New Nissan 370Z and Nissan Murano now in Malaysia through ETCM with 3 year warranty

Nissan 370Z

Edaran Tan Chong Motor has brought in the new Nissan 370Z and the new Nissan Murano (no GT-R officially imported yet!). They are going for RM354,000 and RM318,200 respectively excluding road tax, insurance and other OTR related charges such as registration. Both cars come with a 3 year or 100,000km warranty which should be a little better than buying these cars from a grey importer, though alot of importers now offer at least a 1 year warranty.

The 370Z is powered by the new 3.7 litre V6 engine and sits on a shorter wheelbase which will hopefully give the car a more agile feel. The new 3.7 litre engine from the award-winning VQ family features Nissan VVEL (Variable Valve Event and Lift) and produces 333 PS and 363Nm of torque. Both manual and auto are offered and the price for the manual and auto versions are the same.

Nissan Murano

The automatic is a new 7-speed slushbox with manual shifting while the 6-speed manual has something interesting – an automatic rev-matching called Syncro Rev Match that automatically blips the throttle to match the proper engine RPM instead of forcing the synchro to force the engine speeds together, thus upsetting the car’s weight balance.

The Murano continues to be powered by the 3.5 litre version of the VQ engine. Most Murano buyers from the grey importers are running the inline-4 version as it is cheaper to buy and also comes with significantly lower road tax costs, but nothing beats the smoothness of a V6. This engine produces 260 PS and 336Nm of torque and is mated to an Xtronic CVT and an ALL MODE 4×4-i all-wheel drive system with Vehicle Dynamic Control.

2010 Nissan 370Z official details and photos
VIDEO: Nissan 370z Synchro Rev Match transmission

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ah, finally.

you know i keep wondering why ETCM never offers the 2.5 litre version of the murano…..it's gonna be easier to sell compared to the 3.5 litre.

i didn't like the looks of the murano at first, but after much looking, starting to grow on me. heh. same gearbox as the sylphy!

• maddox101 on Aug 11, 2009 at 10:37 pm

nice…

• Paul Tan on Aug 11, 2009 at 10:44 pm

It's a different model of CVT thats designed to take higher amounts of torque. That's alot of torque to put through a belt CVT actually. Some Japanese market Nissans used to use a different kind of CVT (toroidal) for high torque applications called XTroid instead of XTronic.

• On my god, Murano doesn't cost this much in US, it actually cheaper than the Lexus SUV RX330…

Btw, WHY Malaysia Latio doesn't have the automatic climate control (plama cluster), why Singapore Latio has it…

Why Tan Chong Nissan gave better package to Singaporean compare to Malaysian…

Btw, RM93k for Nissan Latio in Malaysia is not cheap for regular Malaysian…

• torque (Member) on Aug 11, 2009 at 11:28 pm

Hmph…felt like it was yesterday when ETCM bring in the 350Z and put this ridicilous price tag of more than 400k when it was new!! I guess they learn their lesson and it suprises me that the tag for the 370Z is RM350k ++?!!! Wow!! Betul ke ni Paul?

• 27 said,

August 11, 2009 @ 2:46 pm

On my god, Murano doesn’t cost this much in US, it actually cheaper than the Lexus SUV RX330…

Btw, WHY Malaysia Latio doesn’t have the automatic climate control (plama cluster), why Singapore Latio has it…

Why Tan Chong Nissan gave better package to Singaporean compare to Malaysian…

Btw, RM93k for Nissan Latio in Malaysia is not cheap for regular Malaysian…

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/08/11/new-nissan-370z-and…

Well, 1stly the Singapore package is not necessarily better, our Latio range starts at the 1.6 liter whereas they don't have that in Sing, just a 1.5 liter engine to start of with. And that is definitely a more significant difference than AC controls… and prices for a Latio start at about 82k for basic manual 1.6…

• seperlinky on Aug 11, 2009 at 11:30 pm

Overpriced

• ignas on Aug 11, 2009 at 11:32 pm

because malaysia has national cars while in singapore its really competition.

• simon on Aug 11, 2009 at 11:34 pm

/Btw, RM93k for Nissan Latio in Malaysia is not cheap for regular Malaysian/

Ya…better buy 308vti, at least got addtional 2 more airbags and a BMW valvetronic engine

• mitlanevo on Aug 12, 2009 at 12:33 am

wow, 354k, quite surprised by the price tag…

this crazy 370Z can almost make me change my mind about letting go my love for evo x, lolol~

and why suddenly got Latio topic here?

• Alifz on Aug 12, 2009 at 1:11 am

I just wonder when can official Skyline and GT-R going to be brought by Tan Chong…

• tamaki on Aug 12, 2009 at 3:07 am

hmmm,354k quite reasonable compare to previous 350z with more powerful and technology

• Joey JoJo Jr. on Aug 12, 2009 at 3:37 am

Nissan makes brilliant looking performance cars (Fairlady, Skyline, GT-R, etc.), but put whatever little left from their investment into designing the good looking performance vehicles into coming up with the (ho, hum) Sentra, Latio and Sylphy.

• tat murano is ugly…

• mystvearn on Aug 12, 2009 at 6:11 am

I've seen the 370Z in real life. Looks a lot like a porche from side view, which I dislike. The old shape was better looking. But people say its better, to me its just that Nissan have no idea how to make it similar wheel base and agile at the same time. So better make it short

• I saw one 370Z roaring past me and getting stuck in traffic on the Federal Highway yesterday. Tell you the truth, I hated the car from what I saw online, but in the flesh, I think I fell in love..

• Jaybond on Aug 12, 2009 at 6:00 pm

The design of the new 370Z is quite related to the original 250Z car, more so than the 350Z, especially at the rear body portion.

On the other hand , some European publication mentioned it's still quite can't match Porsche Cayman for driving dynamics, at least in the standard version.

• mitlanevo on Aug 12, 2009 at 6:09 pm

alamak, copy design of of Porsche pulak, pengsan terus…

350Z and 370Z are designed based on the nissan's original z-cars lah…..

• shoryuken on Aug 12, 2009 at 7:05 pm

Malaysian so rich to buy a car at this price???? I mean, I can buy a house with better interest rate now as compare to dump into a car (which caused so high due to tax and duty, and in order to benefit AP also), which end of it the value dropped to nothing. It's like burning $$…I just don't understand.

• CocoBear on Aug 12, 2009 at 11:59 pm

That means I can go window shopping in the Nissan showrooms.

• Wow, i remember my friend's dad bought the old one at RM550K at TC several years ago! At that time, SG Price was only about $140k++ Now RM 330K? i guess if i have the money, i rather go for the recond porsche cayenne 3.2 at 315k…

• badboy on Aug 13, 2009 at 3:13 am

shoryuken said,

August 12, 2009 @ 11:05 am

Malaysian so rich to buy a car at this price???? I mean, I can buy a house with better interest rate now as compare to dump into a car (which caused so high due to tax and duty, and in order to benefit AP also), which end of it the value dropped to nothing. It’s like burning $$…I just don’t understand.

————————————————————–

That becouse you have no money to buy it. Just imagine after paying all the bills you still have extra RM500K. Would you buy a sport car?

Clearly you are not the target market.

• fauzi on Aug 13, 2009 at 6:34 am

Now looks like nissan want to discontinue production of sport car like silvia,skyline and fairlady which using 4 and 6 inline turbo power house and being replace with supercar like Nissan Z for fairlady and.GTR for skyline which powered by V type and displacement more than 3000 liter. And other manufacturer like Honda and Toyota also do the same thing to their prelude,nsx and celica. maybe it's for them to enter US market

• keeekeee on Sep 04, 2009 at 12:54 am

why they dun bring the murano 2.4 one??? man i wish they would.

im thinking murano vs cx-7