Peugeot RCZ sports car on sale in Spring 2010

Peugeot RCZ

Peugeot has unveiled full details on the new Peugeot RCZ 2+2 Coupe. Most people refer to this as a French take on the Audi TT, as it emulates the TT’s shape. If you notice the roof of the RCZ actually has some kind of recession in it in the middle, and Peugeot calls this a “double bubble” design.

Under the hood (at the front) is a version of the 1.6 litre BMW-PSA Prince engine, this time producing 200 horsepower at 5,800rpm, taking the car from 0 to 100km/h in 7.6 seconds thanks to its 255Nm of torque from 1,700rpm. That’s not a whole load of torque and 7.6 seconds isn’t exactly blistering speed, but because the RCZ is small with an interior thats designed to “wrap around” the driver cozily, the speeds might seem faster than they really are, so this will help add to the fun factor.

Peugeot RCZ

Of course less powerful engines are also available. A 156hp version of the 1.6 litre Prince engine is also available, and like the 200hp version it is mated to a 6-speed manual. But there will be a 6-speed auto coming soon in summer 2010 – a welcome addition to the Peugeot family as they’ve been making do with 4-speed automatics for a long time now, while BMW has been mating the Prince engine to 6-speed autos for a long time.

Of course there must be a diesel option – a 2.0 litre HDi FAP engine with 163hp, also mated to a 6-speed manual. This is the torqueiest engine option with 340Nm available at 2,000rpm. The diesel engine fuel consumption is rated at 52.3 mpg on the combined cycle.

Peugeot RCZ

The Peugoet RCZ rides on the same platform as the 308 and uses MacPherson struts at the front and a torsion beam at the rear. The platform has been modified to suit the RCZ’s sporty intentions – ride height has been lowered by 20mm, center of gravity lower by 40mm, front track widened by 54mm and rear track widened by 72mm. The 200hp engine version has an additional lower anti-roll bar to help with the handling. Peugeot did not use an electric power steering system on the RCZ – it sticks to a hydraulic system which usually offers better response.

The RCZ will go on sale in Spring 2010. You can probably expect Nasim to bring it in sometime in the future as a CBU model and in classic Nasim style, it will probably undercut the 2.0 TFSI Audi TT in terms of pricing, offering a nice alternative.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=439]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Anything more than VW Scirocco GT pricing… will give buyer a longer thought.

• initial R on Aug 18, 2009 at 9:28 pm

Dejavu… why I see the shape like Audi TT ?????.

• Elvis on Aug 18, 2009 at 9:28 pm

Looks like Nissan Fairlady with muscles. But i still prefer my Nissan Fairlady…..getting old but timeless….

• wow, another chick magnet car :)

• fenzo60 on Aug 18, 2009 at 9:43 pm

if i have extra money,this car will be my first choice!!!!!

• fenzo60 on Aug 18, 2009 at 9:46 pm

Of course the car looks same like fairlady b'cause both designed by Zagato

• badboy on Aug 18, 2009 at 9:48 pm

"…and Peugeot calls this a “double bubble” design."

—————————————————————-

Remind me of certain part of a women body ……

• tonton on Aug 18, 2009 at 10:01 pm

badboy said,

August 18, 2009 @ 1:48 pm

“…and Peugeot calls this a “double bubble” design.”

—————————————————————-

yep. their arse

• barca on Aug 18, 2009 at 10:03 pm

beauty by peugeot.

a few similarities with audi's but hey, this is more lion-y! :)

• audio on Aug 18, 2009 at 10:07 pm

Nice sports car with TT look a like. Wonder how much it'll cost in Msia?

• Ariff on Aug 18, 2009 at 10:25 pm

lolz,the double bubble really looks like an ass!!haha!!but really like ripping off TT.can we expect a roadster??will the roadster still have the double bubble??

• AnonymousCoward on Aug 18, 2009 at 10:38 pm

About time that Peugeot gets a 6-speed auto. I've driven the 207cc with the 1.6L Prince engine, and the MINI Cooper with the same engine. The MINI is a lot smoother with its 6-speed auto, while the 207cc's 4-speed auto was noticeably rougher.

• Philip J. Fry on Aug 18, 2009 at 10:41 pm

Butt-mobile!

• Elvis on Aug 18, 2009 at 10:46 pm

Hope that this 'double bubble' will not become a trend…imagine Viva 'double bubble', Proton Neo 'double buble'….aiyah….see my wife fat 'double buble' oledi make me wanna muntah….

• solarcar on Aug 18, 2009 at 10:52 pm

good to see peugeot starts to come up with some fun cars..:) definitely this lovely lady can catch some eyes!

• teslaman on Aug 18, 2009 at 10:54 pm

I wonder how they fold the roof if there is open top version!

• based on d 1.6 engine size wth 4 speed auto, it might not able to price up.

however, if engine is in 2.0 liter wth 6 speed, it will give a tough fight on Audi TT

tis is only applicable to country w/out 300% import tax duty and AP requirement

• fairlady copy cat….front look too aggressive doesnt suit bhind….

• keluangman on Aug 18, 2009 at 11:33 pm

nice car. Too bad it's not the type I need to have nowadays. Probably is 30 yrs ago!

• kobealex on Aug 18, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Its shaped like an Audi TT but with Peugeout genes… :)

and its looking very nice…

• This car is just perfect! It'll eat audi TT for breakfast!!!

• barca on Aug 18, 2009 at 11:39 pm

i'd say, this is what i call…..beauty by peugeot.

• Depending on price range, you can easily imagine a load of viable alternatives here in Msia, incl the Roc, 350Z, RX8, Eos… and if you stretch it, 2nd hand Z4s, Cayman, TT (1st gen's rubbish tho)… All of which, even the Japs, have more desirable badge-ry than the Peugeot.

Forgetting ALL the alternatives and pragmatism for a moment, there's one thing it really can't overcome: it's fugly isn't it?

• Sorry, maybe Fugly needs some elaboration.

– The front (gaping mouth and all) looks scary butch, then the rear is all bulbous curves, smooth as JLo. Very two-car-designer and China-like.

– The double bubs on the top? Aww cmon. A Koenigsegg can handle the drama. But this lil pug? No way.

– Very cab forward huh? Like it has a auto sliding C+C roof. But… it doesn't. Weird. At least the R8 tries to break up all that weight with that piece of metal.

This is the fugliest thing i ve seen since the Panamera.

• Dennis on Aug 19, 2009 at 12:00 am

Peugeot RCZ is awesome !!! It looks like Audi TT !!! How much it will be ?

• FEMLab on Aug 19, 2009 at 12:04 am

Peugeot are overly dependent on "BMW-PSA engine" !! Beemer only used this engine ONLY for their mini range..

Peugeot are using this engine for almost all its new line..booo hooo

Sad that this beuty done hv the engine to match!!!!

• mitlanevo on Aug 19, 2009 at 12:32 am

BRAVO !!!!

• Cutester on Aug 19, 2009 at 12:36 am

The "double bubble" rear windscreen will sure cost a bomb if it breaks and needs to replace. Very nice looking sports car.

• again ……FWD sports wannabe

• scirocco lover on Aug 19, 2009 at 12:38 am

wonder how much this would go for? anyone out there with an indication for the scirocco as well?

• mohsin on Aug 19, 2009 at 12:43 am

love the rims, lovely design! others like Audi TT!

But hey, it's Peugeot! Love their 206cc also

• Hopefully what Paul said is true, if it's brought into Malaysia by Nasim, the pricing strategy is also same as currently done to 308 and 407… we're gonna see more rcz in Malaysia roads relative to that of SEA countries!

• Jaybond on Aug 19, 2009 at 1:53 am

A very very nice car. Should give the Audi TT a scare or two!

• think this is the peugeots best looking car since they made the 405/406/306…

Something that Peugeot has been lacking since these models.But i still think that they are lacking in the performance.The true last peugeot was the 405GTI.Everything else after that was like a washing machine.

But the back looks very similar to vw beetle.

• tikus on Aug 19, 2009 at 2:24 am

No worry Nasim boleh !

• Very nice. Meleleh air liur

• MoveJJE on Aug 19, 2009 at 2:50 am

Paul,

the roof is exactly wavy or eye illusion only?

• m4xspeed on Aug 19, 2009 at 3:15 am

super sexy machine… nice!!

• kpliew on Aug 19, 2009 at 3:21 am

"double bubble" design really standout from the others.

• though it shape like audi tt but i must say the ass looks fine!

• Peugeot front end design always the same. Bored. But i think it looks well on this one thought.

• sharviin on Aug 19, 2009 at 3:31 am

Double Bubble design from Peugeot its a crap!!, the design originally came from Zagato….XD

• sexy ride.

• yeah, it might give the Audi a run for its money, but Audi's branding is much more powerful than peugeot's.

despite this however, i wonder if the diesel version will make it here, we're upgrading to euro 2 soon. hopefully.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Aug 19, 2009 at 5:30 am

the interior? same as 308?

• Damn if only my CPS 1.6 is 200hp…no nee to do some mods!!! grrr!!! love the engine wth 6 speed!!

• Project Z on Aug 19, 2009 at 6:07 am

uses MacPherson struts at the front and a torsion beam at the rear

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/08/18/peugeot-rcz-sports-…

Ehmm??..i expect this car like to understeer at the hairpin corner..

nwy..AMAN, u can make your CPS up to +-190bhp with your 1.6.

use R3 12:1 high compression forged piston also got the stroker kits..sale for public use now..call R3 for more info..like to help..i've seen it b4..high compression piston, short intake manifold, ported n polished, adj cam pulley n many things to the CPS stock engine (^_^)

• fastcx on Aug 19, 2009 at 6:42 am

i dont think when nasim take it in, v can get the leather wrap dash n anything else -.-" but better than naza..look at bestari…from soft touch plastic changed to cheapo green colored hard plastic vf damn ugly texture! damn naza!

• KitKat on Aug 19, 2009 at 7:43 am

tonton said,

August 18, 2009 @ 2:01 pm

badboy said,

August 18, 2009 @ 1:48 pm

“…and Peugeot calls this a “double bubble” design.”

—————————————————————-

yep. their arse

—————————————

Haha, double booble…?

• Kimi Räikk&ouml on Aug 19, 2009 at 11:14 am

this peugeut look like a very big KATAK! ~ lol

• jusoh on Aug 19, 2009 at 12:05 pm

helo helo

• initial R on Aug 19, 2009 at 5:13 pm

scirocco lover said,

August 18, 2009 @ 4:38 pm

wonder how much this would go for? anyone out there with an indication for the scirocco as well?

——————————————————————

Don't worry, your Scirocco will be in malaysia by VW cars in about 2 to 3 month. So u can test the car after that. (info by inner VW cars).

• farid on Aug 19, 2009 at 5:16 pm

Double bubble…this car is gay…doublly gay…A very big gay katak…the people behind the design must had a long nite dream about…ARSE…

• mkrafz on Aug 19, 2009 at 5:56 pm

lack of creativity in fluid of design?

shame on u zagato!

• intermilan on Aug 19, 2009 at 8:01 pm

Love to see it in the flesh.

Sure stand out among the crowd.

From the comments here, quite a few Msians seem to dislike it one way or another.

Well, can't never please everyone. As long as it sell like hot cake (which all the indications globally showed), PSA gonna be happy.

Couple with Citroen making all the right note in design flair 9of soon to be launched cars), they seem to be on the rise again.

Beside, they wouldn't give a twat what a bunch of M'sian had to say (badly) about the RCZ. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Many people tought Myvi look nice.. they don't see the new Ford fiesta yet, i supposed. comprendre? capisce? kapish?

Truthfully, the main market for this is firmly in Europe and that's what count. Sales from anywhere else is a bonus.

Suspect it gonna be quite popular in the UK, even if the TopGear / FifthGear or all-sort-of gear tv guys decided to condemn it to death.

• tonton on Aug 19, 2009 at 10:48 pm

bw said,

August 18, 2009 @ 7:28 pm

though it shape like audi tt but i must say the ass looks fine!

because it is a women arse. that's why it looks fine.

• bobdbilder on Aug 20, 2009 at 4:08 am

Looks amazing. It would be even more if Citroen comes out with their rendition. We've had an extended dearth of affordable coupes. I like.

• Sports Car Tees on Aug 20, 2009 at 11:22 am

Wow, beautiful lines on this car. I just wonder how affordable it will be given the current economic morass.

• the stik on Aug 20, 2009 at 3:54 pm

Naza will rebadge this as 'naza bestari coupe' hehehe

• adlanb20 on Aug 20, 2009 at 6:05 pm

another smiley faced car, similar with the mazda3… but this one has an arse, boobs, cleavage…

• Jaybond on Aug 20, 2009 at 8:39 pm

This is actually the best looking Peugeot since the Ferrari-looking 406 Coupe.

Looking forward to the entry level Coupe/Sportscar comparo!

• Alan Wong on Aug 21, 2009 at 1:33 am

This car will really make people's head turn!

• c14man on Aug 21, 2009 at 7:27 am

thanks to Nasim, we can now drive continental cars with japanese price… =)

• Peter Cuthbert on Feb 13, 2010 at 7:11 am

I have the ideal reg number for the new Peugeot RCZ model which is RCZ IIII and would sell it for an offer of £5k.

• Sam Jam on May 05, 2010 at 1:32 am

Interesting. Will the price be as atractive? this is the question for this concept.

I believe the all new Megane F1 limited edition looks much better and have more hp. I would invest my money without a question.