The Volvo XC60 is now here in Malaysia!

Volvo XC60

The new Volvo XC60 is here, available in two variants but both with a 3.0 litre turbocharged six-cylinder T6 engine producing an exciting 285 horsepower and 400Nm of torque from just 1,500rpm, mated to a 6-speed Geartronic auto. The two variants are called the XC60 T6 LE and the XC60 T6 SE, and they retail for RM360k and RM330k respectively, OTR without insurance. It’s a rather handsome and dynamic looking car actually, a far departure from the Volvos of the past. Think of it as a smaller XC90 on steroids, buffed up and more toned.

Volvo XC60

The more expensive LE version is the one with all the goodies. For an additional 30k, you get a panoramic sunroof, a 12 speaker Dynaudio premium sound system, Adaptive Cruise Control, Collision Warning with Auto Brake, Lane Departure Warning, and Drive Alert Control. Collision Warning with Autobrake actually alerts the driver if the distance to the car in front of you suddenly decreases. If the driver does not react in time, the system brakes at up to 50% maximum braking power automatically.

The cheaper SE version gets an 8 speaker sound system. Both sound systems feature a 6-CD changer with AUX, USB, Bluetooth and iPod connectors. The interior leather can be had in either soft beige/espresso brown, or offblack. The trim inlays can be had in either a sporty brushed aluminium trim, or for something more classic, you have classic wood or Nordic light oak.

Volvo XC60

Here’s the rest of the equipment that comes with both LE and SE versions: dual stage driver and front airbags, dual chamber front SIPS (side impact protection system) airbags, Inflatable Curtain airbags, all-wheel drive, whiplash protection system, a 40:20:40 splitting rear seat, ABS, EBD, brake assist, ready alert brake, fading brake support, dynamic stability and traction control, roll stability control, rollover protection system, hill descent control, blindspot information system, rain sensor wipers, active bending lights, headlamp washers, ISOFIX points for the rear seats, speed sensitive power steering with 3 manual settings, electric seats for the front with memory for the driver, auto-dimming rear view mirror with integrated compass, powered tailgate, B-pillar ventilation vents, and a Personal Car Communicator for keyless entry and drive.

Optional over the prices above are various styling accessories which consist of larger 19 inch wheels, front bumper bars in matte aluminium, running boards, side scuff plates, and a rear bumper skid plate.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=63]

[zenphotopress number=999 album=350]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• droll on Jun 29, 2009 at 4:25 pm

nice nice nice!

i'm sure a little ECU retuning can liberate more horses. a 3L turbo charged engine should be making in excess of 300bhp easily. :)

• Rulered on Jun 29, 2009 at 4:26 pm

Quite pricey for a premium SUV.

• normal_user on Jun 29, 2009 at 4:37 pm

I saw one last Friday with proper local registration plates. Looks handsome & tough.

• muharifz on Jun 29, 2009 at 4:42 pm

I like! Good rival for Audi Q5.

• zaff1984 on Jun 29, 2009 at 5:10 pm

nice volvo… can be SUV of the year.

• henry on Jun 29, 2009 at 5:21 pm

sat in this X60 before in S'pore, at last they can built a SUV that feels like a car while driving.

• atieus on Jun 29, 2009 at 5:30 pm

300k++?

well, i rather take BMW or something else~

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 29, 2009 at 5:36 pm

Not bad, I see Volvo is actually quite aggressive on its price point, undercutting the popular Lexus RX350.

• dream on Jun 29, 2009 at 5:42 pm

is this a petrol or diesel?

• mkrafz on Jun 29, 2009 at 6:03 pm

ya u right…

it's one fine quality car from volvo

that's u call a great SUV..!

• Yee Poh Chai on Jun 29, 2009 at 6:04 pm

At that price, sin't it close to the XC90, I read that Ford and Geely are finalising details of the sale of Volvo to Geely. Any news on what actually gonna happen to Volvo after that?

• Kevin Lee on Jun 29, 2009 at 6:08 pm

well, an audi q5 is cheaper and does 0.1 seconds slower, but at 211bhp. so i wonder if theres inefficiency in the volvo auto box as compared to audi's dsg

• alamak on Jun 29, 2009 at 6:08 pm

Is this the similar size to Audi Q5?

• roti naan1 on Jun 29, 2009 at 6:11 pm

good looking!

• xatomic on Jun 29, 2009 at 6:14 pm

Yup Audi Q5 looks way cooler and gets u more chicks haha

• wait till CKD & hopefully the price drop below RM300k, it will be my nx upgrade car :)

• theanswer on Jun 29, 2009 at 6:15 pm

superb car. but since it's a premium suv..dont be surprise abt the price. even new lexus will cost u rm370k..

• looks nice but disappointment… car of this price… no GPS.

• almostthere on Jun 29, 2009 at 6:39 pm

because the GPS is horrible or haven't you read reviews in UK?

• sonicsim on Jun 29, 2009 at 6:45 pm

No doubt this is my dream car. Only a few appreciate Volvo.

• k_man on Jun 29, 2009 at 6:45 pm

ure rite, even the ugly looking BMW X3 cost around rm32XX when it was sold then, and compare to this XC60, its way way much better in both value for money and specs. Good strategy putting it in between the Q5 and the RX350. More choice for the ppl….;)

• theanswer on Jun 29, 2009 at 7:25 pm

300k++?

well, i rather take BMW or something else~

why? u think volvo is not good enough? it's also a conti car.

• longjaafar on Jun 29, 2009 at 7:32 pm

It has won praises all over the world. But in the Malaysian context, even BMW will not be bringing in their X3 anymore, as one can get 7 seaters at almost the same price. A case in point is the XC90, which is a 7 seater. I wonder how Volvo is going to pitch the 60 against it's bigger brother, in their marketing campaigns.

• Alitstar on Jun 29, 2009 at 9:50 pm

Oh my god! It looks like an under fed cow from India. A message to go green? The designer's messed up again. The put the mazda 6 from bumper, camry Headlights, BMW X5 side panel, Honda Stream tail lamps and did'nt know what to do with the rear bumper. Put a safety belt over the radiator grille and you have a Volvo! Thank god they at least put some muscle under the hood to justify the 300k.

• that is because British need everything spoon fed. Or i guess the reviewer does not know how to operate the shitty GPS and rather comfortable with paper map. =)

• fizz6487 on Jun 29, 2009 at 10:42 pm

just to know…

anyone here… if i ask you all this question, what will you do?

ok… You want to buy your first car…

between

Persona Medium Auto that using more fuel than vios….

and

Vios 1.6 medium auto… minimum on fuel (economic)-(but vios price higher than Persona)

In your opinion, which one will you buy? economic and long distance..

• Srotong on Jun 29, 2009 at 10:52 pm

Beautiful in a masculine way. Better styling cues than Audi Q5 – too well 'rounded' and the X5, but that's in the eye of the beholder.

Btw, Ford+Volvo=Volvo; Volvo+Geely=Vulva! The latter may not happen though, 'cos 2 other 'white' knights to rescue.

See what's happening to Tata and LR? Roll-over!

• If you think Q5 and X3 are better than XC60, you are very wrong. In terms quality, XC60 is surely up to the par to againsts german marques. Not to mention its many world first safety feature which comes as a standard. I have personally tested out the Q5, X3 and XC60. I would say three of them are very good cars but if wanted to buy a sport saloon handling like suv then Q5 is your choice. But if u are looking for a safe family cruiser then go for XC60, it won't disappoint you. As for X3, erm…. if you want to impress your friends that you own a BMW or want to be 'cock' as Jeremy Clarkson said, go ahead then.

• sick and tired on Jun 29, 2009 at 11:51 pm

XC60 looks much better compared to the Q5.

• ahmad on Jun 30, 2009 at 12:10 am

beautiful

• having owned 2 volvo's I wonder if our climate is suitable for these cars.the aircons cannat match the japs and the plastics and rubbers age rather quickly.but I think this is a very nicely designed SUV although the price seems a bit steep.

• Black Dog on Jun 30, 2009 at 12:33 am

Volvo is a MCP.

Just look closely at their logo!

• Silverado on Jun 30, 2009 at 12:37 am

Sad that Collision Warning is not standard equipment because I read that it is everywhere else in the market.

Other than that, I think the price point is correct. You must remember that it's a 3.0l compared to the Q5's 2.0l and the X3's 2.5l.

I suspect they'll launch a 2.5T version later, essential given the current economic climate.

• mitlanevo on Jun 30, 2009 at 2:22 am

nice!!! looks better than its bigger bro…

but diesel? hmmmm….. gotta think twice before buying…..

• Wak Rempit on Jun 30, 2009 at 3:07 am

Volvo… Yawnnn..!! I think I will feel 10 years older if I drive this car… (no offence Volvo owners.. hehe)

300K!? With that money I can buy a full spec CX9, a better looking car!

Or better still an Audi Q5 a rather proven neck turner when driven.

But volvo has strong followers in Malaysia, no doubt the car will sell.

The spec is quite impressive but make sure you go for the Se one with all the gadgets because without all those the car is just….Yaawwnn! a Volvo…

jgn marah..

• somesay on Jun 30, 2009 at 4:11 am

hey, audi is sexy but volvo is safety, choose one

• This is a bloody rip off, its only 150K RM here in Dubai …WTF!

• Bodowee on Jun 30, 2009 at 6:54 am

Beautiful ..muscular …curvaceous …just like Eva Green …out of most people reach financially …Dude where's my Kembara with Cow Crossing warning reminder

• jiho21 on Jun 30, 2009 at 7:08 am

Got a nice rear diffusal.

• savvy on Jun 30, 2009 at 7:14 am

here is malaysia bro… forget about those cheap car prices in malaysia. Proton and Perodua rules…

• derek on Jun 30, 2009 at 8:11 pm

pricey for a volvo, but i guess its all have to do with the taxes and duties, something like 2 times the price sold in UAE…rediculous

• I think the biggest problems Malaysians abroad have is the in-ability to return back to this stupid NEP policies. How can you explain an Accord 3.5V6 at 90K, Mazda CX9 3.5 V6 at 115K (vs 3x price in malaysia) .

My neighbour is selling his 645Ci, 2006, done 40K, he got retrenched…he's leaving..price 135K any takers???? :),Porche boxter starts at 180K.

Mind u, dubai isnt the cheapest car market in ME, in fact its become cheaper since the crash boom band. Saudi, Bahrain..cars are usually cheaper!

• longjaafar on Jun 30, 2009 at 8:51 pm

Goks: What's NEP got to do with car prices? Just do some thinking and reading and look up car prices in Singapore. Please explain.

• scanzew on Jun 30, 2009 at 10:50 pm

ahaha…i just saw this monster yesterday….looks gooooooood…….

• layman on Jul 01, 2009 at 8:25 pm

All are good car, and if I have the money, my preference is RX 350>X3>Q5>XC60.

Sorry Volvo is too uncle and boring.

• Jeff C on Jul 04, 2009 at 1:16 am

It appears that the City Safety feature (automatic braking to prevent collissions <30km/h and reduce chance at <60km/h) is not available in M'sian spec models compared to other markets. Instead it has 50% braking capacity in the Collission Warning system. How interesting.

• rizal on Jul 21, 2009 at 6:26 pm

it good better than x3..i;m driving before….

• Kumaran on Jul 22, 2009 at 4:25 am

Well, before the launch of the XC60 in Malaysia, I had the opportunity to test drive the base model which was brought down from Singapore. I must say, I was impressed with the handling for this SUV, not to mention the safety features put into this car. I was contemplating between the 525i sports and the XC60 for my wife and although the BMW was leading the way, I must say the final draw was the service by Swedish Marque that made me decide to buy the LE version for my wife. All said and done, a car is a car, but if you’re going to be paying premium price for something, guys make sure the service is there to compliment it. I have a GTI and the service I have received from VW Cars Sdn Bhd in PJ, sucks. A lot of misrepresentation. Hence I have switched to Wearns. Once again if you’re looking for a safe and fun car for your wife, it’s the XC60.

• Spirited on Jul 30, 2009 at 11:26 pm

guys! Wearns are from Singapore, and they have only 1 branch! but federal Auto cars have 2 in KL and in most major states. So go figure what will happen, should you car break down in Penang…call Swedish marque..or call federal Auto?

anyway! as per said by previous forumers, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. true to be said, on paper, the XC60 is the best in terms of performances, but the Q5 is no slacker too….using a 2.0 Engine producing such power and torque is no joke..however, can it handle the car in a long run….2.0 on a 1740KG SUV. go figure!

well! i think the XC60 out performance the Q5…however, unless Audi brings in their Q5 3.0 V6…then that might be a different story..but the price will sore easily above the RM350K mark…..

thanks…just my 2 cents….

also, there is going to be a HEICO sport tuning kits coming in for the volvo XC60….which easily you can tune the car way above 300 HPs….

take that audi! in your face……hahahaha…

jangan marah…okie…audi fans….just stating the facts…..

• Kumaran on Jul 31, 2009 at 7:45 pm

HEICO sport tuning kit? Man if my wife allows me to have the car for a week I might just suprise her with the tune up :) ……….ok its more for me but what the heck………. well the as you may know Volvo has the Volvo on Call service which address the break down issue. Personally my experience with Wearns thus far has been great. Quick to addressing my needs. As I mentioned, I have stopped sending my car to VW Cars Sdn Bhd and now service my car at Wearns. The point I am trying to make is for future VW car buyers, please take note that VW Cars has no after sales service what so ever and are there just to push cars by over promising and under delivering.

As for the XC60, can't wait till mid August when the 2nd batch arrives. If my wife allows, I might just as well spend a couple of nights in the car :)

• spirited on Aug 01, 2009 at 1:16 am

wow! well said Kumaran!

im not so sure about VW Cars S/B. so i cant comment on their services.

however as for Volvo on Call…they actually are just like an operated services..they get the call..and they will call the nearest Services centre. for example, you break down in PJ, they will call the Volvo Federal auto at PJ area to attend to your breakdown.

well! i might be wrong, but this is the information i have so far.

as for the XC60, as permention in Paul Tan's Blog, the heico tuning Kit can booast it up to 315HP…well! not so sure about the warranty issue, but from what i know, Federal auto are working on that issue. but i think they are more in to the bodykit tuning, as it doesnt mess with warranty issue.

unless you buy a full tune Heico XC60, then i think warranty no problem, heard that they will do up one white Heico XC60…but not so sure..lets see by the end of the year…hehehe!

• Alitstar on Aug 01, 2009 at 9:12 pm

Hello enthusiasts:

May I add my two cents to Kumaran's reply dated July 21 '09. Whilst the comment was fair and well poised, some clarification of 'service' is warranted.

With the current dealership setup, it does not matter to which dealer you take your car to, irrespective from whom your purchased it (except gray's), you are entitled to receive the same standard of attention. If you are short handed, feel free to pen your opinion and you sure will get all the attention you need.

Kumaran (and I'm sure most other buyers of this category) said by "paying premium price for something, make sure the service is there to compliment it"

We are all, in one way or another are THE SERVICE creators. We create standard and we benchmark. What is premium service? What is premium? Is a Perdana premium or is BMW a premium. Assume that the money we cough out is the judge of premium.

With our car tax structure, at whose expense should premium service should come from? As an example (after making a direct USD MYR conversion), The 2009 BMW 335 Coupe sells for USD44,014 or RM155,369.00 in the US . In Malaysia the same car sells for over RM490,000.

Audi A4 2.0T Cabriolet Convertible sells for RM142,000 in the US

The 2009 model Audi A4 2 Door 2.0T Cabriolet Convertible sells in the US for USD40,328.00 or RM142,357. In Malaysia the same car would sell for about RM265,000.

VW GTI 2.0T sells for RM85,000 in the US

In the US the 2009 model Volkswagen GTI 2.0T sells for USD 24,039 or RM85,000 only. In China the same car will cost around RM60,000. Over here the same VW car sells for about RM200,000.

And the 2010 model Toyota Camry 2.4L sells in the US for USD 19,659.00 or RM69,396 In Malaysia the 2008 Toyota Camry 2.4L sells for RM170,000. Toyota Camry 2.4L, 2010 model. RM69,000 in the US

Then here are some car prices from our neighbour Indonesia . The Toyota Altis sells in Indonesia for about RM46,000. The same car sells here for around RM 112,000. Again we are three times more expensive than Indonesia .

The Honda Jazz sells here for RM108,000. In Indonesia the Jazz sells for RM 36,000.

Despite paying 3 times more, I would say we are still complecent with premium service. But who is that suppose to give us premium service. Is the dealership or government. What is premium service? A free bill for every visit? A "kompang" welcome team at the service center or the personnel drop their pants and attend to only your car?

Fortunately, the dealership stop at nothing in delivering what ever we expect. After careful consideration, I've compared the service quality (people and technical competence) between Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia and Thailand. The significant difference of the good or bad service is exactly what we the big spenders perceive it to be.

• Alitstar on Aug 01, 2009 at 11:19 pm

Meaning, if you think is bad service, then it is and thats what you will attract next time. But if you think otherwise, you will also attract what you think. We are the in many ways service providers. When we complain of others, we are just reflecting. You will notice that any given service providers will not remain as "good service" for a long time. The trend moves, from product to dealer. Its the people behind it. A select group of men and women whom understand value for money. They too need value for money and ever willing to move to whom pays better.

We might run out of cars to buy if we keep up with this. Give them a break, educate and train our fellow Malaysians for a better service, wisely.

• spirited on Aug 02, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Well said Alitstar, i think most dealership or service centre will agree with what you have commented.

however, at the end of the day, its the management who has to really educate this premium service teams or segments, they have to be taught the luxury/ premium mentality…hence, ppl paying for this kind of price..should be offered a more respectable form of service…but i have notice..that not many premium segments treat their customers that way….

well! like you say….the perception is different to whom holds it…

• YeouWei on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:57 am

wait till CKD & hopefully the price drop below RM300k, it will be my nx upgrade car

Well….call me uncle or what-ever….I just fall in love with this XC60!!!

Will probably get one if Volvo make it CKD and drop the price ard 250k…and bring in the D5 or 2.4D pls!!!

• XC Bimmer on Jan 20, 2010 at 7:25 pm

Hi..

Just want to share the experience with all of you guys here. I purchased XC60 LE last Dec 2009 for mywife, eventhough I am a bimmer big fan. All I can said here, its a fun, quite powerful, gud handling and tough SUV here but the alarm/safety sensor always disturbing me. Will try to switch it all off.

I'm driving BMW 730Li. The reason why I purchase XC60 instead of X5 because I fed up / frustrated / give up with AutoBavaria service. Their altitude sometimes just like 'bawah pokok' mechanic. Order a wrong spare parts, double standard among clients, keep a clients car/SUV for quite long time to inspect even a small matter issue etc…

But I'm not sure Federal Auto can give a gud service or not?

So my conclusion here, we as a buyer/client actually looking for a gud car/SUV with a gud service for a long term. Otherwise, its better to use our national with their fair or limited of services.

• Spirited on Jan 21, 2010 at 3:43 am

Well! i happen to sold quite a number of XC60 LE and SE, so far no complains. 2 units was to a doctors, and i had one full heico sports tuning kit for a lady driver, the car was a monster, very illegal with all the crystal plates no, and dark tinting, but it really did enhance the looks. well! there are others too, anyway! too much to say.

i also read some comments up there, well! audi for looks and volvo for safety. well! i have to disagree with you on that to a certain point. well! basically, no doubt that audi is really a looker, its some what macho and have a very rugged and manly styling to it. however, on the other hand, XC60 is also quite a looker, just that it is more sleek and slimline, more feminine in another way! not saying that if guys buy this car, they look like a sissy. Just that the car is design in a way, that it incorporates many aspects from previous models to retain the image, however, it also some what pulls away from the conventional design.

• Alitstar on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:54 am

Spirited, now that you have mentioned it, I agree. XC60 does rime with SISSY. I noticed only ladies, doctors, accountants and auditors drive this car. I've never seen these cars doing anymore than 110kph on the highway. In this range normally its a BMW, Audi or VW, why so?

On most of the young entrepreneurs, businessmen, engineers, filthy rich drive either BMW, Merc, Audi or VW or they have two from any of the latter.

And 'kucing kurap' like me will settle for Camry or Accord. Aiya…bila mau pakai BM?

• Arn-really-is-some-s on Feb 11, 2010 at 11:27 am

tiu lo…

cannot buy one then say uncle..

wait till you have 300k cash in hand then only say

• Visited Fed.Auto last weekend, apparently the XC60 2.0 is going to be launched in Q1 2011 and to be priced between RM250K~280K , so if you’re fan and have got a limited budget; you might want to keep a look out for the 2.0.

XC60 its just gorgeous!!!!!!! Can’t wait to get it….