Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT facelifted in Malaysia!

Mitsubishi Lancer GT Facelift

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia launched the 2009 update for the Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT today alongside an updated 2.4 litre Grandis. As previously revealed, the new Lancer features the updated front end that first made a debut on the Lancer Sportback.

It continues to be powered by the 2.0 litre 4B11 engine producing 155 PS and 199Nm of torque, mated to an INVECS-III CVT transmission with paddle shifts that allow you to swap between the CVT’s 6 predefined virtual ratios. The 2.0 GT also features ABS, EBD, dual two-stage front airbags, disc brakes all-round, Nappa leather seats that fold 60:40 at the rear, and a 6-speaker CD and MP3 sound system with steering wheel controls.

Only three colours are available – White Solid, Black Mica and Red Metallic. According to MMM, it goes for RM123,980.00 OTR with insurance. It will be in showrooms from tomorrow in the Peninsular, and from the 21st August onwards for East Malaysia.

Look after the jump for a full live photo gallery of the updated Lancer 2.0 GT. You’ll notice one car that’s slightly modified with 18 inch wheels of a darker shade, and a few stickers on the body. That’s a demo car that Mitsubishi prepared to show us how the Lancer can be “pimped up”, and they took a low-cost, subtle and tasteful route to it.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=406]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Nice one! I wonder how Proton gonna change this look!

• CiCaK on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:55 am

My next car… to beat cucukman..

• _xXx_ on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:55 am

Nice car, nice engine but AT gearbox!

• EricG on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:56 am

oh, i can see the differences between this n the new waja

• Kuew Ti Yau on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:01 am

Paul,

u got that Ah Moi phone number? psssst… lucky la u..hahaha..

where is Wajalution? too long to waitt…

• stanley9394 on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:03 am

nice interior..but i don't like the black front grill

• tunomura on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:10 am

Three word..ugly front bumper..

• iceman on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:10 am

Looks better and macho than facelifted Civic..

• Marvin on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:11 am

finally, the white one arrived…

• infinity on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:20 am

i'll take this anytime over altis, civic or sylphy…

• MITSUBISHI advertise on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:26 am

Malaysian…

BUY 1 Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT and get 2 girls for one night-stand.. LOL

• How come no close up picture of Amoi.

• Lancermania on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:29 am

nice facelift…

• WhiteFox on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:35 am

i love lancer…. but i no money to own one T_T

• i like the girls. do they come with the car? lol.

• adrianclw on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:36 am

Nice car and nice model especially in white. Eva.

• P2_permanent_basher on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:37 am

Errr, I dont see anything different???

• Leseid Obrut on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:44 am

I want one…in Blood Red…

• MetaRLiD on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:44 am

just love the pure white color :)

cn be my next car after my cps:-p

• so, this is how the new waja will look like..

• P2_permanent_basher said,

July 30, 2009 @ 9:37 pm

Errr, I dont see anything different???

Do more research will you.

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:52 am

paul does this facelift lancer have AUX port ?

• claxxion on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:53 am

Does the GLS model get updated as well?

• I dont see any diference too

• eshan on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:05 am

no stability control?

• Muzill on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:10 am

I still love the old one in red.

• Yumiko on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:26 am

look nicer =)

• zafedz on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:27 am

Once facelifted..still got one more year to go before the new replacement model launched…and Mitsubishi will throw all the technology to Proton for the Waja replacement model…machine,equipment,jigs,etc..

• rexis on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:36 am

Mitsubishi always better then Toyota.

I mean the girls.

• bomoh1 on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:46 am

i dont trust cvt sorry,

my choice is 5 speed auto honda civic.

• leslie boon on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:50 am

Toyota always better than Mitsubishi.

I mean the durability .

• streamyx on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:50 am

aper la korg percaya sangat Proton akan kua Waja replacement macam Lancer piiiraahhh.ingat senang2 ke Mitsubishi nak bagi copycat.aku dah malas dah percaya rumor2 camni, dari zaman abang aku sampai skrg.especialy org2 yg taksub dgn proton n org lama keje ngn proton.

papepun good luck ah tunggu la sampai berjanggut waja replacement=lancer kekeke…

• RunnerUp on Jul 31, 2009 at 7:15 am

Wahhhhhhh, coolness!

Digable, totally!

• Nice car with crappy belt gearbox. Pls offer at least a manual or 5-speed auto like everyone else!

• Virtuoso on Jul 31, 2009 at 7:27 am

hai Yumikoo!~~~ :) yes nicer right?

• fearsome on Jul 31, 2009 at 7:28 am

Mitsubishi is always better than Toyota…

I mean in WRC and in terms of super sports saloon…

Mitsubishi has Evo, what Toyota has? Mark II??

• acbc said,

July 30, 2009 @ 11:21 pm

Nice car with crappy belt gearbox. Pls offer at least a manual or 5-speed auto like everyone else!

_____

i don't remember the altis offering 5 speed auto or even manual…

• wow….lovely girls!!!

:)~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

• nabil on Jul 31, 2009 at 8:01 am

mitsbishi reliabilty is not the best among japanese brands…

• mamat puchong on Jul 31, 2009 at 8:04 am

nicely done…..

but wondering why there are only 3 colour to choose from?

• mitsubishi is always better than toyota…..

I mean the looks and spec…better value for money

• teamsleep on Jul 31, 2009 at 9:21 am

can you post the babes picture?

• fadzly on Jul 31, 2009 at 9:54 am

Much2 more expensive than older 2007 mitsubishi 2.0 GT. Last time was RM115k ++ with insurance.

• HSatuNsatu on Jul 31, 2009 at 10:17 am

Toyota is better …they have TRD Vios Dugong kah kah kah ….

Extra horsepower to rush to mamak stalls

• give us manual version,mitsubishi !ni se bu shi(u die already or not?)

• Nakal on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:17 pm

the demand is still high…not just in msia, but other countries

how come proton want to sell this 'rebadged' lancer or want to export it? did mitsu still give permission to proton?

in business practice…this is 'mission impossible' job for proton…

My wish is…Good luck proton

• bujal on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:22 pm

lucky…the look not so different form pre facelifted…

but i think the pre facelifted looks better..not so copycat evo x…this one..like really evo wannabe..:)

• I like the red colour one.

• azrai on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:36 pm

Our own helang lebuhray (if only we can afford RM120k).

• Leslie Boon on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:06 pm

Toyota have F1 , Mitsubishi always lost in the WRC , Subaru shows more good result in the WRC competition , Also , Toyota have Alphard ( King of Mpv ) , Prius ( World first hybird vehicle ) , Lexus ( World car of the years 2007 Lexus – Ls ) , IQ ( Car of the year japan 2008/09 ) What's mitsubishi have except Evo ? Lagi kalah to SuBARU too ……

• Wisdom on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:13 pm

This or Mazda 3 anytime…

• farghmee on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:18 pm

new waja? wait a few months la..

this mitsu lancer is solid..

i wonder how lotus-tuned mitsu lancer..hehe..

• Nice car in White but that Awek in white lagi cantik….Paul, please upload more pics of the Awek in white…

• tikus on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:44 pm

Paul,

How's the waiting list? 1 year again….

• wochomi on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:46 pm

Fuyoh… who's the Girl in White?????? Nice lah…….White is the new trend….. I'm getting a White dugong….

• initial R on Jul 31, 2009 at 5:55 pm

today i will go to bangsar to see real life. hope that amoi are there to.. hehe :)

• those lancer owner who previously change their front bumper to evo X must b regretting now that the new lancer comes with this grille

• joeysis on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:16 pm

from the Image from their official site, i tot this facelift version offer projector light for front lamp.

• carsut on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:30 pm

M pls!!

• roti naan1 on Jul 31, 2009 at 6:58 pm

ok la…..

but the design has become boring oredi….

• DK San on Jul 31, 2009 at 7:00 pm

CVT gearbox is the future! Period.. If not why most car manufacturers are starting to look into it currently..

So to those who aren't sure what is CVT is all about and the prospects in the motoring industry, please do research before you condemn.. In the future, ride a bicycle or a bike..

• R0NaLD0 on Jul 31, 2009 at 7:14 pm

look at how that gal in black dress press her body against the car…. how seducing was that !! i mean the car lah…… ^ ^

• mokkf82 on Jul 31, 2009 at 7:36 pm

Nice car with sexy prety girls. Superb…!~

• xavier lert on Jul 31, 2009 at 7:36 pm

already tapau this car on NS hiway….easy…..

• Dingo on Jul 31, 2009 at 7:52 pm

@xavier lert

Obviously you have a brain the size of a tachometer.

• manulovetohate on Jul 31, 2009 at 8:32 pm

Guys, I booked my lancer GT facelifted limited edition (white) yesterday, which only 10 units available in Malaysia, 1 unit for Johor. It cost me extra RM1,500 only. Check out the picture on top (the white one with stickers).

ps: I booked the car without even looking at it.

• Wormnachia on Jul 31, 2009 at 8:44 pm

Harap Waja Replacement Model akan lain design dari Facelift 2009 Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT

berharap…..

• Slayer on Jul 31, 2009 at 8:49 pm

The girl in white dress…her name is EVA

• anonymous on Jul 31, 2009 at 11:00 pm

It's hopeless as most Malaysian prefer to drive AT, which is the one that I hate the most, almost all the car that launch in Malaysia comes with AT only, like this Lancer or Civic, you want MT get Lancer Evolution X or Civic Type R, damn stupid.

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC on Jul 31, 2009 at 11:02 pm

if got a basic spec of this lancer, i think i will buy la..

below 100k, smaller rim, no airbag, manual transmission, no bodykit… haha

anyone agree?

• The Car and the girls is very Fabulous……………

• MycarMylife on Jul 31, 2009 at 11:11 pm

Looks good in white doesn't it ( the car !!) can we have more juice per kg, please otherwise just for driving to the mamak corners to show off only.

• Interior like a proton persona….sapa tiru sapa…

• Mitsu use real pretty girls for models to attract male buyers,

toyota use Brad Pitt to attract ladies and aunty buyers….ahahaha

if buy this lancer gt can get free date with white chic or not?

• kkchai on Aug 01, 2009 at 12:27 am

After almost a year only Malaysia get it? Way too slow… 3 colors only, equipment list also lack compared to the south neighbour. Best of all they can get 5 speedo manual.

• wochomi on Aug 01, 2009 at 12:36 am

EVA? Like Command & Conquer EVA?

WAJA replacement model? Where would the Lancer stand if WAJA replacement model is also a Lancer rebadged? Or rather we would see a lot of people 'REBADGED' the rebadged Waja replacement model… from Thundercat logo to ciplak Mitsubishi Logo…. get it? Semua tak mengaku proton…

• number6 on Aug 01, 2009 at 2:31 am

this dude nabil got an issue or wat?? mitsu reliability ok wat…….

• kimi_ on Aug 01, 2009 at 2:49 am

WOW,the girl in white is nice …….

• lapp Cab on Aug 01, 2009 at 3:47 am

this car was perfect on look, but the only thing was without retractable side mirror. too bad!! (100K over car?? )

• Cpt Shopalot on Aug 01, 2009 at 4:10 am

Yummier!

• bobdbilder on Aug 01, 2009 at 6:03 am

Saw a black GT with modified exos in PJS 11, Bandar Sunway. Everthing was excellent until you hear it. Very uninspring vocals. Sounded like a yawn no matter how many 'virtual gears' he'd dropped. Its the tranny. The dude who paid for the job doesn't get the whole picture did he? Money can't buy you brains.

Singaporeans might be able to buy a manual. But do you think they will?

• kkchai on Aug 01, 2009 at 6:06 am

bobdbilder said,

July 31, 2009 @ 10:03 pm

Saw a black GT with modified exos in PJS 11, Bandar Sunway. Everthing was excellent until you hear it. Very uninspring vocals. Sounded like a yawn no matter how many ‘virtual gears’ he’d dropped. Its the tranny. The dude who paid for the job doesn’t get the whole picture did he? Money can’t buy you brains.

Singaporeans might be able to buy a manual. But do you think they will?

YUPE! There is market for manual, that is the reason manufacturer can bring in and sell in market. If M'sia car price not that sky rocket, I think there is a portion of us want a manual. Demand and supply because of price.

• Ah Tan Workshop on Aug 01, 2009 at 6:43 am

Dun talk if you know nothing dude.. better wait and see..

See here -> http://www.cakap.net/index.php?showtopic=1180

————————–

streamyx said on July 30, 2009 @ 10:50 pm

aper la korg percaya sangat Proton akan kua Waja replacement macam Lancer piiiraahhh.ingat senang2 ke Mitsubishi nak bagi copycat.aku dah malas dah percaya rumor2 camni, dari zaman abang aku sampai skrg.especialy org2 yg taksub dgn proton n org lama keje ngn proton.

papepun good luck ah tunggu la sampai berjanggut waja replacement=lancer kekeke…

• Moukamla on Aug 01, 2009 at 7:05 am

Nice…but I prefer the old front grille much more than this.

• pokleh on Aug 01, 2009 at 7:15 am

emm…it seems that the girl got more attention than the car! Mr. Paul, pls don't blame us, the girl in white indeed looks prettier than the car.. hehe

• fauzi on Aug 01, 2009 at 7:58 am

CiCaK said,

July 30, 2009 @ 8:55 pm

My next car… to beat cucukman..

…………………………………………………………………………………………………..

My friend cicak for what you buy this car cucukman already claim this car not in the list that can cucuk his pesona CPS.now i'am going for poco-poco dance after do some setting to my RXZ for drag race at komplek sukan bermotor jempol. if you want to and see me there make sure dont bring beg sirih cause 'beg sirih pon depa sosah'

• darxness2000 on Aug 01, 2009 at 8:14 am

DNA Proton ?

• pokngah on Aug 01, 2009 at 8:37 am

Indonesian price tag will be 385,000,000 IDR = 136,656.629 MYR.

Our price still can consider….

• CocoBear on Aug 01, 2009 at 9:15 am

The white and black models are on sale? They look gorgeous.

• kethon27 on Aug 01, 2009 at 1:59 pm

I always think Lancer2.0GT always the coolest car compare to Civic because of the sportiness but until i see this facelift, kinda dissapoint. They just paint it black at the center and put the bloody crome lining..

***Seriously I think it is HOPELESS Sorry I have have offended some of you guys..

Come on la.. At least change the wheel design, offer a HID, some RalliArt accessories eg. Gear knob, steering or pedal, change the seats or front&rear light design. Perhaps a dual left&right muffler pipe look.Give the portential customer a feeling like;-

"Awww.. Its really different & sportier than before!!"

A very simple example you can see for Perodua their new facelift Viva to Elite Viva, exterior-ly obviously you can spot REALLY different from previous model. Some said good some said ugly but that is not the main concern. The main thing is change what is suppose to be used to look like.

I really hope Mitsubishi (whoever) manage to read my feedback and pass this message to whoever in concern *team in the organization.

**Apologies once again for those read this and got offended..

• the interior still the same….ugly and like a cheap car

• Observer on Aug 01, 2009 at 6:29 pm

I love this. But only the models NOT the car. lol I guessed this car is still haunted by poor quality especially on the ride. No doubt an ideal car for the Ah Bengs.

• mitlanevo on Aug 01, 2009 at 9:13 pm

no wonder ppl like Observer still drive Datsun 120Y…

• shoryuken on Aug 02, 2009 at 12:21 am

Anyone realized in Langkawi, it's selling at a Waja price….its really a attractive car with fully import from Japan..

• akupunya on Aug 02, 2009 at 8:02 pm

ceh..the white model macam tak mandi 2 hari pun mau ka..

antara kereta n girls tu..i ambik kereta lagi bagus…

boleh henjut lagi banyak…

• manulovetohate on Aug 04, 2009 at 3:39 am

this car also got AUX connection (2 into 1 type). Hidden below the air-cond knobs.

• Ultranius (Member) on Aug 05, 2009 at 11:35 pm

CVT gearbox is for comfortable and fuel efficient and it's a perfect idea. But when it come to top speed, it will issue another problem. So for those who always cruising highway, this is not a good choice.

• lancerion on Aug 15, 2009 at 2:02 am

O white lancer… why u come late..? But it still not late for me to modify my 1st version lancer GT

• bella italia on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:23 pm

lancer gt facelift????

WOWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So ugly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So slow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So arrogent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cheap Plastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Whos ur daddy??? (lancer gt forum)

idiot fellas only drive the LANCER GT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• adiez scooby on Sep 05, 2009 at 6:15 pm

lancer gt made n japan….

civic 2.0 made in melaka….

• i agreed with bella italia

interior cheap plastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Sarjan on Oct 02, 2009 at 4:53 pm

I also agreed with toyo, poor interior quality, very cheap plastic and of course very2 slow compare to civic, altis, even Focus MK2 1.8 can tapau this new GT I sow it in highway when balik raya last week… mcm tak percaya

• Sarjan on Oct 02, 2009 at 4:56 pm

hiyaaa…..I also agreed with toyo, poor interior quality, very cheap plastic and of course very2 slow compare to civic, altis, even Focus MK2 1.8 can tapau this new GT I sow it in highway when balik raya last week… mcm tak percaya

• alaen delon on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:27 pm

MMUAH…have to think about the petrol..mileage per liter?the big bang spare part..also another r.tax.if my permanent salary 5k p.month i,ll bring this superb ..n the honda accord is not very easy for them..n the perdana will think twice before giving the "hon" to this "jaws look" contender kahkahkah

• 1 MALAYSIA on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:40 pm

gt s so slow?civic altis n focus can beat this when "balik raya'? see lah the driver is sleepy tired man or women drive this car,the machine is strong enough but if u travek and take 8-10 hours like kl to nik aziz contry the driver will come sllepy,,not becouse the gt is slow built brot..

• master mekanik on Oct 08, 2009 at 5:10 pm

i agree with 1maly,,if the mitsubishi is slow running why our died hard fan motor modified all their satria neo,waja,wira,perdana n almost all cars on the road use modified engine MITSUBISHI?..WAJA KLON EVO..WIRA KLON EVO..ALL ARE MITSUBISHI ENGINES..

funny u all..

• yes yes..all r mitsubishi,say sarjan or koperal..what car u used want to tapau thia mivec engine?.i had modified my klon wira to evo 3,,increased my wira to 280hp with mitsubishi engine second hand..u want to tapao with only 155hp ur civiv?see in the u tube..just taip ..mitsubishi vs honda,or evo vs type r,,u ll know the truth

• DK San on Oct 08, 2009 at 10:12 pm

Yaya.. no need ford focus or whatever car.. even kancil or even bicyle can tapau LGT if the car is not moving.. hahaha.. This Sarjan damn funny la..

Anyway, this is very subjective la.. if one driver think he drive fast and smoke the other car but the other driver driving normally only consider smoke/tapao succesfully ka?

So, to make sure whichever car is faster, go for century dash.. that way both car is ready and the real result will show who's faster and who smoke who loh..

DK

Slow LGT owner..

• DK San on Oct 08, 2009 at 10:18 pm

To Bella Italia,

You are sure one shallow minded, arrogant and inconsiderate guy by calling people who buy lancer idiots.. Hahaha.. Everybody got their own preference and the money is ours, why you care? Keep your comments to yourself..

FYI, we are friends with your car make's club.. Dun try to be funny with us..

• bebeloveu on Oct 09, 2009 at 5:50 pm

GT VS CIVIC..? very subjective..agree with dk san

the speed is not imprtant at all..

love ur family,no more speeding hhaha..or u ll get "saman" from jpj kahkah..

or u ll hospitalized..n who then ll sleep with ur lovely with??? kahkah

• ronny boy on Oct 13, 2009 at 8:49 pm

Bella Italia U Suck…. just say that u just cant afford the car Man….

• Sarjan on Oct 14, 2009 at 12:22 am

just to share with you guys….I drive wira mivec rojak la bro….also can tapu this GT…hahah.

• DK San on Oct 14, 2009 at 12:51 am

Wah really ka Sarjan? The driver of that LGT must be either aunty, uncle or lady driver or even maybe "P" driver… hahaha..

Anyway, as long as you're proud by saying your "Wira Mivec Rojak" can tapao LGT, go ahead la.. as long as you're happy.. hahaha…

• Sarjan on Oct 15, 2009 at 4:20 pm

DK San, thank you very much, please do not be offended I know some of you really love this GT , I already have family too…always think twice to drive fast. also not stupid to determine young or old, woman or men in both cars bro…

• Proud to be Malaysia on Oct 15, 2009 at 9:16 pm

LGT is a japanese plastic!!!!!!!

if the car can go fast also it goes like flying plastic on the road….hahaha.

For this LGT owner,truly speaking ur car is not fast enough like u all wish…..

• Fara is stuck. on Oct 23, 2009 at 2:39 am

lancer or civic?

im stuck after read all your opinion, my loan just approve for both car. which one i should take?

• YES!!! My Age 21 Birthday Next Car Mishibishi lancer~

• I have my EG6, Evolution IV last time…. all sold, now i looking for another car, which is lancer GT, why? simple, the interior space is comfortable expecially the seat, then, the volume compare to Civic…. i believe i grab a hand of stone and throw out, sure kena few unit civic… i prefer unique….. Honda is good.. but after few year will longar longar expecially all the bush, bearing…. my father Galant still solid like hell… good!!! LOL

• TheTitan on Dec 11, 2009 at 7:26 pm

actually my opinion for this car are really ugly inside and out.

nothing get me exciting.But for sure the power of the engine really great.

Anyway i hope when Proton joinback with Mitsu company will hot sale after this,even the waja replace to Mitsu Lancer facelift also ugly.

• Sylvester on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:19 pm

If the GT is

plastic, i "think Wira is paper..

Light, tearable and breakable.. Pro!

• Ken1995 on May 29, 2010 at 10:09 pm

hi all, im just 15 years old kids tis year i take PMR exam but i know my result always get in low….but i intrested in car 1st of my fav car is Nissan fairlady 350z but i know i wont able to own 1 coz the price is very expensive n the road tax oso high becoz its 3.5 cc V6 engine.. so i got to look for others car(after few days) i found a car n its look cool it is tis the Mitsubishi 2.0 gt(price oso epensive)atlest the road tax lower then 350z….. however i hope i can own 1 ! god bless me !

• price like japan car.model like inpira what for to paymore 40km, ,,,

• lancer on Mar 16, 2012 at 8:42 am

this car is way better than inpira…

• Anonymous on Jul 10, 2012 at 10:25 pm

This chic should show some boobs!!!! BOOBBBSSSS!!!!