Mazda Premacy gets updated for 2010 in Japan

Mazda Premacy

The Mazda Premacy receives a small update in the Japanese market. What you get are new 17 inch dark grey alloy wheels, seat and door trim for the 20Z model. The 20CS model gets a new fuel economy gauge and a refreshed center panel. It’s a really small update really, but as the Premacy (known as the Mazda 5 in our market) was just facelifted in 2007 after its 2004 introduction any other exterior changes are not to be expected until a full model change arrives perhaps next year.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Christopher Tan on Jul 04, 2009 at 1:46 am

Kinda feels like exora on the front

• kereta on Jul 04, 2009 at 1:53 am

1st

• Zoom Zoooommm Ala Kazoooommmm

• danial on Jul 04, 2009 at 2:02 am

1st…!!!!!!!!!!!!!

good job by mazda

wonder gettin' more attractive front and rear end…….

• MUfaZa Alomo on Jul 04, 2009 at 2:10 am

Christopher Tan said,

July 3, 2009 @ 5:46 pm

Kinda feels like exora on the front

—————————-

eh,,mana boleh!!!! proton yg copy…..

tak kira jugak,,proton yg copy….

• bryant on Jul 04, 2009 at 2:34 am

Yup my 1st impression on the pix was Exora….

• Dan71 on Jul 04, 2009 at 2:56 am

Those who claimed they are the 1st to post comment…I wonder what is your motive to put that although you guys are not the 1st to do the posting….malu laa sikit..

• Littlefire on Jul 04, 2009 at 3:08 am

Exora standart is way to far compare to this… Stop comparing it with Exora, you make Mazda felt cheap in another way…

• uWang on Jul 04, 2009 at 3:11 am

ezora la..

• Dan71 on Jul 04, 2009 at 3:30 am

uWang what do you meant by ezora? Exora is correct laaa

• bmpower on Jul 04, 2009 at 4:00 am

ya lorr..

the shape was very similiar.

• mytouch on Jul 04, 2009 at 5:05 am

Yalor,the front looks so EXORA…

• kepalahotakexora on Jul 04, 2009 at 5:25 am

Chris tan, you should say Exora macam Mazda 5. They came out with the headlights first. Duh!

Ini Ploton main ciplak. Anyway, Mazda >150K stupid Exora ???

Boleh beli 3 bijik la.

Malulah, compare with Proton.

enough of EXora here and there. Compare Exora with Perodua's upcoming MPV la… same price bracket, same barangan buatan tempatan.

Anyway, saya bawak kancil pasal takde duit. Cheers.

• mitsuloton on Jul 04, 2009 at 5:26 am

Mazda Exorarara indeep.

• laa bro.. don't have 2 emosi like that. no need to act like a kids. they just want to compare with exora. about shape ,face and lamp. biasa la tu..compare rupa, bukan prestasi.

btw good job mazda. and now exora become nice too. heh

• boooringgg….not radical at all

• hengkem on Jul 04, 2009 at 7:30 am

Hello, Mazda 5 launched in 2004 and it has never changed its looks. The Proton MPV just recently came out….so, sapa tiru sapa ni??? Proton takde idea ke???

• nazri on Jul 04, 2009 at 7:59 am

yelah if proton put exora > rm150k price tag it will get 10 airbags, and lot more cool stuff inside…

cheers…

• Bodowee on Jul 04, 2009 at 8:07 am

Wahhh …sudah mau model change ka tahun depan ..nasib baib duit aku tak cukup lagi nak beli tahun nie kakakah

• Lancermania on Jul 04, 2009 at 5:30 pm

Y u guys always look down to P1 & P2??

come on, be mature lar, always comparing our car with the import 1, dun u all feel shame? live in Malaysia BUT nw supporting malaysia product AT ALL, everytime we try to improve, u all just say thr are this and tat, all the bad thgs only, if u thk tis kind of thgs is easy, go apply job @ P1 or P2, show thm yur CREATIVITY, dun jz knw critic here.

And remember 1 truth, Japanese car maker also do copying when they @ early stage.

• kepalahotakexora on Jul 04, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Is people like you always ciplak, lancer this and that. Proton is proton, eventhough you can fit lancer fenders and hood it is still a proton. Lekat Lancer pula. We want to support Malaysian made products. Who haven't driven or owned a Proton before. But the quality sucks. The resale value sucks. The design sucks. For 60-70K i would rather get a used vehicle. Apply creativity konon, u budak ke orang tua? Try applying for P1, see if your dream can materialize.So many designs to choose from and you get this lousy 70s centre console. Japanese can copy, but they surely did hell of a good job. Even the Koreans are improving. Look at Kia and Hyundai. Although still "tin-can feel" in some if their models, it is still good enough.Comapre their previous models and now. P1's design and stuffs, very very back dated.

Can you imafige living in a pencil case?

I pun pro barangan tempatan, tapi P1, apa nak pro sangat?

• miley on Jul 04, 2009 at 9:57 pm

haiz

• williaml on Jul 04, 2009 at 10:06 pm

Dear Paul,

Mazda Premacy was released in Japan market back in February 2005, and launched in April 2006 for Malaysia market. Most probably the third generation might be out by year 2011, longer product lifecycle for mini MPV.

Zoom Zoom…

• whatever, whatever, whatever….and mitsu is going to rebadge proton's model. How bout that sucka? blind basher…. And this premacy …omfg booringg

Im not blindly support malaysian product either….but as for now, I'm happy to consider another proton (exora) in my garage rather than livina, ugly avanza, ugly innova, chery eastar (ugly name & headlight) and this booring premacy (I just like the rims, tats all)

• Lancermania on Jul 04, 2009 at 11:25 pm

kepalahotakexora said,

Is people like you always ciplak, lancer this and that. Proton is proton, eventhough you can fit lancer fenders and hood it is still a proton. Lekat Lancer pula. We want to support Malaysian made products. Who haven’t driven or owned a Proton before. But the quality sucks. The resale value sucks. The design sucks. For 60-70K i would rather get a used vehicle. Apply creativity konon, u budak ke orang tua? Try applying for P1, see if your dream can materialize.So many designs to choose from and you get this lousy 70s centre console. Japanese can copy, but they surely did hell of a good job. Even the Koreans are improving. Look at Kia and Hyundai. Although still “tin-can feel” in some if their models, it is still good enough.Comapre their previous models and now. P1’s design and stuffs, very very back dated.

Can you imafige living in a pencil case?

I pun pro barangan tempatan, tapi P1, apa nak pro sangat?

Atleast thy got take the initiatif to improve themself, P1 thgs outdated??

u are the 1 who outdated i thk, P1 quality improve alot compare to last time, thy gt Lotus to tuned thier handling, and many of stuff are made in Malaysia.

as for the koreans car, i realy have nothing to say.

The wajalancer issue, u all are to sensitive i thk, jz 1 pic only u all can comeout with such many coment, who say malaysians nt creative??

For me, the main reason P1 stil stuck in tis kind of situation is the management problem, i not mean to be racsim, bt try u put a chi to manage, sure make thgs change alot. (and history also prove tis, Chinese always make profit more thn Malays)

• ...... on Jul 05, 2009 at 2:28 am

You know what the main problem of Proton.. is not from Proton itself.. it came from Malaysian people that always comment the same thing.. Not quality there & that & what so ever.. even nowadays proton did a good job & quality (when Syed Zainal as CEO replace the "OLD" CEO Tengku Mahaleel Ariff) people still comment the same thing. But the weird is the comments came from the people who not try at least for 6 month. So MANA DORANG DAPAT PENILAIAN?? From RUMOUR LAH!!!… & DENGAR DENGAR CAKAP ORANG…

• PrideandJoy on Jul 05, 2009 at 8:30 am

people bash proton when the design looks like other car but nobody say a thing about the new lancer when they look like alfa romeo.

• kepalahotakexora on Jul 05, 2009 at 8:46 am

Hahahaha, macam budak lawan. Trust me, when you see what is happening inside, you'll start to laugh. Just to give you an insight, the lotus tuned handling is all just a selling aid. "Lotus". It is just merely a stiffer bound and rebound setting that can be tolerated by the stiff chassis. P1 did got the know how from Lotus, the tuning done by P1 boys la. Wajalancer, siapo cakap pasal waja? Saya cakap pasal itu proton owners in general yang suka label label. P1 nak improve, boleh. Tunggu lah. 10 or 20 more years maybe. Just maybe.

To improve, you need to listen to comments, even though it is the same shit everytime. Tak payah borang penilaian. The CEO thing is not relevant. the old CEO lagi baik. It is how they manage the $$$. (eg. more inhouse, less outsourcing)

Biarlah, saya beli kereto terpakai saje.

• SY0H (Member) on Jul 05, 2009 at 10:05 am

As one of the Proton car owner, the only improvement they've made is the upgraded engine module IAFM-Campro and CPS-Vim-Campro. But quality wise, still no improvement; battery failure, rubber peeling off (door lining), knocking suspension, reverse sensor failure and power window failure and recently, weird noise coming from the engine. The car is just 5 months old!

For a normal Malaysian, with a low monthly income every penny is precious! People are frustrated because Proton could actually do more to fix these problems but they didn't. If Proton couldn't put much effort in improving itself, Proton will be cursed forever and ever. I say, cut-off your inefficient part vendors and be competitive or perish!

• eezarm on Jul 05, 2009 at 11:01 am

yes…the vendors and parts suppliers always failed in supplying quality parts for Proton…please, don't cheat the buyers…for proton's survival, get better suppliers with good standard…then, more people will go for proton and wont mind spending more money for quality and better products…

• raybrig85 on Jul 06, 2009 at 8:11 am

one of my fav small mpv n one of the best in its class…kudos to mazda…cant wait for the official launch n images

• gen2lama on Jul 06, 2009 at 5:36 pm

ahahaha…

no money….want 'good' car? buy used la…kahahah so pity….

bekas2 orang daaa….

• Pak Abu on Jul 06, 2009 at 6:37 pm

Wooo hooo…

Now everybody can buy exora and stick mazda stickers on it and feell vrooom vroommm

• gen2lama on Jul 06, 2009 at 7:59 pm

what for?

i'll choose bigger proton badge rather than mazda or mitsu…etc..

just proud to tell people i drive proton…

• Anti-Lousy Cars on Jul 06, 2009 at 9:53 pm

as refer to christopher saying that the mazda 5 looks like exora. for god's sake, would a japanese copy a sub-par designed car? or would u ssay that exora copy wish for the front?

anyway everyone would copy the best not the worst.

• initial R on Jul 07, 2009 at 2:38 am

Go see the wiki & comment

compare mazda premacy 1999 till 2005 & 2006 till 2009.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mazda_Premacy

peace :)

• the stik on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:14 pm

wey ape korang merepek ni haaa? its not exora.. its exhausted lerr..

• its a mazda mpv.why suddenly i see people gaduh about proton here?

• mazda5 owner on Aug 21, 2011 at 12:53 pm

now how? it has been 2 yrs already… the fact is: inspira design is 100% lancer.. and it is not cheap as well.. i am still using mazda5 yr 2008 and now mileage is around 50k… so wat car do u drive now?