Proton posts RM64 million Q1 profit before tax

ProtonProton hopes to be profitable in this 2009/2010 financial year and so far things look good with a profit before tax of RM64 million for Q1 of the current financial year. Revenue grew by 8% to RM1.85 billion compared to RM1.71 billion in the same period last year. These improved results caused Proton shares to rise about 2.45% to RM2.93 per share.

Proton says this is thanks to a better product mix (Exora, Exora, Exora!) even though Proton sales had actually dropped 2% (now at 39,327 units) compared to the same period last year (39,888 units), but this isn’t too bad considering the total industry volume itself had actually dropped by 11% during the same period. There have been a total of 18,000 orders for the Exora since order taking began up to the 15th of August 2009. The Exora managed 1,600 bookings in Indonesia since its launch recently. Proton currently holds 31% market share of the TIV sales as of June 2009.

In the exports area the company said it aimed to export about 20,925 units this year compared to 18,428 units last year. This is still a small percentage of cars compared to the numbers sold in Malaysia but Proton intends to shift to a more export-centric organisation. Proton also wants to sell more CKD export cars instead of the usual CBU cars currently sold, but CKD usually only starts to become viable when volume increases to an amount that can sustain an assembly line for the CKD packs. Proton has started out with CKD models in China and Iran. GEN2 CKD operations in Iran by Zagross Khodro began in April 2009 and CKD pack supply to Youngman in China have also commenced.

What’s coming up for Proton? Some details were revealed at the Q&A session after its latest AGM and others are revealed in their annual report for the last financial year. What should be exciting for you guys is a new car set for introduction in the second half of next year. Proton would not say which car this is but this car is widely rumoured to be a model based on the Mitsubishi Lancer. Manual transmissions will be offered to keep the entry price point low so this should be very good news for those who want to do their own shifting action in a sporty sedan. A page in the annual report also reveals that a facelift for the Persona is targeted to go into production by the end of 2009.

Further down the launch schedule will be a new car that will be the fruits of a project called the Global Small Car Programme. Proton has revealed that this will be a small and trendy hatchback with a small capacity engine that meets international emission standards. When this is launched, its goodbye time for the Savvy. Proton’s next generation of powertrains (Campro replacement?) are also being developed together with Lotus as part of a program called the Phoenix Project.

In the alternative fuels department, Proton will be skipping hybrid cars and fuel cell cars and will be focusing on electric cars. There was a hybrid system installed in a GEN2 called the Lotus EVE Hybrid Concept that combined the 1.6 litre Campro engine with a 40hp electric motor. From the looks of it, this will probably remain a technology showcase by Lotus to promote its engineering decision.

Proton currently has two prototype electric vehicles – one based on the Saga and another on the Persona. You’ve seen the Saga EV featured here on this blog. It is an EV focused on economy and the 10.1 second 0-100km/h acceleration time (despite 168hp) is a testament of this, but the Persona EV prototype is a totally different animal – it has been developed as a performance EV concept. This likely means larger and higher capacity batteries but a much more powerful electric motor to match!

Look after the jump for a copy of the annual report.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nadzri m yusof on Aug 23, 2009 at 1:12 pm

go proton. go….

• nazri on Aug 23, 2009 at 1:39 pm

congrats proton.. pls introduce more model

• spare tyre on Aug 23, 2009 at 1:47 pm

1,600 bookings in Indonesia? exceed total of last's years sales in 1 month? GOOD NEWS!!

• Yoezpo on Aug 23, 2009 at 2:06 pm

proton is improving!

thats good news!

• RunnerUp on Aug 23, 2009 at 2:45 pm

Phoenix Project? Sounds great! Really hope the end result will be as good as it sounds. Proton haven't failed me yet, and I hope it never will. Good luck Proton!

Btw, would love to have more info on the Persona EV prototype. Tried Googling but still no luck yet…

• pennstater on Aug 23, 2009 at 2:49 pm

lets go!

• biggie on Aug 23, 2009 at 2:54 pm

good for Proton, improving amid low profit margins.

all the best then

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Aug 23, 2009 at 3:14 pm

Lame…

• peromyvi on Aug 23, 2009 at 3:17 pm

first :)

• didn't u read, drop in sales? How is that better

• corolla_KE70 on Aug 23, 2009 at 3:39 pm

Good job Proton. Keep up the good work and strive harder. Else those basher would spend their day bashing you without any relevant fact.

• kentank91 on Aug 23, 2009 at 4:13 pm

camni r proton..

terus untung ok…

aku harap pasal mitsu lancer 2 jadi r pasang kat malaysia..

• T H C (Member) on Aug 23, 2009 at 4:26 pm

Wow

Cant wait for the Lancer replacement from Proton :)

• The Legend on Aug 23, 2009 at 4:56 pm

"Proton says this is thanks to a better product mix (Exora, Exora, Exora!) even though Proton sales had actually dropped 2% (now at 39,327 units) compared to the same period last year (39,888 units), but this isn’t too bad considering the total industry volume itself had actually dropped by 11% during the same period. There have been a total of 18,000 orders for the Exora since order taking began up to the 15th of August 2009. The Exora managed 1,600 bookings in Indonesia since its launch recently. Proton currently holds 31% market share of the TIV sales as of June 2009."

——————

Exora, exora, exora!!!

hehehe.. Try to kill Pro2 MPV soon… put more advertisement in TV especially during Hari Raya festival… sure can get better sales..

Then before P2 MPV launch..please give us Exora SE with Prestigue bodykit… woooowww… speechless

• WhiteFox on Aug 23, 2009 at 5:11 pm

To KS! The sales are dropping but the profit increase due to the good sales of Exora!!

Do you ever try to read all the article or just try to tembak suka suka

• Kuku_Nan on Aug 23, 2009 at 5:24 pm

Still making loss after tax. Net profit negative value $……

• ROBERT on Aug 23, 2009 at 5:27 pm

jaguh kampung

• . Proton’s next generation of powertrains (Campro replacement?) are also being developed together with Lotus as part of a program called the Phoenix Project.

Read more: http://paultan.org/#ixzz0Oxuderd4

-any info on this-anyone?

• Littlefire on Aug 23, 2009 at 6:12 pm

Well, after investing so much money in EVE they are dropping it?!?

Dont be so happy yet, Perodua haven came out with their MPV. Will P1 hit again by their sales?

• Kamyongkai on Aug 23, 2009 at 6:18 pm

i have always wished that p1 and p2 would come up with truly high quality cars at the best of price that at least can match up against the t's, h's and the koreans. although improvements can be seen, but it seems like there is still a long way to go.

• Boon Siew on Aug 23, 2009 at 6:36 pm

WALAWEH….@ Q1 PROFIT, Q2 PROFIT, Q3 PROFIT, END OF FINANCIAL YEAR LOSSS…..ALWAYS LIKE THISS, PITY THEIR STAFF, VERY VERY SMALL BONUS ….NO WONDER MY WIFE IS LOOKING FOR ANOTHER JOB, FED UP OLEDI….HAIYAAA….

• paul,

Business times mentioned that Proton will only come out with new models by second half of 2010. Proton current financial year end March 2010. So, we will not see any new model until next financial year. Please check.

• Neo S2K on Aug 23, 2009 at 7:20 pm

i am 1st..good..their financial get better and better..cant wait for the upcoming new model next year..

• Neo S2K on Aug 23, 2009 at 7:21 pm

huh..bad internet connection im not 1st..haha..

• mamat puchong on Aug 23, 2009 at 7:48 pm

firstly… congratulation to P1

secondly… hope with that much of profit P1 can make a better use to improve their R&D and also on their staff welfare (bonus and etc)

thirdly…. wish all consumer will benefit with resonable P1 price and better quality car..

thanks

• haiya..luckily p1 n p2 are protected by the government. if not..

• peroempat on Aug 23, 2009 at 8:02 pm

Even jagung kampung also can make profit, good job.

• akupunya on Aug 23, 2009 at 8:02 pm

proton??

apa yang hebat sgt proton tu?

model baru yg ada sekarang ni pun bukan the best sgt.

sebab murah jer. kualiti n design hampeh.

yang berbaloi ngan harga dan kualiti cuma saga jer.

yang lain hampas.

persona tu sampai bila nk pakai design tu.

enjin campro tu takat 1.6 sampai tahun 2020 ker?

exora tu plak besar jer, tapi lembek…1.6 naik 7 orang, failed kat bukit highway jelapang.

tak best la proton…orang beli pun sebab murah..bukan sebab suka..tujer

sorry la..aku bukan mengutuk..tapi itu realiti..

kalau ikut umur proton tu, proton dah leh buat keta setaraf vios or city..

• Any comments Tengku Mahallel??????

• roti naan1 on Aug 23, 2009 at 8:46 pm

Do you all know how many rakyat's money (and how much of their hard earned money) has been suckered by the Govt tax implementation, to protect Proton's interest, all these while? The car prices in Malaysia is artificially skewed (another word, screwed) by the Govt, (indirectedly, by Proton), yet we still happy about it?

Proton profit is nothing to shout about. Esp. the govt have been the "walking cane" to them so long. Just think about the rakyat money spend on some proton outdated cars compared to other car brand. Think of the choice of their cars they have been denied all these while. Think about million of ringgit spent on R&D but no follow up has been done. Think about the lousy customer service centers, think about the customer service staffs that have given enless grief and emotional torture have inflicted to their poor customers, money, time, effort wasted….

Please don't start on being patriotic, nationalism etc. Proton is business. Profit based on sale. Sales based on prices, attractive products, etc. Sales based on consumers. Consumers are King.

In business, if you (proton) are weak, you are destined to be failure. to be weed out. The strong will survive. Afterall, business is about making money. Not charity or companies that expect bail out, tax breaks or hand out in order to survive. If business is not profitable, please close shop so the tax payers' money can be channeled for better deeds. Like my friend says "Lu pikir la sendiri"

Anyway, read this if you want, believe it if you want. Reject my view if you want. Reply this if you wish. This is my personal view and I do not force my thinking to you. I'm merely offering what is on my mind.

• Tiadaid on Aug 23, 2009 at 8:51 pm

roti naan1 said,

August 23, 2009 @ 12:46 pm

naan1 said,

Think of the choice of their cars they have been denied all these while.

————————————————–

You know, before Proton existed, yeah we had a lot of choices. But how many people can afford to buy a car? Think about that…

• Elvis on Aug 23, 2009 at 9:11 pm

Finally Proton realised that they CAMPRO engine is not competitive. Whatever name they call it, i am sure its going to be a copypaste of Mitshubishi, Renault engine or maybe Toyota engine. For you guys infor, Lotus engine is based on Toyota 1.8 engine. So no magic engine from Lotus. It's another money sucking exercise for them. Regard to EV technology, all i can say is, i believe it when i see it coming from Proton. This technology is out of reach for us here. Let's admit it that we are not smart in developing this technology UNLESS we copypaste this technology(that's where this Detroit Electric comes in). Our car industry has been a history of rebadge or copypaste, attempt to be original have been a disaster financially or to customer confidence. All i want to see from Proton is a transparency from the suppliers side, high quality parts and products, and appreciation of its customers. Or else, former customers will go to similar priced cars such as Kia, Hyundai, P2 or even China made.

• peYno on Aug 23, 2009 at 9:20 pm

Littlefire said,

August 23, 2009 @ 10:12 am

Dont be so happy yet, Perodua haven came out with their MPV. Will P1 hit again by their sales?

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/08/23/proton-posts-rm64-m…
    ===============

p2 oso dont so happy.. that's y proton will come out Lancer replacement model next year..and small car segment

bad time for p2..

• Elvis, u got it right.

• bmpower on Aug 23, 2009 at 9:36 pm

roti naan1 said,

August 23, 2009 @ 12:46 pm

Do you all know how many rakyat’s money (and how much of their hard earned money) has been suckered by the Govt tax implementation, to protect Proton’s interest, all these while? The car prices in Malaysia is artificially skewed (another word, screwed) by the Govt, (indirectedly, by Proton), yet we still happy about it?

Another economic blind person here.

If you don't want to be taxed, go search other country of the world.

If you like, Indonesia are might be less taxed. Go living there… and let see if you can get any job there.

+++

Tiadaid said,

You know, before Proton existed, yeah we had a lot of choices. But how many people can afford to buy a car? Think about that…

—–

I second that…

before proton exist..

all japan cars are hell expensive!.

• nabil on Aug 23, 2009 at 10:00 pm

actually in the Q&a session he did mention that there will be a facelift of a current proton car in few mnths time , he didnt mention which model….

• tolan on Aug 23, 2009 at 10:01 pm

Phoenix project? Hopefully it wont be like Campro or CPS, downgraded to rubbish Campro and CPS was already obsolete when its finally introduced into the market. Dont do this again proton for the sake of ur survival

• Boon Siew on Aug 23, 2009 at 10:17 pm

More increment plss !!!…

• common sensor on Aug 23, 2009 at 10:30 pm

give PROTON some credit, kay?

• Hadi1975 on Aug 23, 2009 at 10:31 pm

Salam… Good 4 Proton… just an idea… proton been making lots of car in the same class but with little choice in the engine dept. Why not change that like bmw, merc, volvo etc. Different engine but with the same chassis… Eg. Proton saga 1.6 ( taxi stock ) make it high spec and sell it higher than the 1.3 which u can sell it as base and medium spec… I think paul understand what i mean

• Loyal proton staff on Aug 23, 2009 at 11:04 pm

yea man….more increment, more bonus plss……!!…plsss

• teamsleepnine on Aug 23, 2009 at 11:04 pm

dude car tax is the country second biggest income….

but then again even before proton exist how many of you here drive a honda remem ber japanese company doin business not charity when proton is not around japanese car is still expensive not everyone can afford.

• Drink_tea on Aug 23, 2009 at 11:08 pm

I second that…

before proton exist..

all japan cars are hell expensive!.

—————————–

maybe your father did not own a car back then, but that time, corrolla is same price as PROTON SAGA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! those saga owners are really patriotic because they choose saga over corolla. will you choose gen2 over altis for same price? genius, and senseless.

Malaysia boleh!!!!! semua boleh, apa pun boleh!!!!

• Drink_tea on Aug 23, 2009 at 11:09 pm

dude car tax is the country second biggest income….

but then again even before proton exist how many of you here drive a honda remem ber japanese company doin business not charity when proton is not around japanese car is still expensive not everyone can afford.

—————————-

lets have Malaysian Intel CPU processor, and malaysian WIndows, and malaysian TV, and malaysian engineer to build penang bridge!!!

• Littlefire on Aug 23, 2009 at 11:10 pm

I don't think car tax is second biggest income… Gambling business is second biggest, the most biggest income come from Petroleum… Third is also from cigarettes and liquor business…

• _xXx_ on Aug 24, 2009 at 12:29 am

Who cares bout their profit? Do I get to buy car at reasonable price? NO! Do I pay lesser tax? Still NO. Do I get better public transport? A BIG NO!!!

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Aug 24, 2009 at 12:47 am

Shit…

• Maes Kurt on Aug 24, 2009 at 1:16 am

Proton Cars in Europe ?

I hope it will be in 2010 .

• and no one care about u _xXx_ ,, just go to hell..

• Potong Saga on Aug 24, 2009 at 2:13 am

Hmm… if its gaining more profit perhaps it should start reducing the tax on foreign cars… stil protecting Proton with tax?

• mystvearn on Aug 24, 2009 at 2:43 am

New car end of next year? Hopefully it will replace the aging perdana!

Better start replacing this car soon before other agencies decide to dump perdana's for toyota's and merc's.

Perdana will sell a lot, government agencies will surely want to change their existing fleet to these new perdana's.

• fastcx on Aug 24, 2009 at 3:06 am

_xXx_ said,

August 23, 2009 @ 4:29 pm

Who cares bout their profit? Do I get to buy car at reasonable price? NO! Do I pay lesser tax? Still NO. Do I get better public transport? A BIG NO!!!

———–

LOL! dude, u better dont stay alive, tax is global issue, at least u r not taxed in every thing u buy from kedai runcit, remember VAT? u think without tax, ur road tax will reduce? how about ur insurance? more ppl own cars, n especially in malaysia accident prompt country, rest assure, insurance company do not do charity by not increasing premium, left alone reduce it…Fact of life is, lots of malaysian has very narrow mind, go to other country n live there for few years, let see if u still thinks the same.

• Elvis on Aug 24, 2009 at 4:13 am

Proton used to be part of our life back in the 90's when Proton Wira and Iswara Aeroback were copypaste from the Mitshubishi. And quality were okaylah back in those days. And we all know that Proton was conquering the auto market back then. See how simple Proton can make money then? Till those VVIP suppliers got very greedy. Want to make FAT PROFIT till safety and relability come second place.

• 4g63tdsm on Aug 24, 2009 at 4:59 am

Fastcx,

I don't know which country you have lived in, but, coming form someone that has spent more than a decade abroad and widely travelled in Europe and North america, I think I can qualify to comment,

Tax in malaysia is low, but the relative cost of living is high. our average PDI is pitifully poor.

Primary chunk of that high cost of living is the high cost of car ownership and the lack of decent public transportation.

I wont repeat any of the correlation between protecting home grown industry and the price that all malaysian's pay. You can be as patriotic as you want, but least not be blind.

Who profits from these arrangements? heavy handed suppliers, politicians and banks (the interest alone you pay for your brand new car, can buy me a brand new car overseas…dollar for dollar.)

• Kambing Laut on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:14 am

Its not a replacement to be done for campro.

But will upgrade to the latest technology like i-vtec and vvt-i.

maybe one day they will call cps-i or else.

The Phoenix Project is so mysterious.

Reminds me of m nasir song title called phoenix bangkit.

That will be official song for the next generation to campro.

Because proton want to bangkit dari kegagalan.

Bak kata Dr Fadzilah kamsah "Orang yang gagal adalah orang yang berputus asa".

• I disagreed with claims that Campro is a bad/lousy/shiity engine as mentioned here. In fact I can said that Persona with Campro engine is a fun to drive car. A good combination of both. A revved happy engine, responsive and give assurance to drivers that its ready to response to whatever whims and fancies of the drivers provided that the driver knows what he is doing. I have no complaint of the rented Persona SE that i droved from JB to KL, enjoying the fast and twisting B-road Pagoh- Batu Pahat road from KL. Personally I think its a good car with solid chasis and a good first in-house built engine by Proton. In fact its value for money compared to my 1.8 Japanese-made sedan which I spent more than MYR100K.

Now, where I can rent Persona with Campro CPS? Its 10% more powerful than standard Campro.

• hmm, phoenix project eh…..well, about time to retire the campro anyway, not exactly a good engine.

hopefully the new engine is good in terms of reliability and powerband.

• infinity on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:45 am

In international arena, CamPro is not a good engine, but in malaysia, it is. compare the campro cps/iafm with vios' vvti and city's idsi/vtec…they are similar in technology (take note..similar, not same)…

anyway, hope the phoenix project will be a breakthrough..

btw, i am really waiting for the waja replacement…very likely be the replacement for my family's old but reliable wira…

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2009 at 6:56 am

_xXx_ said,

——————————————————

Public transport is bad because of Malaysian people's well known tidak apa attitude. If you're talking about buses, they're often unreliable because they have to share the same road with cars! Every Malaysian drive their own car to the office and no one ever thought about carpooling to the office! I've been driving in and out of KL for a while now, and every time the traffic jam occurs, I look to my right and the car beside me have only one person in it. Look at the car in front, same thing. Behind, same thing, left side same thing. So many cars going in and out of the city means bad jams, which means buses would get stuck as well which means late arrival at the bus stop. And the trains? Another victim of the Malaysian people syndrome of not servicing properly. Always wait until it breaks then want to fix…

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2009 at 6:58 am

Drink_tea said,

August 23, 2009 @ 3:08 pm

rink_tea said,

maybe your father did not own a car back then, but that time, corrolla is same price as PROTON SAGA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! those saga owners are really patriotic because they choose saga over corolla. will you choose gen2 over altis for same price? genius, and senseless.

Malaysia boleh!!!!! semua boleh, apa pun boleh!!!!

—————————————————–

The price maybe the same, but what about income level la? Of course price is same, but income level is not! Don't compare with people's income level today, but compare with people's income level BACK THEN….

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Aug 24, 2009 at 6:59 am

Lousy…

• Proton will never be success if not for rakyat malaysia..but proton only give low quality car that not value for money..everyone know..not everbody rich can buy many car their like..if goverment really want to help malaysian people sure their understand..i think better proton never exist in the first time…sure everybody can drive better car with better price..dont think malaysian people are stupid..Please goverment,help rakyat malaysia..dont make car just profit to u..

• Littlefire on Aug 24, 2009 at 7:31 am

peYno said,

August 23, 2009 @ 1:20 pm

Littlefire said,

August 23, 2009 @ 10:12 am

===============

p2 oso dont so happy.. that’s y proton will come out Lancer replacement model next year..and small car segment

bad time for p2..

If i not mistaken, u r the most patriotic person which support Proton to built own car… But it seems Proton have to go back to square 1, rebadge M. lancer… Hmmm

• hope Proton can make a comeback for savvy. Just plunk in the D4FT engine..wahla Savvy GTi

• MyviC on Aug 24, 2009 at 8:32 am

Long said,

August 23, 2009 @ 9:17 pm

I disagreed with claims that Campro is a bad/lousy/shiity engine as mentioned here. In fact I can said that Persona with Campro engine is a fun to drive car. A good combination of both. A revved happy engine, responsive and give assurance to drivers that its ready to response to whatever whims and fancies of the drivers provided that the driver knows what he is doing. I have no complaint of the rented Persona SE that i droved from JB to KL, enjoying the fast and twisting B-road Pagoh- Batu Pahat road from KL. Personally I think its a good car with solid chasis and a good first in-house built engine by Proton. In fact its value for money compared to my 1.8 Japanese-made sedan which I spent more than MYR100K.

Now, where I can rent Persona with Campro CPS? Its 10% more powerful than standard Campro.

———————————

Did you pawned another civic cucukman?

• howitzer on Aug 24, 2009 at 8:45 am

to all bashers… please stop all this nonsense and live accept the reality that our G will never lower the car tax as its part of their income…. if you hate proton so much please migrate to other country as this is the gov decision… what? rakyat money wasted?? haha… there are some bad and good in the G investment lol.. assume proton is bad investment.. still there are many G's good investment such as petronas and so on… they always back proton when suffer in loss because its employ malaysians…. imagine without those investment by the G's, malaysia wouldn't be like it is today… just look at our neighbour.. so please accept the fact that tax is for the G's and somehow helps proton… if not please go out of this country… and if so you go to europe and live there the income tax is really hell dude.. malaysia is not at that level… and dont show your stupidity by bashing here and there…

peace… :)

• nabil on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:10 am

this mnths edition of Top Gear magazine thrs a shootout between suzuki wift sport,latio impul,satria neo cps….and the cps won because of beter chasis,body and refined and responsive engine….CPS is good…is not crap…those who say its bs never driven one….

time to scrap the waja , its been too long in production…looks very dated now although stil a nice car to drive…

as for tax , we all can dream n live in fantasy , the truth is , tax n high tax will be there till we all die ! other countires wont complain bcause thy have a higher per capita income…here is jus low…

• _xXx_ on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:56 am

To all balls-carriers, please tell me you got something from potong else why are you here to angkat? Ask ppl to go hell, leave this country, call ppl stupid..etc ARE all dated. Can I have something new?

• Topper on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:02 am

akupunya said,

August 23, 2009 @ 12:02 pm

tak best la proton…orang beli pun sebab murah..bukan sebab suka..tujer

sorry la..aku bukan mengutuk..tapi itu realiti..

kalau ikut umur proton tu, proton dah leh buat keta setaraf vios or city..

———–

what is so great about vios and city anyway? other than the "T" and "H" emblem?

• Elvis on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:22 am

Firstly, yes, the tax in Malaysia are low and standardized. Compare to US where they are 3 type of tax to pay, yupp, 3 TYPE OF TAXES TO PAY. Americans have to pay to their G, state tax and lastly district tax. So you can imagine why Americans are super angry everytime their G mention about tax increase. But here's the catch, our salary in Malaysia are super low. You heard Dr. M talking about high pay environment here which i doubt remain a dream of an old man who got almost 30 years to change this scenario but he also TAK BOLEH. I dont want to bash about the tax in Malaysia, i also dont want to talk about IF PROTON DIDNT EXIST discussion. And its to shallow to ask someone to leave this country if he doesnt like the system here. What i would like to ask you all is, WHAT DO YOU WANT OUT OF PROTON ? Yupp, would you like to see a malaysian made cars with international standard but cheap to us here? Not only cheap but high quality spare parts from our own local suppliers? Dont mind that we copypaste everything but as long as cheap to us? Maybe this is want i want to see from Proton yes, Perodua is also a malaysian car manufacturer despite obvious copypaste from Toyota/Daihatsu. For someone who love Malaysia, i dont see anything wrong about bashing Proton or Malaysia in general. Coz in the end, actually we love Malaysia or Proton that's why we bash in the first place. True or not? It's like a relationship, if you love your wife, once in the blue moon you bash her, she bash you. If everything, yes dear…you are rite dear…aiyah…just admit it…you afraid of her and sooner or later the relationship turn false and meaningless…..

• bmpower on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:32 am

actually.. the public transport considered cheap btw. With rapid KL, you can travel all around kl lesser than RM 5!.

However, the problem are :

1 – do you willing to use it beside ego driving in your car.

2 – it's shared your same road that's make it also jammed to make it in time.

3 – again… are you ready to not driving your car?

+++

do anyone know which country in the world had no tax?

tell me!

• Andrew Lim on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:33 am

@fastcx: I think what _xXx_ is annoyed about is that Proton is enjoying taxpayers money at the people's expense. The government protects Proton, supposedly to make us proud of having a national car industry. What we don't like is that our money is being given to Proton and mainly Proton (and the government officials) benefit. I think the profits should be used to improve public transport.

Foreign cars are cheap, but are kept artificially high by our government. And to what purpose? Proton. I'd rather they used our tax money to give us better public transport.

And as to other countries, don't need to look far. Just go down to Singapore. Graduates can afford Honda Jazz/Fit, and their public transport system is first-class. They don't need national car company to feel proud.

• Andrew Lim on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:36 am

howitzer: If government and Proton can screw us as much as they want, We can bash as much as we want.

You're telling us to migrate if we don't like Proton? Well, I tell you to avoid reading our bashing if you don't like. =)

• So P1 hv good margin/profit now…. therefore can we open up the automotive market ASAP?? said….. 2010

• Harris Iskandar Taib on Aug 24, 2009 at 1:32 pm

great joke…lol

• Harris Iskandar Taib on Aug 24, 2009 at 1:45 pm

in the end the savvy buyers get screwed again no thanks to the absence of continuity in a company.

best savvy owners start dumping the car right now. hang on to it any longer and you'll end up having to use the rm5k discount voucher. then again, you're "tiara" may end up only being worth rm2k.

"These improved results caused Proton shares to rise about 2.45% to RM2.93 per share." – lol

• 'Proton Cars in Europe ?

I hope it will be in 2010 .'

A important point. There's currently a strong demand for 'not too expensive' cars in continental Europe. One example is the success of Renault's Dacia division.

I was always wondering, why Proton left such a big market in the early 1990s…

I'm quite sure, that the 'new' models (GEN2, Savvy, Persona and namely Satria) would sell in reasonable numbers over there.

Of course, a re-entry in that market would have to be planned and achieved carefully (spareparts stock in Europe).

• swoosh3553 on Aug 24, 2009 at 3:31 pm

I just love Paul's posting on Proton/Perodua-related issues…. Many many posting from bashers and supporters "hitting" out at each other… Keep it up! Perks me up in the morning… Peace to all :-)

• azrai on Aug 24, 2009 at 3:56 pm

Paul,you didn't highlight Proton sales excedd Perodua's for 2 consecutive months. But wait till December when the Perodua's Myvi Sette launched. :-) People to obsessed with T's DNA in Malaysia.

• jazzer on Aug 24, 2009 at 4:37 pm

bosan gile akupunya,ko ingat vios ngan city tu bgs sgt ke…ko mmg x reti psl keta r aku rase…think b4 write smthg here..please has a little bit patriotic feel whem u wrote..moreover,we are in merdeka month..please merdeka your mind as well..go proton go!!

• ericfoong81exe on Aug 24, 2009 at 4:44 pm

Still a long way to go for local car manufacturer, but do they manage to survive through 2010 since Malaysia is being force by the ASEAN to fully open our market for foreign brand of car?

• Diablo on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:23 pm

Why do people keep comparing Proton and Perodua. 2 different companies operating under different set of rules.

• Silv3r on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:33 pm

Untung banyak dah ke?

bagus la…now buat open market utk semua pengusaha2 keta luar..

dari dulu cakap nk bukak market…smp skrg takde gak…

AFTA la..mcm2 lagi…tp smp 2009 habuk pun tarak….

bila dah open market nnt, br la welcome to the real world~

tgk next time dpt untung ke x lagi…

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:42 pm

Harris Iskandar Taib said,

August 24, 2009 @ 5:45 am

in the end the savvy buyers get screwed again no thanks to the absence of continuity in a company.

best savvy owners start dumping the car right now. hang on to it any longer and you’ll end up having to use the rm5k discount voucher. then again, you’re “tiara” may end up only being worth rm2k.

——————————————————

It's normal cycle la to replace car models. How old is Savvy? If too old, then people don't want to buy. Personally, Savvy wasn't a big seller because of its looks, rather than any shortcomings of its own. It has a Renault engine for god sakes! If I'm buying a small city car, give me Savvy over the Myvi and Viva anytime!

• tikus on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:42 pm

New engine?? Those Campro are 10 years late in the market.Or outdated by 10 years.Now new engine lagi….Proton good at talking only or the R&D dept do things to damn slow….1days task took 10days to complete.

• farghmee on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:57 pm

ape la korg ni…xble fikir logik ke?

enjin mmg la akn ada improvement. kira bagusla tu!

dulu, time jepun kuar DOHC, cm nk gila korg puji DOHC!

psl rege kete zaman dulu, mmg la murah.

tp gaji org2 biasa cm aku ni pn xde la tinggi.

still "money value" (ni istilah aku) tu tinggi.

dulu $1 dpt 4buji kueh, skrg rm2 br dpt 4biji kueh. ada faham?

lotus have engine? i dunno.

but i know that lotus develop various tech for engine.

lotus opt for toyota engine for their car.

(hehe later somebody will say, "why not proton's?")

one logical answer is:

because proton didn't produce engine at that capacity (cc).

aduh..kalu xde proton, kete foreign jd lg murah ke?

nmpk x, nnt kita jd dependent pd kete luar.

kalu jd, time tu, lg suka2 hati la kete luar ble naik harga sbb nk xnk org bli juga kete dia!

dgn ada proton, sekurang2nye bende cmni ble dikurangkn.

check&balance.

• buburlambuk on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:32 pm

Proton bring it on !!

If you think you can face the challenge with your

Campro, open up the Malaysian mkt and gauge your true capabilities!!!

Poor Savvy owner got played out cos Proton promised them

that the Savvy was the most economical car + yet it failed.

what happened to the R3 & electric cars plan for the Savvy?

So savvy owners get rid of your cars now cos the 5K buy-back offer

expires on 31/12/2009. after that value will be 1-2K only.

• Kemosabe on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:19 pm

I think the Gov would be in a situation where they may have to accept the failures of local car industry as their own doing.

Just imagine if any of the foreign cars goes cheaper by just RM10k, it would have a severe impact on the local manafacturers especially Proton.

The people are already all fed up with the inferior quality. Who would buy a car just to have to pay more to have the bugs ironed out. People are buying Proton simply the other cars are priced way above affordability. In other words the people are being held ransom.

And we are talking about a daily necessity that has a depreciative value. Cars are cheap to manufacture, and the bugs are not unique, they are common which can be easily identified and fixed, best yet prevented.

The only thing that Proton did right is the air-con, even that is not theirs.

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:24 pm

Here's for worshippers of the T badge

Toyota recalls 690,000 cars for window bug – Toyota Motor Corp. is recalling nearly 690,000 of its China-made vehicles after finding problems with their electric window controls, China's quality watchdog says.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/8…

See, even the almighty T is not bullet-proof!

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:33 pm

farghmee said,

August 24, 2009 @ 9:57 am

aduh..kalu xde proton, kete foreign jd lg murah ke?

nmpk x, nnt kita jd dependent pd kete luar.

kalu jd, time tu, lg suka2 hati la kete luar ble naik harga sbb nk xnk org bli juga kete dia!

dgn ada proton, sekurang2nye bende cmni ble dikurangkn.

check&balance

————————

You're right but in half point but in reality the tax are just too expensive even for Proton. Excise duty + sales tax nearly RM20k for a Proton? It is even more expensive for foreign brand. A 2.0 H marque sells at RM140k which RM40k is only excise duty!!.

Considering this, there is totally no check&balance such you mentioned in your post but the only things is its too expensive. In my opinion there is no give and take at all for the current car tax scheme by the government unlike in Japan.

Even no point to say if proton not exist the foreign marque can increase the price what they likes is wrong. The car price can reduce if volume is huge. The more to amortise the part the cheaper can we get the price.

• Andrew Lim on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:22 am

Tiadaid: Toyota recall at least shows they give a damn. And this is for minor issue – the windows.

Proton's power windows got problem they won't recall one… they will keep selling, recall will only eat into their profits.

• Obertan on Aug 25, 2009 at 3:25 am

Tiadaid said,

August 23, 2009 @ 10:56 pm

_xXx_ said,

——————————————————

Public transport is bad because of Malaysian people’s well known tidak apa attitude. If you’re talking about buses, they’re often unreliable because they have to share the same road with cars! Every Malaysian drive their own car to the office and no one ever thought about carpooling to the office! I’ve been driving in and out of KL for a while now, and every time the traffic jam occurs, I look to my right and the car beside me have only one person in it. Look at the car in front, same thing. Behind, same thing, left side same thing. So many cars going in and out of the city means bad jams, which means buses would get stuck as well which means late arrival at the bus stop. And the trains? Another victim of the Malaysian people syndrome of not servicing properly. Always wait until it breaks then want to fix…

What u said about that traffic jam is really true. I am with my father every morning going to work with a bike, I live near Jalan Ipoh and first we both go along Jalan Kuching. I checked inside every car that I see along that road and what do u know ALMOST ALL OF THEM ARE ONLY 1 PEOPLE INSIDE. And that made me thinking are all people going to work each morning on working days are so ignorance. Why they dont want to share car?

Are that mean Malaysian can afford to buy car because everyday got too many cars on Jalan Kuching either when the to go office or the time to go home its all same.

And also if some people still didn't know what Proton are doing right now i ill tell u some.

Proton Waja Replacement off course ill roll out next year based on Mitsu Lancer platform.

End of this year Persona with cosmetic change

Exora with Turbo engine

Exora platform is an intelligent platform that can be exploit to built other model and super saloon car from that platform is not impossible thing. So it must be Proton Perdana

Savvy Replacement also in workout.

Project Pheonix will create more engines for Proton in the future.

Thats all.

• How come everyone wants to support national car?

Do you have national Peti Ais?? National TV? National Basikal? National Computer? National Radio? National Speaker? National Keyboard??

Why you wish your country to go into making one of the high tech stuff human being can make? ( a car is high tech/important, because if the car fails, you bugger dies in an accident horribly)

anyone wonders why fatality rate of accident in malaysia is one of the highest?

in the world, about 11 countries have national car, and is malaysia top 11 country? if its not, why spend time on this?

THailand/taiwan/philipine do not have national car, hell, even British national car all bankrapt, why malaysia want to have national car?

why use EPF and PEtronas money to pay for CARSSSSSS????

No, petronas is not an investment, you retarted, petronas help to dig the oil, anyone can do it. ( you can ask exxon/ shell to do it for you, they will pay you royalty, just like saudi now)

if you're lazy, not smart, no initiative, what makes your think you can compete with japanese, american, germans in the car making industry?

with the stupid slogan, MALAYSIA BOLEH?? BOLEH KER?????

• this subject do not need to debate, you like it or not, the gomen is going to execute it.

the only thing that you can do, is make more money, and buy the car you love( even though you pay tax and ended up in Proton pocket), but, we always pay extra, to go into others pocket.

you see the cronies that drives ferrari?

you lazy? you no job? becos all indon/myanmar/nepal stole your job away. thats all.

• last time no proton, japanese car cheap.

now with proton, all car (including proton )are expensive

last time corolla and saga some price, and i know you guys are all fxxxing poor last time, but, hey, now you all rich becos of proton ar? why compare like this? no sense?

last time korean is poorer than malaysia, now they richer, becos they got car company? NO!!!!!!

cos they have gomen's with brains!!! ours ministers are SPM drop out, and ART/Economic stream graduates, without even flying colour.

• so, without proton, Mitsubishi will sell car very expensive? really?

is SONY selling very expensive?

you guys don't understand economy?

they sell expensive, other competitor will sell cheaper to grab market la.

i think smart ppl do not talk here, so i should quit.

We do not have Malaysia Intel/AMD, no wonder the stupid CPU is so expensive, sh1t!!!!

• nazri on Aug 25, 2009 at 3:58 am

yelah keep complaining until u death.. why not you improve your salary and get better job

• Our tax money is too ciput, can help nothing to proton. Don't be too proud.

• waimak on Aug 25, 2009 at 6:33 am

guys, guys, before you condemn Proton more, I suggest you study the automotive industry and learn how other marques any in this world carved their success. Hopefully this will stop you guys' from posting rather short sighted comments here. Nothing personal ok?

I see phoenix project or next generation campro is a good move though it's rather late since other makers are already there. But its never too late. I think The country that 1st promotes fuel efficient engine is Japan. That was because they cannot go head to head with the US cars and Europe cars, in competition. The marketing strategy then turned into practical day to day engine use and yes, they succeed. If you see, in the US and certain parts of Europe, not having fuel efficient engine is not much of an issue, look at their cars and engines.

With regard to campro engine, I agree that Proton should move above the current capacity, either a smoother and more efficient campro (like VVT, or CVVT or a larger c.c e.g. 1.8 cc or 2.0 cc, that's basic!

I think the model needs replacement now is perdana, then only waja. But I think perdana's competitors are way to strong. Not sure its the best time to replace Perdana..

All the best!

• sumpitU on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:00 am

Hello Tiadaid,

At least T is willing to take responsibility even if it did not

involve the safety of the car + its passangers!!

Proton will tell you "itu BIASA-lah !!" & people like you accept

their crap reasoning!!! start blaming vendors when they expect

quality but pay peanuts.

That is why P1 shd learn from the world market leader.

P1mentality same like our govt."no one" accepts responsibility

and blame others instead.

• Benefit of having Proton is actually outweight its cost no matter how you see it, in term of knowledge, technology, human resource development, etc, etc. In fact, we should not just stop at building cars, we should also learn to build plane, ship, aerospace, rocket, submarine, etc, etc. First, of course we just copy and paste first, but know that knowledge you gain just to copy and fast outweight than doing nothing (or working 9 to 5 saving money to buy what others made). The quality at first will be low, but that is natural, but you cannot stop. Proton is making profit is ok bro, even GM also making loss in their own "kampung".

• Rubbish, how come you tax money goes to Proton?! Even if the government give fund, it is either in loan or equity (study account first), if loan need to pay back, if equity there will be a rate of return and capital. If Proton profitable, the profit goes back to government coffers as dividend or if you have share in Proton, into you pocket.

• bmpower on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:07 am

it's better that 400million (from car taxs) given to proton.. ratter than giving that 400million to japan!… because that ringgit are remain in malaysia.. not to japan and never come back!

so what?

• peroempat on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:20 am

Gambling help people to own a bigger car. LOL

• initial R on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:34 am

Andrew Lim said,

August 24, 2009 @ 5:22 pm

Tiadaid: Toyota recall at least shows they give a damn. And this is for minor issue – the windows.

Proton’s power windows got problem they won’t recall one… they will keep selling, recall will only eat into their profits.

——————————————————————

What toyota do is after the problem are reach 40% value care have sales. that they discover the problem after few month customer purchase & then complain. Actually Power window is not big issue coz it was wear & tear but the safety part is Driving componant. Proton also do it last time when they recall all savvy owner to check & replace the bearing at rear tyre. Remember ?. Recall all… Proton window problem previous can said below then 5% fulty…. so that not are huge number but still DSZ want to improve this to became 0%. So for new Proton owners that facing this problem, please pergi ke SC Proton & kalau SC tu banyak songeh sila complain terus ke proton iCare atau terus ke DSZ

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 25, 2009 at 2:53 pm

koko said,

August 24, 2009 @ 11:30 pm

—————————-

Tax money goes to Proton is true. last year approx 400mil Rnd grant awarded to automotive industry and mostly grabbed Proton. it is not loan. Anyway i agree with you if Proton make profit it goes to shareholder including government investment Khazanah but in reality Proton now is making more losses than profit. Untung 64juta nanti rugi 300juta sebab tool and dies depreciation la ape la. But still there is hope if they work hard likes fadzillah kamsah saying "The failed person is one who give up".

• fastcx on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:24 pm

Sony said,

August 24, 2009 @ 7:50 pm

We do not have Malaysia Intel/AMD, no wonder the stupid CPU is so expensive, sh1t!!!!

———–

If u ever compared their price to oversea's ours is cheaper after conversion, n v have factory here to assemble both company's chip. best of all, v dont have VAT bs here…its expensive cause intel wants more profit margin because they afford to do it.

If in uk, mini price almost the same as mito, y on earth in malaysia mito sells for around 160k, but mini is way over 200k?! its not tax dude, its profit margin, n they afford to do it cause malaysian r just too stupid to let go of ego n peanut size of brain

• farghmee on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:37 pm

aku rasa pelik la..

nape kalu org malaysia nk buat sesuatu, ada je yg kondem?

mentaliti teruk sgt la.

nk sgt kete luar, kumpul je la $ byk2.

org yg mampu beli & maintain xckp byk.

kdg2 aku terfikir, adakah org2 yg ske mengutuk ni org2 luar yg diupah utk menjatuhkn moral rakyat malaysia?

lu pikirlah sendiri? no!

let's think together :)

• Wormnachia on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:00 pm

Konspirasi

• some ppl just want buy better car without effort and blaming the G for whatever thing they cannot afford…

for me, this kind of people is–> USELESS, LAZY,

• Prismo on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:24 pm

Andrew Lim said:

Foreign cars are cheap, but are kept artificially high by our government. And to what purpose? Proton. I’d rather they used our tax money to give us better public transport.

And as to other countries, don’t need to look far. Just go down to Singapore. Graduates can afford Honda Jazz/Fit

—————————-

In SG, Jazz pricing $67,100-$80,000, Fit $62,000-$76,000 (above RM120k nearly RM200k) .. that Graduations must be "anak org kaya".. yea, the pricing still cheaper than our but in SG$, after converting to RM.. kira sendirilah.. :D

• scottloeb on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:44 pm

Phoenix project is a debate itself inside Proton.

Petronas is a Malaysian success story. Saudi used to rely on american oil (Chevron, Exxon and such) but they managed to iron out all contract/royalty issues and build up ARAMCO. Now one of reputable oil co in the world with highest oil reserved in the world alongside Gazprom (Russia's state own) and CNPC. Do remember Petonas is a force to be reckoned with in the O&G industry (but of course, they can do better).

The reason why our govt involved in having national car is to provide jobs here in Malaysia. Why did US govt did not allow Chinese co buy GM/Chrysler? Because of jobs it created. They know the moment the Chinese co get hold of these co they'll move the whole value chain to China and american will be left with farming and needing to import GMC truck from China. The electronics moved to pacific rim (Taiwan/Singapore/Malaysia/South Korea), clothes to Mexico and South America/China/Eastern Europe/North Africa and even European is catching up very fast on telco and avionics industries. The problem for our country is the quality, which you cant get due to the volume and money. Since we are almost failed in our independent Proton experiment, why dont we do a Seat way, by selling/tie-up with VW and try to conquer the pacific area (Australia/NZ) and let loose P2 as a Daihatsu? I'm pretty sure the low wages of our technical team is appreciated by the Europeans who in the other hand can provide greater room of improvement and access to mountains of parts bins. Acknowledged that Thailand managed to beat us at the assembly game due to their population and labour rates, but we still have the brains (at least) and we have room for improvement besides highest motorization rates in Asean.

Whatever it is, all the best to the team at Proton. With DSZ at helm, we're more convince that they'll do good (esp on the electric)

• sudah!!! on Aug 26, 2009 at 12:39 am

aiyo, apa mau bising2… lagi2 isu duit rakyat…. proton kalau develop maka byk peluang pekerjaan kerana volume besar… masing2 dapat kerja akan berbelanja… so berbelanja nk bagi cantik kereta proton, maka pergi la kat kedai aksesori, berbelanja beli makanan pulak dapatla sesiapa yg kerja kat food company bonus lebih sebab sales naik… ini semua rangkaian. Lu dapat bonus lebih, kerajaan ambil sikit. Sama2 untung apa…. yg bising2 kata bazir duit rakyat ni, lu bayar cukai berapa byk satu tahun? kalau shareholding you're only minority share aje….lagi mau bising…..

• Single Malt on Aug 26, 2009 at 1:21 am

InitialR how did the power window failure of 5% came about?

Did you just pluck it from the skies.?

Its just that complaints were swept under the carpet

and the technician themselves did not bother to log-in the defects.

That is why the 5% figure came about.

"Wear and tear"/ "Not a big problem" is an overused word in P1.!!

A so called global company with only ONE engine to show for,

one word to describe it "Pathetic"!!

• donno on Aug 26, 2009 at 3:04 am

that CAMPRO engine has caused me endless headache…

My AFIM has failed not once but TWICE in less than 2 months!!!!!!

Now i am waiting for the sparepart nearly 1 month, enduring 3 weeks off calls to service centre with the reply of "parts coming next week"… Now enduring 260KMS lowsy mileage with full tank, and engine sounding like diesel engine… And warranty service also have to pay RM70 "transprt cost"…

What kind of service is this PROTON!!!!!????

• Tiadaid on Aug 26, 2009 at 3:42 am

Single Malt said,

August 25, 2009 @ 5:21 pm

InitialR how did the power window failure of 5% came about?

Did you just pluck it from the skies.?

Its just that complaints were swept under the carpet

and the technician themselves did not bother to log-in the defects.

That is why the 5% figure came about.

————————————–

Any proof? You question someone for proof, you must have one yourself

• shoryuken on Aug 26, 2009 at 3:43 am

ya ya, good news proton, please free us from the tax and duty burden and compete openly inside msia and outside please..that will then I call the Proton achievement.

• shoryuken on Aug 26, 2009 at 3:59 am

Taxpayer->Gomen->Potong->Conies A->Palace in jungle

Taxprayer->pump gas->Peronas->Gomen->Pothon->Conies B->AP->sell to taxplayer-> duty and tax->gomen->Combies C->Ferarri->Spagatti Country

• Any reason why our G should let the money flow out from our country easily?

• alcore on Aug 26, 2009 at 5:59 am

that CAMPRO engine has caused me endless headache…

My AFIM has failed not once but TWICE in less than 2 months!!!!!!

Now i am waiting for the sparepart nearly 1 month, enduring 3 weeks off calls to service centre with the reply of “parts coming next week”… Now enduring 260KMS lowsy mileage with full tank, and engine sounding like diesel engine… And warranty service also have to pay RM70 “transprt cost”…

What kind of service is this PROTON!!!!!????

——————————————–

karut la bro 260 mileage with full tank..

kereta aku run dgn AIFM problem 370km with full tank apa..

drive 140-160 with no prob..ko yg peningkan kepala dengan AIFM tuh..

benda just bunyi tak tak tak..

utk pengetahuan ko..AIFM yg rosak tu meterial import..

harga 1k lebih..org yg tukar time awal2 dulu mmg akan rosak kembali sbb meterial sama & time tu masih pakai yg import & tak upgrade

skang proton dah tak import..

kalau korang perasan AIFM yg baru ni harga just rm200 lebih

• Prismo on Aug 26, 2009 at 3:53 pm

AFIM -> Air Fuel Integrated Module Air Integrated Fuel Module Integrated Air Fuel Module <- Proton's car CamPro engine

??? :)

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 26, 2009 at 5:52 pm

bmpower said,

August 25, 2009 @ 1:07 am

———————–

$400mil will not go to Japan as it is car Tax. In fact the G earns more for Jap as excise duty for 2.0 japs is $40k. Our G is become rich and richer. Will not go to Japan forever.

As far as all concern, $300mil losses due to tools & dies depreciation was reported. I bet no of proton major dies, mould, main body jigs, cubic jigs etc were made in Malaysia. All goes to Taiwan Korea Japs Italy so on so on. Isn't this indirectly that $300mil goes to those countries. forever and never come back!! Further $400mil is injected to compensate those losses?? Isn't that tax money goes abroad?? So what?? kekeke

• torque (Member) on Aug 26, 2009 at 7:01 pm

Pls upgrade this site efficiency…sudah type 3 kali, 3 times try posting but never appear…sigh!!

• Prismo on Aug 26, 2009 at 9:42 pm

bro donno dan alcore. AFIM ke AIFM ke ataupun IAFM yg betul??heheh :D

• Obertan on Aug 27, 2009 at 4:05 am

Yelah bro Prismo hehe :)

Patutnya IAFM- Integrated Air Fuel Module

tulah kekadang kita ni terlalu syok sangat nak taip :D

• Funny la….seems like still got many ppl support this local company earn a profit but still produce very low and poor quality cars for the own nation to use and causing a high imported car tax…haha…malaysia boleh still work…those ppl still no realize that how many the citizen money hav been sucks by G. Pls don't so CUTE la ur guys!

• paul, this is what i get from proton annual report 2009,

'At the same time, PROTON is also mindful that it has to enhance its powertrain to suit the need of today’s regulatory requirements and demands of a growing environmentally friendly and cost-concious customer base. To this end, PROTON togather with Lotus kicked off the aptly named Pheonix Project to ensure that our powertrain offering will satisfy this needs and perfectly complement our cars'.

(Proton annual report 2009.)

paul this piece of paragraph is very good to be put/open for discussion so that we might get some feedbacks and clues of a joint proton/lotus in developing a more efficient engine which might bring proton to a higher level of competitiveness.

• Diablo on Aug 27, 2009 at 8:54 pm

Lotus Engineering is one of the gems within the Proton group. Unfortunately the general public can only relate to Lotus Cars which build sports cars and because it doesn't look like they are taking the sports car market by storm, the public understandably, think Proton is wasting away this valuable asset.

A lot more interesting activities are happening on the Lotus engineering side of the business. They provide know how and engineering solutions to other global car makers, including the development of the famed Nissan GTR.

Their services are provided within the auto industry between manufacturers and so unfortunately is not visible to the general public. Lotus developed a two stage valvelift system which they sold to another party. The system is used in Porsche's Variocam PLUS valve lift found in all Porsches. It is therefore no surprise that the 2 stage lift mechanism looks exactly the same as that used in the Proton Campro CPS engine today.

Proton owns Lotus engineering and Lotus cars

• haha…

got profit… people get angry…

loss… also people get angry…

• Tiadaid on Aug 27, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Diablo said,

August 27, 2009 @ 12:54 pm

A lot more interesting activities are happening on the Lotus engineering side of the business. They provide know how and engineering solutions to other global car makers, including the development of the famed Nissan GTR.

——————————————-

Maybe Nissan should put the "Tuned by Lotus" badge on the GTR..

• you get what you paid, if buy cheap car that the quality is not that good…

same as other stuff the higher the price the higher the quality

• Nakal on Aug 29, 2009 at 5:14 pm

rugi kena kutuk (bash)

untung pun kena kutuk

yang mengutuk tu buat la kilang kereta sendiri, baru tahu macam mana…

• Kalau kau buat kilang keta rosak jekk..semua orang benci dgn kau bodoh…

• Nakal on Sep 01, 2009 at 8:58 pm

sebab tu aku mahu orang yang mengutuk tu buktikan dulu. Buat kilang kereta yang susah nak rosak. Buat dengan capabailty sebagai orang MALAYSIA.

25 tahun dengan 15 ribu staff kini (estimated) still ada banyak isu. Adakah itu masalah proton sendiri, atau itu dah sememangnya capability orang Malaysia bila nak develop kereta? Sekurangnya, bagila support yang berterusan.

Bukan tahu mengutuk tapi tak menyumbang apa-apa bodoh…

• First of all, let me REMIND you, the ones to thank is the Malaysian public (your customers) and stop bragging on and on about your so called new models' achievements. That's the problem with Proton. Put down your useless pride and start giving your customers what they paid their hard earned money for! And don't forget to say THANK YOU to them. I can't hear you….?