RM175k Toyota Prius now available in Malaysia

New Toyota Prius

The Toyota Prius is now here in Malaysia, retailing for RM175,000 OTR inclusive of insurance for private registration. Might be too much for most of us to stomach considering this is supposed to include the rebate that the government is giving on hybrid cars, the same rebate that ensures the Camry Hybrid won’t be sold here in the near future as long as the policies stay the same as it is only for hybrids with engine displacements of under 2.0 litres. The Langkawi and Labuan prices are rather interesting though – its only RM127,408.45 and RM128,046.55 respectively for individual private registration.

As previously indicated we are getting the model without the solar panel, and we are getting the 15 inch wheels instead of the 17 inch wheels. The construction of the 15 inch wheels are interesting – it’s an alloy wheel but it has an additional plastic cover on top to help with aerodynamics. No GPS navi or colour screen on the interior but there is a heads-up display function. Other equipment includes 7 airbags, ABS, EBD, traction control, stability control (VSC), Hill-Start Assist, brake assist, keyless entry and start, and an 8-speaker audio system.

For those who want to check out the Prius in better detail, there is a cut-body model showcased in the UMW Toyota Subang showroom until the 9th of August 2009, after of which it will be moved to Cheras from 10 to 16 and Penang from 18 to to the 31st. This model is said to be one of only two cutaway Prius models in the world – which basically means the Prius is cut to show you the inner components of the THS HSD system.

UMW targets to sell 100 units this year which is probably just about all the allocation they managed to get as there is a bottleneck in the Prius supply globally. For those who want to learn more about the new third generation Prius, you may read the related links below:

3rd generation Toyota Prius: first impression drive
3rd generation Toyota Prius: official details

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Johan on Aug 04, 2009 at 3:47 pm

Funny, you guys don't think its overprice when you buy a 7k VIAO notebook, its not overprice to buy a 3k iphone or 2k ipod, its not even overprice to pay for a 15buck coffee at Starbucks. So you are all suckers when you take your girlfriends to those fancy place? Why? To impress the females species and to get on with it… so if you think paying 2mil for a Ferrari is waaaaaaaay out of your league, maybe RM175k to attract the attention of tree huggers might just work for you whinny out there, LOL!

Come on guys, you know the drill, new tech is never cheap, especially you have a blood sucking government, so you either pay for it, ignore it and sulk or you can vote for a new government on the next GE.

Otherwise we can marvel at the next generation of tech, just like how you ooo… and ahhh…. when the Motorola Startac first came out. Its you can either afford it or wait for it. Don't pretend if the car is priced at 100k, you will all rush to UMW and place your orders, and give up all your little precious over-mod Civic or Wira. Since the guy says it more affordable to buy a Civic Hybrid, have you place your down payment? BTW the Civic Hybrid work totally different from the Prius, so go google before you talk through the back hole.

If you all want to pretend to save the world, start by bringing your own shopping back the next time you go Tesco or your own mug to Starbucks next time you wanna impress your hot chic. Stop being a hypocrite.

• mohsin on Aug 04, 2009 at 8:49 pm

QUITE EXPENSIVE MAH!

in the long run, is it worth to pay that huge amount?

• i'm 1st!!

when the rival of prius, honda insight will come to m'sia?

• zafedz on Aug 04, 2009 at 8:51 pm

Mmmm…i thought cheaper than Honda but aiya….

• shoryuken on Aug 04, 2009 at 8:54 pm

Toyota thinks customer will just buy the brand, just like they over price the RAV-4, and Yaris…with virtually cant see any in the road. Rebate also charge this price, crazy.

• mohsin on Aug 04, 2009 at 8:54 pm

one more! if compare to NGV vehicle, which is more fuel efficient?

I'm considering to install NGV tank one mah, bcoz can't afford this bloody sucker price tag by UMW!

Geram.. geram.. geram!!

• alamdamai1 on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:02 pm

the 3rd Gen Prius is selling around USD23K at the States…if we work out the maths, both the M'sian Govt and Toyota M'sia is getting a huge profit out this car…hence it doesn't make economical sense to get the hybrid…instead wait for the electric car which is coming soon in the future…

• nabil on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:09 pm

ladies and gentelmen , lets talk abt this rediculous price on offer ! nuts!

NGV is probably more fuel efficient bt it makes driving unpleasant , engine sound rough and unwilling , and weak pick up….hybrids all have good pick and acceleration due to instant torque available from the elctric motor

• mig29 on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:11 pm

Why have 2 pricing; RM175K and RM128K? I though the tax is reduced?

• DEATH TO HYBRIDS on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:14 pm

this is an awful washing machine.

• Ndmervin on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:22 pm

Well, they cant be charging it more than the Camry rite? It is in different class.. and its a matter of time the Prius price will go down. T wants to profit it to the max now so that they can bring in more of the Prius later..

• Hugo Pua on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:27 pm

The battery can last long for 10 years. but the replacement battery for Toyota Prius is almost US3500 (RM12600). you maybe replace the battery after 10 years, if not the resale value is terrible.

• Kuku_Nan on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:29 pm

Stupid BN! Keep waxing balls of all Dato's/ Tan Sri/ Datuk/etc. for the taxes they sucking it… Another 3 years to go.

• KokLoon Chan on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:31 pm

The pricing is just horrendous typical of UMW exploiting the T badge to the max at the expense of Malaysian consumers. Comparatively the Honda Civic hybrid is a better proposition with its price of RM130K.

• sponge_bob on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:33 pm

With that kind of price , and that is not even have the GPS function ? What is UMW thinking , are we idiot or what ?

What the f is the government doing on environment sustainability ?

Camry already is an over price product with minimum gadget tech inside it . Sigh .

• Again, they tot can sell ke- -?Althou Civic H was only 1.3, but its selling price of RM129k was hitting paku in town edy..Prius RM175k- -?this however reflecting that the leader in Malaysia are not preparing to change the world, or heal the world.. or more likely to kejap kejap la..(sorry, I don't really know whether it's the car expensive or the tax+tax expensive, but I just want to tarok gao gao)

Or or or…nowadays they're thinking that average Malaysian can afford tat price?biasa la beli krt >RM150k, krt aku RM300k 'saja'..?coz notice if police are using much expensive car thou(Evo10?).That makes me feel so malu driving a car worth around RM110k..sounds like a miniature car already.(Thou I was consider 'up to par' youth around my age)

Or they want Malaysian to earn more money b4 we can do something different to the environment? or care-less? And b4 we're 'averagely' earning an monthly income of >RM7/8k to afford a Hybrid car, they'll never shout 'use environmental friendly transport la~'..

• P2_permanent_basher on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:37 pm

hehe poor 1st poster, i love it when 1st poster loses out. :P

Paul,

One fact probably you have left out is the engine capacity plus the electric motor specs.

0—-0

This is soooo much more expensive than the civic. :S

For once Honda priced a car cheaper than its rivals…

• cl_qwertyuiop on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:39 pm

Toyota is consider a basic car brand in Taiwan. They really over price the Prius.

• P2_permanent_basher on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:41 pm

shoryuken,

its our gov car tax scheme that made those cars as well as this car uncompetitive in our market :(

sad to have this kind of government…

• PriusUseless on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:43 pm

Don't buy!!!! So expensive with degrade model.

• nonengko on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:50 pm

Excise duty, sales tax and other government taxes are too high.

• Salamander on Aug 04, 2009 at 9:58 pm

Free Market rule applies. Short of Supply, Increase in Demand worldwide, equals to High Price.

• woii.. crazee aa… rm175k tukar bateri rm12600…. gila aa… oversea just 22k to 28k only… haiyaaa…

• 175k?? I might as well but 175k worth of petrol and last for 3 generations!

• bmpower on Aug 04, 2009 at 10:07 pm

that's the hint of the REAL thing will happen . (if proton closed shop).

Japs (and cronies) won't give you a price cut.

you got that bashers? cheap car? hahahaha. LOTFTD ..

• chaos on Aug 04, 2009 at 10:11 pm

In Malaysia, only the rich can help save the environment. The rest can only pollute and waste. Thanks Government!!!

• I know this is nice car but…

1.8 and output is about the same as Civic. price in Japan is less than Civic MX which si at ¥2.5mil…so lets say, assuming this is G spec, that is about ¥2.45mil in Japan. So is UMW Toyota Malaysia going to fool us that they can't sell at similar rate and Honda is making 50K loss for every Civic Hybrid sold?

People, just buy the Honda Civic if you really need to save the earth… donate another RM20K to green society or organisation and you still get 20K balance in the Bank.

• haniff on Aug 04, 2009 at 10:19 pm

Why do you say the Labuan and Langkawi price is "interesting"? Labuan has always had all cars cheaper without tax. Camry is about 100k. Vios about 50k.

• altimate on Aug 04, 2009 at 10:25 pm

"In Malaysia, only the rich can help save the environment. The rest can only pollute and waste. Thanks Government!!!

" – chaos

Well said ! and dun forget "IF" the rich bothers about saving the environment

• www.apesaje.tk on Aug 04, 2009 at 10:26 pm

finally.. its here. but the price still too expensive..

• Honda Civic Hybrid on Aug 04, 2009 at 10:29 pm

OMG so expensive, i rather buy Civic Hybrid which only costs RM130K, RM45K lesser than Prius in which i can use the RM45K for maintenance and for petrol costs that i think will last me for 10 good years…..UMW, if u want to make Prius a big thing here, sell it at ard RM130K or below…a Honda Accord 2.0VTL only costs RM145K….still got extra RM30K for 4 years of maintanence and petrol

• kanabalize on Aug 04, 2009 at 10:29 pm

What i am furious about is the fact that they threat us with lousy options….

• Honda Civic Hybrid on Aug 04, 2009 at 10:34 pm

just ask Honda Malaysia, what is the sales like when Civic Hybrid was priced at RM170K? and what is the sales like when the price reduced to RM130K??

UMW should learn from here but if they can manage to sell all the 100 allocated units, i really salute the 100 owners.

patiently waiting for Honda Insight to arrive on our shore…hope no surprise surprise from Honda Malaysia as what we are getting from UMW Toyota

• The main purpose of hybrid car is to reduce carbon emission and to save the environment. However, the hybrid car can also achieve a greater fuel economy. These features make a hybrid vehicle particularly efficient for city traffic where there are frequent stops, coasting and idling periods.

• MycarMylife on Aug 04, 2009 at 10:39 pm

Good show UMW Toyota but not good enough, please have more sense than sens in your brain, what's with going green and saving the world's environment when we have to pay Rm175k against the actual REAL price of the car at RM 90k !!!

Remember these 'Prius' are nothing more than the normal taxis in Vancouver,Canada and shit here you want us to pay an arm and a leg for it.

Common man be real , I will continue using my big guzzling Volvo and pollute the world as it would be still cheaper. How about it Toyoda san?

Nedan ga chotto taihen takakute , warui kuuki demo kamaimasen.??

• 1st the G must open the auto market as our auto ind., is already dead!! to late to recover & there is nothing to protect… exp "the" pockets to fill.

• howitzer on Aug 04, 2009 at 11:07 pm

cmon G.. you should give subsidy to this kind of car, instead they taxing it… damn.. where is your rakyat didahulukan?

• Paul Tan on Aug 04, 2009 at 11:11 pm

I did not leave out the specs. At the end of the story I mentioned that for more details on the car you can read our previous coverage and drive report.

• David on Aug 04, 2009 at 11:19 pm

It's just too expensive for the Malaysian market. No matter how much i like it, it's under-specced as well. Might as well get the Civic hybrid, or, even better, be a petrolhead and buy myself a Accord, or even a Golf GTI.

• lambov12 on Aug 04, 2009 at 11:20 pm

very expensive lor …

• Littlefire on Aug 04, 2009 at 11:23 pm

I think maybe coz of the Proton EVE project coming in… If not, why Langkawi/Labuan price still cheap? Or the AP price add on it or UMW want to untung more? Welcome to boleh land…

• carsut on Aug 04, 2009 at 11:39 pm

better buy M3 rather than this..

• If not mistaken i read before there is a tax reduction because of the enviroment friendly but the way they price here too much ! byebye toyota ! I'm buying other car !

• oh my on Aug 04, 2009 at 11:42 pm

crazy ass expensive.. stupidest pricing ever..

• epal10 on Aug 04, 2009 at 11:45 pm

still expensive..very expensive…quite expensive…all expensive :-(. After rebate/tax structure for hybrid car, it is still RM175K… Toyota in Malaysia like medium-luxury car already..huhu

• Cicak on Aug 04, 2009 at 11:51 pm

waah.. RM 175k? want to buy..but don't have money lorr… if rm75k maybe ok lor.. RM175k can get 2 Exora already… or 1 wxora + 1 low cost house…

aiyohh.. miskin like me people just can comment.. hehe..

• Cicak on Aug 04, 2009 at 11:53 pm

howitzer said,

August 4, 2009 @ 3:07 pm

cmon G.. you should give subsidy to this kind of car, instead they taxing it… damn.. where is your rakyat didahulukan?

nothing relate to G lah bro.. Tax policy is policy.. other country also have..

dont have money u bash G? hahaha.. ask Toyota to reduce the price lor..

• xavier lert on Aug 04, 2009 at 11:56 pm

i think most of u might remember this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ydvAQ6Y49vc

• kimi_ on Aug 05, 2009 at 12:18 am

damn expensive…..

this is because the ridiculous TAX implemented by BN government !!!!!!!!!

• Anonymous on Aug 05, 2009 at 12:20 am

Save environment? Naah, Malaysian don't care.

U buy Prius, then drive in KL. U just only a tiny piece of crap among those smoke-blower express bus, rapidKL, Metro bus, etc.

Poor country.

• P2_permanent_basher on Aug 05, 2009 at 12:27 am

paul, sorry. my mistake. :)

• Babelon on Aug 05, 2009 at 12:33 am

obviously T brand is overcharging all of us. Not only Prius, but all models that carry "T" brand! Who can we blame?

• P2_permanent_basher on Aug 05, 2009 at 12:35 am

Guys view this video!!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AH8kHOW4gAI

Hehe, i lost my eyeballs after i saw this!

• biggie on Aug 05, 2009 at 12:42 am

is the tax for luxury cars already reduced?

I thought luxury cars are taxed at 300%. From the pricing the cars are taxed at 50% only?

As they are no tax in Langkawi+Labuan then the one who making all the money is Toyota.

• WTF? RM 175k for budget model? No way! Might as well take the Civic Hybrid and save RM 50k for other add-ons.

• Tiadaid on Aug 05, 2009 at 12:52 am

Hybrid in the hands of Malaysians will make no difference. Malaysians have a lead right foot.

• nighttrain on Aug 05, 2009 at 12:58 am

Really not helping. No matter what Johan says I agree with the majority. The Govt and Toyota is putting this car out only as window dressing. They have no intention if getting this car sold… There is no intention to save the environment. No intention to save the planet. The real culprits who have damaged the planet are the developed countries. Let their citizens buy hybrids and EVs and restore the world. There is no need for us to participate because we are not responsible for the state of pollution of the planet. That's why they're selling this car at an unaffordable price. 2012. Wait for it.

• mitlanevo on Aug 05, 2009 at 1:02 am

nice car landed on wrong LAND…

175k can save earth, my ass….

only can burn my pocket….

rather get a 2.4 camry or accord…..

• R0NaLD0 on Aug 05, 2009 at 1:03 am

I hope those UMW top executive will come in here to take a look at the public feedback on their insanely overprice car.!!!! i think they wont even sell 10 car in a year…..

• anybody rajin to calculate other cars differences between langkawi n main land? see what's the percentage. if the diff percentage is the same, then the tax exemption thingy is missing here, i think. then we can bash T, or otherwise, lets bash BN.. where we can bash p1, p2..and lot more things.

bashing can be addicted.

• less than 10 la..lol

• please la don't bring lan jiao rubbish here.

• intermilan on Aug 05, 2009 at 1:31 am

This is definitely the lowest-grade Prius that we are getting from Toyota.

Without tax, it is sold for ~RM128K in Labuan & Langkawi. With tax RM175K. So the taxes are amounted to ~RM47K (~37% from RM128K).

Looking at Prius in the US, it cost started at USD 22K (with tax?).

At exchange rate of 3.56, it cost RM78K in the US (and that was already plus tax if any).

Even if the variants that we got here is "sold" (if available) in the US for USD 24K, it is still just ~RM85.44K. And that already taken into account the tax (if any) and profits.

But most likely, the one that we are getting here is the USD 22K variants.

Look like Toyota M'sia tapau extra $$ for at least something in the region of (RM128K – 85.44K) RM 43,000 from each Prius sold in M'sia (excluding the duty-free island). imagine if the calculation is RM128K – RM78K = RM50K.

On top of the profit margin they should enjoy (assuming its comparable with Toyota US), they gasak another RM43K / RM50K per vehicle? WOW! They really know / sure that M'sian is a pure sucker when it come to their brand.

This environment, save the earth agenda is truely a gold pot / tremendous excuse for them to create a new super lucrative market.

For that much profit, do you really believe they care about the environment??

Gimme a break!

Unless if that big hidden profit i.e. RM43K or RM50K is the cost for the AP for each of them. But that just sound very unlikely.

• jus do ur math, not worth it at all.

• nabil on Aug 05, 2009 at 1:57 am

if u get those modern bmw/merc diesel engines , thy are more frugal than hybrids thats for sure…if saving petrol is really wat u looking for . plus those modern diesels give u ALOT more power n torque ….i can see those wannabe's getting this car as if they are enviromentally conscious n all that…bt u wanna save petrol beter get a diesel….

no matter how u work out the price for this car…it jus doesnt make sence

• shoryuken on Aug 05, 2009 at 2:07 am

The target, 100unit= 43K x 100unit = 4,300K, so this 4.3million goes into whose pocket? maybe that is the license to bring Prius in. So its back to the consumer. Imagine on earth day to switch off 1 hour exercise, the next day the newspaper make a statement saying TNB lost xxx billion because of that. Totally shows how the G support on green.

The youtube is marvelous comparing Pruis and M3 is cool! Forget it Toyo company, ur Prius will just remain a marketing tool as oppose to putting it on the road.

Msian consumer has been abused by controlled resource item for years, since the G mind set is no open enough to accept the world challenge, so monopolized item to earn $$ is the simply way, from the petrol, to car, to many item in Malaysia, where a lower income people of us compare to other country needs to pay more. Singapore car is more expensive, but their income is much higher! especially if u compare RM1-S$1, then the car is more affordable.

• shoryuken on Aug 05, 2009 at 2:10 am

Even if our petrol double to RM3.6 per Liter, my monthly pump e.g increase from 300->600. That is additional 300 per month, x 12 = 3,600/year extra, for 10 years, its only 36,000/extra i pay, as compare to the over price we pay in the car.

• Anonymous on Aug 05, 2009 at 2:11 am

Gee, I don't understand most posts here. "tapau", "aiyo", "lor"???

• seperlinky on Aug 05, 2009 at 2:15 am

Spend RM170k to save the earth. This is not encouraging

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 05, 2009 at 2:16 am

Get a turbodiesel. Problem solved.

• K Tan on Aug 05, 2009 at 2:26 am

A car suitable for gays and those metrosexual wanna be… lol

• anderson on Aug 05, 2009 at 2:42 am

Hahaha… very true! I agree with Johan.

– Johan said,

August 4, 2009 @ 7:47 am

Funny, you guys don’t think its overprice when you buy a 7k VIAO notebook, its not overprice to buy a 3k iphone or 2k ipod, its not even overprice to pay for a 15buck coffee at Starbucks. So you are all suckers when you take your girlfriends….

• It pays to be a fake tree hugger. Forget it. Get a diesel, NGV tank, cycle, walk or stay at home…People who know cars often laugh at Prius drivers

• scottloeb on Aug 05, 2009 at 3:02 am

intermilan,

Although i dont like Jose Mourinho, I support you on this. Your observations prove that there are still future for Malaysian. Bashing the gomen without realising UMWT is laughing all the way to the bank. The standard excuse by these Sejati Motor will be setup of service centres/intelligent testers, parts inventory and manpower training besides low volume estimated.

I really hope Honda Malaysia could bring Insight here at cheaper price (already 20% cheaper than Prius in the States) and with potential higher volume they can suck more money by parts sales (oops, bad advise i guess!)

• Rulered on Aug 05, 2009 at 3:12 am

Get yourselves a high end ultra light bicycle, I promise it's waaaaay cheaper and earth friendly, and it'll reduce your tummy bulge too. The girls will be impressed.

• SY0H (Member) on Aug 05, 2009 at 3:13 am

I'll take my chance with Fusion Technology. Unlimited energy! Only that, I don't know what might happened if accident. A mini black hole perhaps? I leave that astrophysics stuffs to the crazy scientist. :X

• mystvearn on Aug 05, 2009 at 3:36 am

Nice car, but malaysia will not have a green tax structure to support it. If it did, Proton will go bust years ago. Not a lot of people will shel out that money, considering you can get a high end accord, camry or Mazda6 for that amount of money.

• bmpower on Aug 05, 2009 at 4:14 am

to johan :

Vaio – no thanks.. i take HP or Dell instead. Not overpriced and good.

ipod, phone, imac – not only stylish.. small but it got performance too.

starbuck – erm…. the taste?

but this Prius got what?

Ugly, not so hi tech, ugly and fugly, add more main fact = overpriced!.

Chicks attraction? hahaha… that was joke of the year!.

Chicks more attracted to Lancer GT, Evo, Gold GTI, Imprezza, even Latio with impul's bodykit. (some of it .. far away cheaper than this fugly prius)

not this ugly out of the world Prius!…

saving the world?

use bicycle that's it!.

public transport? hell not.. they are not 'time efficient' at all in Malaysia!

• lan87 on Aug 05, 2009 at 4:19 am

some ppl dont seem to mind paying sooo much money for overpriced items…

maybe they are super rich….

i still think it is overpriced…

if around rm100k-120k its okay…

new technology doesn't mean it is suppose to be very expensive…

new technology just means that we can find other ways to find a better and cheaper to innovate…

even the Japanese with their superb technologies doesn't sell things that expensive…

where are all the profits going?

u hav to wonder…

• solarcar on Aug 05, 2009 at 4:29 am

please save the planet and please also save our pockets…i won't get the admiring looks with this car.

• munky on Aug 05, 2009 at 4:38 am

that's why i dont really like Toyota. Honda > Toyota (excluding Lexus)

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 05, 2009 at 4:49 am

Drive a turbodiesel. Problem solved.

• Edward on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:00 am

I tot saving the environment should be cheap…. come on.. it is the mother earth we are talking about over here…

UMW, congrats… another taken for granted pricing….even though it is CBUed in Japan…

with that price, i got better option such as: Volvo S40, Peugeot 407 luxury (with 30k more to spare), Alfa 159 etc.. all are conti car somemore….

• kimi_ on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:05 am

This is not worth at all….

I will opt to buy a honda CITY and remaining for house loan :)

• unknown on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:12 am

haiyah… too expensive…

• tunomura on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:24 am

Truly said this car is not for sale…even clever environmentalist don't buy this car, they just using bicycle or segway..this car only pack up the junk yard…@!*(&*^% UMW!!!

• xiaowuya on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:42 am

It is clear that UMX is a blood sucker

• stanley9394 on Aug 05, 2009 at 6:11 am

can the GAMEN spare a thought for the environment n quit taxing at least for new technology(s) that help mother nature… everything is about money.but money can't buy mother nature…

i think we malaysian have to wait till our very OWN notorious POTONG..ops…PROTON finally invent some dunno blue,black or GREEN tech so we malaysian can buy cheaper hybrid car…i say 30 years?? maybe then toyota's will be using water or just THIN AIR already…

sigh.. poor malaysian have to endure SMOKE,hotter temperature for at least 30 more years….

GAMEN is willing to have money(TAX) in exchange of better ENVIRONMENT…such a good GAMEN we have here…congrats to those who voted for current GAMEN

• Budak IRB said on Aug 05, 2009 at 6:11 am

Toyota more bloody sucker than our government…..better government dont allow this super rubbish car inside Malaysia…Toyota just took our money not for our country but Japan!!!! …

So lu pikir la sendiri….Vote now to impose more tax for TOYOTA or which company want to make our Malaysian company collapse ……….. is good Vote New Government ops!!!! old government…Lets people think independently.

But rhetoric Prius already conquer Malaysian mind…hypocrite slogan..from Toyota….Prius…JUST business strategy….Not new technology this technology already obsolete….

• stanley9394 on Aug 05, 2009 at 6:15 am

congrats to those who voted for current bloodsucking GAMEN, PLS wait for POTONG…oppss…PrOtOn to invent some Half Blue,SUku Green, Little bit RED technology to enjoy the benefits of HYBRID engine…maybe wait for 30 years???

Gamen can save on FUEL subsidy instead of taxing this car… SHOULD have think long term benefits instead of MONEY…mother nature can't be bought with money…

• PROTON BASHERS on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:05 am

at least its better than a proton

• Bugatti on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:12 am

whats wrong with driving a prius?

• lan87 on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:22 am

nothing wrong with the prius…

although insight is so much better looking…

only the price tag is very high…

if they want too support our environment, better sell it cheap so that ppl can actually afford it, thus more ppl use it = less pollution…

but noooo….

they are still trying to make the biggest profit they can…

what's wrong with a little profit if u can get the satisfaction from saving the earth…

*doink*

• Black Dog on Aug 05, 2009 at 9:47 am

The Top Gear comparison is very misleading.

If you take a Myvi and push up to 150km/hr, the FC also more than M3! Because small cc cars are tuned for slower speed driving. At that speed, the Prius petrol engine will be highly stressed while the electric motor is hardly useful!

Hybrids and lower cc cars are meant for slow and steady speed driving.

Yes true, hybrids still have many downsides, so does most new technologies which take time to improve.

I think Top Gear guys are very harsh critics. Just check out their websites and see the points they give to all types of cars. Even for the best ultra luxurious and high end cars is still not good enough for them!! There's just nothing worth buying!

• this 175k prius is so outdated and overpriced la….new technology is using lithium-ion batteries…not stone age NiMH.

although the G imposes stupid Tax rates….if you use your brains abit and calculate you will find out that the true bloodsucking snake is UMW. sucking around 40 – 50k pure profit per car.

toyota cars are super overpriced here…one day price will surely overtake merc/bmw/audi and still will have sohais buying.

• youhoo on Aug 05, 2009 at 10:25 am

how to save the planet when we still have this

kampung mentality of sweeping leaves and practising open burning

every evenings!!!

There are rules but no one bothers.

how abt removing the catalytic convertors?.

might as well not install it in the first place.

Our govt hd better come up with a green energy policy.

w/o it car manufacturers will never change.

• terrible price, this only prove toyota is sucking all yr silly money in all the cars they sell, which are overpriced…many ways to save the earth, just control the open burning every year will safe the earth alot…hazy every day, shit goment

• Calvin Foo on Aug 05, 2009 at 11:22 am

If I got RM175k to buy a Toyota Prius, I rather spend RM130k a Honda Civic Hybrid, and save myself RM45k as petrol cost for the next 10 years. and Honda Civic design look much better than the Toyota Prius.

Then, if I got RM130k to buy a Honda Hybrid, to save petrol now but have to spend HUGE amount of bill on replacing the battery later, then I rather buy a Honda Civic 2.0, at least I don't have to a huge bill waiting for me to settle in the future. To hell with eco-friendly if my mind say yes, but my pocket say no.

• Calvin Foo on Aug 05, 2009 at 11:34 am

Johan,

You are wrong. I DO think VIAO is overpriced. I support Dell, with competitive price, on site support, and Next Business Day service, beats the hell out any competitor can't offer NBD solution.

and I DO think Apple is overpriced with its iPhone and iPod, or even iMac

and I DO think Prius is over-priced as it is not ecomonically justifiable yet, as the idea of Hybrid is to save fuel and save money. Prius Hybrid, save fuel – yes, but spend EVEN MORE MONEY.

Prius doesn't attact chicks. It is very uncle-ish. Honda Civic does attact chicks.

• taboogen on Aug 05, 2009 at 12:46 pm

I saw this car already even before it is lauched at giant kota damasara.. with perak plate number

• stephenstreets on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:15 pm

Its an overpriced piece of crapt.And it will cost more in maintaining it. You want to save the world, take public transport or even better just carpool with some one.

RM175K is a lot of money …. I could get an accord, camry, selphy(not that i would want one cause its just but ugly),city,civic,lancer,maxda 6, volvo s40,s60 ,mercedes c class, bmw 3 series,1 series, and the list goes on and on…

Whoever who can afford this car , toyota wishes thanks to you for fulfilling their 100 quota.

Only in malaysia where the people get to buy an unsafe death machine viva lite with only an engine and 4 doors tied together and

only in malaysia can we save the world by buying an outdated overpriced car with an eco friendly(whatever it may mean to toyota) engine.

Its just too pricey…

• Leslie Boon on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:19 pm

The world most reputation hybrid finally arrived , But the price too expensive , Better stick to rm 120.000.00 .

• jamsbong on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:34 pm

Prius is a status symbol. Not a bargain basement product. To buy a Prius tells people that you are RICH, and you CARE the for environment.

You people have a wrong mentality thinking that the Prius will save you money and clean the environment at the same time.

• Tiadaid on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:48 pm

stanley9394 said,

August 4, 2009 @ 10:15 pm

congrats to those who voted for current bloodsucking GAMEN, PLS wait for POTONG…oppss…PrOtOn to invent some Half Blue,SUku Green, Little bit RED technology to enjoy the benefits of HYBRID engine…maybe wait for 30 years???

Gamen can save on FUEL subsidy instead of taxing this car… SHOULD have think long term benefits instead of MONEY…mother nature can’t be bought with money…

—————————————————–

It's not the GAMEN's fault that TOYOTA declared the car's price to be 128K, when CLEARLY it's only 80K! TOYOTA sucking u dry u don't complain. GAMEN tax the car so the money can be used to subsidise other things u complain!

• p1basher on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:49 pm

175k? spend so much money to save the world while we can spend little money (get ngv or CYCLING!!), your choice.

• Tiadaid on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:54 pm

stanley9394 said,

August 4, 2009 @ 10:11 pm

can the GAMEN spare a thought for the environment n quit taxing at least for new technology(s) that help mother nature… everything is about money.but money can’t buy mother nature…

i think we malaysian have to wait till our very OWN notorious POTONG..ops…PROTON finally invent some dunno blue,black or GREEN tech so we malaysian can buy cheaper hybrid car…i say 30 years?? maybe then toyota’s will be using water or just THIN AIR already…

sigh.. poor malaysian have to endure SMOKE,hotter temperature for at least 30 more years….

GAMEN is willing to have money(TAX) in exchange of better ENVIRONMENT…such a good GAMEN we have here…congrats to those who voted for current GAMEN

—————————————————–

Why blame the government when in fact you should have blamed Toyota. They're taking about 40K profit with each Prius sold in Malaysia. They declared the car value to be 128K when it's actually valued at 80K, so tax is higher! Besides, in the long term the Prius does more damage to the Earth, since the raw materials for the battery are shipped from Canada to China where they are smelted which are then sent by ship to Japan for assembly, after which the car is shipped here for sale. 3 SHIPS! How many damage do you think it has done to the earth?

• intermilan on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:57 pm

Prius Hybrid RM175,000.

Fuel consumption (manufacturer claim in Toyota US website):

48mpg = 20.4km/L = 4.9L/100km.

Naza 206 Bestari RM68,888 (now with promotion only RM44 nett).

Fuel consumption (basec on Asian Auto/Bosch Fuel Efficiency Award 2008 result):

16.95km/L = 5.9L/100km.

The difference in both car price is RM175K – RM44K = a staggering RM131K!

The Prius save 1L or RM2 (assuming it RM2 per liter) per 100km compared to the 206 Bestari.

Therefore to make the cost of buying a Prius to breakeven against the 206 Bestari, Prius owner need to travel an extra mind-blowing 6.55 million km than the 206 Bestari!

So if the 206 Bestari mileage is 150,000km, the Prius need to make 6.55 +0.15 = 6.7 million km. Great isn't it?

Memang hebat dan bijak la Toyota ni punya marketing …

The number will be even crazier if we compare the oh!-i'm so-green Prius with the likes of Viva or i10 (A-segment car).

Even comparing it with the petrol-powered Honda Civic 1.8 which is RM60K cheaper and consumed 'just' 6.9L/100km, i.e. consume 2L / RM4 more fuel per 100km will reveal that the Prius need to travel 1.5 million KM more to breakeven.

Berapa kali do you need to keliling the Earth to achieve 6,700,000 km or even 1.5 mil km?

Can Prius mileage counter even cater for that number?

How long do you need to travel that far? 50 years?

How far is the Moon from the Earth? Or the Sun for that matter?

Such non-sense to 'save' the Earth huh?

• Nicholas Liew on Aug 05, 2009 at 5:58 pm

ONE CONCLUSION IS : Want to safe the earth.. hand the job to RICH ppl.. Want to go for ECO Frenly … Hand the job to rich ppl…. cause our government not support normal earning ppl to safe the earth… so please don't say that we don't want to safe the earth.. world peace V

• rexis on Aug 05, 2009 at 6:32 pm

As I said, emission reduction is crap, I aim to cut it all.

• auto-junkie-but-not- on Aug 05, 2009 at 6:44 pm

expensive it may be, it definitely gets your attention.

in malaysia where cars = status symbol, it is definitely one of the bang-for-your-buck in the 'Stares & Attention' count.

next cheapest stare magnet is an Alfa 159…

i dont think there is anymore stare-magnet below rm200k apart from these 2.

ooh..a fully kitted mazda6 in white…

• SexyThang on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:15 pm

a 20 dollar hooker is also bang-for-your-buck wat…who needs a prius or a stupidly named Bestari.

world peace

• Jian L on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:21 pm

It's a nice car but better go for Honda Civic Hybrid

• dzulx on Aug 05, 2009 at 7:39 pm

Dear Nicholas Liew,

IMHO your opinion is immature.

Plenty of ways to safe the earth regardless of ur financial.

If u can't afford the prius .. you can at least do ur part..

Have u put any effort to reduce emission by reduce ur car's idling time at least?? or lowered ur air cond? Heck even check ur tire pressure regularly can contribute a lot.

Dont u think that u just want to take easiest way by blaming gov for what u neglected to do? Or maybe u dont even care about the environment and simply hate the gov?

Several simple things u can do without intervention of gov or other people.

1. Set ur aircond to 28 29 degree in ur car or in ur home. Or heck u can even switch it off and use fan.

2. Use ur own bag for groceries instead of plastic.

3. Walk to the shop.

4. Switch off unnecessarily lights..

5. Save water..

6. Recycle paper…

7. Switch of ur comp monitor

8. and as somebody mentioned… cycle to places..

etc etc….

These things doesnt cost anything.. In fact u can save ur money.

Now tell me do u still need the prius to put some efforts to save the earth??

Please dont simply blame gov for ur misfortune…or should I say ur inability to be luxurious….

• Jimmy on Aug 05, 2009 at 8:42 pm

EVEN WITH A PRICE TAG OF RM120K, UMW STILL MAKES SIGNIFICANT PROFIT. INI KERETA POTONG-LEHER LAH. TYPICAL OF TOYOTA. JUST LOOK AT THE EARLIEST INNOVA (WITH ONE AIRBAG AT RM 104K) AND THEIR TIN-KOSONG TOYOTA CAMRY.

• kimi_ on Aug 05, 2009 at 8:45 pm

Dear dzulx ,

hey, i dont agree with your "inability to be luxurious"…

All of us deserved it if the G policy is fair and not to say the NEP etc…

• Jimmy on Aug 05, 2009 at 8:52 pm

POTONG LEHER LAH. CAN BE SOLD BELOW RM 120K LAH. TAMAK AJE. BUT BANYAK ORANG BODOH DAN FOLLOW BUTA-BUTA BELI TOYOTA. BELI MEJA BESI TAHAN KARAT DENGAN RM5000 ????? YES MAY BE TAHAN BUT WORTH THE PRICE????? TENGOK THE TIN-KOSONG CAMRY AND INNOVA.

• Jimmy on Aug 05, 2009 at 8:53 pm

POTONG LEHER LAH. CAN BE SOLD BELOW RM 120K LAH. TAMAK AJE. BUT BANYAK ORANG BODOH DAN FOLLOW BUTA-BUTA BELI TOYOTA. BELI MEJA BESI TAHAN KARAT DENGAN RM5000 ????? YES MAY BE TAHAN BUT WORTH THE PRICE????? TENGOK THE TIN-KOSONG CAMRY AND INNOVA.

• Tom_said on Aug 05, 2009 at 9:33 pm

if u all think this rm175k is expensive ? u all definetely poor, dont blame G, blame ur self !! so ? jus hard work !!

• malaysian on Aug 05, 2009 at 11:28 pm

Totally agree with Johan….malaysian tend to talk too much before they think….

Malaysia needs new law on green energy..before this cars will get cheaper…or wait for proton to make a AA battery car for us…

• roti naan1 on Aug 05, 2009 at 11:54 pm

kakakkakakaahahaha….this car is only for rich tree huggers…

I think you can hardly see 1 car in a month in our road, much less in the rural area.

Good luck toyota with the sales. For the G, no thanks to you, all the prices of cars are screwed and the rakyat oso screwed. Well Done!

• mufasa on Aug 06, 2009 at 12:20 am

-i see this motto at malaysian at paultan: i live in malaysia, and i all car become cheapest in da world.

-guys, if car in malaysia cheaper, i think property price will be increase, as expensive in spore and mumbai/delhi… and it make ur next generation poorer. Car is the way malaysian gov collect tax to person who willing to spend.Is that fair to put tax to people who only buy local car?

-dont like gov? so put it in ur vote, we did on Feb08 , and it give us some positive result at least.

– so to me, being rich malaysian, and being eco frendly via car is stupid! haha…

• No matter how you complaint, Toyota still sell :D

• wochomi on Aug 06, 2009 at 1:31 am

This is a really good example of how our GOMEN Cakap Tak Serupa Pikin…. Environment this environment that, take away my Tesco shopping bag, Ikea also same (RM1.90 at least it is big)… then pull a big TAX on this hybrid instead of forcing a discount on Toyota….. as if Hybrid pollutes lesser. Pi lah… just like how Dr M put it… 'don't expect cheaper cars with AFTA (dunno got or not also) because there will be other new TAXES being implemented'…. in other words LPPL (lampa-pak-lan)

• Nakal on Aug 06, 2009 at 1:33 am

so, who do you think caused the crazy RM175k?

1) BN Govt

2) UMW

3) Toyota

4) All above

pls vote!!

• Javanese (Member) on Aug 06, 2009 at 1:53 am

RM175k and you only got a 15" wheel with plastic hubcaps?!!! Is this a japanese idea of a joke?

I wonder how much Lexus will be charging their new hybrids when it'll be on sale here, RM400k?!! Will you get plastic hudcaps with that too?

• sdn bhd on Aug 06, 2009 at 2:31 am

Why blame UMW for the high price?

In UK its 18K pounds and Aust. AU$40K

So where did the figure of RM$80K come from?

Do the maths & see where the diff in $$ goes to.

We shd be a priviledge lot cos the tech has reached us so soon.

instead we complain …what an ungrateful lot.

• melayu on Aug 06, 2009 at 3:49 am

you shit hole sdn bhd!! what the fuck are you talking about??

We are forced to pay for the extraordinary tax because of the ***king proton!! and yet you are supporting corruptions??? R U out of your mind???

• mufasa on Aug 06, 2009 at 4:29 am

i am waiting for honda C70 AA batery

• p2_permanent_basher on Aug 06, 2009 at 5:04 am

Black Dog,

I think Top Gear guys are very harsh critics. Just check out their websites and see the points they give to all types of cars. Even for the best ultra luxurious and high end cars is still not good enough for them!! There’s just nothing worth buying!

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/08/04/rm175k-toy…
    ——–

Actually not, Take for an instance a porshe 911 gets a 18/20 which is a very high score. Also a Ferrari 599 gets a 19/20.

Reality Check here…there isn't a car which doesn't have a flaw. Take for example, a Supercar like ferrari with 4.X litter, it is very fast, but is it fuel economical + cheap pricetag? NO.

Then lets compare a car review that only writes all good points about a car compared to one that points out the good and bad points of a car.

Which one will you choose?

As a conscious buyer of course the more info you have, the better the decision you make…

• as long as P1 exist, wat can we expect…

• p2_permanent_basher on Aug 06, 2009 at 5:15 am

Tom_said said,

August 5, 2009 @ 1:33 pm

if u all think this rm175k is expensive ? u all definetely poor, dont blame G, blame ur self !! so ? jus hard work !!

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/08/04/rm175k-toy…

——————–

U BN supporter?

I don't trust the G still. After working hard and buying this expensive car, what happen to the tax money? I would want my hard earn taxed money not going into some corrupted dato's pocket and saving something that is hopeless…

• Nakal on Aug 06, 2009 at 3:56 pm

rav said,

August 5, 2009 @ 9:09 pm

as long as P1 exist, wat can we expect…

as long as you exist (or anyone like you)…P1 & our country will never/slowly improve…

wat can we expect….

• bmpower on Aug 06, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Nakal said,

August 6, 2009 @ 7:56 am

rav said,

August 5, 2009 @ 9:09 pm

as long as P1 exist, wat can we expect…

as long as you exist (or anyone like you)…P1 & our country will never/slowly improve…

wat can we expect….

++++

I second that..

some people are really 3x economic blind.

no wonder they cheated by japanese.

• stupid junk car!

• Cik Senah on Aug 06, 2009 at 6:39 pm

Oiiiii cmon la u guys…. kalu u mau jadi kaya, u kena la mark up harga tinggi2…. baru boley untung besar maaa. nanti bila buat presentation slides, u boley tunjuk itu carta graf ada meningkat maaa….then baru u boley dapat bonus 5 bulan maaa.

kalu i jual 3 pieces karipupp for rm10, sure ada orang beli juga maaa….i boley tipu cakap my inti karipup made from organic veggies bla bla bla.

even if UMW puts a rm200k price tag, some rich dato' datin will surely buy it maa. jangan harap itu UMW n Honda Msia akan kasi turun harga kereta jika P1 tutup or AFTA berkuat kuasa.

• roti naan1 on Aug 06, 2009 at 9:39 pm

siapa ada duit, boleh la beli prius. Saya tak halang.

Duit you yg punya, ikut hati you sendiri.

Tapi, jangan guna duit haram, duit tak halal…Nanti mati dlm accident dlm keadaan negri.

• Too expensive or it is just a normal price in M'sia?

• I would said it is just like normal price as similar as other Japanese Model.

Take an example the market in Taiwan, Honda Civic 2.0 sold in Taiwan around NTP829k (almost RM82.9k). But in M'sia, Honda sold 2.0 Civic at price around RM129k which is RM46k higher than Taiwan.

Brand new Prius sold in Taiwan was NTP1,290k (almost RM129k) where Malaysia sold approximately at RM175k. The gap between 2 countries for the same car was RM46k which is almost the same as Civic case.

For those who always think Toyota makes lots of profit, you should work out how they earn. Toyota produce car where people afford to buy while the car is drive for long duration and less maintenance cost.

Simple math, Toyota sell cheaper and earn lesser however due to huge amount of units it sold where it comes with huge profit. The MAIN REASON foregin automakers sell expensive in M'sia was HUGE IMPORT TAXES, NOT HUGE PROFIT.

BTW I am not Toyota hard core supporter but I tell the truth only.

• Overprice, did Honda Civic overprice…

If anyone of you feel Civic was nto overprice then Prius did not overprice either.

Civic 2.0 Sold in Taiwan at NTP829k (almot RM82.9) but Malaysia sold at RM129k where gap of RM46k.

Prius 1.8 sold in Taiwan at NTP1.29m (almost RM129k) where M'sia estimated sold at RM175k and the gap also RM46k.

So simple calculation, did Prius overprice against Civic… Toyota is not making huge profit per unit whereas they sell cheaper but in huge quantities. We buy expensive foreigner cars due to the 'IMPORT TAX', not because of the huge profit they earn.

• why care so much for a car if true you are a nature lover?

• To Javanese,

The Prius comes with 15" lightweight alloys. The plastic hubcaps are there to make it more aerodynamic creates less drag, while maintaining the light unsprung mass. If they were to make the whole alloy aerodynamic, that would weight alot, and defeats the purpose of making the wheels more aerodynamic in the first place.

• Generally, cars in Malaysia is overpriced…

More so to this expensive Prius, 'expensive' means one spend more than the actual value of one product. That is expensive,… Prius is certainly not luxurious.

Both cars is directly import from Japan, what it has to do with Taiwan or USA or any part of the world? Why not convert from currency of Timbaktu? The price quoted already inclusive of taxes and 'profit'.

Tax structure for CBU 1.3 litre & 1.8litre does not defer that much. 35% difference in this case, remember both car is at best, in similar price bracket in Japan, if that is not Profit to UMW Toyota, then perhaps all Malaysian accountants should just work in Japan for accounting skill transfer.

There maybe duration to the Hybrid tax structure introduced year ago, but why bring in this model when they were no incentive or whatsoever benefit to the brand. What is the point of commitment for bring in this product when it is so expensive?

• The pricing is really indeed interesting , i thought government did reduce tax in hybrid …
    http://www.yycadvisors.com/malaysia-budget-2009.h…

Franchise holder of hybrid cars given 100% import duty and 50% excise duty exemptions on new CBU hybrid cars

For honda civic hybrid is selling at 97,887.80 in langkawi , in US , it sell for

$23,650 – $26,850

For Toyota prius , they sell at RM 127,408.45 but in US they sell for $22,000 – $27,270 ..

hmm.. either UMW are launching the high spec version or they just simply rip us off …

• i think u guys all r wrong about cars attracting gals. they r just mere indicator or symbol. the culprit is RM…

• Tiadaid on Aug 08, 2009 at 12:10 am

Sky said,

August 6, 2009 @ 2:21 pm

Overprice, did Honda Civic overprice…

If anyone of you feel Civic was nto overprice then Prius did not overprice either.

Civic 2.0 Sold in Taiwan at NTP829k (almot RM82.9) but Malaysia sold at RM129k where gap of RM46k.

Prius 1.8 sold in Taiwan at NTP1.29m (almost RM129k) where M’sia estimated sold at RM175k and the gap also RM46k.

So simple calculation, did Prius overprice against Civic… Toyota is not making huge profit per unit whereas they sell cheaper but in huge quantities. We buy expensive foreigner cars due to the ‘IMPORT TAX’, not because of the huge profit they earn.

——————————

Sky, is the price in Taiwan including tax or not? If not, where can compare with the taxed price. You should have compared the price for Labuan/Langkawi, since it's taxless. Besides, if you want to compare comparisons have been made between Malaysia and the US, where the Prius was sold for RM80K+ in the US, while Malaysians in Labuan & Langkawi would have to pay RM127K for the same car. There's a RM40k gap between the two, which does not go into the tax, mind you.

• firefox on Aug 08, 2009 at 1:40 am

ai, what to do, unless our gov take out the tax for automobil totally,

this topic already discuss N years ago, still don't have any action, so nowday everybody just go guan-ni-ma .com and pray pray, hope this day will come soon…

• helmi on Aug 08, 2009 at 5:14 am

UMW, this bloody name is symnonious with blood sucking, overprice, profiteering & money face branding. Curse on you!

• helmi on Aug 08, 2009 at 9:50 am

UMWToyota, a synonimous branding with greedy & profiteering and bring a bad reputation of Toyota name.

• this car really expensive. dunno abt the technology. in singapore there selling it for more then 100K sing dollar and if convert to RM is more than 200k. so price in M'sia still cheaper but maybe the specs if diff. so dont blame anybody cause we can't afford this car

• Haiqel Indonese on Oct 26, 2009 at 9:43 pm

What prise Prius…..correct prise…what175Kwhat!!!!

• Haiqel Indonese on Oct 26, 2009 at 9:45 pm

Toyota Camry is very beautiful…but is streess….

• 175k?? to save earth or save who??

might as well i save that money and save my family first….crazy!!@@##

• seme cakap kosong meh, halega keleta manyak mahal wooo!! itu garment lagiiiiiiii banyak kosong cakap.. itu PM pigi sana copenhegeng, apa itu cakap pasal envilomental pun manyak tipu punya cakap, Garment talak tolong meh kasi kolang halega itu Toyo Peliurs Hyburit.., seme politik campur, cakap banyak tipu..talak guna punya olang, talak insentif langsung itu garment mau kasi kolang itu halega keleta, citttt, manyak tyipu…itu UMW toyota garment ada share meh, misti mau untung jual Toyo Peliurs hyburit, kasi itu halega tinggi tinggi mau manyak untung meh, itu lagi tax manyakkkkk tinggi wooo, lagi mahal halega la , bodo punya orang, pukimak la, celita sana pasal envilomental dekat sana dekat copenhegeng, mana ada garment mau tarok sikit insentif kasi ini keleta Toyo Peliurs Hyburit punya halega sikit mulah wooo, cittt!! babi punya olang!! semua cakap kosong , semua tipu aaaaa …..

• dr start lounching samapi skrg xnampak pon lg kete ni on the road..akakaaka

• toyota prius lover on Mar 17, 2010 at 9:56 pm

prius is my dream car and it STILL IS. since i tested the 1.8 litre hybrid engine car…. the car was awesome…i was unspeechless when iwas driving the car…. i thought the price was the same as the prius sold in america….(american basic prius like the 1 in malaysia $22,880 which is only RM 69,000) and then i said wht is this!!!!!the politics just sucks putting to high tax for imported cars like the prius and civic hybrid!!!! although the civic hybrids is getting higher when its price went zooming to RM166,700.

• toyota prius lover on Mar 17, 2010 at 10:09 pm

prius is my dream car and it still is!!!! In the united states te prius banyak murah!!!!!!! ($22,800 for the same basic mode sold in malaysia whichis only RM 69,000) i think in malaysia better buy prius for hybrid cars because the civic hybrid you get a 1.3 litre hybrid( same power like a 2.0 litre car) while prius is a 1.8 litre hybrid car…..(same power like 2.4 litre car!!!! if buy civic hybrid dpt Rm 166,220 and prius RM 175k WHAT?????? itu kerajaan kasi itu prius tax banyak !!!! but in johor ahru i alresdy saw 10 priuses on the road( mhl tk mhl or beli jugak untuk ec friendly enviroment car dan nk slamatkan ozon!! tp jeles tol org kat amerika ….dkt sume org dkt sana pki prius sebab murah!!!! terinin nk satu!!!!!! )

• toyota prius lover on Mar 17, 2010 at 10:12 pm

dpt thu toyota prius lg jimat minyak dr civic hybrid!!! prius guna 4.7 liter untuk 100 kilometer!!!! jimatnya!!!!

• Kerajaan Malaysia yg buatkan prius mahal.. undilah bn

• toyotapriuslover on May 30, 2010 at 8:32 pm

Guys..maybe you hate the Prius but i dont……it test drived one at the early year…it was a great car…loved buy japanese and americans…YOU KNOW WHAT!!!! then camry 2.4V same price with prius…the prius is already taxed lower….the camry is taxed higher…,cAMRY IS TAXED AT RM75.000….while the TOYOTA PRIUS IS TAXED AT RM50.000….what do you prefre …lower taxed or high tax..what do you want…the plar bears could die in global warming because of high emmissions from cars….what do you want…you can say what ever but the prius is alredy cheap…prius should be only about RM60k if with out impot costs from japan…goverment taxes and some untung to the umw…what do you think the high emission car or prius the green…ANSWER ME KNOW STUPIDS>>.>

• when u have a car industry that protects even the distributors and asembler, this is what u get, rent seeking price. UMW is owned by PNB. PNB belonged to the government .

• WhatFuelEfficient? on Jul 29, 2010 at 8:24 am

If the ‘tree-huggers’ R-E-A-L-L-Y care about trees, then they should walk the talk and buy a Perodua k-car instead.

Pity they don’t.

They only care about the image of the Prius being the car driven by DiCaprio and other Hollywood celebs…

• gua tak ada duit lu kasi rm50.000 pun saya tak ada pasal lu orang kaya bolih beli sy pakai sy punya basikal cukup laaah jimat jimat jimat