Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Karamjit’s Neo S2000 ditched in SS2 Leg One

Advertisement

Karamjit Singh

It looks like our friend Karamjit Singh is not having much luck at Leg One of the Malaysian Rally 2009 today. The course is a tricky one and rain had made it even worse. The Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 ended up in a ditch during SS2 and had to be towed out. “In SS1 we stalled many times and we had to reverse many times so we lost more than a minute. Then in SS2 we were doing much better but unfortunately I clipped a corner too early and ditched the car,” said Karamjit.

The duo of Karamjit and his navigator Jagdev will start again tomorrow. Motor Image Racing Team’s Cody Crocker finished Leg One in 2 hours, 3 minutes and 15 seconds in his Subaru Impreza WRX, while his rival Katsu Taguchi who looked like he was going to finish second place crashed his Evo 9 in a ditch in SS7. He had earlier also damaged his car in SS3. Full results available here.

Look after the jump for shots of both Crocker’s WRX and Taguchi’s Evo 9.

aprc2
aprc1

Related Posts with Thumbnails

46 Comments »

1. fadzly said,

August 15, 2009 @ 9:58 pm

GOGOGOGO

2. mudtire said,

August 15, 2009 @ 10:01 pm

hope he ups the ante once he gets used to left hand drive….he is after all the flying sikh….not flying into ditch hopefully….

3. KS said,

August 15, 2009 @ 10:21 pm

disappointing

4. John Mansfield said,

August 15, 2009 @ 10:47 pm

I’m glad the R3 motorsport division is starting to establish itself in the region. Malaysia is beginning to grow it’s local talent. That’s a good thing.

5. Autocrosser said,

August 15, 2009 @ 11:23 pm

R3 has no involvement in the Neo S2k development.

6. Diablo said,

August 15, 2009 @ 11:35 pm

Neither is there any growth in new talent

7. albagmane said,

August 15, 2009 @ 11:40 pm

LOL

8. teamsleepnine said,

August 16, 2009 @ 12:01 am

he still not use to the left hand drive…

9. asrul said,

August 16, 2009 @ 12:34 am

Malaysian need to build up more new and young karamjit…
    Go karamjit

10. dog said,

August 16, 2009 @ 12:47 am

Sad day…

11. P1_P2_Are_Shit said,

August 16, 2009 @ 1:49 am

Go Subaru Impreza! You’re the best…

12. Jarum said,

August 16, 2009 @ 2:16 am

Paul, why no mention that he was having gear box problems with the car before even starting the rally?

13. Paul Tan said,

August 16, 2009 @ 2:24 am

The press statement did not say. Please do share what you know of what happened.

14. awg1031 said,

August 16, 2009 @ 9:51 am

ouch..that’s unfortunate..hopefully everything’s better for the next race

15. WhiteFox said,

August 16, 2009 @ 10:08 am

Don’t Sad. U just not really feel well with the left hand drive.

Give urself sometimes. Work Harder!!!

16. kimi_ said,

August 16, 2009 @ 10:20 am

perhaps this NEO not good enough for our friend….LOL

17. KS said,

August 16, 2009 @ 11:46 am

should make karamjit the trainer, not the driver.

18. Mun said,

August 16, 2009 @ 12:08 pm

Why dont just get a RHD car???if LHD car affects his performance…just a change into RHD will help…dont waste Karamjit`s talent!!!

19. Eichang said,

August 16, 2009 @ 1:14 pm

that’s why la i told karamjit to take my wira….and let me have that neo s2000….he not really familiar with LHD yet, so better drive my wira and i can borrow that neo to go for work…hehehe

20. perolima said,

August 16, 2009 @ 1:29 pm

Whatever, he is the best but not that 1…

21. Obertan said,

August 16, 2009 @ 2:56 pm

Cheer up every1, I hope Karamjit can perform better for the next race.
    Hear this song, Marabaya REMIX it is collaboration of different artists from 5 countries a project called E.A.R.(East Asia Revolution) original song from Pop Shuvit.
    I just think that if this song can be the theme song for APRC, it ill be awesome but it is just my imagination only hehe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BqaCfJNdfuA

22. The_King said,

August 16, 2009 @ 3:30 pm

Hope they got an airbags…

23. singh said,

August 16, 2009 @ 4:34 pm

give him some time and victory will come soon. singh is king!!

24. Onny said,

August 16, 2009 @ 4:43 pm

I think its because he didn’t have enough time in the car (to get used to the left-hand drive controls) and the car wasn’t prepped properly for our conditions. Its a European car with a Malaysian bodyshell and some parts after all

25. teamsleepnine said,

August 16, 2009 @ 5:13 pm

few of karam car in the pert days is lefthand drive guys!!!
    he just need sometimes..

26. Black Dog said,

August 16, 2009 @ 6:06 pm

I think he got one too many drinks at Monster Pub (if anybody knows what I mean).

27. rally_fan said,

August 16, 2009 @ 7:09 pm

he only had 2 hours of testing in the car prior to going to johor for the APRC.

anyone with common sense will know thats a ridiculously short time for anyone to have tested a car for the first time before going for a rally, especially a wet, tight and tricky malaysian rally.

28. NA said,

August 16, 2009 @ 7:20 pm

it would take longer time to make for RHD than for him to adapt to LHD during this race time. Go keramjit, just fly it! Pull the indicator stalk more if you left hand is too free…lol

29. willpower said,

August 16, 2009 @ 9:57 pm

Karamjit…u r always our nation hero!!!
    Please don’t give up easily. We know u can do it..

30. Kumanosuke said,

August 17, 2009 @ 2:45 am

Finally the much deserved Flying Sikh got his sponsored ride

great to see he is back again. Cheers

31. azrai said,

August 17, 2009 @ 7:51 am

maybe he have a neck problem like Schumacher did. :-)

32. farghmee said,

August 17, 2009 @ 9:21 am

go fly, dun give up!

at least we have one more competetive sport worth taking notes for :)

33. awak said,

August 17, 2009 @ 9:41 am

he used to evo8 rhd,
    now neo lhd need some getting used to even if neo is easier car.

34. superman said,

August 17, 2009 @ 9:41 am

Autocrosser said,
    August 15, 2009 @ 11:23 pm

R3 has no involvement in the Neo S2k development

………………………………

No involvement in developing but R3 is running the car that Karam is driving.

35. Paul Tan said,

August 17, 2009 @ 9:45 am

Apparently RHD versions of the car have been developed but could not be produced in time. R3 will convert the car to right hand drive for the next rally. The car is designed to be easily converted.

36. badboy said,

August 17, 2009 @ 11:30 am

The_King said,
    August 16, 2009 @ 3:30 pm

Hope they got an airbags…
    —————————————————————
    LOL. Vey funny la you bro.

37. MBX Boy said,

August 17, 2009 @ 3:17 pm

Wow… Impressed… Satria Neo up against WRX and Evo! Go Karamjit!

38. 9W2MYV said,

August 17, 2009 @ 6:20 pm

Cam biasa la Flying Sikh tu. X leh drive bagi la mcm2 alasan

39. peroempat said,

August 17, 2009 @ 8:18 pm

At least, he had try… in the Fairly level.

40. badboy said,

August 18, 2009 @ 10:26 am

9W2MYV said,
    August 17, 2009 @ 6:20 pm

Cam biasa la Flying Sikh tu. X leh drive bagi la mcm2 alasan
    ————————————————————
    Hello kawan, that Flying Sikh had won world rally championship la. You think he just simply giving excuse ka..

41. edifice said,

August 18, 2009 @ 3:00 pm

It’s easy to make a car powerful,but not very easy to master at building a great and well balanced handling car.

No wonder WRX and Evo are making victory…so many years R&D in rallies

Youthful year for Neo chassis.

Good luck to Karamjit and the team

42. Harris Iskandar Taib said,

August 18, 2009 @ 8:25 pm

right hand or left hand is not an issue to karamjit, having driven to his world production rally car title in a left hand drive evo (proton pert).
    it’s a matter of getting used to the car and the overall set-up of the vehicle.
    not to mention of course that the subarus and evos are generations ahead of our dear proton in terms of engineering wizardry.

43. Project Z said,

August 18, 2009 @ 10:40 pm

He needs time to get use with the Neo s2k..in IRC Neo s2k got 4 place in 1st season..defeat the evo’s, wrx’s, fiat and many team “yang dah lama ma”..so this type of Neo is quite fast just need a talented driver.. (^_^)

44. Obertan said,

August 19, 2009 @ 12:10 am

Lol… is that Red Evo accidentally opened the passenger right door while still in race. :D .

45. Ford_GT said,

August 20, 2009 @ 11:56 pm

Apparently, Proton goons has send the SN car to MEM based in UK and christened into LHD S2000 version since last year if I recall again….in fact the car is much more faster than R3 and CPS version. That car has very strong arms indeed, it’s just that Karam need a time frame to adapt this new baby and I’m hoping he could able to tame it. Yeah, I heard that Karam had told MEM boys to convert LHD to RHD b4 they start rolling into Indonesia Rally.

BTW, watch out for Guy Wilks and Bryan Bouffier taking out SN S2000 in Czech Rally tmrw !

46. adeh said,

August 21, 2009 @ 12:38 am

satria test for barum here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6k1omjTFYk4

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: VIDEO: New BMW ActiveHybrid X6 in motion
next post: 2010 Devon GTX: full details unveiled!