Toyota Hilux VN Turbo uses VGT turbocharger

Toyota Hilux VN Turbo

The Hilux is the choice of nany contractors and people who actually need pickup trucks for their utility and not as a lifestyle vehicles. Alot of people who just want to experience a 4WD truck for the occasional light offroad trek and the frugal diesel engine tend to dismiss the Hilux because of its weak engine – only 100 horsepower and 260Nm of torque. This is thanks to the mild tuning of the engine, so mild that it does not even require an intercooler.

This could change. A more powerful version of the Hilux has just been launched in Thailand and its called the Toyota Hilux Vigo VN Turbo. The biggest change is highlighted in the name – it has a Variable Nozzle Turbo, also known as a Variable Geometry Turbocharger, similiar to the unit you can find in the Ford Ranger TDCi.

Two engines are available – a larger 3.0 VN Turbo (1KD-FTV) putting out 163 horses and 343Nm of torque between 1,400 to 3,200rpm, and a smaller 2.5 litre unit (2KD-FTV) making 144 horses and the same 343Nm of torque, this time over a narrower peak torque band between 1,600 to 2,800rpm. All engines are intercooled. These engines are Euro III engines (okay, so they may not end up being available here) and are B5 diesel capable.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• silv3r on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:31 pm

Sure it will be a powerfull 4wd in town…if these model will be launch in msia~

two thumbs up for toyota…

• Darkness_Rizal on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:32 pm

First!.. :D..

But I rather choose D-MAX..! (cheaper,powerful and stylish)

• improvement on d turbo kits is welcome, what bout d gearbox system? still d same?

would fixed geometry turbo better than variable geometry turbo here for HILUX? given d massive torque

any idea?

• bmpower on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:49 pm

aiyoh.. so long time making engine..

still cannot produce a good engine ah?

what a rubbish toyota.

• steven on Aug 24, 2009 at 6:12 pm

haiz y hilux always the last one produce a better things … Mazda/ford advance 1st VGT + 5speed auto . Nissan all tough !! mitsubishi complete with intercooler 3.2 …

just buy a used vigo … wan self + intercooler … unichip … boost turbo … aiks feel regerts … + repair chassis … T.T

• Lewis on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:52 am

One thing about toyota, if they use the 3rd generation commonrail like other pick ups except 3.2 triton, sure better fuel consumption and high torque.. Why toyota still use the old common rail.

• gatuso on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:40 am

sounds good.i guess D-max still ahead of the rest till now.the only upset is lack of bigger aft cabin seating area for some comfort for most pick truck sold in malaysia except for triton i guess.

• Hm, not quite state of the art…

The 2.5l has 144hp/343Nm. A Ford 2.2TDCI has 175hp and 400Nm.

And a big 3l turbo engine with only 163hp and 343Nm is a joke (Volkswagen 3.0TDI: 240hp and 550Nm)…

• ambipur on Aug 25, 2009 at 2:36 am

dmax,ranger,navara,triton all are good 4×4 pickups but none of them can beat the hilux. hilux is a couple years old and has the lowest hp amongst all but

here in sarawak a stock hilux can go on logging road with no probs. ranger, dmax, and triton struggle to get through due to low ground clearance and uneasy maneuverability plus its such a town car that one feels contemplated to trash it.now hilux, its a machine built tough.

for on road use im sure the others are better.

• I'm still wondering why Nissan's Navara 2.5l engine with VGT turbocharger can produce 170hp/400nm? and why this Hilux VN that uses bigger 3.0l engine plus VGT turbocharger and it can ONLY produce 163hp/343nm?(about the same with Triton 3.2 i guess) I'm a little confused…..A little help from forumers? And Paul maybe?….Thanks a lot in advance.

• dinmoner on Aug 27, 2010 at 4:04 am

I own a BMW 325 Sport.Performed better than 525 Sport but todate I have a lot of tickets that need to be settled with the Authority.Lesson learnt here is not the engine power (hp) alone that determine a good value of money spent.Any assets that we buy MUST take into consideration of Residual Value.Overall the Hilux performance for both on and off road is better than the rest.
      The basic question is where are you going to use these vehicles most….

• isfahan on Sep 25, 2010 at 11:43 am

i agree with ur comment. i ever use the hilux to travel from south to north of swak. on road and off road . and its also fuel effiency

• Freddy on Nov 12, 2022 at 6:23 am

I agree with you bro..I using Toyota Vigo was 8 years and there’s no any problem on engine

• Technically, hilux vigo can be tune more powerfull but the durability of the engine will be compromise. Toyota want their car/ pickup last long. Nissan frontier is the first pickup with highly tune engine, but the downside of this is a lot of frontier engine got problem after few years. Nissan has improve their engine head unit in navara to minimise the problem.

• Hm, not quite state of the art…

And a big 3l turbo engine with only 163hp and 343Nm is a joke (Volkswagen 3.0TDI: 240hp and 550Nm)…

——————————————————————

you cannot compare 4×4 diesel with normal sedan use diesel engine …….

their tuning is a lot difference

• old timers on Aug 25, 2009 at 4:52 am

power banyak2 pun buat per? Last2 buat town driving…tapi aku mmg suka DMax, pemanduan ok, minyak pun tak rabak..

Nissan plak mmg nak enjin yg terpower… sejak zaman Frontier lagi menguasai enjin2 diesel turbo power ni…

• the nissan engine is highly tuned. the hilux isn't.

over the long term, the nissan engine MIGHT be more prone to problems.

but i have no problem with it. the navara is absolutely king of the road in terms of size. i saw a few on the road, totally distinguishes itself from others. and the speed of that car……seeing it accelerate from standstill….damn.

• LorenzooOOOoooOOO on Aug 25, 2009 at 5:50 am

….

…..

……

Just wanna askin…..

When this model will introduce in malaysia market ??

And how about the price..

Roadtax of this 4×4 always be the issue…..

….

…..

• LorenzooOOOoooOOOo on Aug 25, 2009 at 5:52 am

….

…..

……

Just wanna askin…..

When this model will introduce in malaysia market ??

And how about the price..

Roadtax of this 4×4 always be the issue…..

….

…..

……

• mingyuyu on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:25 am

WOW…

• bmpower on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:03 am

mct said,

August 24, 2009 @ 8:49 pm

Hm, not quite state of the art…

——————————————————————

+++++++++++

I see you are very blind. by the T badge.

Those comparison above is very fair.

the problem are… the Toyota are very fail and super weak!

FYI.. Toureg use that engine (3.0TDI) too.. and it's not a sedan.

• tonton on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:17 am

mct said,

August 24, 2009 @ 8:49 pm

Hm, not quite state of the art…

——————————————————————

+++++++++++

I see you are very blind. by the T badge.

Those comparison above is very fair.

the problem are… the Toyota are very fail and super weak!

FYI.. Toureg use that engine (3.0TDI) too.. and it’s not a sedan.

——————————

then, buy the toureg la. and bring that toureg into any forest in malaysia. or join any 4×4 challenge.

komplen pandai. biarla enjin die hp kecik pon. toksa beli. senang hidup.

have u seen the indestructible toyota hilux? even being put at the demolition area, the engine still can be used! using only normal tools to repair it

• They should put that engine to the HiAce van,,,

• James on Aug 25, 2009 at 11:09 am

The variable turbo version 3L diesel has been sold in Brunei for many years already. My dad bought this Hilux 5 years ago. It is only now that you guys see this model in Msia.

I suppose the heavy tax imposed by gov. makes it uneconomical to buy sell this the High end Hilux in Msia.

As for comparing Ford's car? well, I personally prefer to compare the reliability. Remember, Hilux is indestructible (watch the special episode of TopGear).

• Speedy Gonzales on Sep 25, 2010 at 11:54 am

on the high tax impose in Msia to get the high end car need to really consider. we apply loan from bank to pay the tax that made up the price of ur favourate car.

• Qalif on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:29 pm

Nissan Navara only 2.5Turbo Diesel but the most power SUT 175Bhp and 403 Torque..

• NARUdaDRIVeR on Aug 25, 2009 at 2:22 pm

ambipur..

i might agree on you on the ground clearance… but theres noting OME suspension kits cant fix.. btw hilux feels so light in comparison to other pickups… went on long fistance trip from miri to kuching and the ride is just so jumpy… just so different in comparison to mitsu's 3.2 triton..

still for offroad use i better trust my old isuzu trooper =)

• Agreed with Boo.Toyota should put the 3.0(1KD-FTV) engine spec in the Hiace van mated to Auto Transmission and make it available in Standard Roof(Low Roof type) and High Roof type.

• toyota n isuzu engine is most reliable. but toyota got less black smoke(unburn diesel) of all. nissan is just to smoky even new. mitsu just wouldn last long enough. diesel engine is all about durability. volks is just too pricey, n ford i don know…they just escape closing down.

• The Watcher on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:27 am

Please bear in mind that in order to have more power, one vital thing must notice is the pistons' compression ratio. Those diesel engines with VG turbo & intercooler that have massive output like Navara have compression ratio below 17:1. Can the engine operate optimal on such low compression ratio?

U guys can look related info and find out.

• Toyota stand for durability and get through all the obstacles that it's facing.What for the vehicle run 100km/h in 11.3 or be like a sedan in term of comfort or handling if you can't manage to get out from the obstacles that your in to?Takde maknanya semua power tu kalau sangkut kat dalam [email protected] penting boleh lepas semua dengan mudah.Macam di Sabah dan Sarawak yang mana jalannya memang untuk 4wd punya kereta,Toyota Hilux yang menjadi pilihan berbanding dengan brand yang lain.Most of the Tauke Ikan,Balak,Kontraktor dan Jabatan Kerajaan guna Kereta Toyota(Hilux Dan Fortuner).Why the choose it?Because the can depend on it's durability and toughness.

• affuan on Aug 26, 2009 at 6:46 pm

but navara's hp is still highest right? then, navara rules.

• no, navara is not the highest. continental car got the highest diesel hp. navara is only the biggest of 4×4 of them all.

• Hi Paul,

Do you think you can convince Toyota Malaysia to put this engine in the Hiace with auto gearbox?I have written email to the customer service but the reply I get is fed up mentioning different country,different spec.I feel UMW are not willing to bring in the auto version of the hiace although there are a lot in singapore.

• charles chia kwang d on Sep 09, 2009 at 8:15 am

The Malaysian Govt. is the most sickening of all the asean countries. Using African grade diesel depriving us of good diesel models which is the in thing today. The tax on vehicles is so heavy the govt. makes more money than the vehicles manufacturers. Look at prices of our cars, the costliest in the region. Really useless govt.

• jenatixel (Member) on Sep 19, 2009 at 10:34 am

i strongly agreed that toyota hilux is the best of them all, especially the late model (the sr turbo common rail) mine is 5 years old already, no complain, the engine never leak, still using all the original parts…. i went up to the logging camp weekly and drive to brunei 2-3 times a week, it never break down, of course their is other brand that offer better engine, cabin space, ride and handling but if you thinking of reliability and worth buying, i recommended the hilux, it never die….(top gear hilux episode)

• Oragon on Sep 21, 2009 at 2:42 am

When it comes to pickup truck, nothing beats Hilux! Hail Toyota Hilux! ive tested hilux for almost 10years of work in the field. 2 thumbs up!

• ccpoh on Sep 22, 2009 at 6:25 am

When UMW Toyota Hilux Vigo VN Turbo launched in Malaysia?

• 76009 on Sep 28, 2009 at 7:24 am

?high power D4D Hilux vigo???????2.5 120hp ?????????????????????????????????????????VN Turbo ??????????????????????????????

• 76009 on Sep 28, 2009 at 7:28 am

??hilux vigo????????????????????VN Turbo ?vigo???

• peter on Sep 28, 2009 at 7:34 am

Hilux No.1 in malaysia,so best ley!upgrade………haha

• Airpool@Miri on Sep 29, 2009 at 1:28 am

my comment:

Mitsubishi Triton/Triton Lite :Power and comfortable (still the best)

Navara : Power and wide stability (no comment at all)

D-max : Fuel efficiency (economical for 3.0, not for 2.5)

Toyota Hilux Vigo: Power = 95%, comfortable best for driver and front passenger, fuel efficiency (680km=RM80 for average 120-140km/h)

I'm the user of Hilux Vigo since july 2008 and maintain servicing and UMW, and I'm statisfied with this vehicle. why?

Because:

A. Power = which one is better?

Triton = unbelievable bcos they are not 100% fuel economy, only 70-80%

Navara = power ratio : body weight

D-max = Fuh, salute….economy! but less fuel can give more power for high load capacity? not 100% correct, man. cockpit? still unacceptable at rear passenger.

Hilux = Moderate, powerful + fuel use = unbelievable (still can save some money)…luggage capacity? for me, its better than the other (without fiberglass cover/canopy)

B. where do you want to send your vehicle for servicing?

1.Triton = Mitsubushi service center (how many are available in every city?), EON, DAMN their worker are no discipline to done the servicing on time.

2.Navara & D-max = dealers target only want to sell it of, Done.

''Problem? uh…we need to wait for spare, sir…''

How long? ''it takes few month, sir….''

My uncle experience it all,(he is the Triton lite owner)… he himself comment that, what ever the car condition is comfortable or fuel economy, but the authorised service center is not efficient, he have to wait for more than 4 hours to wait for queue (what about servicing hours?). nowdays, he prefer to service it at workshop he trust ("just 1 hour…" he said). what about warranty? Nah, its your own risk…

He always say that Hilux is the best, even he still using that Triton (because we always care bout our car).

Bro…Think wisely, and you will not regret….

-Just for sharing-

• muar fortuner fans on Dec 10, 2009 at 1:15 am

New Fortuner 2.5 VN Turbo
    www.fortuner-club.com/webboard/questions.asp?QID=…

• i would l need advise. i would like to buy a 4×4 pickup.

i want to compare between hilux vigo and navara.

which one low maintenance? thanks

• salatip on Dec 25, 2009 at 8:09 pm

I own Triton and now Rush.

My Triton service in Kulai EON; appointment or not they will entertain – tip top and quick – allow to visit while doing servicing. 1 hour only. Why? because the stand alone Triton bay system. The chief mechanic tell me what they have done.

Triton having back ache seat not because of the ride – I'ved tested Ranger and Hilux. I always hit 150KM/H from JB to KL while the mom and kids are sleeping. Stop using Triton because every time came back to JB mom and kids "demam" and back ache.

My Rush service in Plentong Toyota; appointment only – 9 am completed at 12:30… can see from waiting room but can't visit. Too many car including Singaporean… The chief mechanic say if you got any problem come back later.

No more back ache…

• Airpool@Miri on Jan 06, 2010 at 4:40 pm

Dear fellaz,

Just for your sharing info<

last 4 week, I've sent my Hilux VIGO for a major service (40K mileage), at first I was worried becoz I have to budget almost RM1K for this session.

I have met one of the service forcal person since first service,

at first, he introduce me the service price list

(optional service option for 'changing transmission oil'):-

1st option – service+ flushing (4L flushing fluid needed)…. Total:RM 1070

(additional RM300 for buying the flushing fluid)

2nd option- without flushing (drain old Trans.oil, then fill new oil)… Total: RM770

So, I pick the "2nd" option…

Then, when I came back to the service center (after 11am), during payment, he informed me that I have to pay only RM595… What?… How come?….

answer: He use his name as the "car owner/guardian", the system automatically give him 20% discount from the total charge RM770…and he guarantee that, with his name on it, IF anything happen to the engine, it will not affecting the warranty…-that his promise & of coz I trust him since my 1st service-

(maybe it still expensive for some people to pay RM500+…. but not for me, coz I use this Hilux for 400km distance everyday -and also Offroad)

after 40K service, I only pay less than RM250 for the latest service (45K, 50K….mileage)

I already experience it, Its up to you to make decission….

any doubt?, pls ask me/comment……

• i've own Toyota Hilux Vigo since June 2008.I'm working somewhe in Ulu Baram, Miri Sarawak area, tat is 7 hours driving from Miri town plus 5hours of off-road logging road driving,where the distance is around 286km from miri. Most people in the interior part of Baram Sarawak choose Hilux because of its reliability, no solely rely on power along. There are few cases where D-MAX 3.0 just after 6months of ownership here has broken gearbox and no need to mention about other problem especially the 4×4 system. No one want to use the new Ranger as it has small cabin size,people here still not trust Mitsu with their Triton eventough me myself admire the power of Triton 3.2 DI-D..fuhh..but i choose hilux because i want a peace-of-mind in driving with the harsh condition of the logging road..till now, my Hilux is still in tip-top condition with timely every 5k service. this is just the story of what a 4×4 should be and which one survived, here in Borneo, 4×4 truck is not JUST for town driving only, not only to join the 4×4 camp, but for daily use and without headache. just to share with people here…thanks..

• Toyota introduces its latest powertrain installment for the Hilux with the fourth D4D engine: 2KD-FTV Intercooler with just added Variable Nozzle Turbo. A movement to fill the gap among lineup after took quite much disadvantages to other brands with lifted 2.5 litre 4×4 pickups.

In fact, it's just the third way of modification from 2KD-FTV, the first commonrail engine for Hilux in Thailand as we know it.

Come absolute with these pros:

Applied 20% more power to 144hp. Unleashes out 343nm equally with 1KD-FTV models even with difference in RPM. 10% better accelleration (from 0-100km/h); meanwhile gained more 8% fuel efficiency miraculously. With the engine's well-enough injection system as D4D's strict seleted. (Compared with 2KD-FTV I/C)

4cyl DOHC 16 Valve (EURO III)

Maximum Power

106kw(144hp) @ 3,400rpm

Maximum Torque

343nm @ 1,600-2,800rpm

2KD-FTV with VN will replace Hilux 4×4 models with same engine with just 102hp.

Exterior was also updated a little bit. Such as VN Turbo mark at the fascia for all models with VN Turbo..

• When this model(Hilux 2.5 VN Turbo) will introduce in malaysia market ??@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

• Christopher on Mar 31, 2010 at 6:26 am

Is true. when???? is already in thailand and philipine!!!!!

• VN Turbo for the Hilux and Fortuner 2.5 please. The one they got for the Hilux VN Turbo in Thailand.

• svcad on May 11, 2010 at 8:09 pm

UMW Toyota must upgrade the 2.5 diesel version of the fortuner & hilux to VN turbo intercooler. Just being newly launch in Thailand. These engines are really “underpowered” comparing to the size of fortuner & hilux.

• svcad on May 13, 2010 at 6:53 pm

UMW must upgrade the 2.5 diesel version of the fortuner & hilux to VN turbo intercooler. Just being newly launch in Thailand. These engines are really “underpowered” comparing to the size of fortuner & hilux.

• svcad on May 17, 2010 at 3:39 pm

there a news fr UMW , the new Hilux 3.0 cbu Thailand will launch in m’sia maybe by December this year.

• boon626 on Jul 23, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Hilux 3.0 will be launched in Malaysia in the month of October this year.

However, the detail specifications is still unknown. I have confirmation that it is running on 1KD( 3.0) with intercooler and VNT turbo.

Anyone with more information please post up!!! Thank you…

• Just got the est. price for Hilux 3.0L VNT Auto from UMW Ipoh.

Ind. private – RM106K
    Co. private – RM106.4K
    Co. Commercial – RM105.7K
    Official launching on Sept., now avail. for booking.

No news about 2.5L VNT. The sales exec. will double-check again.

I’m also torn between Navara & Hilux, both got their pros & cons.
    If Hilux is updated with 2.5 VNT Auto, so go for it.

• Vgs turbo on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:12 pm

True. Me too. If off road maybe hilux. Navara comfortable than hilux on road. But engine. I’m not mean the hp and torque. But the engine lifetime.

• Christopher on Jul 28, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Hilux 3.0VNT is posted on UMW website. 2.5 still remain the same.

• boon626 on Jul 28, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Dear Woon

Is the launching date for the 3.0 in September?

I’ve been told it will be in October. Can some one please confirmed the date? thank you!!

• I’ve been told its end of September.

Aiseh, seriously they’re not gonna update the 2.5L version?
    Guess I have 2 go for Navara.
    But there’s alot of complaint on the timing chain & clutch premature failure for Navara, as well as the weak foot well during collision (I mean oversea, not here)
    I wonder has they rectify the problem? or throw these old model to sell in M’sia?

• monsterenergy on Aug 04, 2010 at 6:29 pm

say wateva u want guys, i alrdy drove n tested hilux, dmax, triton, ranger tdci, bt-50… d result is 1st.navara, 2nd.bt-50 n ranger tdi, 3rd.dmax 4th.triton 5th.hilux… want the prove? wanna see the power of d car? reability? toughness? comfort? safety? anything… drive at jalan kimanis keningau-papar road… n you’ll know the result… u will see who left behind with smoke on the hood… hehe… no use to talk much or debate lah… test it yourself…

• Borneoapeman on Aug 04, 2010 at 10:27 pm

I LOVE my HILUX!!!
      Navara, Triton, Ranger and Dmax are all great cars.
      But I JUST LOVE MY LUX and proud of it.

• Airpool@MIRI on Aug 05, 2010 at 9:14 pm

Dear brothers,

Just 1 2 share,

one of you keep on wondering, why Sarawakian & Sabahan ppl keep on supporting this Toyota product…. the main reason is:

1. Price?..affordable with big capacity bedliner
        2. Service center….. TYT S.center is everywhere + less price
        3. Warranty…. valid if Ur regular customer for TYT

:don’t just think about performance & style, its no use if our can drive your car faster than the other vehicle, coz when you receive the summon, you’ll not blame the police officer, but blaming yourself for over speeding… :)

• pions on Aug 05, 2010 at 11:37 pm

if you are borneoans,you know which is the best….

toyota second hand value much higher than other model.for example.toyota hilux sr year 2001 and above still around 50k .frontier just a new truck,around 7 years drop to 40 something.
    for me,for long time use,pick hilux.

• I think, there’s potential to churn out engine power & torque like Navara in every pickup truck (Intercooler + VNT turbo + hi-tuned). But with such setup, reliability has to be compromise in some way, more or less.

But Hilux just followed their marketing strategy, mild tuned their pickup. Apparently it works. their 2nd hand value is proof of their reputation on reliability.

However, I believe they have shifted from that with intro of their Intercooled VNTurbo 2.5L & 3.0L in Thailand.

There’s no deny on demands for lower capacity yet powerful truck, & Navara is leading the pack.

• Borneoape man on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:31 pm

Although Hilux 3.0 is a few grand more expensive, there second hand value will superceed others hence the lost we incurred when we sell our double cabin is more with others.

Reliability is what I seek in a car, besides power and resell values…..I still prefer Hilux over others, have been driving those through out Borneo for 10 years, bituman, gravel, sand, mud…all terrain without any break down or let down….

Now havin sleepless night waiting for my 3.0 VNT Intercooled Lux….

• aiseh Borneoape, congrats 1st on your incoming Hilux 3.0!
    No offence, but it might b opposite regarding 2nd hand value, considering the extra RM1K for road tax. Somethin like BMW case, 530i will cost less than 320i after 10yrs, c maybe I’m wrong.

If they don’t announce bringing in 2.5L Intercool VNTurbo by Sept, guess I’ll have 2 settle with Navara. hai…

Nway, I believe M’sia has the strongest customer loyalty to Toyota, unlike the rest of the world. It used 2b wellknown for reliability, but my 2004 Altis starts givin prob. since 2009.

• Borneoapeman on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:11 am

Congrats on your Navara purchase too.
      Hope to receive my Lux by end of September. Sleepless nites for me ……after seeing the demo unit the other day!!! The Audio unit is so cool!! The throttle respond = GREAT !!!

• Borneo ape,

New audio unit? Touch screen? Got cruise control?
    So fast got demo d? They’ll only come here by mid Sept. here.
    Heard the back ride height has been lowered? izzt true?
    U got any special promo price?

Hav U seen any1 install rearview camera on pickups?
    I plan2 install a pioneer 2-Din DVD with rearview cam., dunno got place to fix or not.

• Borneoapeman on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:39 pm

Woon,

The Hilux audio is 2 Din single disc only unlike your Navara which has 6 discs. But what I like is the aux input and USB input that can enable me to connect my mp3 players, laptops and iPhone, which suites me better than a touch screen. That is just me, some ppl prefer 6 disc player or touch screen.

The demo car is here less than one week here. The car plate is of semenanjung’s and registered quite some mileage already. Stickers is different. I’m sure there’s demo cars for SA training in semenanjung too, you can try to ask your UMW SA politely but they aren’t suppose to disclose any info b4 launching.
      My advice to you all is don’t just read, go and have a look, pick what suite you most.
      I think ride height still the same. I prefer higher bcos I use my car as workhorse, for driving through my construction sites, jungles trails. I don’t use my lux for high speed driving, ( I have other lowered sedans for that purpose!) IMHO 4×4 are not mean to be driven at high speed, or to be compare comfortness with the sedans….it’s a workhorse.
      However, IMHO do have a look/ compare at back seat inclination and gear ratio as this is important if you carry passengers and do a lot of city driving.
      Good luck to all !!!

• Don’t laugh at me ha, I’m still new with all the abbrev. … but wat is IMHO?

No doubt Toyota’s stock sound sys. is better than any other. Navara’s sounds lousy.
    Aux-in & USB definitely a ++.

• There’s 2 auto models for 3.0L in Thailand, with minimum ground clearance of 181mm & 229mm. Both are lower than our existing 2.5L at 292mm.
    I say their nose is being pulled, competing 2 b lower.

http://www.toyota.co.th/en/models/Vigo_Double_Cab/vigo_dcab2009_spec.asp

Dunno which UMW will bring in. Interior color oso different, it’s 2-tone grey & beige.
    Borneoapeman, the unit you tested got wat interior color?

• Toyota on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Hope Toyota will bring in 2.5 Intercool VTN. Hope we should wait for new 2.5 engine to be released here. Don’t be rush to buy 3.0. Let Toyota feel the demand and bring in what we need.

• Airpool@MIRI on Aug 21, 2010 at 1:31 pm

Dear Woon,

as a user with lots of interest of modification, I’m one of the fan who love to modify their car….

from standard spec that I’ve brought from TYT showroom, I’ve change:-

1st: wider sport rims (but still 15″) RM1450 (no trade-in)

2nd :buy bed cover with spoiler =RM3K (+spray & installation)

3rd :buy double din touch screen (RM700) + installation & accessories (RM50)

4th : sound system (2 RF subwoofer, 1 set 6×9 & set mid component 6″ Mohawk & 2600w Amp) – located at bedliner…. almost to RM900

Hilux Bodykit: Custom hand cut (myself) front & rear= plastic bumpers, side= waja’s fibers side skirt…. cost? Less than RM500 including spray. ** to buy the original skirting? hemm… of cos I can’t afford to spend RM1500 for the fiber skirting

Vehicle height: still as usual height, I only remove 1 plate of rear spring for both side… (the result is, co complaint from my rear passanger)… you know lah, this vehicle is for normal/traveling duty)

now already year 2, all that additional accessories still in good condition… :)
    don’t rely on what they promo to you coz, it just their market strategy….
    we can maintain the accessories lifetime, as long we take care of it nicely

BTW, issue about ROAD TAX, its not that road tax causing us to pay more, its our insurance actually…. just to share mine, I pay RM230/yr for the road Tax… :)

P/s; no hard feeling ya, just to share my xperience….

• Borneoapeman on Aug 21, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Dear Airpool@MIRI

Is it possible to share some pics of your Lux? Do you have a webpage? FB?

I’m from Kch BTW, just booked a 3.0 VNT Lux…

My 1st priority mod will be anti theft lock (below steering rod), 16″eims and tyres (265 Yoko ATs or Michelin ATs)

Cheers!!

• Airpool@MIRI on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:05 am

Bro, I suggest you to buy that pedal lock brand “Lock Tech”, that device have double lock (pull & button lock) while at the same time it disconnecting the power from ignition key…

I heard that, the cheapest set of rims & tyres sell at Sarikei (correct me if I’m wrong)… but you should choose the proper wheel (wider wheel).

• Lewis on Aug 21, 2010 at 9:28 pm

Hi all. Saw the hilux 3.0 is open for booking now in newspaper. Interested in the design. But only one thing of the engine that makes my interest down. The engine use the 1st generation common rail 135mpa, where others already use 3rd generation 180mpa common rail like the common rail ford rangers, the isuzu common rail dmax, 2.5l triton, navara 2.5. Hilux engine is the same as 3.2 triton.

• Hey MIRI Airport,

Nice work with Ur ride.

Ur 2-Din TouchScreen is good deal, mind2 share wat brand & model?
    Got reverse camera?
    Wow, sound sys. on load deck? U got join any competition?
    reduce 1 spring means softer ride, but also reduce max. load? Take off Urself?
    Bedcover + spoiler means roll bar? So expensive 1 ar?
    I’m thinkin of gettin of those black bedcover w.o rollbar or those canvas.

Can’t be la, RoadTax 4 new D-max 2.5 & Triton 2.5 already RM840 & RM820.
    Roadtax reduce as vehicle age?

• Airpool@MIRI on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:16 am

Of coz, bro…

actually my 2 Din player is made from ‘china’. (if I’m not mistaken, the brand is Hollywood) and it can connect to any reverse camera (additional).
      Autoshow? hemm… No, its just for my outdoor activities at beach.
      reduce spring, yes….. it may affect the load capacity too… as I experience, my hilux already brought 450KG load from Miri to K.Kinabalu for 2 times already (600+km)…and yet, the absorber is still in good condition.
      I brought my hilux without anti-roll bar….that spoiler specified for 4×4 bedcover (fiber)
      FYI, the original ‘carryboy’ bedcover =RM3300 (+spray & installation)
      spoiler =RM750 (+ spray & installation)
      ~ I buy that complete set, RM3K coz it’s consider 2nd hand after 1 week used by the shop owner~ :)

**If you wanna see my Hilux… just sms me @ 0198562940** & I’ll send you the picture

• wow,nice mod u have there Airpool.

• Airpool@MIRI on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm

: thanks, bro….. its just ‘medium budget’ of modification. can’t afford to do it too drastic with standard sports design….. :)

I think…. I wanna create 1 ‘FB’ account for ‘Hilux MOD Group’, what say U guys? pls comment…..

• Wild wild angles on Aug 27, 2010 at 11:09 am

Kalau tgk dalam kaedah saintifik, kenapa hp bagi dmax 3.0l rendah lagipun mengunakan common rail terbaru, ini adalah kaedah untuk mengurangkan ‘stress’ kepada enjin. Lihat pada rpm, navara paling tinggi. Tetapi kapasiti enjin kecil. Ini membuktikan ‘stress’ adalah tinggi. Lihat pada enjin f1, 2.4l tapi mencapai 20000rpm. Usia enjin? 2 atau 3 perlumbaan sahaja.
    Selalunya enjin berkapasiti tinggi dan rpm serta power rendah adalah yg terbaik.

I pernah jumpa seorang rakan yg mempunyai isuzu 2.5l 4ja1 pick up tahun 1989. Enjin tersebut hanya 79hp dgn turbo tetapi mileage lebih 1 juta km tak pernah overhaul.

• agreed with wild wild angel (mcm lagu Smokies ja ni bro). navara powerful,but sacrifices engine lifetime. less power mean less stress and your engine will last long.

Bro Aipool: I agree with you. I’m in.

• Airpool@MIRI on Sep 16, 2010 at 4:38 pm

Yup, I agree too…

I’ve create1 ‘FaceBook’ site for Hilux view….I will upload/update the photo of my vehicle soon…. ( FB = Hilux Vigo )
      Pls share your ‘modification’ oryour vehicle to my photo gallery… (doesn’t mind either your vehicle is Hilux or others)

• There’s growing demand 4 more comfortable pickup, small yet powerful engine (=efficient technology) Market driven ma.

Fossil fuel engine is gonna phase out soon nway, mayb 10-15 yrs, mayb a little longer. Green tech is taking over.

So might as well enjoy a ride while U hav it, instead of compromising all those just for a car tat last till you grandchildren have grandchildren.

Besides, smaller engine with higher torque = fuel efficient, am I right, Mr.Paul?
    Stress is same unless we push the engine hard, am I right, Mr.Paul?

• 4x4 man on Aug 30, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Woon…I think you should buy a smart for 2 = efficient technology….just the car for you. Hilux is definitely not for you….or a bicycle..yet better…

• Looks like 4×4 man is a macho chauvinist who like his ride like a extinct dinosaur, don’t like it 2b refined & up2date with new technologies.

Maybe Kerbau or Hippopotamus is more suitable for U, it also 4×4!

• Airpool@MIRI on Aug 31, 2010 at 9:11 am

Dear friend,

Have you heard that Proton already introduce the Next-Generation Hybrid car, Proton ‘Emas’….right now, I’m interested with its fresh design (viewed in Youtube) and….when it’s improved after 3 to 6 month later, for sure that car will be my next choice for my 2nd vehicle (in town use) after my Hilux…

(anyway, before you think the ‘-ve’ side of this Proton product, think first… any other car manufacturer also face the problem for their latest model, including TYT Prius & Camry 2.4 before entering to our country)… customer feedback is for their ‘improvement’ :)

• Ar vieko on Sep 15, 2010 at 11:56 pm

i’ve been using Toyota Hilux almost 7 years.. so far no problem at all, just pump and drive..already done 556000km…always at top speed 140km/h..so far so good … no problem at all, just done some tuning,change timing belt and filter…i just want reliable car not sports car…my next car sure will be TOYOTA

• The new 2.5 VN Turbo engine’s maximum power increasesby 20 percent as compared to the previous 2.5 liter engine. The maximum torque is equivalent to that of the 1KD engine (Hilux 3.0), with its ability to generate flat torque at the rate of 1,600-2,800 rpm. Most importantly, the fuel consumption rate of the 2.5 VN Turbo engine is also better than the previous 2.5 L engine by 8 percent with an increase in the acceleration rate at 0-100 km/h by 10 percent.

• leong on Oct 09, 2010 at 11:41 pm

toyota hilux vn turbo 3.0/ everthing is not improve only road tax is improve .but hp is below navara. abs break is no ebd system, no xenon light, no leather seat.spentions is very pumping, conering is totaly out mtutup pintu macam lori kecil.sound improve is low .alam system is senang di curi.caust black market is hot.i think engin is tahan lazak big cc out put is low ma
    good bless u

• Chris on Oct 25, 2010 at 6:58 pm

Can our standard 2.5 hilux be fitted with the vn turbo?is it plug and play?

• where can get 2nd hand axel which gear ratio is 10×43 to put into toyota sr turbo. as i know is came from LN107, please email me if somebody want to sell it, THANKS

• alot of thing is put into consideration when building an engine. toyota prefer to have a more durable and long lasting engine by not pushing it to the limit like the rest. hilux disadvantage is losing on the intercooler in 2.5 liter 2KD-FTV Turbo Diesel D4-D. old tech. doesnt mean not good, new doesnt mean good. every cars has their pros&cons.

• Vigoman on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:51 am

I have the first generation of Toyota Vigo 2.5 D4D. almost 6 years old and only 66k+ on the milage. Love my Vigo and treat it with something as below :

Engine oil : 15W-50 SL/CF
    Suspension : rancho RS9000XL + king spring at the front AND rancho wireless remote controller for the absorbers. ( 9 adjustment can be made inside the car while driving)
    Engine : installed an intercooler with K&N filter ( just to treat my engine with nice cooler air everytime and giving me that extra punch)
    Engine : installed unichip with on/off switch ( only switched on when driving from tawau to Kota kinabalu, for overtaking purpose mostly and for that extra power that I really want during long journey, switch off when normal driving in town)
    Exterior : 100% stock look, no modification, original rims with michelin LTX

I can say, it feels like the new 3.0L when long drive and the economy 2.5L in town or normal stop and go. Ride quality, from extra soft to extra stiff WHENEVER I want. Michelin LTX is far far better than the bridgestone AT. I treat my LUX very very good so I’m hoping that it will not let me down !!!

Reaching the Perfect balance between performance and comfort is my priority.

and yes did it before with my lux… tawau-Kuching-tawau !!!!

• vigo 3.0 vnt with unichip 265hp..yeaaahhhh

• ten high on Feb 15, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Hi, Pual
    I want to ask can toyota hilu vigo 2012 non vn turbo change to vn turbo to boots up the horsepower???

• tatan on Oct 30, 2014 at 7:24 am

Nissan
    Mitsubishi
    ford
    mazda
    toyota
    isuzu
    chevrolet

which is cheap for sparepart..how much the cost for changing timing belt…hahaha.. think the part before buy the car

• Goldie on Sep 02, 2015 at 10:22 am

Vigo The Mighty…my friend persuaded me into buying vigo, which is very expensive even for second hand in sabah, and i was so grateful for it…
    Mine is a 2005 2.5cc turbo without intercooler manual tranmission…yeah ol and underpower junk to many…but u maybe surprised coz mine so far has beaten the rests including two Nissan Navaras at one go, without using any engine management system…
    All u only need a person expert in using the computer diagnostic tools to tune up the vigo low computer setting, k&n ori air filter, apache space arm and double shackles, and ur vigo would run like a black stallion…and the tune-up done is safer and using the overboosting aftermarket engine management system, which definitely have no good effect on ur vehicle in the long run…
    So those already owned a Vigo congrats, while those still thinking dont think but just get one ~ u will not regret it
    Dont worry with people talking about Vigo being the underpower of all coz its actually not ~ but just that our Vigo actually came out of factory with low computer setting, which we can actually tune up….dont believe me, well up to u lohh…hahahaaa