Proton Saga EV Concept – 168 hp, 20kWh battery

Proton previewed an all-electric version of the Proton Saga sedan in University Putra Malaysia, Serdang during the “Proton Exora – The Making” seminar organized by SAE International earlier this week. The “Proton” name would definitely make sense on this particular car! ;)

You might expect this plug-in electric vehicle to have been co-developed with Detroit Electric which have a deal to produce electric cars based on the Proton GEN2 and the Proton Persona for certain overseas markets under the Detroit Electric brand. But on the contrary, what you see above is an in-house project done with the help of unnamed suppliers and partners.

This means that unlike the Detroit Electric e46 (based on the Proton Gen 2) and the Detroit Electric e63 (based on the Proton Persona), the electric Saga (officially called the Proton Saga EV Green Propulsion Concept for now) is probably being considered for the local market, although the auto maker is very tight-lipped about possible launch dates. It could take years.

The emissions-free Proton Saga EV on display features a 125kW (168hp) brushless DC electric motor, mated to a 5 speed manual transmission. It has a 20kWh Lithium Ion Polymer battery pack (12 separate batteries stored in the trunk). Because of the batteries, truckspace is pretty much non-existent but this is quite normal with concept electric cars based on a chassis that was originally designed to take a regular combustion engine and fuel tank. A production car would ideally have neater integration of the batteries.

According to Proton, the Saga EV can sprint from 0 to 100 km/h in 10.1 seconds, up to a top speed of 161 km/h, with a driving range of 109 kilometers over a full charge. Both the Detroit Electric e46 and e63 will feature a 150kW Axial Magnetic Flux motor instead.

There is more! The “green-mobil” also features re-generative braking and an electric power steering, apart from a built-in Batter Management System (BCMU), a plug-in charger (with a household power outlet), air conditioning as well as an In-Vehicle display screen that displays various information pertaining to the electric vehicle functions. Sources also revealed that Proton has plans to built an electric Exora MPV, and, is currently working on some hybrid vehicles as well, for research and development.

Since Proton took the trouble to produce a fully functioning Saga EV Concept, I am sure it is a matter of time till we actually see Proton-built electric cars on the road, but it doesn’t end at just producing such emissions-free vehicles. There has to an infrastructure ready to accommodate charging in the outdoors, which is something that will involve the government, apart from the private sector.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• First! Hehe…

It looks quite impressive… 168hp with the SC motor..Thats a lot… :O

• intermilan on Jul 16, 2009 at 11:53 pm

emm.. quite interesting.. too many battery everywhere thou..

• Wisdom on Jul 16, 2009 at 11:53 pm

Proton Bashers also tight-lipped…

• Rdley on Jul 16, 2009 at 11:58 pm

Wisdom.. waaaiittt…. they don't start yet….. hehehehehehe.. they are thinking what to say… let see after few post….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:00 am

cool stuff. .very interesting to know that proton have been busy working on new stuff. Its also nice to know that we have a company working on EV R&D right in our own country.

• finally on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:06 am

Wow..how impressive it is to hear that Proton has taken such a big step..even further than Toyota can reach..and I'll b the first to buy 1 if Proton is gonna launch it..great job Proton, keep it up!!..btw, looking forward to the turbo engine..

• muryadi on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:07 am

Great..

so another 4 to 5 years this will be real…

• y is there a 'R' button beside the steering?..do we hv 2 press that button thn only we can reverse our car?..''ferrari style'' man..hahaha

• and the ultimate question, can it start?

• finally on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:09 am

wow..how impressive it is to hear that Proton has taken such a big step in EV vehicles..even further than Toyota can reach..great job Proton, keep it up..btw, looking forward to the turbo engine..

• Wisdom on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:11 am

Rdley… i expect them to say ' how come the boot full with batteries!! how to move things without the boot?!!'

They'll never understand.

• Nakal on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:12 am

Clearly, proton is not too far behind the other EV manufacturer/developer. Congratulation..

But the problem is now is the charging insfrastructure. TNB must be involved too. Probably, we can also find "TNB Basher" in this forum..huhuhu

• orang kampung on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:15 am

you dont see perodua willing to take all the hassle of experimenting something like this.

• nazri on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:16 am

this is just concept, like others electric cars the batteries will be put at vehicle floor. so no need to sacrifice the boot space…

nice job proton and unnamed suppliers and partners…

• Azmi K on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:24 am

The biggest hurdle is the one inside that boot. Lithium Ion Polymer is the latest battery technology for automotive and yet it can only drive you 100km. Kudos to Proton R&D for their hard work though. It shows Malaysia Boleh.

• nazri on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:25 am

hurm… u see 0-100kmph is less than 10sec.. and the horsepower is 168hp.. sure can start lah

Set said,

July 16, 2009 @ 4:09 pm

and the ultimate question, can it start?

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/16/proton-pre…

• sad case… then next time no more petrol head already.. all electric head

• Good effort by Proton and its partner. Battery would become smaller when there are demand to push for slimmer version. Handphone battery used to be big like a brick. =D

• Nakal on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:28 am

Set said,

and the ultimate question, can it start?

———————————————

Dude, read, read and read!!! 0-100km/h in 10.1s, 168hp and top speed is 161km/h.

How come proton can get the data without STARTING the car??

• terminatorkun on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:29 am

all the best to proton and also to proton satria neo s2000 team…

• Tengokaje.. on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:30 am

Impressive.. P1 has the ability to go for EV. Good job P1. Keep it up.

Salam..

• nazri on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:31 am

bring this car in drag race please… huhu

all vtech pls come in…

• Archer on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:32 am

Good move by Proton R&D, lets see a production version on the road soon.

• goguncas71 (Member) on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:39 am

What needs to be done now is for carmakers and battery makers to meet and agree on a certain standards for batteries (size, connection points etc) just like for current car batteries. Only then will new players come in and lower the price of batteries.

If every carmanker have their own battery design and standards, the price will drop VERY slowly.

• stroller on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:46 am

hopefully the bashers dont think they could get electric shock @ short circuit when it going into the market… still got more room for p1 to improve the source… malaysia boleh…

• Philip J. Fry on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:54 am

finally said,

wow..how impressive it is to hear that Proton has taken such a big step in EV vehicles..even further than Toyota can reach..great job Proton, keep it up..btw, looking forward to the turbo engine..

————————————————————–

Further than Toyota can reach?

• JULIAN_LEE on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:58 am

BMW do this long ago liao

• do BMW have a production EV best seller right now??

give P1 a chance can we..

• JULIAN_LEE on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:09 am

German always do good job, malaysian only know how to lousy copy

• Lee Callan on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:10 am

Paul, any idea if this car has regenerative braking? An electric car without regenerative braking is not complete.

• Paul Tan on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:12 am

@Lee Callan as I mentioned in the story, there is regenerative braking.

• intermilan on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:18 am

My guess is, the unnamed supplier of the system will be Bosch (among them if there are more than 1 supplier – it should be).

Why? Coz the MF battery that they use for this car is a Bosch S4.

This sort of battery people normally don't put in a Saga as it is rather expensive for a Saga. Must be supplied by the unnamed supplier. Just a guess..

• EYESORE on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:22 am

Lee Callan… next time.. read and understand what u r reading… it's clearly mentioned by paul tan in the article… it is equipped with regenerative braking… but yes what u said is true.. an EV or a hybrid ( EV + fuel) is not complete without regenerative braking…

cheers…

• Philip J. Fry on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:26 am

"finally", Toyota already had the RAV4 EV. I put the link in my last comment, but it got filtered out. You can google it.

• bmpower on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:33 am

wake up p2 engineer!.. stop designing bumpers! hahaha

• valandil on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:38 am

IMHO, electric cars generally have higher electrical components. Right?

In our tropical climate, with torrential rain (and those banjir kilat) even on highways, sometimes, i think they should also consider the water-proofing of the critical parts to avoid electrocution. An average Saga petrol-running car can weave pass the flood waters slightly below the headlights without problems, can the same be said on this model?

Anyways, i think this showcase of concept is good, but will it be practical and cost effective should it be mass produced? How much would it retail OTR, RM65k, 85k? (for a Saga)

• hitz basher on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:38 am

Where we should put all the luggage?

• Lee Callan on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:40 am

Paul, sorry about missing some of your article earlier on. :-) Another question… is the Saga EV's regenerative braking on all four wheels or just the driving wheels? It will be great if it were on all four wheels.

• hitz basher on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:44 am

for the police..it is soo easy to stop the car..just shoot by using the electric gun that can overload capacity of electric in the EV, so the car will shut down immediately for safety reason.

• RunnerUp on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:45 am

Wisdom said,

July 16, 2009 @ 4:11 pm

Rdley… i expect them to say ‘ how come the boot full with batteries!! how to move things without the boot?!!’

They’ll never understand.

Lol. Proton supporters, let's pretend to be a mindless basher.

"Huh! Proton supply the Saga only. Itu electric2 stuff semua partner yang buat!"

• hitz basher on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:50 am

also..if there is electric leaking, hehe.. the user can simply got the electric shock… any method that they use to neutralize (Earth) the leak electric power?

if the battery 'kong' already… all system need to be resetting again? this happen in some car like Citroen an so on.

malaysia always got flood every year.. if the car trapped in flood.. it become 'besi buruk' edi?

• SY0H (Member) on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:58 am

Hai,

I quote:

"But on the contrary, what you see above is an in-house project done with the help of unnamed suppliers and partners".

Yeah, the famous 'Tin Milo" vendors are fast to pick up latest project from Proton. I say Proton, for the sack of your motoring industry, please remove your non-performing vendors (or crony). I'm fed up with your quality! I don't want to see this nice master piece being bashed up by Jeremy Clarkson in Top Gear!

• Littlefire on Jul 17, 2009 at 2:10 am

Hybrid is still a long way to go…

The main thing of today hybrid cars is parts availability and the cost…

Besides that, do you all know how much that battery will cost (behind the boot) and the electronic parts fail? It will also fail like most of our batteries n car parts (electric car are not god! It just more greener)…

I still support turbo diesel technology. Go do some research and you will know that Turbo diesel technology is easy to maintain and better to run longer and the only disadvantages is maybe emission, but i cant see the problem in new Euro5 turbo diesel engine technology. Go do some research about VW polo diesel VS civic hybrid and you will know the answer…

• kimi_ on Jul 17, 2009 at 2:15 am

Maybe later perodua will launch the rebadge PRIUS…you know, perodua will

always compete wif proton…

• proAhBengBumperMaker on Jul 17, 2009 at 2:15 am

stupid pro2 onli know make bumper, even my ahbeng shop more pro to make bumper than pro2..

• fastcx on Jul 17, 2009 at 2:30 am

dude, if a bunch of 100W electric bulb in the swimming pool cant leak n kill, dont even try to start with just because of rain can cause electrocution! this matter has been discussed b4 in US, search it up, all the electronics r built to be water proof b4 being approved for marketing. go do some research! ev has been around almost as old as ford t model! just a little bit younger :D n at that time, its not bcz its not efficient they stops it, instead its petroleum companies' propaganda that changed the country policy in US that stops it from moving forward!

dude, internet n history is ur best friend, dont keep asking questions that has been answered b4 u search for it

• bye bye boot

• peroempat on Jul 17, 2009 at 2:55 am

Yeh, yeh… Perodua engineer also can make a remote control battery toy car what.

• Wak Rempit on Jul 17, 2009 at 2:57 am

Just hold your horses guys, this is just a concept… the engineering is still rough on the edges, guessing we still have to wait another 2-3 years before the actually put it into market… expecting better design by that time.

But overall a good job and bravo to Proton, use this as a benchmark or a stepping stone. Maybe we're not that competitive in petrol car market but, market for electric car is still wide open… so better grab that chance before anyone else.

…and get rid of those f#&ked up vendors… they're making you look bad

• linear_system on Jul 17, 2009 at 4:07 am

haha..its julian lee again.lol.are u victor lee?lol

• NilsoN on Jul 17, 2009 at 4:52 am

wow,nice! finally Proton…very good project towards greener world,and bye bye to polution.^^

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 17, 2009 at 4:52 am

Unless the gov give tax breaks to green cars, expect this to be a concept and nothing more than that.

• peYno on Jul 17, 2009 at 5:26 am

kimi_ said,

July 16, 2009 @ 6:15 pm

====================

this is wrong thinking of malaysian.. perodua does rebadge Daihatsu.. not Toyota… i..

• nazri on Jul 17, 2009 at 5:35 am

no more vroom vroom sound… welcome greener and quieter earth…

• Darren on Jul 17, 2009 at 5:42 am

the car might be emission free, but not TNB's way of generating electric… imagine if all cars are electric-cars, TNB will sure say coal/gas price expensive… demand more than supply, sure raise price…

unless we go nuclear, we wont solve this problem…

• more power, more weight due to batteries, no boot.

still, pretty impressive considering it's Proton.

• peYno on Jul 17, 2009 at 5:53 am

toyota/daihatsu took 2 years to develope the whole car of passo/boon

proton took 2 years to develope exora

perodua took 2 years to "develope" myvi bumper and steering

prrrfthhh

• kimi_ on Jul 17, 2009 at 5:53 am

JULIAN_LEE is a SALESMAN of BMW….stop promoting BMW cars PLEASE

BMW cars are boring and no class at ALL. Better buy PROTON,support

buatan malaysia :)

OFF topic ….you see WHAT NAJIB doing now!!! toll discount BUT

TRANSPORT FEES up today…no hope all malaysian…

• bobdbilder on Jul 17, 2009 at 7:07 am

Imagine if this was RWD, ditch the transmission, all weights between the axles, flat floorpan, diffusers at the back, GRP skins, maybe shave 0 to 90 to 9sec or below…yeah its do-able.

• Jr. racer (Member) on Jul 17, 2009 at 8:11 am

good job P1…

keep it up!!

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Jul 17, 2009 at 8:28 am

Ellleeeh…!

• rexis on Jul 17, 2009 at 8:30 am

omg, Proton made EV?

Impressive!

• hitman on Jul 17, 2009 at 10:09 am

was the car driven there or put on a car carrier?

• hitman on Jul 17, 2009 at 10:13 am

if it works, it's a good effort then.

• mengQ on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:09 pm

Aiyo…don't think it's gonna appear on the road for real lah…

*Surprise me P1!*

or "is being sold to selected VIPs that have placed orders" like the Exora? LOLz…

Bah, don't think those VIPs bothers anyway. Those most is – take a look, have a sit, and walk back to his/her BMW/MERz/HARRIER.

• My my my…Tabek Myvi lah, 1 car can versus so many P1 cars,

when savvy came out, compare with myvi;

when persona came out, also got people talk about myvi;

when new saga came out, still myvi.

now, saga EV, myvi also.

weird, is myvi that great?

• nazri on Jul 17, 2009 at 12:52 pm

nobody compare with myvi at first place?? do u ?

• bmpower on Jul 17, 2009 at 3:41 pm

weird, is myvi that great?

hell no!.

myvi is a RUBBISH CAR

• EYESORE on Jul 17, 2009 at 3:43 pm

csv said,

July 16, 2009 @ 9:50 pm

more power, more weight due to batteries, no boot.

still, pretty impressive considering it’s Proton.

—————–

no much added weight la bro… the batteries weight is sort of replacing the heavy normal fuel powered engine…. those in engine bay are just motors and some electronics stuffs…

btw.. mr/mrs dang… no one is comparing this EV with myvi… read the comments carefully… dun make ur self sounds stupid…

• peYno said,

July 16, 2009 @ 9:26 pm

kimi_ said,

July 16, 2009 @ 6:15 pm

====================

this is wrong thinking of malaysian.. perodua does rebadge Daihatsu.. not Toyota… i..

====================

You're wrong

Daihatsu Boon is rebadged from Toyota Passo.

Even Suzuki rebadged from this model also (I forgot model name)

• knowEVlongtimeago on Jul 17, 2009 at 4:20 pm

Just wondering…after vlong time ONLY one/two car makers got EV mass production! and it ONLY one model each. Fyi…more than a decade ago Proton already start EV same as this.

• Well done Proton.

• dream on Jul 17, 2009 at 4:31 pm

…good effort from Proton. Hope to see the results soon, esp for Exora…

…however dont forget that everything electric produces EM waves/radiation…please dont add more EM pollution/put some kind of filter..we already have enuff from power lines/cables, handheld gadgets n other appliances…than it'll truly become green…

…nuclear is not really the way to go, unless profit becomes the MAIN AIM…

• CamVillage on Jul 17, 2009 at 4:48 pm

hmm….why do SAGA concept car always in red?….

• wochomi on Jul 17, 2009 at 5:09 pm

Fuyoh battery pack can pasang blender, microwave, tv, ….. if my taman black out i can pinjam this Saga for emergency lighting. hehehe….

Great concept going electric. Kudos to proton for taking the step foward…. now charge up and roll out, autobots.

• mozaks (Member) on Jul 17, 2009 at 5:24 pm

well done Proton!

I think now is not a suitable time for Proton to release such car(electric car) in Malaysia market. It is because they has to consider part availability and cost… The spare part will cost a bomb and they have to consider either Malaysian people can afford this cost or not? Even the battery itself will cost few thousand RM, can we afford to buy this battery which is more than our salary?

• w_lighter (Member) on Jul 17, 2009 at 5:47 pm

I personally am not a supporter of EV. I'm a supporter of hydrogen cars… they are harder to build but they address the core issue which is "green house gasses".

EV to me simply moved the problem away from the car to the countries power grid. Which in the end still burn gas n coal which contributes to CO2. Proponent of EV cars argue alto it doesnt solve the whole issue it still reduce the carbon foot print because of the elimination of contributing factors such as moving of oil and also the higher efficiency of power generators, but to me all this are merely short term solution to the whole problem.

Wut we need is not an optimization of current ways of doing things. Wut we need is the revamp of the whole thing all together. But its not all bad news… if there is.. and that is a very big IF… a move by the gov to move the way we generate electricity thru a more greener technology. Then yes, EV makes sense…

Getting EV cars on the road are like a chicken or egg problem… now that the chicken (proton) has started first… hopefully the egg (charging station) will start to pop up everywhere in the country

• farghmee on Jul 17, 2009 at 6:22 pm

well, some of us did NOT READ the article THOROUGHLY.

THAT saga IS A CONCEPT! NOT PRODUCTION-ready.

mind to tell us here, what is the DIFF. bet. CONCEPT & PRODUCTION?

offtopic>>

Bro., org compare ngn myvai sbb perodua xde model lain yg sesuai utk buat comparison ;)

& xsume comparison tu myvai menang. hahaha!

• AWESOME SHIT. but thtere's a problem. with this car i cant drive through flooded places any more.

• TukangBagiKomen on Jul 17, 2009 at 6:52 pm

wochomi said,

July 17, 2009 @ 9:09 am

Fuyoh battery pack can pasang blender, microwave, tv, ….. if my taman black out i can pinjam this Saga for emergency lighting. hehehe….

Great concept going electric. Kudos to proton for taking the step foward…. now charge up and roll out, autobots.

————————————————————–

hahaha..nicee…like ur comment although agak hampeh..but hey ur comment release my tension a bit..hahahaha..

yea right loh..with some more effort P1 can build a bumble lebah(bumble bee) :-p. autobotss..transform n roll out.

• peroempat on Jul 17, 2009 at 7:17 pm

Perodua takadak kereta sedan, macam mana nak buat comparison?

Jadi compare dengan Vios, City, Latio sedan loh.

• peroempat on Jul 17, 2009 at 7:24 pm

Come on Perodua, rebadge the Daihatsu Altis orz to comparison.

• gen2lama on Jul 17, 2009 at 7:28 pm

hahah…imagine myvi EV…….

where to put the battery lo….then myvi will be 2 seater EV…

btw….of course la they will put the battery under the body…..

• i saw this car yesterday @ upm. the exhibitor told me that for full charge it can go up to 106km (driven at average 100km/h). so proton targets the saga ev model for urban driving. IMO, quite impressive since this is just a concept, & proton still have room for improvement…

• Fridz (Member) on Jul 17, 2009 at 10:57 pm

Good work Proton..its just a concept to electrified Saga BLM. maybe this EV machine can be fitted in a brand new unknown proton line-up later..more futuristic and dynamic design.

dont dream on Myvi EV lah…this is not perodua priority..

• memeranglaut on Jul 17, 2009 at 11:27 pm

Why not? Myvi EV is not impossible. but must ask the big tokey 1st la. If the big tauke say yes, (T and Diehard Sue), the maybe it canlah. But looking at the history of perodua and their level of R&D, i would say one thing..

tunggu kucing kluar itu tanduk dulu lorr…

hahhaa..funny, myvi EV..ha.ha.ha. That is the best joke of the day. Not looking down on perodua but, an assembler and body skirting producer to produce EV? hahahhahahha…LOL.

• Tiadaid on Jul 18, 2009 at 12:23 am

apon said,

July 17, 2009 @ 7:52 am

You’re wrong

Daihatsu Boon is rebadged from Toyota Passo.

Even Suzuki rebadged from this model also (I forgot model name)

——————————————————-

Yeah the Boon is a rebadged Passo, but the keyword here is Daihatsu…if Daihatsu rebaged the Prius then its possible. For now, there's no way they're gonna rebadge the Prius as a Perodua, especially with Toyota bringing in the car here…

• initial R on Jul 18, 2009 at 12:31 am

Produa priority from Toyota to suck all Malaysian money for them soon can rebadge other rubbish for malaysian with Rubbish quality T&D badge. For EV by them in your dream Malaysian.

• rexis on Jul 18, 2009 at 1:16 am

w_lighter said,

July 17, 2009 @ 9:47 am

I personally am not a supporter of EV. I’m a supporter of hydrogen cars… they are harder to build but they address the core issue which is “green house gasses”.

EV to me simply moved the problem away from the car to the countries power grid. Which in the end still burn gas n coal which contributes to CO2. Proponent of EV cars argue alto it doesnt solve the whole issue it still reduce the carbon foot print because of the elimination of contributing factors such as moving of oil and also the higher efficiency of power generators, but to me all this are merely short term solution to the whole problem.

Wut we need is not an optimization of current ways of doing things. Wut we need is the revamp of the whole thing all together. But its not all bad news… if there is.. and that is a very big IF… a move by the gov to move the way we generate electricity thru a more greener technology. Then yes, EV makes sense…

Getting EV cars on the road are like a chicken or egg problem… now that the chicken (proton) has started first… hopefully the egg (charging station) will start to pop up everywhere in the country

– – – – – –

Why is hydrogen car any greener then EV? Whats the point of hydrogen car? You still use fossil fuel or electricity to make hydrogen. Why not use the fuel directly? Or why is storing electricity energy in hydrogen any better then storing it in chemical batteries?

Hydrogen car technology has neither chicken an egg. The technology is far from perfection, there is hardly any feasible hydrogen refill station. At least in EV, most of the house have electric socket. And it is easier and cheaper to install electrical sockets in each car park then setting up hydrogen filling station in every region.

And on the other hand, at least Proton can afford a working EV concept, but not hydrogen concept – i dont mean filling up some NGV with hydrogen gas here, I mean hydrogen fuel cell car.

• rexis on Jul 18, 2009 at 1:29 am

And if you look into the battery pack, there are so many possible improvement can be done to accommodate more batteries and better space allocation.

The electric motor is suppose and should be possible to be made smaller and lighter then the petrol engine.

I am assuming that they are making use of commercial electric forklift parts for this project. Yet its quite nicely done, imagine what a well designed EV can be.

• Jimmy Dean on Jul 18, 2009 at 4:13 am

It's a good first effort from Proton to familiarize with EV powertrain architecture and the technologies involved. In a not so distance future, the electric motors will replace the internal combustion engine although the internal combustion engine might still exist in one form or another as an optimized generator unit (operating at peak thermal effciency only instead of different range of rpm and load) for on-board power generation to generate electricity and/or to recharge the battery pack.

Fuel cell in my opinion is still far in the horizon because hydrogen is just an energy carrier and doesn't exist abundantly on this planet. What it means, in order to get hydrogen you have to use energy (from power plant which burn hydrocarbons or from renewable energy sources) to create it either from electrolysis of water (break into hydrogen and oxygen) or by 'cracking'/reforming from hdrocarbon sources.

• oldwira on Jul 18, 2009 at 9:32 am

hope one day this called EV can be installed in my old wira..hehe

• rexis on Jul 18, 2009 at 8:14 pm

yeah, I dream about converting my old wira into electric too.

• rafekwb on Jul 19, 2009 at 1:07 am

what is that at the behind boot?

Wont the car weight will be more heavy with 5 people load inside?

Will the car have such power to climb uphill with the load of 5 ppl?

If the answer is not for the questions above….so whats the point wasting $$$

to R&D such things>?

• Now I am just proud of P1!!(For the first time)

• LotusLover on Jul 19, 2009 at 5:44 am

EV is the BEST Vehicle in the world.

• LotusLover on Jul 19, 2009 at 6:02 am

rafekwb said,

July 18, 2009 @ 5:07 pm

Hey friend, basically the EV have very high torque. so, u no need to worry about the uphill matter.

• nazri on Jul 19, 2009 at 6:37 am

haha basher… dont even read do you?

rafekwb said,

to R&D such things>?

• rafekwb said,

to R&D such things>?

Please, ur comment is showing how ur ignorance towards advance techs

People improve by investing money in RnD

I wanna ask u, whats EV Concept to u?

whats the purpose of developing EV concept?

when people talk about EV development, u talking another things.

I want to know whr is ur common sense stand at.

Almost 90% of car brand investing EV techs and u say its such a waste of money.

so When toyota and Honda all selling EV techs vehicle in msia, while proton still sell a petrol engine, are u gonna complaint about how proton so low tech and never come out a new engine.

i personally thinks that if u don't understand the efforts of what proton try to achieve in future, u better dont post worthless comments here.

Study more whats EV techs and why some EV vehicle run 0-100km/hr less than 4 sec.

• rafekwb said,

to R&D such things>?

——————————————–

rafekwb. ok batteries weight, but remember the internal combustion engine is replaced by a simple electric motor which is lighter…

and the batteries design could be more compact with some uptodated feature

and could be repositioned,

anyway this is not yet 100percent EV production, just an experimentation.

.should things are for GO ,then proton will do it in proper manner definitely.

• danial1 (Member) on Jul 20, 2009 at 6:43 am

rafekwb said,

to R&D such things>?

—————————————————————-

Haiya..some people r so dumb and get even dumber. Posting a comment without first reading wholely what the Author wants to convey. Now this guy gets Dumb and Dumber..!

if you are too lazy to read books about EV concept, the RnD process to develop the EV by the carmaker , then do Google lahh.. And if that Gooling is difficult for you to do then go to Youtube..get yourself some knowledge before posting!

The Author here, just want to expose to you, the Concept EV Proton trying to developed into full Drivable EV and of course different from what you r seeing here

Dont be Dumb and Dumber!! Haiyah.. dont waste everybody time reading your worthless comment, wasting my time a-lei..

• KitKat on Jul 20, 2009 at 8:54 am

hitz basher said,

July 16, 2009 @ 5:44 pm

for the police..it is soo easy to stop the car..just shoot by using the electric gun that can overload capacity of electric in the EV, so the car will shut down immediately for safety reason.

————————————-

Reminds me of the Fast and Furious 2 movie.

• mr.eims @ healthawar on Jul 20, 2009 at 7:20 pm

"is probably being considered for the local market, although the auto maker is very tight-lipped about possible launch dates. It could take years."

Tired of waiting.. I waited since GEn2 EV.. (T_T)

———–

Pro

1) can go 1-100 within 10sec. Pickup sure kaw to tapow. conclussion, dont worry about performance lah.

2) No fuel at all. just electricity which cost much cheaper

3) I guess todays ev vehicle they target to make the battery last more than 400KM per charge.

Con

1) Electrical failure easier to occur than mechanical failure. hopefully proton is aware of that.

• I dont think EV's will take off in malaysia due to one big problem:

Air Conditioning will sap the batteries dry.

Imagine having a battery powered air cond. The battery aint gonna last long.

• rexis on Jul 21, 2009 at 1:14 am

mr.eims @ healthaware said,

Pro

1) can go 1-100 within 10sec. Pickup sure kaw to tapow. conclussion, dont worry about performance lah.

2) No fuel at all. just electricity which cost much cheaper

3) I guess todays ev vehicle they target to make the battery last more than 400KM per charge.

Con

1) Electrical failure easier to occur than mechanical failure. hopefully proton is aware of that.

– – –

You con fact is invalid. How likely do you have car radio break down compare to engine break down? Or how often you need to change your air con blower compare to your timing belt? Why is electrical failure is easier to occur than mechanical failure?

The real cons of EV is as below

– Battery cost: battery cost like more then half of the car and they dont last forever

– Battery weight: more then a quarter ton added on the vehicle

– Battery capacity: 109 KM per charge is not enough, people would want to travel to JB from KL plus some spare with one charge.

– Battery recharge time: 8 hours refuel time is just too long

Hence, the one last piece to complete the EV puzzle is the battery. We will worry about the rest later on.

• rexis said

You con fact is invalid. How likely do you have car radio break down compare to engine break down? Or how often you need to change your air con blower compare to your timing belt? Why is electrical failure is easier to occur than mechanical failure?

The real cons of EV is as below

– Battery cost: battery cost like more then half of the car and they dont last forever

– Battery weight: more then a quarter ton added on the vehicle

– Battery capacity: 109 KM per charge is not enough, people would want to travel to JB from KL plus some spare with one charge.

– Battery recharge time: 8 hours refuel time is just too long

Hence, the one last piece to complete the EV puzzle is the battery. We will worry about the rest later on.

————————————————————–

thats just a start up point for Proton in researching EV techs.

its like cellphones, ur battery was like a bottle 20years ago. now is smaller than ur wallet. Battery weight,size, cost will eventually goes down after the demand is good.

For the battery thingy, we can leave it to the battery developers, they are the one who gonna make them small, light and cheaper.

Proton just need to focus on the vehicle power management and electrical.

ur Cons is based on proton current "under developing" EV model, not even a production model.

development take time and money and support from each others.

start off scratch with detroit electric, show how proton wanted to improve now.

mayb proton come out a dual engine(electric with petrol)

like what the civic 1.3. who knows.

• pedobear on Jul 21, 2009 at 9:04 pm

Electric motor are always efficient than petrol / diesel engine.

As this model, we can see even discovery channel show us about how to transform to a electric car with your current car which less than 20k ringgit(due to USD conversion) if not mistaken the show called 'Gadgets' or 'Mr Gadget'

As spending alot money for those SAME R&D, why not just give them to do a SAME prototype out. all you need is same item from the car they put in.

sum up the issue of current electrical car was :

1) due to those batteries are equal with about 500 pounds of weight and you lost your trunk.

2) Is it practical?

– how many miles/kilometers it can be use up (which Mr. Paul said was about 110kilometers) and If you go to Penang from KL you need to charge 3 to 3 1/2 times?

– Can we just plug in to the hub at public? and drain from people without paying? or how much we pay per re-charge?

– How long it will take to fully charge?

3) Cost of the upkeep? This I might said electrical motor will be better than Petrol/Diesel due to the engine only need to be lubricate around 500-700hrs long run which about 60,000-80,000 kilometers.

As the good side, this engine produce 10times or more less heat than conventional engines. And you won't even know the car started since it so quiet.

As I said so long just to remark, that Proton did was not something new. In fact, others develop see the problem and why always Proton taking something existed and put together and say 'We have produce a new R&D project'

• pedobear said,

July 21, 2009 @ 1:04 pm

Electric motor are always efficient than petrol / diesel engine.

As this model, we can see even discovery channel show us about how to transform to a electric car with your current car which less than 20k ringgit(due to USD conversion) if not mistaken the show called ‘Gadgets’ or ‘Mr Gadget’

As spending alot money for those SAME R&D, why not just give them to do a SAME prototype out. all you need is same item from the car they put in.

sum up the issue of current electrical car was :

1) due to those batteries are equal with about 500 pounds of weight and you lost your trunk.

2) Is it practical?

– how many miles/kilometers it can be use up (which Mr. Paul said was about 110kilometers) and If you go to Penang from KL you need to charge 3 to 3 1/2 times?

– Can we just plug in to the hub at public? and drain from people without paying? or how much we pay per re-charge?

– How long it will take to fully charge?

3) Cost of the upkeep? This I might said electrical motor will be better than Petrol/Diesel due to the engine only need to be lubricate around 500-700hrs long run which about 60,000-80,000 kilometers.

As the good side, this engine produce 10times or more less heat than conventional engines. And you won’t even know the car started since it so quiet.

As I said so long just to remark, that Proton did was not something new. In fact, others develop see the problem and why always Proton taking something existed and put together and say ‘We have produce a new R&D project’

electric car is the most green vehicle on earth, as i think most of the people agrees. things improve step by step when technology moved forwards.

I think the new project doesnt mean 100% new to the world. but its still new to the industry since its not yet fully launched in the world. only US and UK available most of it. New as its a Different project that doesnt approached by any local manufacturers and electric cars are not mass usage in msia Yet.

my personal opinion is EV is a good concept start off for Proton after so many years of lack behind. this RnD will take years before the 1st proton EV model roll out.

problem still is all about charging. even 30minutes of charge will be frustrating when u on a hurry.

• PROTON SAGA EV for M on Jul 23, 2009 at 6:24 am

saya ingat PROTON kena hadiahkan sebiji PROTON SAGA EV ini untuk Miss Japan Yuriko SAGA atau di Jepun orang panggil dia SAGA-san atau SAGA-chan.. hari tu Yuriko SAGA (Miss Japan 2004) datang Malaysia buat liputan untuk TV TOKYO Gekisou GT sempena SUPER GT di Malaysia.. melompat dia tengok kereta-kereta tuning di Malaysia..haha

aku tak tahan nak gelak tengok gelagat Yuriko SAGA (Miss Japan 2004) di Malaysia hari tu, kalau PROTON nak hadiahkan PROTON SAGA EV ni pada Yuriko SAGA boleh la dia jadi ambassador wakil Proton di negara Jepun (mungkin atas nama MITSUBISHI partner rasmi PROTON di Jepun) dan PROTON mesti la ambil kesempatan kumpul data, statistik , komen, pandangan walaupun amat pedas dari luar negara dan dalam negara untuk kemajuan industri automotif negara Malaysia..

SUPER GT : MALAYSIA EXTREME CAR TUNERS !!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ICJcg05h1CQ

semoga kejuruteraan/engineering Malaysia terus cemerlang..

• 1 thing for sure is, Proton will only search for helping hand rather than implementing their own technology.

Engine? Ask Lotus to tune for it (Campro CPS)

Handling? Ask Lotus to tune for it too

EV? Ask Detroit Electric to work on it

Lack of competitiveness? Ask government to HELP them, how? search urself

Did u heard that Toyota, or GM will search for helping hand for developing EV, hybrid vehicle? Or something like, "we had implement Daihatsu/Lexus Handling Technology in Toyota Vios, yeahhhhh.", said Toyota???????????? Don't make any sense…

Proton already burns for MILLIONS (or maybe billions) in R&D, and ask urself, is it an effective results in terms of technologies for Proton?

STOP doin nonsense…… wake up since U are still can do something to proof urself that u are not rubbish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• after hearing others comments, I am back to ''not proud'' of Proton again..

• thetrystero on Aug 15, 2009 at 12:48 am

":truckspace is pretty much non-existent but this is quite normal with concept electric cars"

Not true. The near-market Nissan LEAF is a case in point.

I thought it was quite funny that they still had the conventional electrolyte battery in there to for all of the non-torque functions — like building an electric train, and then keeping the steam pipe of the steam locomotive.

• farghmee on Aug 19, 2009 at 9:57 pm

GM not looking for help? google pls.

Lotus is Proton-owned. what's the problem?

if u r not proud of proton, it's up to u.

but if believing hearsay makes u think so, then it's hopeless.

if foreigners do this&that, u say it good, blindly.

but if malaysians do this&that, u say it bad, again blindly.

• Nakal on Aug 20, 2009 at 12:08 am

Loo said,

August 2, 2009 @ 2:14 pm

1 thing for sure is, Proton will only search for helping hand rather than implementing their own technology.

Engine? Ask Lotus to tune for it (Campro CPS)

Handling? Ask Lotus to tune for it too

EV? Ask Detroit Electric to work on it

Lack of competitiveness? Ask government to HELP them, how? search urself

Did u heard that Toyota, or GM will search for helping hand for developing EV, hybrid vehicle? Or something like, “we had implement Daihatsu/Lexus Handling Technology in Toyota Vios, yeahhhhh.”, said Toyota???????????? Don’t make any sense…

Proton already burns for MILLIONS (or maybe billions) in R&D, and ask urself, is it an effective results in terms of technologies for Proton?

STOP doin nonsense…… wake up since U are still can do something to proof urself that u are not rubbish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

——————————–

stupid rubbish..

i bet u dont what is business..

• to dear farghmee

Whether people are proud of Proton is not important coz 'proud or not' will never help or deter the company from doing what it does best …being helpless.

I do not create content or info, I usually consume them, I collect info and I digest them. And when all these new insights and irrefutable truth revealed here about how Proton being overly lame at creating their own tech, which is true, being over-the-top needy in grasping for protection from the G,which is true, and wasting all the G/Tax-payer money, which is true again, and selling the most prestigious bike company for $1, which is true as well.

I just couldn't help but had to rethink if I should be proud of this Malaysian company anymore, just because they created this EV concept thingy which might never grace our road. Nothing more than showboating. The truth is, they are just too lame to be proud of at this point, I am sorry. All proton's product are undesirable so far, unappealing design in all dimension besides the price point, sub-standard built quality can be observed throughout its line-up. I hope they can really produce that EV thing and really do us proud.Don't just showboat it.

• farghmee on Aug 20, 2009 at 6:37 pm

keep aside our hatred or loved on brands, then we can think constructively.

i was amazed with toyota more than 10years ago when 1st gen prius was announced, whereas most of us here still talking about wira.

now, the prius is still out-of-reach for most of us. why?

our G reduces the tax for "green car" yet the price is still high.

importer marks the price up?

if proton is not into this electric tech., how can most of us can own (that car)?

yes i know, prius is hybrid & this proton ev concept is all electric.

settle the electric issues 1st & simply matched it with ice. eve project?

at some point, i agree with u that no "showboat" all over the place.

however, to make an electric prototype is already quite an achievement.

again, it is a prototype. it is for show, at the moment.

the real model will definitely better & relatively well-built.

undesireable or not is one's perspective. subjective.

regarding the tax payer money, i dun have the latest statistic, so i better keep my lips closed.

• Ken (EV Cust 1) on Aug 21, 2009 at 1:29 am

we have a P lover here! we don't have to guess what wallpaper you use, its either the Saga or Persona! just joking. But seriously the only desirably designed car by P is the Satria Neo, I mean the look department only. Other than that… I won't say crap, but they certainly won't be too far away from Jeremy Clarkson's comment.

But I have to give support to this new project here, the EV. I love electric cars. But I never yet own a P car. However, I hereby swear that I will definitely buy 1 unit of this EV vehicle if P really produce it, but under the prerequisite that It must be less odd looking(cross my finger) and cheaper(Of course mar) than the Nissan Leaf, and having similar spec. Actually, good looking or not, my family member will be driving it, not me:)

see P,Register me..I am your 1st customer for this project. May be this can help jolts P's management to boost its R&D into full-whack and really make it happen! And we can all start saving petrol money. Who else want to join me?

• To dear Malaysians,

I think that we got no point to continue arguing about our national product. The most important thing is about the future direction of the company. Lets provide some constructive comments.

I would like to see Proton can survive in the near future. how they r goin to encounter the problem of scarcity of natural resources.

If people doubt about what i know about business (Nakal), I would answer,

business is production (Product/service) that meet the demand of public.

Ask urself, why Proton don't wan to equip their Persona with CPS engine. In fact, CPS engine produce an extra 10+ HP (as advertised in their official web site) on the wheel. I bet they are waiting for the time when the sales of the particular model drops, then only they will announce big big that "Now Persona looks fiercer with the CPS engine" to push the sales (Similar with what they had done in Satria Neo). Yeah, u r right. maybe this is the strategy of business.

Did they produce the right products to meet the market demand? Perhaps, I don't know what is business…Ridiculous…

• Loo,

Business..? that's mean this is a strategy for maintain the price of all the product… But, maybe before this.. many of us don't know about the technology of car's engine, and all things from their product, we buy without asking more question….

But now, many of us have knowledge about the car's technology and we also know the other car's technology from other country….

Our national car's production should give a price suitable with the quality of the product…

• Pro-RHD on Nov 17, 2009 at 10:39 am

Yeah, If Perodua make a sedan, Proton will encouraged to RnD for better quality due to competition to Perodua rather than goyang kaki. Perodua will badge sedan from Daihatsu Altis (Toyota Camry in Japan made by Daihatsu not Toyota Corolla Altis).

Like Korean cars such as Hyundai, Kia, Daewoo, Samsung and Ssangyong. For Japanese car such Toyota, Nissan, Mazda, Honda, Subaru, Mitsubishi and Suzuki. All of them have sedan body but not Malaysia where Proton is only allowed thus there is not many variety models on car. That's one reason why not many imported cars in Korea and Japan due to lot of choices on cars unlike Malaysia.

If there is no variety on car or competition, Just like former East Germany Trabant where 100% of East German driving Trabant, It shows not very colorful car to drive and very stereotype. Every time see on road, all were Trabant.

• reydtz on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:23 am

Electrical parts are more user servicable!! yay!!

We can save the earth too!!

few kw/h is just a micro fraction from litres…..

• krishna on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:07 pm

this is a good car keep up your wonderful efforts .gooooooo green