Ford Ranger XL gets facelift too with price bump

Ford Ranger XL

The Ranger XL now gets the same facelift as the Ranger XLT and RM3k bump in price to RM72,888 and RM76,388 in the Peninsular and East Malaysia respectively, up from the previous prices of RM69,888 and RM73,388. These prices do not include road tax, registration and insurance.

The new facelifted Ranger XL has an MP3-capable CD player, 16 inch alloy wheels, fog lamps, electronically controlled side mirrors, an immobiliser and a tilt-adjustable steering wheel. The XL’s front grille is made of plastic. Just like the promotion that Sime Darby had when the Ranger XL was first launched as the pre-facelift model, they are giving out a free bedliner and sidesteps during the introductory period.

Ford Ranger XL

Not much changes in the engine bay – the same 2.5 litre 12 valve SOHC indirect injection turbodiesel engine producing 109 PS at 3,500rpm and 257Nm of torque at 2,000rpm. This is a less sophisticated engine compared to the XLT’s twin cam direct injection engine with a VGT turbo that makes 143 PS. It comes with a 5-speed manual transmission only.

There are no airbags and I don’t think I see ABS anywhere on the spec sheet. 6 colours are available – Winning Blue, Cool White, Arizona Gold, Titanium Gray, Black Mica and Silver Metallic. If you’re looking for cheap trucks for work purposes only thus want to save some money by removing some equipment and having an older and less complicated engine, you can consider this Ranger XL.

An alternative would be the Triton Lite which has an even simpler diesel engine (with no turbocharger) but costs much less at under RM60k.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai on Aug 13, 2009 at 3:55 pm

Looks like a Land Rover wannabe.

• Good luck Ford, er… Sime Darby :)

• er….. Auto ConneXion :)

• roti naan1 on Aug 13, 2009 at 6:03 pm

looks ugly, old and expensive.

no thanx

• Lancermania on Aug 13, 2009 at 6:27 pm

anoter piece of junk..

• ego best on Aug 13, 2009 at 7:06 pm

better go for mitsubishi triton!

• Gajen on Aug 13, 2009 at 7:11 pm

ugly…hilux and triton way better

• redfueler on Aug 13, 2009 at 9:58 pm

same car 4 same market. hey Simedarby? bring out ford mustang here lah.. wanna see muslce car in mlysia..

• The Watcher on Aug 13, 2009 at 10:01 pm

Such grade for this pickup truck attracts company like TENAGA. Price still reasonable and has 4WD for technician to go rural areas with bad or dirt road for repair and maintenance.

• CBRian on Aug 14, 2009 at 1:30 am

actually its a good value for money.. if you all want to make an comparison with all.. this is the best. :bliss:

• mitlanevo on Aug 14, 2009 at 10:31 pm

ranger all the way!!! (i mean the XLT, not this)

hilux sucks, and sissy triton is the worst….

• yeah, this is a real bare bones truck for those people who need a daily workhorse strictly for commuting to work in off road terrains.

the hilux is underpowered, the triton is too futuristic.

personally, i go for the NAVARA, big bad mother trucker. saw a few on the road, totally owns the other puny vehicles. including mine.

• Naz@Ford on Aug 18, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Ford Ranger to me is a most powerful pickup than the hilux, dmax, and triton.. bcoz compare to the triton, its handling are good and its engine have impressive amount of torque and horsepower than the Hilux and Triton, i already bought the new one XLT version and its very satisfying to drive.. now i can drive to KK only about 1 hr 5 minutes.. hehehe!

• yup, price and package of this Ford XL are reasonable. just a simple comparison, if u buy d-max 2.5, the significant difference compare to XL is the 4WD system, where XL have it but d-max 2.5 don't… this is the best about the XL. but, if Ford still have the new XL with the previous bodystyle before, I will buy one but not this recent facelifted model. hope Ford still have the previous XL in stock :-)

• Justin on Apr 07, 2010 at 4:01 am

WHAT THE HELL IS FORD THINKING LOOKS LIKE A F***n” jap piece o crap wannabe

• anery jasnar on Sep 16, 2011 at 10:51 am

i like the RANGER XL..compared than hilux and dmax..