Citroen to launch production DS3 in Frankfurt, DS4 and DS5 models to arrive in 2011

Words are being exchanged that French auto maker Citroen, will unveil the production version of the DS3 three-door as early as September this year, at the Frankfurt Motor Show. The production DS3 will be inspired by the DS Inside Concept which was showcased at this year’s motor event in Geneva. A number of design elements will be carried over into production, and rumor has it that the vinyl roof option may be offered as well.

According to Autocar, Citroen also revealed that both the DS4 and DS5 models will arrive in 2011, as 2012 models. The DS4 would be a coupe-ish MPV with a crossover touch, that will be based on the C-Sportlounge Concept, first shown in 2005.

The DS5 on the other hand is expected to compete with the BMW X6, but with a cheaper price tag as one of it’s benefits over the German offering. The DS5 will be based on the Hypnos Concept, showcased in Paris last year. It is expected to be powered by, among others, a diesel-hybrid engine. The DS range, including all the above mentioned vehicles will be part of Citroen’s new up market vehicle line up.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:41 pm

Mini should totally reduce its price now

• Black Dog on Jun 23, 2009 at 8:14 pm

Paul, is it possible to have more test drive report on local cars instead of foreign car news which might not even make it to our shores.

What do you other guys think?

Just my 2 cents…

• Wak Rempit on Jun 23, 2009 at 8:47 pm

Cool car, hopes it will reach malaysian shore… with reasonable price of course.

It resembles the Mini though but who cares Mini is way overpriced and if this a substitute to mini… screw them.

Agree with BlackDog Paul, last test drive you did is like a month ago… more test drive please…

How do you arrange one anyway? care to share with us?

• MBX Boy on Jun 23, 2009 at 10:22 pm

Yes. More test drives Paul, please. Tq..

• If PSA have to use the DS name, then it should at least build a car worthy of it. Not a mini wannabe, otherwise just let the name rest in peace >:(

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 24, 2009 at 6:45 am

Black Dog said,

June 23, 2009 @ 12:14 pm

Paul, is it possible to have more test drive report on local cars instead of foreign car news which might not even make it to our shores.

What do you other guys think?

Just my 2 cents…

If u want to know more local test drives report, next time, when u are at the traffic lights, unwind ur window and ask the person driving the car next to you what he thinks of the car. cause that car will definitely be very common and the answer is always the same "I wish i had you Mazda".