a proton in many aspects. In fact, proton consumes more fuel than a vios. Just imagine driving a vios on sarawak road and still i never spent more than rm100 a month for the fuel. The acceleration is excellent, very smooth. In terms of price for the J type, not so much differences compared to a persona (in terms of monthly instalment for 9years) but still you can get a much better quality car. Besides, don't judge a book by its cover. Vios maybe a dugong, but it sure performs well and last better than a proton. After sale and car service are impressive too. So, for proud proton owner who can't afford a japanese car and never driven one too, go to toyota showroom and take a test drive with a vios, then you'll experience true differences. People buy car is according to their personal financial status, if you know you can afford an rm90k vios despite all the criticism, would you still go for a proton or perodua? Human is born naturally loving to choose something that's better if they can, i don't think you'll even think twice to bring back a proton if you already know vios offers better quality and more satisfaction. In the long run, everybody knows vios can last longer than a proton. If rm90k is such a fuss, go for J type and modify it and still it's better than a local car in terms of quality. J, E, G and TRD, the engines are all the same ma… just the bodykit and accessories different. If J type also cannot buy, then buy kancil or saga at least lo….. then use kancil to smoke TRD!

• trdsportivo on Jul 20, 2009 at 6:57 pm

ha.. ha.. ha…

cps gen 2? broken handling.. hi fuel consumptions.. 1.6 lotus copying tech.. ha ha ha.. so funny..

if u don't hv $, don't condemn the trd la.. juz proud with ur cps..

use ur mind.. let say u can save $10 for every 100km with dugong compare cps. how much u hv ha? 1000km = $100.. 10,000km = $1,000.. 100,000km = $10,000..

hw much u can sell ur cps after 10 years?

ha ha ha ha…

• i only will consider for sport in terms of handling…

dun tell me a torsion beam can beat a multilink in terms of cornering

• u sure can save $10 per 100km???? tats way too much.. somemore u are comparing a 1.5 with 1.6 with different curb weight, boy~

• fazron80 on Jul 22, 2009 at 9:09 am

Any sane human being with 90K to spend by right shouldnt buy this dugong TRD. Buy a 308 that makes much more sense than dugong TRD. 90K is not that much. Even government clerk can afford dugong nowadays. Monthly installment only rm800 to rm900++ ma. Waja already 700++ lar. Persona SE slightly less. Alot of people can afford dugong. Driving dugong doesnt mean you're rich. Heck ordinary clerk can even afford altis or civic, let alone this baseline car but overprice TRD vios dugong. If you have 90K money you dont buy proton or perodua but you don't buy this dugong also. Look for other cars. Or go upper and get an altis.

The real problem is putting TRD on this dugong without any real performance modifications. Now dugong looks even uglier than before. Even the S version was slightly less ugly than this TRD.

Quality is certainly better than proton but handling? Unfortunately only insane race driver drive a dugong for a track race with Neo or gen2. And that fact wont change no matter how much you sell your dugong even after 100 years. No matter how much u save petrol. This car have no looks and no go. For dugong lovers if you see Neo, gen2 or even waja cps on your mirror just give way because your car is just not that fast but is definitely ugly. This TRD will be an eyesore at the right lane. VVti is for fuel economy so dugong should be driven on the left lane only.

• vios trd on Jul 25, 2009 at 4:34 am

hahaha..

cps gen 2 better than vios?

are u joking??

proton sucks forever

• CPS vvti!

clearly that the end :-) Exora CPS still beratlah bro proton u must working on it! TOYOTA moving forward PROTON moving backward hehehe…

• I hate 2shout this..PROTON ur must working on it Exora CPS still beratlah bro TOYOTA moving forward PROTON moving backward.. CPSvvti clearly that is end..

• I hate 2shout this..PROTON ur must working on it Exora CPS still beratlah bro TOYOTA moving forward PROTON moving backward.. CPS sorey this is stand 4wat? ur can’t knock vvti clearly that is end.. i'm out

• AUDI TT on Jul 25, 2009 at 6:07 pm

proton do really sucks…my cousin juz bought exora 2 few weeks ago.guess wat. now his car sent back to factory due to the engine block CRACKED!!!! what the hack. shame on u proton. i cant see any improvement…exora…our pride…wat a joke. pls dont fooling around.more & more msians now is capable to buying honda & toyota. if you can't affored is better u buying perodua rather than proton. perodua will launch MPV this november.juz wait & see never buying exora…is a rubbish car. LOTUS Handling<<<dont alwiz use this lar pls…i really wanna laugh.

juz my 2 cents

• kancil on Jul 26, 2009 at 9:42 pm

proton sucks big time…

dont have money to buy vios, better use LRT

never say gen2 cps/waja cps better than vios pls…

exora??thats a good joke…

proton=copycat

dont let proton buy u off with lotus handling

• RunnerUp on Jul 27, 2009 at 5:03 am

[July 22, 2009 @ 1:09 am] fazron80 said,

Quality is certainly better than proton but handling? Unfortunately only insane race driver drive a dugong for a track race with Neo or gen2. And that fact wont change no matter how much you sell your dugong even after 100 years. No matter how much u save petrol. This car have no looks and no go. For dugong lovers if you see Neo, gen2 or even waja cps on your mirror just give way because your car is just not that fast but is definitely ugly. This TRD will be an eyesore at the right lane. VVti is for fuel economy so dugong should be driven on the left lane only.

I second that, totally!

The only time i respect a Vios is when it stays where it belongs – way OFF the rightmost lane! That way i need not overtake it from the left any more =)

• fazron80 on Jul 27, 2009 at 4:46 pm

Exactly! Because toyota uses vvti it should be driven on the left lane. It was never meant to be driven fast which makes you wonder why this TRD vios even came out?? And not even a single performance upgrade!!

Seeing this ugly dugong on the right lane will definitely makes you sick. Surprisingly honda city (new one) doesn't have the same effect on me. It's not because of the H badge since the old honda city city is definitely on par with dugong for it ugly looks.

• minarnie on Jul 28, 2009 at 10:13 pm

im use new vios j-grade n it my 1st car after i get job.

before this i drive myvi,viva n persona.

i test drive for old city but i dont like design of this car.like my aunty car.

i go to vios la.

i like design of persona n i work as engineer at automotive factory n my consumer is toyota,bmw n merz n proton

i always go to toyota factory assb but i dont like vios but i buy it.

i talk with my client n 2boy engineer book vios.i think n in oct 2008 i also book vios.

• minarnie on Jul 28, 2009 at 10:16 pm

after i read this coment i feel u r wrong.my x factory do seat for all honda n i know the quality n part for toyota.

seat for proton is very bad. now i drive vios n i think i will use this car for 10years. i test drive new city n i feel not comfortable in t-junction.new city design like for old people.vios suitable with me 23years old

• vios lover on Jul 30, 2009 at 9:32 am

hahahaha

proton's buyer jealous didnt have $$$ to buy vios

rather die than drive a proton

• RunnerUp on Jul 30, 2009 at 3:30 pm

Hah. If you have so much money why'd you go for one of the cheapest Japanese rides around? Wanna save money on fuel some more?

Nevertheless, we've all made our decisions. Hope everyone's happy with their choice. I know I am.

• For2ner on Aug 01, 2009 at 1:55 am

C’mon guys…I was a proton owner because that's what I could afford at that time. It's been a good servant to me despite the car's problem here & there. Nothing against our national car but you have to admit that the japanese car is way above in quality & reliability. Now with a pretty good career & healthy income, I eventually realised my long target of having a Vios. It's because I finally can afford it, not force myself to have one just to show off to others. Look at ourself and ask “Can I afford this car?”. It’s not about paying the down payment only. Yes, almost everyone can do that but what comes after that make some people got headache; instalment, petrol, maintenance, insurance, etc. You know your income strength, so make your own judgment. Otherwise, you might end up park your expensive car car outside the house & ride a motorcycle instead to save fuel expenses on your car. That would be stupid, isn’t it? Cheap or expensive is rather subjective. If you're not ready to buy a so called 'cheapest japanese ride around', that means you’re not there yet in terms of affordability. Until you’re ready, make do with what you have, ya..Cheers..

• RunnerUp on Aug 09, 2009 at 12:58 am

[July 31, 2009 @ 5:55 pm] For2ner said,

It’s not about paying the down payment only. Yes, almost everyone can do that but what comes after that make some people got headache; instalment, petrol, maintenance, insurance, etc. You know your income strength, so make your own judgment. Otherwise, you might end up park your expensive car car outside the house & ride a motorcycle instead to save fuel expenses on your car.

> As you pointed out, considering everything including the installment, fuel, maintenance etc etc, the cost of owning a Vios might end up equals to or maybe even lower than, say, a Gen2 CPS in the long run. That basically means if I can afford to own (and run) a Gen2 CPS then for sure I can afford a Vios.

> So, what's with the remarks that those who buy Protons don't have enough $$$ to buy something else? I know I can afford a Vios. I just don't want to. Why? Because, err, LOOK is subjective too =)

For2ner said,

If you’re not ready to buy a so called ‘cheapest japanese ride around’, that means you’re not there yet in terms of affordability. Until you’re ready, make do with what you have, ya..

> Maybe you're right. I'm not "there" yet to buy a Vios. In fact, I don't think I'll ever be "there." But not in terms of affordability though =)

> So please stop being a snob and please stop thinking that some people don't buy a Vios because they can't afford it financially!

> Thanks!

• smartcharming on Aug 11, 2009 at 8:55 pm

Paul, is Toyota Vios 1.5 J spec got a touch of TRD? If so, how much is the price of Vios J TRD? Leave the accesories aspect apart, is the interior n exterior just exactly the same as Vios TRD Sportivo? Heard that Vios J spec manual tranmission is really thrill to drive.

• karma on Aug 12, 2009 at 9:17 pm

[quote]As you pointed out, considering everything including the installment, fuel, maintenance etc etc, the cost of owning a Vios might end up equals to or maybe even lower than, say, a Gen2 CPS in the long run. That basically means if I can afford to own (and run) a Gen2 CPS then for sure I can afford a Vios [quote]

maintenance for gen2 cps higher than vios because of low build quality of gen2..my brother bought a new Gen2, two weeks after that, the plastic/rubber at window peel off..WTF????power window also got problem..stupid POTONG…feels like vomit everytime see POTONG car..

• Vios FL'06 owne on Aug 13, 2009 at 6:55 am

it's only here in south east asia where the car is called vios… in other place it is called yaris sedan… to me the car is never a vios… its always a yaris… and yaris is always ugly and overpriced…

• fazron80 on Aug 15, 2009 at 5:21 am

I think in Japan they call it Belta? They market Belta there for makcik only.

To karma, at least you brother's car will always be faster than this TRD?? vios 'dugong'.

• Impartial Jin on Aug 21, 2009 at 1:20 am

As an owner of a Vios type E, I have the following comments to make:

1. The Vios can indeed go beyond 195km/h. I have personally driven mine at that speed along the North-South Highway.

2. Notwithstanding its achievement on the highway, acceleration feels sluggish and sometimes even unresponsive to me when driving in city areas and towns.

3. Aesthetic wise, I don’t actually agree with the front end of the Vios. Nevertheless, there are bodykits out there which makes the car look more agreeable.

4. The suspension does not feel as good when compared to other cars. I’ve been in a Cheverolet Magnum Optra before and it feels more comfortable.

5. Fuel consumption is phenomenal for a car of its category.

6. The car is highly reliable.

7. Cabin space is limited, despite its outward appearance.

8. Build quality is reasonably good, but not exceptional.

Now, regarding the Vios TRD Sportivo:

1. The price of RM90k is not commensurate with what Toyota has added to the car. Third party bodykits and sport rims are considerably cheaper and nicer than what the TRD Sportivo offers.

2. Without an upgraded engine, or significant performance upgrades, the performance of the car would not be better than the existing Vios line-up.

Due to the above, I’m of the opinion that the Vios TRD Sportivo is a major rip-off, and not worth considering. That aside, I must also point out that the original Vios is still a reasonably good car, looks aside.

• minarnie on Aug 26, 2009 at 5:22 pm

I UPGRADE MY CAR VIOS J-AUTO TO BE TRD BUT ONLY BODYKIT.I WANT TO CHANGE RIM AFTER 2YEARS

• Nakal on Aug 29, 2009 at 12:43 am

oh i see…

here is full with japanese…

• fazron80 on Sep 04, 2009 at 9:31 am

To impartial Jin,

1. Your vios can go faster. Vios meter shows 200. Aim for that. My friend driving new vios claims his top speed is 196. Vios is stable at high speed too only lose to proton's handling when taking corner.

2. Strange you find it that way. My own experience is that Toyota vios accelleration is quite excellent for an auto car. You should try the new honda city. It's pretty much non-existent acceleration.

3. You can definitely make the new vios looks more pleasant after you buy it. But it should have been in the 1st place. Look at how Altis and camry now that's what I can say aestethically pleasant.

4. Spot on with the suspension. It's just average. How can that be? The price is not average at all. It just feels slightly better than myvi's suspension.

5. Fuel consumption for vios is just wow! (why can't the exterior matches this!)

6. All toyota is made for reliability in the long term. It's honda ex5 in a car body.

7. Interior is definitely limited in space.

8. I think there's a different in building quality on S,G,E and J. J somehow lacks the upper class building quality. I agree building quality even for S is so-so only. Nothing special.

Come on UMW you can do better with vios instead just slapping a bodykit and new sport rim then calls it TRD. Even kedai abang can do that. And sometimes they do it with a discount.

• Xtinuisq lover on Sep 06, 2009 at 10:26 pm

awat bodi kit keta toyota mahal giler aaaa? padaal plastik jerk…gua pun rasa tertipu lepas pasang bodykit kat vios gua, RM1800 gua cakap lu…setaun gua makan megi laaa pasni…siot punyer kedai apek bodykit tipu gua

• may i know will trd body kit scratch on the surface on the road while going up on a sloping hill???

• msnail on Sep 16, 2009 at 11:33 pm

That is the higher price i ever heard la, RM 1800 is too much.my trd body kit just 1200 inclued colour & installation. i think u has be cheated by that apek la…

• msnail on Sep 17, 2009 at 12:47 am

for new trd body kit will not scratch but if u use old trd body kit it'll be yes expecially more than 45 degree.

• o.O

thx for ur reply~

• faizal on Sep 22, 2009 at 6:25 am

this wed or thurs i hope bank call me for loan approve.haha.

i "sambar" vios e type white color.

• eaglex on Oct 19, 2009 at 4:48 am

I have tested proton persona 1.6L engine. It totally sucks compared to Toyota Vios TRD. I currently have a Accord thinking of a 2nd car. Comparing the engine of toyota to proton, proton is like 1.0L not 1.6L. Test drive is necessary to compare man…

• msnail on Oct 19, 2009 at 5:14 am

Gen 2 & Neo????i think i'll downgrade everything if i buy this two cars. Vios is great.

• fazron80 on Oct 19, 2009 at 9:49 pm

yes vios is the greatest car in the world. The best car for money. Best engine. its 1.5l engine perform like 2.5l engine. it so faster than proton's cps 10.5s 0-100m. Quality? Vios has better quality than any car available in our market.

It got the best car seat. Best tyre. best air cond. best sport rim. best gearknob. best steering. best bodykit. best spoiler. just everything is totally great. It's also so cheap. What are UMW thinking. Price should be higher. Even if vios price 100K also too unbelievable cheap because many people will still buy.

Why get camry when u can get a vios that's better in everything. Honda city? U put vios side by side u already know vios wins. Vios is so good looking. All cars cannot compare with great vios. It's a moving legend. I cannot believe vios don't win car of the year every year.

• VIOSSTYLO 08 on Oct 22, 2009 at 6:46 am

Dear peroduasaupei9,

Don't say like that …compared with malaysian car? this is TOYOTA maaaaa too far to compared langgar lubang pun takdak rasa ape and engine senyap letak gelas air pun tak gerak . Gen2 ka? sakit pinggang bawak. sorry bro…

• princereza on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:56 am

i think city is the best..more better than this vios or vios trd version..so malaysian people plzzz use ur brain correctly.wokey : )

• princereza on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:58 am

city is the best n better..x rugi beli city but rugi beli vios

• msnail on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:41 am

this not bout who is the best,both brand almost have same quality but different price.who evr can fullfill people request they are the best. it's same like mas & air asia la..mas is the best in world but people still choose air asia.so you think it first la bro.if i have more money i'll buy civic loo rather than city.

• neyna on Nov 16, 2009 at 6:32 pm

msnail..yes u are right i totally agreed with u..now i dont know which car should i gt cause my first choice is toyota rush n after i looked all the comment..its very sad,so i guess vios or gen2 cps would be on my list..but the price totally killing me!

• Hunter on Nov 19, 2009 at 10:40 pm

this car is ugly…very ugly….and dun simply name as sport version with only ugly body kit

• msnail on Nov 20, 2009 at 12:28 am

of course vios price is little bit high but compare with quality it's worst.cosider also the maintainance in ur list.maintanance is very important. but is not much different only 10k u will get vios basic.plus other 10k ur vios complete with double din with gps, 17" sport rim, TRD body kit & adjustable, fog lamp, & auto fordable side mirror.that would be enough!!!

• msnail on Nov 20, 2009 at 12:32 am

every vios owner admit vios is ugly but i much more proud if i drive my vios then i drive proton or produa cars!!dont downgrade ur status la!!hahahaha!!!

• JeffChong on Feb 01, 2010 at 8:35 pm

Just to share, me and my wife tested drive both the city and vios..and our conclusion after much thinking and evaluating the car, we opts for Vios TRD…

I seen the comments u made here, and I just think that whatever it is, it's a personal choice…some like the TRD, some don't…. TRD is not just a matter of the external body kit, its the overall packaging including interior which we think its really clean and sporty at the same time….of cuz we don't have the priviliege to get it tuned to TRD sports however…its good enough..what for want such a fast car and later end up tempted to speed more eh???

Cheers everyone…..

• there is something different with the new trd, the brake is better, interior design is better , and the sport rims…the front look,i admit it is so-so only, but the rear look is superb : )

• ikhwan3010 on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:36 pm

i am going to get my TRD next week… after all guys, not bad to drive the TRD then drive the perodua or Proton i guess…hahaha…. at least i do have the standard….

• Fraz006 on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:25 am

i do think vios is a good car. and yes, people perception of coz la, vios is soooo much better than perodua or proton. chicks prefer vios owners than perodua and proton. if i have the option, i ll buy any local car with better spec than vios. coz i want the real mccoy, not by Malaysian perception.

• Fraz006 on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:37 am

to Ikhwan3010, congratz bro for your TRD. and of coz, no standard lah if drive proton or perodua kan, mana style, kite kene ada style baru awek masuk….

hahaha, standard benar la sangat bro…..

• msnail and ikhwan are the official car critics of the country!!…drving and ugly dugond which has now been tranformed into a new and uglier flowerhorn is Standard???….either i guys r blind or stupid….no wonder Toyota are posting record sales (only in Malaysia bcauz most idiots are in Malaysia)…they sell a empty junk car at over 90K, put Toyota logo n boom….idiots storm the showroom…Persona is better looking………..n the new Forte at 75K and 82K are way way better buy thn this fish TRD….comparing Forte with Vios is like comparing Chocolate with Shit….n suprisingly the Chocolate is cheaper and freaking cool features which Vios owners can only see and drool

• i agree with Don, between this three cars, VIOS trd, Honda City and Forte.. design wise, i choose Forte.. for 1st time in my life, i like Kia.. haha the Audi influence are there.. but due to Naza reputation and service i’ve heard from others… it make me feel down.. KIA should change distributor.. then when comes with this Vios and Honda city.. Honda are more more far better.. the vios interior seem feel like plastic.. design wise, errmm i dun feel like a sports tuned car.. feel like nenek car going to pasar with expensive bodykit.. the honda city modulo are far better and good looking.. anyway, KIA should bring the 2door forte version into malaysia..then vios and city really need to work hard..the design are damn awesome!!!

• DogoftheCar on May 23, 2010 at 11:21 pm

Ppl who are finishing read ur comment are stupid. Toyota gets best record sales in M’sia SINCE 90s until now, even Honda can’t achieve it. You think all the ppl are stupid enough? Why don’t you think everyone are still choosing Toyota? It’s bcause they’re been cheated? Traditional mind? you’re PATHETIC mind.. Don’t try to use ur own pathetic view to compare with others and said urs is chocalate while others r shit. For me forte is js like traditional old design car, ya it is a ugly car designed especially its ugly RECTANGULAR-shaped ChocaLATE butt. Pursuit me to buy a KIA? NO WAY! Cheap and not reliable car,. Driving for 5 years without part problems? You’re kidding me.. PPL ask me which car is good at cornering, driving in city, well steering response and FEEL(City is too light, it’s a car for beginner), NO GEARBOX PROBLEM(CIty? shit..)low engine sound in >120km/h highway(VTEC? noisy like shit when reach 140km/h), good absorbar(city? still..make me vomit at highway) cheap maintenance, RELIABLE? I”LL STILL CHOOSE TOYOTA, non of the ABOVE can FORTE and CITY achieve. Why you ask me so sure about it? Because I’m just a 7 years-exp car technician/modifyer.

• about the Proton cars.. nah… Top Gear keep teasing and teasing proton cars, yet a lot of our country people still buying it and I dunno why.. latest accident news was about a family of 5 drove a Wira and crashed with Civic, 4 died and 1 injured seriously, Civic’s passenger was minor injured. gen 2 and Persona with CamPro engine, suck on its reliability and fuel consumption.. Waja is not suitable for young people, your dad.. it’s for your grandfather.

For Vios and City, ppl always like to compared the engine and gearbox. We spent 80+k for both Vios or City, but do you think that City gets better equipments than Vios?! Ppl said “We get paddle shifter”, what the heck is that that you can just “manually” shift ur gear at certain RPM and speed? Do we actually use paddle shifter on traffic-jammed roads, or city roads? City always has gearbox problem issue, I think it’s not the gearbox problem itself, but the driving behavior and skills of the driver himself. There is so much things to learn before using the paddle shift, to know the engine, oil input and the gearbox ratio itself. PPl said”Why toyota cheat ppl with their so-called”TRD”?”, do you think people are stupid enough to be cheated by them?Of course they’re doing their job on Vios, on demand from customers.

About the VTEC, ya it’s A BIT powerful than Vios VVti.. the concept of the both engines are the same, save oil yet powerful. Not “VTEC IS BETTER THAN VVTi”, it’s the SAME dude! Toyota engine is the most reliable engine in the world! You won’t sick for few years after buying Vios, maintenance is cheaper than City. City fan boys talks about a lot of things, but still, Vios is selling like HOTCAKES than City.

• Anonymous126 on Jul 06, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Anyone knows where can i get the new vios carbon fiber bonnett?

• garage equipment on Aug 01, 2010 at 8:24 am

The Vios overall appearance is simple yet elegant.I admire how Toyota shape up Vios.Aside from that,the features both interior and exterior are practically design for customer’s convenience.

• mizanian on Sep 16, 2010 at 11:02 pm

Despite all the negative criticism about this Vios TRD, I have made my buy and look forward for the delivery this Saturday. Why? Because i just love it. Now I can say I’m one of the proud owners of this ‘dugong’.
    p/s this is going to be my 4th car after kancil, iswara a/b and getz., all of those have been great servants for me and hopefully my future Vios TRD will follow suit. Cheers everyone.

• killersir on Jan 13, 2011 at 3:15 am

I do agree with some comments about vios but what i would like to share my experience within vios and city. Actually i own a car rental bisnes and have variuos oof choice. To me common feedback is on the sytle, design and shape…..thats i beleive is subjective. but what i want to share here is about QDR = Quality, Durability and Reliabily. Overall quality is toyota….look at the windscreen honda fix n also wiring so messsy, Durabilty is still toyota…. same year register until now nevr had big problem….honda transmission not syncronize + cylinder head broke…repair cost rm2.8k. Reliability stilll toyota……make me peace of mind i can tell. most of our toyota cars easy to maintain. How abt performance? take a look at spec sheet city better then vios, r u dare to test the performance? i cant believe untill i tried…city ar3 design not for city driving consume more fuel. its bcz pick up it self to achieve higher speed need higher rpm……meaning power to weight ratio vios are superb…… u can enjoy the higher torque at lower ebgine rpm… fuel comsumption good. who cares about top speed? but i would. overall city is bettr when talk about spped however side by side its a damn slow to catch up the dugong infront… All my opinion is just to share…..whats ever its is all are depend on you…!! P/s proton fans noway to compare this 2 cars with gen2 cps….

• ramani on Mar 13, 2011 at 11:17 pm

i want to buy on 2014yrs ….. be prepare. toyota is good. but the spare parts not yet?? i want search spare parts good or no…….. any suggestions

• leemio on Oct 22, 2013 at 7:21 am

Thinking about resale value! I can get cash back and make down payment for a new car.. even my T still got half amount of total full loan..
    Puas hati gitu..