Hyundai i30 1.6 and 2.0 launched in Malaysia!

Hyundai i30

One of the first Hyundai cars to feature the new i naming scheme is now in Malaysia, but it is not the first i car in Malaysia, as that honour has gone to the i10.

The Hyundai i30 is a C-segment contender designed by their European center for the European market, but that has not stopped it from offering it elsewhere unlike the Kia cee’d’s European exclusivity. The i30 shares the same platform as cars like the cee’d and the upcoming Forte. Proof of that is the fact that the i30 is now here in Malaysia and the wagon version is even in the US, called the Hyundai Elantra Touring.

Hyundai i30

Three variants are sold here, and the good news for manual fans is that there’s a manual version for the 1.6 litre. The following are the prices of the Hyundai i30 variants here in Malaysia:

• Hyundai i30 1.6 (M) – RM92,388.00
  • Hyundai i30 1.6 (A) – RM97,888.00
  • Hyundai i30 2.0 (A) – RM112,888.00

The 1.6 litre engine makes 121 PS at 6,200rpm and 154Nm of torque at 4,200rpm, while the larger 2.0 litre unit makes 143 PS at 6,000rpm and 186Nm at 4,600rpm. The 2.0 litre engine is the same as the one in the Elantra/Avante, and not of the GEMA series found in the Sonata.

Hyundai i30

The 5-speed manual 1.6 gets 15 inch wheels with 185/65R15 tyres, the 1.6 auto goes up one inch with 205/55R16 tyres while the 2.0 auto gets 17 inch wheels with 225/45R17 tyres for a sportier stance. The car rides on a 2,650mm wheelbase chassis (the i30 wagon/Elantra Touring has an extended wheelbase of 2,700mm) with MacPherson struts at the front and a multi-link suspension setup at the rear.

In terms of safety features, all cars get 2 SRS airbags at the front as well as ABS brakes, and good news is that the 2.0 litre automatic gets ESP stability control. Another safety feature for your wallet – a 5 year or 300,000km warranty.

Hyundai i30

Hyundai is offering 1.99% loans for 5 year tenures, and this also applies to the rest of the Hyundai range except the Starex. Speaking of the rest of the Hyundai range, it looks like the Elantra has been renamed the Avante in the new Hyundai-Sime Darby line-up.

This probably happened when the Hyundai franchise was unified here in Malaysia – there are no longer two separate companies selling different Hyundai models, only the Sime Darby unit. The i30 will be in showrooms August onwards. If you like the car and are already thinking of how to pimp it up once you’ve bought one, here’s some inspiration.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BukaMinda on Jul 23, 2009 at 1:28 pm

Good

• Kudos Hyundai for your effort to bring i30 and God willing i20 sooner, perhaps. By the way, a little bit late and your pricing decision TOO JAPANESE yet ambitious and not very good for most people to embrace Hyundai new i-moniker though the thing maybe difference if TURBODIESEL lineups was offered instead!

In Malaysia due to ARCHAIC mentality of policy-makers who do nothing than thinking to make P1 and P2 pricing still has advantage than other IMPORTED BRANDS has made we're too concern of RESIDUAL VALUE of the car before we buy the car. No wonder as this is merely financial risk associated with car ownership due to stupid reasons that forced our National Auto Policy one of deterrent for investors to pick relatively stable Malaysia.

If we're PATRIOTIC enough to have everything Malaysianized like p1 and p2, why not replace our Dell and Apple with homegrown pc with much much higher priced? Or replace our Panasonic and Samsung with Penangsonic and Mistral or KHIND and more than willing to pay more for electronic appliances? Get rid INTEL and MS Office then? The bottom line: we're already taken for free ride by our smallholding carmakers by offering relatively poorer cars in general by increasing everyday driving imported cars' status to LUXURY level they never achieved in their home country. Mind boggling to associate workhorse from Toyota as luxury when Altis is taxi in many parts of ASEAN.

Yes, Malaysia diesel quality was the reason BUT my prediction the pricing too close to the Japanese; using Corolla Altis 1.6 merely RM102k, a flimsy RM4k premium indeed!

By the way, this hatchback will appeal city dwellers more than current Elantra 2.0. Selamat Berjaya Hyundai.

• Nice but i think its a bit pricey. no i30 CRDi version Paul?

• Paul Tan on Jul 23, 2009 at 1:49 pm

No CRDi.

• unfairp2 on Jul 23, 2009 at 3:03 pm

too pricey for korean's brand. people still got other (maybe better) option for that amount of money

• tikus on Jul 23, 2009 at 3:21 pm

Hyundai i30 1.6 (M) – RM92,388.00

Hyundai i30 1.6 (A) – RM97,888.00

Hyundai i30 2.0 (A) – RM112,888.00

with this price tag.. 100 kali pikir la..

• Another good example of typical Korean car dealer. I believe they will slash the price drastically later on. Pity those who buy the car now…..

• Farhat Haniff on Jul 23, 2009 at 3:33 pm

My maths teacher got hers a few months ago in Berlin in red. Honestly, its a 1 series BMW back tail gate, A-Class tail lamps and a very plain and boring front. It drives well though. Inside is cheap plastic.. and over 90K in Malaysia?? Nah. Never.

• err..at these prices i'm not sure whether they can sell well..ppl might change to choose the japanese cars…

nice looking cars tho..

• theanswer on Jul 23, 2009 at 3:44 pm

too pricey..but manual..good.how big is the car?

• Jimmy on Jul 23, 2009 at 3:46 pm

Nissan latio Sports is better. Same price!

• love it! on Jul 23, 2009 at 3:56 pm

I think I gonna like this car…don't mind about the copycat designed …heck what car in the world today have have design to its own apart the exotic..the only flaw now is it price…still I hope paul to have the chance to test drive and review about it here

• Hazri on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:01 pm

i've been waiting for this car for a long time…pity of me the price is so expensive… ;(

• normal_user on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:04 pm

Maybe its pricey because its CBU? Any future plans for CKD? with perhaps price of RM70K-80K…

• epal10 on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:10 pm

i'm not sure the target buyer for this i30. With the starting price tag RM92K+, i believe the people who can buy at that price backet will choose another brand…maybe nissan, or maybe mpv.

• azrai on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:14 pm

Wow, the price is unbelieaveable high. The back look like the i10. Somehow it looks like a tone down 1 series.

• azrai on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:14 pm

… and Myvi headlamp?

• Dark Rizal on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:18 pm

Just to share… I just wondering what is CBU and CKD.. now i know..

CBU means complete built unit, there is another called CKD, means completely knocked down. CBU is for cars that is buildt and send over to that country and is more expensive, CKD is infact cheaper cause it will be knocked down and reassemble again in the shipped country ! hope that clarify things. Cheers

• Dark Rizal on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:21 pm

Another one.. :D

CRDi = Common Rail Direct Injection — makes the diesel engine run like a gasoline-powered one.

Source(s):
    http://philippines.hyundai-motor.com/components/m…

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:25 pm

Remember the Rio 1.4?

Good car, but priced waaaaay out of the market.

I can say this is not unlike re-doing the Rio.

At 113k for the 2.0, I'm wondering why I would choose this over the Focus hatch or the Lancer.

A bit dissapointing, Was hoping this would give the Korean Chevy's a run for the money.

• caddilac on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:28 pm

This is way too expensive… I think that the price need to go down at least 15k… Seems that it is destined to be "cold" again…

• BrakeFader on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:29 pm

i30 2.0 about same price as sonata. Too expensive for 2 year late korean model. I heard matrix is selling cheap now because of this.

• r we getting whats being shown here? i guess they could demod the acc that is on the photo. but korean car? hmm, still no no, better get 'cold' japanese brand

• knight_templar on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:34 pm

Huh why the price so crazy? Just ditch n go for City/Vios (typical Msian thinking). Seriously at this bracket, ppl will want good service and solid resale value. IMO tis doesnt cut it. Even the Peugeot 308 VTi is RM96.5k and thats a conti car. Id rather go for the Peugeot than Toy/Hon/Hyun just for the sake of standing out. U oni live once, frens!

• knight_templar on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:36 pm

BTW this post reminds me of another ambitiously priced car, the Perodua Nautica. I actually saw some poor misguided (or downright dumb) soul driving one. RM85k++ for a Perodua??????

• Jules on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:39 pm

sometimes i wonder how they derive their pricing policy…

to date, this is one of the priciest 1.6 liter hyundai (if not the most),

even when we are still not out of the woods yet,

and when companies are slashing prices just to cover their overheads,

well, who can blame them….it's the third world & developing countries that they always squeeze(profit) the most…not just for cars…

• JULIAN_LEE on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:39 pm

save money buy 5-series

• fandn on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:47 pm

112K for a Korean car with only 2 airbags? Peugeot 308THP has 6 airbags and that also comes with the amazing panoramic moonroof for just RM113,888. i30 at this price in Europe has 6 airbags and Sime Darby is clearly putting this as a cold car.

• barca on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:48 pm

i don't know why. the car just doesn't seem to have that "umpph" factor.

the price didn't help either considering other available makes.

• ford_ton (Member) on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:49 pm

At least the rear center seat belt is a 3 pointer with a headrest thrown in.On a Civic it's only a lap belt. But considering the badge/resale value…..Sime Darby is really pushing their luck here. MMmmmm…

• Petrol Head on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:53 pm

AUTOCAR UK

For

Almost faultless family car from Korea

Generous equipment

Classy cabin

Against

Slighty sub-European standard dynamics

Usual brand snobbery

Hard to fault anywhere else

• fuyo…this kinda of price…ppl rather buy 'H' or 'T' cars lor…

• this mean ki ceed is not coming here

tot the price would be around rm75-85k but this is wayy over..

sure latio sport is better (brand) but it cannot beat my spectra5 121hp anytime anyday!

hah

so to all potential buyers, wait until the REAL test driver review and wait for 1-2 year…

d price will drop

• MycarMylife on Jul 23, 2009 at 5:20 pm

Enjoy guys, the koreanas are getting better and better .

Prices are steep for My market though as I30 is going for USD 30k+ mentioned 6 months ago in Vietnam and many I 10s and I20s are running around in Hanoi as taxis !!

Watch out for the Forte (Kia) and Koup , already on sale here and very popular too.

• bmpower on Jul 23, 2009 at 5:23 pm

mitsu lancer gt is the better choice lah with that price.

paddle shift some more.

• DenFire on Jul 23, 2009 at 5:27 pm

agree with most of the people here, the car looks nice but the price is way too high, i wonder how the sales will be for this vehicle..:P

• HAHA! wif tat kind of price, who wil buy?? rather go for latio or 308vti…

• tikus on Jul 23, 2009 at 5:34 pm

Better buy Pug 308T for 113K with nice glass roof.Conti car lagi..

• finally launch , i20 coming soon too…

• KenKen on Jul 23, 2009 at 5:47 pm

aim high…shoot low

• Kopei on Jul 23, 2009 at 5:48 pm

Way better than an AUDI A3.

• BrakeFader on Jul 23, 2009 at 5:49 pm

With this pricing, I believe they will sell in very limited numbers. It is just an overpriced 5 seater hatchback. Same category can get 308 and the 2.0 version can get the Mazda 3 1.6 which rides better.

If you need a MPV, Naza KIA Rondo is only RM90K range with 2.0L. Pointless.

• JimmyTeng on Jul 23, 2009 at 5:51 pm

Agreed with tikus, better buy Pug 308T. Too expensive for a Korean car.

• korean cars especially hyundai is getting better rating internationally, but it still not in-par with japanese. the i30 look good but the local dealer is killing it by putting price level with the japanese! RM10k less for i30 will be campatitived.

• Babelon on Jul 23, 2009 at 5:56 pm

at this range of pricing, there are many choices in the market.

Nissan Latio sport 1.6 – 96k

Ford foucs 2.0 – 113k

Peugeot 308 turbo with panaromic roof- 113k

i30 2.0 – 113k

suzuki sx4 – 97k

mazda 3 hatchback -coming soon…

and many many more

Which one will you buy if you have money? definitely not i30. lol

• Bobby on Jul 23, 2009 at 6:06 pm

too pricey. consumers will consider it's depreciation value and buying a new one will depreciate a lot. On power wise, the 1.6 makes pretty impressive figures but the 2.0 is not very impressive.

• fastcx on Jul 23, 2009 at 6:11 pm

thank god they bring in i30!! finally!! just the price :-/

• mayor81 on Jul 23, 2009 at 6:15 pm

A common sightings in Holland / mainland europe when I was there last year. A good looking and spacious hatch I must say. With the pricing, one must really want to look apart to ever consider this over the rest out there.

• arayko on Jul 23, 2009 at 6:16 pm

y clock at this price ya?

over price la

• agreed with all.. too pricey..

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jul 23, 2009 at 6:46 pm

wow, a little too pricy imo. CBU right? Should've just gone ahead and done a CKD program, could've slashed about rm15k off the price.

• alpha999 on Jul 23, 2009 at 6:56 pm

unbelievable….price tag……for korean CBU…….most buyers will prefer CKD japs

• sam620 on Jul 23, 2009 at 7:01 pm

long time no hear from HYUNDAI, no bad this model… especially the rear look ver nice

the price still aceptable, maybe later got few thousand cash rebate (usually like nissan and toyota did)

• quite expensive..

no gema engine some more..

• For a Korean car,it's a bit pricey!~

• roti naan1 on Jul 23, 2009 at 7:23 pm

Good looking car, but price is crazy. Buy the car if you don't mind being a sucker to the tax imposed by the damn Gov.

I'll drive my 30 years old jap car better. Never let me down a bit.

• wochomi on Jul 23, 2009 at 7:38 pm

Maybe if they price it higher will increase the RESALE value?

Does it work that way? I dunno…. can anybody help?

• I agree with all…….the pricing is way too high for a Korean car which is still not on par with their Japanese counterpart.

• nazri on Jul 23, 2009 at 7:44 pm

erm why so price high? i tot was 70k++ something…

• Khairol on Jul 23, 2009 at 7:56 pm

wow! look likes Hyundai have grown up now. 143ps for new car in 2.0 cc is enough. I think this i30 can beat other's in its class

• PuakaNiangRapik on Jul 23, 2009 at 8:15 pm

Priced higher increased resale value …doesn't work that way mate …

1st buyer ends up paying more for capital and interest ..when trading -in later …usually the drop is percentage -calculated …lagi la tinggi drop …

100k too expensive and better choices galore !

• drove this car last month in Melbourne, but the wagon CW version. responsiveness and handling was above avg, about 3.5/5.

it's dirt cheap in Aus though… unlike here in our very *competitive* Malaysian car market >:-(

so… pricing it the same as Mits Lancer and Peugeot 308t (more powerful, more stylish, cooler brand names) ?? <– SUICIDE!!!!

• bernardtham on Jul 23, 2009 at 8:23 pm

from the rear view.. looks bit ike bmw 1 series…

• bernardtham on Jul 23, 2009 at 8:28 pm

interior look nice.. cool..

• mitlanevo on Jul 23, 2009 at 8:30 pm

a bit pricey, but looks great !!!

• Sime Darby is just not good at selling cars… overpriced…

why not CKD?

• mkrafz on Jul 23, 2009 at 8:32 pm

for that kinda pricing…

better look for other maker

Peugeot 308 perhaps?

• shahzane on Jul 23, 2009 at 8:33 pm

there's so many other (better) options at this price range .e.g. latio,civic,lancer,308,mazda 3..wut else haa?so many!!. it will be very hard for this car to compete.i was expecting the price to be around vios or city range at the most. :(

• eddie on Jul 23, 2009 at 8:43 pm

too expensive…. STOP protect PROTON !!

• nighttrain on Jul 23, 2009 at 8:51 pm

Cheh.. I tought the flip up thing on the dash is an LCD display.. rupanya 'play' je.

• bigini on Jul 23, 2009 at 9:12 pm

nice spec and design but too pricey too much competitor at the range after all it is a korean CAR :P

• torque (Member) on Jul 23, 2009 at 9:13 pm

Nice design though,hmm…impressive but like the rest here…yup…keep on doing crazy stuff Sime!!! Very pricey la man…if wanted to beat the Japs…first…ditch the high price…sacrifice first…win the ppl's heart first…take as much pie in the market….when ur market share sudah expand…only then…u can do like what Toyota and Honda did to their models. Cheers!!

• farghmee on Jul 23, 2009 at 9:19 pm

overall exterior & interior are ok :)

interior:

*wierd indicators arrangement at the speedometer. i dun like it.

*mess radio&aircond buttons. for me it's distracting.

*autocruise buttons at steering wheel. hopefully some1 won't make a mistake by turn it on/off while driving.

*typical german layout..too much buttons…

exterior:

*nice body curves, nice side profile.

*big tail light..hmm..to make sure that every1 will notice ur presence :D

• nabil on Jul 23, 2009 at 9:29 pm

too high , not worth it , in no time there will be a Inokom badge i30 for 20k less….too many cars to compete with , atleast it should hav a standout feature…bt it doesnt…looks dull ….pass….

• hiyyaaa…. malaysia boleh maaa…. even p1 and p2 is cheaper oversea than in malaysia… why u expect the gov let others sell their car cheaper than p1 n p2 aah…

• kodok on Jul 23, 2009 at 9:35 pm

as wat i said when pero2 launch their no radio viva…stupid pricing from hyundai!!….92k for 1.6 hatchback???..WTF!!!

• mohdjiman on Jul 23, 2009 at 9:43 pm

priceyyy

• takeo1070 on Jul 23, 2009 at 9:46 pm

korean product is positioning themselves in the same league with the japs. Look at their samsung and LG's, they have successfully grading themselves to be at par or better then some of japanese brands. Their LCDs and handphones is better interms of quality, features and design. So its just a matter of time before the thais and m'sian can really apprecite korean cars.kudos to koreans.

• the stik on Jul 23, 2009 at 9:50 pm

beli lah hyundai i.. i-luv you.. mahal giler dosss..

• _xXx_ on Jul 23, 2009 at 9:51 pm

1.6M is the best buy

• MycarMylife said,

July 23, 2009 @ 9:20 am

Enjoy guys, the koreanas are getting better and better .

Prices are steep for My market though as I30 is going for USD 30k+ mentioned 6 months ago in Vietnam and many I 10s and I20s are running around in Hanoi as taxis !!

Watch out for the Forte (Kia) and Koup , already on sale here and very popular too.

Your based here? Me too but down South.

Your right about the taxi's though not too mention taxi cars used include Vios ,Innova,Camry,Altis, Ford Focus, Hyundai Starex, Getz, QQ . Ive also sat in a Honda Civic taxi before, they are asembled here but in small volume.

The KIA Soul is already on sale here as well..should go have a look.

• Eamat on Jul 23, 2009 at 10:24 pm

Its quite EXPENSIVE!!!

If the 1.6 Auto around RM70K, i think its worth-it

• Hazri on Jul 23, 2009 at 10:25 pm

Sime Darby Staff Purchase for new Avante 2.0 at price RM90K after discount + RM1.2K for downpayment. monthly payment as low as RM1k monthly for 7years….

If I have money, i'll choose Avante, it bigger than i30 right?

• Jr. racer (Member) on Jul 23, 2009 at 10:38 pm

blakang mcm bmw 1series lah…

mahal sgt la..should be around 70-80k…

• CocoBear on Jul 23, 2009 at 10:41 pm

Only the rims look good. Who needs i30 when u can get Pug308 at a better deal? Maybe they will come up with Inokom i30 that will lower the price. Otherwise nobody wants a Korean useless car.

• the back looks a bit like the 1series bimmer.. definately too expensive for a hyundai! i'd go for the peugeot 308 anyday!

• woah, nice interior although the price is also very "nice"

i agree that they can CKD this vehicle here but i doubt many features will stay on in order to cut the price down to fight japanese.

but ah..i still prefer peugeot 308 leh…..too damn value for money already. kill off all the competition.

• KuchingMali on Jul 23, 2009 at 11:10 pm

BMW 1 Series' back and a 'sleepy' design. Pricing too expensive for a Hyundai.

• bobdbilder on Jul 23, 2009 at 11:14 pm

Hang on. Its looks like a decent car so far, if I only new what's the weight and the 0 to 100 kmph time.

Multi link suspension at the back. Interesting; you don't get that often. Even a similarly priced (but older) Vios edges on it. Can't say much about the engine though. The impression is, if its not the GEMA lineup, you'd think it's underdevelop. At 141hp it sounds like my Trajet's non CVVT version. That pre-dates it to last century.

But can't say anything until you get a test drive. Overall its gonna be a typical Hyundai which will slowly creep up in sales once people can accept it. All those comments seem like the ones you'd get from any Hyundai launch. But you can see them everywhere in the city don't you?

Can we have a manual Genesis please. I was contemplating the Coupe until it had everything it didn't need like FWD and a CVVT tranny.

• dream on Jul 23, 2009 at 11:33 pm

…design is nice, but really bad pricing…maybe 10K less if becomes Inokom.

…Sime Darby should know better for Korean cars, not as easy to be accepted here compared to Jap cars…needs more persuasive marketing, not brand appeal alone.

…maybe can learn how Naza manages to make Peugeot brand attractive.

…see if Naza brings in SW version, Sime oso bring CW version…

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Jul 23, 2009 at 11:50 pm

Don't care…

• Looks good but its pricey for a Hyundai..

• [quote]Another one.. :D

CRDi = Common Rail Direct Injection — makes the diesel engine run like a gasoline-powered one.

Source(s):

http://philippines.hyundai-motor.com/components/m…

From your source: "Hyundai's CRDi engine "redefines" diesel technology, says Hyundai Asia Resources, Inc. (HARI). HARI added that the engine can even reach a top speed of 180 kph."

Talking like this 12 years after Fiat developed this technology and 20 years after the first TDI is quite impudent. BTW: 180kph for a European 2 liter engine, be it from Volkswagen, Renault, Peugeot or else is laughable. They easily do over 200kph.

• price can cut but not the 5 years or 300k km warrenty. then will be cheap as saleman car…

• mustafa on Jul 24, 2009 at 12:28 am

very disappointed about the pricing ….

308VTi with 4 airbags @ 96k++….

I was thinkong of something close to Vios or City pricing ….

• Branding : Definetaly lost to T/H/N/M/Pug

Design: Not any better compared to T/H/N/M/Pug of the same price range

Performance: Not any better compared to T/H/N/M/Pug of the same price range

but

Price: On par with the T/H/N/M/Pug

Who is gonna buy this thing?????

Before the price is announced I do feel that it would an alternative option for anti P1 and P2 consumers. They willing to pay extra just to stay away from P1 and P2 but not until the extent of getting common choices like Vios, City, Civic, Altis. We have Pug 308 to give a stiff competition to the Japanese makers due to the price:features they offer. I once thought i30 will fall under a category to compete with the likes of Vios and City or even the Nissan so ppl can juggle and hesitate due to Korean Cars< Jap cars in pricing and quality. Ppl willing to save a bit to get a decent quality car as long its not P1 or P2. However with the pricing of this i30, we're getting decent quality with the same/higher price compared to the Japs and Pugs. What on earth happened.

• Never buy Korean car…crappy quality & re-sale value.

• solarcar on Jul 24, 2009 at 1:08 am

this baby looks decent, too bad it was born in a wrong family! had it born in europe or japan, it probably can sell well.

• Once again Sime has gotten their pricing wrong. Just look at the Alfas, priced closely to a BMW / Audi but without the prestiege. Have friends working in Italy, even the Italians don't think highly of an Alfa. But good news for ppl who bought the Elantra. At least, their resale value is preserved.

• dr aidil on Jul 24, 2009 at 1:25 am

for god 's sake..this car got 1st rank in australian car of the year 2007,beating the crap out of beemer,mazda,subaru n lancer gt…scores 94/99 to be exact…now u know why d pricing like that guys…

• i owned a Hyundai and was fascinated when this model actually arrived on our shore. The design well as created in europe has those usual european looks especially the dashboard. Well done Hyundai!. just the let down is as what others are commenting is the high price.Well that what we expect from plus govt tax. I'm not sure i'll be getting this car over the new 'H' CT.

• dr aidil on Jul 24, 2009 at 1:41 am

AUSTRALIAN CAR OF THE YEAR AWARD 2007 FINALISTS

1. Hyundai i30 CRDi (94pts)

2. VW Golf GT TSi (86pts)

3. Mazda2 Maxx (75pts)

4. Mitsubishi Lancer VR (71pts)

5. Mercedes-Benz C280 (66pts)

6. Holden Ute SV6 (56pts)

7. Ford Mondeo Zetec (37pts)

8. Subaru Impreza RS (32pts)

9. BMW X5 3.0d (31pts)

10. BMW 335i sedan (25pts)

11. Volvo C30 T5 (21pts)

• mystvearn on Jul 24, 2009 at 1:49 am

Hyundai brand is still suffering from the pricing. Put too expansive and put people off. And people see Hyundai as bargain cars. If that car had a H or T logo with that price, people will buy just because of the logo

• normal_user on Jul 24, 2009 at 1:52 am

You better do some research Nick!

Of course the i30 is not in the same league as its C-segment Japanese competitors from Toyota, Nissan, Honda. Its because ITS A LOT BETTER than those cars.

Go search autocar.co.uk for the i30, and you'll discover that the car is not competing againts the Japanese. The i30 is on par & competing with the GOLF, ASTRA & FOCUS. Mind you those cars are the worlds best in its class, and way better than the our Japanese C-segment. Wake up!

=======

Nick said,

July 23, 2009 @ 4:43 pm

Branding : Definetaly lost to T/H/N/M/Pug

Design: Not any better compared to T/H/N/M/Pug of the same price range

Performance: Not any better compared to T/H/N/M/Pug of the same price range

but

Price: On par with the T/H/N/M/Pug

Who is gonna buy this thing?????

• dr aidil said,

July 23, 2009 @ 5:41 pm

AUSTRALIAN CAR OF THE YEAR AWARD 2007 FINALISTS

1. Hyundai i30 CRDi (94pts)

2. VW Golf GT TSi (86pts)

3. Mazda2 Maxx (75pts)

4. Mitsubishi Lancer VR (71pts)

5. Mercedes-Benz C280 (66pts)

6. Holden Ute SV6 (56pts)

7. Ford Mondeo Zetec (37pts)

8. Subaru Impreza RS (32pts)

9. BMW X5 3.0d (31pts)

10. BMW 335i sedan (25pts)

11. Volvo C30 T5 (21pts)

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/23/hyundai-i3…

Well thats said it all. But Australian version is way better equipped than ours. But i'm still impressed though. A least enjoying a bit of the glory.

• It's finally here……. my i30 is finally here! expecting 70 -80K but 90K meh…?

• BeemerFreak on Jul 24, 2009 at 2:39 am

Tested this car when i was in singapore about 6 months ago. The only car that can come on par with this little hatch from japan is the new Mazda 3. Body roll through connering is so low that puts it in league with VWs. Compared to T/H/N/Mitsubishi, only the Civic comes close for dynamism. Definitely a car to look out for.

• coronation888 on Jul 24, 2009 at 2:41 am

Expensive!!!!!!!!!!!

After 1 – 2 year, sure the price drop to 50K only! Not 2nd value! Believe or not! Up to you!

• jolly_idiot on Jul 24, 2009 at 2:42 am

90k+ for a korean hatch? I'll rather go for a Latio. More elegant & luxury feel. Btw, 112k+ for a 2.0 hatch? Crazy!!!

• jolly_idiot on Jul 24, 2009 at 2:47 am

If they make the 2.0 a sedan, it'll be a better offer.

• Overprice!…

The back look alike my A170 …:(

• Overprice..

The back lamp design look alike my A170..:(

• koozold on Jul 24, 2009 at 3:21 am

haro said:

this mean ki ceed is not coming here

tot the price would be around rm75-85k but this is wayy over..

sure latio sport is better (brand) but it cannot beat my spectra5 121hp anytime anyday!

hah

—————————————————————–

haro…u believe my wira 1.3M can tapau ur spectra5 up to genting hill??wanna try??

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jul 24, 2009 at 3:34 am

my only comment,

WALAOEH!! 112k car also no side mirror indicator, meevi also have, wat la hyundai, hehehe

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jul 24, 2009 at 3:36 am

jolly_idot truly idiot,

u wanna sedan buy hyundai elantrax20/avante its the sedan version for i30..and have the same engine too..

• whystereo on Jul 24, 2009 at 4:27 am

overpriced la… the price will kill all the potential buyer…

• That price tag i can get myself much better cars wei.

• tansri on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:31 am

better i buy city or vios..this car can only sell with 70k price tag only ma..

i agree..maybe they want to do sales strategy like naza citra..

• suhaireen on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:32 am

price to highhhh….buyer 10xtimes consideration…

• Wah … 2.0 priced at 112k .. my X20 Incus version oso cheaper..

• Dia ingat dai toyota/ honda………makna minyak..no resell value…

• Winson on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:39 am

come on..this car is having one of the highest OMV in Singapore in his range..and score almost 100% +ve review from European market..try google I30 vs ( usually car review usually compare it against Mazda 3 and Ford Focus..and not what latio etc.. Hyundai is one of the best seller at Europe and US market…

• normal_user: A hyundai is still a hyundai for god sake. Its not proven in the Malaysia market yet. Y i need to compare it to Japs C-segment cars? Their prices are similar of course. Like u said, its way superior compared to the Japs but yet ppl still question its price. 100k for a VW quality must be a good buy isnt it? I can tell u that not many ppl willing to take this risk and get this thing. Hyundai need to put a cheaper price with reasonable quality to gain trust. Dont compare it with VW. Ask Golf to price at less than 150k. I bet you wont able to get it as well because they are out of stock.

Cheers

• i hate low quality c on Jul 24, 2009 at 5:12 pm

if the price stay like that better buy toyota rush in malaysia or wish..

• torque (Member) on Jul 24, 2009 at 5:40 pm

dr aidil said,

July 23, 2009 @ 5:25 pm

for god ’s sake..this car got 1st rank in australian car of the year 2007,beating the crap out of beemer,mazda,subaru n lancer gt…scores 94/99 to be exact…now u know why d pricing like that guys…

Dear dr aidil,

Most commentors here never said that this car have a bad quality nor it looks extremely ugly, point is…that Sime decided to put a quite hefty price for it is questionable! I, myself had read many foreign mag and majority said it's a well built car…closely compete with the rest of the conti's. Then, here in Malaysia…come on….we all know that we Malaysian are rather price sensitive. Plus, putting 112k while u can get a Pug with Panaromic roof with extra safety features for 113k? Don't tell me that when you coming back to Malaysia (soon), that u gonna grab this car?! Put aside the CBU and the CKD issue…Perodua Nautica is a CBU unit, do u see many Malaysia flocking the showroom n get themselves a unit? No right?

• wochomi on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:42 pm

Like what the man said in the 1st thread. Resale Value is a strong factor in deciding on a car purchase…. coz the thing will wear down and out in time, and you;ll need to change it. Unless that car is a classic (which it isn't…) or is the last car you're gonna buy (final ride-final destination). You're still gonna ROLL your trade-in money for an UPGRADEd ride…

• turboKev on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:51 pm

tell me how this car can beat PUG308, head to head ?????????

unless u r a died hard kimchi's fans, but wat had korean car famous for, so far?

• AlexMartin on Jul 24, 2009 at 9:37 pm

Hi All, i'm frm sg and always check out paultan and it's interesting to see i30 is here in msia..or soon to be..it's a common car in sg and it's price ard 45k – 60k SGD…but i think u guys shd check out diz car cos the car is value for money..it got superior handling, great interior and also good fuel consumption..but at the end of the day, a hyundai will always be a hyundai and a toyota will always be a toyota..its all depend on u, the consumer to tink it thru but i shall recommend u guys to check out diz car though..cheers mate..

• Maserati on Jul 25, 2009 at 3:05 am

Good try Hyundai,but NO way this is gonna compete with Jap makes anytime soon.

First of all its too pricey.

For that same price I can get a PUG 308 VTI which is a million times better .

Then there are the realibility issues and second hand value issues.

Nope,not good enough Sime Darby.You have to get your pricing right and the above price list does not even make me want to step into the showroom.

• Jimmy on Jul 25, 2009 at 6:37 am

82k for 1.6 auto and 98k for 2.0 maybe more reasonable. BTW, Kia Sportage looks way better than this car right? If you like Korean, then KS may be a better option; similar price, bigger, higher ride, 4WD, shiftronic, caliper etc…

• Marco on Jul 25, 2009 at 7:34 am

I think Hyundai Malaysia this time put the wrong market tactic, too expensive ………., with this car price, I better choose Japanese car like Mitsubishi Lanser GT 2.0, Honda City, Honda Civic 1.8 or Nissan.

Even though good looking but second hand car value for Korean car are very low.

Consider carefully if u want buy this car

• lowprofile on Jul 25, 2009 at 5:51 pm

i went to the showroom in ampang and… NO CAR!! even the salesmen didn't know the price. how can sime darby launch a car and not have it in the showrooms? no excuse on whether it is a branch or dealer.

• raybrig85 on Jul 25, 2009 at 8:25 pm

i think some of u still dont even see this car in flesh…its jz because it is hyundai..u guyz starting to melatah…better check it out 1st..then u'll know it..for me its value for money..i dont mind to choose this over T or H badge…still…its good tho…jz check it out 1st…

• danial1 (Member) on Jul 25, 2009 at 11:35 pm

AlexMartin said,

July 24, 2009 @ 1:37 pm

Hi All, i’m frm sg and always check out paultan and it’s interesting to see i30 is here in msia..or soon to be..it’s a common car in sg and it’s price ard 45k – 60k SGD…but i think u guys shd check out diz car cos the car is value for money..it got superior handling, great interior and also good fuel consumption..but at the end of the day, a hyundai will always be a hyundai and a toyota will always be a toyota..its all depend on u, the consumer to tink it thru but i shall recommend u guys to check out diz car though..cheers mate..

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/23/hyundai-i3…
    —————————————————————

In S'pore this car, 45k-60k price, with low-end employee like a Singaporean lorry driver could earn an average salary of min 3500-5000 SGD per/month- that means even a lorry driver can afford to own this car.

In Malaysia this car, 92k-113k price , a freshly out of university professional with starting salary of RM2000 won't even afford this car, unless his Papa and Mama provide him with large sum of downpayment, let say RM30k.

Now, if you calculate per capita income including cost of owning a car of that price, and average living cost per/month, it' is way out of affordable monthly paymen,t for a person earning RM2000-RM3000 per/month, (I mean income totalling RM2000-RM3000, including overtime, part-time,freelance income)

• i have owned the Hyundai Elantra X20 for many months, it is CVVT 2.0, that is very value for money, somemore i bought it with good discount, really good car for me, FC is reasonably good for 2.0 car… no regret for owning Elantra X20… i previously drove a Nissan car, first time owning Hyundai car, now i feel that Hyundai can compete with Japs cars…

i tot i30 2.0 maybe close to 98K like that, but the price is 20K more expensive than Elantra X20….quite a shock to me, might as well buy Elantra X20…with the price tag, can get Sonata 2.0 liao…

dunno what Sime Dary thinks, I think whoever is interested will need to wait till it becomes CKD with lower price…if this car is about 98K, will attract more buyers…

• hehe..there is no i30 at most of the showroom yet, they are only available from 1 Aug for nationwide showrooms…

Sime Darby is doing the launch at One Utama PJ, went there this evening, quite many people surrounded the road show there….

there are three i30 there with 1.6 and 2.0, looks very nice especially the white color i30…

i checked out quite detailed in and out for i30 to compare with my own Elantra/Avante X20, now I must say i30 is definitely higher class and quality than X20…. the seats are more comfortable, the rear seats have bigger leg and head room than X20…. the width is about the same….

there are many soft touch materials from dashboard to doors, very nice feeling… the steering and meter also looks better than X20 one…

the glovebox has chiller which can keep the cold drinks cool…

sitting at i30 driver seat has better feeling than X20…

the single din player (Pioneer) on the dashboard is a bit let down but can feel the quality is well built….

i30 also has Electronic Stability Control which Elantra X20 does not have…

will test drive the i30 on 1 Aug to have the feel on power and handling…

i should have checked out the real car first before I judged the value of the i30…

I think if Elantra X20 is selling at about RM94K, then if the i30 2.0 is same price with X20, I think most of the people will choose i30 2.0 over X20 as the quality and features of i30 is better than X20… i think mainly i30 is designed for Europe market and also CBU unit…

maybe when i30 becomes CKD, the price dropped and Sime Darby took away certain things on i30, then Elantra/Avante can compete with i30 :)

in the road show, the sales agent told me the price gap between i30 2.0 and Avante X20 should be at least 10K…. so i think i30 2.0 could be selling at about 104K like that rather than 112K which is too near to Japs rivals…

anyway, if Sime Darby SA could give discount like 6K on i30…still can consider i30 :)

• hehe..there is no i30 at most of the showroom yet, they are only available from 1 Aug for nationwide showrooms… Sime Darby is doing the launch at One Utama PJ.

I went there this evening, quite many people surrounded the road show there…. there are three i30 there with 1.6 and 2.0, looks very nice especially the white color i30… i checked out quite detailed in and out for i30 to compare with my own Elantra/Avante X20, now I must say i30 is definitely higher class and quality than X20…. the seats are more comfortable, the rear seats have bigger leg and head room than X20…. the width is about the same…. there are many soft touch materials from dashboard to doors, very nice feeling… the steering and meter also looks better than X20 one… the glovebox has chiller which can keep the cold drinks cool… sitting at i30 driver seat has better feeling than X20… the single din player (Pioneer) on the dashboard is a bit let down but can feel the quality is well built…. i30 also has Electronic Stability Control which Elantra X20 does not have…

will test drive the i30 on 1 Aug to have the feel on power and handling… i

should have checked out the real car first before I judged the value of the i30… I think if Elantra X20 is selling at about RM94K, then if the i30 2.0 is same price with X20, I think most of the people will choose i30 2.0 over X20 as the quality and features of i30 is better than X20…

i think mainly i30 is designed for Europe market and also CBU unit… maybe when i30 becomes CKD, the price dropped and Sime Darby took away certain things on i30, then Elantra/Avante can compete with i30 :)

in the road show, the sales agent told me the price gap between i30 2.0 and Avante X20 should be at least 10K…. so i think i30 2.0 could be selling at about 104K like that rather than 112K which is too near to Japs rivals… anyway, if Sime Darby SA could give discount like 6K on i30…still can consider i30 :)

• hehe..there is no i30 at most of the showroom yet, they are only available from 1 Aug for nationwide showrooms… Sime Darby is doing the launch at One Utama PJ, went there this evening, quite many people surrounded the road show there….

there are three i30 there with 1.6 and 2.0, looks nice especially the white color i30… i checked out quite detailed in and out for i30 to compare with my own Elantra/Avante X20, now I must say i30 is definitely higher class and quality than X20….

the seats are more comfortable, the rear seats have bigger leg and head room than X20…. the width is about the same…. there are many soft touch materials from dashboard to doors, very nice feeling… the steering and meter also looks better than X20 one… the glovebox has chiller which can keep the cold drinks cool… sitting at i30 driver seat has better feeling than X20… the single din player (Pioneer) on the dashboard is a bit let down but can feel the quality is well built….

i30 also has Electronic Stability Control which Elantra X20 does not have…

will test drive the i30 on 1 Aug to have the feel on power and handling…

i should have checked out the real car first before I judged the value of the i30… I think if Elantra X20 is selling at about RM94K, then if the i30 2.0 is same price with X20, I think most of the people will choose i30 2.0 over X20 as the quality and features of i30 is better than X20… i think mainly i30 is designed for Europe market and also CBU unit…

maybe when i30 becomes CKD, the price dropped and Sime Darby took away certain things on i30, then Elantra/Avante can compete with i30 :) in the road show, the sales agent told me the price gap between i30 2.0 and Avante X20 should be at least 10K…. so i think i30 2.0 could be selling at about 104K like that rather than 112K which is too near to Japs rivals… anyway, if Sime Darby SA could give discount like 6K on i30…still can consider i30 :)

• its funny how some people can compare a superior car like this i30 and pug 308 with 3rd world cars like dugong vios or cheapo latio /city.

jap cars are just toooooo overated here in malaysia.

korean brands like samsung and LG already pwned jap brands like sony and panasonic all over the world since a couple of years ago.

now they are doing the same with their cars…..

only ignorant malaysians refuse to accept the fact.

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jul 26, 2009 at 5:40 pm

only kiasu malaysians refuse to accept the fact…

• Julian-Lee on Jul 26, 2009 at 8:34 pm

BMW 3-series wagon better

• abc123 on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:03 am

hyundai? wtf

• with a price like that, I think you would be better off with 308 for the conti feel.

• Winson on Jul 27, 2009 at 8:25 am

Hi danial1,

Come on lah… SIngapore car is cheap relatively (45k-60K)..but expensive to maintain…ERP everywhere..season parking at HDB….you own a car in Singapore?? Which Singapore Lorry Company give driven 4-5k per month..can specify?

• Good car but wrong pricing.

At this price I would rather go for better performance and design Ford Focus 2.0 Sport.

My opinion HyundaiSD shd price the 2.0 at not more than 100K and 1.6 below 85K.

• caseyc on Jul 27, 2009 at 9:48 pm

Few months ago my friend bought his "first" new car. An i10 and I test drive his car. The car salesman told him some dongeng story like car is good consumption lar etc etc.

We can tell he feel sad. Extremely under power when driving it. high fuel consumption.

Another friend bought the accent (not the latest generation) Fuel consumption is very high. Power is ok but squeaky noise can be heard inside. Service/maintenance cost is high. He told me spare parts is pricey too

Buying new car is easy, but selling your used car can be a pain in your a**

Think !!! before buy

• SexyThang on Jul 28, 2009 at 5:05 am

seeing this car for almost 2 years already. yes its getting rave reviews from the motoring press but i beleive its mainly coz its a good for a korean car and was designed in europe etc. when it comes to cars from europe, the motoring journalists will praise it a bit more than it deserves. be it from UK or Australian journalists.

so take these reports with a grain of salt. the real test is whether these people who praise them in the magazines would buy it themselves in real life. and i have a suspicion the answer is no.

its a good car. but it is no mazda 3. the strength of the i30 is in the diesel model only as the japs dont have anything to compete yet at the price.

also….be aware that car of the year only takes into consideration cars released in that year or the year before only. so it doesnt really mean much for the average consumer when buying cars as it doesnt take into consideration previous cars released before that year or cars that are just released which does make alot of difference.

• Donkey on Jul 28, 2009 at 6:49 am

I did not know there are so many donkeys around. Please go google and you will find out the i30 was car of the year 2007 in europe and australia. IT is on par or better than many european and japanese marque like vw golf , civic, ford focus and beat altis handdown in terms of quality, performance etc.

Please lah, go google before making comment here lah.

Proton boleh

• hahahaha for all you doubters about hyundai cars, i suggest you take a drive in the new hyundais before posting.

WTF? how can you compare current japs like vios dugong, camry, accord & contis like 308 with the older accent, matrix, atos & sonata? not apple to apple comparison lar, wanna compare, take the i10, i20, i30, Equus & the Genesis.

all over the world, there are good reviews about hyundais and you jokers are still 'katak dibawah tempurung'. LOL!!!

• i think lots of people have not tested driving the i30 and gave lots of comments which are too personal feeling…. and those people who gave bad comments normally never or do not own the new generations of Hyundai cars…

i previously drove a Nissan car, i did the same thing as I previously slashed Hyundai cars based on no facts or no personal experiences, just only heard from here and there or from those people also never own hyundai cars… i think it is the mentality to accept Hyundai…like now i am a happy Hyundai Avante/Elantra X20 owner :) it is called mentality change…

• intermilan on Jul 29, 2009 at 11:00 pm

wahh.. look like the i30 kena gasak kaw kaw one lah.

hell, the price is unbelievable… granted its a CBU, but this price range for a Korean car, people here just won't accept it. The image has worsened now (compared to the time when the Getz really hot and make wave). Thanks to slow sales, pricey parts, wrong strategy, bas resale value and hefty discounts.

like many said before, the 1.6A is priced similarly to a 308 VTi and the 2.0 is to the 308Turbo.

Hyundai i30 1.6 (A) – RM97,888.00 vs.

Peugeot 308VTi – RM96,500 (OTR)

Hyundai i30 2.0 (A) – RM112,888.00 vs,

Peugeot 308Turbo – RM113,888 (OTR)

Engine power are almost similar for all 4, but 308 Turbo got much better torque.

Specification wise, I believe Peugeot triumph over the Hyundai.

The only clear advantage of the i30 is the warranty period. 5 years or 300K km which dwaft all the rest (with the normal 3 years / 100K km period). And perhaps, the low interest rate offer do helps a little bit (its for 5 years loan which is less attractive).

Basicaly, people are making pricing reference/comparison, as usual.

Very rare did anyone questioning its quality since it is still an unknown factor to most.

To Hyundai die hards, don't get disheartened. Perhaps the one that Sime Darby bring here is of the same quality as what they sold in EU or Aust. Some people should be more fair when commenting. Except that the one that get the praise in EU or Aust. is the diesel variants. and we got the petrol variants, which might make all that praises the i30 gained became less valid in our case.

Back to the pricing, to see that a Korean car being compared to a Conti for price / cost reference purpose in Malaysia is a surprise. But to 'feel' that the Korean are more pricey / costlier than a Conti is even worse. How could a Korean be more 'costlier' than a continental? In Msia? (well.. the answer is CBU vs. CKD) but that isn ot important coz in the end od the day, its the OTR price that matters most.

The pricing of the i30 (which is actually a normal price for a CBU unit) just strengthen the perception that many of us here believe, that the 308 VTi or Turbo is truly a bargain!

what a sorry conclusion to make, but SD gonna have very hard time to move the i30 from the showroom. What a shame, coz for the benefits of the consumer, the Japs need more competitors.

• intermilan on Jul 30, 2009 at 1:04 am

Paul,

does the i30 sold in Malaysia have a certified NCAP rating?

5 star, i guess?

• price in taiwan 630,000 = RM 63,000, but the price in Malaysia ……..

• hi kmc, even the toyota camry 2.0 in taiwan can get around NTD 800,000 with more air bags, in malaysia is really for those people can afford

RM 150K like that…

• Specialist on Aug 02, 2009 at 9:27 am

Don't buy i30 now!!! Wait for 3-4 Months. I am very sure it will drop like share market. Maybe later you can get it around RM 80k or lower than that!!

* Hyundai i30 1.6 (M) – RM92,388.00 ** After RM 75,388.00

* Hyundai i30 1.6 (A) – RM97,888.00 ** After RM 80,888.00

* Hyundai i30 2.0 (A) – RM112,888.00 ** After RM 90,888.00

• Specialist, not sure your assumption is based on what, for the 2.0 (A), if it becomes RM 90,888, then the Sime Darby's own Avante X20 will fail to compete as most people would opt for i30 as this hatchback should be more expensive than Avante X20 because of the build quality better than X20… in Singapore, the i30 is also more expensive than Avante….

I would expect the Sime Darby Sales Agent would give 5-6K discount to attract buyers who tested driving the i30 and feel satisfied with it…

Unless the price of Avante X20 drops till RM 85K, there is no way the i30 can becomes RM 90K.

I recently introduced someone to buy the Avante X20, the deal was settled at still more than RM 90K with 5 years warranty.

If Sime Darby is willing to drop the price for i30 that much, why didn't they drop the price of Avante X20 to about RM 85K and Sonata 2.0 to 100K, then with discount somemore the sales of both cars would boost as well.

I am looking at i30 2.0 with slightly more than RM 100K would be worth to buy liao….if the price is over RM 110K, it is just too many competitors for i30… dun think Sime Darby would drop the official price but would ask the Sales Agents to give very significant discount.

• Specialist on Aug 03, 2009 at 9:02 am

gcsk, you are right. The price for X20 & Sonata will be drop soon. Yes, It will be the range you estimated. Most Hyundai Cars will drop too. Because they want to gain a better market share. They are plan to replace Toyata in the market very -very soon. That's why they need to sell more cars to control the market share. More and more discount will be given soon. All you need to do is just seat and wait at the right time to buy your dream car.

• Specialist, is that the insider's news from Sime Darby ? Do you have friend working in the Sime Darby Auto ? The strange thing is if they intend to drop the prices of all Hyundai cars to gain bigger market, then why is Sime Darby still launching the i30 with such a price ? Btw, I believe by dropping the prices would gain better market, but to replace Toyota, that sounds like a super big dream, must say that UMW Toyota is just damm good in selling all its cars and can be done in so many different specs :)

How about Sime Darby's Ford cars ? Sime Darby is even doing much worse in selling Ford as well, so also dropping prices to gain better market share ?

• How about the theory that the Koreans want to distinguish themselves from the "Made in China" car manufacturers rang of cars in Malaysia? :)

• Silverkay on Aug 07, 2009 at 4:29 pm

If it really drop to 70++ then worth to buy…. 3to4 months time ? tat is next year already.. i doubt it…

• Winson on Aug 08, 2009 at 12:38 am

If everyone wait..thats mean no demand..no demand..they wont CKD it here..so how come the price will drop?? Can anyone explain?

• I dun believe the price for i30 1.6 will drop to 70 K ++… i suspect specialist is either making an assumption based on nothing or he is a sales agent for other car brands to ask people not buy Hyundai cars or what…

i am currently driving Elantra X20, bought at near 90K which i think it is very value for money as it really satisfies me from its comfort, power, FC, steady on highway, based on its price…

now i am having interest in this i30 1.6 for my sister, if the 1.6 auto can go like 85-90K, will really consider it as the interior space of i30 is even bigger than my Elantra X20…

personally i would not prefer the Peugeot 308vti as being told my friend who drives 308 told me the spared parts and service cost is expensive…

i have compared the spared parts of Hyundai and Peugeot by asking around people who own the cars… Hyundai is still considered much cheaper as Peugeot is European car… somemore the P308 is 1400KG weight though it has slightly higher torque… also for my friend's P308 CKD version, i closed the door feel like not solid though the doors are heavy… i feel that the i30 door closing sounds better than P308 :)

i checked out from Shah Alam Sime Darby show room, so far from the Hyundai Road show in OneU till now, the sales closed on the i30 is almost the 1.6 only… most the show rooms dun even have test drive unit for the 2.0 version, feel that the Sime Darby SA dun even have confidence to sell the 2.0 version as they know the price is just too much to attract buyers…

i think the 2.0 version really have to wait till it got chance to become CKD only can attract buyers…

however for the i30 1.6 (auto) CBU version, i see if there are discounts or cash rebate, still can catch buyers if the price range is near 90K like that because i30 is segment C while competitors like Vios, City, Latio, Suzuki SX4 are all segment B cars which are narrow in width, the i30 has 1775mm, 3 adults can sit comfortably at rear seats, not like Vios, the shouders of passengers are really squeezing each other.

• Rhys Miller (Member) on Aug 09, 2009 at 7:45 pm

There will not be a ckd of this model as it is not a volume model.

• Rhys Miller (Member) on Aug 09, 2009 at 7:49 pm

There will not be a CKD of this model as it is not the volume model for Hyundai in Malaysia

• not necessary Rhys Miller, for Hyundai Santa Fe, it is CKD now, the sales volume on Sante Fe isn't that signficant too…

• Specialist on Aug 11, 2009 at 6:30 pm

Hmm… For those want to buy i30 now. Please do so, because I never gain anything. I never ask people not to buy i30, let's make this clear first. After 4 Months from now, we will check the i30 price again ok.

• Winson on Aug 12, 2009 at 9:37 pm

I personally driving I30 in Singapore… and to be frank..i chosed this over mazda 3 (last gen) and Honda Airwave. This car is magnificient … stable driving, low FC ..etc.. its worth to buy…

• How low is low, Winson? :) (XX km/l)

Anyway, if only there is a 1.6 Turbo Diesel Auto Trans with 7 seat on sale in Malaysia with good (read "cheap") price. :)

• Hi Winson, is your i30 the 1.6 Auto version ?

• Winson on Aug 13, 2009 at 7:41 am

Singapore only have 1.6 version ( as far i know)….how low is low..emm..45 litre city + some expressway driving ~520 km…what more should i expect … Singapore just launched the wagon version for I30 as well.. muscular version.. initial I shortlisted airwave, mazda 3 (previous gen), I30 and finally i decided on I30 after test drove it. This is really a powerful little devil for 1.6 car..driving feel superb over mazda 3 and airwave.

• 520/45 = 11.555555556 km/litre I think is normal.

I guess you are driving an AT 1.6 then, Winson.

Cheers.

• Winson on Aug 14, 2009 at 3:12 pm

Does Malaysia version come with Sunroof and full ipod compatible?

• Bill Gates on Aug 21, 2009 at 9:19 pm

RM100,000 for a hatchback? this is dirt cheap, I like to order a dozen i30

• Have you picked up your dozen i30, Bill Gates? Or was it a long queue?

• Angela on Sep 03, 2009 at 7:17 pm

I saw this i30 on the road last week. First look, very nice. Look for the price….my god! too pricey! Anyway, got stock ah? what color available?

• wake up hyundai………wat a boring carrrrrr

• Ahmad Sahar on Sep 08, 2009 at 9:02 pm

I had the privilege to test drive the 1.6 manual model today and Hyundai in Glenmarie. The salesperson, Ms. Yumi Lew was kind enough to arrange for the test drive.

Driving position felt very comfortable. When I was driving the car out, I noticed that the clutch, brakes, shifter were all very pleasant to use.

Brakes were quite sensitive but easy to modulate compared to say, Pug 308 GT. Car is very quiet at idle, almost silent. Pickup is reasonable but feels like you have to rev a bit. Engine very willing and smooth, but it gets a bit boomy at higher revs, but settles down. Suspension feels great and gives me confidence to drive. When taking the corner the car feels very flat and planted.

The best thing was that even in 5th gear the engine was still able to accelerate easily from 40km/h, which I don't think many cars can do easily.

Anyway I'll definitely be saving up to buy this car, as I think it's one of the best that I have driven. Thank you again to Ms. Yumi at Hyundai Glenmarie for arranging for the test drive.

• Do you know if the 2.0 Auto diesel will be brought in, Ahmad Sahar?

• http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/road_tests/index.htm?…

So where's the 1.6 Diesel Automatic.

Bwahahaha.

• chrishii on Oct 02, 2009 at 7:45 am

Bump in and have a test drive with the car and you will get the result of the price that you are paying for.

• i own the Hyundai Avante/Elantra X20, must admit that this i30 2.0 is better than the X20 in many aspects even the head space…

the soundproof, comfort level on the seats and suspension of is also better than than x20…

but i like the dashboard of X20 than i30….

anyway, if i30 2.0 is the same price to X20 2.0, i would take i30…because i30 has European feeling….

the test drive feeling on i30 is one class above X20…i think it is price of i30 which scares people away, if i30 2.0 is only selling at RM 9xK, i would attract lots of buyers…

• michael on Oct 25, 2009 at 9:01 am

potato car

• michael on Oct 25, 2009 at 9:04 am

compare jap car n korea car, who is better in technology and pricing?

brother, i told u not to buy this car already ,,,,,,,

• Daniel Westmuller on Nov 03, 2009 at 5:22 pm

Something very wrong with the pricing. Heyyyy…wake up la…

don't daydreaming. Who's gonna buy?

• appetite4destruction on Nov 09, 2009 at 1:30 am

saw the i30 at IKANO today… wow it's look better than the pics here.. i was thinking bout buying the city now not sure anymore… city has better front end but overall the i30 looks better.. must test drive 1st b4 make my decision.. luv it with 16inch wheels… hmmm .. where can i test drive one.. beside i30 have manual version.. opt 4 manual limited these days except 4 P1..

• 308T-BOY on Nov 29, 2009 at 9:39 am

appetite4destruction said,

November 8, 2009 @ 5:30 pm

saw the i30 at IKANO today… wow it’s look better than the pics here.. i was thinking bout buying the city now not sure anymore… city has better front end but overall the i30 looks better.. must test drive 1st b4 make my decision.. luv it with 16inch wheels… hmmm .. where can i test drive one.. beside i30 have manual version.. opt 4 manual limited these days except 4 P1..

I guess another newbie on the road again~ comparing this car with honda City.. sigh

branding is very important, once who hold the strength, should get benefit for it..that's a company's goodwill~ that's deserved by Honda & Toyota

But since they both own the privilege for many years.. they should repay back to our supporter~ at least respect and cherish us ..

IT's time for both of them stop offering 'emptyish' products !! the market is getting hot & hot.. and that;s good for us!!

as for this i30, its a good car.. but somehow SIME DARBY can't do the trick like NAZA/NAZIM?

with the PUG308 & and now the latest KIA Forte offering at a very attractive pricing given the very good specs.. how can i30 survive???

6 air bags, panoramic roof, start-stop button, ESP,EBD, XXX,XXX~~~

the more i write..the more i feel how 'empty' is in honda & toyota..

e.g. 170k Accord 2.4 comes with only 4 air bags. for all models..u missing the sunroof….

• mickey on Nov 29, 2009 at 11:49 pm

i30 beautiful car inside and out. very spacious, more power and torque compared to other 1.6 models by almost 10%, very nice interior and just the right dimensions. Not too small, kind of big for a hatch. Nice engine and good NVH attributes. Only problem as all mentioned is the price is too steep, especially since last Elantra 2.0 was no more than RM 94k.

Now with the Kia Forte 1.6 well under RM 80k, can't see the i30 selling which is really a pity.

Hope the Korean and conti cars make a astrong comeback, otherwise we havbe to put up with the T & H which is so underpar and most importantly way overrated. Renault / Pugs and VWs have got good stuff and so do Hyundai and Kia.

• Was at Kah Jln Ipoh to look at i10. Saw a black 2.0L i30 parked. From the looks and feel, it was good.

Again, the price is an issue here. Maybe because it is CBU.

• Jeff Shan on Jan 22, 2010 at 7:35 am

Saw the Avante 2.0 at Mid valley, KL. Price promo is 96000 with 17" rims, skirting, 7" GPS monitor. Yet to test drive.

Price earlier was RM106K.

3 colours available. Still undecided. Should I wait for AFTA reduction?

• Just hoping the govern would consider bringing in diesel model. Talking about cutting carbon footprint, whereas, so many petrol cars are pouring on the road. SA told me malaysia's diesel only euro1 and that will ruin the car engine. Blah..blah..blah..time to change and go to more efficient and sustainable energy. Imagine a full tank on a CRDi can take u 1,000km.

• Messi on May 18, 2010 at 11:16 am

Go search i30 in google, or topgear.com. Then you know how good Hyundai’s product. In term of handling and all rpung. Plus, they’ve won lots of award.
    Useless talking with donkeys malaysian —
    Typical malaysian=typical proton

• wan jb on Jun 01, 2010 at 12:10 am

too expensive for korean’s car. gila

• wak wak on Jul 05, 2010 at 12:04 am

woi punya mahal. baik beli toyota caldina ricond jer lg besar….

• with that price, I ll get civic/peg308 instead. Duh!

• the shadow on Sep 30, 2010 at 1:34 am

Paul, when’s the i20 making its debut in Malaysia? How does it compare against the matrix & what would the price estimates be like??

• i30 is exspensive ,better i take honda jazz more beauty than i30.i think malaysia gorvement should lower the import car price,because the import car is to exspensive when u all compare to thailand or singapore,i think goverment try to safe proton and produa is the jurk car in the world dont have safetely rating.better i ride a old motor than malaysian car

• khaotom on Aug 09, 2011 at 9:23 am

I just bought one over here in the US called the 2012 Elantra Touring 2.0 Manual Base Model, OTD $15750 that converts to about RM48K. The GOM is taking us for a ride for > 100% markup.