Malaysians Unite For Road Safety on 09/09/09: make your pledge now!

MUFORS

Above is my pledge for 090909 – one of the many acts that so Malaysians do on a daily basis that can be very dangerous especially at a busy junction. 090909 is MUFORS day (Malaysians Unite For Road Safety), an effort set up to promote better road safety for Malaysians, especially since it’s going to be balik kampung season soon as people travel to their hometowns to visit their extended family.

Having experienced driving overseas for more than once over the years of running this blog, I can really say that driving overseas is a more relaxing experience because of the significantly better road manners of the motorists there, which I suspect is because of the massively high traffic fines, and you could also lose your license more easily there.

Concepts such as the Autobahn would never work here in Malaysia even if the highways were smooth and straight enough because so many people cannot even keep to their lanes – slowly drifting into the middle of two lanes while you mosey along at 60km/h seems to be the order of the day for alot of weird drivers here.

So you can imagine barreling down the highway at 140km/h and then suddenly having to slam on your brakes because someone wandered into your lane. On the Autobahn I can take a BMW up to speeds of nearly 200km/h without ever worrying that someone would suddenly cut into the lane in front of me. It’s common sense there.

Basically at the MUFORS website you can submit your road safety pledge in text form, in photo form as I have in the photo above, or even as a video. There’s also an opinion poll where you can vote the top 5 Malaysia driving habit annoyances. Believe me, there are so many choices it’s hard to pick the 5 most annoying.

The boys at MUFORS are trying to hit 250,000 pledges by 09/09/09 but there are only just over 400 pledges now. So do your bit and please submit a pledge and show support for the site! :)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• swoosh3553 on Aug 24, 2009 at 8:40 pm

That you, Paul?? Seems that you purposely avoid photo at the "mid-section" eh??? Gotta watch that tummy man… hahaha. Peace bro! :-)

• Paul Tan on Aug 24, 2009 at 8:42 pm

It's intentional so I can moonlight as Santa Claus at the malls.

• almostthere on Aug 24, 2009 at 8:43 pm

I agree man about the drifting of some drivers between lanes. They seem to do it unaware (worse if on the cellphone…urghhhh). And one more thing, some people just don't get the idea if you're indicating to enter the high speed lane, they're supposed to ease up and let us in. Instead they just accelerate and when they can't shut us out, honk and flash lights at us

• Elvis on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:03 pm

Actually our drivers are weird but not that brutal on the road. Try driving in Manila, your stomach can turn upside down like riding a rollercoaster. I must say that Manila drivers are born F1 drivers, can drive fast and only inches apart from each cars….

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:08 pm

Orange? Since when traffic lights were orange? Lol Ok in all seriousness, Malaysian typically lack the skills AND common courtesy. You'd still get stupid drivers everywhere, but at least most are more polite than the "roads kings and hoggers" we have here. Stupid is one thing, but being stupid, rude and obnoxious is another. I can't even count how many times I have been "flipped" by an idiot for NOT trying to hit him. as for almostthere, there are 2 PoVs here. While I agree we need to be courteous and let you merge in, but if you need to merge into the fast lane, why don't you accelerate to the speed needed to merge in and not block the car behind? If someone behind is going a buck forty and you leisurely merge in at 100, you'd think the guy behind wont get pissed? Same goes to passing. Besides, why can't you merge in after the high speed lane is clear. By rule of law (as if anyone follows) The merging car have to yeild right of way to the car already in the lane, anyway, regardless if the car is signaling. If we let you in out of courtesy, at least return the courtesy and make haste of it. (ie, merge in, accelerate QUICKLY to the flow speed, or merge back in after passing) I have lost count of times, I have let people merge in, than have them hold everyone else behind me up. Then I get flashed. Go figure.

• Paul Tan on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:24 pm

Doh… you are right, they're yellow and not orange!

• almostthere on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:27 pm

Agree with 4G63's POV but what I'm trying to point out is my own experience. Let me give you an example. I'm doing about 100km/h in the middle lane and I do want to pickup speed to 140km/h (hey it's my car and the speeding tix is my prob), I look to the right view mirror, I still see ample space, in fact the guy coming up on the outer most lane is at a leisurely pace. I indicate, drop gear and guess what? The twat decides to rev up and closes the gap to block my way. Look, in case you haven't noticed, Malaysians love to bumper to bumper at high speeds leaving you with little margin to pick up speed AND merge to the right while riding in the middle lane with someone doing 60km/h on a 110km/h highway in front of you. I commute daily in the LDP and the NKVE and it's at least once an incident a day whereby the driver on the outer most lane PURPOSELY picks up speed to slam the opening shut in your face and I don't think I hardly drive slow anyway

• ericfoong81exe on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:37 pm

More terrible traffic in China, ppl driving blindly and simply turn whitout looking to the side mirror. The traffic light is for decoration in some place. Attitude of drving is very much depend to personal education level and also living environment. If you ever been in China and travel alot through the road i bet you guys must have said "walau e……like this also can r….?"

• informalaysia on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:46 pm

After doing the survey, I found that most people voted for "Aggressive tail gating (forcing other drivers to make way, flashing beams)" as one of their top 5 road annoyances. This, I agree.

Paul,

You might have already known that on the Autobahn, people use their indicator lights to signal "Please give way", which, to do this in Malaysia, would be, if we're on the right-most lane on the highway, we have to use our right indicator lights (as if there's another lane on the right while there's not) as well as not tail-gating at the same time.

I have been doing this for some time but for many of us Malaysians on the road, they like to flash their beams from far, far away, which, in my opinion, is both rude and annoying.

In solving this problem that is proven to be hated by most of us Malaysians, I honestly think you and your site could play a significant role, especially realizing that every day your website gets a lot of hits from the online community.

Is there any way that you could promote the use of indicator lights here on this website so that both you and us readers could make a change and start this to be a trend on our roads – starting a whole new, more proper on-the-road manner for Malaysians?

Anyhow, this is just my 2 cents.

Thank you Paul. Hope to see your website continuing its role to educate the Malaysian public and be a medium for good changes.

• gattaca on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:59 pm

is it orange or yellow Paul? I'm confused…hahaha..

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:12 pm

I drive a fair bit on highways, but only on the very very very rare occasions I get someone riding my bumber because I was merging in too slow. In all cases, it was my fault for not able to judge the incoming car's speed well enough, 160 and 190 looks about the same from the rear view mirror.

Besides a flash is jsut to let you know that "I am coming in fast".

If the guy is already riding your rear bumper, its fairly obvious someone has merged in too slow.

But I understand that given most underpowered cars we drive, getting from 100-140 takes a while, and while it seems we are doing everythign thing takes to merge in, the car simply does not have enough power. My car is powerful enough to merge in and make up the speed fast enough not to bother someone coming at 160 so I rarely get someone riding me. I do get the occasional warning flash…which is fine.

I can't speak for others but for me, I feel its completely illogical for someone to purposely speed up to shut the door, if he/she is a ways back.

I do feel we have a lax in driving dsipline because the authorities don't really care anyway. I had experienced the often draconian and anal police officers (many times in unmarked cruisers) to understand why people tend not to do anything stupid in western coutnries. Its just not worth it. Being stupid cost too much money. 1 offence that deducts 2 pts from your license will entail a 2x increase in insurance, and insurance overseas is already a killer with a perfect record.

• almostthere on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:32 pm

"I can’t speak for others but for me, I feel its completely illogical for someone to purposely speed up to shut the door, if he/she is a ways back."

– Exactly my point but it does exists. And it's not only here but elsewhere even in UK. The thing is humans are generally kiasu to say the least so they can't accept unless with due self discipline that someone's gonna block their way momentarily. The bigger/more powerful the car, the greater the tendency. One more nasty thing about drivers is that once we merge into the high-spee lane, just because they CAN go faster, they'll keep tailgating and flashing their lights eventho we're barreling along at 150km/h. The thing is isit reasonable for us to shoot back into the middle lane and brake within 20-30m to slow down to 80km/h from let's say 140km/h(because people along the middle lane tend to do that) so that you can go faster? It's downright dangerous and inconsiderate. My plea to every driver out there is to be more considerate and give us small car users a break. We all do want to get to somewhere in the shortest period of time

• Elvis on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:43 pm

Respect to Paul! At least he admit something and make it rite!

• milanRed (Member) on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:19 pm

Flashing your beam fr far to indicate you're going fast on the fast lane, is way more visible than your indicator light blinking. one or two high beam is enough to attract the attention of drivers looking at the rearview and side mirror. Ive been lucky enough to spend considerable time driving in the EU and australia to observe and learn. and in ireland, ppl give thanks to when you let them pass on the highway by blinking their signal lights when they've passed you.

Safe Driving People.

• Ng Yam Boon on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:22 pm

I think the lights are RED, AMBER and GREEN ?

• Wiraone on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:32 pm

I thought the colour is amber? :) Anyway .. tit for tat .. have you ever experienced changing lanes is much easier if you don't put your indicator on? .. hee..hee.. Anyway, I just got an email that I guess has been going round and round .. the guide for expat drivers on Malaysian roads..

• aksMs on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:56 pm

Say that you were driving in the mid lane, at cruising speed (100-120km/h), in the middle of the night, where the traffic is very light. There is another car in front of you some 100 meters away cruising at around 70-80km/h. As you decided and prepare to change your lane, you saw in the side mirror another car is approaching, very fast…say at 170-180km/h. Ok. Fine. You take your turn and wait till it pass. All is just in order. But what happened was, suddenly the car in front of you, without any particular reason at all, (not overtaking, not avoiding anything and no indicators too!) drifted into the fast (right) lane. The speeding car that has just passes you had to slam hard on the brakes so it don't ram into the back of that bloody car.

So, my friends, given the incident above, as the speeding driver, what would you feel if that happens to you? I was the one giving way to the speeding Beemer felt pity for him having to slam hard on the brakes to avoid an accident (yea and some would argue that the beemer is breaking the law yada yada yada…). I even felt so angry+rage+murderous at the drifted cars. Thank god the Beemer's brakes was functioning well at that time. If it doesn't, someone might be dead, and I might have to come back to that state again and again turun naik court as key witness. I don't fancy that at all.

Really, I wanted to kill that drifted driver, because he was not sleepy, driving leisurely and did that on purpose!

There are 3 things really annoys me as a driver:-

1) Road hogger

2) Hazard lights in heavy rain – if you can't see, don't drive. Just stop somewhere. It confuses others.

3) Driver's who's hesitating on taking over or not. If you're not confident to overtake, please give ways to others behind you.

Anyway, this is a good effort Paul. Thumbs up for you!

• newbie on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:56 pm

I pledge this year to hit back at road bully, HARD!!

• _xXx_ on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:20 am

Orange? Yellow? I think it's amble.

• almostthere on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:53 am

orange/yellow/amber as long you understand the significance of that color in a traffic light, it's good enough

• Anonymous on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:59 am

Where can I pledge for slow ass-hauler to get the heck out of my way? Hey, if I can do that for other speeding maniac, I don't see why they can't do it for me.

Oh, and where can I sign people up to make better use of the rear view mirror more often? They just couldn't see that they're hogging and slowing down the fast lane if my face don't show up on their rear view mirror. Flashing don't work by now, light not powerful enough to shine up from their bumper T_T Or maybe I should learn to flash before getting too close.

• badboy on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:01 am

xXx_ said,

August 24, 2009 @ 4:20 pm

Orange? Yellow? I think it’s amble.

—————————————————————

amble..Woi, new color ahh?

• its amber..not yellow nor orange

• eddie on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:23 am

it's not orange it's actually AMBER

• mystvearn on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:24 am

Paultan has a campaign!

Well good, but some people are just idiots at driving. Thought driving in KL is bad, try JB or Kuching.

• bmpower on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:26 am

lucky he/she didn't say angle or angel color.. haha!

• Nabil on Aug 25, 2009 at 2:22 am

I dont have a car (i love bikes) but occasionally have to drive my wife's Atos as a family transportation. A have a more or less 15 years driving experience and I believe I drive 'fast but polite'.

I hardly use the fast lane bcos I know the Atos cant go fast, I normally drive around 100kmph with 120kmph max, not bcos Im afraid to go fast but bcos the car cant go well beyond that. BUT, once in a while, I have to use the fast lane for overtaking and I always make sure I dont block any fast-approaching cars from the lane.

BUT, what annoys me is sometimes while overtaking (which takes a bit of time due to the car's slow acceleration) suddenly a car cucuk2 from behind (coming out of nowhere) as if the driver is a complete idiot, not realising that I need the timing and space to get back to the middle/slow lane.

I got road-bullied once bcos of this, on MRR2. I was with my wife n 2 kids. The fella was a young driver with absolutely no manners. I was overtaking 2 cars in front while suddenly he came out of nowhere, really fast, his bumper is like only 1mm away from my car. With my many years of driving experience, I cooly handle the situation n pulled back to the middle lane just in time while the car ngam2 using the extra space on the right to overtook me. Luckily my family wasnt harmed. What is my wife was driving that night? I know who you are goddammit!

Btw, its not hard to be polite. Driving recklessly fast wont get you in front, but driving smartly will often do..

• ricaza (Member) on Aug 25, 2009 at 2:30 am

i think one more bad driving habits for m'sian people is..brakes first..and then suddenly turn on the signal..and..zapp..turn to direction of the signal.. for me..this is very2 annoying as u r driving in a straight road..then the car in front of u suddenly braking.. i have met this situation a lot and i hate it because i also have to brake hard in order to avoid my car kissing the front car's bumper… it's not that i trail it closely but it suddenly braking hard..ussually this happen at town or small jalan kampung..

maybe some of u also had met this situation right?? it supossed turn the signal first so that the car behind know first..of coz..if the behind drivers is a good driver..he will immediately try to slow down and be careful..right??

but there a lot's of stupid driver with stupid driving habits on the road..sometimes it feel like i want to crash my car into their's..haha..but luckily i'm not that stupid..

can drive fast..but be considerate of other's on the road..

• mig29 on Aug 25, 2009 at 2:57 am

Actually the color is what internationally call is Amber.Am I correct?

• roti naan1 on Aug 25, 2009 at 4:53 am

yeah, try telling about Road Safety to mat rempits…….

• i think part of the problem lies in the education of the drivers. look at the amount of bribed licenses we have here. you can pratically buy a license without learning the basic rules of traffic.

aside from that, i think this thing is a evil cycle, people see others doing it, they themselves start adopting the practice. Case in point, turning without signalling.

oh well, just another day in malaysia. at least that trains us to be more alert on the roads.

• underexposure on Aug 25, 2009 at 6:05 am

I don't understand why must people cruising at high speed of 120 km/h and above on the narrow 2 – 3 lanes so call expressway in Malaysia? Highway in Malaysia only allow up to 110Km/h, people who follow the rules shouldn't be blamed for people who travel above the speed limit and yet blaming people for being merging slow at 110km/h.

If you want to drive fast please go to Autobahn or racing circuit, we still have a lot of small car on the road and not everybody are so rich to buy sports car to honk and highlight people from behind. This is very rude!

• Tokmoh on Aug 25, 2009 at 6:17 am

What annoys me quite oftenly are ppl slowing just to look at accidents, n ppl too lazy to use indicators. Speaking of which, some ppl complaint proton put signal on left side ala european cars, I think it's brilliant cuz it'll make it easier for co-drivers to give signal cuz the driver couldn't be bothered. Cuz when I'm in a myvi, Honda, Toyota, etc japmobiles, it's a torture for me whenever the car goes ard without signalling when it shud, I wanted to harm myself most of d time…

Oh, I almost forgot, Msians just don't buckle up… Yet, they complaint like no tmr on how most cars sold here hv poor safety feature… *facepalm*

• p1basher on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:37 am

believe me, indonesia is more difficult to drive. malaysia road condition is considered quite well in south east asia..

and believe me, most malaysian thinks their driving habits is the best and other people should adopt their style, while the fact is they just dun understand other driving style and diff people should use the style that suit them best.

• I wish that Malaysian drivers will keep left unless overtaking on the highway.

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:18 am

uh, I think we are all missing the point here.

What are YOU going to do to make driving life easier and safer.

;p

• almostthere on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:54 am

Agreed with 4G63tDSM. It's not the color itself but the significance of it. Why not all we pledge to be a better driver instead? What better time to practice since it's ramadhan and when syawal comes, it's going to be the killer season

• Wiraone on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:01 am

Guys .. before you keep complaining .. for few minutes, try to do a flashback .. what have you not done right while driving to the office this morning or probably during your last balik kampung trip.. do you think you can do better? Probably if everyone of us do this .. and pledge to improve .. probably the time we get back home from the office today will be feeling better since we've done something .. start from oneself before complaining ..

• stewpid (Member) on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:26 am

lantak ler pada sapa2 yang nak drive above 120km/h kat highway… masing- masing kereta dah powahh.. yang kena saman speed trap pon bukannyer korang.. tapi pada kereta2 yang kurang powah jangan ler tiba2 jer mencelah masuk masa fast lane tu masing2 berderet-deret cucuk angin pada 120 km/h++… maunyer semuanya kena brek emergency… tengok lar dulu side mirror..hape dah… dahler mencelah tak indicate apa2 signal pon.. kekadang aku rasa cam nak ambik hammer nak pecahkan jer lampu signal kereta yang bahlol macam tu.. nak masuk simpang/tukar lane pon sama.. alih2 terus brek, laju jer masuk simpang… tak consider langsung kereta/motobike yang ada kat belakang…

• MycarMylife on Aug 25, 2009 at 10:16 am

Agree that we must improve our skills and etiquette when on the road, My people are quite nice and warm as compared to many other countries.It is only when they are behind the wheels do they mutate into monsters.

Point of interest : Try coming to hanoi and savor the delights of organized chaos 200%. Guaranteed to open your eyes and deafened your ears.

• Apernie on Aug 25, 2009 at 11:01 am

I follow the majority or the mutual speed of the traffic (on the fast lane usually)..People go fast, i will tune with it, yeah fast but being considerate and drive defensively. Speed limit tho..seems like the minimum speed in most situations.. Often people on the slow/mid lane drive 'according' to the speed limit so on the fast lane…u guess. The Road Hoggers, they are like speed reminder to me..ok go slower, uih this is tooo slow faster a bit, then oit faster lar!…but after a while x bole tahaannn…huhu :P

• Leonardo on Aug 25, 2009 at 11:13 am

Paul, when it comes to colors for the traffic lights it is called 'amber' not 'orange' or 'yellow'. 'Red' and 'green' are the same description.

I disagreed Malaysian driver's are the worse. I have been to Bangkok, Manila, Mumbai, Taipeh and we are highly 'courteous' by comparison. Yes of course there is room for improvement, which comes with education and exposure.

Granted that drivers on the Autobahn are more disciplined, let's see if you can get through the roundabout of Arc De Triomphe in downtown Paris!

• NARUdaDRIVeR on Aug 25, 2009 at 2:11 pm

Yup we have quite a bunch of funny drivers here in Malaysia… i wonder what makes them so crazy on the road. Its not like they're driving some kinda sports car to test them… everyday on my way to the office i wonder why would anyone drive till 120kmh just to the office! dude… save your fuel.. its still 730 and you're not that late

• adlanb20 on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:31 pm

To underexposure… yes honking and flashing is rude. But, if ur slow and others wanna pass (no matter at what speed), just let then thru. Don't go out trying to enforce the speed limit on people, it not ur job.

• milanRed (Member) on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:29 pm

Pls notice the signage that says … "Ikut Kiri Jika Tidak Memotong" on the highway. Its usually with a yellow background. I guess it says it all to all the right lane hoggers and cruisers out there.

Drive save y'all.

• initial R on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:40 pm

This are the thing that i see when travel KL-S'pore-KL :-

1. The car behind me purposely tailling no matter how fast or slow on the highway. So annoying.

2. I'm clocking 160km/h at fast lane suddenly the slow lasurely driver enter at the fast lane without signal and still crusing…. almost slam the bumper but thanks for my brembo breks it's works well.

3. The stupid idiot young driver just get the licence, go for racing but end up in the side ditch. Actually the wheel flying near to my car. That driver just broke his leg (luckly). Help him but can see the spectator make road conjustion for 5km. :(

4. Aunty or Uncle also are driver on the road, please be polite with them. Saw young driver give middle fingger to Uncle that drive on slow lane just coz blocking him to race with other car on MRR2.

5. And so many more……

So i think most Malaysian just take the licence test just for sake of get the licence only & after that just put aside what they learning.

Yes the color is Amber for used on the Transportation. Road signal is Yellow. No color blind arr…… :)

• what bother me the most is about signal light. i couldn't understand why is it so hard to use the signal light before turning or entering. most of the user sorry to say drivers especially those owning expernsive cars dont bother to give signal. they think that their cars are the king of the road meh? felt want to rammed their car like in the movie "Shoot em up". Better suggest to car makers to make signal lights as optional package.

people complaint about the seat belt and yet they themselves don't even bother to wear 1 is there's 1.

• xavier lert on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:10 pm

it doesn't matter how fast u drive…110..150..or 180!!…if u saw car approaching u…tail gate u….that mean u are SLOW!!!!!! so pleaze return to where ur belong…n let the fast car go through…

• Uda Salleh on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:54 pm

well… some must be missing the point. Sometimes when I'm overtaking a few slow vehicles, with the indicator blinking i'm already speeding up to 120-130… then comes the idiot driver from nowhere flashing his high beams coz he's driving 170… He doesn't think that i'm not yet finished overtaking and i'll be back to the left lane in just a few more seconds. But he's got his panties in a twist and he just can't wait. Flashing n hoggin' is really, really rude. He's driving way to fast anyway! Drivers need to adapt to the condition and situation on the highway. Its for the safety of all parties.

• one thing happened to me this morning is a honda city suddenly potong in front of me and brake just before the TnG toll lane at subang toll Plaza.

Of course the City got all the ABS EBD and so on.. but I was driving a rusa…

Damn..

thanks for my experience, I managed to brake, and avoid locking the tyres..

If it was some other rookie, the rusa might have kissed the city, and somebody might be hurt..

worse, the City might claim to the police that I was tailgating him…

If that the case, just hope that the toll plaza CCTV caught the action.

• badboy on Aug 26, 2009 at 12:45 am

Mine, when a motorcyclist overtake you from your left side. You give signal indicating that you are going to turn left, and yet some of them try to overtake you from the left side. Most of the time I manage to brake, but…..

The best part is they will blame you.

• pennstater on Aug 26, 2009 at 4:20 am

people, please dont be an s and cut the queue. other road users also dislike the long wait. please dont cause more traffic jam by cutting the queue and expect people to give you the way. thats really rude.

my pledge for this holy month is to be more patient on the road and reduce the number of honkings hehehe

• raoul on Aug 26, 2009 at 4:47 am

I've been driving Pen-KL twice a month for the past 5 years. What really annoys me is inconsiderate drives tailgating me when I am overtaking a lorry. I try my best to keep to the left and only go right when overtaking. But this car comes up from nowhere and start flashing at you and honking. Trying to move left and right to overtake you. The safest thing to do is to just keep on the fast lane and let him overtake you or put signal and then slowly go left.

If I am really pissed I make sure I slow down, so that he is also pissed. Hey the rules apply to everyone. If you are flaunting the law you are a jerk. But if I see someone who is coming really fast and keeps min 3m from me while I'm overtaking then I make sure i give him way as quickly as possible. I've also driven in the US and notice that the reason its safe there is because almost everyone follows rules and keeps a distance from the car in front even though they are speeding on the highway.

In my books if you drive like a jerk you deserve to be treated like a jerk.

And I always keep min 110 and above thru the journey.

• bbboy on Aug 26, 2009 at 9:01 am

after so many comments, i noticed no one mentioned anything about the following:

a) Using emergency lanes to cut queue

b) Drive on the fastest lane until right before the divider (the road splits to two), show signal and go into the lane which you are actually heading – causing all cars behind you to stop

c) use the left most lane before a roundabout to enter the roundabout, they show their signal like to show like their innocent

d) merging into another lane even when there is NO GAP, forcing other cars to stop just because you cant wait

i wonder how many malaysian drivers drive using their hands AND brain

• nabill on Aug 26, 2009 at 11:17 am

i just tink if everybody freakin' signals wenever thrs a need to , life will be easier on the road abt 70% !

atitude drivers is fine , infact everwer u got u have those 'personalities'….bt being an idiot not to signal wenever ur changing lane,turning n so on…jus no excuse for that….

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 26, 2009 at 4:18 pm

Raoul.

While I have been the receiving end of cars going waaay past the limit, being a road vigilante is the last thing you would want to do. Makes the other driver more aggresive, not towards only you but towards others as well.

Actually this morning, I just been in a altercation with a very rude old man driving an old civic. 3 lanes on city roads, me being in the middle lane, with old timer here on the leftmost lane, trying to merge in (more accurately drift in) so I give him a honk letting him know i'm here and he honks back giving me the ugly look?? Its not like there is anywhere for me to go (right lane is occupied) and unless I slam on my brakes to a full stop and risk getting rear ended myself, there is no way he can merge in since we are side to side already…he being going too slow to merge in.

all I can say is WTF? LOL

Now if he was going a little faster and had his signal on, I would have time to slow down and let him in. It goes both ways.

I consider myself a courteous driver after a good part of a decade driving overseas, but sometimes can't understand why people here just can't drive normally.

• The right technical word is amber (not orange, not yellow).

• RunnerUp on Aug 26, 2009 at 8:19 pm

bbboy said,

August 26, 2009 @ 1:01 am

after so many comments, i noticed no one mentioned anything about the following:

a) Using emergency lanes to cut queue

b) Drive on the fastest lane until right before the divider (the road splits to two), show signal and go into the lane which you are actually heading – causing all cars behind you to stop

c) use the left most lane before a roundabout to enter the roundabout, they show their signal like to show like their innocent

d) merging into another lane even when there is NO GAP, forcing other cars to stop just because you cant wait

a) agreed.

b) agreed.

c) err no comment on this. i thought it's ok though, depending on which exit you're gonna take, and the volume (and speed) of cars already in the roundabout. nevertheless, i don't encounter any roundabouts in my daily home-office route. so, yeah, no comment.

d) eh? how else are we gonna change lanes during a heavy traffic jam then? there will obviously be no gap. and if you do try to wait for a gap, elok2 je ade ruang, motor pulak datang dari belakang… ish. as an alternative, i believe it is better (and more civilized) if those who wanna change lane, signal first. and those who see the signal from behind, slow down and make way for the car to merge in. it's a heavy traffic jam, it doesn't make much difference whether you're in front or behind the one car that has just merged in anyway. be considerate… because sometimes, who knows, we might be the one who couldn't wait pulak. kite nak masuk orang tak bagi. karma =P

the most basic yet important thing is, itu signal mesti mau bagi.

make your intentions clear. let the others know where you're going, before you go.

• this is my friend's habit. he sometimes 'kiss' the car in front of him after the high beams and honks do not make the car merge to left lane.

few month back, in 2 lanes road, there are 4 car going side by side (2 left and 2 right) in the same speed. then a kancil comes, not so fast but faster than 4 others. he wait around a minute then realize nobody want to give way for him to pass. he decide to go through between them. haha, this guy is crazy!!!

• old timers on Aug 26, 2009 at 9:04 pm

Speed limit is 110km/h, then why angry at others who follow the rules.. if u are real fast, then build ur own road that has no speed limit..nobody is gonna hogging u there..

• Nabil on Aug 26, 2009 at 10:21 pm

Wait until u have a family of your own, with your wife sitting next to you holding the baby, and your other kid is sitting behind – Then you WILL realise how rude it is when fast-driving jerk coming frm behind n try to kiss your bumper.

Yes, some people drive stupidly slow n annoying but there are people who drive carefully but cant afford a better car to cilok2 like you do, and you driving stupidly fast is also wrong in the 1st place.

Just like the accident happend in a jalan kampung in Msia many months back, the stupid driver got so fast in a jalan kampung, hit a child n dragged the body under the car for many kilometers away, imagine the condition of the body?

and imagine if the child is yours?

• bbboy on Aug 27, 2009 at 5:55 am

@RunnerUp said

eh? how else are we gonna change lanes during a heavy traffic jam then? there will obviously be no gap. and if you do try to wait for a gap, elok2 je ade ruang, motor pulak datang dari belakang… ish. as an alternative, i believe it is better (and more civilized) if those who wanna change lane, signal first. and those who see the signal from behind, slow down and make way for the car to merge in. it’s a heavy traffic jam, it doesn’t make much difference whether you’re in front or behind the one car that has just merged in anyway. be considerate… because sometimes, who knows, we might be the one who couldn’t wait pulak. kite nak masuk orang tak bagi. karma =P

the most basic yet important thing is, itu signal mesti mau bagi.

make your intentions clear. let the others know where you’re going, before you go.

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/08/24/malaysians-unite-fo…

bro, if that person put signal in advance, i will let him pass. if in a traffic jam i might let him pass if got signal (why? would you let someone who just used the emergency lane to cut the queue to merge in just because now there is an obstacle on the emergency lane?).

but the scenario im trying to explain happens on the highway. Just read what 4G63tDSM has just said, i am on my lane, just because your lane is slow, and you want to merge into my lane, and I am just NEXT to you, cant you slow down and wait for a gap? even if you show the signal, that DOES NOT mean everyone has to give way to you. If you cant find a gap, slow down la, or wait for some nice guy to let you come in la.

this is the typical mindset of malaysians, they think that by showing their signal lights people should give way to them, even if they are actually cutting queue. Kalau langgar siapa salah? Dia salah, but he will come down and say "you tak nampak i tunjuk signal ka??".

• RunnerUp on Aug 27, 2009 at 3:07 pm

bboy bro,

hehe. agree with you there.

i had quite a different scenario in mind when i first replied though:

"it was one with a very heavy traffic jam, where both/all lanes are moving ever so slowly. you're not cutting queue, and you're not merging in because your lane is slow and the other is fast, but you're merging in because you need to take an exit or something. you can wait, maybe, but the exit won't."

so, yeah, different scenarios kots =)

and i already agreed with you that cutting queue is not nice at all. i myself will try my best not to let them queue-cutters cut in front of me. haha. but most of the time i'll fail laa. why? because if they don't even have the decency to queue up, why would they have the decency to merge in properly… and we have no choice but to let them, just to avoid accident. tapi dalam hati memang rase macam nak langgar je kete2 yang potong queue ni. haha. don't they know that they are being cursed by everyone in the queue (or at least by me)? "bodoh punye kete. eksiden laa kau! mintak2 kene langgar lori!" oops, my bad. kesian itu lori =P

there are too many "variables" on the road. we have to consider all of them before making any decisions… and that needs to be done almost instantly. isk…

• painsama on Aug 27, 2009 at 3:19 pm

>>aksMs said,

There are 3 things really annoys me as a driver:-

2) Hazard lights in heavy rain – if you can’t see, don’t drive. Just stop somewhere. It confuses others.

==================================

If it was me, I'd appreciate if someone would care to turn on the hazard lights in heavy rain though. It greatly improves visibility. It doesn't mean that he cannot see, just so that no one would bump into his car in that situation. It's more annoying if someone wouldn't even care to turn on the light at all as he feels that he can see very well.

• Apernie on Aug 27, 2009 at 7:08 pm

Urgh just yesterday…

Heavy downpour on PLUS, think i switched to fast lane safe n sound. Im sure i was at least 6 cars distance from this guy behind me. I only saw him right after half way merging in (the road is a slight left-hand curve). I did merge in with the same speed as the car in front of me.

The guy behind me however was faster than everyone else, high beam at me…what would you do? I did not give him a way since the fast lane was packed with cars…so no point (if i give way, will he do it to the rest?)

After a couple of high beaming blips to me gave him much stress..he turned his high beam on all the way for about 10 km till we reach the toll gates. Unfortunately, after a while he was still behind me..the high beam still on until….he switched to middle lane. The high beam is gone, clearly he did it purposely..

Was i wrong for not giving him the way? I dont really bother the high beam because it wasnt that glaring.. but his attitude..driving a conti car but with a child mentality…Was i wrong again?

• old timers on Aug 28, 2009 at 12:41 am

Apernie,

Keluar kasi terajang jer budak tue…mmg kurang ajar.

As I said before, high beam is a BIG NO for me… If the highway set for 110km/h, why people need to go faster and then get angry if others do not follow suit…please lah…some peoples value life more than u do.

• painsama on Aug 28, 2009 at 1:43 am

I had almost similar experience with Apernie, but instead of a continental car, it was a stupid Viva. Darn it.

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 28, 2009 at 2:25 am

old timers said,

August 27, 2009 @ 4:41 pm

Apernie,

Keluar kasi terajang jer budak tue…mmg kurang ajar.

As I said before, high beam is a BIG NO for me… If the highway set for 110km/h, why people need to go faster and then get angry if others do not follow suit…please lah…some peoples value life more than u do.

—-

Hey Old timer

There is no fast lane. Its called a passing lane. Not passing? Stay left.. If passing, make it quick. the passing lane is NOT for you to drive at 110 (or any speed for that matter) indefinately. A little tip for you, no one would care less if you did 110 in the left lane. Why don't you try to drive at 40 even on the left lane and see if PLUS will escort you off its highway.

In North America you'd be ticketed for road hogging….even if you are at the speed limit. In Canada the major highways are limited to only 100kmh, but the cops usually dont blink an eye until you go past 130. But road hog at ANY speed, and you'd get a ticket.

Once I got an unmarked supercharged cruiser try to pace me to 180 and gave me a thumbs up later. He was probably just curious what my car could do (265 if you were wondering). Had he ticketed me, it wouldn't have held up in court due to "entrapment" anyway. Most highway cruisers are cool unless they catch you doing something really stupid (like DUI, driving dangerously, or have a car in bad shape).

Like I always say Malaysians need proper drivers education and police enforcers that do more than minum kopi.

Get it?

So no, I'm not justifying the action of those road bullies, but its no more dangerous for me to drive at 120 with my car than a sleepy uncle with a beat up car with worn brakes and tyres at 80 drifting from lane to lane.

How safe you are depends on the driver's alertness and car condition.

• informalaysia on Aug 28, 2009 at 7:39 am

hey korang,

you see, i agree that road hoggers who drive slow on the 'passing lane' without wanting to swith to the middle or left lane are inconsiderate people, because they just dont get it that other people need to use the lane to go faster…

to me, the rule is this: as long as you're not overtaking and nobody is behind you (who wants to overtake you) , then GO LEFT.. dont just be stupid and stay there… if nobody can catch up with your speed then you'll do fine.. check your rearview mirror often, just in case you're staying on the fast lane..

but those who are fast with powerful cars are also STUPID to be inconsiderate of other small cars that'd take some extra time to overtake other cars… when they are overtaking, you just wait, don't cucuk2 one and also no high beams la please… it's rude.. most of the people i talked to just HATE when people use their high beams right away, even from far… like i mentioned earlier, it's MUCH MUCH more proper to use your signal/indicator lights to let the driver in front of you to give way…

BUT, just in case they're not cooperating even with your signal lights on n everything, then its the driver in front of you who's being inconsiderate, not you.. then only you'd have the right to use high beam, honk whatsoever (but be careful nowadays if you honk at the wrong person he might follow you and only god knows what he'll do to you later – no kidding)…

its pretty simple actually but most people just dont get it – be it people with fast cars or small cars… just drive smart and don't do things that'll make you look like an idiot, people…

so, again, NO HIGH BEAMS, USE INDICATOR LIGHTS, AND ALL CARS FAST OR SLOW JUST BE CONSIDERATE AND BE SMART DRIVERS ON THE ROAD..

• old timers on Aug 29, 2009 at 12:47 am

4G63,

Itu di North Amerika, bukan Malaysia…kenapa confius sangat ko ni…even if in 'fast' lane, highest speed allowable is 110km/h (IN MALAYSIA yer, BUKAN NORTH AMERICA HIGHWAY), so ape yg ko nak buktikan dengan paksa org lain membawa lebih 110km/h …

ada paham ke takde paham…

• che_pin on Sep 01, 2009 at 11:26 pm

i'm still confused about the speed limit along stretch between merlimau and batu ampat. there are 3 lanes which are reasonably smooth, not bumpy, no steep hillclimb, no heavy traffic flow as in seremban but the speed limit there is so low at 90km/h, merely comparable as speedlimit at federal road. considering the 3 lanes road is wide enough and most of the vehicle passing this stretch were doing 120-130km/h, i dont understand why the lowly speed limit exist there.