BMW says hello to an old friend, the Isetta

BMW Isetta

Could BMW’s new sub-brand for its electric cars be called the Isetta? There’s strong indication that it might be, considering that they’ve recently produced a promotional TV commercial that seems to seek to both introduce the old Isetta to the younger generation and to remind oldies of the small little BMW with the door that opened in front. The video’s main purpose is actually to promote the BMW Museum in Munich. Given that the Isetta was the original BMW compact city car, badging its new MegaCity/Project i car with the brand seems quite suitable. Word is that the new Isetta brand will be spelled “i-Setta”, though there’s no official release from BMW confirming this as far as I know, just hearsay from sources said to be close to BMW. Look after the jump to watch the new Isetta video!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• LotusLover on Aug 06, 2009 at 9:28 am

lol! possible!

• Paul Tan on Aug 06, 2009 at 9:50 am

the video's background music lyrics are also a sort of hint… "make some big jumps", like big changes, changing to electric motors instead of combustion engines

• Cocobear on Aug 06, 2009 at 10:02 am

Oh.. a toy car from Isetan. Small little cars suit the urban people, but they are not a cruiser. I am not passionate about these things..

• metalheads on Aug 06, 2009 at 10:38 am

nice post paul.. cant wait for this thing to reveal.. wanna see how far have we gone..

• nabil on Aug 06, 2009 at 11:18 am

really cute..like watching cartoon animation

• azrai on Aug 06, 2009 at 3:37 pm

More 'Mr.bean' after this.

• Public toilet on wheels

• eldie on Aug 06, 2009 at 4:29 pm

It would be a good retro strategy. Reminds us of the past. Cute and practical for urban and rural area usage.

• knight_templar on Aug 06, 2009 at 4:50 pm

This little car actually has its roots in Italy and helped ressurect BMW. Many boy racers who think of BMWs as women getters dun actually know of the car makers history. At a time the idea of Beemer going up against MBenz was unconceivable. Anyway google Isetta and theres a pic of a modernised Isetta wit a BMW logo and no kidney grille! But as always wit the net, dunno how true it is.

• Smart Four Two from the old age.

• MycarMylife on Aug 06, 2009 at 5:10 pm

Jeremy's Top Gear's view on this would be interesting ! may end up C 4 to bits.

• p4k4bu on Aug 06, 2009 at 5:10 pm

Hey…. nice! ;-)

I want one! B-)

If it's *affordable* :-(

• bmpower on Aug 06, 2009 at 5:14 pm

"when I grow up, i wanna be a bettle" .

i think that's what old isetta think.. haha

• rocku on Aug 06, 2009 at 5:32 pm

If the car is colored yellow, I’ll call it Yellow Submarine, The Beatle

• metalheads on Aug 06, 2009 at 6:38 pm

nice post paul.. cant wait for this thing to reveal.. wanna see how far have we gone..

• Car jump in the glass and drink up the water, could also hint that it is the hydro-gen power that BMW are after. Since they are the leader in this technology.

Don't think it is electric car, that is too common approach. Electric car doesn't have the ability to reach economy on scale. Hydrogen does. And it direct benefit to BMW entire range of cars.

• my goodness, the video is so cute n it actually makes ppl smile..haha..great job!

• awg1031 on Aug 06, 2009 at 7:42 pm

i like this!!!!!!

• Hemo Hemo on Aug 06, 2009 at 8:31 pm

and we have Kancil in Malaysia

• Giorgio on Aug 06, 2009 at 8:32 pm

dah macam kapal selam dah..

• Cutester on Aug 06, 2009 at 9:39 pm

So cute….

• seat-belt on Aug 06, 2009 at 10:03 pm

it seems to be that water is the fuel 4 the isetta…(see the vid at 00.33th second part)….

• xavier lert on Aug 06, 2009 at 10:30 pm

washing machine…..on the move…….

• nesca on Aug 06, 2009 at 10:36 pm

wah so comel!

• barca_supporter on Aug 06, 2009 at 11:22 pm

cute… wonder when girl in short skirt driving it…

• barca_supporter on Aug 06, 2009 at 11:56 pm

thinking of a back door as en entry point… the 360 d rotating seat… get what i mean?

• qozh moreno on Aug 07, 2009 at 2:45 am

cool video… if BMW produced newer version of the Isetta with electric motor, i think will be a good economic benefit to BMW since the original Isetta did actually save BMW from ruin in the pass. Isetta is originally creation is from Renzo Rivolta founder of Iso Autoveicoli then to BMW to produce Isetta.

• Farhat Haniff on Aug 07, 2009 at 5:27 am

From what i know about this campaign is that the Isettas are the 'Official Welcome Ambassadors' for the BMW Museum in Munich. The miniture Isettas set off the Museum (where the 1:1 scale of Isetta is at) to greet citzens of munich and the visitors. Its just a campaign for BMW Museum to greet its people, and obviously attract them to the Museum at Olympiapark 2. Theres no mention about the NEW Isettas but the music may show it.

• Farhat Haniff on Aug 07, 2009 at 5:33 am

From what i know about this campaign is that the Isettas are the 'Official Welcome Ambassadors' for the BMW Museum in Munich. The miniture Isettas set off the Museum (where the 1:1 scale of Isetta is at) to greet citzens of munich and the visitors. Its just a campaign for BMW Museum to greet its people, and obviously attract them to the Museum at Olympiapark 2. Theres no mention about the NEW Isettas but the music may show it… thnx

• peroempat on Aug 07, 2009 at 6:49 am

BMW also want to produced EMPTY MILO TIN.

• Lets kick Merc's Smart ass

• initial R on Aug 07, 2009 at 5:13 pm

that mean hybrid car not new after all.

• Elvis on Aug 07, 2009 at 11:33 pm

Imagine picking up you new date with this car. Sure no second date one…hahahaha…

• is this the same car in the cartoon movie V8??? i think is a folklift??

• Fauzi on Aug 08, 2009 at 3:24 am

Should call it eSetta as in electric Setta rather than iSetta.

• raja azhar on Aug 08, 2009 at 8:00 am

omg!! this is an awesome advertisment plus the song!! whoah! amazing! ive heard of this car bfore, ppl say its ugly, but i find this car adorable, i kinda have a thing for classic odd cars :)

• Jimmy Yap on Aug 10, 2009 at 2:28 am

If not mistaken i saw this car show up in HK magazine long ago….the front door can be open. So cute.

• qozh moreno on Aug 11, 2009 at 12:57 am

agree with Fauzi with Esetta name…

but for peroempat, what r u trying to prove here…

that Tin Milo is better screwed together compare to our local car here to this period…

DUH!!!! what a weener…

• qozh moreno on Aug 11, 2009 at 1:00 am

Not TIN MILO…

the terms they called it back then was Bubblecar…

• fauzi on Aug 11, 2009 at 2:10 am

this what you shuld do if you own an isetta

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jiEC2_6jyvU

• pekan on Aug 17, 2009 at 8:03 pm

where's the mothership?