Subaru Impreza WRX STI Spec C: hardcore Impreza limited to 900 units in Japan

Subaru Impreza WRX STI Spec C

The Spec C has always been a more hardcore version of the Impreza, somewhat like a track special. A Spec C is usually lighter, more powerful, and stiffer in the handling department.

The latest Impreza hatch finally gets its Spec C variant. The turbo has been upgraded with new ball bearings, and the intercooler gets a water spray to prevent higher intake air temperature after long periods of hard driving. The 2.0 litre boxer puts out 308 PS at 6,400rpm and 422Nm of torque at 4,400rpm. A new fuel pump has been supplied to enable stable fuel delivery even during hard driving.

Subaru Impreza WRX STI Spec C

Handling improves via various chassis enhancements such as the reinforcement of the front suspension crossmember thus improving steering response. The suspension damping force, and spring rate have been revised along with the specifications of the rear stabilizer and rear subframe bushes, all to provide tighter handling and road-holding ability. The rear LSD has been changed from a Torsen (torque sensing) type to a mechanical type.

Weight has been shaved off via the use of an aluminium engine hood, a smaller battery, laminar glass for the front and side windows, lighter 18 inch alloy wheels, and a flat tyre repair kit instead of a spare tyre. The tyres supplied are Bridgestone Potenza RE070 tyres with 245/40R18 size all-round.

The new Impreza WRX STI Spec C is limited to 900 units in Japan.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=396]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• muryadi on Jul 24, 2009 at 7:24 pm

I see this car everyday on my way to office here in Yokohama, Japan..damn nice car and that 18" rims look huge and awesome ..

• cam.shaft on Jul 24, 2009 at 7:28 pm

The latest subaru imrprezza has really soften from its predecessors. But this looks hopeful for diehard imprezza fans. I believe this would head-on with EVO X FQ400.

Nice.

cam.shaft

• windtunnelcar on Jul 24, 2009 at 7:32 pm

i like to see the legend in it's signature blue and starry stripe. but the look seems not so fierceful any more.

• ford_ton (Member) on Jul 24, 2009 at 7:38 pm

How many litres will the spray cooling water tank carry? From the pics it seems to be located in the trunk compartment inside the spare tyre well.Oh forgot. No spare tyre either.One less tyre pressure to check at the service station. No cross drilled discs? How does mechanical LSD translates to a better handling? I thought with torsen type diffs are allowed a certain degree of slip to promote a neutral curve handling till its started to give way then torsen kicks in.With mech type diff will be good news to drifters but a bit of a hassle to ocassional track warrior.

• KuchingMali on Jul 24, 2009 at 7:39 pm

a true SPORTS car

• Nice but high hp, low fc, low car price please.

• are v able to DIY water tank to do water spray to intercooler to d current common intercooler? how often do v need spray?

• James on Jul 24, 2009 at 7:51 pm

looks like Subaru is not going into the high tech active diff system like the ones found in evos. The Mech LSD is good and very predictable and if I'm not wrong, adjustable as well.

It works like a on-off switch. lift-off the throttle and you'll give more slip between left and right wheels. apply throttle and you'll get less slip, so you can induce a power slide more effectively. For rally driving, the on-off allows the driver to correct the cornering angle with the rear wheels.

• motosonic on Jul 24, 2009 at 7:57 pm

its a damn good!!!

• longjaafar on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:15 pm

245/40/18 in front. Wide.

• torque (Member) on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:25 pm

Nice….now we talking!! 2.0 producing 300bhp plus lightness…yeaahh baby!!

Hmmm…but that's quite rather wide tyre esp. for the front, ain't it? Still, 900 units only in Japan…heh heh…good news for the grey importer here if they could get one of this….boleh kaw2 mock up the price!!! :-)

Good one Subaru!

• Omanjedi on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:25 pm

good performance.

rather dull interior. I believe the previous model is much better

• fauzi on Jul 24, 2009 at 9:23 pm

This model looks like family car, i still prefer GD model

• brutus on Jul 24, 2009 at 10:40 pm

Really very nice hard-core model. How come 900 and not 1000? Balance 100 units whacked by the STi department for even more enhancement?

• Samsuddin Raja Lope on Jul 24, 2009 at 11:02 pm

look smart…

• xavier lert on Jul 24, 2009 at 11:55 pm

still fugly

• Neo Boseyong on Jul 25, 2009 at 1:20 am

Inspired By Satria NEO???

• agree…the side look like neo

• silver on Jul 25, 2009 at 2:33 am

errr the last pic….. what is dat?

• LorenzoOOoOO on Jul 25, 2009 at 3:00 am

SMART

VERY WELL PERFOMANCE

SLICK HANDLING

SPORTY

MUST TRY 1ST

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jul 25, 2009 at 4:24 am

it doesnt come with a radio

• why no new bbk 6/4 pot for the Spec-C?? like the 1 on RA-R that will be nice. How about the car weight?? mechanical type rear LSD then this car will be more tail happy too??.

• but I still dont know why the STI do hv the I/C water spary like the older ver?

• Srotong on Jul 25, 2009 at 6:35 am

What a beast in babies clothes! Monster dream.

Doubt we will see it 1st. hand, second hand maybe… even that i can only dream – therefore not to worry about tail happy, fc and type water sprayed ic. Just wanna to sit and rabah2 monster.

• Littlefire on Jul 25, 2009 at 8:24 am

I/C mean Intercooler water spray, i have seen a few scooby and also some modified turbo moster fit his water spray on their intercooler. It is a cheap way to fast cool down the intercooler and gain better higher performance. Try putting some ice bag on the intercooler and u will know what it can do on dyno…

• ronnng on Jul 25, 2009 at 11:44 am

good 1st comment

• mitlanevo on Jul 25, 2009 at 8:15 pm

head on with evo FQ400? in ur dreams, perhaps……

2.0 producing 300bhp? wait til u see a 2.0 FQ400 producing 400bhp….

and again, Evo RULES all the way……

• danial1 (Member) on Jul 25, 2009 at 8:58 pm

I admire the Subaru, but I hate the steering wheel, for a car that class the steering should have been designed to be more sophisticated. It reminds me of Proton Satria Neo steering wheel.

It's ok la for Neo, coz Neo is an entry level performance car for boy racer in Malaysia , for this Subaru the steering wheel are disappointed.

But I always admire Subaru. Here in JB, every day, we can see Singaporean registered plate numbers. And sometime got the chance to sprint race with the Singaporeans Subaru at the traffic light. LOL, the Subaru left me seconds away!

LOL, Neo-inspired-steering-wheel.!!

• danial1 (Member) on Jul 25, 2009 at 9:20 pm

James said,

July 24, 2009 @ 11:51 am

looks like Subaru is not going into the high tech active diff system like the ones found in evos. The Mech LSD is good and very predictable and if I’m not wrong, adjustable as well.

It works like a on-off switch. lift-off the throttle and you’ll give more slip between left and right wheels. apply throttle and you’ll get less slip, so you can induce a power slide more effectively. For rally driving, the on-off allows the driver to correct the cornering angle with the rear wheels.

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/24/subaru-imp…
    ———————————————————

James,

I drive Gen2 1.6 manual. and love driving spiritedly. At the beginning of a cornering I lifted the throttle, I could felt the tyre slipped a little, then halfway through the cornering I press the throttled again, I could felt the tyre came into grip with the tarmac, no more slipping on the rear tyre anymore . And at this point the throttle gave the car pick up in speed and left the other car for 2-3 second away.

This feature give me advantages in twisty roads especially short straight roads followed by numerous bends, compared to any other makes of car, even with handling-suspension modified, non-performance designed Japanese cars.

In your opininon, is this a characteristic of performance tuned suspension by the Lotus?

For Subaru, is the LSD device superiorly boost the ability to correct the rear tyres this way?

Your opnion will greatly appreciated.

• mudtire on Jul 25, 2009 at 11:16 pm

the i/c spray tank in the boot is factory standard for all spec c. it's 12litres…it should be around 140kgs lighter than the standard sti model…

• blo0d on Jul 26, 2009 at 3:23 am

still fugly~ evoX ruless

• prodiehardmatimampus on Jul 26, 2009 at 4:10 am

VIVA ELITE RULES!!!!!

• peroduadiahardmatima on Jul 26, 2009 at 4:11 am

VIVA ELITE RULES!!!!

• theanswer on Jul 26, 2009 at 6:50 am

In your opininon, is this a characteristic of performance tuned suspension by the Lotus?

did lotus ever produced any front wheel drive sports car? we cant expect the result going to be the same.

• James on Jul 26, 2009 at 6:27 pm

danial1, what you've experienced with your car is commonly known as lift-off oversteer. Thats how a FWD can slide.

For a AWD system like Subaru, the advantage is the fact that you can apply power onto 4 wheels so that you can go around corner really fast because you're not lifting off as often as you would with a FWD.

In terms of FUN factor, I think FWD that can slide is really fun and is a lot safer than going really fast (like AWD). Other FWD cars that can slide are, Suzuki Swift, Peugeot, old Integra and maybe others…

• mohdjiman on Jul 26, 2009 at 10:45 pm

cool car!!!

• ryantjk on Jul 27, 2009 at 4:28 am

ispired by Bumble Bee's head.. fugly

• "looks like Subaru is not going into the high tech active diff system like the ones found in evos. The Mech LSD is good and very predictable and if I’m not wrong, adjustable as well.

It works like a on-off switch. lift-off the throttle and you’ll give more slip between left and right wheels. apply throttle and you’ll get less slip, so you can induce a power slide more effectively. For rally driving, the on-off allows the driver to correct the cornering angle with the rear wheels."

Neither Subaru nor Mitsubishi are in the World Rally Championship any more: http://www.wrc.com/jsp/index.jsp?lnk=600
    So rally driving is not a point any more… ;)

• leslie boon on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:38 am

Good car ! but not in bolehland , In singapore u can see everywhere …..

• kay777 on Jul 30, 2009 at 6:27 pm

my god..!!!!!cant wait to see this car to have a battle..

GOLF GTi vs impreza wrx sti

SEE HOW TECHNOLOGY BE CONTROL…

• VIVA RLITE SUCKS

• pomen_gtr on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:04 am

mechanical diff….great for driftboys….