Nissan Sylphy gets more updates in China!

Nissan Sylphy

The Sylphy has also been facelifted in China and over there it gets more changes compared to the Japanese and Singaporean market.

In China, the Sylphy receives similiar treatments to the exterior and interior but adds a new front bumper and new tail lamps for the rear. These set of photos from China also lets us have a closer view of the new meter panel. I’m not completely sure if the Chinese and Japanese model share the same meter panel even though both have black faces, as the Japanese photos are a little low-res.

Anyway, enjoy looking at more photos after the jump. Which Sylphy do you prefer – the pre-facelift Sylphy currently sold in Malaysia, the new Japanese facelift or the new Chinese facelift?

[zenphotopress number=99 album=413]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• transformer (Member) on Aug 03, 2009 at 6:00 am

i'm still waiting TCM to update Sylphy seat design… its so round… so female-yish though… Isn't this car are designed for female driver in the first place?

same at to that Dugong Belta…

• Christopher Tan on Aug 03, 2009 at 6:24 am

Not bad.Just dont really like the rear light and the console box.

• apeng on Aug 03, 2009 at 6:32 am

Just wondering…..why at china nissan can provide volume etc control at stereng but not at here…

• kimi_ on Aug 03, 2009 at 6:33 am

this looks cheap and likes china made cars…especially rear bumper with 3 reflective …too conservative

The front FOG light stole from SAGA BLM !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111

• kimi_ on Aug 03, 2009 at 6:35 am

WTF, the front bumper fog light is from SAGA BLM….:)

• eAtMySmOkE on Aug 03, 2009 at 6:38 am

look very classy, poor malaysian to have low taste of nissan car importer.

• sexy man on Aug 03, 2009 at 6:39 am

when is it coming to malaysia…..looks more luxury……XD

• stanley9394 on Aug 03, 2009 at 6:42 am

not bad leh the design… quite stylist…at least not TOO ah BENG.. but i think this car is designed for young exe level ppl..so it won't be too ah beng… not too uncle…

• Its still ugly with no soul….and with torsion beam

• volks2 on Aug 03, 2009 at 7:38 am

dunno when tchong will bring in the facelift model to msia

• Theophilus Chin on Aug 03, 2009 at 7:54 am

This China Sylphy has the Exora front bumper "square edge" that strangely works here. I quite like it!

• selekohboi on Aug 03, 2009 at 8:40 am

really like sylphy, though panel a bit dull. yet the impul version made it even livelier !!! wish could have one ;)

• r u like a sylphy or nissan fan paul? =)

• henry on Aug 03, 2009 at 9:03 am

look at the "Exora" front-end bumper.

• Paul Tan on Aug 03, 2009 at 9:14 am

No. I just discovered these cars after posting up the Nissan Leaf.

• better compare the previous one but the rear lamp copycat from previous accord model….not good..

• What a bout the cost of the car? same wifthe previous model or more expensive?

• mitlanevo on Aug 03, 2009 at 4:42 pm

Sylphy is definitely one of the good looking jap sedans……

without any facelift also looks nice already….

but the impul stuff just spoiled it…..

P/S: Richan Lanniao, lmao!!!

• stephen on Aug 03, 2009 at 4:56 pm

for the dash board… out dated…. totally ugly

• jflee169 on Aug 03, 2009 at 4:58 pm

I wonder wether ETC is reading this forum. Please "open" your eyes and ears, see and listen that the Sylphy in other regions. China's Sylphy is providing rear disc brake now!

• epal10 on Aug 03, 2009 at 5:48 pm

special facelift/design for China or CDM (China Domestic Model)

• dextrous on Aug 03, 2009 at 5:54 pm

apeng said,

August 2, 2009 @ 10:32 pm

Just wondering…..why at china nissan can provide volume etc control at stereng but not at here…

me said,

it is simple, here the accessories can be lower but the price higher to earn higher profit, as the customer here will just blame gov for tax… just my 2cent

• Baron on Aug 03, 2009 at 7:48 pm

very ugly design

• Baron on Aug 03, 2009 at 7:49 pm

this is very ugly lah…

• roti naan1 on Aug 03, 2009 at 8:37 pm

well, at least the steering wheel looks better than Malaysia's version…

• Alifz on Aug 03, 2009 at 10:31 pm

Do you all realize that the front bumper looks like Exora? Expecially at the side..

• AutoAlert on Aug 04, 2009 at 2:10 am

The black plastic strip next to the foglamp makes the car look cheap.Tan Chong has just launched the New 370 Z and Murano in M'sia. Can you do a story on it?

• Srotong on Aug 04, 2009 at 5:08 am

Yep, souless but with vulva seats. Excellent mpg & quiet ride though – will do well as a taxi limo.

• yeah paul, TC just lauched new murano and 370z here.

murano 330k forgot 370z price.

• newbie on Aug 04, 2009 at 6:02 am

the headlight even have eyebrow…lol! see top pic.

• Of course it need to be facelifted. The car was introduced way back in 2005.

• Front looks elegant and fresh from the current…back end is a flop… feature is so much better than Malaysian version… the steering controls is great too… and yes it has all round disc brake there too.

Seats are meant to be seated comfortably less fatigue for long distance drive… that is why it is so comfort to sit on. hence seats are sofa-like.

What make you think that spotlight and bumper and etc is from Proton? on what ground? I could say Proton copy everyone's windscreen… it look the same from other cars of any brand.

• why is ETCM giving the el-cheapo drum brakes. Really, how much more can they can make by giving rear drum brakes vs giving rear disc brakes compared to the loss of goodwill.

Perhaps there are still ppl willing to pay more than RM100K and still get drum brakes that ETCM does not care but there is no other sedan that cost more than RM100K that gives drum brakes

• To me, the front fascia is a "dog's dinner". Nothing matches, nothing lines up, proportions of the elements (lights, lamps, grill, bumper, air intake) is a mis-mash, like something a first year design student might come up with. But of course, that's only my opinion… .

• edwindudley2003 on Aug 09, 2009 at 8:31 am

This car is a bargain, compared to the Altis 1.8. Only thing is, its engine doesnt give that 2.0 grunt. Push it a little harder, and you'll hear it cracking alike a 1litre engine. Cvtc transmission is very smooth, barely felt the gear changes.Its tortoise shape remains controversial though.

• Azrar on Aug 11, 2009 at 12:23 am

i wonder why Nissan chose this car for production…I'm sure they have many other better looking designs…

• Leong Weng Kit on Aug 18, 2009 at 6:33 am

Why Malaysian models are less in term of goodies and technology such as controls on steering wheels and LCD screen on main panel. Its always the same thing, Malaysian don't get to enjoy all this. This makes like Malaysian has no taste or could not care more about the goodies. Car makers are taking advantages of Malaysian. Hope ETCM, UMW and Honda noted this.

Anyway, overall the facelift looks better.

Will Malaysia version follow this

• Damian Daniel on Jan 18, 2010 at 10:44 am

I just paid down on a sylphy expected to be shipped in the next four weeks (mid feb). i can feel the Malaysian pains because here in Trinidad (Caribbean) we pay a lot more for our cars and get so much less…. i am not sure if my car will have latest facelift even after i paid TT$20,000.00 = US $3,000.00 just to reserve my choice. luckily it is refundable. here a 1.5 AT Sylphy starts at TT$175,000.00 = US$29,166.67. in the US you can get much more for the price. these comments really leaves me feeling advantaged.