Massa crash puts him in serious but stable condition

Massa
Right before the crash… look at the throttle and brake position indicators

28 year old F1 driver Felipe Massa is currently in the AEK military hospital’s intensive care unit after an accident at the Hungarian Grand Prix left him with a fractured skull, a concussion and a cut on his forehead above his left eye.

Massa’s helmet was hit by an 800 gram (0.8kg) spring that came off Rubens Barrichello’s Brawn GP car right before Turn 4 on the track. Right after he was hit, he lost consciousness for about 2 seconds and in an F1 car at such high speeds that’s alot of distance to be covered. It was not enough for him to stop in time and he crashed into the Turn 4 tyre barrier.

He was sent to the AEK via a helicopter and underwent surgery immediately. His condition is serious and life-threatening but luckily stable. Ferrari described the outcome of the surgery as “positive”. Unfortunately this means he will miss the Hungarian race day as he has to stay in the ICU for observation.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Cyberkayu on Jul 26, 2009 at 11:52 am

more pict at
    http://www.f1technical.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=…

• Paul Tan on Jul 26, 2009 at 11:53 am

http://img.mtv3.fi/mn_kuvat/mtv3/urheilu/formulak…

check out how his helmet was damaged :(

• Keliwon Undertaker on Jul 26, 2009 at 11:57 am

innalillah …semoga roh massa selamat kembali ke bumi brazil

• HamannE92 on Jul 26, 2009 at 12:58 pm

He still alive bro.. WTF?

• sinslave on Jul 26, 2009 at 4:12 pm

wow! i saw sumthing…

it's a bird..

it's a plane..

upsss…unknown object flying towards his head…

• akupunya on Jul 26, 2009 at 4:24 pm

innalillah tu tak semestinya untuk mati jer…

boleh diguna apabila menerima berita kemalangan atau malapetaka..

cool man..

• Lixirin on Jul 26, 2009 at 5:47 pm

Wey blom mati laaa dia!!

• droll on Jul 26, 2009 at 5:51 pm

that helmet saved his life. if it weren't for that, i believe the spring would've penetrated his skull and spilled his brains!

• damn that was bad. it wasnt even race day….not like this cmon massa, survive!

• damn that was bad. it wasnt even race day….not like this.

cmon massa, survive!

• unknown on Jul 26, 2009 at 6:44 pm

KELIWON, THE WORD SHOULD NOT BE USE FOR MASSA!!!

• a 800g spring flying at more thn 200km/h….nw thts some dmg

• Sky0ne on Jul 26, 2009 at 6:59 pm

roh massa?? do u read and understand the whole article or what?? *tepuk dahi*

• P2_permanent_basher on Jul 26, 2009 at 7:07 pm

He is okay lah, went to surgery, out of surgery d. stable also.

• Stallone on Jul 26, 2009 at 7:08 pm

Ya lah,dia masih hidup lahh,apalah tak pasal2 cakap orang dah meninggal,baca baik2 lah berita sebelum cakap,WTF betul…

• bmpower on Jul 26, 2009 at 7:42 pm

i believe he will be retire after this.

fractured skull is not an easy thing to be cure.

since then, it's also very risky to him to go to race again.

it's better for him to retire and enjoy his life instead of risky his life in races.

even in stable condition, i doubt his brain totally ok. There's always a brain shock. It's some kind of miracle if his brain is OK 100%.

Wish you the best Massa.

• kate's dirty si on Jul 26, 2009 at 8:26 pm

maybe the following season's f1 and f2 car should have windscreen

• Julian-Lee on Jul 26, 2009 at 8:30 pm

all the best to massa

• MycarMylife on Jul 26, 2009 at 9:12 pm

Let the best attention be given to put him back to ship shape.

Gladiators in the ring dont give up too easily.

See you on track soon Massa , maybe at Monza .

• dude he is still alive…lets just hope for a fast recovery for him

• theanswer on Jul 26, 2009 at 9:58 pm

full throttle..full brake..at tht time massa already blackout..pity him. go to hell 'mr. spring'. huhuhuhu~

• nabil on Jul 26, 2009 at 10:09 pm

peter cech oso fructured skull and have to wear that protective helmet wenever he plays….his head didnt move after the accident and straighaway i remembered how aeron senna's head was resting againt the steering…looked scary bt good hes alive…

• the fighter on Jul 26, 2009 at 10:09 pm

the FIA should ban brawn gp cars…unreliable and dangerous

• the fighter on Jul 26, 2009 at 10:13 pm

FIA should ban the brawn gp cars ..unreliable and dangerous

• can you imagine without the super enhanced helmet how would it be?

this is serious , driving at such speed and with such thing is not easy .

• p2_permanent_basher on Jul 27, 2009 at 12:04 am

@ the fighter

by banning brawn gp cars will solve similar problems with other team's cars?

Parts can fail and drop out from cars, especially when there is an accident….

use your blain…

Massa must recover!!! Praying for him..

• lan87 on Jul 27, 2009 at 12:15 am

OMG!!!

this is like a replay of the fatal Henry Surtees accident…

something came offf from a car and hits the drivers head and then th driver lost consciousness…

• mitlanevo on Jul 27, 2009 at 12:22 am

no replacement driver?

• Goniothalamus on Jul 27, 2009 at 12:35 am

why full throttle and hard braking at the same time?

• HamannE92 said,

July 26, 2009 @ 4:58 am

He still alive bro.. WTF?

————————————–

relax bro.. muslim say innalillah when sumthing bad happen.. not just when sumbodi dead.. peace~ :)

• Helpurself on Jul 27, 2009 at 1:34 am

how many times i tell u ppl not to speed ?!! see now spring also fly out hit car behind…. speeding kill….

• CocoBear on Jul 27, 2009 at 2:17 am

Seems like Massa managed to brake after contact. If not……full bang.

I believe it is time to implement capsule on single seater racecar. A few more kilos on the flying debris will kill the driver. Just like what happened to Henry Surtees.

• Shit….can't view the video anymore due to the copyright restrictions. Paultan, maybe you can post another video that works???

• kimi_ on Jul 27, 2009 at 4:44 am

Holy shit, why you all want to curse someone to died….. WTF

Massa still alive!

• hilangpunca (Member) on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:01 am

after this fia regulated any race car should be has airbag

• rexis on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:50 am

Massa at 200kmph, spring come to him at ## speed, both add up can be easily above 300kmph.

Lets hope the racer fast recovery.

• islamicboy on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:58 am

Imagine bro…hit by 800 gram of metal in more than 220km/h. is like 2.45698 G force into his helmet in vacum ( can smash his head like watermeloon drop from 25 level of high building). Even the helmet cannot protect his head for serious injured.

• p1basher on Jul 27, 2009 at 7:22 am

holy cow, why massa always get involved in accident. cock must implement the capsule for f1 next season.

• Petrol Head on Jul 27, 2009 at 7:40 am

FORZA FELIPE SE AMO CON TE…

• fearsome on Jul 27, 2009 at 8:56 am

All Massa need now is plenty of Masa (time) to recover.

Massa be strong, you need to stay strong coz your loved one still waiying you

• Pray and hope he'll be back on his feet soonest. Comeback next season.

• Automotive_Critics on Jul 27, 2009 at 4:07 pm

Yesterday while commenting race day Steve Slater had quoted Micheal Schumacher is possibly to replace Massa for the rest of the season. Also in next year J. Villenuves is rumoured to return with USF1. It would make F1 even more interesting with almost world champion driver take on the seat again.

I regret of Massa accident. It was similar to what had happened to the late of Surtees sons in GP2. Broken skull due to crashed by flying wheel. Now FIA should ban all open air cockpit race and should replace it with full cabin cockpit instead.

Massa should recover and race again. Love to see him driving on the limit.

• scanzew on Jul 27, 2009 at 5:38 pm

similar situation to late henry surtees at F2…just a week ago..

maybe michael shumacher replacing massa…fight against hamilton… bertemu buku dgn ruas…hehehe

• wreckingblue... on Jul 27, 2009 at 7:24 pm

Innalillah is not just said when someone had passed away…it is said when something bad happen….Hope you guys understand…peace..v(^o^)

• wreckingblue... on Jul 27, 2009 at 7:25 pm

May god get him well soon…

• wreckingblue... on Jul 27, 2009 at 7:26 pm

i mean may god heal him soon….

• arytonsenna on Jul 27, 2009 at 10:11 pm

he still lucky to survive fro that crash…

• Jarum on Jul 27, 2009 at 10:31 pm

Massa is a fighter. I am sure he will recover in mo time.

Speedy recovery, Felipe.

• cengitu on Jul 27, 2009 at 10:39 pm

Heard that Schumacher will be replaced Massa but Ferrari denied it.

• tokmoh on Jul 27, 2009 at 11:18 pm

p2_permanent_basher said,

July 26, 2009 @ 4:04 pm

@ the fighter

by banning brawn gp cars will solve similar problems with other team’s cars?

Parts can fail and drop out from cars, especially when there is an accident….

use your blain…

Massa must recover!!! Praying for him..

======

During the race, Alonso's pit crew forgot to screw properly on one of his tyres, the tyre came off during the race. Alonso had to pit back in with oni 3 tyres, but retired almost immediately. He will be banned from the next race cuz his pit crew's carelessness.

Maybe Barrichello shud be excluded from next race like what Alonso got.

• damn my favourite driver in f1.. hope u recovered soon and come back race again

• gheezz on Jul 28, 2009 at 12:19 am

owhh…so pity massa.. R.I.P

• kurakura on Jul 28, 2009 at 12:34 am

Below is video from another fatal accident in F2 (F2 not F1) a week earlier. F2 driver, Henry Surtess, death from this fatal accident because his head hit by flying tyre. I agree Alonso/Renault team banned from the F1 race. Could you imagine if Alonso tyre hit another driver.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6zKHMRMRbQ

• all the best to Massa recovery!!

• itu topi keleda ada cap silim (sirim) ka…

haiya.. wa sudah cakap jgn pakai topi keleda cap ayam..

lu tak mau dengar…

kalau ada cap silim tentu selamat punya!!

• hahahhahahaha…….. u r right arrr….. i dont think massa helmet ada SIRIM punya stiker laaa………..

anyway.. all the best to massa……

• kerelbort on Jul 28, 2009 at 3:07 am

-offtopic-

nobody want to make fuss about somebody said RIP toward Massa?

too much fuss with no knowledge… buta mata basher..

• scanzew on Jul 28, 2009 at 6:11 am

RIP just for michael jackson or henry surtees…not for massa…

• Jarum on Jul 28, 2009 at 8:22 am

kerelbort said,

-offtopic-

nobody want to make fuss about somebody said RIP toward Massa?

too much fuss with no knowledge… buta mata basher..

===========================================

Just leave that fool alone! People like him get on paultan.org for name sake only and are asking for trouble. Or perhaps he's one of those who doesn't seem to understand what RIP means!

• paxter on Jul 28, 2009 at 10:56 am

yea dude, before you kutuk brawn Renault is suspended from the European Grand Prix why? cause the team knowly left a lose nut on and did not tell alonso to return to the pit. This is a few days after GP 2 racer Henry Surtess died from a flying tire in his face…

anyway wear a sirim helmet and i will throw a brick into your face while u ride at 120… see if that sirim approve helmet works or should i give more money to sirim to make it "chop approved"

• imagine the impact of d spring at such high speed.. also this accident reminds me of the late ayrton senna's accident.. he was my fav racedriver…

• ahh damn this video has been removed… but luckily i managed to see once…anybody got the chance to save it?

• lewis on Jul 29, 2009 at 1:40 am

guys the guy that passed away was in f2 not gp2…

• the fighter on Jul 29, 2009 at 6:46 am

======

During the race, Alonso’s pit crew forgot to screw properly on one of his tyres, the tyre came off during the race. Alonso had to pit back in with oni 3 tyres, but retired almost immediately. He will be banned from the next race cuz his pit crew’s carelessness.

Maybe Barrichello shud be excluded from next race like what Alonso got.

yeah, i agree wit u bro