F1 crisis averted: FIA reaches deal with FOTA, no breakaway series, Max to step down!

Formula 1

The FIA have announced that a deal has been reached with the FOTA and the breakaway series will not happen, instead next year’s Formula One series will continue with a full grid consisting of the existing teams and three new players – Manor, Campos and US F1.

The deal involves the teams reducing championship competing costs down to early 1990s levels within 2 years, via internal cost cutting measures. Thing is, I’m not sure what 1990s levels are, anyone have any idea? It must be higher than the 40 million budget cap though, for the manufacturers to accept it. The manufacturer teams have also agreed to assist the new entries for 2010 by providing technical assistance.

The final bit is that FIA president Max Mosley will not stand for re-election in October this year. That must have been part of the agreement – they want Max out and Max is out. The Max and Bernie circus will end this October. FOTA appears to be in the stronger position now and next they will probably try to get the commercial rights holder to give them more share of the cash, something they have been complaining about for the longest time.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jun 25, 2009 at 7:34 am

There's still Bernie though…. And rumour has it that Jean Todt may be voted in.

• saya budak baik on Jun 25, 2009 at 8:02 am

good for him… its time to retire and concentrate on his dominatrix fetish

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 25, 2009 at 8:59 am

damn… back to old admission ticket price then. FOTA = For Our Tummy Assc.

• YES!!! FOTA rox !!!

• Analyzer on Jun 25, 2009 at 10:08 am

about time. good riddance Max. When's bernie leaving? I vote Jean Todt for president

• People Search on Jun 25, 2009 at 10:33 am

Maybe they're trying to get fans back that have quit going because of the high prices

• PROTON in FOTA?? on Jun 25, 2009 at 11:16 am

watch this video, even Force India spend about 80 MILLION pound sterling! Williams spend about 100 MILLION pound sterling, Ferrari spend about 292 MILLION pound sterling and they win the championship last year!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ucfamlqta4Q

so how 40 MILLION pound sterling for next season year 2010?? for sure Ferrari will say it is really ridiculuos!

if Jean Todt is the new FIA President then it will be a good news to Malaysia, now in parliament of Malaysia they keep on debate on why Jean Todt given RM1 MILLION on Malaysia My Second Home Programme (MM2H) as Malaysia’s tourism ambassador.

the investment will come back to increase Malaysia economy..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LeqZZyHLW3Q

but the question is will Jean Todt accept as FIA President? because before this Ferrari already given him job as Ferrari CEO but he resigned.. I think Datuk Jean Todt really love Datuk Michelle Yeoh.. when they want to marry? wish them a very happy life ^^

maybe when Datuk Jean Todt is President of FIA, he will help Malaysia automotive companies especially PROTON success in international level, he already promise to bring in his expertise (during his great mastermind in Ferrari F1) into Malaysia.

• mystvearn on Jun 25, 2009 at 2:40 pm

FOTA 1- 0 FIA

Up to the teams to make their budgets less. Problem is, Ferrari can casy our budget was actually 500mil in 1993, 1 bil in 1999

• 2fast on Jun 25, 2009 at 3:58 pm

With Mad Max leaving, teams can now concentrate on racing instead of politics.

• xoomie on Jun 25, 2009 at 4:24 pm

thank god its over… way to go FOTA !!!

• osh_kosh on Jun 25, 2009 at 4:43 pm

a part of me was expecting a new breakaway series but i guess it will never happen.. at least not in 2010

• roti naan1 on Jun 25, 2009 at 4:52 pm

Max, please shut the door when you go out.

Thanx.

• Tiadaid on Jun 25, 2009 at 4:53 pm

Whatever his faults, Max Mosley have done much to further the saftey aspect of motor racing and of course road vehicles during his reign. EuroNCAP is done during his watch, as well as the fact that F1 cars nowadays are much safer than cars 15 years ago when Ayrton Senna & Roland Ratzenberger died in Imola. He may be mad, but give him some credit, he wasn't that mad before…

• samlee860407 on Jun 25, 2009 at 5:20 pm

yyeaaaaa!!!! great news! finally a stupid person that comes out with a stupid idea is out!!

• JULIAN_LEE on Jun 25, 2009 at 5:31 pm

malaysia boleh!

• Mean we will said byebye 2 these 2 fatcat Max and Bernie?

• if you read the news today, Max said he wont go down. Haih~

• bmpower on Jun 25, 2009 at 6:07 pm

JEAN TODT?????

A BIG NO NO NO NO NO for me.

unless you're ferrari fan you surely agree without thinking much.!

if jean todt is next fia pressy..

FIA still gonna be the same as F.I.A = Ferrari Assistant Assiocation.

The biased to ferrari will be continue.

My vote is on …

JACKIE STEWART! JACKIE STEWART! SIR JACKIE STEWART!

• bmpower on Jun 25, 2009 at 6:28 pm

typo! – F.I.A = Ferrari International Assiocation

• KeithDuckworth on Jun 25, 2009 at 6:39 pm

Bernie owns all the rights to F1. Only way you can get rid of him is to buy up his shares !! How much will that cost ?

• nighttrain on Jun 25, 2009 at 6:53 pm

oh well, as long as there's a full season next year.. FIA and FOTA can do whatever the hell they want. Fan involvement is limited to chat and tickets only. It's not like FIA and FOTA is checking in to see what the fans are discussing, like Proton hehe.

• arch808 on Jun 25, 2009 at 7:05 pm

"bmpower said,

June 25, 2009 @ 10:28 am

typo! – F.I.A = Ferrari International Assiocation"

still a typo error, it shud be;

typo! – F.I.A = Ferrari International Association

• Tiadaid on Jun 25, 2009 at 7:45 pm

bmpower said,

June 25, 2009 @ 10:07 am

JEAN TODT?????

A BIG NO NO NO NO NO for me.

unless you’re ferrari fan you surely agree without thinking much.!

if jean todt is next fia pressy..

FIA still gonna be the same as F.I.A = Ferrari Assistant Assiocation.

The biased to ferrari will be continue.

My vote is on …

JACKIE STEWART! JACKIE STEWART! SIR JACKIE STEWART!

———————————————————

Forget F1 drivers for FIA president…will be biased. Get someone who's truly impartial…

• gangully on Jun 25, 2009 at 8:41 pm

i was looking forward to watching 2 F1's next year. D4MN! if it did happen, would be nice to have one race every weekend…

• The Red Cortina on Jun 25, 2009 at 10:32 pm

Hi guys,

I think the problem lies with Max Mosley (Pres. of FIA), and not Bernie, as he not part of the governing body. He is more like the mediator and boss of FOM.

I feel that FIA's (Max Mosley) intention of cutting down cost and making the sport more accessible is a good idea, for everyone including fans. But, they way FIA does it counts as well.

When it comes to the budget cap, FIA went a little too far. Such a rule should be implemented gradually, it makes more sense that way, but it should 'too' low, that teams that benefit from F1 development for their road car programs suffer, like BMW, Ferrari, Mercedes (via engine development), etc. There should be a balance. Well, thats just me!

• ROADSTER on Jun 26, 2009 at 12:01 am

I hope the car is back to the prettier looks again. No more weird F1 car. Stupido Max Mosley.

• leonardo on Jun 26, 2009 at 1:57 am

Mad Max is out! Long live F1!

• osh_kosh on Jun 26, 2009 at 2:17 am

still… the Ferrari biased stupid thing came out… with Max & Bernie, we have Ferrari biased FIA (so it said)… Jean Todt will be biased (& hell no i dont want him to be the FIA head either!)… if u follow & read the news carefully you will realised that Ferrari was one of the 'mastermind' of the breakaway series, so much of the Ferrari=FIA good friendship huh? haiyohh… tim kai la… maybe we should vote for this 'bmpower' fella here.. sure he can't be biased to Ferrari (but not sure about bmw… hmmm).. & everyone will be happy… hahahaha

• Tiadaid on Jun 26, 2009 at 3:43 am

The Red Cortina said,

June 25, 2009 @ 2:32 pm

Hi guys,

I think the problem lies with Max Mosley (Pres. of FIA), and not Bernie, as he not part of the governing body. He is more like the mediator and boss of FOM.

I feel that FIA’s (Max Mosley) intention of cutting down cost and making the sport more accessible is a good idea, for everyone including fans. But, they way FIA does it counts as well.

When it comes to the budget cap, FIA went a little too far. Such a rule should be implemented gradually, it makes more sense that way, but it should ‘too’ low, that teams that benefit from F1 development for their road car programs suffer, like BMW, Ferrari, Mercedes (via engine development), etc. There should be a balance. Well, thats just me!

————————————————————-

Nah, Bernie's a problem too. The teams are grumbling because Bernie's keeping a lot more of the profits from race organizers fee and paddock ticket revenue for himself. Only 40+% of that revenue goes to the team, while Bernie (or FOA Formula One Administration) keeps the rest. Furthermore, the money's distributed according to the teams performance last year, so McLaren got a big chunk of that, while whoever's the last team get the smallest. The teams want equal distribution….

• The Red Cortina on Jun 26, 2009 at 4:13 am

Tiadaid said,

June 25, 2009 @ 7:43 pm

Nah, Bernie’s a problem too. The teams are grumbling because Bernie’s keeping a lot more of the profits from race organizers fee and paddock ticket revenue for himself. Only 40+% of that revenue goes to the team, while Bernie (or FOA Formula One Administration) keeps the rest. Furthermore, the money’s distributed according to the teams performance last year, so McLaren got a big chunk of that, while whoever’s the last team get the smallest. The teams want equal distribution….

Yes, on that note you are right, forgot about the TV revenue issue..

• JEAN TODT for FIA Pr on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:49 am

Malaysia and whole asia must vote for Jean Todt (Ferrari F1 Team mastermind).. he is our Malaysia Tourism #1 ambassador what!

… or maybe The Stig (Michael Schumacher) can be next FIA President!!!!

• alldisc on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:27 pm

sighh… my hope for a new championship wnet down the drain….

the current F1 is really boring.

bring back 3000cc V10/V12 engines with slick tyres!!!