Michael Schumacher revealed as The Stig?

One of Top Gear’s most highly guarded secret has been finally revealed, and yes, we are talking about the true identity of the show’s quirky track driver, The Stig. Prior to this, many have been linked to The Stig’s identity, including former British racing driver Ben Collins and reigning Formula 1 World Champion and fellow Brit Lewis Hamilton.

There was also the Black Stig, which was revealed as Perry McCarthy, former Formula 1 test driver and then ‘terminated’. On the premier of the show’s 13th season, The Stig was accompanied into the studio and while sitting on the guest seat, the man in white removed his helmet, and the 7 times Formula 1 World Champion was revealed!

So, is Michael Schumacher really The Stig? Or is this just another publicity stunt? Well, its up to you what to believe in, but if you ask me, I’d rather believe that there are a number Stigs around, not just one. Meanwhile, continue reading to watch a 54 second-long video of the reveal.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• intermilan on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:14 pm

This is crazy! But great fun even if it isn't true.

• Last2….Michael Schumacher….hehehe…

• chenglok on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:19 pm

nope. the stig is thinner than schumi

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Hahahah… it cant be MS all those years :P

Surely publicity stunt.

• akupalau on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:27 pm

I never tot it would be Michael Schumacher. But is this real? Or just for publicity

• just publicity only, those tg bastard just make fun with us

• overflow on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:34 pm

woo…i think there are many the stig around top gear episode..

• barca on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:39 pm

hehehehe…..nice stunt by top gear….!

• Justin Koh on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:53 pm

He's not the real Stig lah bodoh…

The real Stig is Ben Colin…

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:55 pm

Shumi looks a bit too tall for the stig..don't you think?

• magnum on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:09 pm

Can't be him… :D

• tonton on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:09 pm

haha i think this is just a gimmick for their ratings.

• the real stig is jeremy clarksson

• KitKat on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:51 pm

Personally I think Till Needell is the real stig, just my 2 kupang…

• bmpower on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:53 pm

cheap publicity !.

not everyone like Schumi!

I'am the one of Anti Schumi.

TQ.

• rexis on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:58 pm

Not everyone like Top Gear anyway, but many watch them to hate them.

Michael Stigmacher gonna get terminated soon?

• regadas on Jun 22, 2009 at 7:06 pm

I dont think its true, The real Stig is bigger than MS body.. peace!!

• the stik on Jun 22, 2009 at 7:34 pm

hey hey hey u all talking bout me eh? u all ni buat i malu laaa kekekekekeke

• droll on Jun 22, 2009 at 7:38 pm

definitely not the stig lah. the way the stig walks is more robotic. he has much stiffer and limited arm movements when he walks. schumacher is more relaxed with his arms!

• the stig is arnold schwarzenegger..

• gangully on Jun 22, 2009 at 7:49 pm

FYI to some who thinks it is Tiff Neddell, he works for Channel 5 in the UK which is completely separate from BBC who produces Top Gear

• roti naan1 on Jun 22, 2009 at 8:13 pm

hahahahah…that was sure funny.

What if the STIG is a female?…..and it's gonna hurt the male ego thingy

• the ral stig on Jun 22, 2009 at 8:30 pm

hey.. stop discussing about me.. :)

• James on Jun 22, 2009 at 8:34 pm

I'm sure Michael is not the NORMAL stig. he is the guest of the show pretending to be the stig. hehe… Love it! Schumi finally made it to the show. He is a real Legend.

• Tiadaid on Jun 22, 2009 at 8:44 pm

Correction – Black Stig is Perry McCarthy, not Tyler Perry…Perrry wrote his autobiography Flat Out, Flat Broke telling his story as an F1 driver for the backmarker Andrea Moda team in 1992

• I'm the Stig

• nighttrain on Jun 22, 2009 at 9:41 pm

Hehe.. Tiff Needell.. kelakar la kalau Tiff buka helmet tu dalam Top Gear hehe. Sebeb muka Tiff tu kelakar..

• azrai on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:33 pm

I don't think Stig is Schumacher. it is just another stunt by BBC while Schumacher having nothing to do in F1 anymore.

• Azmir on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:41 pm

The Stif = Ayah Pin

• 2fast on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:45 pm

I am not sure if Top Gear can afford him to be the Stig or if Ferrari will permit Michael to be Stig full time. Maybe just once show….

• Archer on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:51 pm

The real Stig is fatter than Schumi.

• Tiffany Needle on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:55 pm

aw.. sampai hati u all kutuk muka i…

• Otomobil on Jun 22, 2009 at 11:59 pm

The Real Stig is Stig himself…hohohoh

• osh_kosh on Jun 23, 2009 at 12:04 am

no lah.. not Shuey.. must be Bernie or Max… LOL :)

• the real stig is rowan atkinson…

• osh_kosh on Jun 23, 2009 at 12:08 am

yup.. i agree that Stig r fatter than schumi..

• Jason Platipus on Jun 23, 2009 at 12:47 am

the stig is top gear producer…

• the stik on Jun 23, 2009 at 12:53 am

no no.. The Stig is our own Encik Karamjit Singh laa beb.. if u all perasan sometime his misai terkeluar kat celah visor helmet dia.. well done, Malaysia Boleh..!!

• PROTON schumacher on Jun 23, 2009 at 1:16 am

maybe next time The Stig is Jenson Button..

• ambipur on Jun 23, 2009 at 2:02 am

Top Gears back!! sweeeet….

just watched this episode, MS was only the guest star.

Stig is definately taller and broader shoulders. plus he's quite tall. can be seen amongst the presenters on series 10.

• raybrig85 on Jun 23, 2009 at 2:19 am

bmpower

who cares if u like schumi or not…we didnt ask u to told us that…

• roti naan1 on Jun 23, 2009 at 3:38 am

Stig is a cyborg….or a lobot

• Leseid Obrut on Jun 23, 2009 at 3:40 am

@the stik: Hahaha good one!

• trinity on Jun 23, 2009 at 3:40 am

If u guys watch the show till the end they did said that schumi is not the stig…and he was there to drive a hot lap in a ferrari fxx, a black one, which is the only one ferrari specially made for him…guess he wont let the normal stig touch his fxx.. =/

• Tiadaid on Jun 23, 2009 at 4:11 am

This is a bit off topic, but if anyone saw the episode in the montage showing what can we expect in the coming episodes, I can't help but notice that we might see Jeremy driving either a Passo or a MyVi (not sure which one, do they sell MyVi in UK?) with a "decoration", in true Top Gear style saying "I don't love you darling"…

• bmpower on Jun 23, 2009 at 4:24 am

raybrig85 said,

June 22, 2009 @ 6:19 pm

bmpower

who cares if u like schumi or not…we didnt ask u to told us that…

—-

and you don't have any right to stop me to express on what i dislike or not.

• Tiadaid on Jun 23, 2009 at 4:44 am

Now I know why Schumi's on the program. The FXX is his! His car is the only black FXX without a stripe.

• haha, i also agree that the stig is actually a number of different people. this is probably one of the numerous decoys the stig has.

• l3ryan on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:25 am

chuck norris is the stig?

• DannyK on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:26 am

Based on the physique, I think Fernando Alonso more likely.

• raybrig85 on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:54 am

bmpower

i know i dont hv any right..thats ur opinion but who care if u like him or not…jz my 2 cents…

• DTM Fahrer on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:20 am

they invited schumi to the studio after the race as he was in UK for the British GP. i do share the same thought with paul that there is a number of person wore the white Stig suit

• raybrig85 on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:37 am

theres a lot of ppl said it is ben colin…maybe but definitely not schumi coz they already confessed at the end of the show schumi is not the one..he jz been invited to drive his fxx coz ferrari stated that only owner or person who works with ferrari can drive that machine…only the chosen ppl…thats y schumi made a hot lap for his fxx

• Michael Schumacher's not The Stig. Just watched Top Gear. He's just a Special Guest Appearance as mentioned in the end credits.

• it wasnt MS, TG treats us like stupid fools.

TG sucks.

• the stik on Jun 23, 2009 at 3:47 pm

alaaa raybrig dun layan him laa.. come on laa teruskan teka sape the real The Stig.. Harun Salim BAchik?

• Supra on Jun 23, 2009 at 3:48 pm

the stig is britney spears. that is the fact.

• ambipur on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:07 pm

Tiadaid said,

This is a bit off topic, but if anyone saw the episode in the montage showing what can we expect in the coming episodes, I can’t help but notice that we might see Jeremy driving either a Passo or a MyVi (not sure which one, do they sell MyVi in UK?) with a “decoration”, in true Top Gear style saying “I don’t love you darling”…

its a myvi. no rear spoiler and rim caps i think its the 1.0 model or a manual version not so sure. but it is a myvi.

by the way, no matter what TG always tops FG.

• Jonny wilson on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:13 pm

The Stiq is Alex Yoong!!

• lchan on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:18 pm

there are many stigs…one of the episodes, it was lewis hamilton because of the size, driving style and posture.

• BODOW on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:37 pm

The real stig is actually Margaret Tatcher

• NeuroOne on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Yes, there are many Stigs around..

I'm one of them..

muahaha…

• azrai on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:11 pm

It's obvious the reporter of Utusan is a fan of Paul Tan's blog . :-) http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2009&a…

• p1basher on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:15 pm

i am the stig (who say malaysian cant drive?!)

another stig is my mother (who say female cant drive?!)

yet another stig is my grandfather (who say old man cant drive?!).

AARRRGGGHHH!!

• Rizdan on Jun 23, 2009 at 8:58 pm

The person who was driving the Ferrari FXX is none other then Michael Schumacher and the FXX belongs to him. He has the only black colour FXX in the world http://www.motorauthority.com/schumies-special-ed…. So that is why Top Gear came up with the gimmick. Just my two cents

• loveyourdidi on Jun 23, 2009 at 9:59 pm

ahh you guys are all wrong!

the real stig is PAUL TAN!

• tokmoh on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:08 pm

I read in lowyat a guy saying Ferrari have confirmed that they sent Schuey cuz they won't allow The Stig to drive the Ferrari FXX.

Heikki was also said to have become The Stig when driving the Renault Megane R26, back when he was still in Renault. If u notice carefully, most F1 drivers don't follow the same racing line as The Stig. When JC interviewed Jenson Button, JC noted that, to which Button replied "Maybe The Stig is not an F1 driver."

As with many speculation, I too believe The Stig is made of more than one person lol. :P

Azrai: where in the news did they mention Paul Tan? The Star today also carried out this news.

To those talking about Myvi, this: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1861375&amp…

They were shouting "What we want?! ASTON MARTIN!!" I think it must be some kinda campaign for 'soulful' car, lol. But from inside a 'soulless' car?!?!

Season 13, begins!! TG rulz!! :D

• NutzeyWagen on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:13 pm

The real Stig is the pathetically bias JC. He hates German marques, so it definitely can't be MS. To JC, British is best. So stig it up JC's ass, come rain or shine! CIAO!

German-made. My type of 4-wheelers.

• the Steak on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:17 pm

Jom makan steak

• Lavardo8008 on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:02 am

atlast….michael..ur one of my idol..proud of u to be part of top gear group..great !!

• tokmoh on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:35 am

Stiggy tried to rob an ATM at Serdang Jaya: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/6…

……A closed-circuit television camera (CCTV) footage showed the man, in an all-white jump-suit and full-faced helmet, speeding towards the station in Serdang Jaya……

lol :D

• Kazuhito on Jun 24, 2009 at 1:44 am

I'm The Stig's Asian cousin… :hehe:

• munky on Jun 24, 2009 at 7:08 am

aiseh tokmoh beat me to it lol

• stick on Jun 25, 2009 at 4:27 am

I can't see the differences between stig racing lines and F1 drivers racing lines…guess i'm not so observant person :(

• mystvearn on Jun 25, 2009 at 2:56 pm

Can we just accept that whoever the stig is. As long as he wear's the stig's helmet, he is a ,mute vegetable

• cyberkayu on Jun 25, 2009 at 6:15 pm

oh~~

is shoe maker~~

• PROTON shoe maker on Jun 26, 2009 at 3:24 pm

let's all vote The Stig Shoe Maker to be out next FIA President!!!

• 'Bean' the on Jun 27, 2009 at 6:23 am

the real Stig is Mr.Bean (Rowan Atkinson)… period! you shud see what he has in his garage..

• phelix on Jul 02, 2009 at 3:50 am

the real Stig is paris hilton.

• the stig is micheal jackson up till the day he died….rip

• hardrisk on Jul 10, 2009 at 8:20 pm

the stig is the kardashians up till the day he died….rip

• hardrisk on Jul 10, 2009 at 8:23 pm

the stig is anak jeremy clakson son la. baru betul

• the real stig is by the name of Osaxx BL… thats y they cant show his face :-)

• must be some April fools joke :-)