“Satria Neo Unleashed” this Saturday at 1 Utama!

Satria Neo Unleashed

Proton and hitz.fm is organising something pretty cool at the 1 Utama Shopping Centre this Saturday. If you love autocross-styling driving you really gotta check it out if you have time. Basically the event is called the Proton Satria Neo Unleashed with hitz.fm and they will be having a Satria Neo CPS Ride & Handling Challenge.

It’s basically time-attack challenge where you have to drive the Satria Neo CPS through a straight line and obstacle course. It’s pretty much the best way to test drive the Satria Neo CPS in case you’re considering buying one. Showroom test drives won’t give you a course to try out the car’s handling so this is your chance! You can choose either a manual or automatic Neo CPS, and whoever clocks the fastest time will win the prizes! There’s some pretty good money up for grabs.

• 1st place – RM3,000
  • 2nd place – RM2,000
  • 3rd place – RM1,000
  • Consolation 4th to 10th – RM200 each

Satria Neo CPS

Better be quick and register at 11:30am at Entrance 1 of One Utama on the day because there are only 48 seats for the competition. Participants need to have a valid driving license. Basically there will be four groups and 12 participants in each group. The top 3 in each group will qualify to the final round. A safety helmet is required and will be provided.

Proton will also be exhibiting the Campro CPS engine and engineers will be there to explain how it works. Various R3 cars will be on show along with the two Satria Neo styling concept cars – the Satria Symphony and the Neo Desire. The Satria Neo S2000 rally car will also be there so you can go check it out. From what I hear some Satria Neo owner clubs will also be there so you can network with some exiting owners before you decide to make your purchase decision.

You can also place bookings there for any Proton car (regular Proton models will also be on display), and customers who place bookings for the Saga and the Savvy on that day will receive a RM500 service voucher.

New Proton Satria Neo CPS details and specifications
Proton Satria Neo CPS short parking lot test drive review
Cool facts: The Proton Satria Neo S2000 racer

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lchan on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:22 am

haha..the que is going to be long!

• JULIAN_LEE on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:23 am

If can test driving rally car only nice

• holy crap this is a must-try….

• farghmee on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:29 am

sugoyyy!

• bmpower on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:32 am

unlucky me, I was not in KL this week..

• anti-acai-beri on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:32 am

must go…!!

• himalaya on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:33 am

1st.? yeeeahoooo

• anti-acai-beri on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:33 am

must go..!!!

• fauzi on Jul 17, 2009 at 1:54 am

cam.shaft and victor lee you should ask ther father to bring you there

• hotwheeler on Jul 17, 2009 at 2:04 am

argh…on job plak this saturday…sh*t

• cool…i bet the bashers will be around.

• Automotive_Critics on Jul 17, 2009 at 2:34 am

P1 should discontinue to splash money on this sales struggling and loss making model. This Satria is no doubt have nice design but the ultimatum is it's space make sales in family-oriented market like Malaysia very bad.

I urge P1 to focus on development for new model and I still hoping P1 can release Golf-sized all new satria neo.

• This is so cool!!!

• dzulx on Jul 17, 2009 at 3:02 am

Automotive_Critics….

Ever heard the concept of HALO car?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 17, 2009 at 4:48 am

Get there before the place opens and wait and wait some more

• Maes Kurt on Jul 17, 2009 at 7:35 am

I hope to see Proton Cars in Belgium soon !!!

• Maes Kurt on Jul 17, 2009 at 7:39 am

I am realy want to drive a Satria Neo CPS . It's a very nice car , but it needs a Turbo (170 hp )!

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Jul 17, 2009 at 8:29 am

Whatever…!

• Julian Pang on Jul 17, 2009 at 10:02 am

Does anybody know how much does it cost to participate in the Autocross?

• wochomi on Jul 17, 2009 at 4:45 pm

Looks very nice…. after so many years drooling of the Desire Concept… my desire also went over to other cars,d. hehehe….. but this Satria would make an exciting poor man's second car…..

• Daniel on Jul 17, 2009 at 5:50 pm

It's Time 2 Trash The Crap Out Of It….!! Mwahahaha

• BFA876 on Jul 17, 2009 at 6:09 pm

Julian,

Another title to the champion's collection !!!!

• Maserati on Jul 17, 2009 at 6:25 pm

OK ,FYI,I am one of the Proton basher.

So actually Proton Satria NEo CPS sales must have been very very bad for them to organize a so called "test the stability and all" test drive.LOLZ!

I dont know why Proton still want to come up with all this rubbish stuff when ppl are just gonna queue up,"TEST DRIVE" and ciao.

How many ppl are actually gonna buy this piece of crap? I have hardly seen the Satria Neo CPS on the road.Heck,I even see more VW Golf GTis on the road at the moment.

That shows to everyone that Proton is still a failure by coming up with stuff not wanted by the majority but what is wanted by the minority.

For eg,EXORA Turbo! How many ppl are gonna buy a big sized turbocharged MPV? How many ppl are gonna fork out so much money on a untested ,unreliable turbocharged engine?

Proton should stop wasting time and money coming out with all these kind of crap and get back to basics and give ppl what they want!

Basically ,ppl want

RELIABILITY

PRACTICALITY(WE DONT NEED SO CALLED LOTUS HANDLING)

DECENT QUALITY INTERIOR

Until they come up with these basic necessities,Proton is going to go DOWN!

• InitialD on Jul 17, 2009 at 6:52 pm

Wah! This has caught the attention of Julian Pang too. Hahahaha

• oh paul,

u should not post this!

now everybody already know

arghh

cheers!

• danial1 (Member) on Jul 17, 2009 at 9:03 pm

fauzi said,

July 16, 2009 @ 5:54 pm

cam.shaft and victor lee you should ask ther father to bring you there

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/16/satria-neo…
    —————————————————————

Haiyaa, no point asking their farther to bring them there, they might go them by themself, and not to forget to bring their laptop( laptop paid by their father) so they can complain straight away to the Paultan.org on the event place, using the Broadband USB connection (whoops, the Broadband bill still being paid by their father money too.)

Last but not least.. don't use taxi marr.. take public bus, it would be easier to their fathers' pocket…again..

• muryadi on Jul 17, 2009 at 11:57 pm

hahaha danial1..cool down sikit… teruk sangat tu …

kesian dgn Victor Lee and cam.shaft…

• Unker Champ should be banned from entering lah…. LoL

• roadrunner on Jul 18, 2009 at 9:22 am

Maserati said,

July 17, 2009 @ 10:25 am

OK ,FYI,I am one of the Proton basher

How many ppl are actually gonna buy this piece of crap? I have hardly seen the Satria Neo CPS on the road.Heck,I even see more VW Golf GTis on the road at the moment.

yess i like proton basher!!

can u give any statistic that this neo is hardly seen on the road? pls bash with solid prove so others can respect u more…tqvm

• oldwira on Jul 18, 2009 at 9:45 am

Maserati,

No joke. Never see this maserati car before in Malaysia, meaning this maserati got more craps than neo i guess.

• danial1 (Member) on Jul 18, 2009 at 5:36 pm

muryadi said,

July 17, 2009 @ 3:57 pm

hahaha danial1..cool down sikit… teruk sangat tu …

kesian dgn Victor Lee and cam.shaft…

—————————————————————

Muryadi,

:-D Well dude, just joking, seriously. :-D

• raies on Jul 18, 2009 at 7:00 pm

interesting……

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/73107

• Bandito on Jul 18, 2009 at 7:46 pm

As usual registration for the event was marred by dishonest people..

AAM and MAM registered drivers were there despite the rules clearly stating that they were not eligible to participate.

I brought it up with the crew but they gave any the standard evasion answers..

What is the point is putting that rule up anyway…

Its a bad start for the event!!

Let's see if there is more drama in this..

• ahhhh lame…i came there at 11.45am… the name list is full…and look like ah beng only entered the race. sory to say t his. with nerdy look..hahah! nway got to see the neo symphony.

• fastcx on Jul 19, 2009 at 5:49 am

dont say they r nerdy, indeed they can drive, if u actually stayed to watch it till final

• fastcx on Jul 19, 2009 at 5:53 am

n those nerdy ppl u mentioned, they were there even b4 10am..they r determined ppl. dont insult ppl by their looks, looks are just material that cant reflect what's inside

• RunnerUp on Jul 19, 2009 at 6:33 am

JULIAN_LEE said,

July 16, 2009 @ 5:23 pm

If can test driving rally car only nice

Wow. Despite all his bashing, it seems Julian Lee somehow thought it'd be nice to test drive the Neo S2000. Who would've guessed…

Anyways, is there / will there be any write-up regarding this event?

• peroempat on Jul 19, 2009 at 7:10 am

Proton should invert Jeremy Clarkson.

• dymmer on Jul 19, 2009 at 10:02 am

Aman,

People who are determine or are really eager to find out wots up with the new satria neo cps actually reach 1Utama at 8am in the morning to que up. Mind you, this is an open event, u dont expect the event to be open only for you. sour grapes.

And mind you, am sure most of the ah beng who join the race won you at least by one point, they (the guys and the only lady driver!) have the courage to try even though they already know that they cant win despite of some of the drivers who show up with racing shoes and GLOVE some more! And am pretty sure that these "ah bengs" are at all times, a better driver than you.

Why do i say so? cuz 1stly, a person whos into motor sports will never say sth like this on an open event and they're very supportive of these kinda event even though they find it not interesting to them. 2ndly, these you deemed nerdy looking people are at least have more courage and they're a better winner than you and they didnt say nor complaint anything bout the event even although they didnt win. 3rdly, NEVER JUDGE A BOOK BY IT'S COVER.

young chap.

• dymmer on Jul 19, 2009 at 10:18 am

Bandito,

AAM / MAM license holder are not eligible to join, yes. But not all of them are license holder. And in fact most of them aren't license holder. Within the 48 people i think theres only 2/3? But some of them who wasnt aware of the rule until today pulled out immediately after knowing such rules are in the rules and regulations form just to be fair for others. But wot i do aware is that some people actually turned up and told the organizer in their face that, "THOSE DRIVERS ARE ACTUALLY RACING LICENSE HOLDER", and the were at the 49th place and after, and still they arent allow to enter the event too!

Organizers did say 3-4 times, that those who found out that they are current AAM/ MAM license holder will be disqualify, and the next person will be qualify for the prize, in my honest opinion i think its absolutely fair for the contestants who make it to the top 12, well not unless you didnt make it to the top 12.

So wots there to fret about?

• hitman on Jul 19, 2009 at 10:40 am

great marketing concept.

but how many cars did they manage to sell?

• Shazwan on Jul 19, 2009 at 11:37 am

i have to agree with Bandito.. i was there at 11.15am.. when i went to the counter to register, they said it was already full… sigh.. money maa, who doesn't want.. but those ppl with AAM and MAM licence should have not entered.. c'mon la, so desperate meh?? give a chance for people like us la.. go and win cash n stuff in Sepang Circuit la..sigh..

• SickGuy on Jul 19, 2009 at 4:58 pm

this is not a race also, not even an official event by any race orgaznier, they say it is the testdrive. so why bother with aAm or mam, i also donno wat it is. for the people that didnt make it, too bad, u can come early to line up also wat!, it was i tink a good test drive for me, never win also can mah. i dont care. then if you complaining, then too bad lah you also cannot make it. people give free money you say we desperate, you dowan but i want ah!. give you all chance? in this world where got people give chance wan! u think we enter drift or other event they got give 3K? too bad you cannot make it, u say we desperate, then why you also go to tryyyy?????

• dymmer on Jul 19, 2009 at 6:58 pm

Shazwan,

As i said, not all early birds are AAM/ MAM license holder. And 80% of the top 12 arent license holder in fact! If you would really wanna try, and wanna grab that chance, why dont u come earlier to get a place? instead of blaming the early birds for coming too early? you dont expect the event's response to be cold. Think, the venue is at 1utaman, and the organizer is Proton. As i said, its an open event, again, u dont expect people to cater the event only for people like u. But dont worry, go and win cash n stuff in Sepang Circuit la.

sour grapes

• InitialD on Jul 20, 2009 at 6:49 am

From what I know, AAM and MAM forbids their members from joining any unsanctioned motorsports event.

• The BC sisters on Jul 20, 2009 at 7:12 am

Well said fastcx, dymmer & SickGuy.

To Aman,

Stop whining about not being able to get into the event. Coming in at 11:45am so WHAT??? If you can't get there and line up as early as the so called "Ah Bengs", then you dont deserve the place at all. At least the "Ah Bengs" have more semangat than you.

To Bandito and Shazwan,

Dymmer was right about the 48 participants that they only get to know about the AAM/MAM rules on that day itself. If you open your eyes wide enough and read the Paultan's blog and Proton's website, there is no mentioning about the AAM/MAM ruling. Thats why these "people" showed up. Maybe it seems to you that it is a whole kampung of pro license holders but actual fact is….. I think there is only a maximum of 3 people with "racing license". I was one of them who lined up on sunday and I think I only saw a bunch of GRA autocrossers there…. other than that, i dont remember seeing license holder from real pro races like MME or rally.

I would assume that both of you do not know any jack shxt at all about racing license. Majority of those autocrossers from GRA or KKS autocross events were not license holder at all. Doesnt mean they entered autocross races and they automatically labeled as license holder. Those events are grass roots level and doesnt require you to have full racing license.

Yes…. you were partially right about some license holders were there and let me tell you…. they are gentlemen enough to pull out. One example is: Julian Pang pulled out even before the autocross started.

Let me tell both of you…. this is only a Proton Satria Neo test drive program and NOT A RACE. The cash prize is merely a boost to gather more people to participate. And you kiasu fellas, conderming organiser not doing their job by allowing "them" in and accusing them for giving "standarad evasion" answers. Some of you of even calling "them" desperate and look who is the desparate here… hahahahahaha. a

Personally, I think Proton is doing a great job. They listened to complaints like Bandito's and they hold back prizes to investigate.

• The BC sisters on Jul 20, 2009 at 7:25 am

Only losers want easy win.

Enough said.

• Shazwan on Jul 20, 2009 at 9:42 am

sapa makan cili dia terasa pedas…

• Alven on Jul 20, 2009 at 5:58 pm

This is life,

Just get over it. :)

• Autocrosser on Jul 20, 2009 at 6:39 pm

InitialD said,

July 19, 2009 @ 10:49 pm

From what I know, AAM and MAM forbids their members from joining any unsanctioned motorsports event.

==========================================

Some how this comment is ironic. Sutan Mustaffa is a steward of MAM. and he was part of the organising crew. What a way to set a good example right?

• Danger Mouse on Jul 20, 2009 at 6:45 pm

retard in the house please put up your hand… ooo its you MR Aman…pls come up the stage…

i was the first one to arrive and guess what , i made it to the finals,.. where were u?? shopping with alone thinking of all the "ah beng and NERDS" like us driving and having so much fun…

hahahahahaha….. looks who is laughing now…

• Initiald on Jul 20, 2009 at 7:29 pm

Julian Pang is truly a champion. Hence his nickname Uncle Champ.

He like myself only found out about the AAM/MAM license holder rule on that day. So good on him for pulling out. I really respect him for that.

For those who dunno, to take part in sanction motorsports event (Go-kart, Autocross, Drifting, Track racing like MME), u will need to have a valid AAM or MAM license.

Fortunately for myself, my MAM license already expired. So I was eligible to take part.

• Shazwan on Jul 20, 2009 at 8:22 pm

yeah, no worries la guys.. Im sorry if i sounded like an idiot..chill aite

• leonardo on Jul 20, 2009 at 8:24 pm

It's been a while since i last drove a 125cc 2 stroke go kart. I think it's more fun coz you can really feel the G force trying to take your head off at the chicanes!

Anyway the the 'test race' should be fun. Any results on the event?

• fastcx on Jul 20, 2009 at 10:07 pm

anyway, the s2000 on display really is saliva inducer :P

• come! on Jul 21, 2009 at 2:51 am

btw, you mean SUtan is with MAM? (what is mam ) I think correct also lah, coz i see him in many events and always got pictures in fb, and then Hisham also i think so lah, he is lotus driver and also a race driver that one i surelah, so how come they all like can organize this event and no license also wat? btw, i donno what license is license, all malaysian no one is profesiional other than Alex Yoong, and make matter worst, it is only a test drive challenge, so how come they all can be organizing it like this, then later change their statement when the rules posted also never say anything on license. Very difficult now, i think some people try to be too smart!

so give them a nice slap in the face for acting to be a real big event, when its was just a show, then if just a show, why all the license crap? I think they got their facts upside down, and the rules clearly state, as what paul tan has wrote. Nothing on license holder, and from what i can see, license so what, didnt make any difference, i think some of the drivers are new comer, also did very well! Does not mean anyone enter in any race, sure can win also mah!

I know that some of the people came to line up all didnt get in, do you also know that halfway, they try to eliminate people by just..simply do name call, then the guy not there, they saja replace. And that guy was never in the line!!!!…but good thing is that the original person come back coz he go toilet, then too bad for that guy that suddenly appear, he just have to sit and watch only. that guy i know him, i see him stand there, and he very friendly talk to me

I think too much area for manipulation, but i know the line was very early, i was numbee 63+ and too bad for me, but i see the drivers, they all look pretty same to me. my friend tried to drive well, but also lost. he say he never stop in box, also no one say anything. I think unfair loh. but who knows! maybe some people pretend never see?

i just think some are sore losters!. It is a test drive challenge, if you are good you win lah!, but just coz you come late, then too bad lah. I was there late also mah, but i nvr complain. Why dont you complain about the MU match that day, never get to buy ticket? Or what if got no prize money, come drive for fun, you think people will go and complain? I don tink so loh.

• come! on Jul 21, 2009 at 3:01 am

btw, they using hand clock to time people, who is the judge?? hahhaha, i hear many people complaint, they want to give out prize, also dont have proper equipment to find champion. Hand time, i also can win lah, just press faster mah! i love racing, i see F1, and how to find qualifying 1st guy, when all driver so fast! this one got 3K woh, how they simply press, mah let simply win lah!

I last time, enter an event in bt.gajah, also use hand clock, they simply press only, end up i didnt win, but all my fren time me, very sure i won! But donno why the time come out, so slow. That time give out only oil. So you think yourself, beofre i commend more, cash prize this time, somemore suppose to be pro people organize, but no see so pro to me, kapooi!

• leonardo on Jul 21, 2009 at 3:04 am

btw, they using hand clock to time people, who is the judge?? hahhaha, i hear many people complaint, they want to give out prize, also dont have proper equipment to find champion. Hand time, i also can win lah, just press faster mah! i love racing, i see F1, and how to find qualifying 1st guy, when all driver so fast! this one got 3K woh, how they simply press, mah let simply win lah!

I last time, enter an event in bt.gajah, also use hand clock, they simply press only, end up i didnt win, but all my fren time me, very sure i won! But donno why the time come out, so slow. That time give out only oil. So you think yourself, beofre i commend more, cash prize this time, somemore suppose to be pro people organize, but no see so pro to me, kapooi!

• EYESORE on Jul 22, 2009 at 1:38 am

no need to post same comment twice using 2 different names… sore loser…

• EYESORE on Jul 22, 2009 at 11:22 am

no need to use two nick name to post comments twice…hand-sore…

• JUMPer on Jul 22, 2009 at 11:39 am

Wondering what happened to the issue of splitting the prize money? hmm……

• Autocrosser on Jul 22, 2009 at 5:15 pm

@JUMPer,

The winners haven't gotten the money yet. The organiser is giving it out one week later (26th)

• The roadshow for satria neo still there at ONE UTAMA?

I planning to go and have a look..:)