Nissan exhibits EV system in a Nissan Latio

Nissan Latio

Nissan previewed its electric vehicle powertrain a few days ago and used a Nissan Latio as a demonostrator vehicle. The EV system uses an in-house developed electric motor that can produce 107 horsepower and 280Nm of torque, matched with a 24kWh laminated compact li-ion battery pack.

With the demonstrator, the battery pack is placed under the vehicle floor for better packaging – this reduces intrusions into the cabin or cargo space. It can be quite tricky to mate an electric powertrain to a normal chassis that was designed for an internal combustion engine as the requirements in terms of size, shape and other factors of an electric vehicle system can be quite different from a regular car’s. An additional frame is added to the battery pack to improve the platform’s rigidity.

Nissan Latio

Thanks to the 24kWh and a regenerative braking system, the electric Latio can go over 160km on a full charge, based on the US LA4 mode driving cycle.

Nissan will also be adding a remote control and monitoring function to its electric cars. All Nissan EVs will communicate with a central IT system 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Alerts can be sent to your mobile phone. With the system, users can check the car’s current charging status and current range capacity. A map can show the current available driving radius so its easier to visualize where you will be able to drive.

You can also control the air conditioner to turn on or off at predefined times, and charging can also be set to be done only within certain timeslots even though the car is plugged in so that you can take advantage from cheaper night electricity rates in some countries.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=402]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• chain on Jul 29, 2009 at 2:39 pm

woot,i am the first..well i think electrical car is not a bad thing but the disadvantages are the horsepower is quite low and the millage for a fully charge electrical car is just 100-200 kilometes and need to recharge over quite a long time compare with the petrol engine

• Bennett on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:14 pm

yay…. wao… nice green design~!!

• mozaks (Member) on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:35 pm

full charge can only goes 160km. Means travelling from Penang to KL must charge 3 times… :-P

• Carefull, not to get electrocuted during heavy rain.. hahah

• Guide2LCDTV on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:55 pm

First…….

Look like the fight for electric car segment still in warm up stage…

• nice rim

• Guide2LCDTV on Jul 29, 2009 at 4:56 pm

Wah… so fast so many comments….

• FEMLab on Jul 29, 2009 at 5:10 pm

Car meant for city driving only? 160km per charge..cannot go out station la

• mokkf82 on Jul 29, 2009 at 5:23 pm

guys, what happened if the road is flooded? Will it be killing others when electrocuted?

• Wondering what type of air-cond compressor they use for

EV. Currently they are using our compressor for Latio

(I mean compressor produced by company I'm working at)

• Yes 1st….

• R0NaLD0 on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:13 pm

160km per charge is abit too low. Consumer are expecting anything higher than 300km per charge.

Anyway having a EV in Latio is superb…

• bmpower on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:43 pm

Just mass product it lah!..

still now no real EV on the road for normal user.. sigh.

upcoming new P1 Savvy with EV version.. anyone?

• DinKnight on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:54 pm

Oh, is the electric EV-11 already available for sale?

It is still in testing stages lah. Give it a few more years and technology advancements should be able to make it run more than 300km on a single charge. Till then, this is still a preview so you know what to expect.

I am looking forward to the finished product.

• torque (Member) on Jul 29, 2009 at 8:21 pm

The Nissan EV-11 huh?! I read that Nissan had already sign an agreement with some Singapore's energy company and will supply this car to Singapore by 2012. They going to conduct the test in Singapore and gave some time for the gov to set up the infrastructure so that in the future ppl will easily charge up this vehicle. And yes!! It's only meant for city driving, not for outstation and Nissan see that Singapore is very suitable for this vehicle. Expect them to have it by 2012…lucky Singaporean!! Thumbs up Nissan…

• u don need high horsepower for ev.100 something is enough. normal car with 100 hp don even got 280nm of torque. 280nm torque is even more than a hilux!

• Elvis on Jul 30, 2009 at 6:04 am

Eventually, oil will run out, that's why so many manufacturers are coming out with electric cars. These are all baby steps at the moment. Thanks Paul for your article on Nissan EV. May i suggest that you also carry article on BYD EV which said to be able to travel 300km on single charge! I think China will be a leader in EV compare to US or European or even Japanese manufacturers. We may look at China producing inferior things but all Apple products are manufactured in China.

• haha, if that singapore plan is true, that that is smart move indeed. since you dont need more than 50km to travel from one end of singapore to another.

good for fuel economy too. down here in malaysia, i dont think our government is ready yet, no infrastructure. even NGV stations are recently set up over here.

so we gotta pray harder. lol.

good job nissan.

• rexis on Jul 30, 2009 at 7:41 am

280 Nm of torque is certainly not in the "low-power" category.

Now this is research… a map that show current available range and destination is certainly very helpful! A smart timer that take advantage of night rates is brilliant.

Much better then savaged electric fork lift parts.

• solarcar on Jul 30, 2009 at 8:11 am

fantastic! i always support environmental friendly cars. i hope the car makers can make focus on how to make the battery last longer and sell the car cheaper.

• scanzew on Jul 31, 2009 at 1:45 am

pleaseeee…arriving this car as soon as posible…malaysian realy need electric car….

• woo..bash more..bash more…tank god i tot no wan to bashing proton n gov…..thats malaysian maa….no one want to include tax, p.window, engine, malaysia, tun mahatir, ap etc so much maa…..bash la some more bash..hooray

hahahaha…,hehehe..hohohoho

my no cent

• Elvis said,

July 29, 2009 @ 10:04 pm

Eventually, oil will run out, that’s why so many manufacturers are coming out with electric cars. These are all baby steps at the moment. Thanks Paul for your article on Nissan EV. May i suggest that you also carry article on BYD EV which said to be able to travel 300km on single charge! I think China will be a leader in EV compare to US or European or even Japanese manufacturers. We may look at China producing inferior things but all Apple products are manufactured in China.

—————————————————————–

i tot most thing in the world made in china….nokia, so.eric, china doll, etc…..but not halal food…or did they make halal food oso?? em….

• rexis on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:49 am

??? said,

July 30, 2009 @ 8:54 pm

i tot most thing in the world made in china….nokia, so.eric, china doll, etc…..but not halal food…or did they make halal food oso?? em….

—————————————

I read last time in newspaper they put home made halal sticker on luncheon meat can. China halal food, hmmm… better look for buatan Malaysia.

Electric battery car and fuel cell electric car is the same, they all run on electric motor. The main issue here is the energy storage involved.

• Elvis on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:53 am

Yup, they made halal food too. With muslim chinese population of over 40 millions in china alone, of course halal food but within China only. Even do i am not a muslim, but i am sadden that in Malaysia halal is only in logo alone. I see that halal meat are mix with non halal meat in one container before exported to Sabah and Sarawak. I have reported this to consumer asssociation as my responsible to my muslim friends here in Malaysia.

• Elvis on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:08 am

i think eletric car will become preferred choice once this technology is proven and reliable. And perhaps we will look back and say, how in the world did people back then drive a gasoline power cars! So dangerous and trouble some to maintain too! And ladies especially would like to drive a car that does not smell gasoline most of the time and fill a car wil gasoline,once kana your pants how to get rid of the smell! Yup, i look forward to this technology becoming common. There's a new car Aptera coming out this December 2009 sold only in US, the respond has been wild evendo it is categories as motorcycle coz it only got 3 wheels. But this car is very beatiful and practical too.

• Mobileblog on Aug 05, 2009 at 3:25 am

This Car is really nice, really good looking and the most important is that it is eco-friendly. The CO2 emissions are increasing much, and the big usage of automobiles last years, means that it will not stop increasing. We should reduce it, with such cars, like this. I hope that car builders will pay more attention to the earth and will care about it much more.

Really Thank you for allowing me to write down this.