Photoshopped: Nissan GT-R Convertible?

Nissan GT-R Convertible
Click images above for enlarged image

Will Nissan ever come up with a drop top version of the GT-R to face off the 911 Turbo Cabriolet? I don’t believe there was ever a convertible version of the original Skyline GT-R series. Its little brother (now outdated though) the 350Z had a version without a roof though. Anyway to tease our imagination a little Theophilus Chin has whipped up the images you see above – the Nissan GTR-C! What do you think?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• look nice with the top down…

top up???hurmmm,should consider it again…

am I the 1st to comment????

• Leseid Obrut on Sep 01, 2009 at 12:51 pm

Theophilus has done it again! Did you guys know one of his works was featured in Autoblog.com?

• melvin.foong (Member) on Sep 01, 2009 at 1:20 pm

I prefer the top down version of the photoshopped picture. It really looked good.

Top up, maybe it made the car looked too small.

• saki77 on Sep 01, 2009 at 1:29 pm

Not so attractive…looks like a small car….nampak cam size MR3 jek….hehe

• Salamander on Sep 01, 2009 at 2:10 pm

A bit ugly to my liking. I always have a picture in mind that GTR is a solid build man with power. Taking the roof off is like a tough man wearing a skirt.

• armandd on Sep 01, 2009 at 4:36 pm

without the roof, its body rigidity will suffer.. not good for the handling..

• I don't think it suits the macho image of this car, however, people will still buy it if Nissan makes it. I'd rather they make a sedan or wagon variant

• I think this looks really great!

Really like how the line around the window has been maintained and I think a soft top would suit the car really well.

Can’t wait to see it NIssan!

• adrianclw on Sep 01, 2009 at 5:25 pm

Nice Ps for the car. But seriously the car doesn't look nice. Don't like it at all.

• Not nice…a bit weird looking. I think GTR not suit for convertible design, lack of beauty of convertible car.

• weird

• nabill on Sep 01, 2009 at 8:29 pm

not nice….i dont mean the photoshop work bt the car is jus nice as a coupe…wont suit it being a convertible

• deathstars on Sep 01, 2009 at 8:40 pm

like bumper car in funfair

• deathstars on Sep 01, 2009 at 8:41 pm

funfair bumper car

• bella italia on Sep 01, 2009 at 11:03 pm

everyone claim it to be a supercar but on 0 to 60mph it close to 3.6second…

but on 3.6 second car wit a softtop is not realible enough…..

• Salute to Theo! :)

• Lancermania on Sep 01, 2009 at 11:14 pm

please dun do this to a GTR…..

• initial R on Sep 02, 2009 at 12:25 am

Batter do hard top rather soft top. Will make look still macho….

• kimi_ on Sep 02, 2009 at 12:27 am

Theo is my idol !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

• I think this looks really great!

Really like how the line around the window has been maintained and I think a soft top would suit the car really well.

Can't wait to see it NIssan!

• fadzly on Sep 02, 2009 at 1:36 am

Ulgy bulky GT-R

• mystvearn on Sep 02, 2009 at 1:50 am

No way. It will ruin the handling characteristics of the car if go for convertible

• Hey..

I read the blog often and have noticed Theopilus' work before.. unfortunately i never took the time to express my sheer respect for his artwork.

Dude, that piece on the drop top GTR is as real as any graphically inclined person is going to get man..

Kudos to you Theo!

Oh Paultan… if you have space for article contributors, be sure to lemme know man. i love cars, love driving and i love writing!

• albagmane on Sep 02, 2009 at 4:26 am

great effort from Theo… but I personally think that convertible shouldnt be applicable to GTR… this will totally lose what GTR means… to me, it seems that convertibles are only for cars without passion or the designers who run out of ideas… no convertible for GTR please! a big no no…

• not a fan, but still the top down looks better than top up. maybe a spyder will be better.

• Faridz on Sep 02, 2009 at 9:25 am

i think paul, it will be named nissan GT-C. juz like the previous GT-S :P

• c14man on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:30 am

a big NO…

• saki77 on Sep 02, 2009 at 1:29 pm

No offence, but i think Theo became lazy, he didn't even put a safety bar or whatever u call it for a convertible car….

• Mathgrind on Sep 02, 2009 at 7:33 pm

ugly mully

• TheophilusChin on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:54 pm

Some cabriolet has visible safety bar, some has hidden ones that pops up in emergency.

• mingyuyu on Sep 02, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Nice, but actually GTR doesn't look so good even in the coupr mode. But good photoshop work.:)

• lambov12 on Sep 03, 2009 at 1:08 am

not sure the roof can cope the with speed or not .

• narrowband on Sep 03, 2009 at 2:51 am

Doesn't work for me. I do not think Nissan will ever make a drop top version of this car. I hope they don't. That'll spoil the spirit of the car. Nice work anyway.

• soft top is super bad looking…should hv consider the hard top like ones in the mercedez coupe,,,,,,any how the one with the roor is much more better actually…

• naZrie83 on Sep 03, 2009 at 2:23 pm

the soft top make it looks ugly.. maybe a hard top will be ok….

• Akang on Sep 04, 2009 at 2:40 am

Wargh..Nissan should go wih hard top just like M3 2009 Convertible..More solid look…