Nippon Paint Nax Premila 2K Auto Refinish

nippon-nax-1

Most people who are not really into the details usually just specify a kind of “grade” of paint when they send their cars in for repainting. Most people who want their cars to look good usually specify “2K” paint, but many don’t really look at what exactly is being used to paint your car.

Nippon Paint is a big name when it comes to household paint. They’ve also been in the OEM car paint supply business for a really long time. If you’ve bought a car from Proton, Perodua, Toyota, Nissan, Hyundai, Naza or Kia, there’s a good chance that the paint on your car is also from Nippon Paint Malaysia. Now, they are going into the refinishing market, which means aftermarket auto refinish paint.

nippon-nax-2

Marketed under the Nax Premila 2K brand, there are a full range of products under the brand ranging from putty, primer, basecoat and top coat. Nippon Paint says Nax Premila 2K has high tinting strength on colour tinters comparable with competitors’. The flexibility of a 1K or 2K basecoat system, the ability to mix 1K or 2K binder, and the ability to match more colours from the colour tinters range. There are currently about 500 colour formulations in the Nax Premila range and Nippon Paint Malaysia targets to roll out 1,000 colours by December this year.

Basically when you send your car in for a full re-spraying, there are a few steps involved. It is best to have any trim, decals, emblems and anything else similiar removed from the car body. The car will then have to be cleaned properly to remove any wax, grease or contaminants from the old coat of paint.

Of course please remember where the emblems were located so the car will be returned to its “original” state – there are way too many BMWs on the road with the car model on the left instead of the right hand side of the boot!

Damage like this are easily fixable as only the paint is damaged.

Your body panels will also have to be repaired. Fenders, rockers, quarter panels, joints, and other areas will have to be checked for rust. If there is rust, the rust will have to be removed.

nippon-nax-3
Accident damage – a really bad dent and paint scraped off until the bare metal is exposed. It is better to replace the entire fender instead of repairing it.

Minor damage such as small dents can be fixed by pulling the dent out, but if a body panel has been really heavily damaged, it is better to just replace the panel rather than knock it back into shape as the repaired area may start to rust in the future, despite anti-rust treatment.

nippon-nax-3Other small imperfections in the surface of the body can then be filled with putty. Nippon Paint has two products for this – Nax Universal Putty and Nax Filling Putty, both of which are made from polyester. The Filling Putty is apparently of a better grade and provides excellent adhesion.

Next, we apply the primer. Nippon Paint has the Nax 2400 Urethane Primer. Urethane-based primers are quite common in 2K paint jobs. Primer essentially ensure your total paint system adhere firmly to your car (a binding layer) and has other benefits such as increasing entire paint durability, and adding extra protection for the car body. There’s also the Nax PP Primer which has good adhesion characteristics for PP materials such as your car bumpers and spoilers.

Then it is time to add the basecoat paint. Basecoat comes in Solid, Metallic, Pearl or Crystal colours. Last coat is the Nax 9600 2:1 2K Clearcoat. During the whole process from start to finish it is important to have a dust and dirt-free environment so that dirt or dust does not get trapped in the paint.

The various coats will be mixed according to the manufacturer’s specs with recommended thinners or hardeners. Sanding down after Primer coat is important to ensure a smooth finish and better adhesion. This step will help to give the paint a better appearance and also prevent defects such as orange peel.

If you are interested in giving Nippon Paint Nax Premila 2K Auto Refinish a try, you can check out a list of paint shops that deal with Nippon Paint after the jump. Remember to ask for Nippon Paint Nax Premila 2K Auto Refinish when you ask for a quote as they may have other brands in stock and most people usually only ask for colour.

Syarikat Perniagaan Joo Hock
Mr. Lim Theam Lye
1, Jalan 9/40, Taman Pusat Kepong,
52100 Kepong Kuala Lumpur
03-62585278

Guangxin Paints Sdn. Bhd.
Mr. Lee Chow
28, Jalan USJ 1/6, Taman Subang Mewah,
47610 Subang Jaya Selangor
03-80246766

ZST Trading Sdn. Bhd.
Mr. Wong Ken Heng
28, Jalan SBC 3, Taman Sri Batu Caves,
68100 Batu Caves Selangor
03-61874675

B.P. Spray Painting Company
Mr. Kee Au Teck
49, Jalan Timah Sari,
83000 Batu Pahat Johor
07-4348043

Soon Heng Trading
Mr. Sim Ah Fatt
41, Jalan Perdana Barat 11, Taman Usahawan,
52100 Kepong Kuala Lumpur
03-62505586

Soon Heng Trading Company
Mr. Tan Cher An
639B, Jalan Banting, Pandamaran,
42000 Klang Selangor
03-31679508

E-green Trading (Penang)
Mr. Teh Chai Hup
89, Free School Road,
11060 Georgetown Penang
012-4861680

E-green Trading (Bukit Mertajam)
Mr. Teh Chai Hup
24, Lorong Perda Utama 12, Bandar Perda,
14000 B.Mertajam Penang
04-5302666

Tick Huat Paints & Hardware Sdn. Bhd.
Mr. Dominic Siow
172 & 173, Jalan Munawir,
70000 Seremban Negeri Sembilan
06-7617759

Projek Kristal (M) Sdn. Bhd.
Mr. Quah Wei Phin
45D, Seberang Jalan Putra,
05150 Alor Setar Kedah
04-7318255

Lian Seng Fatt Paints Sdn. Bhd.
Mr. Seah Chin Heng
35, Jalan Meru,
41050 Klang Selangor
03-33414617

Hup Sing Car Paints Sdn. Bhd.
Mr. Michael Choo
35-37, Regat Datuk Mahmud, (off Jalan Pasir Putih)
31650 Ipoh Perak
05-2540629

Tick Huat Paints & H’ware S/B (Senawang)
Mr. Lim Chooi
233, Senawang Light Industri Area, Batu 4 1/2, Jalan Tampin
70450 Senawang Negeri Sembilan
06-6783020

Hiap Ho Company
Mr. Tay Kim Min
No.122, Jalan Ang Cheng Ho
93100 Kuching Sarawak
082-247720

Mseng Paints Trading
Mr. Goh Beng Wong
78, Jalan PJS 11/7, Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya
46150 Subang Jaya Selangor
03-56388792

Hoong Meng Hardware Trading
Mr. Chan Moon Hoong
No. 44, Jalan Segambut Tengah
51200 Kuala Lumpur
03-62536160

Tan Lee Soon Trading Sdn. Bhd.
Mr. Tan Chung Khen
PT 4752 & 4753, Jalan Sungai Limau
45300 Sungai Besar Selangor
03-32241888

Cheong Seng Hardware Trading
Mr. Chung Kok Lam
137, Main Street, Salak South
57100 Kuala Lumpur
03-79825739

Lam Hong Chan
Mr. Chiew Yung Li
69, Jalan Gajah Berang,
75200 Melaka Melaka
06-2840893

Syarikat Hap Ho
Mr. Tay Kim Min
9, Lot 3742, Liang Kee Commercial Centre, 4th Mile Penrissen Road
93250 Kuching Sarawak
082-462933

Perniagaan Ju Sam
Mr. Yeoh Ju Sam
No.31, Jalan Bendahara 9, Taman Ungku Tun Aminah
81300 Skudai Johor
016-7347013

Just Auto Sdn. Bhd.
Mr. Tan Kian Aan
13, Jalan Penyelengara U1/77, Taman Perindustrian Batu 3
40150 Shah Alam Selangor
03-55138686

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mohd hafizzul on Sep 01, 2009 at 3:39 pm

1st…………..

• azrai on Sep 01, 2009 at 3:52 pm

Paul, is there any brief on what is 1k, 2k, and even 5k grade for car paint? can you do an explanation just like thos 92ron and 97ron petrol. I know it will be useful.

• Form experience, it is always better NOT to change a fender or body parts when it is still repairable. When changed, yo will have oroblems with Puspacom or JPJ, they claim that it is a kereta potong!!!!!! My 2sen input

• bugger on Sep 01, 2009 at 6:09 pm

"you can check out a list of paint shops that deal with Nippon Paint after the jump"

hey paul, where is the list???

thx…

• mitlanevo on Sep 02, 2009 at 5:32 am

i saw similar product at Carrefour, but very small bottle, just like Buncho poster color….

• Dear everyone,

Can i know how much is the price of the new products?

• Dear everyone,

Can i know how much is the price of the Nax Premilla products?

• Pakar Cat Indonesia on Dec 31, 2009 at 11:54 pm

Can you give me sample for Testing ?

• Duncan Weru on Jul 01, 2012 at 7:18 pm

I appreciate your professionalism.

My car has Incar Silver colour 8307 (Nippon Paints (M)Sdn. Bhd (7516). It is a Toyota Prado and I live in Kenya. I need full repainting.
    What is your advise

Regards

Duncan

• nippon paint on Jun 25, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Nippon paint car formula ok

• afroz khan on Jun 25, 2013 at 7:34 pm

Nippon car paint formula

• yathiraju m.r on Jan 01, 2014 at 6:03 pm

from my experience nippon paint is good

• Moniruzzaman on Mar 23, 2015 at 6:20 pm

would you tell me can i import this nippon paint in bangladesh?

• Rayees ahmad on Nov 04, 2017 at 2:29 pm

i want to open a nippon paint shop in Buner