2010 Devon GTX: full details unveiled!

Devon GTX

Here’s full details of the new 2010 Devon GTX, what the company calls a true American supercar. But seriously, is it really worth paying US$500,000 for what people would think is a rebodied and more hardcore version of the Dodge Viper? It isn’t even going to be a limited edition, but Devon will be making 36 cars annually in southern California.

Basically the car gets a whole new look that still carries cues from the Viper, and its 8.4 litre V10 sounds exactly like the motor in the Viper, except it puts out 650 horsepower instead of the 600 in the Viper. Not a particularly high-revving engine either, with peak power coming out at 6,100rpm. Funky high-tech twin clutch gearbox? Nope, you get a 6-speed manual, which Devon says is track-proven.

Devon says the 8.4 litre V10 uses two valves per cylinder, variable valve timing, a coil-on-plug ignition system with “platinum tip spark plugs”, and more. I can’t really find much enthusiasm about the specs list after reading about the kinds of stuff that BMW does with their M engines. The company goes on to talk about the diameter of their exhaust tubing – exactly like how a tuner in Sunway would be recommending a custom aftermarket exhaust system spec to a potential customer.

Devon GTX

Brakes are 380mm units from StopTech with 6-piston aluminum calipers at the front, and the car has an LSD. The wheels are either 18/19-inch or 19/20-inch lattice structured forged center-lock wheels wrapped with Michelin Pilot Sport Cup tyres, which are the best in the Michelin range.

The carbon fiber chassis (with a 98.8 inch wheelbase – the same as a Dodge Viper) will also feature a Continuously Variable Damping System which will not even be available at launch time. The system uses electronically-controlled variable damping forces to provide better response and tyre contact to road conditions.

The car also has an articulating front splitter (again, only available later and not at launch time), which travels approximately 80mm forwards or back via hydraulics to produce optimum downforce. The dampers can also be adjusted about 60mm up or down, which Devon claims is an “uncommon application”. The higher ride height is set to be softer while the lower setting are stiff.

Can’t wait to see how many pre-orders the company gets at the Pebble Beach event where it has been unveiled in person.

VIDEO: The Devon GTX at the Laguna Seca

[zenphotopress number=99 album=432]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 1st, :P ( i think )

It wont get any preorder! this is stupid for a car company

• karkiat on Aug 16, 2009 at 10:21 pm

wuhuu..nice car!!

• karkiat on Aug 16, 2009 at 10:21 pm

i'm 1st to comment =D

• nabil on Aug 16, 2009 at 10:43 pm

jay leno will order one…and thats it !

• fertittabro on Aug 16, 2009 at 10:48 pm

this car is left hand drive only same with viper.sure accident

lhd and rm5million msia who will buy it.

who and hw ,and whr u order this car parts lol ,

• albagmane on Aug 16, 2009 at 10:50 pm

don think this car will stand out from the crowd… design wise looks classic and old school… guess only American uncles will buy it… beating the GTR? LOL!

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 16, 2009 at 11:14 pm

Hahahahahahaha…ok…'nuff said…

• Maverick on Aug 16, 2009 at 11:55 pm

You may laugh, but I think its a good try, at least from a privately owned company which is less than 1year-old, and an American car company in these times to add the amazement. Its kinda for the niche market obviously, and comparing them to giants like BMW, Merc, and such isn't fair actually. The asking price is a bit high but I think give it a few years and after a few trials and errors, I reckon Devon might put out a decent car worthy of a challenge with the GTR.

• Littlefire on Aug 17, 2009 at 12:03 am

Is totally out of GTR category, it should have compete with Bugatti, Pagani, Mclaren those supercars… The price tag is totally out of GTR range…

• xoomie on Aug 17, 2009 at 12:12 am

i still do not believed that it beats GTR & 911 lap times in Laguna Seca.

• Wak Rempit on Aug 17, 2009 at 12:23 am

WTF!! did you notice the side fender vibrates and rattles like crazy… I think this car will have serious quality issues just like other american car

and for a US$500k what the heck that's a big no-no…

• BeemerFreak on Aug 17, 2009 at 12:37 am

Come on!!!!! How can it beat the GTR. The price alone is already a failure. 50k against 500k, you got to be blind to buy one of these. Can think of who is stupid enough to even visualise such a car.

• fauzi on Aug 17, 2009 at 12:55 am

Dah gila apa orang-orang uncle sam ni nak compare 3.8 V6 dengan 8.4 V10. buat malu kat proton saja ,pasai depa pun tak kata satria neo boleh cucuk viva, betulkan cucukman.

• rubbish

• forgot to say that my myvi is rubbish

• I hope it will be a Knight Rider Car The Movie………..!!!!

• Elvis on Aug 17, 2009 at 1:18 am

Only the filthy rich Arabs will buy such overpriced stuff. Paying a bomb for a firecracker. This car manufacturer has no history yet selling at overinflated market price. If you talk about Lamborgini, Porsche, Ferrari with mountain of proven recorded accomplishments, yes, the price may make sense….

• no wonder US car makers are going bankrupt….dis is another one going to join soon…..

• d design is too retro n classic…americans are too proud and obsessed with their heritage….so called golden automotive years…."syok sendiri"~~~~~~

• mystvearn on Aug 17, 2009 at 1:52 am

I like the design. Looks like Alfa

• my-boleh on Aug 17, 2009 at 1:57 am

its hideous.

• I believe the company should invest first in something more profitable such as a delivery truck (which will definitely benefit the owner since his Cole frozen TV Dinner meal packs and mixed vege company can use it).

• CARing on Aug 17, 2009 at 2:14 am

Love the interior…but exterior…yucks…

i prefer ori viper more.

• Thedonbk on Aug 17, 2009 at 2:19 am

it beats GTR & 911 lap times in Laguna Seca but with 8.4lt. Of course it has twice the power of GTR. Imagine GTR to have that power under the hood and definitely it gonna pawn the Devon GTX….lol

• Yes , i am 1st, poor other 1st poster :D:D

They must make it cheaper. Stupid american. There is nothing to brag if u beat the GTR with a high price tag….sad.

They should focus on reduced price and innovative & clever engineering, to beat the GTR. The same concept when nissan created GTR to beat porshe 911 turbo.

Stupid & lazy american, wake up!

• walau…ugly………

• bmpower on Aug 17, 2009 at 3:51 am

Our ah beng shop can do 1000 times better than this with USD$500K!!! (est. RM 1.8Million) … even myself can do better with it. B)

• number6 on Aug 17, 2009 at 8:47 am

i guess most of us are unanimous on this one, and this isnt even talking about the vspec, just to add some fuel to the inferno, id say in a way, its mostly a fools errand on their part. even now were seeing a couple of bpu GTRs pushing 650++ hp. give it a couple years, it will be untouchable.

• katak on Aug 17, 2009 at 9:44 am

American don't make good super car they only good in Hollywood super toys car good for movies. German yes

• mitlanevo on Aug 17, 2009 at 4:41 pm

exterior still acceptable (if u compare to the beauty-contest-eliminated veyron)

interior is a bit boring, typical american styling…

but in the end, 500k usd is really too much….

• waklu on Aug 17, 2009 at 6:37 pm

No paddle shift? Come on, its so 2005!

• jamsbong on Aug 17, 2009 at 8:29 pm

First of all, is not a surprise that the Devon GTR beats the Nissan GTR. the Devon is lighter and has more power so of course it beats the Nissan. This is basically a Viper in Tuxedos and ipod gadgets.

Personally, I hate the stupid binary looks interiors. That I think de values the car a lot. Aston does a much better job.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 17, 2009 at 9:23 pm

Some people just don't get it.

Its not how many they will make or what its made from or how good it is.

If you are rich enough to afford one, you'd be the very few to own one…since the company will go bust after the first run. People pay good (or silly – depending on how you look at it) money to be different. Yes, it probably drives like crap, rides like crap and smell of glue.

Funny, I don't see any resemblance to the Viper. In fact I see more Panoz Esperante (or a "roadified" Panoz GTP) than the Viper in its lines…well perhaps other than its rear Viper ACR wing.

Yes the price of 500K is a bit absurd if you view it as a road car. However, if you view it for what it is, a carbon fiber bodied (chassis??) race car for the street, 500K is not exactly preposterous.

Sure the Devon name don't raise eyebrows, but then again asking USD$500K for a Ferrari 430 GT3 wont either.

Race car builders have been stuffing the biggest and simplest engines in the smallest chassis that could fit them since day one. This just builds on the same formula.

• nazrie83 on Aug 17, 2009 at 9:34 pm

It seems like the black cover of the front wheel is loose.. huhu!!

• ah beng on Aug 18, 2009 at 1:41 am

haiya….what a soh hai car! crazy ppl…

• 2 valves per cylinder!? Rare design! Most supercar comes with 4 valves, some even 5! [Eg: F355]

• Naz@Ford on Aug 18, 2009 at 8:09 pm

want to beat the GT-R? make me laugh la.. powerful car, but the price its to stupid for a car that want to beat the GT-R, better i buy the GT-R than buying that thing.. stupid americans..

• Project Z on Aug 19, 2009 at 6:22 am

i never like a american cars..they always said its better than b4..the truth..its rubbish 2valve per cylinder?..bad fuel consumption..8.4L r u nuts?..300kph?..think about the road tax, road block, hole, road bumb, traffic jam, n many things in this country..hehe…use viva..hehe

• Elvis on Aug 19, 2009 at 10:24 am

Americans car makers are nuts about powerfully engine but overlooked handling. Come on, we dont drive straight line ler…and some more just read articles on most vintage american cars. They really hype about how powerful this engine, can burn tyres so on….so what! Most american cars are BIG not suitable for us here anyway. Forget Devon…

• Abdul Qayyum on Aug 20, 2009 at 7:30 am

viper lagik cantek

• the stik on Aug 20, 2009 at 3:51 pm

this car sucks big time.. and mr qayyum, viper also sucks… those americans really perasan and syok sendiri giler babeng… devon? heh…