New Honda Accord 2.0 VTi-L variant launched!

Honda Accord 2.0 VTi-L

Those who have always wanted an Accord with more equipment but didn’t want to splurge for a 2.4 litre version can now opt for the new Honda Accord 2.0 VTi-L, which adds a leather interior, cruise control, a fully electrically-adjustable 8-way driver’s seat with power lumbar support, leather door lining and door mirrors with turn signals.

Honda expects 40% of Accord buyers to opt for the new Accord 2.0 VTi-L, which means it will account for about 200 units a month. The new 2.0 VTi-L will be priced at RM149,800 OTR with insurance. That’s a RM8k premium over the regular 2.0 VTi, but it is much cheaper than the 2.4 litre model which goes for RM171,800.

Another change to the Accord line-up is the addition of a nice new colour called Taffeta White. When this edition of the Accord was first unveiled in 2007 as an American model, the press photography for the sedan was presented in white and it looked pretty good, so it was a little disappointing that when the Accord was launched in Malaysia in April last year there was no white.

Honda is also offering a new optional accessory called the Connex’ Stolen Vehicle Recovery (SVR) system, which will go for RM3,660 inclusive of installation. It is a GPS and GSM based security system which can communicate the car’s GPS coordinates to a central operating center via the mobile network. The system comes with free first year service fee and a compensation guarantee.

In conjunction with the new Accord launch, Honda is also doing something quite interesting. It will be holding a photography presentation called “The Perfectionist – Presented Exclusively by Accord” for 5 days at the One Utama Shopping Center beginning the 29th of July 2009, and later at venues in JB and Penang. The exhibition combines the Accord and various successful Malaysian personas. A commemorative book with the best photographs of the Accord, the personas and their success stories will be launched there. It should be very interesting for those who are into vehicle photography.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=378]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Hustle N Flow on Jul 15, 2009 at 9:58 pm

attractive package..

• Niezam Ahmad on Jul 15, 2009 at 10:04 pm

Nice look…maintain it's premium brand..propose white on City as well.

• now my 2008 2.0 accord will look botak! haha good job!

• summerglory on Jul 15, 2009 at 10:16 pm

rim ugly.they should change rim too.

• come on honda beat the mazda6 2.5 with the accrd 2.4 ,,

• mayor81 on Jul 15, 2009 at 10:32 pm

Somehow, the offer from Skoda for the Superb sounds better, It's just me though :)

• fakhrul on Jul 15, 2009 at 10:32 pm

yup the rim is ugly..

• nabil on Jul 15, 2009 at 10:42 pm

alot on the road , i stil dont like the design

• highway04 on Jul 15, 2009 at 10:42 pm

wats the vti stands 4????

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 15, 2009 at 10:47 pm

Vti = VTec Intelligent.

Btw, is the 2.0L underpower? I heard some say Yes some say No.

• Jason on Jul 15, 2009 at 10:57 pm

the VTi version is more expensive than 2.0E Camry…

However, VTi-L is cheaper than 2.0G Camry…

but the 2.4 Accord is more expensive than 2.4V Camry.. ;-)

• secret on Apr 11, 2010 at 7:55 pm

thats good…. btw, accord vti-l is same price with 2.0G camry…

• why not bring in the Honda Accord Euro to the mass Malaysian instead give them this only for the old folks car?

• Just a minor cosmetic improvement (leather seat n etc) but the increament of overall cost is quite high – 8k?? Yup, the rim is still ugly but the black leather interior may helps a bit.. : (

• Analyzer on Jul 15, 2009 at 11:23 pm

Toyota should follow suit on this with their 2.0E and 2.0G.

Btw, the Camry facelift should be out around August/September.

The new 2.4V should have the start/stop button.

• still not include paddle shift

• Gen2R3 on Jul 15, 2009 at 11:38 pm

The Rims – Ugly

The Colour – NIce (White is Clean..)

The Design – 25% better but need to improve on Ride-High and Rims, LED Light etc.

The Price – Kinda' high..

• nowadays white color is getting more popular….u can see the car on road…

• theanswer on Jul 15, 2009 at 11:43 pm

zul,

honda accord in msia taken from accord in us. i saw several accord euro mostly in australia and a bit in msia(sold by grey importers)..accord euro look a bit small and sporty..suitable for young ppl only.

• Caddilac Wong on Jul 15, 2009 at 11:53 pm

Wow… 8k for cruise control, leather and lumbar support… So expensive…

But since it is a Honda so no matter how expensive there will still people buying it, which is quite unfortunate thing…

• _xXx_ on Jul 16, 2009 at 12:29 am

Caddilac Wong said,

… since it is a Honda so no matter how expensive there will still people buying it, which is quite unfortunate thing…

What unfortunate? It's called trust.

There's a particular brand in Bolehland. I won't buy no matter how cheap it is.

• lou_sai1 on Jul 16, 2009 at 12:34 am

yea in the end you support more to goverment for the tax.

• lou_sai1 on Jul 16, 2009 at 12:36 am

and also they take your tax to fund for the 'brand'.

• lou_sai2 on Jul 16, 2009 at 12:37 am

the money still go for the 'brand' in then end.

• lousaai on Jul 16, 2009 at 12:38 am

the tax u paid still go for the ‘brand’ in then end

• shahzane on Jul 16, 2009 at 12:54 am

_xXx_ said,

What unfortunate? It’s called trust.

There’s a particular brand in Bolehland. I won’t buy no matter how cheap it is.

——————————————————————

what if that brands has very good product lines at good price???wouldn't that be a value buy??

• nonengko on Jul 16, 2009 at 1:23 am

HID lights eilek? GPS pun tarak?

• borneo headhunter on Jul 16, 2009 at 1:40 am

it looks awesome and prestigious!!

i love the concept of adding white color variant into the Accord segment but WHY, honda malaysia, WHY is that your company NOT OFFERING any WHITE color variant into CITY with MANUAL TRANSMISSION as well??????it's would've been so great!

• Dennis on Jul 16, 2009 at 1:46 am

Ya, the rims is so ugly, should change to 2.4 VTi_L rims. I think the 2.4 VTi_L rims is very suit the accord !Unfortunately this update dint include the paddle shift and HID. It pretty good that Accord finally came out with the nice WHITE colour. I want to mention that Jason is wrong, the accord VTi version is only RM141,800.00 is cheaper than Camry 2.0E which goes for RM 144,990.00 and the Accord 2.4 VTi_L is only RM RM171,800 is also cheaper than the Camry 2.4V which goes for RM RM 174,990.00. Honda …good jobs …

• linear_system on Jul 16, 2009 at 4:02 am

i know lousai..p2 is always sucks our tax :D and u are always the right person talking about tax..and u are the best man..u are the greatest.lol

• nice color for accord

• Taffeta White… looks slurpilicious ..

• meteoraniac on Jul 16, 2009 at 4:52 am

the rim is so bad that the they rather spin the wheels during the photoshoot ..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 16, 2009 at 4:55 am

They should have released this when the original Accord was launched. Can compete directly with Camry.

While on the subject of trims, how come Malaysia cars only can choose from preselected trims? You go to UK/US website of the same car-you can customize the car whichever way you choose it.

Is it because of cost?

• zafedz on Jul 16, 2009 at 5:25 am

Waiting the wagon version to land here…even the grey importers also not bring them in..do ya know why??

• shoon1983 on Jul 16, 2009 at 5:42 am

so expensive price tag only they willing to include leather and cruise control. these should have been standard from the start

• Tom_said on Jul 16, 2009 at 5:56 am

should add lether wrap steering !!

• White Jack on Jul 16, 2009 at 7:02 am

I think they should at least include the HID la… cost RM350/pair only mah :)

And I really think car of this size should come with 17" rim in this L-variant lo, you guys say yes or no ?? :)

• Jr. racer (Member) on Jul 16, 2009 at 8:08 am

aiyaa…no HID ke???

I think this car still cannot lawan camry…

• mitlanevo on Jul 16, 2009 at 8:38 am

nice white paint, but can please change the ugly wheels?

• Gajen on Jul 16, 2009 at 8:44 am

honda always bring this model late…even the previous accord they brought in the VT-s late which had leather,6 cd changer and all..

they shoudl have introduced this model at the very begining just like how toyota did with 2.0e, 2.0g and 2.4 v with their camry…

• kelvin on Jul 16, 2009 at 8:52 am

Honda Civic will have white color option this Oct, Honda City will have white option Jan 2010. Confirmed.

• WinterAngeLs on Jul 16, 2009 at 10:36 am

The new added color looks great on Accord! A 8K premium over the VTi yet still fitted with ugly rims. At least a better rim design should offer to differentiate between the VTi and the new VTi-L, just my opinion thou since many of us here also complaining about it.

8 ways electronic seat adjustment and lumbar support seems to be a good addition but i think this should be standard in a D-segment sedan since this is their flagship model, even the Camry 2.0E also don't have it. May be this is a way to cut cost by differentiating their models in terms of equipment level.

Way to go Honda!

• sammy on Jul 16, 2009 at 10:48 am

Damn, wuz expecting paddle shifts and factory HIDs! Some more jazz and Citys can have paddleshifts for the boy-racers, bigger car kenot-meh?

Then Camry 2.0G will be better option and new facelift coming in a few months time. Why HM never listen to the people-ar? new CEO izit? last CEO was in tune with the pulse of the public.

• this is the moment i've been waiting for man…. equipments of 2.4 on a 2.0….some more, 8k extra… like u guys say, cheaper still then the camry

• Ah Aik on Jul 16, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Its so sad that they decided to leathered up the interior from seats to gear knob but left out the steering wheel.

THERE is ALWAYS a Catch!!!

• Ah Mike on Jul 16, 2009 at 6:51 pm

I think they change the rims as I just looked at http://www.honda.com.my/accord2009/, try clicking on Advanced and Stylish Exterior.

I like the black interior, feel more sporty and elegant. I think young folks will chose this version instead of the lower 2.0 version.

Looking forward to see it in real life.

• Ah Mike on Jul 16, 2009 at 7:07 pm

Please ignore my earlier comment about the rims, I mistaken the generic picture (all accords) for 2.0 V-TIL.

• Dennis on Jul 16, 2009 at 7:10 pm

If the Accord 2.0 come with 17' rims, i think it will be under power. that why Accord 2.4 only have the 17' rims.

• Jason said,

July 15, 2009 @ 2:57 pm

the VTi version is more expensive than 2.0E Camry…

However, VTi-L is cheaper than 2.0G Camry…

but the 2.4 Accord is more expensive than 2.4V Camry..

———

dude, check your facts properly la!!

camry has always been overpriced compared to accord.

• jason, stop dreaming…camry is more expensive than accord across all models.

• secret on Mar 31, 2010 at 6:35 am

i dont think camry is more expensive than accord….. alright…. a poor and a well job can buy the camry… ok… for the easy way… camry the first buy is same price with accord…. but a paying per-month camry is saving more than accord…. how toyota can popular…. because of that…. why honda do not like toyota…?? because a most of people buys accord… a well jobs… toyota camry popular because of price cheapest than accord… but accord not popular and rarely purchased by low income groups…. because thats expensive than camry…. anyway, honda is more advanced than toyota… toyota is saving more than honda including toyota camry……

• VTi-L, the 'L' stands for 'lift' right?what is the difference with vtec? whats the output compared to normal VTi?

'Connex’' Stolen Vehicle Recovery (SVR) system..cant help it.it sounds like…..

• wallstreet on Jul 16, 2009 at 8:16 pm

still look like Korean cars…..the old korean cars that is..

• i guess the "L" stands for luxury spec. nothing to do with the engine

• richard on Jul 16, 2009 at 9:49 pm

guys dont fight! cars in malaysia will forever be expensive in this country until we have regime change! until then we will just have to make do with shitty local cars or pay thru the nose for a decent car.

• Anand on Jul 16, 2009 at 10:19 pm

In hongkong….no tax for cars…so most of the cars they drive is luxury…there toyota alphard like myvi here..i mean the amount.. even in fastfood restaurant no tax or service charge…hw nice if m'sia like hong kong…

• nice in white but any front sensors yet. can't park without front sensors for such a big car.

• shahzane on Jul 16, 2009 at 10:34 pm

Anand said,

July 16, 2009 @ 2:19 pm

In hongkong….no tax for cars…so most of the cars they drive is luxury…there toyota alphard like myvi here..i mean the amount.. even in fastfood restaurant no tax or service charge…hw nice if m’sia like hong kong…

——————————————————————-

M'sia is msia and HK is HK. both have pro's n cons. u like HK better, u can migrate there. no one is stopping u. but just remember that the grass always looks greener on the other side~~~ instead of blindly complaining, do something about it.use or voting power. if u think all the politicians are not good enough, then nominate yourself and help bring the change. m'sia need more ppl who are willing to actually DO something than just TALK about it.

• Anand on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:02 am

helo…im just telling the fact..mind your words before telling sumthing..as everyone knows m'sia 's politics becoming _____.of course i dowan to b leader in this country cause im not interested…people interested must do the changes.so many issues is happening which so shameless..certain politicians are so money minded to make our country dirty..

• budleee on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:23 am

hmm i like it, the price is quite okay since i like standard leather seats, and the 8 way power seats is great if you have multiple drivers, the signal mirror are nice, the cruise control is a great addition. who would want a normal accord now? i guess those who don't like leather seats kot…

*we have the accord 2.4 at home, love the cars, but lots of tire noise and poor radio reception.

• Wisdom on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:25 am

When we think the internet is a free place to talk and spread your thinking, somebody 'up-there' is always watching us. So be carefull.

BTW, the Accord is nice minus the rims.

• White Jack on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:35 am

Someone mention NVH (particulary cabin noise) of Accord is higher than Camry ? Any current owners can confirm that ?

• whiteeye on Jul 17, 2009 at 2:37 am

Better than some local SE.

• Hugo Pua on Jul 17, 2009 at 5:34 am

This car look nice. I booked one yesterday. but waiting period is almost 2 months.

• shahzane on Jul 17, 2009 at 8:25 am

Hugo Pua said,

July 16, 2009 @ 9:34 pm

This car look nice. I booked one yesterday. but waiting period is almost 2 months.

—————————————————————–

really?the salesgirl that i talked to told me i could get one in white next month.

• Wolfman on Jul 17, 2009 at 9:24 am

am still in a dilema about Camry 2.0G and this new launch….any advice?

• shahzane on Jul 17, 2009 at 4:27 pm

Wolfman said,

July 17, 2009 @ 1:24 am

—————————————————————

I think the accord is a better car if you prefer a more 'sporty' car. the camry to me is a bit 'overpriced' and is more focused on comforts. just my 2 kupang. (i drive a toyota btw ;p)

btw, to Anand, i would like to apologise if i had offended you. it was my emotion taking over at that moment. I've been to a lot of countries in the world and i think that Malaysia will always be no.1 in my heart. I love this country in spite of all it faults and shortcomings. it's true that we are not perfect. I just hope that everyone can work together and make it a better place instead of bickering over silly things. Again, I'd like to apologise to you and any other people that i might have offended with my previous statement. let's have a 1 Malaysia, aight??

• ronald Q on Jul 17, 2009 at 5:33 pm

this new accord is just like a karipap la… cmon la new model pls.. hehe

• peroempat on Jul 17, 2009 at 7:20 pm

Nearly 200k!!! Honda, don't ever thinking you are BMW.

• Ahmad AlBab on Jul 17, 2009 at 8:05 pm

I'm thinking of buying either camry 2.0G or this honda 2.0VTiL..

What make the price camry 2.0G higher than this Honda? any comparison for this 2 make n model?

• Kevin on Jul 17, 2009 at 11:01 pm

Leather seats….yeah, got feel.

The extreme low profile tyres tend to kill the comfort.

Ugly rims…..get used to it after a month or so.

• ronald Q on Jul 18, 2009 at 12:50 am

it looks like donut la… sometimes like cucur badak

• Camry Owner on Jul 18, 2009 at 4:45 am

Wolfman said,

July 17, 2009 @ 1:24 am

—————————————————————

It really depends on you yourself. I owned camry 2.0G. I really agree that accord design a lot way better than camry (even though i personally don't like the rear design). I also already test drove accord before i bought the camry. What can is say is:

DESIGN: accord nicer than camry. somesay accord much sportier but for me I'm looking for overall design. with my car with bodykit fitted, i really like the design. almost perfect even though the 16" rims is not so nice.

COMFORT: camry better than accord. alot way better.

PERFORMANCE: accord is more poweful than camry, but bear in mind i never felt that camry 2.0 is underpowered (like people said even though camry only have 4 speed compare to accord (5).

STABILITY: i dont know about accord's stability. For camry, it's quite stable at high speed. I've tried to reach 210 km/h and yet the car is still stable. but cornering is not so great since the suspension sytem was designed more for comfortness.

CABIN NOISE: what can is say camry a a super-duper quite car even though u're cruising at high speed. Not sure about accord since never tested it at high speed.

INTERIOR: camry with beige interior compare to accord (black). i prefer beige colour as it will give ur car look more spacious than it is. But black is much more elegant and easy to maintain. really depends on individual.

ADD-ON for CAMRY: camry do have HID lights with projector which is very useful for night driving which accord don't have. engine noise is very low, nice factory fitted bodykit (with extra cost of course but half the price of accord original bodykit if i'm not mistaken. correct me if i'm wrong).

RELIABILITY: for me, personally i think camry (TOYOTA in general) is more reliable than HONDA. i also owned 2003 unser yet still in great tip-top condition. never had any problem with my unser. just of course, 1.8 unser is very undepowered car. but i need it for business. who cares. it's a very different story about my son's 2006 1.8 civic. the dashboard started to give rattling sound, same goes with the doors even it's just a 3 year's old car with no modification at all. Not to bashing honda, but just to share my personal experience.

by the way, i heard from TOYOTA salesman, camry new factlift will come out to our shores very likely in 4th quarter of this year. not sure about it. if u can wait, i'll suggest u wait for the new facelift camry and later compare what's the new camry can offer to us. then u can decide which is best for you.

• secret on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:27 pm

Yeah…. u’r right….. but for me….. honda accord is better than toyota camry… alright.. about HID light…. Im claim thats car( accord ) never have HID light with projector….. about interior…. i think accord is better than camry because the seats more comfortable for driver and passenger… but, for the both car accord and camry interior colour also more interesting…. i like it…. accord and camry are same reliable….. for that no underpowered… but, the toyota’s car have a security features…. and thats accessories also more cheapest than honda and good guaranteed…. honda also… but, honda’s accessories more expensive…

• Samsuddin Raja Lope on Jul 18, 2009 at 5:29 pm

bolehlah i ingat nak order satu…..

• Samsuddin Raja Lope on Jul 18, 2009 at 5:30 pm

honda nie…memang menarik dan bikin gua tertarik…

• Loh Wai Kong on Jul 19, 2009 at 12:13 am

i got my accord 2.0 on cny eve.

i dont mind paying xtra 8k coz if gotta choice that time…

coz after u got d car, u wont folk out 8k or less to install electronic seat, cruise control, & bla… price xpensive is due to gov tax…

we m'sian r born to owe gov… !!!

• blardy 2.0 sohc jai

• For Accord 2.0L, any one got any idea on petrol? hear that more than 20sen/KM. As compare to Camry 2009, Madza6 less than 20sen/km

Btw, 5-speed 2.0L really under power as i tested last week comparing Camry2.0L and Madza 2.0L. Saleman claim to be saved petrol but not really le…. more comment on Petrol and under power pls.. thanks !

• Any comment for Accord 2.0L(5-speed) on petrol and under power as compare to Camry2.0L…

• Loh Wai Kong on Sep 11, 2009 at 12:06 am

As 2.0 accord owner,

this car is under power

fuel comsumption is fair (same comsumption as my wife's waja 1.6 auto)

smooth cruising @ highway

wind noise, ,y fren's camry 2yro r quieter.

camry more feature i.e petrol reading, nicer speedometer

i bought this car bcoz of exterior and its latest model at that time.

• Bro Loh,

Fuel is 22sen /KM ?

• Loh Wai Kong on Sep 11, 2009 at 8:35 pm

bro hs,

i dont really count $/km, should be about 22¢

i use to pump 100 for the accord/ waja to travel bout 550km

proton is mad! they install very big fuel tank. full tank same as accord 140

i never pump full tank & never drive till empty tank.

i find this method its save a bit fuel and is good for fuel pump..

if i m right, sifu who come across pls do let me know.

best regards, loh.

• stephen on Oct 17, 2009 at 11:21 am

The accord has always been nice to own & driven. This new model looks great. I be getting mine soon & let's see it will be fun driving.

• just get myself Madza6 2.5L after tested the 2.0L and 2.4L camry and accord. Madza6 still is the best car to go….. enjoying with M6. as for accord and camry, they have own niche, but overall Madza6 2.5L for me still better than both.

• by the way, the fuel for madza6 is quit close to camry and accord. Now, running at RM100 full tank with 520KM(current petrol price) for me not bad !

• Loh Wai Kong on Oct 21, 2009 at 12:07 am

those who own or intented to buy this size car i.e. accord, camry, mazda 6, cefiro… no point talking bout fuel comsumption.. i think more or less the same..

i like m6 2.5L for the start button.. super sporty med size saloon.. cool!

no speeding will help u to save some fuel.. happy driving..

• looks-hot on Nov 25, 2009 at 9:05 am

hmmm….buruk. i agree with zul. should've bring the euros in.

• silent on Dec 22, 2009 at 12:12 pm

guys pls help me on this, is toyota camry 2.0G underpowered.?which is better option, accord vti-L 2.0 or camry 2.0G..as far i knw accord is underpowered for vti-l 2.0, how bout camry 2.0G?

• secret on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:10 am

if u want to buy toyota camry… buy the toyota camry 2.0 g… its same like honda accord 2.0 vti-L…. anyway, honda accord is better than toyota camry….

• silent on Dec 22, 2009 at 12:14 pm

another thing, how bout the petrol consumption for honda accord 2.0 vti-l and also toyota camry 2.0G… which is better..?

• secret on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:14 am

honda accord is better than toyota camry….. although honda accord is better than toyota camry, toyota camry is saving more than honda accord… thats why, many people like to buy toyota camry although they are loving honda accord.

• Loh Wai Kong on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:42 am

i m owner of accord 2.0vti

yes it is underpower

very much as compare with civic 2.0

petrol comsumption 'question' never come across in my mind,

i believe they r ''abang-adik''…

i choose accord bcoz of the interior & exterior…

• WanMah on Mar 08, 2010 at 10:14 pm

I m a die hard fan of euro nodel..China market called it Spirior. Can somebody pls tell me where should I go to buy euro model in KL/Selangor?

• secret on Mar 25, 2010 at 3:06 am

honda accord is better than toyota camry. civic also is better than toyota altis but, i think civic is same with toyota camry… just 2.0….

• Overall looks of camry is much better than the accord transformer (the shape looks robotic like the character in the movie). THe camry wins over the accord in terms of
    1. good looks (front and rear)
    2. Low maintanance
    3. Very realiable and trouble free
    4. Very quiet and smooth engine at high speed
    5. Super comfortable ride.
    6. Gated Shifted gear.
    7. Very bright HID and LED rear light
    8. DOCH engine compare to accord SOCH (2.0 model)
    9. Keyless entry
    10. Sales volume untill today is twice than the accord

• aimanasyraff on Jun 11, 2012 at 11:21 pm

i hve already booked for accord..but suddenly i heard from my friend about accord hve many problem compared to camry?is it correct?can anyone help me .which one is better for me..