New Proton Saga SE in showrooms from 15th August

Proton Saga SE

We now have more details on the new Proton Saga SE, which is positioned as a premium variant of one of Proton’s cheapest cars right now. The Saga SE continues using the 1.3 litre Campro IAFM engine that’s found in the rest of the Saga range except for the taxi model, so what exactly does “SE” mean? Here are the full details:

• Only two colours – brilliant red or solid white with a black finish roof top.
  • New front, rear (with faux diffuser design) and side skirts.
  • A new front grille with black finish.
  • Leather seats, door trim and steering wheel
  • Pearl white instrument cluster
  • Dark chrome air-conditioning vents
  • CD player with MP3 support

As previously mentioned, the Saga SE manual is priced at RM43,000 while the automatic transmission model is priced at RM45,500. It is available for booking now for RM500, but the cars will only be in the showrooms from the 15th of August 2009 onwards.

Look after the jump for more photos of the Saga SE.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=371]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• koozold on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:25 am

not bad P1 BLM SE!!

• "SE' means Second Edition. Am I right, Mr. Paul?

• roti naan1 on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:28 am

SE?

Specel Edition??

• Victor on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:29 am

First to comment, way to go Proton.

• fadhlan on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:30 am

demm…my housemate just bought manual saga…

he must be frustrated…

• Lawrence on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:30 am

simple modification compare to normal Saga.

• azhar70 on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:30 am

1stly, great car with affordable price,… i guest!

• Littlefire on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:32 am

Err… Is it too expensive for those modification? If i not mistaken normal Saga is price below RM40k..

• 1.3 or 1.6??

• Malcolm Lim on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:37 am

Anyone knows what materials are used for the bodykits? IF they're ABS then the price is worth it, otherwise really expensive. Can get them for much chaper. The rest of the car addons wont cost much.

• useless

• awg1031 on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:40 am

nope..the price is just nice with those leathers & skirting..i like it .hehehe

• techboy_88 on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:41 am

Definitely 1.3 engine only with body kits. SE or Special Edition is just like Ajinomoto. Anyway, any car companies in the world do the same "body-kit edition only" models for their cars, so don't simply bash Proton for releasing the "Special Edition (SE)" edition. BTW Proton, I wish you all the best & good luck.

• mozaks (Member) on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:42 am

nice rear bodikit… but exhaust tip is hidden?

• cam.shaft on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:47 am

i can't wait for Jezza to get his hands on this….piece of metal..

cam.shaft

• Chris Chong on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:48 am

They should've also plonked in a 1.6L Campro CPS, tweak the suspension a bit for better handling and fill out the wheel arches with wider tires and bigger rims. It'll give the Suzuki Swift Sport a run for it's money!

I'm sure most of us have seen some very tastefully modified Sagas around KL – a shame that Proton hasn't done the same or at least considered that there will be people queuing up for a genuinely performance-oriented Saga

• Matchy on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:59 am

Need a bigger spoiler…

Any pic of the white version?

• johan on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:02 am

well, it is a 5,000 ringgit cosmetic surgery, can anyone confirm you can do it at Brothers with a cheaper rate?

• infinity on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:04 am

where are the mufflers? duh

• infinity on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:05 am

and i dont see any "new" front grill…it is just repainted to black…

• apeng on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:06 am

normal lorr…some mysian people always bashing malaysian product….

never apriciate…proud on oversea product even it was the same style….

but still staying in malaysia…..y not stying at oversea lorr….n then can condem malaysia product….

• JEREMY CLARKSSON vs on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:13 am

I think its special because this SAGA SE HAVE NO MUFFLERS, NO EXHAUST..

do you think Malaysian hate mufflers? hate exhaust?? weird though.. I see on Malaysia road so many people want to install big2 mufflers with flame thrower system…. but now PROTON come up with special no muffler SAGA?? WTF!

WHERE IS THE MUFFLERS!!! PROTON better have option for customers who want high performance muffler!.. it is not a car with no muffler/exhaust la wei..

• JEREMY CLARKSSON vs on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:14 am

do you think Malaysian hate mufflers? hate exhaust?? weird though.. I see on Malaysia road so many people want to install big2 mufflers with flame thrower system….but now PROTON come up with special no muffler SAGA?? WTF!

WHERE IS THE MUFFLERS!!! PROTON better have option for customers who want high performance muffler!.. it is not a car with no muffler/exhaust la wei..

• fastcx on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:20 am

Oh no! i notice the "parachute"-ish wind stopper at the rear bumper hv 2 fake exhaust hole! er, not really hole either :P its 2 circle. now, thats a topic for bashers to continue ;)

anyway, for sage to be like swift sport killer? the rear springs n shocks need to be like 40% stiffer man, its too soft to be sporty.

for economic? i really hope proton invest in aerodynamic development, like a small wind deflector under the front bumper b4 the front wheel? less hole for grill? those 2 can help quite a bit in reducing air drag, gives us better fuel economy.

i dnt really care about performance in saga, its a small sedan supposedly for small family tat wants a low upkeep transport. for sportiness, just get a neo. leave saga alone!

• fastcx on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:22 am

oh, now they(bashers) change the topic to muffler huh? never recall ppl talks about vios/myvi for not sticking out the muffler :-/ hmm

• fastcx on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:24 am

muffler is definitely there, mayb just pointing downwards like in vios/myvi-ies…y when comes to proton, only ppl think of that? -.-" wierd ppl

• Christopher Tan on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:35 am

What a simple modification.No audio button on the steering also.

Paul,is there power windows on the rear door?

• nazri on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:38 am

paul, no picture of new waja replacement?

• Paul Tan on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:41 am

I know what the Utusan report said but AFAIK there was no Waja replacement in Johor. The Waja replacement was only shown at some event they held at PD, but only journalists were invited and I was excluded from the list.

• expensive plus the extra stuff are unnecessary for a car like this, how come still no passenger airbags..?? all protons are too expensive la.

• Gorgon on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:15 am

qoute:

JEREMY CLARKSSON vs MALAYSIA GOVERNMENT said,

July 7, 2009 @ 7:14 pm

do you think Malaysian hate mufflers? hate exhaust?? weird though.. I see on Malaysia road so many people want to install big2 mufflers with flame thrower system….but now PROTON come up with special no muffler SAGA?? WTF!

——————————–

Saga SE = electric vehicle wannabe, that's why no muffler installed

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:28 am

Sorry, SE not special enough. Should put airbag for passenger + at least ABS and it's okay without EBD. Sadly no black colour with silver grille finish. At least that will make me think of to get it as my next car.

Anyway, just my 2 cents comments. Proton please come out with black.

• 1 ugly car with upgrades again,Satria Neo CPS much better choice for that price.

• Virtuoso on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:49 am

hoho i got the satria neo rally S2000 photos. wh why paultan dont talk about this? proton doesnt allow? this car is in front of the Saga SE!!

• akupunya on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:50 am

SAGA SE is a saga for the person who want to own a cheap car with confortable and good looking finishing.

I think there are a high demand for this kind of SE because Saga has a good exterior design. The SAGA will not suitable to sell if the price more than RM45K. no more SE edition after this model and Proton should come with very new look SAGA after this, even Proton still using the same kind of engine.

SAGA is better than Myvi.

• lazyf on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:08 am

i still prefer B-Line Saga…hehehe

• kimi_ on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:24 am

TRUE, SAGA rides better than MYVI……

MYVI bounce too much when on the highways compared to SAGA…

MYVI sucks like hell…pity myvi owner

• khimfoh on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:33 am

The dark chrome air-conditioning vents looks ghastly out of place. Perhaps it should have been a darker shade of black. The leather seats are a nice touch though.

I am never a fan of front, rear and side skirts as to me the Saga looks quite okay without them.

• ExoraManual on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:37 am

From Proton Exora facebook

Exora Manual Available only in M-Line.

On the road price with insurance: RM64,998 (metallic) and RM64,548 (solid).

Now officially open for booking with RM1,000.

Only available for sale and viewing at all Proton Edar and EON showrooms on 16 July onwards.

• SavvY Owner on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:41 am

Knp savvy xde "SPECIAL EDITION"?Unfair…!!!!

• mystvearn on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:42 am

Exhaust built into bodykit? That is quite nice

• heman on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:43 am

the front look like lancer gt haha

• nisern on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:59 am

what a stupid comment , what car on muffler?

can pass regulation?

stupid kid.

• A nice touch from P1, but there is still room for improvement. Front foggies reminded me of Suzuki Swift Sport foggies… I know coz i see a Swift Sport at my parking lot everyday…

• nisern2 on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:12 am

stupid comment proton car no muffler.

cdo u think can pass regulation.

• In fact the more i see the more i see some design resemblance to the Suzuki Swift Sports, like rear bumper with twin exhaust hole summore with honey comb style… It could be me… another thing, a blackout headlamps would be nice.

• Awyn Evenhart on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:16 am

it is very ugly thats all i have to say about it. nonetheless, its a people mover and a people mover it is, but this is borderline grandiose of proton to make such an ugly DOWNGRADE to this NANo-ish Malaysian mover. i hope the waja replacement model which is a lancer dont get ugly as this fail SAGA SE!

• ginto on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:31 am

wat? se again? juz change the bodykit & leather seat and call se? definition=small exchange crap

• Nothing much to brag and pretty much boring when this is compared to persona SE!

• HateProton on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:42 am

hate proton, exora cannot sell , force the bank to naik interest rate! now you know why so many ppl hate proton!

• nak beli saga se tapi kalo mcm ni tak jadi la on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:48 am

mengecewakan…igtkan kuar saga se ada dual airbags, abs and so on…huhu

• ken_Tank91 on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:02 am

boleh tahan r…

gud job prton…

tapi xde ABS kew??

• 5k….. ok 4 me…. try do it outside n might cost a bit more. hence 2nd hand price……. no 1 will pay extras when the SE badge not there….. if the guys complain, the tell p2 about the premium and SE……. same mkt strategy here……

• Blm fanz on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:14 am

Damn.. Where is the RED Concept Spoiler?

oooo…frust..just put it lah…

i want the SPOILER….

• whiteeye on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:17 am

u call that se? A Piece OF CRAP!

• Plastic car..zzzzzzz

• Maserati on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:18 am

YUCKS!

You call that Special Edition ??!! Damn,it looks like the normal saga with such minor additions and they charge an extra RM 5000 on that piece of junk??!This is what we call utter RUBBISH!

Damn,I have seen my colleague mod his Saga so much nicer than this piece of crap for a fraction of that price.

But in the end,its just pure marketing strategy to bring in more sales to the already slumping sales of the SAGA.

For that price,it is the worst modification I have ever seen.RUBBISH!

• whiteeye on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:23 am

Now days still got people think their National Car NO. 1, jesus not becoz of the tax? 43 k to 45,500 k probably we are getting City Or Vios, a piece of crap still had people proud of. Typical Malaysian that think that way, n don't mistaken and adding politic into it, n i'm Malaysian too.

• goguncas71 (Member) on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:31 am

Ha..ha..the interest rate for non-national cars went up because of Proton?

What have you been drinking?

The rate has went up because previously it was lower than national cars (P1 and P2) since the banks thought that only poor people bought national type cars and the loan default rate would be higher and thus higher rates for local cars to cover the risk compared to those who buy Vios and City.

But apparently the dafault rate is about the same therefore the interest 'discount' for foreign makes are going away…

• Samsuddin Raja Lope on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:31 am

ok ler tu tapi kena gempak lagi baru ler….dikatakan SE….

• whiteeye on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:36 am

wat lau! Omg 43 k to 45, 500 k that the crap cos the Malaysian to but the junk? If i'm not mistaken we already can buy vios or city or much more n not more than 70 k, so still got people proud of it just a bit modification u call that SE, sorry if i'm to mean on it but for sure i do mean it, not becoz of the tax everybody can own a better car and not junk! I'm Malaysian too.

• Safety-first on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:45 am

The red paint-job looks nice though.

I'm curious about the safety equipment. Based on the pic's there is no passenger airbag. So only drivers air-bag? How about ABS?

Nope, don't think its that badly overpriced compared to the Persona though. I personally would rather go for the top of the line Saga compared to a totally empty Persona (at least I can say that my Saga is the best compared to the other Saga's compared to the worst Persona compared to the Persona SE, lol) – not sure if other people think like that though. I guess that same argument applies when I would rather get a fully equipped Waja CPS compared to an empty Vios J.

• whiteeye on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:46 am

P1 And P2 always come up with the SE mood, typical car's nowdays!

• Automotive_Critics on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:52 am

First, gear lever feels like..tall and cheap. The leather just not enough to transform it to better looks. Why not put gated shift style as you already have in Waja. Azlano can answer?

• muryadi on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:19 am

well done proton.. just ignore those who are full time bashing …hahahaha..

• ginto on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:23 am

at lease some kind new…kinda TE turbo edition tat will pleasant ^^ hehe

• ginto on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:25 am

at lease some kind new, kinda TE turbo edition tat will be pleasant hehe

• Lolipop on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:38 am

Paul Tan said,

July 7, 2009 @ 7:41 pm

I know what the Utusan report said but AFAIK there was no Waja replacement in Johor. The Waja replacement was only shown at some event they held at PD, but only journalists were invited and I was excluded from the list.

————

Pretty sad to hear that.. later call sifu or 460 to invite u paul..

• Lolipop on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:41 am

whiteeye said,

July 7, 2009 @ 11:36 pm

wat lau! Omg 43 k to 45, 500 k that the crap cos the Malaysian to but the junk? If i’m not mistaken we already can buy vios or city or much more n not more than 70 k, so still got people proud of it just a bit modification u call that SE, sorry if i’m to mean on it but for sure i do mean it, not becoz of the tax everybody can own a better car and not junk! I’m Malaysian too.

—–

So what? buy saja ma. No tax bli kat langkawi ma.. today everything tax. if u think tax so expensive, try go singapore lo.. The tax we can buy another SE car!

• hitman on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:52 am

…so what exactly does “SE” mean? Here are the full details:

Only two colours – brilliant red or solid white with a black finish roof top. (so?)

New front, rear (with faux diffuser design) and side skirts. (ok lah boleh accept)

A new front grille with black finish. (ooohhhh)

Leather seats, door trim and steering wheel (ok lah but proton quality leather has always been questionable. steering wheel would have come from the common parts bin so no big deal)

Pearl white instrument cluster (so?)

Dark chrome air-conditioning vents (wah…)

CD player with MP3 support (duh…)

of all things, they didn't bother about the wheels, ride height, the lights, audio control function on the steering wheel, your airbags, etc.

burppppp.

better try next time round.

at least the r3 boys have better taste. sad that the mainstream guys in P1 cannot tap some ideas from these guys who happen to be in the same company.

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• hitman on Jul 08, 2009 at 9:19 am

what ever happened to that "concept" "special edition" variant showed off during the launch of the saga? that was not a bad looker. in contrast, this one is just purely bad looking.

sad to say but the new SE does not augur well for a company like proton that is aggressively looking forward and wanting to gain greater global presence. how lah if this is the type of offering produced.

There is enormous talent within the company yet it is not reflected in this new variant.

Pearl white instrument cluster…i laughed when i read it again. not white mind you, pearl white. my God.

for argument sake….yes u can make a cheap car look exclusive but it comes at a price and the consumer must ready to accept and pay for it. if you feel you cannot do it within a stipulated budget, just don't bother doing it and people will go on appreciating the existing model as it is which is an affordable introductory get around vehicle.

• champion on Jul 08, 2009 at 9:19 am

Biasalah change bodykit /rims/spoiler

/leather seats/dashboard name it "special edition"

and finally also add the price of the car.

If P1 had maintained the price under 40K it would have been a "steal".

but its the opposite way now.- just as the demand is seen rising

they are capitalising the situation by increasing the prices.

Hello P1!!. what kinda business module is this?

• Leo Lim on Jul 08, 2009 at 9:33 am

Paul, i sees that the new saga have a new set of 13" rims too, could you add it in to the list?

• Leo Lim on Jul 08, 2009 at 9:34 am

i mean the Saga SE

• CocoBear on Jul 08, 2009 at 9:52 am

Nothing so special unless Proton paint a the bonnet black. So that will capture the essence of Ah Bengness…

• adrian on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:08 am

its still a crappy car from proton

• roti naan1 on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:29 am

After seeing the picture of the car, it looks like a turtle…

hahaha, toyota got dugong, p1 got turtle…..

• Bodowee on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:32 am

What the grille mesh hole that big?????? That's truly special !

• saga owner on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:53 am

SE suppose to be that consumer cant get package on b-line or m-line..

must be got ABS,EBD, dual airbag. give more safety.

come on la proton…

just want to shared my story..i already change my saga to SE also la if like this..hahaha

buy new saga b-line last year rm34999 +

+lenso rim rm1200

+pioneer player with mp3 rm330

+skirting,spoiler rm900

+muffler tip rm150

+leather seat and door trim rm450

+signal on side mirror rm180

so total only rm38209….see i already got SAGA SE that much better than this

• better asking ur friend if really need a car in feul burget.

if just for fun, tt is no problem.

for my opinion,

below 2000 rpm = 0.165/km

above 2000rpm=0.19/km

i mean in between 1,2,3 speeds. n 4th u can control in 2000rpm edi. haha

i used to have a auto 1.3 m-line.

• mengQ on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:55 pm

Hmm… still the new Myvi SE has a better looking,

and also ride and handling. =)

• saga owner said,

July 8, 2009 @ 2:53 am

come on la proton…

just want to shared my story..i already change my saga to SE also la if like this..hahaha

+lenso rim rm1200

+skirting,spoiler rm900

+muffler tip rm150

then why dont u show us ur saga

juz leave a link

cheers!

• azrai on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:11 pm

It's just a cosmetic modification. Syed Zainal really adopts perodua's strategy in giving SE and bodykit feature to existing line. Way to go. it's marketing man.

• apexg2 on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:14 pm

no gprs?

• New Saga Owner Oso on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:31 pm

saga owner said,

come on la proton…

+lenso rim rm1200

+skirting,spoiler rm900

+muffler tip rm150

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/07/new-proton…
    —————

Bro..if u dont mind, can u give your car picture..hehe.. i got the same idea like u.. Sharing is caring..

• Sung5366 on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:01 pm

Is a very good car from Proton. Value for money and also handling. Powerful engine too. At least is base on a chassis from a continental car the handling and ride quality out shine most of the japanese budget car out there.

• ericfoong81exe on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:08 pm

45k for a car with these upgraded parts? Worthless….way too expensive compare to normal version.

• peYno on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:15 pm

azrai said,

July 8, 2009 @ 8:11 am

It’s just a cosmetic modification. Syed Zainal really adopts perodua’s strategy in giving SE and bodykit feature to existing line. Way to go. it’s marketing man.

http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/07/new-proton…
    ==============

SE by giving BK and features is not perodua strategy man.. it is a norm in global automotive industry.. even proton used to come out their SE version for Wira aeroback few years ago

• nighttrain on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:16 pm

Was hoping for twin exhaust design intrgrated into the bumper.. Like hitman said, the enormous talent at the design center have yet to show their fangs. When then? Are the fat boys in management whipping you guys down? Come on guys, lets see some aggresive 'we-don't-care-if-it-doesn't-sell' Chris Bangle attitude.. Nuvolari grille tu.. just not original. Try again lor for RS version hehe..

• donno on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:18 pm

I saw the reflections of the Satria Neo S2000 on the saga SE! Anyone has the pictures of the Neo S2000??

• fastcx on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:32 pm

saga owner said,

"+skirting,spoiler rm900"

do u want to compare the material u used n the 1 from factory? go figure…

1 more thing, some ppl rather included all this in their car loan n pay as installment with warranty covers by factory. while if u do it outside, u need to fork out money/card to do it, does tat give u installment plan? u willing to fork out that kind of money in a lump sum? pls, the market is big, their target clearly isnt u guys that complains about it.

in chinese saying, ???????, u dnt know the price of wat u r getting.

• EYESORE on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:39 pm

Walaweh… never enough… bagi betis nak peha pulak…

last time i heard somebody said proton told govt to change fuel (RON92 to RON95)… i also heard somebody said proton told govt to increase tax on foreign cars… in this very blogs…

now…. somebody said proton told banks to increase interest for foreign car so they can sell cars…..

walaweh… proton is that powerful meh??? can control govt…an now can control banks… waaah… hmmm i wonder what they gonna control next… -.-

• p1basher on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:42 pm

p1 shud watch american car customization show more to come up with more practical addition in se.

• p1basher on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:45 pm

i cant believe the fugly steering design can last for so many years and protong dun consider to change it

• bmpower on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:27 pm

so many p2 salesman here.

i think their sales (especially vivai) drops like hell..

• Whats witht the front grille? Lancer wannabe XD

Did i read correctly? Black finish roof top? OMG…they thought this is BMW M3???

• alianur on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:38 pm

fastcx said,

July 8, 2009 @ 9:32 am

saga owner said,

“+skirting,spoiler rm900?

do u want to compare the material u used n the 1 from factory? go figure…

hey, i bought cun airmaster bodykit for just 1300 for saga with spoiler. it s the best material for bodykit .plus twin muffler tips just at 180, and i can add new 15 inch sport rim for 1000,and leather seat for 500.spray here and there..it s just almost 3k.To add 5k for this simple SE bodykit, i dont think it s worth it. so the question is..WHY WE NEED TO BUY SE if we can modify better with better cost. only one reason…

if makcik or pakcik yang malas to go here and there to modify, to just buy the complete set. and also price below myv M-line that cost 46k. so still got pro and cons.

except..if proton modify and change the suspension, and acceleration to make it more sporty version..:)

• anti-Proton on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:48 pm

another stupid attempt. rather spend ur $ on 2nd hand vios or city oso wont buy this rubbish car.

Juz my 2 cent

• SE suppose to be that consumer cant get package on b-line or m-line..

come on la proton…

+lenso rim rm1200

+skirting,spoiler rm900

+muffler tip rm150

u miss something;;;;

the body colour… plus RM4k to change that body colour.

steering with airbag……….

Why all people condemned this so-called SE version of SAGA??? Most car manufacturer do the same thing but you just ignore it. But when it comes to PROTON, suddenly all become the hero & the intelligent, "dont like this, this is wrong, this is cheap bla bla… "

If we dont like it just ignore it, do you think PROTON hear our voice here?? or care about our opinion???

Hey, even their own website (www.proton.com) already suspended & they doing nothing, do you think they care about our opinions here??

Last but not least. People always blame the designer if the concept or design is not good… we must know, designer do the designs, give their superior options to choose, if the boss chose the bad one, what can designers do?? Please dont blame the designers, at the end it all up to the person who chose the design…

Ohhh scrappy English, my bad….

• kremer on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:03 pm

at my place, klang, the saga owner already modified their saga….so beautiful design and modification.p1 design the base to modified well.congrats..err where P2 nautica? sinced it release i only saw 1 time at shah alam…

• madboy on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:17 pm

apexg2 said,

July 8, 2009 @ 8:14 am

no gprs?

This is not a phone la bro. If you are talking about GPS, then no need to buy from Proton la, get Garmin or Papago unit that come with free map up-date.

• hi everybody…its already revealed. em, for ur info, every bodykit produce by proton is subject to test especially wind tunnel testing. it is not only for cosmetic purpose but also aerodynamic purpose. the new grill will promote eficiency of air into the engine bay and also the engine. the engine will be better breathing on highway driving because it sucks air more efficient and cooling the engine fast. u can see all of this being practice by big manufacturer such as vw. the bodykits also help the high speed driving dynamic. of course it is not as better as satria neo cps bodykits, but it serve its purpose.

the bodykit that u can buy in ah beng shop is not tested and material quality also different. where u can get fully leather seats and door trim for rm400? is it really leather. even for p.u full seat cover did cost u around rm600-rm 800. i mean a quality one even with the cheapest price, u won't get it around rm 400.

and the different in price for the highest specs m-line with se is around rm4000 not rm 5000. all the bodykits and leather trim are subjects to warranty which u cannot get if u outsouced.

for those who said p1 should learn how to do a bodykits like us shows, do u know how much it cost for such customs? and they did not tested the bodykits, it is only for cosmetic only.

if proton slump 1.6 campro engine, even the baseline model for 1.6 price around rm 39000. it will be above rm 50k if proton put cps in the engine bay and all the airbags and abs system. as mention before, there are passive and active safety. for saga, proton focus more on passive safety such as sturdy chasis. SRS airbags is only suplement as the name suggest Suplemental Restraint System. since many readers like to google, try check how much the effectiveness of this airbags. the main safety system is seatbelt. as manufacturer, proton must focus first on passive safety and then active safety.

it is hard to satisfy every one. if u really concern about numbers of airbags and abs, why dont u buy persona h-line,persona se, gen2 cps, waja cps, neo cps and also exora h-line and m-line. there a a lot of proton cars offers those active safety just choose one. to tell u the truth, proton seatbelts for front passenger always equip with pretensioner(all cars) and load limiter(for airbags unit) but if u check for example nissan latio, only 1.8 version equip with pretensioner eventhough the most impotant part in safety is seatbelt. if u think proton never think about safety, think again. dont blind by brand. adios…………..

• Doggie Style on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:22 pm

roti naan1 said,

July 8, 2009 @ 2:29 am

After seeing the picture of the car, it looks like a turtle…

hahaha, toyota got dugong, p1 got turtle…..

——-

Oh Mann.. r u blind?

• ops, mis one more, savvy h-line also have dual airbags and abs and ebd. the choice is yours. protn try it best to price its products. adios

• gugusan melur on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:38 pm

whatever u all bashing, this car far better than rubbish p2 cars hahahahahahahahahahaha

• farghmee on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:49 pm

so it is a "make-up" thingy..like perodua..

but hey, the exhaust tip should be in place with that purposely made holes there.

nice color :)

• is either the proton's designers lack of creativity or simple too lazy with their work…

absolutelty rip off for such a price with lousy upgrade!

• Hi shag,

The price on leather seats is rm450 ? May i ask where can i get such price? Cuz i am planning to wrap leather to my seats too.

• rockersold on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:33 pm

My gosh..too many stupid comment in here..no muffler, SE without ABS, RM5,000 for some 'simple' addition and bla..bla..bla..the people who was comment all this bullshit is actually never drive this car before or actually never have intention to buy this car or any other Proton cars. Saga is BLM = Base Line Model for Proton! Base line Model is basic model which is affordable and at the same time still have Proton identity in it. You want muffler? Just buy Neo CPS! you want ABS? just buy Waja CPS!

• Xin…

Aiyo how come i know the price ler, im not the dealer or agent or whatsoever… ask PROTON…

• SE..sport edition…

• Chris Chong on Jul 08, 2009 at 9:10 pm

If I could choose between a Satria Neo CPS and a Saga 1.6 CPS (possibly costing closer to RM50k), and assuming that the Saga's handling can be tuned to be pretty close to the Satria's – i'd probably choose the Saga since I'd actually have a decent boot and rear seats that are big enough for adults.

And if the weight can be kept below that of the Satria Neo CPS, then it would have better acceleration, at least.

Unless I'm horribly mistaken, aren't the 1.3 and 1.6 Campro blocks identical except for the stroke length? Does a 1.6 Campro cost Proton that much more to make than a 1.3?

If Proton wants more people to take it seriously, they should do more than simple cosmetic changes. A special edition should really be special – and if it's really a whole lot better, I believe people would be willing to pay extra.

• initial R on Jul 08, 2009 at 9:43 pm

460, can i suggest that Proton produce Saga Type S LE 1.6 CPS Turbo with full moded. Dilengkapi "wind tunnel tested bodykit". Rim 16inc, tayar low profile. Warna skim sama dengan neo CPS. Kasi lowed sikit. mesti ok. Price not more than RM55k. :)

• leonardo on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:03 pm

Same marketing approach as MyVi SE, but much cheaper.

• tambah body skirt,spotlight,ubah design sport rim lepas itu kata SE dan jual mahal mahal…kenapa tak buat sekali je…nak cari untung ke? pls reply paul…

• lowprofile on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:57 pm

er, i actually kinda like the treatment but think that the price should be slightly more affordable (afterall, most of the parts or upgrades can be bought from accessory shops nowadays)… now it is too close to the entry level persona auto… hmmm, if they lower it more, then it will be too close to standard saga, not an easy job for the proton guys to price their cars ;)

hmmm, what's with the craze about full black grilles? i think somebody in there idolises the audi grille too much. and what's the point of the black roof? wanna look like it has a panoramic roof like the 308 turbo? hahahaha :D

• najib@kajib on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:58 pm

DARI DULU SAMPAI S'KRANG TAK UBAH UBAH LAGI KELUARAN PROTON.JUAL MAHAL,KENA LANGGAR JADI MCM KEREPOK LEKOR.TAK ADA SAFETY.KITA RAKYAT M'SIA PUN DIJUAL MAHAL MAHAL,APA KITA INI KAYA KE?ORG KAYA KAYA MCM DATO,MENTERI,TUN DAN SEWAKTU DGN NYA DAPAT FREE TAPI……..tak tau nak kata apa.!JUAL DGN HARGA YG RAKYAT M'SIA MAMPU BELI BUKAN DGN HARGA rm43,000 KALAU rm35,000 KE BAWAH SEMUA RAKYAT M'SIA MAMPU BELI KALAU MURAH LOAN PUN SENANG DAPAT.FIKIR LAH,BANYAK RAKYAT M'SIA YG INGIN BELI TAPI KALAU MAHAL MCM INI SAMPAI MATI DIA ORG TAK AKAN FEEL THERE OWN CAR……CRAZY SALES

• wasting of money buying malaysian car.

• scottloeb on Jul 08, 2009 at 11:55 pm

Alah, cerita banyak korang ni bukan beli pon. Nak proton buat mcm2 tapi lepas tuh cari vios J kemudian tak kondem pon plastic la apa lah. Mahal la apa lah, pergi beli kat Langkawi/Labuan la, nak tadak tax. Vios 40K? in your wettest, wildest dreams lah bro, Labuan, Langkawi 48/49K including shipping. Check la Saga Labuan berapa beb.

Aku pasal tak beli, so aku diam je lah. Kalau lama2 proton mati kan semua org senang? Ramai org tak boleh cari makan semua org tepuk tangan sbb semua org boleh beli BMW 80K kan? Tauke vendor apa peduli, dia drive S-class limo, pastuh tampal sticker PPP, item dia defect rate 65%, deformation 30%, swell 30%. Nak kejar 0.02 DPU camna kan kalau supplier bebal?

Stupid malaysian.

Anyway, I'm sorry to tell you bro 460 sometimes your effort is not really appreciated here lah. Your parts homologation and warranty concern org tak kisah, yg penting murah, bila suruh diorang beli kereta China diorang tak nak plak, BYD rupa cam Merc C class tuh. Phone Nokla diorang tak suka pon. Diorang peduli apa cD drop berapa pon, yield ke, stress ke, torsion ke yg penting diorang bawak kereta jepun. Kalau proton CKD MarkX or 350Z diorang kata baik tutup sbb RnD tak buat kerja. penatlah jadi engineer.

• gugusan melur on Jul 08, 2009 at 11:56 pm

bodo punya najib@kajib ni, perodua lagi mahal dari proton…kena langgar lagi teruk jadi lempeng teros…

• Patrick on Jul 09, 2009 at 12:13 am

To me the prices of Proton cars are still high considering the fact that they are locally made. Why do Malaysians need to pay such a high price for locally made products?

• good boy on Jul 09, 2009 at 12:13 am

whats the matter? myvi se cost more without NO MUFFLERS, NO EXHAUST but malaysian still consider to buy it right? it comes from your heart wihich one you like.

• Dj_VaniLLa on Jul 09, 2009 at 12:19 am

Quote from 460

hi everybody…its already revealed. em, for ur info, every bodykit produce by proton is subject to test especially wind tunnel testing. it is not only for cosmetic purpose but also aerodynamic purpose. the new grill will promote eficiency of air into the engine bay and also the engine. the engine will be better breathing on highway driving because it sucks air more efficient and cooling the engine fast. u can see all of this being practice by big manufacturer such as vw. the bodykits also help the high speed driving dynamic. of course it is not as better as satria neo cps bodykits, but it serve its purpose.

the bodykit that u can buy in ah beng shop is not tested and material quality also different. where u can get fully leather seats and door trim for rm400? is it really leather. even for p.u full seat cover did cost u around rm600-rm 800. i mean a quality one even with the cheapest price, u won’t get it around rm 400.

and the different in price for the highest specs m-line with se is around rm4000 not rm 5000. all the bodykits and leather trim are subjects to warranty which u cannot get if u outsouced.

for those who said p1 should learn how to do a bodykits like us shows, do u know how much it cost for such customs? and they did not tested the bodykits, it is only for cosmetic only.

if proton slump 1.6 campro engine, even the baseline model for 1.6 price around rm 39000. it will be above rm 50k if proton put cps in the engine bay and all the airbags and abs system. as mention before, there are passive and active safety. for saga, proton focus more on passive safety such as sturdy chasis. SRS airbags is only suplement as the name suggest Suplemental Restraint System. since many readers like to google, try check how much the effectiveness of this airbags. the main safety system is seatbelt. as manufacturer, proton must focus first on passive safety and then active safety.

it is hard to satisfy every one. if u really concern about numbers of airbags and abs, why dont u buy persona h-line,persona se, gen2 cps, waja cps, neo cps and also exora h-line and m-line. there a a lot of proton cars offers those active safety just choose one. to tell u the truth, proton seatbelts for front passenger always equip with pretensioner(all cars) and load limiter(for airbags unit) but if u check for example nissan latio, only 1.8 version equip with pretensioner eventhough the most impotant part in safety is seatbelt. if u think proton never think about safety, think again. dont blind by brand. adios…………..

bravo for 460..

These make some of dude here,knows what is a car.. :)

• muryadi on Jul 09, 2009 at 12:31 am

thanks bro 460.. really appreciate it..

• nighttrain on Jul 09, 2009 at 12:46 am

cayalah scottloeb, bley cakap melayu.. bro, it's the seething undercurrent of protectionism that's making the guys here bash like crazy. Basically it's not really bashing engineers and designers. Most of us think it's the most exciting job in the world, to be a car designer/engineer, even if for Proton. It's the business part that's killing all the fun and competition. Dahla miss the opportunity of getting super high quality cheap parts sebab tanak JV dengan VW. Sekali nak jual pada harga yang rata-rata setuju mahal sket r. THAT would explain the incsessantly morbid bashing of our beloved Proton.

• Shag,

Cuz you say u can just addon the items to a Bline and get cheaper price than SE ma. So i think you should know since you quoted

Cause FYI, i have asked many shops and all they quoted to me is rm1k above . So you are just speculating the price instead ?

• scottloeb on Jul 09, 2009 at 1:19 am

Bro nightrain,

Semua org concern pasal duit je. Tada sapa tengok collective effort yg proton dah buat, berapa ramai engineer yg proton dah churn out, skang kerja dengan other car companies, spin off other industry and such.

I love the thought that Proton dpat work with VW group cheap, quality part (yg part bin nya melambak and the platform sharing possibilities with succesful product) tapi nak buat camna, condition imposed by VW masa tuh just too much, and maybe in the future ada rezeki mana tau, or mungkin Khazanah nak beli equity dlm Mitsu ke, (lepas MMC kena ditch by DChrysler dulu). Tapi the myth yg kalau Proton takde org leh beli 'so called imported cars' cheaper is BS. But apa yang ada sekarang kena lah buat elok2, and I think most importantly the frontliners yg slalu bawak taik tuh kena improve, bukan takat product je. Aku tgh shop arn for MPV, exora sounds reasonable lah. Tapi bila tgk service centre dia suka hati, aku pon pikir balik. Masa nak dpt duit mcm2 janji, dah jual campak kat service centre main taram je.

Anyway, Saga SE is a car build by marketing, bukan engineering. Kalau engineering dia dah boh mcmcm dah, but bila other car company buat (read P2 Myvi SE, or TRD Vios, Honda Modulo City) ok, Proton tak berbaloi lah, waste of moneylah, ah Beng/Brothers body kit better. So you can see lah camne punya mentality malaysian ni ada.

• intermilan on Jul 09, 2009 at 1:36 am

At RM45,550 for the Saga SE Auto (assuming that is the OTR price) it is still quite expensive.

Let examine the REAL cost of the Saga SE and compare it with some other models in the market.

Saga SE (Auto)

Price : RM45,500 (assume OTR price)

DownPayment @ 5% : RM 2,275

A) 95% Loan – 9 year @ 3.75%

Monthly repayment: RM535.31

Total payable: (RM535.31 x 9 x 12) + RM2,275 = RM60,088.48#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM12,313.48

If 100% loan i.e. no d/payment;

Monthly repayment : RM563.48

Total payable : RM563.48 x 9 x 12 = RM60,855.84#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM15,355.84

B) 95% Loan – 7 year @ 3.65%

Monthly repayment: RM646.06

Total payable: (RM646.06 x 7 x 12) + RM2,275 = RM56,544.04#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM8,769.04

Monthly repayment : RM680.06

Total payable : RM680.06 x 7 x 12 = RM57,125.04#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM11,625.04

Let's compare with Myvi SE (Auto n Normal Metallic colour).

Price : RM53,400

DownPayment @ 5% : RM 2,670

Monthly repayment: RM628.25

Total payable: (RM628.25 x 9 x 12) + RM2,670 = RM70,521#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM14,451

Monthly repayment : RM661.32

Total payable : RM661.32 x 9 x 12 = RM71,422.56#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM18,022.56

B) 95% Loan – 7 year @ 3.65%

Monthly repayment: RM758.23

Total payable: (RM758.23 x 7 x 12) + RM2,670 = RM66,361.32#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM10,291.32

Monthly repayment : RM798.14

Total payable : RM798.14 x 7 x 12 = RM67,043.76#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM13,643.76

And now with Myvi EZi (Auto n Normal Metallic colour)

Price : RM49,700

DownPayment @ 5% : RM 2,485

Monthly repayment: RM584.72

Total payable: (RM584.72 x 9 x 12) + RM2,485 = RM65,634.76#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM13,449.76

Monthly repayment: RM615.50

Total payable : RM 615.50 x 9 x 12 = RM66,474#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM16,774

B) Loan – 7 year @ 3.65%

Monthly repayment: RM758.23

Total payable: (RM705.70 x 7 x 12) + RM2,485 = RM61,763.80#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM9,578.80

Monthly repayment: RM742.84

Total payable: RM742.84 x 7 x 12 = RM62,398.56#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM12,698.56

And lastly against Naza Bestari 206 (Auto)

Price: RM61,200

DownPayment: RM 0 / Zero Loan: 100% @ ZERO percent / interest-free

A) Full Loan – 12 years @ ZERO percent / interest-free

Monthly repayment: RM425

Total payable : RM425 x 12 x 12 = RM61,200#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM 0.00

B) Full Loan – 9 year @ ZERO percent / interest-free

Monthly repayment: (RM566.66 x 107) + (RM567.38 x 1)

Total payable : = RM61,200#

C) Full Loan – 7 year @ ZERO interest / interest-free

Monthly repayment: RM728.57 x 83) + (RM728.69 x 1)

Total payable : = RM61,200#

For Myvi SE, EZi and Saga SE, without any promotion / discount, they are ACTUAL more EXPENSIVE or almost identically priced against the Naza Bestari 206. Except for Saga SE under 7-years loan tenure. Which is an eye opener. Indeed, the Bestari 206 is sold at promotion price but still that is the price you gonna pay, not a single cent more.

And fundamentally, the Saga SE still lack at least 1 Airbags, ABS, EBD, BA against the rest. Only bigger boot space (of approx. 150L more space). So for interested buyer, just be aware about the REAL cost of the car that you gonna buy. It might not be as was you thought it is.

• RunnerUp on Jul 09, 2009 at 1:50 am

xin said,

July 8, 2009 @ 5:02 pm

Shag,

Cuz you say u can just addon the items to a Bline and get cheaper price than SE ma. So i think you should know since you quoted

Cause FYI, i have asked many shops and all they quoted to me is rm1k above . So you are just speculating the price instead ?

xin, Shag was only quoting "saga owner":

saga owner said,

come on la proton…

+lenso rim rm1200

+skirting,spoiler rm900

+muffler tip rm150

• Kamujita on Jul 09, 2009 at 1:52 am

Allo Proton..

Plis la.. Jangan buat perangai lama. Dulu korang jual iswara 1.3, rega sampai 45K. Korang cakap masa tu sebab nak bayar royalty pada Jepun dan sebagainya lah. Rakyat pulak tak ada pilihan lain sebab kete yg lain masa tu harga macam roket. Kamon la. Kata kete ni 100% org kita yang buat. Tapi la ni you all tambah sana sini sikit, terus meroket lebih 40K. Korang sedar tak, rakyat dah mula nak seronok dan sokong dengan apa yang usahakan dengan Saga … Ok la tu… A car with a price with 'sound' pricetag. Tup tup korang buat perangai balik…. Jangan tamak! Watever yang korang buat, aku rasa harga Saga korang tak patut melepasi 40K. Dulu korang cakap kete ni dibuat supaya rakyat mampu beli. Konon dibuat dengan mengambil kira rakyat yang berpendapatan rendah dan sederhana. Tapi la ni dah jadi lain macam… Jangan salahkan pembeli kalau org dah mula membenci…… yg rugi? LU PIKIR LA SENDIRI….

• majapahit on Jul 09, 2009 at 1:58 am

good job proton… yg dh lepas jgn diungkit..

i think for next model especially for any "Special Edition"…

MUST BE design by malaysian then vote by malaysian..

all people can submit their creative and crazy idea's for SE design…

cannot malu la proton… just design for special edition only maa…

just imagine….half of 27million idea's..

ok what??? then, bila kena kutuk… proton bleh salahkan designer and voters tu.

• EYESORE on Jul 09, 2009 at 2:03 am

now… that's a real salesman for you… naza salesman …

ummm btw… myvi SE.. is still 8k more than saga SE and that normal myvi EZi is still 4k more than saga SE…. ummm i think 4 mee veee SE & EZi prices Saga SE could be equipped with dual airbag & ABS… probably EBD as well…so the price is justified if you compare those models…

for the bestari… i think 61k is not OTR price.. OTR price is around 63k… whilst SAGA SE at 45500 is already OTR price if i'm not mistaken… BTW i dun really think that the Bestari is actually 0 interest…for 12 years…. IMHO the interest already armourtized into the car price…

• RunnerUp on Jul 09, 2009 at 2:47 am

Kamujita said,

July 8, 2009 @ 5:52 pm

Allo Proton..

Plis la.. Jangan buat perangai lama. Dulu korang jual iswara 1.3, rega sampai 45K. Korang cakap masa tu sebab nak bayar royalty pada Jepun dan sebagainya lah. Rakyat pulak tak ada pilihan lain sebab kete yg lain masa tu harga macam roket. Kamon la. Kata kete ni 100% org kita yang buat. Tapi la ni you all tambah sana sini sikit, terus meroket lebih 40K. Korang sedar tak, rakyat dah mula nak seronok dan sokong dengan apa yang usahakan dengan Saga … Ok la tu… A car with a price with ’sound’ pricetag. Tup tup korang buat perangai balik…. Jangan tamak! Watever yang korang buat, aku rasa harga Saga korang tak patut melepasi 40K. Dulu korang cakap kete ni dibuat supaya rakyat mampu beli. Konon dibuat dengan mengambil kira rakyat yang berpendapatan rendah dan sederhana. Tapi la ni dah jadi lain macam… Jangan salahkan pembeli kalau org dah mula membenci…… yg rugi? LU PIKIR LA SENDIRI….

well, bagi yang kurang berkemampuan tu, other variants of saga are still available. yang ni name pun SE, Special Edition. Kalau semua orang pakai SE, dah tak special lah namenye.

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:05 am

wuyohh, ade nasim saleman lak kat cni..lol

• Paul Tan on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:45 am

Anyone want to develop Theophilus Chin's kitted up Saga?

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/01/31/proton-sag…

• apeng on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:53 am

however gud or cheaper car that proton provide…some of malaysian people are still complain/condemm…..

whatever brand there was pro & cons…..believe me….

i have been used 3 kind of car brand…all got pro & cons…even japan one….

you got more money you buy the expensive ones…

otherwise just buy which one you can afford….

if complain too much will got crazy too…hahaha..

p/s dont be too fussy lor…..

• bernardtham on Jul 09, 2009 at 4:41 am

to my opinion… the dashboard is plasticky n simple design although the exterior looks good . actually is not tat bad … good looks. but bit pricey… can buy a persona.

• ok la kot…

• bernardtham on Jul 09, 2009 at 4:56 am

hey paultan.. the theophilius design quite similar to the real car .. bravo….

• Celicazz on Jul 09, 2009 at 7:58 am

drove the new honda city E, compared to saga, the ride is rubbish and paddle shifter is useless for this level… hate the steering feel as well… not enuff feedback due to EPS…

I donno why ppl want to buy this overequipped, overpriced and utterly pointless car.. it is not even sold in Japan… except in China where it equipped with 1.8… the bumper color and body panel does not even match! for months they had not solved the problem yet??? and no one complaining, because of the BADGE I supposed… poor Malaysian mentality…

when a saga is decently equipped like this SE, everyone want to complaint?

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:10 am

its honda mah…

THE POWER OF DREAMS….!!!

• blo0d on Jul 09, 2009 at 10:21 am

mengQ said,

July 8, 2009 @ 6:55 am

Hmm… still the new Myvi SE has a better looking,

and also ride and handling. =)

sure meh? myvi i tot got a froggish face. and the handling also rubbish. ride also too bumpy. u wanna noe u juz go to kuantan using the new highway.. u will get the bumping pleasure there in a myvi. not in a saga

• proton plz surprised on Jul 09, 2009 at 10:24 am

that is a good price.i dont no why ppl even compare it to persona…haha.if u dont like it dont even think to buy saga se.just buy the normal version.

this option just for who want to buy saga se.

5k not worth it for the extra?what else did u expect for 5k?abs system?

1.6cc engine?

but for me its good n this se just the upgrade for bodykit n leather trim.love the color too.it give more sport feel like+black rooftop.

i also expect it should come with more safety features like abs+ebd,dual airbag but that will hurt the pricing detail even this extra 5k ppl already bashing like mad….hahaha.

• blo0d on Jul 09, 2009 at 10:46 am

saga owner said,

come on la proton…

+lenso rim rm1200

+skirting,spoiler rm900

+muffler tip rm150

u noe what is the difference?

is safety. u got only a B-LINE model. and the new SE got more safety than ur own saga. LOL RM5k or ur life in an accident.u choose. xD

• i c^^
      i waitting loan for saga Se.
      izzit more safely?
      here so man negative until i blur~!

• blo0d on Jul 09, 2009 at 10:50 am

saga owner said,

come on la proton…

+lenso rim rm1200

+skirting,spoiler rm900

+muffler tip rm150

B-Line got no safety. thats the difference.. RM5k will get u more safety meh

• hc leong on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:46 pm

oh, proton… always got SE for every model…

• muryadi on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:56 pm

I'm sure Saga BLM SE will sell well.. Bravo Proton…

• Why it is call SE? I think previously PROTON already launch BLM SE that had better interior, exterior and also a nice and beauty sport rim. Why PROTON change their version?..Low spec SE i think.

• peYno on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:56 pm

wochomi..

u guys only deserve super dowgraded and ASEAN made japanese cars like vios dugong and city la..

for ppl in Thai and indonesia.. such car is nothing for them… but u here praise like hell

pity u

• gugusan melur said,

July 8, 2009 @ 3:56 pm

bodo punya najib@kajib ni, perodua lagi mahal dari proton…kena langgar lagi teruk jadi lempeng teros

______

totally agree….p2 meevi SE cost 10k more than this and plenty of stupid ppl still buy like hot cakes.

and don't let me start about 44k viva SE….harga BESAR saiz kerdil.

• alianur on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:12 pm

Saga SE got warranty for bodykit…that s the point.

• It is good effort, but why sell so much more? Why can't Proton reward to all these loyal supporters with just slight increase to the existing line up? Or if they really need to sell at that price, just throw in a passenger airbag for god sake!

Warranty for bodykit? lol

ABS doesn't flex nor change shape over years. And it goes back to original form for any small dent. I bet they don't cover warranty on material colour mismatch over years. Or have they change policy again?

• intermilan on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:46 pm

Regarding my post, firstly it is not a sale pitch. But of course you may believe it as such if you want. No problem. Fact is, Naza salesman wouldn't have the initiative or give a squat to make such an effort, especially in this blog. Its not worth it for them to do so. This is just a post to show how the OTR price of a car could swell so much with the addition of interest amount. And how it compared to a car that is sold with interest-free loan arrangement.

To re-affirm, the Bestari is now priced at RM61.2K, previously, its RM68.8K OTR which is just expensive. Naza might amourtised the interest portion in the current car price but still, the current price is the reduced (promotional) price. Of course we can argue about this (let say within Naza, they recognised the RM61.2K as actually RM56.2K + RM5K i.e. interest amourtised in to be pocketed by the company that provided that loan) but what is the point of arguing (as it is their lost)? Buyer still get to buy it at good lowered priced of RM61.2K n are provided with low monthly installment interest-free loan. Compared that RM612K figure to the actual cost of a Saga SE, or the Myvi Se and EZi and you'll get the whole point.

Still, how 'nice' to see that a RM45.5K car is actually almost similarly priced as a RM61.2K car when the interest amount comes into play. And to see that the popular choice Myvi EZi end up costing more than a 206. And for the Myvi SE [Did you know that in 2009, P2 sold more Myvi SE (ZH+ZHS) than EZ (EZ +EZi)!] to actually cost buyer RM70K in a 9-years loan! RM70K for a Myvi with a rather over-the-top bodykit … I still can't get over that.

Lastly, here's a few correction to some of the calculation:

For Myvi EZi (Auto n Normal Metallic colour)

Price : RM49,700

DownPayment @ 5% : RM 2,485

B) Loan – 7 year @ 3.65%

Monthly repayment: RM705.70 (not RM758.23 as previously posted)

Total payable: (RM705.70 x 7 x 12) + RM2,485 = RM61,763.80#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM9,578.80

Monthly repayment: RM742.84

Total payable: RM742.84 x 7 x 12 = RM62,398.56#

Amount of interest serviceable: RM12,698.56

• Aper Nie on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:48 pm

All the addons are okay, except the rims + tyres and price i think. BUT the gear looks hideous err sorry out of place.. Arghh i still cant look at the pic..its so disturbing…

• samad on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:49 pm

skurg2 nye ade penambahan skit kt model saga nih

saga yg org panggil keta kebal tu lama bnar br ade

facelift LMST ..tatap juga laku ..rmai org pakai

• samadian on Jul 09, 2009 at 7:02 pm

Why no blower to leg one eh?? I love my feet cold and cooled.. hehehe

• just in time…

• intermilan,

you must be an accountant…..haha totally agree with you. but you forgot 2 things:

1.) maybe all those buyers bought the meevi SE with cash?

2.) you did not include 44k tiny viva premium. and also the upcoming tiny viva SE. lets assume the price 44k+4k = 48k. add up the interest and you end up at 66k. like i said earlier…BIG in price, small is size.

actually lots of ppl lazy to calculate all this thats why they don't care. actually meevi SE total OTR + interest @ 71k is really crazy. you can easily get much better cars like naza bestari or hyundai getz for less money or even ckd suzuki swift for slightly more than that price. but ppl say these cars depreciate fast, meevi is jap quality 'toyota' so retain value ….which is a total bullshit to me.

retain what value? look up motortrader and see that a 3 year old myvi premium auto cost less than 36k. trade in at around 33k. thats more than half your value gone.

for the saga SE with interest, total @60k is quite high, but still much lower than myvi @ meevi @ mamee or tiny viva. and at least saga is a car with decent space.

• Intermilan said,

[Did you know that in 2009, P2 sold more Myvi SE (ZH+ZHS) than EZ (EZ +EZi)!] to actually cost buyer RM70K in a 9-years loan! RM70K for a Myvi with a rather over-the-top bodykit … I still can’t get over that.

_____

me too…everytime i see a myvi SE, i think to myself whether this feller went to school and learn math or not ?

• EYESORE on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:21 pm

see. intermilan still promoting NAZA BESTARI…. a truly Naza Saleman =p

• Eldie on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:22 pm

The SE model should have a 1.5 engine with cps or turbo. Then can fight with the imported model like vios or citykus….

• zack_keyme988 on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:23 pm

RIDE RUBBISH…

BRAKE RUBBISH..

SEAT RUBBISH..

THIS RUBBISH ( KNOCKING DOOR PANEL)…..

PERODUA MEE-VI IS RUBBISH…

>>>CHEERS<<<<<

• zack_keyme988 on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:23 pm

AS WHAT JEREMY SAID….

HEHEHEHEHE

• zack_keyme988 on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:26 pm

AS JEREMY SAID…..

RIDE RUBBISH…

BRAKE RUBBISH….

SEAT RUBBISH…

THIS ( KNOCKING DOOR PANEL) RUBBISH….

PERODUA MEE-VI (MYVi) RUBBISH…

CHEAP BUT NOT CHEERFUL…

>>>>>>>>>>>>PEACE<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

• orang malaysia on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:40 pm

i think this cars just for mydad….hahahaha.

• nik4speed on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:59 pm

in my experience… the reason why people buy p2 myvi or viva is because of the delivery time. when people buy a car, they want it to be delivered fast. with the p1 saga, buyers have to wait about 2,3 or maybe 4 month to get thier car. but with p2, the customers can get their cars in a shorter delivery time. to me, this is one of the down point of p1 and they should overcome this problem. Potential customers will run away to buy other car from other companies. cheers..

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jul 09, 2009 at 9:02 pm

AS JEREMY SAID…..

RIDE RUBBISH…

BRAKE RUBBISH….

SEAT RUBBISH…

THIS ( KNOCKING DOOR PANEL) RUBBISH….

PERODUA MEE-VI (MYVi) RUBBISH…

CHEAP BUT NOT CHEERFUL…

AND

MEEVI SE IS AHBENG…

• as for intermilan, u should not judge the cars price by adding the interest. all the financing is done by the finance company not the car manufacturer. proton always ask the finance company to lower the finance charge for prtn cars and even ask for 100% financing and extended loan term and not to mention to award prtn cars speacial promotion as what naza gets but of course, did not manage to get that. yes, there are times where they award prtn with low interest and special promotion for graduates.

u should not said that the car price is high because of interest. u should adress the car prices solely on it price. the interest is out of car company authorithy. let me give u some interesting example, if tata nano price is 10,000, and the interest of financing is 50%(eventhough impossible), can u said that tata nano price is damn high? no, if u buy in cash, it is the cheapest car in malaysia, only the finance charge will burden u.

so, if u want to blame, blame the finance company not the car manufacturer. adios…………..

• This piece of u know what is expensive IMO and yes i know it's priced at the low end of the market but my god, look at the interior, FUGLY….. iF we don't have PROTON, we might be able to enjoy better looking and better made cars.

LOOK AT THE GEAR STICK,, SO BLOOODDY UGLYYYYYYY

• peYno on Jul 09, 2009 at 10:41 pm

better made car???? ASEAN made with T and H mark???

pity malaysian

• intermilan on Jul 09, 2009 at 11:16 pm

king,

i didn't include the tiny viva as its price is almost an insult. Beside, it is

A-segment car whereby Myvi, Saga and Bestari 206 is a B-segment car. Fair comparison between three of them since in the same segment, only that Saga is a sedan. Would love to include others e.g. the Getz and/or Hyundai i20 but then it will took too much time (to get the right information).

So long as people could see what is the actual cost of these cars and hopefully be more mindful hereafter (when purchasing a car via loan or taking any loan for that matter) is totally great for me.

• EYESORE on Jul 09, 2009 at 11:27 pm

tbh naza is not any better than p1 or p2… my friend's bestari not even 1 month old already have problem with tyres and bumpy ratling steering wheel…. took naza 1 month to rectify the problem and final solution… change tyre… lmao…

• intermilan on Jul 10, 2009 at 12:24 am

hohoho.. is that why u seem to be mad at me ke?

first, pity to your friend about that tyres and rattling steering wheel (must be due to the tyre problem).

Bestari tyre problem is actually a non-issue. By right, Naza have to change all 4 tyres under warranty. something is wrong with the tyres. but they didn't. 'Bijak…'. And naza should act fast once owner complaint. Isn't it better for them not to wait till owner complaint, change b4 delivery if found tyre not good). 1 month to solve it is menyusahkan new owner and is not acceptable cust service level.

Enuff lah about naza et. al. This is a SAGA SE thread after all.

• mitlanevo on Jul 10, 2009 at 1:32 am

wow, i want one, the automatic version!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

169 comments! can't believe so many ppl like this saga…..

• wochomi on Jul 10, 2009 at 1:46 am

If it's not because of Proton, we'd be getting cars born of global competition. Thank you Proton for shoving the market down the rakyat's throat.

• niaserng on Jul 10, 2009 at 4:31 am

saga owner said,

come on la proton…

+lenso rim rm1200

+skirting,spoiler rm900

+muffler tip rm150

wah lan eh , where did u get l;eather seat +door trim rm450 hahhaaha.

even fake leather oso 1k+++ .

airbag and e-side mirror probably cost more than ur dream souped up b line.

• hitman on Jul 10, 2009 at 7:27 am

scottloeb…"Anyway, Saga SE is a car build by marketing, bukan engineering. Kalau engineering dia dah boh mcmcm dah, but bila other car company buat (read P2 Myvi SE, or TRD Vios, Honda Modulo City) ok, Proton tak berbaloi lah, waste of moneylah, ah Beng/Brothers body kit better. So you can see lah camne punya mentality malaysian ni ada."

good point.

u rightfully pin-pointed the problem.

marketing got no business trying to design the SE. it is ahbeng cos it looks outright ahbeng. tak elok langsung.

kalau cantik of course we will credit them. the satria neo s2000 for example, is awesome looking. Of couse, this was not built by marketing but people who know cars.

r3 neo – awesome looking

r3 waja mme edition – cun

r3 savvy – very nice.

satria gti lama – cun

chancellor – walaupun susah jual, tapi lawa

in comparison to the perhaps marketing efforts…satria se (the yellow car) – adui…, iswara gt wing – sakit mata, aeroback se (too simple), and the various other past models like the thomas cup edition lah, etc etc.

why have a pool of talent in r&d, motorsports and design when their expertise is not put to full use.

remember the "concept" sporty saga displayed at the launch of the saga at KLCC? Now that looked good. that is what you call imagination and creativity and people would not mind paying for something like that if it looks good. so what exactly happened between then and now?

bottom line is it's got to look good – period. in the case of the saga SE, far from it. better to just concentrate on the base model saga which is already selling well than to do a half-baked effort like this.

then again, ugly is subjective and there will be people who are going to buy it.

but this is not the point. the big picture is proton has got to produce models or variants that people will continue to be proud of. do it properly – that's all. i'm not here to condemn the national car. i think proton has come a very long way and contributed so much to people and the country in ways that is not always visible or seen. this you cannot deny this.

judging from the comments posted here and other websites, let this be a lesson that if and ever they come up with the exora SE, make sure it is worthy of that SE badge, whether it means special or sports edition. I'm sure if you let the designers have it their way, the end result can be fantastic. marketing or whatever department should work in unison with the correct people. it's not about personal glory for any department but glory for the company as a whole.

• hitman on Jul 10, 2009 at 8:40 am

u might want to start a saga SE poll paul.

is the saga SE worthy of the SE badge?

is the saga SE expensive?

is the saga SE good looking?

etc etc

a simple yes and no will drive the point home.

• EYESORE on Jul 10, 2009 at 3:42 pm

correction…

it's not ah beng's design….

those skirting, diffuser etc.. are from saga RED concept… so it is Proton's design..

ah bengs are the one that copied proton's design…

• Tengokaje.. on Jul 10, 2009 at 6:47 pm

I'm sure that P1 personel like 460 or even DSZ read this thread or maybe other thread also to look for good comments from existing customer or their potential customer to enhance the quality, design, SC and what the market wants. Overall, it's okay for me. Like the red colour of the Saga SE.

Salam..

• nighttrain on Jul 10, 2009 at 6:58 pm

hitman, R3 is an external entity that doesn't work according to market requirements, right? How many design teams here under proton. Which design team have their hands tied down? Is there any resentment between R3 and Proton Design Center? What the hell am I talking about..

• farghmee on Jul 10, 2009 at 7:00 pm

hmm…

maybe this is a way for proton to collect info.

the car will be available 15/8 onwards.

so basically proton will have 1months to justify/incorporate sensible comments into the car.

yeah..the red|concept have a lot better looks!

• Yeah, I remember seing the red concept. That is a beauty.

• bujang_hensem on Jul 10, 2009 at 8:21 pm

BTW proton only target 10% from it current sale for the SE that is around 600 per month…so no need to bising2 laa bro…for those who interested can buy it laa…not interested buy others laa…

• hitman on Jul 10, 2009 at 9:33 pm

ya lah…peduli apa.

bukan company aku.

siapa nak beli, beli.

siapa tak mau, kutuk je lah. janganlah pulak sakit hati.

yahoo.

• gorrillllaazzz on Jul 10, 2009 at 9:59 pm

ya lah…peduli apa.

bukan company aku.

siapa nak beli, beli.

siapa tak mau, kutuk je lah. janganlah pulak sakit hati.

yahoo.

————

pitty..

if this is malaysian mentality…

• bagus proton.

yang suka komplen tu..sebenarnya x ade duit…mungkin pakai kereta cabuk aje.

• yuhuu on Jul 11, 2009 at 2:02 am

Itu bangang punya mentaliti. Aku tengok ada bebrp org malaysia tak sedar diri mengkondem proton di forum antarabangsa, dan hasut org luar suruh tinggalkan proton. WTF… apa jenis manusia nih.??

Kalau org2 begini mereka mengutuk proton di forum malaysia, mereka kata itu sebagai kritikan, tapi macamana pulak kutukan dan hasutan di forum antarabangsa?? busuk punya manusia.

• But I have seen lots of SAGA not delivered by the dealer. Its like nobody wants to buy SAGA anymore. Or Proton produced more than the demand and later we will see lots of SAGA park under the sun and rain. Just like a few years ago. How come proton keep increase their car inventories, when not enough demand??

• initial R on Jul 11, 2009 at 2:56 am

sd said,

July 10, 2009 @ 6:21 pm

But I have seen lots of SAGA not delivered by the dealer. Its like nobody wants to buy SAGA anymore. Or Proton produced more than the demand and later we will see lots of SAGA park under the sun and rain. Just like a few years ago. How come proton keep increase their car inventories, when not enough demand??

——————————————————————

What i seen lots of Saga on the road right now. That maybe they produce lots to maintain the demand. even some unit will export to out of country. Jiran i kata dia suka sangat dengan Saga baru dia. Minyak sama cam Savvy. Dia tak kisah sangat dengan plastik dashbord sebab mana ada dalam dunia sekarang nie pengeluar kereta pakai besi & fiber dalam kereta. Orang yang singkat akal aje yang cakap macam tu sebab tak boleh fikir cara logik. Lagi satu dia bangga dengan saga sebab tak sama dengan perodua yang design sama dengan toyota tapi kualiti hampeh lagi pun berbaloi.

• tokmoh on Jul 11, 2009 at 5:29 am

sd said,

July 10, 2009 @ 6:21 pm

dude, maybe the customers are not free ASAP? Do u really think all other showrooms go like "halo boss, vios lu sula ledy, balu sampai 2 minit aja, lu bole angkut dalam masa 1 jam ok tak? Apa? Lu flee sikalang? 5 minit sula bole sampai sini? bagus la lu boss, patut la olang macam lu beli toyota."

In case u're not aware, saga hv been consistently outselling viva for months.

• perolima on Jul 11, 2009 at 7:40 am

My friend bought a 1.3 saga auto last month replace his old iswara, According to him that bcoz he have no money to buy a bigger car but he must disappointing why not buy the 1.6L saga. Still Iswara feeling…

• hitman on Jul 11, 2009 at 8:32 am

saga is a good introductory car.

it's the saga SE that is disappointing.

tanamkanlah tabiat membaca dan baca dari permulaan kalau tak faham. jangan asyik nak short cut je dan menyampuk.

he he

• hitman on Jul 11, 2009 at 8:38 am

saga is a good introductory car.

it's the saga SE that is very disappointing.

tanamkanlah tabiat suka membaca dan baca dari permulaan.

he he

• shahJB on Jul 11, 2009 at 8:42 am

pe nk jd dngn rkyt malaysia ni…..cuba ar sokong ckt keluaran proton…tau nk komplen je…klu pndi sngt buar ar sndri kereta pastu guna sndri kn sng.. jgn tau komplen je tah2 yang komplen ni x de duit nk beli kereta tu..

klu nk kereta yg best murah puas hati lbh baik buat sendri…kn bgus dr iri hati tengk org buat…ingt kita ni rakyt malaysia…kita je la hrpn utk mngktkn mutu dn ekonomi negara…

• taklehpakai on Jul 11, 2009 at 6:37 pm

tapi jgnlah kita jadi rakyat malaysia yang mengagung-agungkan sesuatu yang kurang sempurna.

banyak perbezaannya.

sokong barangan buatan malaysia memang ya tapi biarlah barangan bermutu.

kau tengok sekarang, kereta cabuk pun dah bernilai RM5,000 semata mata nak jual proton. untung aku. setidak-tidaknya boleh guna nilai ini untuk trade in kat used car ambik keta jepun. maklumlah, tak mampu nak beli proton.

• peYno on Jul 11, 2009 at 10:05 pm

2010 will be interesting year for Proton

New model : Sedan class ( base from mitsu fortis)

New model : C segment class ( base from Mitsu colt)

New model : Exora Turbo version

haha… u wanna Japanese touch??? yes i give what u want

perodua " Raja rebadge" must be in trouble

• Jason on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:01 am

does this car has 4 power windows?

previous normal BLM only have 2.

• peroempat on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:06 am

OMG, rebadge the Mitsubishi Colt with CENTRAL DASHBOARD one… LOLOLOL

Some people need to slap on his/her face him/herself… XXXD

Is this a Savvy replacement? … but with CENTRAL DASHBOARD… XXXXXD

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitsubishi_Colt

• peroempat on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:13 am

king and Intermilan said,

"Why people buy Myvi SE?"

Price:

Myvi SE = RM55k

Jazz = RM110k

Answer:

Buy the Myvi SE you save RM55k.

• proton owner on Jul 13, 2009 at 8:01 am

to najib@kajib…

keta moden ari ini mmg la direka mcm tuh…

mudah remuk…

utk mnyerap hentakan kemalangan…

kalo ko nk keras g beli datun 120 y…

sape kata perodua bgs…

pakai myvi setahun…

power window da buat hal…

kualiti ke mcm tuh????

• why people buy saga SE?

Price:

Saga SE = RM45k

C200 kompressor = 245k

Answer:

buy the saga SE you save RM200k

duhhh!!

• ok, what

• i think for the SE proton should put 4 2 1 header and less restrictive twin tail pipped muffler (not the noisy on though) as a standard feature for SE to squeeze a few extra pony.

so the performance spec is a bit upped.

i just recalled the Wira SE header almost simillar to Satria GTI standard header as a result the hp is slightly upped

anyway its nice already. those what i mentioned there means cost to bear.

• peroempat on Jul 14, 2009 at 6:40 am

@king

Honda Jazz and Perodua Myvi are same classic.

Price:

C200 kompressor = RM245k

Perdana = RM90k

Answer:

Buy Perdana you save RM155k.

• peroempat on Jul 14, 2009 at 7:00 am

Proton now also want to rebadge hatchback compact car, is the time also to allow Perodua to rebadge sedan compact? BTW…

Rebadgeing Colt will be another waste money project of Proton, according to JADA, Toyota Passo was at 5 of top 25 best selling Car on June, there was no where for Mitsubishi Colt ;)

The top 1 was Toyota Prius and Honda Insight now at 4, Prius already beat Insight.

Top 5 best selling car on June in Japan:

1- Toyota Prius

2- Honda Fit

3- Toyota Vitz

4- Honda Insight

5- Toyota Passo

• peroempat on Jul 14, 2009 at 7:11 am

@king

why people buy saga SE?

Price:

Saga SE = RM45k

Vios SE = RM 90k

Answer:

Buy Saga SE you save RM45K.

• iam saga owner..starting april09..so far its good. dunno y they always condemn it. 206 bestari, its fun..with 60k sound cheap. but hard 2 maintain. not many service centre + spare part hadr 2 find..

i exchange my old car n got 5k, make it deposit..not long time to wait, just in 2 weeks..again i dunno how can they told time waitng up 2 4 months..

• SE – Suck Edition

• Better buy Persona Baseline – Only around RM45K ++ more value for your money bcoz Persona become with 1.6 CamPro Engine.

• Prismo on Jul 14, 2009 at 4:38 pm

peroempat said,

July 13, 2009 @ 11:00 pm

Proton now also want to rebadge hatchback compact car, is the time also to allow Perodua to rebadge sedan compact? BTW…

————————————————————-

no need to asking a permission from Proton if Perodua want to rebadging a sedan compact.. but they need to clear the "unsellable" stock of Perodua naughty car (nautica) 1st la… CBU from japs also didn't sell well?? mahal sgt lor.. org Malaysia sudah pintar sekarang woo….

• peroempat,

what i am trying to say is that your comparison is wrong…thats y i gave u another bad example…

you simply can't compare cbu vs local cars or 1.3 vs 1.5

geddit?

• zirafah on Jul 15, 2009 at 6:27 am

APALAH, KALAU NAK BELI YANG SE BELILAH. KALAU RASA TAK BERBALOI BELILAH YANG BIASA. MASING2 PILIHLAH YANG MANA NAK.

• peroempat on Jul 15, 2009 at 8:10 am

king,

But for simple people only want a car to drive, they will do this comparison:

If hatchback:

Local – Savvy? Satria? Myvi? Viva? Kenali? Kelisa?

Oversea – Swift? Jazz? …

and then the price:

40k? 50k? 60k? …

• farghmee on Jul 15, 2009 at 6:38 pm

somehow it's weird to know that:

some people like to "have" what others "have had".

if japan has it, so we have to have it?

last time, mitsu townbox was very popular in jp,

but miserable selling numbers here in my.

if i remember it correctly, the news was:

mitsu&proton are to BUILD together a small car.

NOT to REBADGE a small car.

• good for proton..nice kits too…proton nowdays are better & better..people always said proton mahal…..try compare to perodua..kereta celup….myvi SE 1.3 engine, RM53K..no one said it mahal….viva pun mahal.almost 30k for 1 litre engine…….i'm user of wira SE…so far so good..just normal problem like kereta lain jugak…

• mohd sobri on Jul 15, 2009 at 9:01 pm

nice car

• Jr. racer (Member) on Jul 16, 2009 at 9:15 am

I think peloton should installed airbag in dis car…

but dis car is quite cheap compared 2 pelodua viva SE…harga lebih kurang 40k jgk tp 1.0 je…kontot plak tu.. viva SE (semput edition) shld be priced around 35k…lol..

• VillageCam on Jul 16, 2009 at 6:49 pm

me also love persona…sedan for family…

but, if saga RED available on the road…

might consider for it….

btw…does sway bar & R3 spring available on saga SE?

• haz_one on Jul 17, 2009 at 6:26 am

bagi aku la saga SE nie better dari saga kete kebal tu kot…….

nampak cam masyuk jew

• mengQ on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:18 pm

Tabek Myvi lah, 1 car can versus so many P1 cars,

when savvy came out, compare with myvi;

when persona came out, also got people talk about myvi;

when new saga came out, still myvi.

why la why la why la…

• Because..

Made In Japan collaboration with Malaysian ‘Ah-Beng’ Car Maker (P@)

Thats why… dumb ass.

• bleedification on Jul 20, 2009 at 1:59 am

wah this saga SE looks so nice. i drove saga M-line to work everyday, and i love this Saga to bits. minyak save, parking senang, rupa cun, and best of all, it looks like a mini impreza (not happy with my opinion? shoot me. see if i care).

proton, i do hope you guys install anti roll bars in this Saga SE. yang tak SE tu, leh dimaafkan la. from what i have experienced, this Saga BLM rolls alot during medium speed, (example is 70-80km/h taking the corner from kesas highway nak masuk ke Plus highway tol sungai besi arah seremban. bukan laju ponnn) and tyre squeal alot also. whats the use of doing SE if like Myvi SE only, pointless SE yg just masuk bodykit and a few other bits, with no performance upgrades whatsoever.

ape gune R3 division kalo xmo uprate performance kete keluaran korang, ye tak? lu pikir la sendiri wahai proton.

P/S: i am a proton supporter. tak suke? sue me.

• bleedification said,

July 19, 2009 @ 5:59 pm

wah this saga SE looks so nice. i drove saga M-line to work everyday, and i love this Saga to bits. minyak save, parking senang, rupa cun, and best of all, it looks like a mini impreza (not happy with my opinion? shoot me. see if i care).

proton, i do hope you guys install anti roll bars in this Saga SE. yang tak SE tu, leh dimaafkan la. from what i have experienced, this Saga BLM rolls alot during medium speed, (example is 70-80km/h taking the corner from kesas highway nak masuk ke Plus highway tol sungai besi arah seremban. bukan laju ponnn) and tyre squeal alot also. whats the use of doing SE if like Myvi SE only, pointless SE yg just masuk bodykit and a few other bits, with no performance upgrades whatsoever.

ape gune R3 division kalo xmo uprate performance kete keluaran korang, ye tak? lu pikir la sendiri wahai proton

—————————————————

bleedification… saga is no sports car, i agree it cant take corner like satria neo, its in different nature. saga designed for comfort and sensible drive.

if handling to be at higher limit, it need a little bit stiffer suspension and 15 inch alloy.

but saga is design for everybody, 'peoples car', it has to compromise every aspect.

for enthusiast looking for higher limit you need to upgrade with after markets or r3 division.(mahal la skit)

but i do agree that saga SE need a little bit different in engine spec like 2 or 4 hp higher than the non SE by cat bypassing or sport header (extractor) . ithink it wont implicate cost by proton since its no extra component added since its only a choise or selection of component

this technique is done on wira SE, (extractor) before.

though not that much hp gained ,those little add up to hp will make SE more sense.

anyway i like this saga SE.

• bleedification on Jul 21, 2009 at 2:47 am

exactly my point. if just wanna put bodykit, better put "Saga body kit edition" name, not Special@Sport@Superb Edition or whatever superlative that begins with the word S. along the lines of what awak pointed out with wira SE, personally i would love to see this "SE by Proton" theme translates into mildly tweaked street sport oriented models (a la wira SE), and R3 edition becomes no-nonsense track-worthy performance production models (ie satria gti r3, not neo r3). so ppl who want a people mover, buy normal one. want mildly sporty car without the hassle of voided warranty? buy SE. want kereta racing? buy r3.

I also like this SE alot, but i wont buy this Saga SE. got saga blm already mah, why buy 2? hehehe.

• CamVillage on Jul 21, 2009 at 6:37 pm

hopefully R3 division are working on their SAGA SE version?

• CamVillage on Jul 21, 2009 at 6:42 pm

……still no test review?……

……hope P1 engineer already solved the 'tik-tik' sound at rear seat and on the intake manifold…..

• saga blm arm rest looks OEM, insert in cup hplder

http://i1.lelong.com.my/UserImages/Items/0902/26/…

• Azri hoho on Jul 26, 2009 at 10:08 pm

U G L Y ..

Proton's want to make money. Nuff said..

• have saga se white pic?

• IL DIVA on Jul 29, 2009 at 11:13 pm

hum..

so many comments..got pro and cons..

for those who hated P1 national car so much.. please make ur own car n see wether u can sell it for cheaper price lor… 1 longgok 1 linggit. buleh ka?

alwayz komplen komplen..

if u dont want it, juz let it be.. summore mcm la lu olang panlai buat itu keleta.. chisin…

• muhamed farhad on Jul 30, 2009 at 9:38 pm

hi assalamualikum i jast wanna know if i wanna upgrage my saga blm to sags se how do we do that ? coz last munthe only i got this car so i can`t do anything than doning the upgrages so pls give me a contac number or a address

• gedebe on Aug 03, 2009 at 11:08 am

ala,korang x tau ke ape R3 tu? Relaks X Relaks X Relaks..

budak2 R3 ni memang poyo je lebih. diaorang ni kira anak bos la dlm proton tu.. so xpyah la heran kalo ada org yg tnya 'ape R3 dah wat?' dsb..

Untuk tgk bab performance ni, cuba korang wat test mcm dlm 'Vroom2' UK, tengok berbaloi x pe barang after market yang kita install kt kete kita ni..

Untuk penyokong Myvi, teruskan. tapi aku dah test corner kat MRR2 betul2 sebelum Taman Metropolitan Kepong pada kelajuan 120km/j memang boleh membunuh. rasa mcm dh nk terbalik. Saga BLM masih mantap cuma enjin bunyi bising sket (manual).

lagi satu, dok seat blakang (myvi) = sakit badan, saga BLM = ok la

Bab service, mmg P2 mahal. plug 3 biji nk hentak RM38, ape kejadah? plug saga OEM RM18 4biji..

kesimpulan, tnya dealer kete ms nk beli, nape warranty sampai 100,000km je?

JAWAPAN: mmg kete buatan malaysia akan kondem lepas 100,000km, sbb tu warranty smpi tu je.

aku? Pakai Wira 1.8 standard = kete paling best

• bile la nk kluar gambar saga se white nih…haihhh

• anuar on Aug 08, 2009 at 8:22 pm

aku yg keje sebagai kerani ni jer mampu pakai saga jela untuk keselesaan keluarga. walaupun harganyer org kata mahal dari spesifikasi yg diberi, aku harap proton akan amik berat la pandangan org ramai. bagi pandangan aku kalo kete luar negara tu tak dikenakan cukai org ramai akan beli kete2 luar tu lagi banyak disebabkan kualiti yg terjamin dari segi mutunya. apapun ape yg diusahakan proton tu ok, but jangan amik untung terlampau banyak. ala kadar sudahla. rakyat malaysia ni bukan nak idup sepuluh atau 20 tahun lagi. lama lagi nak idup dan banyak lagi keluaran proton yg akan dipertontonkan kepada rakyat. so keuntungan tu akan berterusan. apa yg penting kepuasan di hati rakyat sendiri lebih penting dan selepas tu barulah org luar akan pandang produk2 kita.

• JERRY TAN on Aug 10, 2009 at 5:12 am

For me I think the SEis quite a nice looking car with the new paint work and some cosmetic changes here and there, The bogykit looks good enough to have a second look and overall a good try and keep it up.

• BersyukurLaKorang on Aug 14, 2009 at 2:19 am

Bnyk btul komen…pro n kontra…Bg yg rase saga SE terlalu mahal, tk perlu beli, tk perlu bising2…tk perlu menghasut org lain utk benci brngn malaysia…

Bg yg suke, klu kewangan anda mengizinkan, dapat'n review dari pengguna lain dlu…klu ok baru beli…

Tk perlu bising2 psl struktur cukai negara dan pinjaman bank…ape sy boleh katakan, kiter dh selesa…Kesan positif dr semua ni secara 'indirect' akan kembali kpd rakyat malaysia…terlalu bnyk utk sy senaraikan disini…

Cube la pergi amerika, bekerja dan tinggal disana..anda akan tahu bagaimana teruk srtruktur cukai disana…Sehinggakan GM bankrap disebabkan dasar perdagangan bebas negara itu sendiri….

So….lihat kemampuan diri sendiri, buat penilaian yg betul…dan bersyukur dengan ape yg ade di negara kita… cheers!!

• tomorrow ill at PE

• knoxx on Aug 16, 2009 at 11:39 pm

my wife just bought saga se. beza dari yang biasa:

RIM 14

safe Tinted

Reverse Sensor

Bodykit

leather seat

MP3 player

Metallic Red Diamond

door visor

Price 41,998.00

ok what dari versi M-Line Auto RM41,498.00 beza RM 500.00 je

• m3t4ph0R on Aug 17, 2009 at 7:31 pm

@knoxx,

uish, the real price is 43k (M) n 45500(A). how come u got 41998?

check with ur SA for the price bro…

My SA told me distribution will start on September, while the rest will be on Oct. Proton, don't screw my Raya ok. Booked this car since last July.

• saw the white saga se, nice

put SAGA SE and NEO CPS all in white both both with body kit.

i called it a premier collection

• knoxx on Aug 19, 2009 at 2:57 am

m3t4ph0R said,

August 17, 2009 @ 11:31 am

@knoxx,

uish, the real price is 43k (M) n 45500(A). how come u got 41998?

check with ur SA for the price bro…

My SA told me distribution will start on September, while the rest will be on Oct. Proton, don’t screw my Raya ok. Booked this car since last July.

—————————————————–

ohhh.. sorry bro i told u all wrong info lah..

my wife book the car (15 aug 09) Saga Se (M) 43K .. not RM41998.. thank bro remind me..

u also book the car too?? hope we all can get b4 raya :)

• ayieazz on Aug 19, 2009 at 3:14 am

can help me to choose guys…which one is beautiful? red or white?

• peduli on Aug 19, 2009 at 7:28 pm

this column full of potong salesman! talking nonesense..bullshit!

• Lanjot on Aug 19, 2009 at 11:16 pm

Ala..stakat nk wat perbandingan dengan toyota la,honda la..sape yang dok kutuk tu tau ke.honda dah mula buat kete ni dari tahun 1948,dah 61 tahun..toyota since 1937,dah 72 tahun.bagi la komen yang memberangsangkan skit sebab p1 baru jer berusia 26 tahun.nk compare experience 61&72 tahun dgn 26 tahun.mana fair..xadil bukan??admit that kereta buatan jepun mmg good in quality(cause i work in japs co,so i know how japs concern about quality),tp kereta malaysia tak kurang hebat nyer.so kalo stakat komen,just add the circuiting satu komen yg kurang matang.

• I own saga blm and it is 1 year oredi. Honestly, I like it. Smooth.

The saga se is cun.

• to hv that nice feeling driving factor, i installed voltage stabilization cable, changed to g-power spark plugs n importantly fine tuning engine.

the suspension is also good so don't change.

• Marcus on Aug 20, 2009 at 6:53 am

I will book my SE soon, my dealer told me he can sell to me OTP is RM41548, I am very curious how come he quote me so cheap!!

Any commentsss…….

• najib... on Aug 21, 2009 at 1:51 am

ok la…

tp yg tu je ke R&D proton leyh wat??

tmbh skirting,spoiler??

need more improvement…!!!!!

good luck proton…

• blm is sensible car. ride quality is good. flexible for town and outstation.

compare to 40k produa ,the saga gives you a driving experience of batter car.

dont compare with vios or city on the highway.

the engine a little less fuel saving than vvti but the power is there to be unleashed.

450 monthly as opposed to 800+

ok la,

• yo guys… i'm a BLM driver for the past 2mths… since now RON 95 is out… can the BLM take RON95?… worriedler…something wrong later how….. thanks folks!….

• wanitamisi09 on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:33 pm

halooooo..rakyat m'sia..kete m'sia ok what…sedar2 lh diri korg dok m'sia..kn lh bangga buatan m'sia..cube korg tgk negara india…smue pki buatan dier..wpn rupe x ckp sifat….yg pntig ikut kemampuan nk li kete…jgn dok kutuk2 jer…klu pandai buatlh kete sendiri……

• wanitamisi09 on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:35 pm

ape yg penting servis kete buatan m'sia murah…….jimat ar…

• wanitamisi09 on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:37 pm

aper yang penting servis murah,,,brg2 spare part senag dapat….

• shut_up ur BIG mouth on Sep 05, 2009 at 7:39 am

kalau tak nak beli pergilah website kereta toyata ker atau ferrari..sana blehlah korang puji puas2 kreta idaman korang..mengutuk orang macamlah dia tu serba tahu..

• Avivaalicia on Sep 14, 2009 at 11:41 am

Yes i agreee… kalau nk compare2 pon agak2 la BLM stands for BASED LINE MODEL la people think before u talk! yg nk ABS la ape la safety konon it will not function if you're NOT wearing the seat belt hahhaha rakyat malaysia nak itu ini tp bila dh eksident smpai berdarah hidung br sedaq buang duit mahal2 nk ABS la ape la x pakai seat belt x guna bro!

Anyway Saga SE is a good strt PROTON keep it up!

(Talking Based on EXP.!)

• K-Linker on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:35 am

kalau nak SE, Proton n-line black & white tu sama saja macam yg SE black & white color juga. hehehehe

• azuwan on Sep 24, 2009 at 10:47 pm

nice 460 for your packed & detailed explanation.

most malaysian make malaysian product looks funny.compare to other local car i think saga is more affordable for middle class.

just bought Saga SE solid white. really3 like it.

The New SAGA begins….

quit babbling you typical malaysian. dont judge saga by its look..feel it and compare..

• balloon on Oct 13, 2009 at 2:05 am

wish to have 1….Proton Saga SE. but why SE don't have 1.6 ? only 1.3??

• asyraf on Oct 13, 2009 at 9:03 am

alahaii..

nak tu nak ni..tapi nak kete murah2. Saga ni kira ok la, better driving experienced compare to myvi.

ada yg nak skirting la,spoiler la,tu la ni la. Pegi bukak buku blaja apa fungsi add on sume tu. Pegi buat testing stock saga dengan saga yg ada spoiler pastu skirting. Konon ada downforce la, handling better la. Tu sume kene tpu ngan tukang kedai kete jek

• which better?white or red?

• Ikan Kicik on Oct 18, 2009 at 7:34 am

balloon said,

October 12, 2009 @ 6:05 pm

wish to have 1….Proton Saga SE. but why SE don’t have 1.6 ? only 1.3??

=============

1.6, choose Persona SE..hehe..

• unknown on Oct 24, 2009 at 9:08 pm

in australia there will be SAGA 1.6 version…..proton saga se white…..lagi cun…only problem is the rim..should be more agressive and bigger

• pennstater on Nov 05, 2009 at 7:28 am

whats the maximum rim size does this baby can be fitted?

• jusoh on Dec 15, 2009 at 12:17 am

aku pakai se skrg,itu je yg aku mampu,lg pun aku puas hati dgn ciri2 yg ada,x perlu nk ubah ape2,klu beli yg biasa kau nak keluarkan duit lg.

• I saw Saga Taxi on the road so i never ever wish i have 1 of this cheapest crab!!!but maybe Malay love it XD

• getzclub on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:11 am

hallo idiots ….

u only know how to complain without knowing the add feature on Saga SE…

it comes not only with bodykits but also with lotus ride handling + extra active safety features (which costs abt RM1500) + extended warranty + abs + airbag…

go learn more abt it!!

• Learn more?sorry, no interesting!Lotus just covering Proton!safety features?IMAO i should said Proton making plastic cars ever lolx XD extended warranty?how funny XD sound good but good lies =)

• i..kalo kau taknak beli proton kenapa nak nyebok kat sini…kalau kau ada BMW or Merc or ferari or whatever kereta yang mewah,tak pakai plastic or whatever apa kitorang peduli..bukannya duit kau..bodoh punya orang tak kira la apa bangsa kau..stupid.. pegi la mampus la drive keta mahal kau tu…

• NeedInfo on Dec 27, 2009 at 6:54 am

Lama gak membca dr atas.. spt komen hitman.. baca dari mula…

Test drive both car P1 (Saga SE) and P2 (Myvi).. mmg kontra.. Each ada keistimewaan dan kelemahan tersendiri.. Tp nak kutuk P1 or P2 teruk2, don’t agree until you test drive sendiri… P1 Saga BLM … Selain signal dia bertukar tempt sbb wakil P1 inform Saga ikut design Waja… actually mmg best bawa gak.. sbb x lebar sgt.. no offend.. but masa test drive P2.. motor hampir2 terlanggar side mirror (still within my lane).. but then bila keselesaan penumpang expecially penumpang belakang.. P1 blh muat 2 adults and P2 blh muat 3 adults dgn selesa.. Enjin… both mmg smooth and FC… Safety… that why the price differ between both of them… P2 have more features that P1… abt design & interior… ikut selera msing2.. for me… P1 SE.. I like it… Aiya still have no decision on which 1….  

• uncle joe (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 2:00 am

aku nak beli kete saga se kaler merah ni…ade manual x? ke merah auto,putih manual????

• ada…

• irene on Apr 10, 2010 at 5:25 pm

dont know what the sales personnels are up to…
    i booked the Se for my son on 17 dec 2009 but till march 25th, 2010 they tell me no stock?????? more than 3 months wait! then the sales guy asked me to take the ordinary saga….and since my son needed a car , i took the ordinary saga..
    what a letdown! can anyone tell me the actual waiting period after booking?
    Any comments

• Indran on Apr 29, 2010 at 5:41 pm

I too have problem getting my SE which was booked on 30th Dec 2009. Today is 29th April 2010 (4 months already!!!). Still no stock…Lodged complain to i.care, they just recorded my complain but claim they can’t do anything as production of SE at Proton itself is very slow/low. Requested me to follow up with my sales personnel. Still no indication of when the car will be delivered even after speaking to the sales guy. I was promised the car will be delivered in 2 months during booking!!!!

I hope someone from Proton/Proton Edar is looking at this complain. Tried calling Proton plant itself but no one picked my call after numerous calls. I’m kind of frustrated. Is this what you get when you support Malaysian made cars. Until today no one can tell me what if the exact waiting period for this car. I think I’m not the only one who is affected. Maybe all who made SE booking should consolidate our frustration and make a big noise to Proton / Proton Edar. Any comments….

• wanlee on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:31 pm

eh hello….i’m one of proton saga se owner (brilliant red)…yes it’s true that se only make some minor modification but the major difference with other variant model ok…come on la…even until now i still have no problem with this model…such a cool car and actually perfect for teen…the design is really fresh and looks tame but in the same time wild enough ok….compare to myvi, saga se is much more worth it…the suspension the fuel consmption the pick up…some people might argue pick up is not really good…yes it’s true la bro but when it turn to second gear you can feel the difference….stop bashing proton especially saga se…if you can’t afford to buy se variant then go to m line or even if you cikai sangat go for n line lahh….damn…really stupid for those who talk without facts!!!! 4 futre buyers….i suggest go for saga se….comfortable, affordable, and nice for small family….anyway it’s a cool car…..vavavommmmm…

• hi i also hv the proton saga se…so far the car has no prob and actually the interior is nice and comfortable 2drive…you guys should stop bashing proton and try to test drive it and is actually quite nice to drive than myvi….
    and IRENE which proton center did u order ur car…coz i order my car on jan n i got the car on march…..
    usually the proton saga se waiting period is 1-3 month depends on the stock

• Indran on Apr 29, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Hi Paul,

Can you help to highlight our issues (please refer below)?

I too have problem getting my SE which was booked on 30th Dec 2009. Today is 29th April 2010 (4 months already!!!). Still no stock…Lodged complain to i.care, they just recorded my complain but claim they can’t do anything as production of SE at Proton itself is very slow/low. Requested me to follow up with my sales personnel. Still no indication of when the car will be delivered even after speaking to the sales guy. I was promised the car will be delivered in 2 months during booking!!!!

I hope someone from Proton/Proton Edar is looking at this complain. Tried calling Proton plant itself but no one picked my call after numerous calls. I’m kind of frustrated. Is this what you get when you support Malaysian made cars. Until today no one can tell me what if the exact waiting period for this car. I think I’m not the only one who is affected. Maybe all who made SE booking should consolidate our frustration and make a big noise to Proton / Proton Edar. Any comments….

• wanlee on May 21, 2010 at 10:25 am

owh really…i have same problem with u before mr indran…i booked on last october 2009 and received the car on 30 dec 2009…yes saga se are highly in demand but its production is very slow due to many reasons….and one of the reasons is they fear that the car could not be sell as it quite highly in pricelah….so they choose to play safelah….but the car got unexpected demand from the public and thats y lah ader yg dpt lambat..anyway where do you live….if you live around kl or selangor or penang this thing takkan go for long time but other states memnag akan lama sikit….just be cool lah…and tukar la amik persona elegance smart lg bro!!!!

• Indran on May 27, 2010 at 11:58 am

Hi Wanlee,

As I write this reply, I’m still waiting for my Saga SE, it has been a long 5 months wait now and only God knows how long more I have to wait…I live in Klang and booked the car from Proton Edar in Giant Klang. I wouldn’t recommend this outlet to anyone as I had very rude response everytime I call the salesman to enquire the status. I even call Proton Manufacturing plant in Hicom directly, was told the wait could be 6 months as Saga SE production priority is very low and they even claim that in monthly meeting with all Proton Edar rep, they advise the waiting period for all cars to them BUT P.Edar don’t advise the customer accordingly as I believe they don’t want to loose customer.
      Calling up Proton Edar I.care doesn’t get you anywhere, they should change their tagline to “I Don’t Care” instead. If I change now, I don’t know how long more I need to wait…Very frustrated…memang nak support MY made car…But you see how they treat you!!!

• wanlee on May 28, 2010 at 10:35 pm

owh it is very bad…really bad….and sorry for that…coz i know well ur feeling right now….yes it is quite true the production of saga se is slow especially in brilliant red color…anyway they are very busy with the latest production of gen 2 or persona elegance perhaps….coz saga actually nearly meet the production target i think…so hope you to relax and y don’t you change to other models?? or try to find other salesman…anyway have ur loan approved or not?

• stress on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:05 pm

aku baru beli saga se.. and it feel nice.. really nice.. affordable.. cuma rim design cam biasa sgt.. yg lain ok.. interior design sgt cun.. i like..;)..

• Kereta Terpakai on Aug 31, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Saya pun rasa nak beli kereta ni, nampak macam cun.. =)

• shasha shi on Nov 19, 2010 at 11:20 am

aku nk bli satu la..
    then nk tukar rim trus bleh ker…?
    ker rugi jew…

• Ramzita Mohd Nayan on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:28 am

~~i cnt wait 2 have tis Saga SE…i love the RED BRILLIANT colour…muah!!~~

• nickyong on Jul 14, 2011 at 10:47 am

nw saga se hv more ma

• mijae on Dec 02, 2011 at 10:54 pm

can anyone tell me isn’t true that the production of blm se will be be stops?

• Plawok on Jul 21, 2012 at 6:24 pm

honestly,i tell you…this Proton Saga BLM SE looks like Proton Savvy from afar…wtf