Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

New BMW X1 compact SUV officially unveiled!

Advertisement

BMW X1

The new BMW X1 must be a very important car for BMW as for the first time ever with BMW press packs, I was having trouble handling the amount of photos they released! They released over 150 photos of a brown and a white X1 and the total file size for the hi-res pix was over 1,5GB, which I had to download then resize down to about 150MB before uploading.

The X1 measures 4454mm in length, 1798mm wide (2006mm with mirrors included), and 1545mm tall with a 2760mm wheelbase. In comparison, the X3 measures 4570mm long, with a 2795mm wheelbase. So it’s definitely a smaller vehicle, but the wheelbase is quite similiar to the current E90 sedan.

BMW X1

It’s also the first BMW SUV to come with a rear wheel drive version as well as xDrive. The most economical version is the X1 sDrive18d with rear wheel drive, putting out only 136g/km of CO2 and using only a measly 5.2 liters per 100km, equivalent to 54.3 UK mpg. The following are the various X1 variants:

Model Power (hp) Torque L/100km
xDrive28i 258 @ 6,600 310Nm @ 2,600-3,000 9.4L
xDrive23d 204 @ 4,400 400Nm @ 2,000-2,250 6.3L
xDrive20d 177 @ 4,000 350Nm @ 1,750-3,000 5.8L
sDrive20d 177 @ 4,000 350Nm @ 1,750-3,000 5.3L
xDrive18d 143 @ 4,000 320Nm @ 1,750-3,000 5.7L
sDrive18d 143 @ 4,000 320Nm @ 1,750-3,000 5.2L

BMW X1

As you can see the European range is mostly diesel-centric, with the sole petrol engine being the 3.0 liter inline-6, tuned to make 258 horses, hence the “28i” rating instead of “30i” which usually puts out about 272 horses in their latest incarnations. The rest are diesel, and ditching the weight and losses of xDrive reduces fuel consumption by about 0.1L per 100km with the 20d and 18d models. All manual models come with auto start-stop and a gearshift indicator.

BMW X1

The interior features a 40:20:40 split backrest at the rear which can extend the 420 liter cargo area up to 490 liters if you set the backrest angle to something more vertical, or if you just drop them down, storage goes up to 1,350 liters. The rest of the interior is a typical BMW and you don’t get some of the more modern interior bits such as the shift by wire gear knob and the Black Panel multi-info LCD, but you do get the new hard disk based iDrive system.

Look after the jump for a full press release, some videos, and a full photo gallery of the new BMW X1.

VIDEO: BMW X1 Product Footage

P90048793
P90048800
P90048951
P90048834
P90048929
P90048910
P90048939
P90048843
P90048972
P90048796
P90048948
P90048869
P90048908
P90048865
P90048917
P90048915
P90048830
P90048943
P90048866
P90048941
P90048922
P90048896
P90048973
P90048877
P90048837
P90048836
P90048874
P90048879
P90048827
P90048918
P90048883
P90048817
P90048940
P90048970
P90048797
P90048809
P90048802
P90048833
P90048799
P90048819
P90048913
P90048867
P90048944
P90048859
P90048891
P90048844
P90048946
P90048893
P90048829
P90048816
P90048806
P90048831
P90048959
P90048801
P90048921
P90048952
P90048909
P90048803
P90048822
P90048825
P90048936
P90048954
P90048846
P90048881
P90048894
P90048938
P90048798
P90048937
P90048814
P90048916
P90048792
P90048810
P90048821
P90048923
P90048853
P90048945
P90048875
P90048860
P90048963
P90048898
P90048974
P90048835
P90048901
P90048794
P90048888
P90048904
P90048828
P90048902
P90048956
P90048958
P90048795
P90048851
P90048928
P90048927
P90048870
P90048934
P90048971
P90048903
P90048885
P90048868
P90048967
P90048840
P90048906
P90048820
P90048850
P90048855
P90048960
P90048832
P90048805
P90048950
P90048856
P90048824
P90048872
P90048942
P90048924
P90048895
P90048911
P90048808
P90048962
P90048914
P90048812
P90048880
P90048873
P90048957
P90048920
P90048899
P90048839
P90048907
P90048932
P90048864
P90048845
P90048933
P90048858
P90048841
P90048863
P90048930
P90048848
P90048811
P90048804
P90048892
P90048897
P90048886
P90048900
P90048857
P90048953
P90048884
P90048826
P90048852
P90048935
P90048882
P90048912
P90048876
P90048975
P90048949
P90048823
P90048878
P90048871
P90048961
P90048890
P90048925
P90048887
P90048926
P90048931
P90048807
P90048862
P90048955
P90048969
P90048818
P90048847
P90048966
P90048968
P90048919
P90048813
P90048947
P90048842

38 Comments »

1. Kriss Bangla said,

July 3, 2009 @ 9:20 pm

wow

2. mitsuloton said,

July 3, 2009 @ 9:25 pm

Wow, petty women!!!

3. Babelon said,

July 3, 2009 @ 9:42 pm

when will come into M’sia?

4. zaff1984 said,

July 3, 2009 @ 9:50 pm

nice like both white and brown.

5. nmh said,

July 3, 2009 @ 10:22 pm

izzit full time 4wd?

6. Cyrus said,

July 3, 2009 @ 10:34 pm

Almost the same size as the X3

7. matt said,

July 3, 2009 @ 11:07 pm

nice rims…

8. KitKat said,

July 3, 2009 @ 11:14 pm

I prefer the chick over the car… But hey, if I got the car I can get more chicks easily, wise investment indeed…

9. nabil said,

July 3, 2009 @ 11:33 pm

how about prices? will it be close to x3 prices ?

10. Thomas said,

July 3, 2009 @ 11:34 pm

Sweet Car. I think it will arrive next year. Probably next year….

11. mystvearn said,

July 3, 2009 @ 11:43 pm

How much will it cost?

12. initial R said,

July 3, 2009 @ 11:56 pm

when can i have that chicks…. errkk i mean the X1. How much the tag price OTR. Hope bit cheaper than X3.

13. linebackerU said,

July 4, 2009 @ 12:38 am

bahaha click on that one pic!

14. New Car Guy said,

July 4, 2009 @ 1:47 am

Looks pretty sweet!

15. kodomo said,

July 4, 2009 @ 1:50 am

the Rear design is jus ‘perfect’ …. but i dun understand why ter need to have few sizes for this SUV thingy, or crossover watever, X1, X3, X5, X6 etc…. pretty sure those who can afford X3 can also afford X1 vice versa….

16. Nuts said,

July 4, 2009 @ 7:50 am

kodomo said,
    the Rear design is jus ‘perfect’ …. but i dun understand why ter need to have few sizes for this SUV thingy, or crossover watever, X1, X3, X5, X6 etc…. pretty sure those who can afford X3 can also afford X1 vice versa….
    _____________________________________________________________________________

You got a point there. Maybe They want to give people different kind driving pleasure and experiences, that’s why they introduced these models.

Anyway, I like the tyre rims…..XD

17. jason said,

July 4, 2009 @ 8:50 am

But between X1 and X3, for me they look almost similar in term of the measurements of vehicle.

18. shahzane said,

July 4, 2009 @ 8:56 am

is it in the same class as the audi Q5?i like this better than the x3. this will be my motivation to work harder and have the money to own these babies.hahaha

19. bmpower said,

July 4, 2009 @ 10:29 am

it’s small… not as big as you think.
    not as big as x5 .
    for easiest comparison, see the pic that the man put the surfboard one.
    for hardest comparison, check the stats document then compare it..

20. s60T said,

July 4, 2009 @ 10:31 am

The side profile is nice and the back is OK. I don’t quite like the front.The grille is too “flat”.would be nicer if it is sloping or rounded.

21. droll said,

July 4, 2009 @ 11:37 am

the front just looks too heavy. i still can’t understand the positioning of the X1 in the bmw stables.

22. KIMI_ said,

July 4, 2009 @ 1:47 pm

NICE LIGHTS AND FRONT. THOUGH I LUV IT ,BUT I THINK YOU R NOT ABLE TO PURCHASE IT.AREN”T YOU?

23. Black Dog said,

July 4, 2009 @ 4:56 pm

That’s my kind of vehicle.

But when is the ‘new’ diesel cumming?

24. epol said,

July 4, 2009 @ 8:01 pm

kia rondo? …

25. painsama said,

July 4, 2009 @ 8:09 pm

The chick is blurred. To bad.

26. Paul Tan said,

July 4, 2009 @ 8:55 pm

For some reason, the chick kinda looks like Tom Cruise to me.

27. karmacookie said,

July 4, 2009 @ 10:22 pm

Paul,

Is this the first time BM is positioning a woman in a bikini in their communication to customers?

Always thought the luxury brands avoided such associations.

28. TreeHouse said,

July 4, 2009 @ 11:50 pm

SO BeautiFUl..SO…Sexy…So…Perfectly Shape..I JUST LOVE IT…

THE HOT CHICK OF COURSE!!!!

29. Carlist.my said,

July 5, 2009 @ 3:06 am

The rims on that X1 is sexier than any women I know of.

30. blo0d said,

July 5, 2009 @ 3:57 am

the kidney grille is getting bigger… OHNO~!! ITS ALIVEEE!!! ahahahaha

31. PETRONAS BMW PROTON PERODUA said,

July 5, 2009 @ 6:27 am

lets bring this BMW to Malaysia and do technology transfer.. defeat Indon VW!!!

no more play2 on the Malaysia cars quality and customers service!

32. awak said,

July 5, 2009 @ 7:36 am

the secrect of good fuel efficiency
    flatter torque, or good low end torque, as good as 2500rpm at least,
    so strong car capable to push car at overdrive during low engine speed,
    ( of course it has to agree with calibration of the rationing the gear and to the designated engine capabily with the weight of the car)

and for town drive, shift point of transmission is without delay or so called short shifting, thus reduce engine over-reving, and down shifting is capable holding in gear push before any necessary kick down.

and this character could prolong the engine life span batter because engine works at low engine speed through out its life

WE have to think of this seriously. what to be done…

33. dk999 said,

July 5, 2009 @ 11:25 pm

Decepticon rims here i come…

34. FlamingFox said,

July 5, 2009 @ 11:52 pm

With looks like that, I think this will kill the X3

35. bobdbilder said,

July 6, 2009 @ 9:14 am

Just what the world needs right now; another SUV. There is something ironic about an SUV with paddle shifters. You know, like as if the drivers don’t have enough time to reach for the levers. Will take sometime for the electronics it to think (hmm.. enough traction on left rear wheel tyre?). More for final decision (which solenoid is that again?)

Did you notice that all the diesel variants have the same bore and stroke? It’s the German tax scheme again ainit? Buy a 1.8 and get the 2.3 inlet manifold.

36. king said,

July 6, 2009 @ 10:01 am

the low height of this X1 will make it seem much smaller than it is.

37. king said,

July 6, 2009 @ 10:18 am

fantastic set of rims… :) ~~~~~~

38. icyd said,

July 8, 2009 @ 12:31 pm

wow so economical!are those hippies,greenpeace and treehuggers still throw stones at every suv the see nowadays?

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: Volkswagen to invest US$140 million in Indonesia
next post: Coming soon: Smart Wheels!