New Toyota Camry teaser on UMW website

Toyota Camry

The new facelifted Toyota Camry must be coming soon as the updated car has made an appearance on UMW Toyota’s website.

• Toyota Camry 2.0E – RM144,990.00
  • Toyota Camry 2.0G – RM154,990.00
  • Toyota Camry 2.4V – RM174,990.00

One thing that I can spot is that the 2.4V has something called “Smart Entry and Start System” listed as part of its equipment. The 2.0E and 2.0G has this listed as “without”. This must be a keyless push start system.

Look after the jump for full specifications and equipment list for the new models, as well as a photo gallery of the facelifted Camry from its China launching.

Toyota Camry 2.0E Specifications

Toyota Camry 2.0G Specifications

Toyota Camry 2.4V Specifications

Toyota Camry Facelift

[zenphotopress number=99 album=400]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Analyzer on Jul 27, 2009 at 12:06 pm

Definately it's a push button start. Already preordered mine. Suppose to be launched in August. Also comes with a new colour it seems.

• Kamal on Jul 27, 2009 at 12:55 pm

Hello Admin,

In India, there a new Camry getting launched by end of this month (July 09), Can we expect the same thing?

• Paul Tan on Jul 27, 2009 at 12:58 pm

@Kamal Quite likely

• Kamal on Jul 27, 2009 at 1:34 pm

Cool, among these specifications which one comes to India – any idea?

• Kamal on Jul 27, 2009 at 1:35 pm

Cool, Among these which specification might come to India ? any guess

• White Jack on Jul 27, 2009 at 3:25 pm

Facelift only makes the price increased so much !!

Toyota Camry 2.0E – RM144,990.00

Toyota Camry 2.0G – RM154,990.00

Toyota Camry 2.4V – RM174,990.00

Honda Accord 2.0-L better deal only RM149,000 similar spec as 2.0G. Best part is Accord interior is black leather.

• caddilac on Jul 27, 2009 at 3:37 pm

The sharp grille looks weird on this clumpsy car…

Another price hike… Maybe to leave some price for a more expensive Altis 2.0…

• solarcar on Jul 27, 2009 at 3:51 pm

camry is a boring car… i own a 2006 model (the previous model,same engine), eventhough the maintenance and FC are reasonable but it doesn't give me the feel. And toyota never think of lowering the price over time, little facelift jack up the price again. i am thinking of changing to peugeot 407, affordable continental car.

• prince yeo (Member) on Jul 27, 2009 at 4:36 pm

my dad say that he maybe will change his current camry 2.4V which just bought at january to this latest generation camry…

althought this is the third of the same generation camry had been he change…

but he still think that camry is the best excuetive car for him as a director…

Paul….

wat do u think…??

• MycarMylife on Jul 27, 2009 at 4:40 pm

Ha , here we go again falling into the Nip trap again.

Add in an item and charge you more Yen. Change to more reasonably price makes is the way to go .

• stephenstreets on Jul 27, 2009 at 5:15 pm

It starting to look like a camry from its generation, not like a soap box like earlier models

• Unfortunately, the 2.0L is still a 4-speed Auto

• alpha999 on Jul 27, 2009 at 5:33 pm

affordable luxury sedan for rich uncles and aunties…

• If there is no “Smart Entry and Start System” in 2.0 variant then what extra things that make it increase 3k for the price?? :o

• azrai on Jul 27, 2009 at 5:47 pm

Hmm..The innova's new grille with previous Accord front bumper. Notice it?

• i m driving the camry 2.0, quite satisfy with the design and quality builded. cfa is correct, the 2.0 comes with 4speed trans, it will be better if it mounted the 5speed one. for those need some "zoom" feel should go for the 2.4.

• Lancermania on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:09 pm

look nice 2 me

• wallstreet on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:30 pm

That yucky wood interior still there…….great car……….for Aunties and Uncles, Ah Pek and Ah Sarm.

• bmpower on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:37 pm

Facelift + “Smart Entry and Start System” = Add some more RM20 – 50K?

kah kah kah!…

this is soooo Toyota.

Absolutely… Overpriced.

• Not much different from the look itself. Just a few really minor changes. By the way, does the rear seats equipped with power features as shown in the photo?

• gattaca on Jul 27, 2009 at 6:53 pm

i see the same boring n dull camry…takdak beza pong???

• Day deSIANG on Jul 27, 2009 at 7:31 pm

The exterior looks sharper… but the interior still uncle aunty style with plastic speedometer…with the price of RM144,990.00… Accord 2.0L would be a better choice…5 spd auto!!!

• torque (Member) on Jul 27, 2009 at 7:36 pm

Typical Toyota…not only they still stick to the old 4-speeder for the 2.0 (ya,ya..don't fix it if it ain't broken) but a minor facelift will cost u a rather hefty price. Still, I have been in my friends '08 2.4 Camry sitting both in the front and rear…that's where Camry winning point! The space!! I shit you not…not even the Accord, Audi A4, Pug 407 or even the famous 3 series could compete…it's bloody massive! Really, really spacious…legroom, headroom, shoulderoom…you name it and if you think it's still small for you…I think it's time for you to hit the gym…seriously, you d@*n fat already!!

Then I couldn't agree more with Solarcar. This car is definately for those who wanted a really spacious and comfortable highway cruiser. Forget about driving dynamics or best handling in the country road…stick to the A4 or the 3 series for that matter!!! The Pug 407? Hmm…more less same price as the 2.0 Camry, have many great features, much more handsome, also comfortable if not as spacious as the Camry…heck, you'll drive a car that not as much as the Camry nor the Accord you'll see on the road.

Plus, don't just take my word for it…go out and hunt…there's actually more great car out there. Cheers! :-)

• Ah Tee on Jul 27, 2009 at 8:31 pm

good job to the guys at toyota, the long wait for the facelift model is definately worth it. this should pust the sales of camry up and even way past that of accord and it would be a BIG smack in the face to all the arrogant honda dealers!

• mkrafz on Jul 27, 2009 at 8:41 pm

The front end remind me of the Accord..

Accord wannabe??

• roti naan1 on Jul 27, 2009 at 8:58 pm

Definitely over-priced, for a boring looking car, with the same'ol tranny (even Toyota claimed it has been facelifted)

There are more interesting and better performance cars out there than the T brand…Buy it if you are T supporters or you are the unkers and aunties…

• Ariff on Jul 27, 2009 at 8:58 pm

some people said the Camry is an executive/luxury car.I still think this boring ol' camry(whose real name is the Toyota Aurion) is just a normal mid-size sedan.It's too boring.Better get a Mark X.

• Phelix on Jul 27, 2009 at 10:37 pm

better get mazda 6…

already have smart-entry and push start, better looking and young.. all black interior.. CBU unit.. just few k more.

• Charger on Jul 27, 2009 at 11:02 pm

A4? 3-series? That's not even in the same segment as Camry. lol

• auto-junkie-but-not- on Jul 28, 2009 at 12:04 am

its not called push start!

Smart Entry and Start Entry = door handle unlock(and lock) and keyless ignition , same tech as Lexus, new Prius, and in other brand names Keyless Go, Comfort Access, keyless drive etc

push start sounds like a motogp racer, where the grease monkey literally push to start the bike (with rider easy on the gas)

• rodimus on Jul 28, 2009 at 12:11 am

I hardly c any main changes for these car……

• Pakar Kereta on Jul 28, 2009 at 12:19 am

I want to buy this one

• toyota is profiting too much but still got silly people buying. puegeot 407 and accord is better deal or sure. well, how I wich our Proton Perdana got a new model to rival camry. Proton never wake up, they should JV with volks and get the passat cc as the new perdana.

• aliBaPa on Jul 28, 2009 at 1:19 am

yeah, vw, the best car company in the world.

vw + porsche.

• Mahal Puit……..

• Paul Tan on Jul 28, 2009 at 2:01 am

@torque hehe Americans complained the Camry was too small for them so Toyota made the Avalon.

• honda got better driving refinement….but tis one still good lookin

• thanks to the increased price, it makes accord more worth to buy…

• Hariee on Jul 28, 2009 at 3:08 am

Yess totally agreed the front part looks so like the Volkswagen Passat CC

• hafiz on Jul 28, 2009 at 3:17 am

price is nothing.. don't speak about price when we are in printed money century…

everyday the value of money paper will decrease as increasing of printed money.

if you guy realize that every year we have inflation about 4% that mean our paper money reduce 4% of it value.

RM10 last year not same as RM10 now…

same goes to the price of car….

actually there not increase the price of car but they againts inflation…

try thinking about that…

yosh!

• hafiz on Jul 28, 2009 at 3:57 am

price is nothing.. don't speak about price when we are in printed money century…

everyday the value of money paper will decrease as increasing of printed money.

if you guy realize that every year we have inflation about 4% that mean our paper money reduce 4% of it value.

RM10 last year not same as RM10 now…

same goes to the price of car….

actually there not increase the price of car but they againts inflation…

try thinking about that…

yosh!
    Oops…forgot to say great post! Looking forward to your next one.

• White Jack on Jul 28, 2009 at 5:14 am

Agree with you all… Accord 2.0L is now a better value for money as compare to Camry 2.0G :)

But, is Accord 2.0 as good as Camry 2.0 ? Other than gearbox (4 vs 5), there are many other factors to consider before you decide which one to get :)

Now Mazda 6 2.0 price (RM146K) is closing the gap as compare to Camry 2.0E (RM145K) new price. So that's another good choice !

• wah, facelift abit jack up price so high? somemore no real technical changes?

• jack up 4k = much ?

how about civic ?

doesn't even see any other change , also up couple of k

• the camry fits the bill if you are looking for a reliable,comfortable,large highway cruiser.don't see much difference from the present one,minor facelift only.I think the accord is a better buy,with sharper steering and 5 speed autobox.

agree that A4,3 series and 407 offer less space with better driving dynamics as it caters for a different target group.but the accord is as big as the camry in interior as well as exterior dimensions.

• Accord not worth. Poor quality localised interior plastic and workmanship.

At least Camry is still CBU from Thailand.

• s.subramaniam on Jul 28, 2009 at 6:29 am

good car

• waja timur on Jul 28, 2009 at 6:38 am

agreed with hafiz…plus G tax some more……huhuhu

• hengkem on Jul 28, 2009 at 6:49 am

Say what you like la,the car will sell in Msia..why? Becos, it is a Toyota…and people are buying the brand..

• I owns a toyota camry, pre-facelifted. This car is definitely one of the most comfortable car available in the market. Like what 'torque' said, the space in the car is enormous.

Another point is that while driving this car, you hear minimum road noise, as compare to any honda car around. Definitely the car to buy.

• All you guys out there, DONT BE FOOLED by toyota and thier so called best quality and reliability, Its just a lump of S*#T, with 4 wheels. You are better off with a perdana and that gearbox. Am talking based on my toyota ownership for the past 1 year, REGRETING, My advice, if you want to get a toyota, get the JDM or the ones that is not assembled in our country or our neighbouring country. The JDM has superb built quality.Ponder this, car 1 year old, all 4 brake systems including DISC,and drum units changed, 4 new absobers,Drive shaft problem till now cant be fixed by toyota(clueless), tappets/valves making noise, belts making noise. And many more intersting features on my car.

• Fadzly Supporter on Jul 28, 2009 at 7:36 am

Camry looks boring. Suitable for those aged 40 plus plus who wants luxury but cannot afford BMW and Benz.

Ya Camry considered a luxury in this country thanks to the tax. It's a 88K car in Langkawi. On behalf of the government and fellow Malaysian, thank you for your 55K of tax money. Thank you Uncles Aunties.

• tamaki on Jul 28, 2009 at 7:37 am

oh man,i wonder how u driving??i own vios and as good as new even push as hard as i can :P peace

• Jimmy Dean on Jul 28, 2009 at 7:49 am

If you want Toyota brand and comfortable cruising, go for this boring Camry. I prefer 407 with many more additional features & much better driving dynamics.

• fab_4 on Jul 28, 2009 at 8:01 am

think the camry is just too safe and common

add in rm14k more from 2.4v price you can get the (not so)new alfa romeo 159.

the plus point is the alfa is an exotic on malaysian roads and possibly better equipped.

• camry is too expensive, if u talk about inflation, why dont u lo kat the exchange rate now, yen is stronger so much now. toyota profit is too much, dont talk about tax. silly people wil buy this brand, just to show they got the top jap brand, also the sales staff is fucking cocky…sudah la

• Lightning McQueen on Jul 28, 2009 at 11:21 am

fab_4

Alfa ehhh…

Think this…. FIAT

F = fiat

I = is

A = always

T = trouble

ALFA

A = alfa

L = like

F = fiat

A = also

and its true conti cars comes with bad A/C and bad UV resistance…

ur new car will looks older than its real life… eg front head lamp will become dull after 3 YO… that's why u call exotic?

• White Jack on Jul 28, 2009 at 2:37 pm

LOL… Lighting McQueen, good one :)

When exotic cars rosak, you also need exotic workshop to repair, wait for the exotic spare parts to come, and with exotic bill to settle.. LOL :)

So you need to get a VIVA as spare car to use when your exotic car breakdown LOL :)

• torque (Member) on Jul 28, 2009 at 5:09 pm

Hahaha…thanks paul! You were right about that! Kinda remind me of that time when Nissan bring in their old Fairlady to the US (Forget what old model it is)…their early ads said "It fits four adult" but when the car did arrived to the US shore, they change the ads…"It fits four Japanese adult". Kekeke!! Yup, the Avalon really are built for the US size ppl. Great post paul!

• camry or accord? they attract two difference segment of buyer. generally camry desinated executive buyer such as "matured" buyers,so you see lots of company car use camry for their exec staff. accord more sporty-look, youngsters preference. a few thousand difference will not affect buyer decision between the two!

• torque (Member) on Jul 28, 2009 at 5:44 pm

Charger said,

July 27, 2009 @ 3:02 pm

A4? 3-series? That’s not even in the same segment as Camry. lol

Dear Charger,

Perhaps you don't understand my point! I never said that the A4 nor the 3 series is the same segment as Camry, do I?! But tell me this, if you could afford a RM175k car…doesn't that tell u that u are doing financially well? I know very well for a fact that u can't get a brand new luxury exec Audi or BMW for that money…but u still could get a '04 2nd hand Audi A4 1.8 Turbo, 150k plus unreg 325i or take my word for it…go crazy and get a 190k unreg 330ci with 230hp at ur disposal…I certainly had driven that coupe quite frequently. My point dear Charger, like what I said earlier…if you wanted a car with driving dynamics…this is the car that I can suggested to u. Driving dynamics my fren!!!

Or…there's always the handsome Mazda 6 2.5 u could have. Even s60T had better grasp of the issue discussed here. Fact 1, they are in diff segment…Fact 2, they cater for diff targets…Fact 3, that RM175k, it's ur money…u want space & highway cruiser = Camry…u want driving dynamics = A4 or the BMW…even if it's 2nd hand!! Peace u all, drive safely.

P/S: I had test driven the new Audi A4…yes, I know it cost 230k plus but it can give the 3 series a run for their money…even if it is a FWD car!! Now, that too are not the 'same' segment to BMW since their 3 series is a RWD, ain't it?

• Kambing Laut on Jul 28, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Just wait for perdana replacement..

• fab_4 on Jul 28, 2009 at 6:08 pm

Lightning McQueen

well, if you can afford an rm170k car and above you wouldn't mind to pay some more for the maintenance as the higher the price of the car the higher the maintenance cost.

• lol, sales stuff cocky. i agree, but not as bad as the audi ones.

• Fiziks on Jul 28, 2009 at 8:17 pm

if that is all they can offer malaysians, this one is a skip

• namiras on Jul 28, 2009 at 10:43 pm

camry…is my dream car….dapat yang lama pun dah ok…perfect design.

• Toothless Zombie on Jul 29, 2009 at 1:13 am

Wow, a facelifted Camry, I'm as excited as an office clerk at lunch break.

• Gajen on Jul 29, 2009 at 2:03 am

this camry is a very good car…i really dont know why they are lots of people bashing camry and saying tht accord is better JUST because it has 5 speed compared to camry's 4 speed for the 2.0…

camry has HID with auto leveling lights, projector headlamps, front sensor, gate shift gearbiox, footbrake,side rear sunshade, front passenger shoulder seat controls…which the accord don't have at all…whatmore altho the accord produces more horse powers but a lot of test drive reports have stated that the power only kicks in at very high rpm which means at normal driving,u dont get much power…and camry's NVH level is also lower than accord..

ive been driving the pre facelift camry..2007 for 2 years now..its is a great car…the engine is responsive…the car is very practical..im not saying tht accord is not good…camry and accord are certainly good cars…both are awesome

• none want to start bashing proton and gov? thats curious!! no Malaysian here ka read the article…..hehe

emmm……….

• White Jack on Jul 29, 2009 at 6:36 am

How about fuel consumptions of Accord vs Camry ? :)

===========================================

Gajen said,

July 28, 2009 @ 6:03 pm

this camry is a very good car…i really dont know why they are lots of people bashing camry and saying tht accord is better JUST because it has 5 speed compared to camry’s 4 speed for the 2.0…

• leslie boon on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:22 am

Acceptable facelift but why the price keep raising when there is a facelift …..

If offer black interior are much better .

• afezi on Jul 29, 2009 at 8:16 am

camry is really good and practical car..like the design and the spaciousness! though 4speed..still practical in here..

like to have camry 2.0G with 5 speed and black leather interior..GPS should also be included..

I wonder when the new Dual VVTi in camry..

• Keeman on Jul 29, 2009 at 8:46 am

Perhaps the 4K comes with Navi or DVD player?

Latest Pajero Sports now has a DVD player.

Can upgrade and put TV receiver then can hear (not watch) RTM/TV3 news while driving…? :p

• White Jack on Jul 29, 2009 at 2:51 pm

The RM4000 price increase due to Japanese Yen and Thai Baht value increase agaist Ringgit :)

• comarezzi on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:28 pm

if i work in langkawi… only if

• Guys,

No car is perfect…..It depends on individual what is acceptable to them.

Or what they can tolerate. For example Camry may be comfort oriented as the manufactures intended. If you want handling then firm setup is more suitable for you hence Accord maybe a better choice. If you are looking of style then Alfa or Peguoet is way to go hence if you can tolerate sitting in workshop most weekend and waist money trying to upkeep the lifestyle and at the end sell for peanuts then fine….

So goes back to my point no car is perfect.

• intermilan on Jul 30, 2009 at 9:00 pm

OTR price of selected 2.0L D-segment car

Toyota Camry 2.0E – RM144,990

Toyota Camry 2.0G – RM154,990

Mazda 6 2.0 – RM146K

Peugeot 407 Classic – RM128,888

Peugeot 407 Premium – RM136,888

Honda Accord 2.0 VTi – RM141,800

Honda Accord 2.0 VTi-L RM149,800

Hyundai Sonata 2.0 – ~RM119K

Kia Optima EX – RM102K

Kia Optima Ex Novus – RM110K

BMW 5 series, Merc etc – from RM300K onwards

• pokleh on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:36 pm

what a boring car! designed for nenek and atuk…

• eaton on Aug 03, 2009 at 9:21 am

I used to own year 2000 Camry (2.2l) and 2004 Honda Accord (2.4l). I can't say for the current generation Camry or Accord but based on my previous experiences, Toyota was not really as good of a highway cruiser as some claim. Not based on my expectation at least. The suspension was a bit too soft and if you travel at 150km/h and above, you don't feel that the car is connected to the road. Accord on the other hand, is way much better and stable on highway. Also, the drive is much more dynamic without compromising much in comfort and I really liked it.

At the end, it is about personal choices. You should test drive both and compare. Also, there is Mazda 6, Peugeot 407 at roughly the similar price range to consider. I "heard" Mazda 6 is good and feature pack. Worth to check it out.

• Gajen on Aug 04, 2009 at 8:25 pm

eaton said,

August 3, 2009 @ 1:21 am

I used to own year 2000 Camry (2.2l) and 2004 Honda Accord (2.4l). I can’t say for the current generation Camry or Accord but based on my previous experiences, Toyota was not really as good of a highway cruiser as some claim. Not based on my expectation at least. The suspension was a bit too soft and if you travel at 150km/h and above, you don’t feel that the car is connected to the road. Accord on the other hand, is way much better and stable on highway. Also, the drive is much more dynamic without compromising much in comfort and I really liked it.

At the end, it is about personal choices. You should test drive both and compare. Also, there is Mazda 6, Peugeot 407 at roughly the similar price range to consider. I “heard” Mazda 6 is good and feature pack. Worth to check it out.

yea kinda true…my dad used to have the 2.2 gx 1999 model…but then again..the car is very old…your accord is a generation higher than the camry u have…the new one has a good chassis and improved handling…when my dad changed his 1999 model to the 2007 one…it was a massive difference..=)