Lotus considering to produce a new Esprit?

British-based sports car maker Lotus, is rumored to resurrect the Esprit sports car, which was first produced back in 1976 and starred in the 1977 Bond movie, The Spy Who Loved Me along side Roger Moore. Apparently, the new Esprit would go head to head with the Audi R8.

If there is any truth behind the rumor, expect the new model to feature a Toyota-sourced mid-mounted V8 motivator. The Esprit would also be bigger, both in terms of length and width, than the recently launched Lotus Evora.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• bmpower on Jun 23, 2009 at 9:18 pm

if they wanted to start it now and ready for the next 3-5 year.. it's okay then..

hopefully the recession is over and economy gloming already.. just for the perfect market time.

but how.. how do it should look?

i can't imagine one from the above image.

non… unimaginable…

• …….better built one cheap wanabe sport car for malaysian

perhaps a skeleton car with rear mid engine ie: savvy engine and amt gearbox, price 60k

ill definately buy one and organize/join its own prix at sepang

• ……malaysian need cheaper toys, if malaysian cant afford to buy their 'own' lotus, what else we can play

• MisterBenjo on Jun 23, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Paul, it is not rumours, they said many times Esprit will be next after Evora..will launch late 2010 or early 2011

• PROTON LOTUS espirit on Jun 23, 2009 at 10:02 pm

Paul Tan, there is already spy shot in internet..

the engine is not sure yet.. some say it will use BMW engine, some say it will use TOYOTA LF-A supercar engine.. but one thing for sure, this ESPIRIT will beat LAMBORGHINI GALLARDO performance..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lamborghini_Gallardo http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lotus_Esprit

this LOTUS ESPIRIT project will try to beat the 325 km/h (202 mph) maximum speed… and could reach 60 mph (100 km/h) in less than 4 seconds!

• Speedjunkie on Jun 23, 2009 at 10:04 pm

I thought they were working on an Esprit replacement model before Evora?

• knight_templar on Jun 23, 2009 at 10:10 pm

hey could become a Proton Exprit

• PROTON LOTUS espirit on Jun 23, 2009 at 10:38 pm

the new LOTUS ESPIRIT comparable to LAMBORGHINI GALLARDO.. 0 to 100km/h is less than 4 seconds!!!

• PROTON espirit on Jun 23, 2009 at 10:40 pm

LAMBORGINI GALLARDO vs LOTUS ESPIRIT

1 to 100km/h in less than 4 seconds!!!

• so for that whan we (P1) can give us cheap Lotos car here… not "the tune by lotus car" hehe

• bmpower on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:58 pm

don't ask for the cheap supercar.

but ask yourself how to make more money loooo…

• nighttrain on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:25 am

Going head to head with R8 means RM900k – RM1m category.. exquisite.

• mitlanevo on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:29 am

if p1/lotus want to produce a sportscar for rakyat, then start from putra….

make it a convertible and a coupe, then a few engine options….

2.0 turbo, petrol/diesel etc…..

price below 150k….

• i mean sports car from scratch, strict 2 seater lightweight, not necessarily large engine, strict rwd rear engine…..just like the old day british sports car, lotus seven….no that fwd powerful vers of not so powerful production car

• Considering tax is too 'heavy' in malaysia, perhaps tats the solution tat proton/lotus shud consider….building sub 60k sportscar

• roti naan1 on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:54 am

I believe there is a huge demand for these car,

but our damn Govt. will screw the Rakyat by imposing high tax on new cars, owning sportscar (with affordable prices) remains a dream.

Damn the Malaysia G!!

• leonardo on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:55 am

Sub 60k sports car??? Buy the Satria Neo CPS la….

• IMO CPS Neo is not considered as "sports car".

cheers!

• katak on Jun 24, 2009 at 1:05 am

in our boleh land we pay more then 100% TAX to buy a imported car

in tak boleh land they can buy 2 cars like what we buy one here so boleh land only can dream big cars while driving a boleh land car

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 24, 2009 at 1:24 am

Lotus should launch the new car emerging from under water and white in color, just like in the movie :D

…oh dont forge the bond girl as well :P

• Black Dog on Jun 24, 2009 at 2:06 am

Whatever Lotus do oso not for us ordinary malaysians lah. Only benefit is good suspension in Proton cars but rest of car teruk.

They always have old British snobbish thinking of exclusivity (even when losing Millions!) unlike Japanese mass producing most affordable sports car in the world, Mazda RX8!

Maybe sell Lotus later for RM1….

• no way Lotus is going to build anything tailored to the M'sian market. Neither will Proton allow them to. It will drop their brand prestige.

• Hudson on Jun 24, 2009 at 2:37 am

i saw one lotus esprit in the gardens ground floor. for display only. its really wide!

• PROTON LOTUS espirit on Jun 24, 2009 at 3:06 am

Paul Tan, there is already spy shot in internet..

the engine is not sure yet.. some say it will use BMW engine, some say it will use TOYOTA LF-A supercar engine.. but one thing for sure, this ESPIRIT will beat LAMBORGHINI GALLARDO performance!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lamborghini_Gallardo http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lotus_Esprit

this LOTUS ESPIRIT project will try to beat the 325 km/h (202 mph) maximum speed… and could reach 60 mph (100 km/h) in less than 4 seconds!

• roti naan1 on Jun 24, 2009 at 3:43 am

hehehehe…I think d alloy rims used by the yellow lotus cost RM400 for 4 bijik at chopshop.

• Mufasahoo.com on Jun 24, 2009 at 3:56 am

ask lotus to use satria neo laa,,,p1 got share what? :P

• Tiadaid on Jun 24, 2009 at 4:02 am

roti naan1 said,

June 23, 2009 @ 4:54 pm

I believe there is a huge demand for these car,

but our damn Govt. will screw the Rakyat by imposing high tax on new cars, owning sportscar (with affordable prices) remains a dream.

Damn the Malaysia G!!

——————————————————-

If 'Rakyat' get their hands on a sportscar, it'll be surefire trouble! Heck, just look at all the people in their Wiralutions driving like a man possessed!? You want to give them sportscars/performance cars? THANK GOD SPORTSCARS ARE EXPENSIVE!

• Tiadaid on Jun 24, 2009 at 4:04 am

Black Dog said,

June 23, 2009 @ 6:06 pm

Whatever Lotus do oso not for us ordinary malaysians lah. Only benefit is good suspension in Proton cars but rest of car teruk.

They always have old British snobbish thinking of exclusivity (even when losing Millions!) unlike Japanese mass producing most affordable sports car in the world, Mazda RX8!

Maybe sell Lotus later for RM1….

————————————————————

Mass-produced is NOTHING! If not why does Ferrari, Porsche and the geng don't mass produce their cars?

• ive heard bout this ages ago, but theres always some sort of prob or other plans that had made lotus postpone on the new esprit.. theres also already some sketches that they had made 4 it, n judging by those, i think its gonna be a stunning looking car.. lotus has proved wit the new evora that they can make a car thats both thrilling on the track n suitable 4 everyday use.. if they can pull off this same trick wit the new esprit, i dont have even the tiniest bit of doubt in my mind that it can be a worthy rival 2 not only the r8, but the legendary 911 as well..

• perolima on Jun 24, 2009 at 5:17 am

Images and faces are much more important for Ferrari and Porsche, else, which dude want to buy the mass cars that can see at every kampung?

• sadin on Jun 24, 2009 at 5:46 am

aisey, in m'sia one need to think how to screw more money to buy this carla, maybe become shrewd busnessman or politician, ahlong or something coz the RM value is low for the working class. Got vss somemore huhu

• Black Dog on Jun 24, 2009 at 5:46 am

Tiadaid Dude! Ferrari & Porsche is successful & making money! Only Ferrari limits the number of cars they sell, not Porsche. Even Porsche now coming out with SUV, 4 door coupe, for what? Innovation and be successful, not losing Millions every year still don't know how to change!! If doing business is about losing money, balik kampung lah!

• sadin on Jun 24, 2009 at 5:49 am

come to think bout it, are we the 3rd world working class are the ones subsidizing this Lotus thingy by proton owning lotus?

• perolima on Jun 24, 2009 at 5:51 am

bmpower said,

June 23, 2009 @ 3:58 pm

don’t ask for the cheap supercar.

—————–

No, I don't like that, I think we should ask ourselves how to make everybody rich, people sharing together, helping each other.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 24, 2009 at 6:41 am

who would buy a lotus? For example, between a Lotus Evora and a Porsche Cayman? I go for the Cayman anyday. Its faster, cheaper, German and it won't breakdown every 5000 miles

• PROTON espirit on Jun 24, 2009 at 6:43 am

it is said that this LOTUS ESPIRIT head by PROTON will beat LAMBORGHINI GALLARDO.. beaten the 325 km/h speed and 0 to 100km in less than 4 seconds!

the design of LOTUS ESPIRIT in internet is very nice!

• come on lotus, give us a V10

• bmpower on Jun 24, 2009 at 10:47 am

perolima said,

June 23, 2009 @ 9:51 pm

bmpower said,

June 23, 2009 @ 3:58 pm

don’t ask for the cheap supercar.

—————–

No, I don’t like that, I think we should ask ourselves how to make everybody rich, people sharing together, helping each other.

now … where's the hell on earth that EVERYBODY is rich?

– just like tipical malaysian.. wanna ferrari at a price of kancil.

• henry on Jun 24, 2009 at 5:12 pm

nmh said,

June 23, 2009 @ 1:30 pm

……malaysian need cheaper toys, if malaysian cant afford to buy their ‘own’ lotus, what else we can play

——————————-

have you ever think before you post any comment?

Lotus doesn't care about M'sia market & this is good because M'sian are still not there yet.

i'm happy to see if Lotus focusing on European & American market, there are big market for them in R8 segment instead of producing cheap sport car for Ahbeng here.

• Alifz on Jun 24, 2009 at 6:03 pm

PROTON,

GET LOTUS MAKE 2.0 liter engine FIRST. DON"T WASTE UR MONEY ANYMORE TO LOTUS. EVORA ALSO NO GOOD NEWS YET.

• PROTON LOTUS british on Jun 25, 2009 at 5:22 am

Alifz wrote..

GET LOTUS MAKE 2.0 liter engine FIRST. DON”T WASTE UR MONEY ANYMORE TO LOTUS. EVORA ALSO NO GOOD NEWS YET.

—-

LOL

don't be too selfish.. you need to move your group of company as a team..

you need money to invent, you need idea to invent, you need manpower and wise strategy to success!

• Anyway ltus is not about prestige, its not bout powerful engine. Its bout basic motorsport which performance through lightweight, meaning it suppose to be cheap to own and run.

Now its not about lotus to develop the wannabe sportscar, but the parent, Proton for rakyat to feel the wannabe lotus at right malaysian affordable price range. And it dont have to be very complicated, just a skeleton car with small engine (proton already have high revving savvy renault engine or perhaps can consider turbo vers), no doors, no aircond, no roof, 2 seats….imagine basic ariel atom

• PROTON LOTUS british on Jun 26, 2009 at 1:12 pm

nmh wrote..

Now its not about lotus to develop the wannabe sportscar, but the parent, Proton for rakyat to feel the wannabe lotus at right malaysian affordable price range. And it dont have to be very complicated, just a skeleton car with small engine (proton already have high revving savvy renault engine or perhaps can consider turbo vers), no doors, no aircond, no roof, 2 seats….imagine basic ariel atom

———-

LOL what kind of car is that Flinstone stone age cars?? you want very cheap one then must add quote "no need for engine", just move it by your feet just like what Flinstone cartoon did.

haiya.. what kind of mindset is this.. come on la everybody go to school right.

• fadzly on Jun 27, 2009 at 10:14 am

PROTON LOTUS british engineering said,

June 26, 2009 @ 5:12 am

nmh wrote..

———-

LOL what kind of car is that Flinstone stone age cars?? you want very cheap one then must add quote “no need for engine”, just move it by your feet just like what Flinstone cartoon did.

haiya.. what kind of mindset is this.. come on la everybody go to school right.

———–

LMAO

• mitsuloton on Jul 04, 2009 at 5:35 am

bmpower said,

June 24, 2009 @ 2:47 am

now … where’s the hell on earth that EVERYBODY is rich?

– just like tipical malaysian.. wanna ferrari at a price of kancil.

Yah, typical Malaysian only earn Kancil salary, If they earn Ferrari salary, they will burn Kancil like what JC did on Kelisa.