Opel reveals the interior of its 2010 Astra

German-based and General Motors-owned auto maker Opel, has released interior shots of its 2010 Astra, ahead of its official launch at this year’s auto show in Frankfurt. The sixth generation Opel Astra, which will also be sold under the Vauxhall brand name features a fresh interior that not only looks good, but one that is functional as well.

Design wise, the interior is treated to, among others, red ambient lighting (from above the centre console and within the door handle recesses), a four-gauge instrument panel with chrome outline on each gauge plus an LCD trip display and soft-touch surfaces. The auto maker assured that the interior offers a high-quality ‘feel’ with the materials used, as well as with tactility offered by the buttons and switches.

With the lack of storage areas in the previous model acknowledged as a problem, the new one comes with various storage solutions, including a sun glass case inserted above the door opening on the driver’s side, pen holders, a two-part glove box, under-seat drawer (for passenger seat), centre console with a 9-CD holding capacity and more.

Featuring a platform that is also used in the Chevrolet Cruze, the new Astra is expected to be offered with a number of engine options including a base 1.4 litre normally aspirated petrol, a 120HP – 140HP with 175Nm – 200Nm of torque 1.4 litre Turbo as well as a 180HP 1.6 litre Turbo that is carried over from the Insignia. There will also be a few turbo diesel engines including a 1.3 litre, a 1.7 litre as well as a 2.0 litre version. Continue reading to view an image gallery.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=339]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• augustine on Jun 22, 2009 at 7:42 pm

good and nice design!

• augustine on Jun 22, 2009 at 7:44 pm

wow! nice design!

• bernardtham on Jun 22, 2009 at 7:45 pm

nice design…

• hmmm.. very nokia-ish.. hehehe

• mkrafz on Jun 22, 2009 at 8:55 pm

wise design…

interior kinda briliant..

• nighttrain on Jun 22, 2009 at 9:57 pm

how many other cars is going to share this design?

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:03 pm

Hmm… Chevy Cruze 5?

Reminds me of the Mazda 3.

If they can make the Cruze wagon with a rear end like this…lovely.

• pulge on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:11 pm

The rear reminds me of the new Mazda3 hatchback.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:58 pm

if Gm gave us opels instead of sohai chevrolet, they would be a lot more successful

• Gosh…I like it.

• Ini macam nak lawan ngan Pug 308 je..

• lowprofile on Jun 23, 2009 at 1:12 am

they did give malaysians opels but malaysians could not afford them. they had an office in jalan ampang.

• wonder why it spell korean all over the dash, im not talking bout quality but the design…….or it just me

• …but it looks cool and smooth

• Dr Din on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:40 am

I have driven thje new Insignia as a rented car in the UK (same design as Opel). Nice exterior design but poor build quality.

• demontool on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:17 am

hmm.. dunno why… but the interior looks very Volvo-ish to me.

• autobile.de on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:10 am

OPEL is making good looking cars these days, much handsome than VW if compare Polo to Corsa, new Astra to Golf MkVI, Passat to Insignia.

if i'm not mistaken GM already sold OPEL to MAGNA , an austrian-canadian based company. cmiiaw.

• turboKEV on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:55 am

beautiful car! wish this beauty hot hatch can run on local land~

• ago87 on Jun 23, 2009 at 8:01 am

4G63T DSM said,

June 22, 2009 @ 2:03 pm

Hmm… Chevy Cruze 5?

Reminds me of the Mazda 3.

If they can make the Cruze wagon with a rear end like this…lovely.

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/06/22/opel-revea…

——————————————————

Yes,the back looks like Mazda 3…

• BEST INTERIOR FOR SPORT CAR RANGE…HIGHTECH

• ANOTHER CIVIC HEADLIGHT

• unoDos12 on Jun 23, 2009 at 9:20 am

Fantastic!

we m'sian fed up with cheap, plastic-y + creaking dashboards.

Its time our local cars come with a better interior.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:54 pm

It is a nice car but it look too common and generic. No complaints on the interior though… looks expensive and complicated with all those buttons and dials. Love the combination black leather and chrome… and the red ambiance, its mystical.

For a german car I think Open can never be comparable to other compatriots like VW, Audi and don't mention BMW or the Merc… their styling and technos is just not revolutionary as the big four thanks to GM I assumed.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:41 pm

nmh said,

June 22, 2009 @ 9:23 pm

wonder why it spell korean all over the dash, im not talking bout quality but the design…….or it just me

Thats because it is Korean. LOL.

They are using GMDAT cars for thier Global small car platforms.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:47 pm

Wak Rempit said,

June 23, 2009 @ 9:54 am

For a german car I think Open can never be comparable to other compatriots like VW, Audi and don’t mention BMW or the Merc… their styling and technos is just not revolutionary as the big four thanks to GM I assumed.

——-

I take it you have not seen the new Insignia. It looks even better in person than in pictures (especially the Wagon), and just as much toys inside.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:45 pm

If Opel is sold to Magna Steyr, there is hope we may see Opels again. I wonder if they could have the same shocking effect as Volkswagen did in Malaysia with their Volkswagen Golf GTI.

• perts on Jun 23, 2009 at 8:04 pm

Pug 308 Turbo competitor?

• Lavardo on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:48 pm

nice =)

• Antistereotype on Jun 24, 2009 at 2:25 am

I think Chevrolet Cruze which has similar engine options has much cooler exterior, plus they are used in WTCC with super cool body