Mazda MX-5 / Roadster 20th Anniversary Special Edition model revealed

The MX-5, which is also known as the Mazda Roadster in Japan is celebrating its 20th anniversary, and it’s maker, Mazda has announced a special edition model to commemorate the occasion. The Mazda MX-5 20th Anniversary Special Edition, which is already available in Japanese showrooms, is based on either the RS soft-top version or the VS Power Retractable Hard Top (RHT) version of the nimble sports car.

The former comes with a 6 speed manual transmission while the latter is fitted with a 6 speed automatic. Equipment wise, the auto maker has added Recaro bucket sport seats that are finished in Black Alcantara and red leather, seat heating with five temperature settings, soft synthetic leather padding on door armrests and on the center console lid, fabric soft top with glass rear window (soft-top model only) and “20th Anniversary” badges on the the fenders.

Furthermore, there are 17-inch aluminum wheels shod with 205/45R17 84W tires, clear front fog lights and bezels as well as a front strut tower bar (cowl connecting type). The car is only available in Crystal White Pearl Mica and carries a price tag of 2,860,000 yen for the soft top version (with the manual tranny) and 3,110,000 yen for the retractable hard top version (with the automatic cog box). Both prices are inclusive of tax.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Yoezpo on Aug 01, 2009 at 9:23 pm

1st

• Pre facelift looks better. And nothin special from the outside. I like tis car tho

• P2_permanent_basher on Aug 01, 2009 at 10:34 pm

how much would this be in tax land?

• highway04 on Aug 01, 2009 at 11:32 pm

over 200k i guess

• pokleh on Aug 01, 2009 at 11:46 pm

A beautiful car for a rich man/women…may not be very practical in bolehland

• mudtire on Aug 02, 2009 at 1:25 am

Bermaz pls bring in the manual one!!!

• 150k at naza automall 2.0 auto…dun remember what year

• number6 on Aug 02, 2009 at 4:16 am

i say post facelift looks better la, but facelift or not great car nonetheless, zoom zoom

• Littlefire on Aug 02, 2009 at 5:14 am

This car only cost around RM100k Malaysian ringgit in New! Imagine this car will sell around that price in Malaysia… Somemore Naza mostly imported second-hand or so call re-con cars with a higher pricetag… Blame who?

• no name on Aug 02, 2009 at 6:41 am

it should be around figure of 170 – 150k…plus tax..

• l3ryan on Aug 02, 2009 at 11:26 am

my dream car.

a light, 6 speed manual, rear wheel drive car with perfect front:rear balance, if i had money this would be my next car.

• HoneNone on Aug 03, 2009 at 2:09 am

This car should appear in my wet dream in Malazutland

Gomen should set the price at 2million ringgit …better we all know we cannot afford and wont bother to take note

• nighttrain on Aug 03, 2009 at 8:49 pm

Well, it's looking less of a chick car for this facelift.