New Grand Bentley unveiled: Bentley Mulsanne

The new Bentley Mulsanne (pronounced mull-SAHN) will be the luxury carmaker’s star exhibit during the Frankfurt Show in September but they’ve already unveiled it to the public at the Pebble Beach Concourse, where it is likely that many of its potential owners are attending. After all, it is only the very rich who are able to restore rare classic cars to the pristine conditions that you can find at the Concourse.
The Bentley Mulsanne had been heralded as the “New Grand Bentley” in a teaser campaign leading up to this unveiling, and is inspired by the 1930s Bentley 8-litre. For now we only know what the Mulsanne looks like, but for whats under the hood as well as any other trickeries that Bentley have up their sleeves, we’ll have to wait for the Frankfurt show. Too bad they didn’t have anything up their sleeves with the design, as I feel it isn’t particularly interesting.
The Mulsanne will replace the Arnage as Bentley’s ultimate flagship. We have no photos of the interior yet thus far but Bentley says the interior is hand-crafted and takes a total of 40 labour hours to produce. They’re planning to sell about 700 units this year.
There is a circuit called the Circuit de la Sarthe in France used in the sports car endurance race 24 Hours of Le Mans. The road features the long straight Ligne Droite des Hunaudières leading to Mulsanne, making a tight right hand turn before the entrance of the village itself. The famous straightaway is often called the Mulsanne Straight, and the original Bentley Mulsanne that was launched in 1980 was named after this.
Look after the jump for more hi-res photos.

August 17, 2009 @ 8:10 am
Another big toy for Royal Family and super duper rich people in Malaysia. But i think China sure will put out another cheap version in the market.
August 17, 2009 @ 8:36 am
hehez, happy face!!!
btw, what’s the tyre size? looks huge….
August 17, 2009 @ 9:10 am
The LED look of head lamp cause the car loss the classical look…
August 17, 2009 @ 9:23 am
the front LED lamp looks like it’s came straight from some chinese car factory…
Ugly…
August 17, 2009 @ 9:46 am
hey the headlamp looks like my rm10 torchlight i buy at uptown… hehe
August 17, 2009 @ 9:49 am
what is the price here in malaysia? thinking to get one..but looking at the pics, i guess it hard to park at ss2 or 14. nvr mind laa.. i ll just go for saga.
August 17, 2009 @ 10:09 am
Sick after being copied by Chinese car makers maybe Bentley decided to do the reverse. They even added a nice friendly ’smiley’ at the front of the car
August 17, 2009 @ 10:35 am
oh shyt this is mood killing.
it is so ugly
August 17, 2009 @ 10:40 am
this is gross.
August 17, 2009 @ 10:46 am
Alamak Bently what happen? Too much NatGeo Channel ka?…the face..no flow …just like Mitsuoka…sad…worst design from Bently ever…try again!
August 17, 2009 @ 10:47 am
Hey you’re right, it reminds me of some kind of Mitsuoka.
August 17, 2009 @ 11:20 am
the front is soooo… ugly…. disappointed
August 17, 2009 @ 11:38 am
So, What is ASI-AS going to do with this?
August 17, 2009 @ 12:46 pm
Thats one ugly Bentley!
I prefer the styling of the Rolls-Royce Ghost.
http://paultan.org/2009/07/22/66l-v12-in-ghost-tops-bmws-horsepower-charts/
August 17, 2009 @ 12:49 pm
Ugly indeed! They should follow RR design; nobody will deny the fact that they’re used to be Toyota-Lexus-Scion design theme.
August 17, 2009 @ 1:51 pm
looks like those copy cat china cars actually…too much bling bling for me…bt the rims look gorgeous !
August 17, 2009 @ 2:07 pm
The RR Ghost is still the winner!
August 17, 2009 @ 2:56 pm
WTH is that!!!
August 17, 2009 @ 3:16 pm
What a shame to put that cheapo headlamp.
August 17, 2009 @ 3:17 pm
One big smiley face car….why not design a custom Hello Kitty Bentley for Hellow Kitty crazy asian fans….
August 17, 2009 @ 3:17 pm
What a shame to put those cheapo headlamps on the beautifully contoured body.
August 17, 2009 @ 3:18 pm
What a shame to put on those cheapo headlamps on a masterpiece.
August 17, 2009 @ 3:44 pm
it looks like a rolls with rounded headlamp .
somehow the curve of the front headlamp isn’t that great or refined .
August 17, 2009 @ 3:46 pm
those eyes.. they’re hypnotizing… (*_*)
August 17, 2009 @ 3:49 pm
yes agreed… very fugly
August 17, 2009 @ 4:02 pm
the grill is abit too much at the bumper side and the light arrangement doesn’t make it look great or what so ever , the most critical problem is the headlamp where it looks too visible while it is too big . some of the innerpart should be treated well like how audi did to their A8 or A4s .
August 17, 2009 @ 5:29 pm
Hey! Look, the car is smiling at me!….
Anyway, why is so weird?
August 17, 2009 @ 6:10 pm
The car really ’smiles’ at you from the front. Imagine the smile of spongebob squarepants
August 17, 2009 @ 7:36 pm
And maybe they should make custom Spongebob Bentley also…
August 17, 2009 @ 7:44 pm
Despite all the complains its getting from everyone, I still dun mind driving one if it was given to me =]
August 17, 2009 @ 8:25 pm
In front looks like a duck. And also look like a Chinese copy. And i must say, those LEDs totally ruined it.
August 17, 2009 @ 8:58 pm
its looks like it had 1st Sex in its life!!!!!!!
August 17, 2009 @ 9:00 pm
and i realized dat the car looks awesome at diff angle…damn it spooks me…
August 17, 2009 @ 9:12 pm
This is one of the ugliest car even seen on earth. Who on earth would ruin their own reputation by owning one of this. My goodness.
August 17, 2009 @ 9:35 pm
haha it might not be the prettiest car around but the face is strangely charming! ooohhh…who lives in a pineapple under the sea?
August 19, 2009 @ 11:43 am
Kancil headlamp with Kenari RS spot light
August 20, 2009 @ 7:50 am
Sean said,
August 17, 2009 @ 7:44 pm
Despite all the complains its getting from everyone, I still dun mind driving one if it was given to me =]
————————————————————-
Yeah you’ll be the driver and I rather being chaffeured around
August 25, 2009 @ 12:23 pm
If you look long enough and see it in its entirety I think it looks mysterious yet elegant. As compared to Phantom, I think Bentley has created a car which even the younger millionaires don’t mind owning and driving. Rolls Phantom looks more like a Royalty or rich but much older guys type of vehicle/chariot.