New Kia Venga set to debut at Frankfurt 2009

Kia Venga

The Kia No3 Concept has been translated into a production car. Presenting: the Kia Venga, a new B-segment MPV (not exactly an MPV in the three-row 7 seater sense but more of a tall hatchback) designed and built in Europe. The name Venga is derived from the Spanish verb “to come”, which in the language sounds like invitation to move from one spot to another. For some reason I find this amusing as it is similiar to the Tamil word “vange” which also means “come” :P

It looks small but the Kia Venga is actually bigger than a Hyundai i20 – its got a wheelbase of 2,615mm thats a whole lot longer compared to the i20’s 2,525mm wheelbase. The previous generation Kia Carens/Rondo had a wheelbase of 2560mm but with the latest generation (called the Citra II Rondo in Malaysia) it used the Optima’s platform and grew to a massive 2,700mm.

This definitely makes some space for a smaller MPV to be slotted in under the new Rondo. The Kia Venga is 4,068mm long and 1,600mm tall. Like most new Kia designs it looks pretty alright, nothing to hate about it, though I think that Schreyer grille isn’t really working that great on that Fiat Bravo-like nose. But the rest of the car is quite cute.

Kia Venga Interior

Kia claims the Kia Venga offers C-segment space in a B-segment footprint, and hopefully price. It will feature a 1.4 litre gasoline engine or a 1.6 litre turbodiesel engine at launch, putting out 75 PS and 115 PS respectively.

Both engines will be fitted standard with ISG (Idle Stop & Go) technology which auto-stops your car engine when your car stops, and restarts it automatically when it is time to move again, useful during traffic jams or stop lights. Optional is a tilt-and-slide all-glass panoramic roof.

The production Kia Venga will be shown to the public at the Frankfurt show in September, and more photos will probably be released then. For now, check out 4 initial photos released by Kia after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=438]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BrakeFader on Aug 18, 2009 at 2:40 am

Looks like the PLUS version if i20. Just like Golf Plus. Not bad.

• KitKat on Aug 18, 2009 at 2:45 am

The back resembles of a miniature Q7. Overall itz CUUUUTE!!!

• Caddilac Wong on Aug 18, 2009 at 3:01 am

Wow… Nice looking car…

• donno on Aug 18, 2009 at 3:14 am

Looks like a Hyundai Matrix, only much more cooler!

• thinesh on Aug 18, 2009 at 3:30 am

nice one there from Kia.. really wish it could come down here someday and looking at the panoramic roof and its space.. it could probably compete with the Peugeot here.. and the start-stop.. that could be something heavenly for many city drivers..

• taboogen on Aug 18, 2009 at 3:50 am

hermm look like ford to me

• that is a pure VW back.

ahahahha .

btw , it looks cool , it looks like the suzuki alto or whatever a-segment car they got. the most important thing is that it looks intelligent.

• 4g63tdsm on Aug 18, 2009 at 4:15 am

Funny someone would mention the matrix.

As Hyundai moved upmarket, it looks like KIA is filling up all the empty spots in its lineup

• The steering looks the same as the one on the Kia Soul's.

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 18, 2009 at 5:05 am

Venga Boys! Haha sorry I couldn't help it…

• alande0n on Aug 18, 2009 at 6:12 am

THIS IS GOLF TYPE / SMART CARS TYPE ,

BUT FUGLY MATRIX CAME TO SOME MIND ???!!!!

BUT SIDE ,RIMS TO BACK LOOK LIKE GOLF .

• at 1st glance it looks like a product of Ford's kinetic design language…

• azrai on Aug 18, 2009 at 3:37 pm

Our next gen naza Citra assembeled in Gurun.

• ericfoong81exe on Aug 18, 2009 at 4:23 pm

Recently those Korean car's giving me an impression of "copy cat" design stream….This one look like ford…..the greeny tiny Ford in the movie of Tranformer 2.

• looks like chevy spark ?

• My first Korean car if they come to our shore with Nazanized pricing. RM60k perhaps reasonable to move from P2 territory. ISG+diesel maybe "OK" for our new Sept debut Euro2 Diesel Paul?

Unless Toyota donate potent diesel and ISG in P2 lineups this type of car will shake the segment at least little.

• ong chin aun on Aug 18, 2009 at 6:18 pm

Well,I'm puzzle about the I SG . The battery will drain a lot if the car need to pass many traffic lights or jam to its destination. Hence the life of battery

will be shorten. Also, MPV 7-seater ?

Anyway, its is a nice looking car . hope the prize is reasonable and prefer 1.6 litre. with manual transmision.

• Sick&Tired on Aug 18, 2009 at 7:01 pm

vengaboys? damn gay name :p. But the car looks good. Another great product from kia. Have been really impressed with their recent cars.

• WALASiZO on Aug 18, 2009 at 7:01 pm

it looks like Mitsu Colt :-)

• Black Dog on Aug 18, 2009 at 8:35 pm

Nobody compared with Honda Jazz?

I love sunroofs, but m'sian cars always without it, unless imported. Why? Keep cost to the minimum?

Cum…

• front is like the iQ…

• donno on Aug 18, 2009 at 11:19 pm

ericfoong81exe said,

August 18, 2009 @ 8:23 am

Recently those Korean car’s giving me an impression of “copy cat” design stream….This one look like ford…..the greeny tiny Ford in the movie of Tranformer 2.

Eric… Get your facts straight. the "green" car in transformers 2 is not a ford, its a chevy, designed by Daewoo design studio's in Korea!!!! So the car you said the Kia is copycatting is designed in Korea!

• Gajen on Aug 19, 2009 at 6:36 am

the front is from iq…the back is from q7….typical kia

• donno on Aug 19, 2009 at 4:33 pm

Black Dog said,

August 18, 2009 @ 12:35 pm

Nobody compared with Honda Jazz?

I love sunroofs, but m’sian cars always without it, unless imported. Why? Keep cost to the minimum?

Cum…

Want sunroofs? on a local car?

Get the NAZA Citra 2.0, only 65K and you will get your sunroofs hehe…

• danial on Aug 19, 2009 at 9:30 pm

Paul,

I wish you could put more pictures on the interior of the car, especially the last row of seat

• latpao on Aug 20, 2009 at 3:55 pm

reminds me of aston martin concept cygnet (toyota iq)

• Sorry, i don't think this is a good looking car…..somemore this is a kia product, i don't believe the quality of this korea car maker as well. Even you think the out-looking is adore, but think carefully abt the quality, you will ignore it~~

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 03, 2010 at 3:19 am

its good

come to india kia