Proton Exora M/T (M-Line) open for booking!

Proton Exora MT

The new Proton Exora with manual transmission is now on the market and it’s only available in the M-Line trim level, which means basics without fancies like DVD players and GPS units, cloth seats, alloy wheels, and some body-coloured parts instead of chrome bits. It’s priced at RM64,998 for the metallic version and RM64,548 for the solid-coloured version. No ultra-basic no frills Exora B-Line in sight yet so far, but the manual transmission version is very welcome for those who want to save abit more fuel with the Exora, and the manual’s 12% transmission losses which is less than the automatic should result in more of the Campro CPS 125 horsepower going to the front wheels, thus improving the Exora’s lethargic acceleration.

Some of us have already had a go at an Exora equipped with a manual transmission during the prototype test drive and other than the fact that there’s more power that actually reaches the wheels, the manual model with more gear ratios also provides a little more flexibility with picking the right gear depending on the load on the engine. With the automatic model you tend to be working the 2nd gear most of the time, which means alot of high revving sometimes. The good news is NVH is significantly better than models like the Satria Neo so it isn’t that bad of a racket.

Next a B-Line model could come out, but the ultimate would be towards the end of next year where the Proton Exora with the Campro 1.6 Turbo will be launched. The Exora will finally get the engine it deserves and then you’ll have a combination of a very competitive price, good interior space, air conditioning all around, and a more relaxed engine that’s easier to drive because of more low end torque.

Look after the jump for a photo gallery of the Exora M/T.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=372]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tunomura on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:31 am

next, manual trany with cps turbo for exora highline??wow…more powerful!! I like :)

proton please put chrommed emblem on your steering otherwise your dashboard look boring, dull and cheap…..

cheers…

• tunomura on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:34 am

next, climate control and manual trany with cps turbo for exora highline??wow…more powerful!! I like :)

proton please put chrommed emblem on your steering otherwise your dashboard look boring, dull and cheap…..

cheers…

• love PROTON RC on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:38 am

PROTON company can you sponsor PROTON EXORA to MALAYSIA POLICE.. I see alot of old TOYOTA van still running to be “kereta mayat” in accident.. if PROTON EXORA can help our country Malaysia to be the best “kereta mayat” and help who is in needed.. it is a very good deed.. and may god bless you PROTON if you can sponsor Malaysia police..

assume if one day people as famous as Michael Jackson die and use PROTON EXORA as “kereta mayat”, surely all the family and relative will remember the good deeds of PROTON EXORA being very helpful in hard time.

and if you have done it, please make special edition of PROTON EXORA, kereta mayat remote control car.. I want to have it as my collections.. I like PROTON cars as it is the first company in Malaysia who driven Malaysia automotive engineering to its best :)

MAY GOD BLESS PROTON if PROTON granted all my wish (,”)

• The one l saw at Proton SJ was B-line without left airbag and more basic. Perhaps, the more basic will be offer as a last resort, in case P2 mpv to hard or Exora.

• nabill on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:56 am

are gear ratios same as other cps engines or have been shortened?

seems like a good value actually …so much metal for the money

• Archer on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:57 am

Lethargic? Hmm that's the first word that comes to mind for sure.

• Paul Tan on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:58 am

@Karl Where can we see this B-Line?

• Norman on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:59 am

Hmm 10k less means can install fog lights,leather seats,16 inch rims and in car entertainment

• love PROTON RC on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:28 pm

I would like to know where I can buy this PROTON EXORA remote control car?? I see alot of japanese products TAMIYA make alot of japanese cars remote control car.. but to have some of PROTON remote control is very hard.. I hope PROTON can consider my wish.. plus it can also generate money just like what japan did to their automotive industry..

kids also have power to determine their best cars for the future.. I wish PROTON can really be a people's rakyat car like what the japanese have done.. I want PROTON RC for PROTON EXORA and PROTON SAGA BLM to add to my collections… please PROTON.. please PROTON.. please PROTON..

if you granted my wish, I promise one day I will be the best engineer in Malaysia, enter best university in field of engineering, work in PROTON and do pride to Malaysia.. hopefully I can win Nobel Prize in engineering and make as many patents as I could for PROTON and my beloved country MALAYSIA..

• exoraa on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:42 pm

In indonesia, Proton Listed in the TOP 20 BRAND in 2009, January to April period:

no -15 = Proton Units Sold = 440 Share Market = 0.3%

http://indonesia-cars.com/288/indonesia-cars-sale…

• love PROTON RC on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:05 pm

one more wish.. I really want to see PROTON cars model including PROTON EXORA is in Gran Turismo PS3 game, or FORZA XBOX game.. if can PROTON cars model feature in arcade game.. I really like to see PROTON cars decorated and uniquely modified and many people from all around the world post it on cars forum, blogs, youtube.. many of my friends from Germany, Italy, France didn't belive me that my country MALAYSIA produce cars..they like to post beautiful modified, colourful paintbrush cars that they play in game but sadly there is not even a single PROTON cars.. and they really hard to believe me that MALAYSIA really have cars like PROTON.

PROTON please granted my wish.. MAY GOD BLESS PROTON FOR THE SAKE OF MALAYSIA PROUD :)

• the gear knob is nice

cheers!

• apexg2 on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:57 pm

erm…1.6 turbo diesel???y put in exora….y not in gen2 or neo….

• spare tyre on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:04 pm

Exora M-Line – RM64k++

Exora B-Line – Much more cheaper…

Mati lee P2 MPV….

• azrai on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:10 pm

Proton took a pre-emptive measure right now. No wonder people will don't wait for Perodua's Lumina after looking at those attractive price. B-line can be less than RM60k i think so. Now the rakyat has the suara and power. Meanwhile, the felda settlers have more buying power since Proton launch its 2 new line-up at Felda day. Good! Ulu Belitong can make 2 booking; 1 for Exora and 1 for the Saga SE since each of them received RM1k per person due to winning the pertandingan keceriaan of feldas.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:10 pm

I would say at 65k, this is becoming a much better buy.

Now all I need is to wait a year or so for Proton to iron out the kinks (which historically given Protons track record, i'm sure they have some)

• leonardo on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:27 pm

This is good news for those who wants better control of the revs and engine braking. It is safer for overtaking too where you can downshift for more power and less 'exposure time'.

• prolever on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:27 pm

EMmm…..under 64 k and i see its a reasenable price.

put things here put things there, it will become mini alphard…uuuuuuuuu

ok manual has came out, when will the se ?????

i hope not until end of the next year…

• noobtard on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:29 pm

i think manual is suit able for 1.6 campro in exora body.

more power for moving from zero.

• prolever on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:30 pm

why they dont have the h-line for manual…so pity.

• tansri on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:37 pm

yeah..

toyota smelling the end of avanza…

maybe they toyota will just leave p2 mpv to fight with this exora manual? is that true paul?

• Basic Man on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:37 pm

If i want to buy Proton.. i will get Basic Line..hehe..

then i make it Prestigue as my own idea.. yeah yeah…

Guys, have u see any Ah Beng's 'Prestigue' on the road?

hope someone can show the link@picture…

• Salamander on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:53 pm

So the M-line is RM 64k. Proton will be waiting for P2 MPV and send out the B-Line?

• ericfoong81exe on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:02 pm

Sounds good for the price of 65k, good value for such a big van…..

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:03 pm

since it's M-line, does it have airbags/ABS?

Oh and anyone hv a clue of what the turbo engine output will be like?? Not sure how economical a 1.6l turbo will be though

• peYno on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:08 pm

if proton come out H line MT.. the price wudbe RM69k and it is so close to M line AT version .. proton doesnt want to kill their own model.

So releasing M Line MT is good strategy by proton..

H line AT :75k

M line AT :69k

M line MT:65k

next end year 2009

B line MT :59k

next year 2010

Exora SE version :79k

• fastcx on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:21 pm

for exora, i tot all trimming standard equipment is abs n srs, so i dnt think proton skim on this mt version either, right paul? if thats the case, good job proton

• we will have 1.6 turbo engine? great…. i will buy it 1-2 years after it launched…

• yuhuu on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:39 pm

DSZ told that At present, there were 5,000 Exora MPVs registered in the market with pending orders for about 14,000 vehicles.

• wht sort of "snail" will b using? similar to Prince Engine / T-jet

• waja2000 on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:52 pm

why no Manual Highline ?

• lazyf on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:05 pm

Great bargain! Doesnt matter if there's no H-Line version cuz M-Line version is already gud enuf (which is comes standard with Airbag, ABS + EBD). Congrats PROTON!!!

• Actually a lot of people do not know how to use an automatic gear. When going uphill or overtaking you can always use the 3 rd gear (which all Protons have compared to other makes). This will prevent it from searching for lower gears. It is also good for fuel economy when going uphill which I always do with my Gen 2 1.3 and Saga auto. When my wife uses the 3 rd gear going uphill in her Gen 2 1.3, even her friend's new City could not overtake her.

• theanswer on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:13 pm

yep..double standard! they should offer manual for h-line.

• theanswer on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:16 pm

you can always use the 3 rd gear (which all Protons have compared to other makes).

what are the other makers? mind to share? all auto tranny got 3rd gear..it's just they 'hide' it under D mode..and the 3rd gear can be use by using o/d button. proton dont use o/d button but they put 3 at the gear console. it's easier to use o/d button(perdana use this).

• Exora_Owner on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:21 pm

A man and his son and thier donkey

• johan on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:22 pm

I use to think all the new protons seem to be a good deal, but come to think of it when you can actually buy a wish or a stream if its not because of the protection, then its kinda of frustrating. i know we should support a national effort and not go bashing blah blah blah, but if you look at the global automotive climate, there is just no such thing as national pride, its just another consumer product. if all so gung-ho about national made product, so why are we drinking coca-cola or starbucks? just to get why we are made to think we should accept inferior products in this 21st century market. we cried for first world goverment or first world liberty, but we ourselves have a 3rd world consumer mentality. So are we sure we are not encouraging proton to be complacent because whatever roll out of that factory, we are happily swallowing it.

• mayor81 on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:25 pm

Don't bother going to technical bro Zool, a lot of Malaysians don't even know how to take the Roundabout properly! Sticking to the left when they are going to make 3/4 turn and weaving from far right to exit the first turn. Go figure! They need to go back to driving school. Maybe they don't even go to one but still manage to get a license.

• Clutch... on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:27 pm

Any inform on this?

Cable or Hydraulic Clutch type? I find it tough on my knees for cable type clutch…

• was there any adverse comment about the Exora on the road? Many are worried about the quality of proton cars, my wife included. All due from past bad experience with protons.

• Prismo on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:08 pm

Hard time for P2 right now.. with this attractive prices, it's will attract future P2 mpv pontential buyers.. try to imaging, when they offer B-Line auto for RM59k (if available) and B-Line manual RM55k.. if new Wajalution pricing is about RM80, it's will attract vios and city potential buyers…

• clement on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:28 pm

good good. this is what we are waiting for. Bravo and all the best Proton! Be the best and beat the rest!

• the od button or 3rd gear in the gear lever serve the same purpose. both has pros and cons. for some manufacturer such as proton and honda prefer using 3rd gear in the lever because it will give feeling shifting like manual a little bit and compare to od button that easily accidently push without intention, using 3rd in gear lever will help to avoid this.

all new proton cars equip with overdrive gear. in layman term, overdrive gear is gear that has gear ratio less than 1.00 and it has less power and pickup.the purpose of overdrive gear is to promote fuel efficiency as the engine revolution (RPM) will be lower in overdrive gear.

yes, honda has an edge when produce dual overdrive gearbox(5 speed as the term they use but actually 3 gears with dual overdrive). it is better for highway crusing but in town, it is the same as 4 speed as it is hard for it to shift to 5th gear in town because the ratio is to low.

if u think exora final drive is high, please check avanza and sette 1.5, their final drive is above 5.00(lower final drive compare to exora but with the same 4 speed gear box) so u do the math, which rpm will be higher.

adios……………..

(try test the manual version with gl 1.8, u might be suprised)

• CucukMan on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:38 pm

I have a Persona SE.. once a month I always have a long trip ..KL-Penang..

u know what.. i like to speed.. then 170km/j quiet often for me..hehe..

i already try my Campro CPS to beat the 1.8 iVTEC civic..hehe.. yes i can do.. simply can "cucuk" the civic u know.. hehe… proud to have a RM59k machine that can beat RM120k so called power of dream.. but if i have a lot of money, i will get civic too..not for the engine..just for ashthetic, to show off to my colleagues..hehe..

maybe exora turbo can also beat Wish, Stream..hehe.. but for Fuel Consumption..still not sure.. maybe got a little bit higher..but ok maa.. we save rm60k from buying iVTEC ..hehe..

anyone have same experience?

my 1st car is civik ek 96, 2nd old one.. then got new persona coz wanna try CPS engine..hehe.. not bad..

• I saw at Proton Subang Jaya. I'll email to you soon. Imagine Persona B-line. For me not bad for the proton last bullet (to Perodua MPV).

RM59k? heheheh

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:02 pm

wei CucukMan persona SE where got cps, only normal campro iafm…

• Vision2020 on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:03 pm

Paul,

Need more inside scoop for the upcoming CPS turbo (i'm eagerly waiting for this engine to come out). The power over weight ratio should be a lot better when using it with Exora. This should translate to more economical drive.

• Proton Persona SE is powered by the Campro IAFM not Campro CPS

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/08/26/proton-per…

• roti naan1 on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:15 pm

Pakcik, pakcik, cepat pergi beli Exora…..support barang Malaysia..

Pakcik tak mau…..Pakcik nak bawak Estima la….

• anticucukman on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:34 pm

of course you can do 170km/h la cucukman, you can do more than that but really nobody cares if you're the fastest man on the highway especially if you're driving a persona, SE or whatnot.

and yes, you don't have CPS, unless you don't actually what car you're driving.

• farghmee on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:35 pm

persona se 1.6 iafm.

• Annihilated on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:41 pm

Could some one please post a review/verdict of this car test drive. Would love it to compare it one to one with the A/T one. Also, it must be eye smoothing to have Exora sold with manufacturer kitted as option.

Aside tu CucukMan, i don't think Persona SE come std with CPS right? its IAFM, please correct me if i'm wrong.

• Alifz on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:42 pm

Zool,

I agree with you. Most Malaysian I could say are totally lame. They only know to use auto tranny only at lever P,R and D. I reckon they also dunno how do differentiate between P and N lever.

• CucukMan on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:42 pm

dUg0nGnesSss said,

July 8, 2009 @ 12:02 pm

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/08/proton-exo…
    —–

hahaha..then i know who is Proton Sales here..

• KitKat on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:43 pm

CucukMan

The Persona SE doesn't have CPS bro… just the normal iafm…

• nisern2 on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:55 pm

to cucukman , haha siok sendiri tu , persona where got cps,

+ your automatic cucuk civic ah ,u making a laugh out of yourself.

waja ,gen2 cps manual should be more power/same 0-100km/h as civic.

same with neo cps (m)

lol hv fun .

• Tengokaje.. on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:55 pm

The price that P1 offer for the MT version reasonable for me, below 65K. Maybe for H-Line MT, P1 can set around 67-68K.

Salam..

• Lolipop on Jul 08, 2009 at 9:09 pm

I have a Persona SE.. once a month I always have a long trip ..KL-Penang..

u know what.. i like to speed.. then 170km/j quiet often for me..hehe..

i already try my Campro CPS to beat the 1.8 iVTEC civic..hehe.. yes i can do.. simply can “cucuk” the civic u know.. hehe… proud to have a RM59k machine that can beat RM120k so called power of dream.. but if i have a lot of money, i will get civic too..not for the engine..just for ashthetic, to show off to my colleagues..hehe..

maybe exora turbo can also beat Wish, Stream..hehe.. but for Fuel Consumption..still not sure.. maybe got a little bit higher..but ok maa.. we save rm60k from buying iVTEC ..hehe..

anyone have same experience?

my 1st car is civik ek 96, 2nd old one.. then got new persona coz wanna try CPS engine..hehe.. not bad..

—–

Aaa?? persona i tot only CAMPRO IAFM?? HOW COme got CPS one?

• initial R on Jul 08, 2009 at 9:13 pm

So if Pesona SE iafm that price around RM60k can follow Civic Price RM120k, it should be ok already. Not to mention Gen2 CPS yet.

• SwiftMatrix on Jul 08, 2009 at 9:14 pm

CucukMan, Are u sure you are Proton Persona owner?????

Where got Persona CPS…

As far as I know, only 3 Proton's car fit with CPS ,,,

Gen2, Neo & Exora…

• Too much plastic!!!! It feels like u ar living in a plastic bag!!

• initial R on Jul 08, 2009 at 9:34 pm

Dog, i think u are plastic. Just bias like cowboy shooting. 10 shoot nothing hit at all. Even u read malaysian insider, so silly. That person not live in malaysia, he also just like you used plastic name to impress malaysia ppl. Actually that guy are so lazy to wrote & u follow what that blob said. Get your life man….

• @ initial R

Well, it goes to show that u are living in a fake world created by your delusional monkey brain, I live in a real world, and some real facts are tough to swallow….

• gen2 noprob on Jul 08, 2009 at 9:50 pm

my not CPS Gen2 also no prob and still stable at 170kmh.. I bet with CPS it is much better.

IMHO Campro engine is good enuf.. proton just need to concentrate more on interior quality and perhaps fuel consumption..

• fastcx on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:09 pm

dog said,

July 8, 2009 @ 1:48 pm

@ initial R

Well, it goes to show that u are living in a fake world created by your delusional monkey brain, I live in a real world, and some real facts are tough to swallow….

then its tough for u to swallow that there r still lots of low cost car out there is filled with plastic interior, cz its a fact that, lots of manufacturer use plastic interior to lower the cost, n u said its full of plastic, swallow it dude ;) its reality, n some real fasts are tough to swallow

• mayor81 on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:11 pm

Hello, dog… all mainstream cars uses >80% plastic interior components. Step inside any HONDA or TOYOTA will you find any carbon fiber trims? Even more luxury makers are going the plastic way to comply with environment compliance for recyclable components. There are cheap plastic and expensive plastic. If you say that a Toyota Vios has better plastic than a Proton Saga, you are almost incorrect. They are not any better.

• CucukMan on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:13 pm

SwiftMatrix said,

July 8, 2009 @ 1:14 pm

Where got Persona CPS…

As far as I know, only 3 Proton’s car fit with CPS ,,,

Gen2, Neo & Exora…

I know lar.. Persona SE use IAFM… just want to see who are the Proton Sales Advisor here..hehe.. simple trick, can get a lot respond, hehe .. if i really want to cheat..i can go for Google first lor…

• New City 1.5 (male driver) cannot even overtake my wife's gen 2 1.3 auto (normal campro) going uphill (something like karak highway).

• what a boring car

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:24 pm

stupid dog, even vios dugong also full of cheapo plastic?

• Zool said,

July 8, 2009 @ 2:17 pm

New City 1.5 (male driver) cannot even overtake my wife’s gen 2 1.3 auto (normal campro) going uphill (something like karak highway).

———

beause he still carefull owner.. want to keep engine everlasting… hehe

• farghmee on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:44 pm

so "plastic" is the new bashing word? :P

• initial R on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:48 pm

dog said,

July 8, 2009 @ 1:48 pm

@ initial R

———————————————————-

Yarloh… Maybe my monkey brain in delusional coz now i'm enjoy my job free life that i have to spend my entire life with my fully paid accord & my wife savvy along my 2 story house with my sucsesfull buiseness also with my happly family. I should try to spend my live like you to think -ve. the fact is it so tough to swallow that i'm live happy than you Dog. :)

• fastcx on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:50 pm

initial R said,

July 8, 2009 @ 2:48 pm

+1

• i Wish to have an Es on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:53 pm

CucukMan said,

July 8, 2009 @ 12:42 pm

dUg0nGnesSss said,

July 8, 2009 @ 12:02 pm

—–

hahaha..then i know who is Proton Sales here..

——–

Cucukman very tricky guy..then everyone will know that Persona got IAFM and not CPS haha.. but i oso heard from some user that Persona can beat civic 1.8ivtec.

Guys.. how about Campro FE …Feewittt Edition??

If the manual transmission really pickup.. maybe can consider to get one later if got 2x bonus this year..

• initial R on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:56 pm

farghmee said,

July 8, 2009 @ 2:44 pm

so “plastic” is the new bashing word? :P

———————————————————-

bad dog, bad dog.

• 60min on Jul 08, 2009 at 11:01 pm

Come on la Zool, it's very subjective maa… maybe the driver just drive as normal no rushing at all.. maybe he.. maybe he…it's a lot of maybe

• the od button or 3rd gear in the gear lever serve the same purpose. both has pros and cons. for some manufacturer such as proton and honda prefer using 3rd gear in the lever because it will give feeling shifting like manual a little bit and compare to od button that easily accidently push without intention, using 3rd in gear lever will help to avoid this.

all new proton cars equip with overdrive gear. in layman term, overdrive gear is gear that has gear ratio less than 1.00 and it has less power and pickup.the purpose of overdrive gear is to promote fuel efficiency as the engine revolution (RPM) will be lower in overdrive gear.

yes, honda has an edge when produce dual overdrive gearbox(5 speed as the term they use but actually 3 gears with dual overdrive). it is better for highway crusing but in town, it is the same as 4 speed as it is hard for it to shift to 5th gear in town because the ratio is to low.

if u think exora final drive is high, please check avanza and sette 1.5, their final drive is above 5.00(lower final drive compare to exora but with the same 4 speed gear box) so u do the math, which rpm will be higher.

——————————————————————————————————————————–

dear 460

could you ever check your fact ?

sette 1.5 final gear ratio is a little bit above 4.00 only

dun mislead ppl

• That driver is my wife's colleague. He admits he cannot overtake my wife's car (2005 model) whenever they meet on that hilly road. Probably my wife is a better driver, but she says using the 3 rd gear is of great help. My son likes the 3 rd gear, he says feel like a semi auto…. when overtaking or going uphill just flick into 3 rd gear and change to D when crusing on normal gradient.

• madboy on Jul 08, 2009 at 11:24 pm

The problem with proton plastic, even when on same quality of other car maker, is the way proton present it (the design, fit & finish and colour) make it look cheap.

While proton has improved a lot, proton is still not in the same level with other "matured" car maker. Proton don't need a out of the wold design at this point of time. What it need a car that can sell well. So the design of Exora fit the purpose, a practical MPV that can sell to it target market (I'm not one of them). Now, for those who want more "power". just wait for the turbo CPS (I'll wait for it).

• i reckon that in the future, even when waje replacement come out and exora equip with 2 liter and turbo engine,the basher will still bashing. for those who give constructive comments,it is highly appreciated.

even proton cars subject to tax, they still talking about tax and blamming prtn for interest rate even though prtn did not have any authorithy to set the interest rate.prtn lways want a low interest rate for its customer and prtn always try to do it best for its car. thats why prtn ask u to service ur prtn car to prtn authorised service center so that they can be informed on any problems or defective products so that they can take necessary action toward the supplier if it is not in the accepted ppm defect rates. but some of them prefer to send out to ah beng shop and if something happen, just blame proton. haih……….

prtn need malaysian support. turbo engine is coming soon,it is not easy to develop a reliable and durable turbo engine, it cost a lot of time and millions of hours testing but bear in ur mind nothing perfect in this world. even austin martin engine can blow up only after few minutes driving.

until the end of next year, it is a year that full of colors for prtn. just sit n relax. there still a lot of good stuff will coming out of prtn sleeves. may be start of in the end of this year perhaps :-), maybe something that u have been dreaming of or highly awaited perhaps. and prtn will go head to head with the big ones. let us pray for prtn success.

loads of work right now but it is worth it. prtn daring to change and daring to dare. adios…………….

• the gear knob looks quite far from the driver… need a long hand to change gear or move the seat forward..

• sorry if it is wrong on fd for sette but for avanza 1.5, it is around 5.00 right. i will check the details later. i think it should be the same since it using the same engine and gearbox. maybe u can give out some info on sette gear ratio and final drive. thanks. adios…

• gugusan melur on Jul 08, 2009 at 11:52 pm

bad dog driving a new perodua mpv named perodua doggy.

stupid cucukman, not proton salesperson only know persona se using iafm, most knew about it already, except him.

• I drive first generation Persona Campro also can cucuk Civic..

Last time we got 3 Personas Gold,Red,and Black cucuk a new Civic at 185km/h..

Standard Civic cannot go fast lah.. it got rev limiter what….

RT.

• Lolipop on Jul 09, 2009 at 12:16 am

mct said,

————–

dear 460

dun mislead ppl

————–

dude.. u know nothing. do u know who is 460?

• ali38hak on Jul 09, 2009 at 12:34 am

we want diesel…. cheerrsss

http:://protonturkiye.forum.st

• CucukMan on Jul 09, 2009 at 12:42 am

gugusan melur said,

July 8, 2009 @ 3:52 pm

stupid cucukman, not proton salesperson only know persona se using iafm, most knew about it already, except him.

———-

kamon la bro.. i know u are jealous right? haha.. what car u are using? Mai Vai? see u this friday, 8pm along PLUS Highway.. my Persona Brilliant Red colour.. number WSD 8xx… u dare to race or not? hehe..

the only car that can smoke my persona only Porshe, Audi, and Neo CPS.. damn

• sorry if it is wrong on fd for sette but for avanza 1.5, it is around 5.00 right. i will check the details later. i think it should be the same since it using the same engine and gearbox. maybe u can give out some info on sette gear ratio and final drive. thanks.

—————————————————————

avanza is about 5.0 .

not dun think its the same due to avanza are fr not ff

sette gear ratio

1st 2.730

2nd 1.526

3th 1.000

4th 0.696

reverse 2.290

final gear ratio 4.032
    http://toyota.jp/passosette/spec/spec/index.html
    taken from toyota japan website

————————————–

he someone who is providing some proton info to you guy

but thats not the most important ,

what important is what he give to us (news )

• Maverick on Jul 09, 2009 at 12:49 am

A force induced Campro 1.6 engine?!… now that I gotta see…..

• this paultan blog became "tempat gaduh ka??" atau tempat "sharing ideas?". Lot of people bashing-bashing only without giving relevant ideas.. & also Too many bad words la…

By the way, paultan.org is the best car blog coz always update time -by-time.. love this website.. peace all..

• imanos on Jul 09, 2009 at 12:54 am

No.I think Proton's plastic look ugly because of the name Proton is there. Just pointing out the obvious thought that generally, everybody have…subconciously lah

When ever it comes to proton, every fault is a MAJOR one….plastic lah, buruk design lah, tak cukup power lah, high fuel consumption lah…. all the other FOREIGN,GREAT car maker in Malaysia who have localised their parts also shares the same vendor as proton! aiyoo

Stop being a prejudice. Design, yes. U can say the design is ugly/lawa becaue it's subjective. Power? It depends on how u drive. if u drove a car before, now u are driving an MPV and u are comparing it the same, then u are not being fair. Plasticky? Others also the samelah…. be it avanza, vios, etc..etc…

Just because the badge is not Proton, doesn't meant it's great

• farghmee on Jul 09, 2009 at 1:07 am

mct said,

————–

dear 460

dun mislead ppl

lolipop said,

————–

——————————————

460 is the best source for proton info currently.

maybe 460 made a mistake, but reminding some1 else for his/her mistake is a good deed :)

hmm…si-fu nowhere can be found.

• goguncas71 (Member) on Jul 09, 2009 at 1:07 am

Ahh..the internet, where rival salesmen thrash-talk their rival's car…

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 09, 2009 at 1:12 am

CucukMan said,

July 8, 2009 @ 4:42 pm

kamon la bro.. i know u are jealous right? haha.. what car u are using? Mai Vai? see u this friday, 8pm along PLUS Highway.. my Persona Brilliant Red colour.. number WSD 8xx… u dare to race or not? hehe..

Cicakman. U sure ur persona is so fast? Or you're an idiot that don't scare to DIE? Ppl driving Porsche do value their life more as they're rich enuf to enjoy life. Perhaps r u those who feel sucks in life and every moment thinking to meet God? What a HERO

• saya owner proton persona se…memang best kereta ini..

dah 6 bulan pakai…x ada masalah..tahniah proton krn menghasilkan kereta yang baik..

• _xXx_ on Jul 09, 2009 at 1:35 am

Yawn. Add MT version – new model. Add some stickers – new model. New colors – new model. Never learnt. Yawn. SE is always additional of abang accessories. Yawn.

• hitman on Jul 09, 2009 at 1:39 am

now you can physically exercise your left arm and left leg in an already underpowered car. what u fellas complaining about. osim also cannot offer this kind of workout.

this is the kind of thing that will make the driver volunteer to sit in the 3rd row of seats.

yahooo…

• gugusan melur on Jul 09, 2009 at 2:04 am

gugusan melur said,

———-

—————————————————-

what u said?mai vai??oh nooooo…i'm not interested on that road rubbish car hahaha…sakit mata haha

• fauzi on Jul 09, 2009 at 2:15 am

CucukMan said,

July 8, 2009 @ 4:42 pm

gugusan melur said,

———-

……………………………………………………………………………………………….

after you cucuk other at PLUS highway,then doctor pulak cucuk you at hospital

• _xXx_ on Jul 09, 2009 at 2:20 am

u guys like to cucuk WITHOUT PHYSICAL CONTACT. Cummon, do a real one. Go bang someone's backside hard and I will call u hero!

• fastcx on Jul 09, 2009 at 2:27 am

_xXx_ said,

July 8, 2009 @ 5:35 pm

Yawn. Add MT version – new model. Add some stickers – new model. New colors – new model. Never learnt. Yawn. SE is always additional of abang accessories. Yawn.

Slap on some body kit n call it trd – new model+additional price increase. Yawn, never thought vios trd is ADDITION of abang accessories. YAWN

• fastcx on Jul 09, 2009 at 2:33 am

o n _xXx_, its call new variant, not model, dont know? where have u been since u born? is it ur whole world only have proton, tat u cant see what other marque doing as well?

• khimfoh on Jul 09, 2009 at 2:33 am

I think I wait for the turbo charged Exora 1.6 …

• theanswer on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:03 am

wondering….cucukman spend over 50k to buy persona se then realize that it's not equip with cps technology..aduh..giler kesian.

• SwiftMatrix on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:32 am

Hayyoo CucukMan…

I know la your RM4Xk -RM5xk car @ Persona soo "marvelous" even only Audi, Porss..can beat yours… but please laaa…..

What ever car you drive….. my advise is just enjoy yours….

• fazron80 on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:40 am

Persona SE is just as fast as any other Persona with IAFM. Cheapest persona should be as fast as Persona SE because of the same engine. If the purpose is to drive fast should have picked the CPS engine instead of IAFM.

• sadin on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:56 am

Jolly_idiot said,

July 8, 2009 @ 5:12 pm

Cicakman. U sure ur persona is so fast? Or you’re an idiot that don’t scare to DIE? Ppl driving Porsche do value their life more as they’re rich enuf to enjoy life. Perhaps r u those who feel sucks in life and every moment thinking to meet God? What a HERO

———

rich people oso commit suicide

• Littlefire on Jul 09, 2009 at 4:16 am

Hello, are you all crazy just that ur 1.3L persona/gen.2 overtake another better car?!? How do u know that the another car already rev habis?

If i drive a kancil and overtake a mercedez benz, did that mean that my kancil is superior then the merc?!?

• Shinigami on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:03 am

Im driving a kancil n i'm happy with it although i can afford to buy much more than that… :)

• Call the traffic police to catch these speed idiots (170km/h? So?)…

Police!!!

These idiots stated with prove they are driving dangerously on road and want to kill other Milo tin car users…

Police!!! Police!!! Police!!!!

Faster track this pepole and put them in jail!!!!

• perotujuh on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:21 am

Littlefire said,

July 8, 2009 @ 8:16 pm

If i drive a kancil and overtake a mercedez benz, did that mean that my kancil is superior then the merc?!?

———————-

Noh, It mean you superior then the man who drive the merc.

———–

Better wait the Campro 1.6 Turbo.

• greencar on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:36 am

since the price fall into a affordable range, i afraid the street will be flooded with this minivan like myvi (i think proton love to see this happen). just beware when you travel up hill…. the backward minivan may be coming your way :) :) run for your life!!

• Pol Ice Evo X on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:51 am

KC said,

July 8, 2009 @ 9:09 pm

Call the traffic police to catch these speed idiots (170km/h? So?)…

Police!!!

These idiots stated with prove they are driving dangerously on road and want to kill other Milo tin car users…

Police!!! Police!!! Police!!!!

Faster track this pepole and put them in jail!!!!

————

ya..report accepted!

2 unit of Mitsubishi Evo X Helang Lebuhraya will be send to that location to catch Mr.Cucukman… get ready to be sued..

• Char Ching on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:03 am

Littlefire said,

Hello, are you all crazy just that ur 1.3L persona/gen.2 overtake another better car?!? How do u know that the another car already rev habis?

—-

i know who is crazy idiot…haha Persona SE comes with 1.6A (IAFM) haha… just drive your kancil, dont underestimate others car …

when u drive in highway.. on the right line is Fast track right?

• bobdbilder on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:13 am

Gee I dunno. An MPV with Turbo? The old Estima used to have a supercharger once. Coz the main concern is low to mid range torque.

Just to add; MPVs should state passenger volume/space, cargo space in their specs. Coz that's a major selling point.

• A bigger engine like 1.8 or 2.0L better than 1.6 turbo, for my opinion…

• hai… uncle tan

saya semestinya berminat sangat dengan exora ni.

design ok,,,, space dalam ok… semuanya dikira oklah……….

tapi saya lebih berminat tranmisi gear manual. Saya telah bertanya kepada dealer proton di kuching, mereka memaklumkan semua tranmisi gear ada automatik. takda manual…… Benarkah ????…………………..

tk

• proton plz surprised on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:10 am

turbo=more torque

• mike slakov on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:47 am

When the exectly Proton Exora with the Campro 1.6 Turbo will be launched?

• mike slakov on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:58 am

proton exora must be have change their old engine to the new one such Campro 1.6 Turbo and their dashbord too!

• Proton must be have change their old engine to the new one such Campro 1.6 / 1.8 Turbo and their ugly dashboard too!

Kalau semua ni ok…i will get it one. Confirm!

• niaserng on Jul 09, 2009 at 9:28 am

170km/h u call police?

how bout police ,escort and king , do u wan to complain them too.

come on , only those motorbike ppl who said that.

since u so jealous, pity you la.

• Then, u mean motorbike ppl not road user?

Since U so kind, do u want buy a persona or Exora (better) for them?

• niaserng on Jul 09, 2009 at 4:12 pm

K.C said,

July 9, 2009 @ 5:32 am

Then, u mean motorbike ppl not road user?

http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/08/proton-exo…

Did I said the motorbike not road user?

What make u said what is kind of me? buy for them , wat is worth of them , are they cannot earn themselves , are they dont hv hands or legs?

answer each n everyone of it .

don answer not my question and says kind or good and free cars.

• niaserng1 on Jul 09, 2009 at 4:13 pm

K.C said,

What make u said what is kind of me? buy for them , wat is worth of them , are they cannot earn themselves , are they dont hv hands or legs?

• niaserng1 on Jul 09, 2009 at 4:13 pm

K.C said,

• SY0H (Member) on Jul 09, 2009 at 4:39 pm

Salamz and Hie,

Hello there you car enthusiasts! Currently, I'm initiating a project called; "Project CPSSS". Planting the CPS Manual Transmission in to my Proton Persona. Yes, I repeat, Proton Persona. Meanwhile, the old IAFM Engine will be transplant into my father's older Gen-2 to replace that torque-dipping first generation CamPro engine. I'm thinking of placing that old CamPro engine into my old Charade-Aura. Maybe I should take it step by step. But CPS in Persona is a must! That's how Proton should have powered Persona. *grinning*

• SY0H (Member) on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:10 pm

Hi and Salamz,

Yeah furthermore, for the respect on the topic, its about Exora and nothing to do about Persona. So allow me to leave some comments on Exora too :P

There are few things I like and dislike about Exora and Proton;

1) Hand Brake

The Hand Parking Brake… I repeat The Hand Parking Brake… if you notice, most MPVs uses Foot Parking Brake. The reasons that in which Foot Parking Brake has much better grip on the tyres when to do stationary parking (or drifting haha) because an MPV is way slightly over 1 ton heavy. It could be easily released with Release Foot Brake lever too. If the traditional Hand Parking Brake in Exora is to be removed, you'll notice that there's an ample space between the driver and the front passengger seat. Childrens can easily roll over there and here (which is a norm in any Family Car). Looks like Proton may have miss out this logic when designing Exora.

Another problem with Proton's Hand Parking Brake, as what I'm having right now with my Persona, the Hand Parking Brake tends to loosen up too high after a while. I can try to tighten the cable-tightening-nuts (which is located adjacent to the Hand Parking Brake) but the problem still persist. I don't want to keep on tightening the nuts as you may accidentally impose unnecessary tension force to the cable beyond its designs specs (and it may snap!). I suspect the culprit could be the quality of the brake pad itself or the brake cabling system. This problem is more prone to Proton cars with rear drum brakes. The car is stationary on flat ground but you have to pull your Hand Parking Brake way up just to have that sense of security. My only concern is that if I have to park my car at slope or hill side. Then I have to switch my Manual Transmission to Gear 1 (which is dangerous too as the car might jerk if you forgot to switch it to neutral when restarting). After that, I'll have to resort to an old-proven technology to held the car in place; The-Batu-Bata-Put-Under-The-Tyre-Technology (T.B.B.P.U.T.T.T.).

Phew~ 2 paragraphs just on Hand Brake, I hope Proton people is reading this. I'll continue this later, got work to do. :X

• Prismo on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:11 pm

Littlefire said,

——————————————————————

How he/she know that the another car already rev habis kah? aiya.. easy ma.. their subject/talk/argue was about the race.. everyone who involved in a race, i am very sure that they will floooooring the pedal!! tekan abis woooo….!! mana mahu kalah!!! who can denying this?!

And if u drive kancil and overtake a merc, that becoz the merc drive wanna save fuel ma.. not becoz that kancil was superior.. 1.6 IAFM/CPS vs 1.6, ivtec/vtec dan sewaktu dgnnya, only they will know what the result.. 660/850 vs over 2.0/3.0 (driver merc rev habis), sememangnya tiada harapan… satu guni asap yg driver kancil tu bawak balik…

KC said,

July 8, 2009 @ 10:30 pm

A bigger engine like 1.8 or 2.0L better than 1.6 turbo, for my opinion…

—————————————————————-

1.6 turbo can save/reducing roadtax bill, fuel efficiency (as 1.6L engine) if u r a slow driver.. if want power beyond 1.6, just flooring and u will get what u want for.. it's will be like 2.0L power and fuel consumption… u get what u paid for… 2.0 is always 2.0.. no matter what u do, the fuel consumption is always be 2.0L.. nanti bini kata, bang jgn membazir duit, roadtax dah nak expired… makan mee maggi je hari ni ye bang, nanti campur sayur sikit… :D

• Prismo on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:18 pm

wow SY0H.. and ur old Charade Aura engine can be transplant into ur Honda EX5 motorcycle..it's will an awesome bike.. love to hear what will JC say about ur X5.. just kidding mate.. :) and good luck with ur project… ;)

• mozaks (Member) on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:02 pm

manual transmission should be better for exora… I've tried the A/T before, very comfortable driving but no pick-up from 0kmh…

• _xXx_ on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:16 pm

fastcx said,

July 8, 2009 @ 6:33 pm

o n _xXx_, its call new variant, not model, dont know? where have u been since u born? is it ur whole world only have proton, tat u cant see what other marque doing as well?

when did I say other makers don't do this? FYI, most makers don't even give this a damn, not to mention to have press conf

• Aper Nie on Jul 09, 2009 at 6:59 pm

Yet, they should restyle or do something with the tail light etc..not nice. Front end very good, rear….something is not right…no umph.

• thanks to mct to clarify my errors. yes, both sette and avanza 1.5 have the same gear ratio but the final drive is different where for avanza it is 5.125. sorry, i cannot quote any internet source because i rarely google for info. and sorry for the unintended mistakes. I'm not try to mislead anyone but just want some people to think about it because no one question it before.

em, since exora has 4.625 final drive,many people complaining about high rpm and also fc. not to mention the UNDERPOWER term that been always used to describe exora. but since sette is weighing more than avanza and its fd is higher than avanza, is it suppose to be underpower? or why avanza need to set lower fd is its power to weight ratio is good? somebody said rwd avanza is better than fwd because it gives better pickup, but why need a lower fd? it is a vast different between sette fd and avanza fd, is it because fwd and rwd, why the different is too big? if fd 5.125 for avanza is good for pickup, so what happen if sette fd 4.032,is it mean less pickup or take off or underpower???

i think people did not care about all of that because it is toyota. everything they do is good. no one ever wonder why such a big different set up of fd. but if prtn do any alteration,they will question until the world end :-). haih………adios…………..

• Hi Paul

So it is kind of confirmed 1.6T will be available around end of next year?

TIA

• and little fire, do u drive kancil? no offence, just wondering when reading ur last comment. by the way, it is a good car, good fc. adios…………..

• this is what i dont like.manufacturers always give manual the 2nd class treatment.manual is perceived lower end these days.but its good to know manual will be better to drive than auto.only 1 think about exora,the dashboard design is so 90's

• BigFire on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:13 pm

Littlefire said,

—–

1st – your facts is wrong..haha.. they talk about 1.6 Persona SE vs civic on Highway

2nd – again confused statement, u drive kancil and overtake Benz on highway? WoooW… using Turbo engine or what? On highway? i tot kancil can fly at 100km/j..

Hey Cucukman..buy Exora and race again, this time with Refrigerator Alphard..hahaha

• SY0H (Member) on Jul 09, 2009 at 8:41 pm

In reference to:

muryadi said,

July 9, 2009 @ 10:10 am

ON what

CIKQ said,

July 8, 2009 @ 11:52 pm

I believe what CIKQ was trying to say is; that the salesman of Proton Kuching claimed that Exora Manual Transmission is not available. Only Auto is available. My advice to CIKQ, don't be tricked by this salesman, they just wanted to finish off their Auto stocks to give way for the Manual stock. I suggest you look for other Proton Salesman or wait until the Manual stock arrive at Kuching.

• PasarMalam Bisnesman on Jul 09, 2009 at 11:18 pm

Long time to wait my Exora bcos want to exchange my P2 Rusa for pasar malam bisnes. Be patient..

• Persona CPS on Jul 10, 2009 at 12:34 am

cucukman,

the civic guy loves his life/car, unlike you. HET A LIFE!

• Auto_crat on Jul 10, 2009 at 6:13 am

I do agree. The civic guy must have loved his car a lot. I know I do. I think cucukman is just a mat rempit version for car.

• Prismo on Jul 10, 2009 at 4:06 pm

1 thing made me laugh.. when peoples said that civic driver loose the race just becoz he love his ride, that make me think.. do u guy were at the same place as cucukman when they were racing their car?? how do u peoples know that civic driver is not flooring the pedal? i'm not backing up cucukman, but is that honda are very fast/great until the others marque cannot denying it power?? my argue is not about cucukman, but it's about civic…

• initial R on Jul 10, 2009 at 6:12 pm

let me say like this, most ppl buy civic not coz they love they car but they think that they can speed more faster on civic. i remember back last 4 year back in penang (balik pulau) when my friend own wira 1.5 MT ori engine with just minor NA tune have beat up civic EG 1.6 with fully turbo modification by "3 tiang lampu". that chinese guy have bet how ever car have lose in race have to trow they car in the sea. Mamat tu tak puas ati sebab kalah suruh bukak bonet enjin nak tengok ada tipu ka ?. supprisingly my friend engine just normal wira engine that can pass road block & in other hand that chinese guy have modifide the whole car to make his civic go more faster. I honda user, i know pro & con used honda. Even my Accord also bean "cucuk dekat" with Perdana on highway some time.

• farghmee on Jul 10, 2009 at 6:43 pm

driving too fast in public road is not good.

i believe in what cucukman said about 170 km/h.

i once drove gen2 1.6 auto, 5average person & still reached 170km/h.

at that speed, it is not "speed" only.

"confidence" is important.

and gen2 provide me that.

regarding the civic,

yes it may be true that that civic driver did not rev the car.

but,

mind to tell us, at that speed 185km/h, what is the rpm of the civic?

hi speed low rpm? :D

please dun believe&swallow my word.

go test drive & experience urself!

• off topic, its good to have that kind of modification of saga se, yes of couse, proton love to do it if it is saleable because it cause a lot of money because when u want to insert a new engine, by the way cps engine is little bit different desingn because of vim and intake design, the weight is also different, so it is subject to going back to crash test, the brake capacity need to test back, suspension tuning and of course the chasis. thats why even for r3, they need to strengthen up the chasis to coupe with its new ability. it is not as simple converting engine in ah beng shop because safety is the main concern.

when it involve cost, it need to absorb it in car price and also how many car need to roll out in order to breakeven. thats why even to insert cps engine in gen2, waja and neo takes sometime before it been revealed to the public.

but it is not something that cannot be done, but it only inccur a lot of money and man hours to come with end product. so it is better this money and man hours spend on another future product example persona enhanced fl (just an example only) and so on.

and of course the car price constraint. if the price jump up very high, it will not become as entry level product. prtn now trying to reposition back its product, so be patient.

and for exora users(for those that a little bit unfamiliar with drive by wire system and fuzzy logic and also not familiar with auto transmission), if the a/t transmission seems like hunting gears when going uphill, one simple solution is to turn off the overdrive gear by sloting to 3rd gear. it will minimise the hunting gears because in D, the ecu always change to 4th gear if it is permissable. since everyone already know that the drive by wire throttle has been calibrate to maximum to increase the engine response, it become highly sensitive to throttle input. try to learn when u need to maintain the pedal pressure or ease up when want the gear to up shift. if u want to maintain speed in highway, if u want to speed up, just gently floor the throttle so that the tcu and ecu will not sense any urgency of throttle input.

dont floor the gas pedal of the a/t like u drive a manual. it is different. and one more thing, for exora, there is one system in invecs 2 called fuzzy logic to enhance engine braking. yes, every auto car will down shift when u slow the car but fuzy logic system sense if the traction is lose, meaning the car move faster than the throttle input (hill decending) it will downshift early to maximize engine braking and traction. even when u drive in a small slope, if it detect the speed of the car unmatch with throttle input, it will downshift. normally, european cars used this function. but saga blm and persona does not have this function, that is why it behave like japanese auto car. yes sometimes u will hear the engine roaring because of engine braking due to high rpm, but it is a safety measure. we need to remember, it is an AI (artificial intelligent), it doesnt have eyes, so it depend on input and sensors.

actually, if u read the prtn car manual(book), it is already explain but many buyers did not even bother to open even the first page.

thank u to initial r for the suggestion, it is highly appreciated. adios……………

• Tengokaje.. on Jul 10, 2009 at 7:58 pm

Regarding Exora 1.6T (don't know MT or AT or AMT) or Exora SE (if P1 want to introduced it), could it be like the Prime version that being displayed at KLCC when Exora was launched by PM? If that, so….. it will be great and hope P1 can price it between 75K – 80K. Keep your finger cross.

Salam..

• apeng on Jul 10, 2009 at 10:06 pm

also waiting for maybe Exora special edition or whatever names as long it improve much more on exterior/interior & engine….with reasonable price…

• yuhuu on Jul 11, 2009 at 1:58 am

yea yea,, everyone superior quality, top performance with cheapest prices.. yeh yeh… please get it in ur dream or accept current..

• MUfaZa Alomo on Jul 11, 2009 at 2:47 am

Eh,,nobody put other engine in Exora yet aa?

• turbolover on Jul 11, 2009 at 3:05 am

goood….been looking for the manual version

i want to do BOLT ON TURBO on the engine hahaha

now got E Manage lagi senang mau buat….

yahoooo!!!

p/s otw to Proton showroom

• initial R on Jul 11, 2009 at 4:10 am

Belum raya mungkin i dapat my Exora MT. Yahooo…. finally. Maitain silver color. Raya nanti banyak sikit boleh bawa. My parent sure selesa sebab luas lagi selesa. Hahahaha……

• tokmoh on Jul 11, 2009 at 6:53 am

fastcx said,

July 8, 2009 @ 2:50 pm

initial R said,

July 8, 2009 @ 2:48 pm

+2

Ehehe…

Recently, I saw aVANza ads in the papers, lineup looooooots of aVANza n their owners, then use fancy taglines like "superior reliability", and err…. something else. I think must be "good residual value" and "japanese tech". Yawn……

Nissan also put ads about this one Pahang guy who'd even sleep in his Grand Livina ala hippies la kononnya… Calling it the Nissan craze or something……

I see signs of competitors getting seriously worried, ehehehe…

• perolima on Jul 11, 2009 at 7:32 am

Goooooood luck, new Exora owner, selamat hari raya…

I still wait and see the turbo one before make any decision.

• perolima on Jul 11, 2009 at 8:04 am

The civic driver drive kancil before lah… PMC never touch him how to dvire faster mah.

• S.Roma on Jul 11, 2009 at 3:42 pm

Nice !

Good work P1 !

Can i buy the Campro Turbo Engine only? Hehe…

• paul ,sounds like campro turbo is confirmed, ??

any indication??

• S.Roma on Jul 11, 2009 at 4:15 pm

erm…1.6 turbo diesel???y put in exora….y not in gen2 or neo….

———————————————————–

Turbo diesel? anyone said about turbo diesel? Lame on u…

• S.Roma on Jul 11, 2009 at 4:26 pm

SwiftMatrix said,

July 8, 2009 @ 1:14 pm

Where got Persona CPS…

As far as I know, only 3 Proton’s car fit with CPS ,,,

Gen2, Neo & Exora…

————————————————————–

So lame, u also dono, Waja also got CPS ma… cant u see what the police been using?

• S.Roma on Jul 11, 2009 at 4:36 pm

fazron80 said,

July 8, 2009 @ 7:40 pm

Persona SE is just as fast as any other Persona with IAFM. Cheapest persona should be as fast as Persona SE because of the same engine. If the purpose is to drive fast should have picked the CPS engine instead of IAFM.

I disagree with u, come to think of it, Pesona SE has more this and that, means more weight, means slower la bro… but, it is just that little ma…

• S.Roma on Jul 11, 2009 at 4:55 pm

KC said,

July 8, 2009 @ 10:30 pm

A bigger engine like 1.8 or 2.0L better than 1.6 turbo, for my opinion…

————————————————————–

From ur opinion that is, from the engineer at Proton? and their RnD? of coz before the made up any decision, they did make a test. Thats why la they wanna make it turbo…

• peYno on Jul 11, 2009 at 5:02 pm

Proton, pls bring us Exora SE version

Prime/prestage bodykit, custom rear tail light , upgraded interior with 1.6 turbo engine

we dont mind paying extra 5k for those kits and 3k for turbo engine

if compared to basic 1.6 grand livina, it is value for money if proton can sell it at 80k for MT and 85k for AT

• fazron80 on Jul 12, 2009 at 9:35 am

Yes S.roma I do agree on that too. Unnecessary bodykit does add unnecessary weight so maybe cheapest persona slightly faster than persona SE. If in the future proton wants to introduce Exora SE they should consider engine upgrade ( turbo? supercharger?1.8? or whatever) to compensate that added weight. Exora SE owners can then claim they cucuk alphard or any other MPV on the road. At the moment all Exora I encountered seems to be fast enough on the road.

• For Exora_Oner:

what do u mean "A man and his son and thier donkey" ?

Are the Exora doesn't have enough power aren't you?

plz reply me Immediately

• To Sell A Donkey on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:58 am

mike said: "what do u mean “A man and his son and their donkey” ?"

Kids story:
    http://www.storiestogrowby.com/stories/sell_donke…

• to SYOH, do u always pull the brake lever according to ur senses or number of clicks? average drivers actually abuse the handbrake. it is because they never read the manual book. when u buy a car and when it is still new, u shud listen to the click sound. for normal parking and even on a steep slope, it shud be 3 to 5 notches (3 to 5 clicks sound).

Normally,on even road, only 1 click is needed. If it is uneven, 2 clicks is just enough and for hill parking, it shud be 3 to 5 clicks. if it needs more than that(more than 5 clicks), send to sc to check and adjusted the brake.

based on my observation,normally people ignored the clicks cound, they only use their but-o-meter that causing them to pull the brake lever more than it shud for example more than 5 clicks on normal gradient where they suppose to pull only 1 to 2 clicks only. that is why the parking brake cable always loosen up, being abuse by the user.

anyway, if u have problems,please send to sc. yes, on hill braking, it is advisable to slot in gear to help the braking. adios……………

• to SYOH, do u always pull the brake lever according to ur senses or number of clicks? average drivers actually abuse the handbrake. it is because they never read the manual book. when u buy a car and when it is still new, u shud listen to the click sound. for normal parking and even on a steep slope, it shud be 3 to 5 notches (3 to 5 clicks sound). Normally,on even road, only 1 click is needed. If it is uneven, 2 clicks is just enough and for hill parking, it shud be 3 to 5 clicks. if it needs more than that(more than 5 clicks), send to sc to check and adjusted the brake. based on my observation,normally people ignored the clicks cound, they only use their but-o-meter that causing them to pull the brake lever more than it shud for example more than 5 clicks on normal gradient where they suppose to pull only 1 to 2 clicks only. that is why the parking brake cable always loosen up, being abuse by the user. anyway, if u have problems,please send to sc. yes, on hill braking, it is advisable to slot in gear to help the braking. adios……………

• abgabas on Jul 15, 2009 at 12:57 am

Bro 460, compared between Exora and Waja manual which one have better low end torque since proton modified the final ratio and some engine tuning to suite with the weight of Exora. Appreciate if you can answer since I already booked the Exora manual but there will be no test drive unit available for the manual. Early delivery for manual only available on early september..still long way to go for me to feel the performance on manual unit. I can only test the auto unit but can't compare it with the manual unit.

• fazron80 on Jul 15, 2009 at 1:58 am

Perhaps overabuse is the reason why my dad's iswara handbrake suddenly broke off.

• CocoBear on Jul 15, 2009 at 11:30 am

How about the handbrake that is engaged using foot pedal? How many clicks?

• farghmee on Jul 15, 2009 at 6:17 pm

is it "comparable" to compare a sedan with an mpv, isn't it?

• to abagas, i think it is not fair to campare exora mpv and waja cps sedan. of course, if u want to drag exora manual versus waja cps manual, of course waja will wins hand down. Yes lower fd translate better take of, but due to its weight, it is not as fast as waja cps. yes, the throttle response is better in exora compare to waja where in waja, there is slight throttle lag due to dbw but in exora it has been calibrate to minimise the throttle lag (it feels like no throttle lag at all).

but it term of performance, exora it is at par with the other mpv in its category and for manual version, for me,personally, it is far better than one expected and even nearly at par of some 1.8 automatic mpv other makes.

this is just my own method to explain exora manual and auto. so Abagas, u just need to test drive neo cps manual and auto or waja cps manual and auto or gen2 cps manual or auto. the different between manual and auto in those cars are nearly similar to different of performance for exora manual and auto except that the throttle response is better in exora because it is the same as neo cps throttle response.

but i had to admit that exora's handling is a little bit better than waja because of its chasis is more rigid and sturdy than waja and its already handling version 4.0(if not mistaken).

waja is tuned for leisure crusing while exora is tune for family comfort. the power and money is urs. choose wisely and think about the future. adios………..

• farghmee on Jul 16, 2009 at 6:54 pm

what is handling ver. 4.0?

i'm interested to know more, for knowledge sake :)

• Chris on Jul 29, 2009 at 9:34 pm

So anyone know when wil b the manual transmission Exora wil arrive in Sibu, Sarawak? I've to wait for my Saga til mid Sep. Tot to change to Exora lo:)

• abgabas on Jul 30, 2009 at 8:54 pm

Today, my SA call me..the show room car for manual will be arrive at show room ASAP..mean maybe tomorrow or today will arrive..he will call me to view the car..the delivery also will be on august as well instead of september (during my booking)..maybe they already have enough manual model for the first delivery that why it faster than original schedule

• arie1968 on Aug 01, 2009 at 7:25 pm

Anyone here already booked an Exora with proton Xchange? How is the procedure? Mine, already booked the manual Exora and wants to have proton Xchange for my old car. Whose here can help with it's?

• Chris on Aug 01, 2009 at 9:16 pm

Abgabas, r u sure? You mean in Sibu? Yr SA fr which company? EON or PROTON EDAR? Let me know if you can… email: [email protected]. Many thanks!

• to farghmee, handling version 4.0 is the evolution of handling version 1.0 from waja. After waja handling version 1.0, every car come out from proton, its handling have been revised to suit it. any weakness will be improved and upgraded.

to date, the handling for sedan is persona (comfort bias), hatch is neo cps (driving dynamic) and torsion beam setup is exora (comfort bias). Of course, there will be a better product in the future that u can assure it will be better, eventhough for variant and facelifted. there are many different aspects of ride and handling for example steering linierity, lane changes, steering feedback and so on. it is different to suit different car characteristics.

i'm not boasted about proton ride and handling but it is the best handling car in its class without any mumbo jumbo electronic assist where u need to fork out a car double or maybe triple its price to get such ride and handling dynamics. thats why many car manufacturers from mass production even a sports car oriented manufactured have turn to lotus for their aid (there are numbers of proton engineers over lotus HQ). adios…………

• john persie lee on Aug 03, 2009 at 9:55 pm

why u guys so proud of campro , cps and bla bla.

a the end of day is Dohc 1.6 litre engine. old engine..

ppl still look for proton is same as proton – no improvement , no aim..

• suka hati korang ler nk kata apa…aku dh book exora manual tadi puas hati aku…aku tunggu naza citra facelift sampai 4 bulan tk sampai2 suck punye naza…hope p1 tk cam nie sbb sblm nie aku pakai proton mmg tkde masalah

• Anak Dato'KK on Aug 10, 2009 at 12:29 am

memang ramai yg tak puas ati ngan proton skrg ni, pastu kutuk mcm2. Cermin diri sendiri dulu sebelum nak ngata kat org. I doubt that proton has no improvement, so give evidence first PLEASE! aku pun dah diberi peluang utk test drive exora manual, ok je dan aku puas ati. Mcm aku pernah baca kat mana ntah, nak laju beli mclaren, nak selamat beli kete kebal, nak jimat beli ex5…. tp bukan MPV. Kalu taknak beli or tak puas ati, gi beli alphard ke, vellfire ke, estima ke, odyssey ke… tolong hormat org lain. Berilah komen yang membina. Renung2kan lah… have a nice day!

• why people questioning the campro cps…this is the lotus technology….very complicated….good job proton…..

• sukatikolahhh on Aug 21, 2009 at 5:41 am

aku dah test yg manualnyerr… kira OK la utk family sebab aku ni family man. proton Iswara sedan yg dah dekat 20 tawun berbakti tanpa masalah pada aku dah tak muat utk keluarga bila nak balik kampung (bini aku la, macam-macam menda nak bawak balik, toto la, bantal la, kipas angin la, lesung batu la, semua nak sumbat dlm bonnet keta buruk tu termasuk le aku sekali bawak balik set pancing dan jugak henjen motobot 15hp… ahahah)

kalo tengok gambor, macam gear knob tu agak jauh susah nak capai. tapi bila dipandu, OK la pulak. tukaran gear lancar tak tersangkut-sangkut (tau tak tukaran gear Mercedes C200 model W203 pon tak selancar tu? Nissan Sentra 1.6 yg manual pon selekeh gak tukaran gear dia… tu model import ramai yg agung-agungkan tuuuu…).

cuma jarak tukaran gear agak jauh (maksudnya kena tolak jauh sket antara mana-mana gear). tapi klacnya ringan sebab guna sistem hidrolik. (ke aku ni yg dah biasa bawak lori dgn klacnya yg keras tu rasa ringan?)

prestasi henjen dgn gearbox manual ni, macam paul kata "improving the Exora’s lethargic acceleration" betul-betul memberikan nisbah pecutan yg ketara.

masa aku test ari tu highway MRRII kosong sebab hari minggu keta tak banyak, sempat gak pecut hingga 120kmj. nisbah gear teratas macam overdrive, kalo nak memotong di bawah 90kmj rasa lembab sket. sebaik saja tukar ke gear 4, umang aiiii… berdesup wehhhh!!!

aku terperasan bila henjen masuk ke putaran 2000rpm, terasa ada kejutan sket pada enjin. mungkin masa tu fungsi CPS dia hidup (masuk mode high cam bila rpm sampai 2000) dan pecutan jadi bertenaga…

kalo nak pakai keta Exora ni utk jangkamasa panjang, model manual ni dah cukup. Ini bersesuaian sekali bila jangkamasa bayaran balik pinjaman ada yg sampai 9 tahun. Hutang tak habis lagi keta dah reput.

Bila klac habis, klac tu tak semahal mana. Kalo auto, adohhh mak kos servis tukar minyak ATF aje dan lebih kos tukar clutch kit manual gearbox wehhh. Minyak ATF tu wajar ditukar setiap 40,000km sedangkan clutch kit bleh capai sekurang-kurangnya sehingga 80,000km. Kalo gearbox auto tu lingkup sebab kedekut nak selalu servis, lagi la mahal nak tukau gearbox.

Pakai yg manual ni pon, petrol pon jimat sket berbanding yg auto (auto tranny memang banyak membazirkan tenaga dari henjen) Tenaga enjin sampai ke tayar dgn sepenuhnya dgn manual gearbox.

Korang bleh la tunggu model yg pakai turbo keluar di pasaran kalo nak henjen yg pawwar ruut. Tapi musti mau ingat, kalo turbo tu rosakk, duittt lagi. Macam Mercedes E200 Kompressor atau C200 Kompressor, turbo unit tu bukan murah wehhh mau makan 5-8 ribu hengget kalo nak tukau… Bagi org kaya yg mampu beli Mercedes, kos tu tak seberapa sebab takkan pakai mercedes, henjin bunyi macam mesin tebu dek kerana kompressor berbunyi. Nak jaga turbo kena la rajin servis tukar dia punya bearing dan seal (bearing ni akan rosak gak bila sampai waktu wear&tear dia, macam kita tukar v-belt dan tensioner dia). Kos servis turbo plak bukan murah wehhh..

lagi satu… Lotus ride tu bukan cakap kosong. Jalan MRRII ni banyak lekuk dan jalan yg tak senonoh terutama bila sampai pada permukaan penyambung jambatan. Even Mercedes dan BMW pon rasa melambung bila kena penyambung jambatan tu. Tapi aku tak rasa pon bila test Exora tu ariiii…. kabin pon senyap, kedudukan masa memandu pon rasa selesa dan tepat,

kira model ni betul-betul holiau lahhhh… patut la Proton punya tagline “You'll be amazed”

• abgabas on Aug 21, 2009 at 5:45 pm

betul tu apa yg ko cakap..pasal aku dah pakai exora manual ni..bukan setakat test drive tapi dah ada kat umah ..power dia memang superb..lagi power compare dengan wira 1.5 manual aku…sapa2x yg complain pasal under power tu sebenar dia bukan minat nak beli atau xder duit nak beli haha…so far x mengecewakan aku lagi performance exora + handling…

• Anak Dato'KK on Aug 23, 2009 at 2:15 am

Biasala, org dah busok ati dia, elok mcm mana, cantik macam mana or superb mcm mana pun, tetap buruk perspektif dia, duk agung2kan brgan buatan luar. sedarlah wahai manusia, sapa yg datang kat tanah air kita dulu dan potong kepara tuk nenek kita dulu, sejarah jgn lupa…sendrimau ingat!!!

• Anak Dato'KK on Aug 23, 2009 at 2:16 am

Biasala, org dah busok ati dia, elok mcm mana, cantik macam mana or superb mcm mana pun, tetap buruk perspektif dia, duk agung2kan brgan buatan luar. sedarlah wahai manusia, sapa yg datang kat tanah air kita dulu dan potong kepara tuk nenek kita dulu, sejarah jgn lupa…sendri mau ingat!!!

• he3 support proton bro…good price…

• sukatikolahhh on Aug 27, 2009 at 7:46 am

kalau dikira dari dimensi, exora ni lebih panjang dan lebih lebar dari toyota innova. cuma innova tu lebih tinggi dan berenjin kelas 2 liter yg menjadikannya nampak besar di jalanraya.

dan enjin innova 2L tu bukan kuat sangat (136hp), terhegeh-hegeh jugak bila kat jalanraya.

tapi hentah le kenapa la orang malaysia sendiri tanak sokong produk buatan negara dia sendiri.

kalau tengok korea, depa support 100% produk sendiri. perasan dak kalo drama korea, keta yg digunakan dlm cerita tu adalah keta buatan korea aje.

kalu nak ikut, keta korea tu bukan le baguih sangat bahkan lebih kpd hampeh. kompeni aku ader pakai sebiji kia sephia (sebutan yg betul bukan KIA tapi KIAL atau SIAL) – memanjang ajer problem. hutang belum habis keta dah problem itu ini. sparepart plak mahal… buat top overhaul aje harga topset gasket dah lebih RM500.00 sedangkan kalo proton dalam seratus lebih aje lebih kurang…

pastu naza bawak masuk boh brand sendiri. saya ingat lagi problem Kia Carnival (pastu tukar jadi Naza Ria) yg sama iaitu masalah engine block retak mengakibatkan masalah overheating. masalah yg sama kena pada Naza Sorento. member aku beli Sorento, pastu kena tukar henjin gak bila engine block tu retak. Nak jual balik harga jatuh gila-gila sebab takde sapa yg nak…

belum lagi aku dengar masalah yg sama pada henjin Proton yg popular kecuali Proton Tiarap (sebab guna enjin Renault yg problem)

kenyataannya, nothing is perfect and Proton can't please everyone.

Exora aku akan kluar minggu depan… yahuuu… biar la proton iswara reput aku tu berehat sket, dah berpuluh tahun kena dera ngan aku tanpa masalah, kesian la pulak… nama pon dah kenDERAan, memang patut pon kena dera, bukan setengah orang jadi hamba keta… heheheh

• fazron80 on Aug 27, 2009 at 9:30 am

Alot of toyota cars are joke but still malaysians buy because blind by the T badge. Innova and avanza are example of toyota joke cars.

• Anak Dato'KK on Sep 02, 2009 at 5:38 am

+ vios with trd bodykit…. joker!

• Friends,

can share with me here about this cps engine ? Thanks a lot.

• Ahmad Lim on Sep 26, 2009 at 5:36 pm

Oi, ko orang kaya, bolehlah cakap ini bagus, itu tak bagus. Aku dengan RXZ Yamaha lagi baguih, 180km/hr anytime.

Mat Rempit

• loliPOP on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:36 am

Anak Dato’KK said,

August 22, 2009 @ 6:16 pm

Biasala, org dah busok ati dia, elok mcm mana, cantik macam mana or superb mcm mana pun, tetap buruk perspektif dia, duk agung2kan brgan buatan luar. sedarlah wahai manusia, sapa yg datang kat tanah air kita dulu dan potong kepara tuk nenek kita dulu, sejarah jgn lupa…sendri mau ingat!!!

INGAT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• kerata bodoh! macam UBI ! pergi mampus lah proton, tak malu kah?

• heheh,maksud aku itu ubi yg bodo maa…

• charade on Oct 26, 2009 at 10:46 am

also got an old charade aura here. you reckon proton engine such as campro can fit into aura? any other alternative engine replacement for this aura g100 which is reliable, low maintenance cost and reliable? anybody can give suggestions..

• iyeke on Nov 01, 2009 at 7:07 am

yes one suggestion: go scrap that car…

• In mudah.com, there are sellers selling new Exora manual at rm57k only, saying tht its the new price to compete with P2's coming Mpv. Is the price for real? Macam tak percaya. But if it's true, congrats! It's tempting.

• gondol on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:28 am

Have seen Perodua alza, i think if we are seriously looking for an mpv better go for exora. alza is just a mere stationwagon car. furthermore a short driver will find the seat is too high and may encounter difficulties to press the clutch fully and the manual gear knob also is far too low.

• mingyuyu on Nov 26, 2009 at 8:58 pm

Haha, I've seen an Exora that modified the rims, spoiler, grill.etc and put a Mitsubishi badge on it

• bosan giler on Nov 28, 2009 at 7:02 pm

Exora vs Alza

aku akan pilih Exora, tak kira lah apa versi pun, sebab Exorajauh lebih selesa dan aku kira selamat la kalau pandu balik kampung dg sumbat 7 dewasa…. kalau Alza tu 7 kanak2 riang boleh laa…….

• bz gmbk on Nov 30, 2009 at 8:19 am

Baru 5 bulan pakai exora M-Line dah kantoi. Air – con rosak. Radio tak lancar. Terhenti-henti dan berbunyi bila ia rasa nak berbunyi. Hantar workshop minta tinggalkan kereta 2-3 hari untuk repair air-con. Tak logik langsung dan kurang efficient. Body ok. Luas dan selesa. Tp tulah masalah. 5 bulan dah rosak. Tak tahulah lepas ni apa lagi yang rosak.

• ngage on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:26 am

f*ck u lar eddy….always look down national car….that's why national car can't success as japanese car…coz u as malaysians aldy look it down!!!

• hope to see Exora with turbodiesel engine…. it will be more interesting for sure :-)

• sunichi on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:39 am

Baru 5 bulan pakai exora M-Line dah kantoi. Air – con rosak. Radio tak lancar. Terhenti-henti dan berbunyi bila ia rasa nak berbunyi. Hantar workshop minta tinggalkan kereta 2-3 hari untuk repair air-con. Tak logik langsung dan kurang efficient. Body ok. Luas dan selesa. Tp tulah masalah. 5 bulan dah rosak. Tak tahulah lepas ni apa lagi yang rosak.

@bz gmbk

repair kt woksyop ke sc?kalo kt lain wrnty da xleh pki,msh ade wrnty gnela nk repair pape pn kt sc

• lantaksitu on Jun 09, 2010 at 6:49 pm

nasib ko kurang baik le tu…

keta aku OK jer sampai sekarang.

mungkin sebab aku set temp pada tahap ‘paling tak sejuk’ (tapi masih terasa terlampau sejuk terutama kalu dah malam)

• wmy81 on Mar 15, 2010 at 12:38 am

nak beli warna apa untuk proton exora ni….hitam ataupun putih……kalau hitam takut panas…………kalau putih takut warna bertukar kuning…

• lantaksitu on Jun 09, 2010 at 6:47 pm

jgn risau, ekon exora ni sejuk gilerr… takyah tinted pun tak panas daa… lain le kalau orang tu jenis lahir kat kutub utara, takleh kena panas nanti cairr…

• half peace on Apr 06, 2010 at 4:09 pm

aku memang minat kt EXORA ni, tapi bila pikir balik strategi pemasaran proton yg hampeh menyebabkan aku hold on dulu hasrat nk beli keta ni,.beli high line hari ni besok keluar SE lak,.apasal proton x keluarkan semua sekali variasi type (base/medium/high/SE/turbo/lain-lain; mcm strategi pemasaran Perodua Alza) dan biar customer pilih & beli ikut kemampuan?…:(