New automatic transmission only driving license to be introduced in Malaysia by end 2009

Opel Astra Manual Gearknob

Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Abdul Rahim Bakri announced late last month that if everything goes as planned, the government will soon be introducing a new driving license for automatic transmission cars only. This is expected to happen by the end of this year.

Having a separate license for automatic cars only is quite common and is practiced in countries like Australia and even our neighbours down south. Singapore has Class 3 licenses for both manual and auto cars, and Class 3A licenses which permit you to drive autos only.

Naturally, for auto-only licenses the exam is conducted with an automatic car. The Transport Ministry will make several changes in the curriculum and test as well as restructure regulations (Road Transport Act 1987, Motor Vehicle Regulations – Driving License 1992) to allow automatic cars to be used for driving exams.

If this goes through, great for those who don’t want to bother learning how to drive a manual, or at least getting an auto license first with the option of upgrading it to a manual license later. But cross your fingers and just hope that you don’t get into an emergency situation where you absolutely need to drive a manual car.

The next step is to weed out all the corruption from driving exams so that the licenses are issued to people who deserve them.

The syllabus also needs to be updated with more useful information such as how to recover from understeer, oversteer, how to brake with ABS and etc. Just look at what BMW is doing with their BMW Driver Training, take the basic course syllabus and adopt it. Let’s face it – traction control and stability control is seriously far from being a common feature on our local spec cars, especially with cars priced below RM100k. This combined with the bad conditions of our roads, diesel/oil spills and the often heavy rainstorm (aquaplaning!) is not a good thing.

Finally there should be rules that require a driver to be retested every few years – no need to be often. Every 5 or 10 years could work, perhaps they could make it so that this retesting comes into effect when you become an elderly driver, to ensure that you are able to drive safely on the road and not inhibited by health issues such as an untreated deteriorating eyesight and pose a danger both to yourself and others. Make it a simple and cheap to conduct test so that people will not be burdened by a high retesting cost.

Yes, it sounds cruel to the poor old folks who do not have their children to take them places but those who are in perfect health condition to drive shouldn’t have a problem passing, and those who cannot pass really shouldn’t be driving.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pensel tumpul on Jul 01, 2009 at 8:45 pm

i have to say, i oppose the idea of retesting. retesting wouldn't prove anything. it just prove people can 'act' when they have to. driving is just motor skills embedded in your brain.

what the drivers really need to learn is, defensive driving. then again, that comes naturally with mindset. if you are a civic minded person, i dont think that is a hard thing to do. there is a reason behind the Yellow Box for god sake.

basically they need to learn all about driving etiquette. respect other motorists and pedestrians.

and of course, everyone should know their limits. i mean, do we really need to wait for someone to tell us that we are not fit to drive?

• mytouch on Jul 01, 2009 at 10:25 pm

Emm,quite agree with you Paul regarding the retesting issue,especially for those dumbass that always like to drive slowly on the fast lane,i really dont understand how they get their licence…(emm,wait,i smell kopi lerr…keke…"…

• I dont agree with the retesting.

" Ignas said : My dad was killed by an ederly driver, that was cruel. So I agree with the idea! "

My sister got her handbag snatched by a motorcyclist should we ban motorcycles? If we do, one snatch thief has inconvenienced all other motorcyclist.

We have to weigh the good and the bad. First we should see how many accidents are caused by so called elderly people. Will retesting really reduce accidents? Compare that with the thousands of people affected by the retesting. Whats stopping the examiners from just getting more kopi-o money? Anyone who can pass has to take the trouble to go for the exam. Anyone who cannot pass just "pays" his way through.

I do agree with Paul on the additional driving skills to be taught. That would be interesting.

• Imagine, some people might just kick the bucket without even driving a manual car and not knowing what driving pleasure is all about.

Bad Move….Makes your daily life even more dull….

• You would then end up with Ministers or cabinet members and YB without license, because they have forgot how to drive properly without the police outriders. Or the new system will have different standard to cater for people in power…

• Good….

• DannyArcher on Jul 02, 2009 at 3:51 am

couldn't agree more with Paul, I'm from a small village and most of my friends took their driving license when they reached 17, and because of financial constrain, they don get to drive a car until they enter enter the job market, which is 24 – 25, and 5 out of 8 of them met with accident within a month, reason – they forgot how to drive. Retest is a must!

• Kellyvai on Jul 02, 2009 at 4:02 am

Sounds reasonable…

I strongly vote for the retesting thought… at least a very general retest like eyesight, night driving, ability to still be aware of surroundings…

especially for taxi drivers…

• as a result it will develop a society who dont know driving the manual.

nothings wrong with that.

it would be a scenerio like in the united state, only 20 percent of the car is manual,

this could happen if begginers driver choose auto to for driving licence. and the first car is auto. then the car on the road will flood with auto due to the demand.

for me its shame not to know the old school standard shift (manual)- the real fun of driving.

anyway no objection.

• Alex Khoo on Jul 02, 2009 at 4:14 am

The manual gearstick in the photo above, anyone knows what car is it from?

They made auto license only after I passed my license last year. Sigh.

• Paul Tan on Jul 02, 2009 at 5:01 am

@Alex Khoo

The gearknob is from the new Opel Astra.

• Littlefire on Jul 02, 2009 at 5:05 am

I tot Auto tranmission already available for people to test…

But if i not mistaken is for those disable..

• ignas on Jul 02, 2009 at 5:12 am

My dad was killed by an ederly driver, that was cruel. So I agree with the idea!

• acerman (Member) on Jul 02, 2009 at 5:22 am

Lucky for them who can drive both tranny.

Once I have a friend who thinks that any person who can drive a manual tranny can also drive an auto tranny. One day, it proves him wrong when he don't know how to drive a Honda when he don't know how to reverse the car.

• well with the introduction of this license we are going to see more auto cars on the road. well for a manual car lover like me its going to be worse i guess.

even car manufacturers now in malaysia refuse to bring in manual transmission cars and i can predict that in the near future the only way you are going to get a manual car is to buy a proton b-line car.

in malaysia we can see that most manual cars dont have a high line version(airbags+abs) and have less safety equipment. so does that mean that people that buy manual cars lives are less important than the ones that drive automatics?

ok enough rant. about the retesting i fully agree with it. sometimes i see even experienced driver drive like a mad man. with this retesting mechanism im sure that we can weed out the bad driver from the good ones….well that is if corruption can be solved

• whatever on Jul 02, 2009 at 5:31 am

Good for those NOOBS!

• Kriss Bangla on Jul 02, 2009 at 5:38 am

walao, after this will born many driver buta manual…lol..

• bobdbilder on Jul 02, 2009 at 5:42 am

Maybe Auto Only drivers should have AO stickers on their cars so that others may be wary, and approached with caution. Its also to inform AO drivers that the rest of us brake much more later due to the ability to utilize engine braking, downshift when we want to, and therefore the brake light goes on, only when its really needed.

Plus AO drivers would provide limitless amount of humor for the general public.

• zafedz on Jul 02, 2009 at 5:57 am

Coming soon there will be steptronic,tiptronic and AMT version of test…

Yeepeedaaa…

• dcwhz83 on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:07 am

Europe and US are two different car markets with totally different targets… US are mostly auto coz fuel is cheap… Europe is mostly manual coz fuel is expensive and they have emission categories to fulfil, less it drinks, less it spills and u pay less taxes…

And msia are right in the middle… normal working class people working in cities would want an auto becoz of the jam even if he/she likes to drive manual… if he/she needs to travel frequently or can travel off-peak hours, most probably they want manual to save fuel…

• Alex Khoo on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:08 am

Thanks Paul for the info!

@haze, I think the BMW 116i is manual. Or the Honda Civic Type-R. Or the Peugeot 308GT. Haha.

• roti naan1 on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:09 am

i hope the re-test will not be another "cari makan" avenue for the driving schools and the relevant authorties..

• stanley9394 on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:14 am

retest is good…but should include eyesight,my car being KISSED by an old uncle driver before..reason DIDN'T C MY CAR….walau eh

• Retest!! OMG. This will just let the JPJ have more income in the end!! Retest for guys driving their cars everyday, what is the point?

As if the drivers on Malaysia road do not know what is right and what is wrong on the road. It's the enforcement that is lacking. Retest will not help at all!!

Yeah auto license will just make manual cars harder to find. In OZ land, manual car is actually more expensive than Auto.. cos the demand is low. I hope this will not happen here!!

• mytouch on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:27 am

Emm,quite agree with you Paul regarding the retesting issue,especially for those dumbass which always like to drive very very slow on the fast lane,really dont understand how they get their licence…(emm,wait,i smell KOPI lerr,keke…)

• transformer (Member) on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:29 am

just could not believe our Gov proposed such practise…. to generate more sales kah? Gov/RTD need more sales(turnover) to pay their employee salary and etc. expenses

a) I totally disagree to auto transmission license. Driving auto are like drinking juice without the feeling of biting/chewing/tasting fruits. Auto transmision are Soul-less.

b) I would definately vote yes to re-test for all driver that has driving experience less then 15years, every 5years once, so total 3times for every being. Since our country legitimate entry for test are 18years, so add 15years would be 33years and i think most 33years old person would already have family to take care and drive responsibly.

• no retesting

• James Lee on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:43 am

all stupid idea

• Rogerrabbit on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:59 am

I dun think the idea of 're-test' will do any good considering the high probability of corruption. Just have a look at the current requirements for renewing the commercial vehicle driving license/permit eg. lorry driver permit, u think all that for real? eh eh…it's easy to tutup sebelah mata if you 'sincere' enough heh heh.

• EVERY1 n every single 1 of us started crawling b4 we walk n later run……..

Manual to Auto is same….get into the basics……later the 10 TONNE lorries and busses and taxies will all be auto….coz the ppl that get the lisenses will tell the employer…"lesen saya auto lahhh…"…. more will end up in the drain like we see in the papers…..

retest is a good thing……

• KampungBoy on Jul 02, 2009 at 7:20 am

Wow…this blog really complete and great info

especially your review for each model

• Stupid on Jul 02, 2009 at 7:53 am

Bagus, bolehland, we all die faster. Kopi o license!

hapuskan rasuah duly bangang!

• nabil on Jul 02, 2009 at 7:54 am

why on earth are thy changin ?

why fix it when it aint broke…?

rediculous

• Peanuts on Jul 02, 2009 at 7:54 am

Seems alright with auto only driving license. Driving etiquette is definite a must for our driving syllabus. And must as well throw in "Basic Driving Common Sense" in there too! Just too many dumb/ignorant drivers out there..

• KitKat on Jul 02, 2009 at 8:01 am

dp said,

July 1, 2009 @ 11:13 pm

EVERY1 n every single 1 of us started crawling b4 we walk n later run……..

Manual to Auto is same….get into the basics……later the 10 TONNE lorries and busses and taxies will all be auto….coz the ppl that get the lisenses will tell the employer…”lesen saya auto lahhh…”…. more will end up in the drain like we see in the papers…..

retest is a good thing……

————————————

Most Transnasional and RapidKL buses are auto FYI bro.

• Paul Tan on Jul 02, 2009 at 8:41 am

Intrakota is auto too… I think SJ Bus is manual.

• plutohunter on Jul 02, 2009 at 9:49 am

No objections here as I love driving auto! Been driving auto for ten years since I got my licence. I think it's all subjective, not everyone enjoys driving manual, like myself, and I don't really mind I'm missing on the "exciting, soulful driving" of a manual car because it's mostly city use and driving through congested roads. So, auto is quite a convenience for me and not everyone enjoys tea the way you like them, if you know what I mean. ;)

• S.Roma on Jul 02, 2009 at 10:33 am

Hmmm most of the people agree to be retest, i also agree considering it is all about the driver safety, and others…

And, it is a positive thing though…

About the license, from my opinion, i also agree to separate the licensing between auto and manual…

• paparadzi on Jul 02, 2009 at 10:47 am

Current driving syllabus is more of driver vs machine. Auto license will make the syllabus to concentrate more on driver vs traffic / environment. Therefore I totally agree with the idea.

Pilots are retested every six months, so a driver retesting every 5 or 10 years is no big deal. Suggest retesting on some age limits and get more frequent as age increase, for safety of the driver and the public.

• CooShyRee on Jul 02, 2009 at 11:01 am

2 me, this is the stupidest thing 2 ever happen in the history of this country if this law were 2 be introduce..

i mean, y would u need a separate license 4 auto n manual anyway?? juz stick 2 the way of driving test wit a manual, an auto is not hard 2 learn 4 god sake!! if u know how 2 drive a manual, u'll know how 2 drive an auto.. i agree bout updating the curriculum 2 keep up wit current times, make it more strict.. wit how things r goin these days (really bad drivers on the road), id imagine theyd give a full license if u juz even know how 2 start the car!!

no offence 2 auto only drivers, me myself drive autos mostly these days.. but i do find that its absolutely necessary 2 know how 2 drive a manual.. its nuttin 2 do wit the sporty feel or anythin.. its juz that 2 me, u learn 2 be a better driver if u know how 2 drive a manual.. n if u ask me, who r the terrible drivers on the road 2day?? i would say majority of em r females who only knows how 2 drive autos!! n yet now the govt in their very bright wisdom wanna introduce auto only license!! trust me on this, it'll juz put more idiotic drivers on our roads..

n wats wit the retesting??? also another stupid act by the govt.. sounds 2 me, its juz another scheme by the govt 2 pull more cash from its people.. stupid, stupid law!! wat is the world becoming into??!! our govt is run by MORONS!!

• Lolipop on Jul 02, 2009 at 12:11 pm

At last, government do the right thing!

• Tiadaid on Jul 02, 2009 at 3:17 pm

Mi16 said,

July 1, 2009 @ 4:21 pm

Imagine, some people might just kick the bucket without even driving a manual car and not knowing what driving pleasure is all about.

Bad Move….Makes your daily life even more dull….

————————————————————

When you're living in the city, with all the jams, it's easier to drive an auto.

• Anonymous on Jul 02, 2009 at 3:21 pm

Paul

I remember back in the late 80's where we had to take the old blue SJ buses from school.. If i'm not mistaken, I believe they already had the AMT system. I remember that because i thought at that time it was strange for a manual GB not to have a clutch… the engine would rev freely for a second or so after the driver changed the gear, then lurch as the gears engaged. not many of them around tho.

• azrai on Jul 02, 2009 at 3:44 pm

It's a bad move + more red tape and more public fund just to ammend the law. The present one is ok and you know what, what make a good driver with a good skills is the experience.

• another way for them to hv extra "income"!!

• the authority should instead organising more open clinic n educate us on more critical issues like how should we react during emergency braking, change tyre, severe road conditions, etc etc

• knight_templar on Jul 02, 2009 at 4:09 pm

The idea is good in theory but what abt in reality? Laws in our country are excellent, but its enforcement thats lacking. So what happens when a person who has an auto oni license is caught driving a stick shift? How harsh should de penalty be?

Another thing is drivers should be retested but 10yrs once IMHO. This is in tandem with car product life cycles which are generally 6-10yrs (>20yrs somtimes ;) also its usually between every decade that cars undergo major tech revolutions.

Finally, its not abt starting, getting into gear n driving off. Ive been driving for ages now on highways and our driving ethics are zero. Pls be courteous and have moral values on de road. Things like pulling down de window and spitting, throwing tissues, plastics or even diapers!!! in parking lots, tail gating, road hogging, weaving through traffic and switching on hazard lights in even a drizzle(ladies espc) are all some of our irritating quirks.

• Iskandar on Jul 02, 2009 at 4:09 pm

JPJ must revamp the driving training too.

I've seen many driving instructors who :-

1. Speak on the phone while driving

2. Blast past the congested traffic in front of a school.

3. Never bother wearing the seat belt.

4. Run thru red light.

5. Teaches the newbies to drive slowly on the right lane.

6. Never stop at zebra crossing.

What kind of drivers are we going to produce if the teachers "kencing berdiri"?

• rejabali on Jul 02, 2009 at 4:22 pm

I agree with the 1st comment. What w new driver need is a good attatiude of driving. I not sure but i think they never test it during testing. Most of driving school just teach how to drive the car (most driver already know how to drive) but never stress on driving behaviour and I think JPJ should include (infact 1st priority) of this behaviour. And retest…dont agree with that. If u had good driving behaviour even if u old u know ur limit. BTW some of us dont wear a seat belt if no police around…do you?

• droll on Jul 02, 2009 at 4:45 pm

i somehow think "education" is not the right answer in this. these are adults who can think and reason. they know the rules they are breaking. that is a conscious decision to break the law!

• knight_templar on Jul 02, 2009 at 5:09 pm

droll said,

July 2, 2009 @ 8:45 am

i somehow think “education” is not the right answer in this. these are adults who can think and reason. they know the rules they are breaking. that is a conscious decision to break the law!

—————————————————————-

I beg to differ. Education is THE precise word. Its education that makes all the difference (in some cases even proving religious institutions wrong). The drivers that consciously break the law do so because of a lack of education on the implications of doing so towards themselves and others. Education does not oni mean the stuff in school or college. Its simply about learning, understanding and applying the said knowledge in any aspect of life. In that context education is not exclusively for children. Adults do need it to, ie dining etiquette for adults, phone manners and maybe even behavioural protocols such as when meeting and speaking with VIPs are all forms of education.

• OptimusPrimate on Jul 02, 2009 at 5:17 pm

Hi Paul,

My opinion is, to retest those elderly driver and those who are guilty in a minor accident, please include in the syllabus for effective braking method to avoid KISSING front car.

• What about the option to upgrade to advanced driving skill and give incentive like discount on driving licence or personal tax relief on it?

• The retest is just a way for the Government to make money i think, it's not like we're Airbus pilots…although this is a good idea for bus and taxi drivers, but they'll just pay duit kopi to pass anyway

• Hopefully those of JPJ and Kementerian Pengangkutan read this blog and the comments.

I agree with the auto only license.

Anyway, I have some more ideas:

1. Those looking for "full" license MUST learn to drive in both auto and manual. I have seen many times people who use left-leg braking when using autos. Even though it is not against the law, right-foot braking should still be used in normal driving. if you are using both auto and manual, it will be quite confusing.

2. Instead of resiting for the test on every fifth year renewal, we must sit for a one hour video presentation (under supervision at JPJ office) before we can renew our license (once every five years). The video should contain new laws, and driving tips. The video should also tackle out all the incorrect myths in everyday driving.

3. We should get rid of all "symbol styled" road sign, and replace it with or add below the symbols, the appropriate caption. for example. the 110km/h speed limit with red rings should be replaced with "Halaju Maksima 90km/j"

or the "no waiting" symbol replaced with "Dilarang Menunggu". Easier for the kids to tell the parents that they are breaking the law :). It will make our written exam less concentrated on learning the signs.

4. The course should also include handling emergency situation. How to brake effectively during emergency (for those without ABS). How to handle your car when the road surface is slippery, or if you are drifting. Tailgating and so on.

5. Any driving instructors caught breaking the law (or exceeding certain Kajara points) will get their teaching license suspended for at least one month. (I prefer 3 months)

6. Learning to drive should also include driving in highways at the appropriate speed. So that there will be less road hogger, and also to insert a level of confident into the new driver. This happened to me. when I got my license 15 years ago, the next day, I have to drive for on highway for 3 hours for a travel trip. Then I had tested this approach on my wife and some of my friends. I had asked them to drive on the highway on 110km/h for an hour, and then on normal byways for another hour (at 90km/h).

After driving in highways, they have better confidence in handling the byways at lesser speed. They no longer drive at 50km/h..

RT

• JPJ should also instill good driving behavior and ethics in its course. elements of defensive driving

for example:

giving way for other car to enter the lane in front of you- they might have erred and need to go back in lane. or they are in an emergency.

On the other hand, we should not jump queue unless we are in an emergency. IF we are, we should show that we are in emergency by rolling down the window and giving hand signal.

just an example

• HARDRISK on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:24 pm

tak ada sambutan la ini macam..

• what RTD must do is to give double or triple training hours, strictly rules and more "fastline" training to the lady drivers.

• mitlanevo on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:34 pm

great news for many future drivers!!!

why so many comments above out of topic?

• ibram on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:42 pm

bro nak minta tolong ada tak link tentang kilang membuat kerja di setiap negara asia, urget la

• najibest on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:57 pm

i believe that we should follow the US system…don't need driving schools since most of the time the instructors themselves don't follow rules so why bother having them in the 1st place…

they have self education there…you go and take the written/computerize exam, then u can drive a car as long as you have a driver with 1 year experience besides you….then you bring your own car (or borrow somebody's car) to the test center and take the test….

the license produced would be a general license, you can drive a manual even though u took the test with an auto car….

• Black Dog on Jul 02, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Everybody should be made compulsory to undergo 1 week of driving in Australia.

The ppl driving there is so courteous, so relaxing & wonderful. After coming back to Bolehland, my blood pressure goes up 300%, reckless driving, inconsiderate parking, swearing, etc etc many ppl have sticks & golf clubs in their car in case of emergency fighting! Like a war zone!

But then, driving in Bangladesh & India is a completely different matter.

• nowaday, we mostly driving automatic transmission. agree to allow auto for driving test. Time Change – Reguirement Change.

• Alifz on Jul 02, 2009 at 7:17 pm

Looks like our old license more precious…

Manual mar…fuoyooo terer oo…

• Joshie on Jul 02, 2009 at 7:24 pm

this is for rich kiddies who's dad that only buy manual for him. Sportscar also manual how to drive sportscar?? this is for pussies. i used to have a friend who told me " i will never drive manual. then one day another friend accuired a a31 with rb26 he barely can drive that car .

• longjaafar on Jul 02, 2009 at 7:24 pm

Whatever new laws being passed, it still boils down to enforcement. It is almost non existent. If you want to see a very good example, go to Damansara Uptown on any working day and you can see total anarchy on the streets. Where else can you see cars parked one behind the other; in the middle of the streets; and along yellow and double lines all the time? The irony is that there's a multi storey public car park, but as usual it is not utilised. The Malaysian kiasu mentality is at it's worst here, and in spite of having a police station here, there is no policeman in sight. The reason: "Tak cukup pegawai". Just that.

And to those who park indiscriminately, my message to them is that they are like scums, who do not mind blocking people, even ambulances, just so that they do not have to walk a few yards extra, or pay a ringgit for a parking lot.

• xavier lert on Jul 02, 2009 at 8:12 pm

hmmm….so my car is paddle shift….. they'll create license for those type to (like zafedz say).

for the oldies (exclude my father n mother; both 60's n 50' but drive like 20's)…i think theyll need to take the test when they wanna renew their license..i know a few oldies thats drive lil bit old car;

-switch on the hi beam when its gettin dark (tak nampak….)

-doesnt care if he hits another car when he park.

-doesnt hav any parkin skills…(makan others space.. < i don care)

-sudden stop when tellin story about places…

the lis goes on n on n on…

this doesnt include "super amatur driver" thats sit 1mm from the stering….. n the bes thing ive saw this driver close the eyes n hit the gas as fas she could when the traf light turn RED…(hebat2)….

so conclusion is that thers so many car so many license issued…but how many of them can really drive….?

• GTR35 on Jul 02, 2009 at 8:21 pm

Don't worry ok, the cheapest supercar available now i.e. the mighty GTR also not Manual tranny, automatic one dun worry ok, manual shift also can no need clutch pressing this and that….u still have ur driving fun 'guaranteed' ok!

i dun agree some said that "learning manual tranny is like 'learning to walk' first, and learning auto straight is like 'learn to 'fly' before even noe how to 'walk' "

It's like saying, to learn computer we must learn MS DOS first, then only learn Windows95 then windows98, and then only we learn windowsXP n Vista…doesn't make a cow sense rite bro n sisters yo! Manual tranny is being phased out in mass production, why still learn how to 'press and release' a 'clutch' bro n sister yo! wan exercise ur left foot go to gym straight okie LOL..

i love manual tranny!!

• bodowee on Jul 02, 2009 at 8:26 pm

Re-testing is a way to earn revenue … more money for JPJ and what not ….

Erkk will you see high-ranking oficials taking the same tests as the public Joe will ….. pigs can fly

• Good idea for those who cannot manage gear change to save their lives. Hope there are appropriate penalties legislated for driving a manual car if one is certified only for auto.

As to the re-testing, I am not for it. What is more important is GETTING PEOPLE TO USE THEIR SIGNAL LIGHTS WHEN CHANGING LANES!

Maybe cars should be sold without signal lights since 90% of drivers on our roads do not bother using it.

• bmpower on Jul 02, 2009 at 8:44 pm

NEXT!

AMT license loooo…

• bmpower on Jul 02, 2009 at 8:45 pm

and what about my Paddle shift?

need another license looooo too…

All gear paddle under the steering has to use another license loooo..

• coolent on Jul 02, 2009 at 8:56 pm

this two separate driving license is also practiced in UK too. manual license can't drive on auto and vice versa. its got pros and cons…but for me, its more to pros…

• gtmaniac on Jul 02, 2009 at 9:04 pm

Even if a driver test for the auto licence, he/she must at least experience once how to drive a manual car. Otherwise, it might possess a problem in future because sooner or later, when he/she got the feel of the road, they might one day upgrade to higher performance oriented manual cars…

• abdul halim on Jul 02, 2009 at 9:37 pm

more excuses to tahan us

• azrai on Jul 02, 2009 at 9:40 pm

Do you all notice KL's drivers like to stop in the yellow box? Do they get lesen terbang? Paul?

• perts on Jul 02, 2009 at 10:04 pm

instead of doing this rubbish act, why don’t they copy Finish style…2 years of test and they could produce a lot of high quality driver….well…at least for new driver..

• Off topic. Add on to Longjaafar's comment.

Not only these scums block people on the street, they block the entrance to our building… And yet there was big signage there says, "Please Don't Block This Entrance".

What this scums believe that their official business are too important compare to others and they can just leave their car there because they can't find street parking spots nearby. And So they thought is just about few minutes that would take them to finish their work. and they end up blocking longer than that.

Because this delay, the person who got blocked maybe late to see he/her dying ill relatives, late for their appointment with a big client who consequently could make him/her lost a job.

My advise to all scum bags, don't buy a car if you can't afford to pay parking fee. Don't drive a car to anywhere that can't find parking easily. Don't do errands for that day and find some other way to complete it. Don't do things that you dislike onto someone else,… it will gets back to you some day. some way.

Blocking people's daily routine to fulfill your 'noble' business makes you no better than a self-center scumbags and low life as dirt. Irregardless you are hot chicks or cool dude.

• najibest on Jul 02, 2009 at 10:17 pm

i just don’t see the point of people who says that people need to start driving by driving a manual car…i mean i’m sure if you ask 10 people in KL, 8 out of 10 would say that they haven’t touched a manual car ever since they got the license…many of my friends can’t even drive a manual…but are they BAD drivers? nope…matter of fact some of them are very good drivers and never involved in any accidents…usually it’s those who drive a manual who’re involved in accidents because they really like to push it when driving their cars (i’m sure we all know how much fun is it to drive a manual…being able to completely control our car is a very exhilarating experience). it’s the mentality that counts the most…not auto or manual cars…

the reason most of us here are at paultan.org because most of us are auto enthusiast…thus why most of us here prefer manual cars….

i mean most of the mercedes and bmw sold are auto cars..not manual, not to mention honda which don’t have any manual cars in their line up anymore…i know bmw provide defensive driving course which for me is very useful to improve our driving skills….frankly speaking, the driving test that we’re taking now is pretty much useless….too many outdated rules and instructions that’s not practical for everyday use…

• Retest = more chance for corruption ! We will be at the mercy of the JPJ tester knowing we cannot afford to fail the test. When i got my license way back in the 80s there are only manual cars no autos, why dont just stick to that, i am sure if you know how to drive a manual you will know how to handle an auto ! Retest only for those who have many road offenses and those 60s above to make sure they are fit to drive coz i sees many elderly drivers who cant drive in their own lane and i doubt they can even see clearly. I am not discriminating against elderly but i am sure its for their own safety and other drivers too.

• Bob Tahar on Jul 02, 2009 at 10:52 pm

They should upgrade motocycle licensen too! B1 to B full… B2 to B1…. or better all to B full….

• Thinkerz78 on Jul 02, 2009 at 11:06 pm

Wowwwww……

Normally we got B2 for passing the the… and we can drive both Auto and manual tansmission… 2=for both transmission.

Then, For auto only.. it should be B1A? 1A for 1 transmission only and A for Auto..

goood idea.. then, JPJ can do more roadblock to check the license, that will cause more tracffic jam…

why not just keep the old POLICY.. new policy will cause a lot of money..then when the new minister come, they change again…

Better to maintain the old policy, all malaysian to get the B2 license to drive a passanger car.. up to them to drive automatic or manual transmission. to make sure more people use auto transmission.. Ask local automotive like Proton to advertise the Benefit of Auto transmission… :) exp Jom Ronda bersama Proton :)

• GermanCarLover on Jul 02, 2009 at 11:42 pm

auto driving license is ok. most msian drivers nowadays only drive auto. cars in the market as well. if they have manual cars at house also will be the last choice to drive (for those who have many). well, up to them, no summon if they drive stick, unless causes accident or breaking laws.

and for the retest, do we driver really want to go for it? you've been driving for 30 yrs and retest? it will definitely cause angry too most drivers. the best would be suspend the license for problematic drivers!

• 1ENZO1 (Member) on Jul 03, 2009 at 12:14 am

If know how to drive manual, then automatic transmission shouldn't be a problem.

• techboy_88 on Jul 03, 2009 at 12:23 am

Weed out the corruption first, then the govt. can do the auto transmission license thing.

One more thing, don't spend too much on elections, by-elections, and anything political. Msia will be "kopak" for spending too much on political matters.

• initial R on Jul 03, 2009 at 12:24 am

my wife always said to auto driver "cheh…! pakai auto boleh le blagak, cuba drive manual sure terhegeh nyer". She are car manual driver (savvy).

• LeBronJames on Jul 03, 2009 at 12:45 am

Good idea for our elder and gifted people but not normal people like us. This is a silly idea!!! Better to have additional license or class to educate people to use signal lights and how to give way better. Totally disagree, wasting time, pls use your brain power for a better use.

• vezeroth on Jul 03, 2009 at 12:53 am

This is a really bad idea! Already we have a numerous amount of people driving on the road with no knowledge what so ever on how to control their car…! They dont know how to break.. Look at the accident's.. most of them, the real cause if someone breaking for no apparent reason, and breaking hard! This cause a massive effect especially during peak hours and will either end up in an accident for someone down the line or a huge ass traffic jam… We already have people who drive, no knowing how to use their rear view or side view mirrors… Hoggin up the right lane, and going at snails pace! There are those, who dont use signal lights at all.. Already we can blame this poor lack of driving skills on the bribery of the official by the student who nowdays dont even need to sit for the test anymore… i mean wtf?… And now, with the implementation of an auto driving licence its just gonna get worst… Drivers will be less competent and have less skill in handling a car! Learning a manula is a must! Car control is nessasary, control of brake, clucth and accelerator! The hill test can only be done in manual! IF you can't pass the hill test, you shouldn't be on the road! Please dont implement the auto licence! we already have enough skilless drivers on the road! And yes… i'd say about 70% of these skilless reckless drivers are women..

On Retaking the test! An absolute must! Weed out the obnoxious on going corruption and make everyone retake the test every 5 years!

STOP the CORRUPTION first then re look at the driving syllabus, add the nessasary skills of breaking properly, collision avoiding and all that… Make sure all drivers understand road signs and common road courtesy, then and only then weigh in the 'option' of this automatic licence!!!

I'm so pissed! Stupid ministers simply implement new rules in our system… Bloody minister just wants to show he's doing something… fuck, you dont always have to follow the west!

• darrenpg on Jul 03, 2009 at 1:10 am

retest only for those saman kings and accident kings… to make sure they follow the rules

• Licenses are too easy to obtain and new drivers tend to take things easily on the road.

• Kevin on Jul 03, 2009 at 1:20 am

Allow auto for driving test… But license general… no such thing as auto or manual license if emergency u need to drive no license how????

• Bodowee on Jul 03, 2009 at 1:21 am

Actually all car drivers should know how to operate a manual tranmission …it's not like rocket science or anything …you just have to learn ….

Those who have not taken licence will of course laud the move by the gomen … i'd say pondan la these auto-only drivers !

• bobdbilder on Jul 03, 2009 at 1:43 am

They should put more emphasis on better driving skills. Defensive driving should be part of the syllabus. Above all things; Situational Awareness and Safety should be given priority. Raising the bar could only make things better for everyone. Its not what you drive. Its how you drive.

• greencar on Jul 03, 2009 at 1:53 am

any manual drivers have problem driving an auto? no right? anyone can swear he/she will not come to a situation to drive a manual cars, no right, there you have the answer!

• kereta on Jul 03, 2009 at 2:04 am

tahi kerbau! strategy nak carik duit lebih.. can weed out corruption? what a lame excuse

• motosonic on Jul 03, 2009 at 2:37 am

Hiyaaaa…paul..too long to read all the comment from all your fans.

Please make one column for all your 'die hard' fan. Good work mate…

• CocoBear on Jul 03, 2009 at 2:54 am

Maybe some ppl need clarification.

Why is there a requirement for driving license?

To pass our out-dated British Malaysian road laws.

Why is there a need for auto-only driving license?

Because some ppl don't like the fuzz on changing gears. In these days, for daily commute, auto trans can tackle traffic jams and ease the psychological pain of car jerking, car stalling etc.

I don't strongly agree with having a driving retest… Ppl nowadays don't have the time to be wasted on hearing those stupid theory lesson and experience stupid practical lesson. Really bullshit. Maybe retest is appropriate for those frequent traffic offenders. Instead of issuing fines and summons, let the offenders take retest. First retest costs RM200. 2nd retest costs RM500 and so on.. HAHAHAHA

• mystvearn on Jul 03, 2009 at 4:51 am

I renewed my license for 10 years, just before the gov said max 5 year license. I drive an auto car most of the time, but I have no problems driving a manual.

Also, those who are going for an Auto only license will not be able to drive manual cars, cause they just can't. Imagine 10 years with auto, then suddenly ask to go to manual, can you do that? Dono't think so

• Tiadaid on Jul 03, 2009 at 5:38 am

techboy_88 said,

July 2, 2009 @ 4:23 pm

Weed out the corruption first, then the govt. can do the auto transmission license thing.

One more thing, don’t spend too much on elections, by-elections, and anything political. Msia will be “kopak” for spending too much on political matters.

———————————————————–

Who do you think caused the by-elections? Blame them "prrrrs…"

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 03, 2009 at 6:02 am

its all about choice. if more people go for auto (for those living in the woods.. more people already go for auto in malaysia), so be it. its personal choice.

• Paul Tan on Jul 03, 2009 at 6:15 am

@mystvearn i think driving manual is like riding a bicycle or swimming, once you learn you'll never forget. it's really not THAT hard driving a manual is it?

• Blindworm on Jul 03, 2009 at 10:39 am

hurm… auto driving licenses? i hope it only be given to ppl who are above 35 years or older, juz my 2cent :P if given to young ppl for sure there will be problem in near future such as ppl driving manual car with auto driving license on the road juz bcoz they cant afford buying auto transmission car perhaps or juz simply bcoz its easy to pass the jpj driving exam using auto transmission as an example.

The main point is that, this will be probably one of the source for our local enforcer to get duit kopi rite? im confuses y our gov 1 2 implement alot of rubbish idea. They better get rid of the AP thing. So that we can get better quality car from other makers. Better QUALITY(material)!, SAFER!(safety devices installed etc), BETTER HANDLING! than our local car manufacturer! More good car on the road = less accident in future.

Y pay more for tin milo body car! crash tested i presume below the international standard? & much2 more? its not dat i wanna bash our local manufacturer, its juz dat they need some competition a lil bit so dat the end user will benefit more.

• I agree with the 1st comment.There is no need to retest if the driving mentality is correct.Retest is only a waste of time and funds for the users,encouraging more corruption if the retest method is very troublesome.

• fazlee on Jul 03, 2009 at 5:33 pm

Agree, need to re-test. For example, my young brother and sister get driving license at young age. After got their license, they didn't drive for 4 to5 month. And when I ask them to drive, they just don't know how to drive.. weird!

• tokmoh on Jul 03, 2009 at 7:23 pm

Paul Tan: Since I got my driving license 4 years ago, I rarely ever drive a manual car as both cars at my home are auto. Only recently I got a chance to briefly drive a manual car (my friend's), and God I realise my manual driving skill karat so much. I even stalled the car a few times.

But I do believe if I'm given a few more hours, then I can become used to it and confident to drive it on public road. Until then, driving on public road n getting stuck in traffic jams can be very, very intimidating. I do not wish to sound sexist, but I do believe I can handle my situation more rationally, whereas most women would probably just panic.

• oligopoli on Jul 03, 2009 at 8:07 pm

agree to re-test, but the idea of charging license holder to re-test is not really a good idea.

• LeBronJames on Jul 03, 2009 at 9:15 pm

darrenpg said,

July 2, 2009 @ 5:10 pm

retest only for those saman kings and accident kings… to make sure they follow the rules

Darrenpg,

Hi, You have some point here. We all must do our part. We don't slow down just because for summons sake. Police cannot summon you every time, is our mentality that counts. I feel that Kiasu attitude is more dangerous then H1N1.

On the other hand, summons only works on poor people like us and there is no harm to most of the Dato's etc. Why, all their summons will be waive just like credit anual fees. This is the truth. So speed traps is not an issue to them.

• should the retest for those who are retired…

• novack on Jul 04, 2009 at 12:13 am

yay…we need to learn more from singapore…all singapore good drivers…

• novack on Jul 04, 2009 at 12:13 am

opps…singaporeans*

• kereta on Jul 04, 2009 at 1:46 am

where got?? singaporeans looks good only in their country. their gov impose strict rules 90km/h max on their highway. damn tiring+boring. when they come to malaysia they speeding like mad.

• novack on Jul 04, 2009 at 11:31 am

that's why la our government need to use strict rules….haha

make sure the government control its citizen

• why need to learn from singapore…? small island easier to manage….we should from other places as well…what so big about singapore?

• rally_fan on Jul 04, 2009 at 8:21 pm

"what so big about singapore?"

not big.. its a small country, but more advanced in everyway, better economy, higher GDP, higher per capita income.. better infrastructure..err.. did i miss anything out…?

anyways I digress.. we shouldnt look at singapore.. why should we.. we should be aiming to be better than them. being big or small is no excuse at all. australia is a huge country, but they still have much better drivers than we do. its all about being civic minded. australia also has a large number of auto only license holders.. dont see that affecting that driving skills one bit.

• novack on Jul 04, 2009 at 11:20 pm

we need a government that is really really really strict…make sure that every little offences also will get the citizens to jail..so this will make sure that the citizens behaves as a civilized people…hahaha

btw..our people also like to compare everything with singapore..n say singapore better…

when the our government want to do what the same thing the singapore G's did, they said our G's want more income…weird…i thought our people want everything the same as singapore…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jul 05, 2009 at 2:22 am

It will be crazy for everyone to retake the driving tests. Have u seen or been through the queue at the driving centres?

• LeBronJames on Jul 07, 2009 at 12:14 am

Dear all,

Ofcource not all have to retake the test. Only Kiasu drivers need to retake! People who are caught without stopping at junction, speeding off red lights and refuse to use their signal lights should be taken seriously. This cowards drivers are the main cause of accident. Speed drivers & road conditions is another factors.

I don't care who you are, where your from, please follow the Malaysian law! For those patients drivers keep up the good work, you make a better world.

• auto transmission only license.. no good, you wont really learn to drive. this is like ….ok take this joypad and drive the car around (game)

as for retest…i agree with LeBronJames…. only ppl who get caught doing traffic offenses … say 3 times..take retest …and elderly ppl age 50 above…

• it's actually sad to picture manual tranny cars will become extinct in the future,even sooner if they implement this dual license.driving is a task for people nowadays thats why most prefer auto,if possible they want the car to drive by itself.for me,driving is still a pleasure.even traffic jam all the way i still stick with manual.just ease the clutch and dab a bit on the throttle to make the car crawls and glide.with auto,im fighting with the car wanting to go but i have to brake to hold it.doing frequent D>N>D in stop and go jams or D>N to let the car glide forward is bad for the gearbox rite?

i feel driving an auto car turned out to be a task!so damn boring and dull when the car shifts for me.its like being controlled,not me in control of the car.like how JC described in latest top gear,driving with a long face.maybe its time to create a manual driver's club or manual driver's association or human rights for manual drivers organization to keep us happy

• head hunter on Jul 20, 2009 at 8:44 am

stupid measure by the government. if you know how to drive a manual, there you have it, autos, steptronic, amt, paddle shift, whatever, a breeze. manual you have engine braking if you want to save yourself driving downhill. autos dont have much choice though, a few low gears to choose, but if the driver doesn't know anything put press, release, brake, then we have ourselves a catastrophe waiting to happen.

• I don't think the test conduct in auto transmission will be good…

• why corruption is an open secret in JPJ Malaysia? Haiz…

• To me it does not matter wether u drive auto or manual …what matters is road attiquets which we malaysian need to learn …malaysian does not have road disipline when it comes to driving….they dont know what is express lane ! Majority of people now shifting their car’s to Auto so….manual wil soon be no longer popular expecially when u like in a city where there is jam everyday !!

• Hi can i get an automatic license instate of a manual license