Toyota Camry facelift now in Malaysian showrooms!

Toyota Camry Facelift

UMW Toyota has just launched the new Camry facelift here in Malaysia. Like the outgoing pre-facelift model, three variants are available – the Camry 2.0E for RM144,900, the Camry 2.0G for RM154,990 and finally the Camry 2.4V priced at RM174,990. All prices are OTR with insurance in Malaysia.

Let’s cut down to the chase on what’s new. First up is obviously its looks. There is a new grille, bumpers, and new wheels designs. The 2.0 models share a 16 inch wheel design while the 2.4 litre model gets a different design that is larger at 17 inches. LED lighting is used in the new rear taillamps.

Toyota Camry Facelift

On the interior, all models share a similiar colour scheme. The 2.0E model uses a new seat fabric design while the 2.0G and 2.4V models get a perforated leather trim for the seats. Cruise control has been added to the 2.0G model, previously available only on the 2.4V model. A new AUX input jack is provided in the cntre console for you to hook up your MP3 player or iPod. Front seats for the G and V cars have 8-way electrical adjustment including lumbar adjustment for the driver.

One unique feature is a switch on the side of the passenger seat’s backrest to allow the rearleft occupant to easily move the front passenger seat forward for better legroom. This is a feature usually found only on the large cars like the 7-Series and the S-Class and makes a bit easier for the Camry to be used as a car that you’re driven in.

Toyota Camry Facelift

A new feature for the top of the line 2.4V is the Smart Entry & Start System which is basically keyless entry and go. All you need is for the Remote Control Unit to be near the car on the driver (within a certain distance) and you can grab the door handles to unlock the doors and deactivate the immobiliser. Then a push start button can be used to start the car. A button on the rear end of the car does the same for the boot opening mechanism. VSC Stability Control and Traction Control are only offered on the 2.4V model. All models get ABS brakes.

The engine and transmission options remain the same as the pre-facelift model – a 2.0 litre engine making 147 PS at 6,000rpm and 190Nm of torque at 4,00rpm as well as a 2.4 litre engine making 167 PS at 6,000rpm and 224Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. The 2.0 is mated to a 4-speed Super ECT while the 2.4 gets a 5-speed Super ECT.

Look after the jump for a full photo gallery of the new Camry facelift.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=469]

[zenphotopress number=99 album=468]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Crasher on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:08 am

Can they maintain the lead in this segment?

• a good, comfortable,reliable car which is sure to seel well though the facelift seems to be very minor.at least the previous owners won't feel that thier cars have aged so much

• steepx6 on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:11 am

hmmm… not bad… saw it at penang showroom before it launch.

• yoezpo on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:11 am

oh yeah, look better than the old one

• food_lover on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:27 am

RM5K increase is it..?

• over priced / over priced / over priced

tat is all i said

• steepx6 on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:28 am

basically, the engine sound is not so loud inside the car at a high speed compare to accord. The smoothness of the car is also good after 1.5 years.

(Camry 2.0G)

I`ve seated in an Accord before but seriously that car is not wortheit to be paid such price. The seats are too hard and the engine sound is kinda loud.

(Accord 2.4VTi)

• keelh on Jun 15, 2011 at 4:09 pm

sure or not ,dashboard produce abnormal noise like mouse bitting dashboard…..not even 1 year already have sound ……still not yet rectified

• Naz@Ford on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:28 am

i don't see the difference between the old one and the new one.. but not bad for a luxury sedan..

• Prokia on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:31 am

Fugly done rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Prokia you on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:37 am

this is what people that cannot afford Camry always said. Do you drive any luxury car or just a wira?kelisa?kancil?hehehe

• i got the pre facelift one cos new one not worth the extra 5k. to me i still like the pre facelift design.

• xenith (Member) on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:40 am

Seen the car in flesh. I like the new brake lights design.

• steepx6 on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:40 am

basically Camry got price hike up for 3 times.

For example Camry 2.0G.

When i bought it in Nov 2007 it is 149k. After 3 months of booking (waited 6mth) the price went up to 151k. And now, the facelift model is 154k. It is wortheit compare to accord seriously.

For example Accord 2.0 VTi-L (competitor of Camry 2.0G).

The price when they launch was 149k. BUT ther`s no leather steering wheel, power seats only for driver, vanity mirror without light, no HID light and worst is no LED BACK LIGHT.

for camry u get all the features above and the turning light for front n back is LED (like the new facelifted 3 Series).

THE WORTHEIT MODEL IS CAMRY 2.4V because the price is just 3k more than ACCORD 2.4 but u will get even more features than ACCORD.

• kimi_ on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:46 am

HAHAHA….The new Perak EXCO may buy this

• got rear aircond….ask my father to buy this..hehe….when he wins the lottery..trade in altis n buy this…but the remote looks cheapskate…where did they buy it?….brothers?

• White Jack on Sep 03, 2009 at 7:13 am

Let the monthly car sales figures tell it is "worth it" or not la :)

Camry vs Accord monthly sales currently which is higher ??

• mitlanevo on Sep 03, 2009 at 7:37 am

hmmmm….. later must go check oxford dictionary for the word BORING….

• NotYoung&NotOld on Sep 03, 2009 at 7:37 am

Yahoo!will get it this end of this month!Compare to Honda Accord, i prefer this non-sporty look Camry.Spacious,comfortable..love it.

• i got the older camry 2.0..buy toyota car if u want a reliable car…all this while i just did my regular car services like change oil, brakepad, skim disc brake and that's all…the car is good to go anywhere and not to mention i hit the 250km milleage…

• tis is defintely gonna b another heat n hit in malaysia..Toyota owez win..

• taboogen on Sep 03, 2009 at 8:50 am

the door trim remind me of my gen2 door trim… so i have been driving camry all this while.. hahaha

• Underpowered for its size

• the pre-facelift is better than the new facelift. really got upset about its new facelift. now I am consider to buy honda accord which it have better features than camry and more cheaper somemore.

• Sophian Mohamed on Sep 03, 2009 at 9:49 am

My opinion.

If you like Mercedes, go for Toyota – comfort.

If you like BMW, go for Honda – performance ( accord – paddle shift )

Regards.

• Buy Mazda 6 la better value for money …..get the 2.5 with AFS headlights wow!

• Prokia you on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:43 am

mazda 6? can buy or not? heheheh…..jangan cakap besar lah brother

• c14man on Sep 03, 2009 at 10:21 am

saw the facelifted one in China in April…

saw it in Kota Bharu 3 days ago..new car, not test drive car.

cool…

looks very nice especially the new grille and front bumper, not to mention the LED tail lights is a superb view at night, and at day…

overall a no fuss car, reliable and comfortable…

Toyota's design may be less sporty compared to others, but quality is still top notch, even after years. (don't compare continentals la)

• nabill on Sep 03, 2009 at 10:59 am

agree…such a std reliable car ..no hooha no fuss……bt the previous 2.0 is abit underpowered…bt prefer this to a similar priced accord…

• bangiperdana on Sep 03, 2009 at 12:16 pm

what I can say, this is the best facelift. Hope one day, price can be reduced as low as RM80K or RM90K.With this price most of Malaysian can afford to buy one.The price of this car in S'pore is just around SGD80K…why in Msia, it became RM150K…to me is too much,… overprice..

• Beautiful ! Looks now as a Brilliance or Cherry…

• MatPtrn on Sep 03, 2009 at 1:29 pm

Hmmm tear down and benchmark keta ni bagus juga untuk perdana replacement.

• mingyuyu on Sep 03, 2009 at 1:36 pm

boring

• adlanb20 on Sep 03, 2009 at 3:53 pm

Good car? Probaly yes…but BORING… Looking at it makes me yawn…

• azrai on Sep 03, 2009 at 3:57 pm

Facelift? Haiyaaa…Only use Innova Grille and Honda previous Accord bumper said new ma?

• mohd hafizzul on Sep 03, 2009 at 4:00 pm

Tak mampu………

• White Jack on Sep 03, 2009 at 4:32 pm

Many people say this car is boring, because it is too reliable and gives you no problem. There are more exciting cars out there which give you problems all the time, that ones will be not so boring and full of surprises, as you will not know when the car will stop at roadside asking for rescue, and your weekends will not be boring also because you need to visit to workshop every weekends fixing the car :) :)

• Still 2 Airbags? seriously!!!

Malaysia already have very high accident death rate, and start blaming on the Malaysian driver. But what the heck, what caused death in a car accident? it is the inferior protection offered. Yet our G still keep quiet and alllowed the CKD manufacturer to bring in car with their Airbags and safety component strip off so the high ranking officer can drive a safe car while looking at us one by one die by accident.

• pulge on Sep 03, 2009 at 4:48 pm

I've seen one on the road before the launch. A white one. Maybe it was on the way to showrooms, but with normal number plates. Looks good to me.

• bmpower on Sep 03, 2009 at 5:08 pm

1 thing for sure = Overpriced!

• WALASiZO on Sep 03, 2009 at 5:09 pm

hmmm…like the white one..its totally mine..sigh :D

• all old uncles: time to change your car…

• Alithome on Sep 03, 2009 at 5:26 pm

I own the out-going model. When I saw this, had the feeling 'damn'… But I justified it by accepting the fact that apart from the 'key-less' entry and START/STOP button, there nothing great (compared to the former).

But overall, its a good car. Except for the bumpy ride compared to my former Altis. Considering the additional 2k for this model and the many offers on the 'obsolete' model, I guess I did not miss anything for not waiting.

I would have definetly kicked myself over and over again if this Camry had DUAL VVTi and Navigation System.

• better buy volvo s40.

• James on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Have you guys try this car before? I've driven the Camry in the highway at 140km/h and it is silky smooth. I can't feel the gear change, no noise from engine or wind. It is just so luxurious! it is a Lexus with a Toyota logo. No other Japanese car even comes close to such comfort levels.

The only thing I didn't like about the Camry is the low quality brake disc.

The model I drove was a 2003 model. So I expect nothing less from this 2009 model.

• toyota n honda are all overpriced, because they know proton cant make a competitive car…come on proton…stop sleeping

• Alitstar on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:15 pm

I own the out-going model, 3 month old. My first impression was …damn! But after looking at the details, I had to justify my "damn" feeling saying there is nothing great other then the "Keyless enty" and START/STOP button. With an additional 2k and no promo's, a relief that I did not make a gross miscalculation for not waiting.

I would have kicked myself over and over again if this model came with DUAL VVTi and Navigation System. Marginally the facelift does has something to shout about (for the price and reputation of a Camry). Although other makes are already several technologies ahead. I noted someone mentioned 'quality'. I guess he/she have not seen others cars for a long long time.

In general it is a good family car, although I find the ride to be bumpy compared to my former Altis.

• ericfoong81exe on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:27 pm

Saw this version of Camry in China market 4 to 5 months back.

• wallstreet on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:30 pm

When will they shed their 'uncle' image from this car? Gosh, still so Ah Pek….but I guess maybe thats what give them that selling point…..target the majority Ah Peks in Malaysia!!!

• Gajen on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:32 pm

9166 said,

September 3, 2009 @ 1:00 am

Underpowered for its size

u cant look at figures and simply say…it may have 147 hp compared to accord's 160…but when driven it is way more powerful and more quiet than the accord…accord 2.0 and 2.4 is only powerful if u hit at a high rpm…many people have said the same thing even drive reports..

• White Jack said,

September 3, 2009 @ 8:32 am

Many people say this car is boring, because it is too reliable and gives you no problem. There are more exciting cars out there which give you problems all the time, that ones will be not so boring and full of surprises, as you will not know when the car will stop at roadside asking for rescue, and your weekends will not be boring also because you need to visit to workshop every weekends fixing the car

Funny how some ppl still think only Toyota make reliable car..as if all other cars are not reliable..These ppl need to wake up and look at the calendar….

• WT Seow on Sep 03, 2009 at 7:07 pm

There is a earlier variant with slimmer backlamps and less bulgy front which I thought would be the facelift, but no, this is a new look. I think the previous model looks neater. My only gripe to owning a camry is as a lifestyle statement it is too common, sometimes around my makan shop during lunch I see 3 -4 dark metallic grey ones and a few of the other colours, its like a toyota showroom…..

• ambientscape on Sep 03, 2009 at 7:09 pm

Hmmm!!Look more executive…….prefer the white colour!

• WinterAngeLs on Sep 03, 2009 at 7:12 pm

Why 2.0E and G still doesn't have VSC despite a few thousands premium? Even the Altis 1.8G have this.

Love the Smart Entry & Start System on 2.4V but the remote control looks bit cheap doesn't it?

Newly design front end is much nicer than the old 1 with a bigger grill, it seems to be a trend now cuz a lots of manufacturers tend to increase the size of the grill on facelifted models. But the new rims looks okok only compare to the old 1 which is more shiny.

• amelia on Sep 03, 2009 at 7:56 pm

I just noticed that the Camry's door trim / door handle is right located right the middle of the door (just slightly behind the power window switches). Wouldn't that prevent the driver from resting their arm on the door panel? Plus wouldn't that make it difficult for the driver to press the window switches? I'm suprised Toyota has bad design like this. I've never ridden in a Camry, so I dont know if this is really an issue or not. But from the look of the pictures, it sure looks like it.

• Chris on Sep 03, 2009 at 8:21 pm

Saw this model more than a year ago in KL, but with a S'porean number plate, ever since then I'd been longing for this model, finally it's out…. I'm coming, new Camry

• henryee on Sep 03, 2009 at 8:49 pm

Why only got 2 airbags??? Where the hell does the Side Curtain Airbags and the Side Airbags gone??? WTF?

1 airbags only cost about RM 2K, with this RM 2K spend would probably saves you a life? Why CKD cars are so Stripped Off about Passive Safety Features? God Damn It, give us MORE AIRBAGS, at least we can request it on ourself ma~~~

• prado700 on Sep 03, 2009 at 8:56 pm

steepx6 and Gajen

September 2, 2009 @ 10:28 pm

I`ve seated in an Accord before but seriously that car is not wortheit to be paid such price. The seats are too hard and the engine sound is kinda loud.

(Accord 2.4VTi)

I support steepx6. Accord 2.4 is quite noisy when use paddle shift. check out the side mirror when raining day for condensation. it it not 100% hydrophilic mirror. very tired and bumpy if drive long distance compare with Camry. Honda seat not so comfortable if compare with Camry. I sold my 14 months old Accord for 142K and the used car dealer still cannot sell the car after 2 months.

• shark on Sep 03, 2009 at 9:04 pm

very bored

• turboKEV on Sep 03, 2009 at 9:19 pm

overpriced overpriced!!!!!

where is the Ford mondeo???

• Automotive Jury on Sep 03, 2009 at 9:23 pm

I wonder how its look when turn this car into super-GT looks-like..hehe

• Angie on Sep 03, 2009 at 10:12 pm

Toyota Sedan – Almost same design for all the sedan range (good in handling and comfort like Mercedes Benz

Honda Sedan – Different design for all the sedan range (good in peformance and safety like BMW

• Angie on Sep 03, 2009 at 10:18 pm

pls understand that when use paddle shift for honda, definely will create a noisy engine. WHY? because is the performance, and sound is loud when VTEC is on!

Do you guys know the best compact sedan car is previous city (vtec/idsi)?

you dont feel the auto gear change at all because is a CVT Transmission.

For the price you pay, you get the most quite gearbox ever with 3 different transmission (paddle shift, CVT and typical Auto)

• Good family car, as usual the facelift is typical toyota style, mild and does not offend the pre-facelift model owner. My friend in australia recently bought one 2008 camry 2.4l, they are selling the japanese spec and at Aud $17000+ around RM 50000 la, alamak.. Think Naza sell the same model for 170k..dunno new or recond one..

• Angie on Sep 03, 2009 at 10:20 pm

Did you hear a quite sports car like ferrari, mitsubishi, subaru engine etc when you really step on the acceleration?

If you really like comfort then go for toyota and performance go for Honda.

• Afeeq on Sep 03, 2009 at 11:21 pm

I wonder why some people are obsessed with LED tail lights. Please complain why even newly facelifted BMW 5 Series do not have LED tail lights!

• meteoraniac on Sep 03, 2009 at 11:24 pm

im gonna add GT wings on it

• Thomas on Sep 03, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Too expensive….better stick to the existing one and wait for NAP lahhh

• painsama on Sep 03, 2009 at 11:35 pm

I've seen one on the road, Singapore num plate. The front grill looked cheap and simply ugly.

• mingyuyu on Sep 04, 2009 at 12:15 am

Go For the best Mazda 6!!!!!!!!

• 147 PS at 6,000rpm and 190Nm of torque at 4,00rpm

156PS at 6,300rpm and 189Nm at 4,300rpm

y ppl so naive le. 2 are almost. camry got more torque compare to accord=more power.if u wan 156ps then rev to 6300 la. but thats just plain stupid to rev a auto box.

• 'K’ said,

September 3, 2009 @ 4:20 pm

147 PS at 6,000rpm and 190Nm of torque at 4,00rpm

y ppl so naive le. 2 are almost. camry got more torque compare to accord=more power.if u wan 156ps then rev to 6300 la. but thats just plain stupid to rev a auto box.'

Camry has 1(!)Nm more Torque and therefore got more power ? Is this a joke ?

• chain on Sep 04, 2009 at 12:37 am

i sincerely felt that accord looks better…although alot of ppl saying accord's bad word..however toyota's fuel consumption is the thing that i am not fancy with..

• o.k…my Conclusion:

-Ugly & fat soap like design

-Uncle like old man design car, a bit outdated looks

-seriously overpricing!

-2.0l one surely underpower

-idiots will buy this overprice car in malaysia (only rm80k without tax)

so…? Don buy a overpricing car la in here, all pay for G nia…it will shown how stupid u r, & not proud at all…!!

• Prokia you on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:41 am

aduiii….. for sure lah uncle like design. because the one that have money to buy is the uncle one… not like you. you drive what? wira? hehehe…. if you drive a below 100k price car, just diam2 loh….

• asar8285 on Jan 11, 2012 at 7:46 am

By far the best comment, yet i’m 27 & considering to buy one. Am i also considered “Uncle” as well? ;p

• Alitstar on Sep 04, 2009 at 12:51 am

All those in favour for Mazda 6, well done! You have taste and good sense. Technically M6 is far superior than the two common models, Toyota & Honda. You can find people arguing over like kids about these two. Face it, its going to take radical change for Honda & Toyota to discard the Ah Pek / Tow Ke / Uncle branding for this two. But both giants dont give a flying fig for our opinion, coz they are doing well elswhere. Its a take it or leave it situation.

But compliments to both our local dealers for trying. Dont blame them for the price. You are paying half of it to the G, compalain to them.

I was just a milimeter away from getting the M6. They have a good car, huge market and they (local dealer) did absolutely nothing to promote or market it. They offered a miserable price for trade-in. No disconts, offers, easy-payment, free umbrella or a damn key chain…nothing!

Give this dealership Sime Darby, and they will turn the market upside down.

• myk_naik on Sep 04, 2009 at 1:04 am

isk..waja cps?same

• scirocco on Sep 04, 2009 at 1:52 am

"Camry has 1(!)Nm more Torque and therefore got more power ? Is this a joke ?"

for goodness' sake if you don't know what you are talking about don't knock on other people's comments.

the camry also makes it at a good 300rpm lower. it means a lot bcos u can have lots of power and torque, but if it comes in at 7k rpm for instance it is going to be a pain to drive.

• asahiyakuza on Sep 04, 2009 at 2:21 am

Wow.. what a car.. If i got 150k or 170k I'll definitely….. buy a used BMW 3 series e90…. aihh why toyota always ugly… soap design, dugong design.. after this maybe they come out a design base on rocks..

• lester on Sep 04, 2009 at 2:32 am

Boring, four speed again?? not worth it!! As Accord running 5 speeds which other competitors will aim for 5 speeds, even Benz & BMW had 6 to 7 speed. Lousy !!

• The Unknown on Jun 12, 2010 at 10:15 pm

hi there… I thought the 2.4l comes with 5 speed. Isn’t it?

• Caddilac Wong on Sep 04, 2009 at 3:13 am

This will be a good car for boring people… Lot of people who doesn't enjoy driving buy this… So this should be the leader in Malaysia for the next 10 or 20 years…

• Hafezi on Sep 04, 2009 at 3:17 am

moving forward to get reliable car like camry..

but why so overpriced ac compared to other country?

but why we still use 2 airbags..in US camry get 7 airbags!!

but why dual vti still not being used?

but why not introduce sporty look like arion in Australia?

• oec88 on Sep 04, 2009 at 3:25 am

asahiyakuza said,

September 3, 2009 @ 6:21 pm

Wow.. what a car.. If i got 150k or 170k I’ll definitely….. buy a used BMW 3 series e90…. aihh why toyota always ugly… soap design, dugong design.. after this maybe they come out a design base on rocks..

—————————————————————-

Maybe you are able to get a used BMW 3 Series E90 but you are not able to afford the maintenance. Filter your brain before you talk big. Maintenance between Japanese car and Continental car are big different, especially few years later.

• nabill on Sep 04, 2009 at 3:37 am

maintaning a beemer is a nightmare…

• Altiseur on Sep 04, 2009 at 3:59 am

Alitstar said,

I was just a milimeter away from getting the M6. They have a good car, huge market and they (local dealer) did absolutely nothing to promote or market it. They offered a miserable price for trade-in. No disconts, offers, easy-payment, free umbrella or a damn key chain…nothing!

Give this dealership Sime Darby, and they will turn the market upside down.

Hi Alitstar,

I damn agree with you. Bermaz really sucks. What a pity that Mazda was not appropriately introduced to Malaysians. The salesman sucks too, the promotion that they did sucks too, in short everything Bermaz did really sucks.

It is so sad we were not offered the Mazda 6 2.0 R version that came with better kits, equipments and rims. In fact we were offered with a crap 2.0 not-worth-buying version. The only version that appealed was the 2.5L but then the price is way too much and I do not need that extra 500 engine displacements. Bermaz, please offer Malaysia the R version of Mazda 6 and it will surely kick Accord and the Camry's ass.

Please click here for what our neighbour is getting : http://www.oneshift.com/articles/article.php?arti…

If Malaysia has this, I will be owning it by now….but for now,dream on….

• change a little bit and jack up the price again….nissan and honda, can u do something better than that?

• keluangman on Sep 04, 2009 at 5:38 am

still no side/curtain/knee air-bag? At least for the top spec 2.4? Dissapointing… NEXT!

• Calvin Foo on Sep 04, 2009 at 5:49 am

Hafezi,

we had only 2 airbags because Malaysia is over populated, it is ok to kill a handful and the garmen don't give a damn.

seriously speaking, local mentality never put safety on the lowest piority. Even airbag is mostly the front passengers only. Because most of the time we hardly car pool, and public transport sucks. Thanks to our garment again for lousy public transport system

• shoryuken on Sep 04, 2009 at 6:41 am

how come they never change the 2.0 to 5-gear..

• Uncle Pek on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:56 am

Waa…, you pepel are sow gut. You sei the Camly is gut for us only ah. Buk I wan to tew you vhy I buy the Camly. You sea we are 45++. We don like to lace alound town. We have to oso take care our our mom (and that's your grandma). Sow when I fetch yr grandma flom outstation, or take her to klinik, I muss make sure her fragile brain does not collapse. Sow I buy the Camly loh. Ang samo, Camly and Hongla easi to sell mah. There so many young chikku want to buy the second-hang kar (sine they cang only afford that) and molify the enging to Typr L or fix the goal post so they can drive like nuts.

I cang oso buy the glay BMW for same money, but BMW canot sell. Samo glay car alwyas the koputer in Japanese language and cang not change to England.

Van day if I have money I buy the Cuope kars. Like the MINI Cooper S and then we can see who terror on the load, ah? Why you oll small fry want airbag. Sket to die ah? Then stei home, ask mummy to drive. Vhy you sow kamchiong with 5 gear lah, 6 gear lah, learng how to drive first. Haw to park kar inside yellow box or read the signs. When you gow to Shell station, park dhe car poply and walk to the shop like us. Your grandpa no give you permission to park in front of the door and block others.

Anyway, tank-you for lelicating dhe Camly & Hongla for us uncles, we lie-kit.

• Cuppy on Sep 04, 2009 at 9:34 am

this shows how good japanese can copy the euro technology. The features here as almost same as the BMW E60 523i SE facelift…damn..why cant they come out with something with their own invention…haiz…..

• chew ban on Sep 04, 2009 at 4:59 pm

boring

• o yeah…bad tasted la those ppl buying this boring big fat pig car…'@'…hahha..!!!!!

• Wak Rempit on Sep 04, 2009 at 6:05 pm

my M6 still rocks!!!

Yaawwwnnn… mengantuk ah tengok kereta ni…. just by lookin at the interior you can have a good 8hr sleep… yaawwwnnn!!!

• Afeeq said,

September 3, 2009 @ 3:21 pm

I wonder why some people are obsessed with LED tail lights…

_____

because they work in brothers and care about stupid accessories that doesn't add REAL value to a car.

steepx: ooohhhhh…my car got LED brakelights, so can sell for extra 5k!!!!!

• some ppl are just plain stupid for comparing stupid things ( LED lights) when the accord is using 5 speed auto across all models. that easily cost about 100 times of the LED lights. even cheap city at half the price oso got 5-speeder. what a shame on stone age flintstone toyota.

when you want to upgrade to 5-speed ? 2020 ?

and don't give me the crap that 5-speed is no good since toyota only reserves it for the 2.4 model.

• Eric said,

September 4, 2009 @ 9:49 am

o yeah…bad tasted la those ppl buying this boring big fat pig car…’@'…hahha..!!!!!

—–

if everyone got good taste then who got bad taste? sure got many ppl with bad taste what…

• raja hakim on Sep 04, 2009 at 6:56 pm

but you will get the paddle shift in the Accord

• raja hakim on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:03 pm

i think this camry is just a piece of paper compared to the Accord…

• raja hakim on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:06 pm

i cant wait for the Accord facelift to reveiled…. i think it will be a great car

• jamsbong on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:11 pm

if you want sporty cars, why get an Accord? To me, to buy an Accord for its "sportiness" is just stupid because it is an overweight FWD. Being so big, it is never gonna be nimble and the FWD=understeer.

I much prefer a WRX for a sports car.

• Johan Bey on Sep 04, 2009 at 8:27 pm

I recently just took a ride on my COO camry, its not new, the company got him a 2008 2.0G. I do agree UMW overpriced their cars, but I now know why despite of what all you petrol head complains (I wonder how many actually can afford to own one) Camry is still best selling 2.0 around is because of simplicity. They did their studies, statistic comparison, 97 petrol head vs all the mid-30s executives out there who spend more time earning the next thousands than talking about the car he drives. he just want uncluttered luxury to get from point A to B. company want low-maintenance, family man don't need 5 speed gear if 4 can get the children to tuition centers and back home safely. i know 7 air-bags are better than 2, then again, how often you see a camry report for total loss?

yes, toyota are boring car makers, but then again, it just business. if you want all the fancy stuff, they will point you to the nearest lexus dealer which most of us here only dream about.

you complain and whine about a camry here, then secretly, by the time you come to a point you can 'finally' afford a camry, you put down the deposit as what your wife have instructed you to do. i had a family friend who are in their 50's, all children working overseas and just left 2 of them in ipoh. they are earning well being stock brokers. they needed to sell their 20 year old accord and get a new car, so what are their choices? camry or accord. not golf, not a3, not mini but between camry and accord. they brought it in cash too. so, toyota want to do business with people like these, not the 97 petrol heads here. at least thats what I think.

In my 20's I wanted a Satria GTi, but my measly 1.7k pay wont cut it. Then I wanted a Gen-2 but got an Avanza, I wanted the Satria Neo really bad but company gave me Vios instead. After sitting in the Camry, my dream of owning a MINI is quicky diminishing.

• UseurBrainPlz on Sep 04, 2009 at 8:37 pm

Johan Bey said,

September 4, 2009 @ 12:27 pm

I recently just took a ride on my COO camry, its not new, the company got him a 2008 2.0G. I do agree UMW overpriced their cars, but I now know why despite of what all you petrol head complains (I wonder how many actually can afford to own one) Camry is still best selling 2.0 around is because of simplicity. They did their studies, statistic comparison, 97 petrol head vs all the mid-30s executives out there who spend more time earning the next thousands than talking about

_____________________________________________________________________________

Agree with u Johan.At least u use brain.hehehe

• tommyboy on Sep 04, 2009 at 10:25 pm

Auto sales as for July 09 and year todate is as follows (in units):-

July09 YTD

Camry – 692 4310

Accord – 639 3701 (-609)

It seems all the Ah Peks and boring guy still loves Camry.

But there are good&bad comments for both Camry & Accord.

In S'pore, I read their local auto magazine, new Accord beat Camry hands down!!

Accord has actually decline in terms of quality and also after services provided by their centres. In terms of power, on paper accord may seem more powerful but based on the torque, Camry is definitely better.

You judge for yourself.

And bloody shit, both cars could have cost much lesser if not for the gormen taxes!!!

• looks neat compared to pre-facelift.

• myviRS on Sep 04, 2009 at 11:05 pm

davv said,

September 3, 2009 @ 10:40 am

Funny how some ppl still think only Toyota make reliable car..as if all other cars are not reliable..These ppl need to wake up and look at the calendar….

—————————————————————

Probably you can checkout comments from Sabah & Sarawak Toyota owners about their rides. I believe it will make sense to how Toyota really could survive earth surface overthere.. You can hardly see any Honda CR-V, Mitsubishi Pajero, Ssangyong Musso or Ford Everest / Ranger on rough so-called roads. Even in their city like Kota Kinabalu, majority of cars are Toyota.

• The Unknown on Jun 12, 2010 at 10:32 pm

I agree. In Kota Kinabalu, majority uses Toyota. Starting from the 4WD to the sedan cars. Stop at any traffic light in Kota Kinabalu, try to count the car models. Out of 20, can say 12 to 15 are Toyota (generally)

• ervin on Sep 04, 2009 at 11:10 pm

Very much better than the clumsy accord.I like the rear brake lights, look a bit like audi A8…value for money compare to accord

• waters on Sep 04, 2009 at 11:21 pm

Yawn.

• asahiyakuza on Sep 04, 2009 at 11:26 pm

oec88 said,

September 3, 2009 @ 7:25 pm

asahiyakuza said,

September 3, 2009 @ 6:21 pm

Wow.. what a car.. If i got 150k or 170k I’ll definitely….. buy a used BMW 3 series e90…. aihh why toyota always ugly… soap design, dugong design.. after this maybe they come out a design base on rocks..

—————————————————————-

Maybe you are able to get a used BMW 3 Series E90 but you are not able to afford the maintenance. Filter your brain before you talk big. Maintenance between Japanese car and Continental car are big different, especially few years later.

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/09/02/toyota-camry-faceli…
    ===========================================

aaa.. actually i do drive and maintain one… it doesn't have that much different.. and please, if you can afford a car that are priced at 150K /170K… you should afford and ready to pay higher price maintainance… if you know where to find, you can get considerable price for the parts… (how? use your over-filtered brain on this) .. and as it is a Germany-made parts, it'll lasts longer… maybe you filter your brain too much until nothing left inside… aihh…

p/s rudely criticize people on sight… I just really can't believed the choice of words of some people.. aihh

• tonton on Sep 05, 2009 at 3:51 am

em this is just mere my opinion that worth no more than 2 cents. pls dont call me retarded

yerp its true, to maintain a continental car in perfect shape is pain in the ass. But only, if u never care about the maintainance before.

a lot of people encountering this problem because of the said reason. it is not the maintainance price fault, it is that particular person problems. his ignorance is killing him and blaming others because of the selfstupidity

there's a lot of people like this in malaysia, especially malays like me. don't take cars for example, take fasting month

before fasting, all our pants fit nicely, but after raya, we cannot wear those pants again? why? the pants seems become tighter. look at this scenario, the pants got blamed. why not ourself who became fat?

and one more thing, yerp its true continental parts is like one year average joe salary, but as i concern, the parts will last forever. or maybe at least 5 or 7 years later without any worries it will fukked up again.

• how nice if we do not need to pay ….taxes :-)

• shahurin on Sep 05, 2009 at 9:41 am

enjin still sama VVTI. patut toyota buat refinement pada enjin untuk lebih tork & lebih senyap.kalau refinement lampu@tambah bodykit, hiasan kayu utk interior,leather seat, sport rim ramai pengguna boleh cari dr kedai aksesori,order dari pusat servis toyota&pasang sendiri. Klu dr showroom harganya melambung lah, pengguna camry sedia ada tentu akan upgrade sendiri,malahan lebih cantik dpd yg dijual direct dr. showroom. para pemilik camry masih tunggu enjin versi VVTI-L masuk market malaysia. harapnya tidaklah tinggal harapan semata-mata.

• freeze on Sep 05, 2009 at 8:29 pm

The facelifted camry still cannot match the accord,i've test drive both car and the camry roll like barge in corner compare to accord which take corner flat.camry also has no answer to the accomplished accord drivetrain.ride comfort maybe camry is better than accord but not to much…but camry 2.0 feel underpwered compared to accord 2.0 smoot revving vtec engine

• Caddilac Wong on Sep 05, 2009 at 9:05 pm

Ride quality, sound proof and comfort is far better than Accord… I really wonder why a 145k Accord can be so noisy… Although the Accord handles well but the ride is far bumpy compared to the 407… Every single hole can be felt in an Accord…

• Hunter on Sep 05, 2009 at 10:04 pm

boring boring…

maybe good engine…quite feel…but when you drive..when you really rev the engine…1st gear..2nd…3rd…and 4th gear…then no more…boring and what a waste…accord maybe not so quite and luxury feel, but is really a good ride that you really drive and enjoy with the car…different car for different need …

• Alitstar on Sep 05, 2009 at 10:47 pm

I think it was Mika Hekienen who once said "opinion is like an @$$ hole…evryone has one" Funny way to put it but true. No matter what we have to say, the volume sales speaks for the manufacturer on whats best ;-).

I think Paul Tan did a great job in creating these blogs, gives an opportunity to express and if the manufacturers/dealers are reading, may get some perspective. Both cars are good, one can not have it all or we cant afford it.

Notice how professional car experts, and real owners comment. They always focus on the good points. You will never read foul words. The use of foul words only tells readers he/she failed to substantiate edible facts. So ease down on the harsh words, add no value.

Lastly, there is life elswhere in the 150k ~ 180k bracket to satisfy your needs. The sun does not rise from these two brand only.

Have you seen he Mazda 6 and the Mitsubishi? Did you know our local Police have got the Mitsubishi Evo as their patrol & pursuit car?

• Andrew on Sep 06, 2009 at 9:15 am

Just another Toyota: boring and numb.

• Dear All,

I am considering between:-

1. Facelifted Camry

2. Accord

3. Peugeot 407 (which seems to have everything!)

I place emphasis on fuel consumption, road handling and looks.

Any advice fellow readers?

Kev

• kkk said,

September 6, 2009 @ 1:19 pm

Dear All,

I am considering between:-

1. Facelifted Camry

2. Accord

3. Peugeot 407 (which seems to have everything!)

I place emphasis on fuel consumption, road handling and looks.

Any advice fellow readers?

Kev

—————————–

Get a Mazda 6…same fuel consumption, beats everyone in looks and road handling…

• Alitstar on Sep 07, 2009 at 4:20 am

Dear Kev (davv):

See this is the part that none of the unofficial experts will come to your aid. So you have to decide for yourself. But in my opinion, my ranking are as follows.

Looks

1. Peugeot (except the front overhang)

2. Camry

3. Accord

Performance

1. Peugeot

2. Accord

3. Camry

Fuel Economy

1. Camry

2. Accord

3. Peugeot

Low Maintanance

1. Camry

2. Honda

3. Peugeot

Aftersales Support

1. Toyota

2. Honda

6. Nasim Peugeout

Returns

1. Honda

2. Camry

8. Peugeot

9. Hyundai

10. Syan Yong (whatever the &4!+ you spell it)

Hope this helps. All the best.

• Camcord on Sep 07, 2009 at 4:28 am

In another blog, not sor far away there are two guys fighting over the Accord and Camry, as if they both manufactured the models themself. The Blog administrator is having a nightmare with this two. I hope they are not here coz I may have pissed one of them.

Someove asked how was the Camry's body roll? I answered that its about 100 times better then the Transnasional Express Bus. Then another asked how's the ride with the Accord and I replied its like driving around a Coffin on your lap.

There were no more posts after that. What it something I've said?

• Thanks Alistar..Much appreciated.

Where is your source of info from?

• Camcord,

Haha..think your examples may be too extreme :-)

Is Accord's ride that rough? to balance coffin on one's lap is no joke!

kev

• Alitstar on Sep 07, 2009 at 7:27 pm

Kev; My source are from CBT, Motor Trader and other car reviwers. But my opinion are hands on. I've driven all of them. The only minus point is that I did not get to take the Accord up too 180kph and above. The ride comfort > 100kph of the Mazda 6 and Accord is almost the same while the 405 is same with Camry. I did noticed something, it all very much depends on the tire. The brand and its purpose (economy/sports/noise/ect).

I can immitate the Camry to be an Accord (ride wise) by swicthing to Michellin XM1 / ContiSport tires, know what I mean?

• Camcord on Sep 07, 2009 at 7:45 pm

Sorry, I was exagurating. The ride is…OK lah! on both, its just I could no concentrate with the humungous dashboard over me on the Accord. I took both for a spin just for the heck of it. The Camry's dash is…very basic and slim. Maybe it was the colour. But for some, size does matter :-). Like my brother, he likes Boeing 747 cockpit!

• Alistar,

For ride comfort, peugeot and camry are superior to accord and camry?

As for returns, is it resale value? I notice that resale value for toyota cars is better than honda..True?

• sorry typo….Is peugeot 407 and camry superior to accord and mazda for ride comfort?

• Alitstar on Sep 07, 2009 at 10:48 pm

Yes to me, when I define ride comfort as "If I need to take my parents around". I will take the Camry (or Peugeot).

But if I'm driving alone to Kelantan, I'll take to Mazda 6 (if I have it). Coz when I'm alone, the speed is no less than 140kph. On straights, 200kph. I've tested the M6 and the Accord is not that far off.

Both the Accord and Camry has a good trade in value, especiality in bad times. I drive a Camry and despite being labelled as the boring uncle, I have no regrets with my investment. The comfort and fuel economy never fails to suprise me everytime. PS, I also drive a MINI.

The thing is, if you want comfort, choose the right tires. To compare with, the suspension and chassis technology of these cars are almost the same if not the same thing model over model. Take the BMW E60 and E90 for example, it sticks to the road like a magnet. Apart from slight enginiuty in the suspension arms, they have lower point of gravity and hard tires. But, you can not sip a coke in it while doing more 120kph on our PLUS highway.

• Thanks for your valuable advice.

Just drove tested both Camry and Accord..I think the analogy is correct….Camry is more like Merc (uncle's car?…don't think so) and Accord like BMW (for yuppies?).

Camry's cabin is much quieter when traveling at high speeds whilst Accord has more raw power (albeit more noise from the engine ..maybe from the tyres?).But not as bad as "balancing coffin on lap" as stated by Camcord :-)

Correct me if I am wrong. Any comments Paul Tan?

Thanks Alistar…

• Mohd said,

September 3, 2009 @ 4:37 pm

‘K’ said,

September 3, 2009 @ 4:20 pm

147 PS at 6,000rpm and 190Nm of torque at 4,00rpm

y ppl so naive le. 2 are almost. camry got more torque compare to accord=more power.if u wan 156ps then rev to 6300 la. but thats just plain stupid to rev a auto box.’

Camry has 1(!)Nm more Torque and therefore got more power ? Is this a joke ?

there u go, another 1. initial d's ae86 got 240hp…u should get 1. n its 1.6 NA, more hp than camry/accord n cheaper.

• bella italia on Sep 08, 2009 at 6:51 pm

yuksss….the japanese cheap plastic…………

• vittoriojano on Sep 10, 2009 at 1:40 pm

Rubbish car…European car wannabe..

• NotYoung&NotOld on Sep 10, 2009 at 7:15 pm

bella italia said,

September 8, 2009 @ 10:51 am

yuksss….the japanese cheap plastic…………

—————————————————————-

If this car is a cheap plastic, i tihnk many car in malaysia can be considered as paper liao,gong siao hehehe

• by the way, how many commentors here actually drive camry or accord?

• The Unknown on Jun 12, 2010 at 10:44 pm

I dont think they have. Can’t these big2 talker afford this Camry 2.4l? Or just pretend to be able to own it? You know who you are… :)

• I think they have not..haha.

Alistar, what do you mean by returns? (refer to 6/9/09 comment).

Thanks.

Kev

• Alitstar on Sep 12, 2009 at 8:37 am

Dear TCB / KKK, by 'returns' I mean resale value and cost of ownership. The less you spend on maintenance, e-voucher/service schedule & cost per visit, duration of warranty and resale value.

TCB, I drive a Camry, registered Aug '09. My former car was an Altis. My kid brother have the Accord (first batch).

• peroempat on Sep 13, 2009 at 6:59 am

I can't afford to buy one.

• Thanks Alistar. Your advice is much appreciated. Kev

• Alitstar on Sep 13, 2009 at 8:55 pm

Did you know that BMW (including MINI) actually tune their exhaust manifold and muflers in such a away that they give out sporty like sounds? The insulations on the car is also designed and tested in a 'dead-sound-room'. This is to enable the driver to sense 'power' while he/she is driving. Cabin materials are also specially selected that can absorb specific anoying noises. Yes, they deliberately let some sound come into the cabin. They can make a sound proof car, they can also have a tank and they can also have an executive launch in the car. But they listen to the marketing people of the larger market of what the customers like (U.S., Europe, Japan & Middle East).

But you dont see them bragging. You know why?

• s.subramaniam on Sep 16, 2009 at 7:42 am

Toyota boasts a lot abt quality and etc. They can't even solve my cars radios poor reception problem. Living with it after 4 visits to Toyota.At times noise are as though it's rains in the car.Tension.Suggested to take it to accessories shop and was told that warranty will be void. sheet and frustrated.

• Alitstar on Sep 16, 2009 at 8:10 am

Dear Mr. Subrmaniam, you can expect this type of things in any car dealership. Even Merc and BMW. Would you believe that the most professional profession in the world, NASA had actualy overlooked an O ring issue that resulted the Sapce Craft to explode in mid flight taking seven lives together? Now thas quality issue YES NO?

Sorry Mr. Subra, I'm pulling your leg. Radio poor reception can only be due to few things. Radio screwed, antenna cable unplugged at the head unit or windscreen ot the printed antenna on your windscreen has been polished off (from the inside). It can be detected if you let then have your car for 4 hours. But since they cant fix it in 4 attempts, you should call the Branch Manager or or go get it check at your acessory shop. If the shop dont rewire your system, you need not worry about the warranty. All the best.

• Camry exterior looks better than accord,its no more uncle car ready.Camry nowdays looks more like lexus standard ready,believe me camry can also mod to have better looks hehehehe,put 18 inch sport rim with a nice looking design kaotim liao.

So those who looking for E60 or E90 can consider this car oso,but bare in mind continental always continental one hehehehe but oklah for those who looking for recon,this 1 new 1 maa.

Overall in my opinion camry is good looking car.

• Agreed Nesh..Camry's interior is not bad too..Will be booking one this week.

Of course if you compare against E60…no fight la :-)

By the way it is "bear" in mind…not bare.

• kkk,u wat age now more than 40 liao ar?So fast agree ready,people in other forum arguing about this thing u know,hehehe relax bro kkk.

REAL TALK.

I drive a recon 2006 E60 and and sure la no fight,and my car already 3 years still looks,sound,drive like the day i took.

I wrote here because recently my sibling bought 1 just 4 days ago so he came and show off to me hehehe,basically i"m not into japanese car but the moment i sat in the car it's worth for the money cause the drivability was good.

For business use also no problem still can impressed a lot of client 1 but not as E60 lah but believe me it can.

If you are a businessman,go ahead don't worry still can impressed a lot people sometimes girls oso hehehehe.

Anyway my E60 still better than camry

Go ahead Mr kkk u wont regret btw thanks for ur grammar correction

Have a nice day.Bie.

• Nesh,

Haha…I am not that old you know…in my late thirties. Are you late in your twenties/early thirties? Sounded like a playboy :-)

Wah…E60 is definitely impressive..you must have a lot of girls :-) How much did you pay for it?

I am driving E39 now (still very good response (pick up) and handling)..Not too expensive to maintain either..Just tired of my old car and wanted a new car..the smell…haha.

I can opt for recon E60 (my budget is around RM200K) but prefer a new car instead which is value for money.

To change from E39 (523i) to Camry….Is it a demotion (jatuh standard)? Will my clients see my differently?

Do you think it is a good move?

Please reply fast as I will be paying the booking deposit this 1 or 2 days…!

TQ..

KKK

• Bro kkk,honestly im 27 years old only and not playboy either.

ok we come back to your questions,

1)How much did you pay for it?

Well mine is a recon unit and its a m-sport spec,so at that time it cost

about

nearly 250k and im not sure whether i pay quite a lot cause some call me

noob whenever i mention the amount..

2)I can opt for recon E60 (my budget is around RM200K) but prefer a new

car instead which is value for money.

Bro,since ur budget is 200k i think based on E60 market value now i think

u still can get a 04 or 03 E60 but recon unit lah,and 1 more thing is that

recon unit unpredictable 1 anytime anything can happen and not many

dealer will give u warranty.Toyota sure gives u a few years warranty so u

would have a peace of mind not like myself have to fork out whenever

anything goes wrong so far no prob hehehe.

3)To change from E39 (523i) to Camry….Is it a demotion (jatuh standard)?

Will my clients see my differently?

Well as i mention to you early its no problem regarding to that but its

depends what sort of business u r doing,do you need to see ur clients

most of time?But continental always continental 1 hahaha believe me if ur

clients are mat salleh they sure impressed wit German marque but asian

no prob as long its new car people says whoaa kkk now using new car lor

some more its camry latest 1 lor hahahahahha.

4)Do you think it is a good move?

i know u are putting ur hard earned money and so expecting a good result

from that.Well based on current economic downturn not many people want

to spent $$$ on maintenance or etc so as far i know japanese people make

reliable and durable rides no matter toyota or honda all same.For example

go check ur tv brand and see how long ur are using it kekekeke.

GO AHEAD LA BRO DUN WORRY you wont regret 1 since they gives u

warranty and u also want brand new car all i can say is that its a good

choice.

• sorry correction 280k after deposit 250 k hehehehe

• Haha…Thanks Nesh.

You are very frank person..My personal email is [email protected]

email me ok? Spend you tea :-)

Btw where do you service your car? M1 at segambut?

Lastly what is your advise on camry 2.0G (with leather seats) and 2.4 (with the push start button..they call it smart entry smart system…everything smart :-0 haha.

KKK

• Paul Tan on Sep 23, 2009 at 12:21 am

kkk, if your 523i is for sale, my friend might want to have a look at it. i have an E39 myself, a 1997 single vanos model. bought it 4th hand. i love it and i dont i would move to a japanese car.

• Ok.. Please email me your hp no. to [email protected]

Will call you asap.

Thanks.

• Bro kkk thanks in advance for your tea,im not living in kl or nearer im living in east cost area.

where do you service your car? M1 at segambut?

No lah bro,i did went there once that was the first and last,so far hehehe

basically most of the E60 things can be done by DIY(do it yourself),such as regular oil change and etc…since the car still new i havent done any major repair or service yet,just change engine oil,filter and hit back the road hehehe

People said that E60 is computerised and only can be done by authorised mechanics or whatever but all that is depend on their own opinion.I did mine and no problem still can jalan and of course lah if major thing i don't dare to touch nanti mampus lor hahaha.

2)Bro technically im not sure about the 2.0 or 2.4 camry but my brother got

himself the 2.4 liter version and the push start button looks like those in

E60 lah,thats all.Leather seats not bad but quite difficult to maintain and

if you got small kids than more difficult kekeke.

Anyway i don't dare to advise which 1 to choose since u might test drove both

and u know wat u need, so whatever is it its still a nice looking camry maa haha

seriously it depends on what sort of driver are you.Hehehe if can 2.4 lah bro.

Tonight my family members are planning to go penang so one the car listed is the camry 2.4 so got chance to test it kao kao hehehe but my E60 sure smoke it 1 kekeke.

I will update u with my journey wit 2.4 camry maybe by tomorow evening

Anyway both a good ride and it really depends on you

Im just a poor guy that can help u little bit on this ride.Bie

• Alitstar on Sep 23, 2009 at 5:04 am

Nesh, KKK: All the best with your shopping. And Nesh, have a pleasant journey.

Do us a favour, give us your opinion sparingly (i'm interested with the E60 523 UK. Spec). E.g.

1. You compare Cam 2.4 against E60 i.e. 520, 523, 525 or 535

2. Tell us about the power. Remember the E60 has 6 cylinders.

3. Fuel Consumption

4. Ride comfort

5. Braking (the sense of confidence when you put your foot on the pedal)

6. Lane change (note; E60 might have RFT tires)

On your service needs, try BMW Club for suggestion. That's is if you wnat to stay away from authorized dealers. Speaking of which, I think Ingress Auto and Sapura Auto seemed to have got all the best, if you can pay.

As for the non authorized repairers, you cant finger which is better. They have an expert in one thing but not all. So you might want to ask around and visit all of them sparingly.

For DIY, you best get acquinted with computers. The Active Steering may get screwed during a normal harmless wheel alignment. Leave it unatended and it will effect your CCC module (Central Communication Console). Service schedule is not fixed by mileage, but rather CBS (Condition Based Service). So if you dont reset them correctly, every weekend some twinkle light will keep you busy.

Buy if you decide to DIY without knowledge, be fair. Dont blame the car as Banyak Masuk Workshop :-)

I also noticed this. That most of the lucky drivers who own a BMW, seldom go back to a Japanese make. Unless the wallet is really, really tight.

• Don't think you are a poor guy :-0

Anyway thanks bro…

• Bro Alitstar thanks for the wishes.

and now to your questions

Do us a favour, give us your opinion sparingly (i’m interested with the E60 523 UK. Spec). E.g.

1. You compare Cam 2.4 against E60 i.e. 520, 523, 525 or 535

2. Tell us about the power. Remember the E60 has 6 cylinders.

3. Fuel Consumption

4. Ride comfort

5. Braking (the sense of confidence when you put your foot on the pedal)

6. Lane change (note; E60 might have RFT tires)

Bro remember im just a person and not car enthuthiast either. I use this 525 msport for daily use only and all the thing im gonna tell u is based on my driving experience of the E60

when comparing camry to e60 all i can say is that its no match la but since most of e60 buyers are going for recon unit so it is something that can be put into consideration,new car wat hehehe.

well mine has done ECU remap so i cant really compare the power wit mine as its obviously more powerfull than the 2.4 camry but standard 525 e60 maybe slighty more powerfull than camry.ECU remap are quite expensive and mine was done in singapore by a person named Bernard who is quite famous wit all this sort of thing and i think u still can find him in the bmw club forum if im not mistaken.

fuel consumption

not bad for the 2.4 camry still ok,but town use its slighty higher than mine as the ride was accomodating nearly six person hehehehe mine only 4.

ride comfort

well since i only drove the car for about 250km or less and from east coast to penang since in between we have change the car,the camry riding comfort is better than the e60 when comparing rear seat.E60 is known to have bumpy rides for rear passenger but camry is ok till now.Highway rides almost the same as i only test about driving at 160 km/h only but my e60 can easily reach top speed without any hassle and the power between 150km/h to the top speed is really really good hehehe.When im getting down hill from genting i found that E60 is the right car for such a road condition as it feel like stick on the road,or its just me that doesnt want to push the camry too hard since its still new haha..

braking issue

i found that E60 still better than camry even though the road is wet,or its maybe im still not good in driving camry or not but i can say E60 are not bad as you would have the confidence no matter how the road condition are.

so thats all i can say about the e60 and camry If you gonna get 523i i think u should go for 525i hehe..just my opinion.

REMEMBER GUYS honestly im not good in the technical issues of the camry but its just im sharing my experience since owning the two rides

all i can say is that Camry is a car that worth for money but remember continental always continental 1 hahaha…

THANK YOU.BIE

• Nesh,

Took your advise and placed a rm5k deposit for the NEW camry:-0

If new car not good (compared with my E39), I will look for you ok? haha..

KKK

• Alitstar on Sep 24, 2009 at 7:59 am

Nesh, welcome back and thanks for your feedback. I would, given the opportunity to settle for a 525 but hope the road tax and insurance gets a favourable revision.

KKK, congratulations on you booking. Reserve you judgement on the fuel consumption until you have completed the 10000 kilometer running-in, you will be suprised.

Thanks guys, all the best.

• Hi Alistar,

After 10,000.00 what happens? Can still cancel Order :-) haha…

• Alitstar on Sep 25, 2009 at 5:22 am

No, No, No, …

Thats when you fall head over heels with your car. The engine becomes much smoother and better fuel concumption.

Dont worry about the running-in procedure. There's nothing much except avoid over-revs (pass the red scale).

• Haha…Ok will give feedback after 10,000 km…Btw don't worry…wont rev an uncle's car :-0… akin to asking uncle to run 100m race?

• Paul,

Is your friend still interested in my E39?

• Henqi on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:34 pm

Hi, does anybody know when will the new Camry 2010 launch? I am looking to get 1 Camry.

Thanks.

• oec88 on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:19 am

There will be no new Camry 2010, where did you heard of this? I guess the all new Camry will only release in end of 2011 or either 2012.

In year 2010 the Camry selling stock will be the same as this one.

To those who do not understand or do not have car knowledge, don't simply write comment here. I've read some funny comment that asking people to buy Volvo S40. That is a hilarious comparison that I've ever seen. Volvo S40 and Toyota Camry is totally different car segment. It's just about the price is nearly the same.

This facelift Toyota Camry is seriously has nice looking. Don't just judge on the photos, see it in real life and you will notice it. The interior is quite boring, but exterior is just fabulous.

• Alitstar on Oct 06, 2009 at 8:36 am

oec88:

There is a 2010 Camry, but it is for the US market. Check here;

http://paultan.org/2009/01/11/2010-toyota-camry-u…

I dont agree with you comment "To those who do not understand or do not have car knowledge, don’t simply write comment here" Because when you make a mistake like the above, there should be another to enlighten you.

The next Camry Malaysia will see will probably be the all new. When? My guess is as best as yours.

• It's desirous, imagine oneself cruising in one of this..sizzling, yeah? Bought a new toyota once and after 5 years the company services turned sour as if they were looking at a real junk with that kind of a look on their faces and being impatient and unhelpful at the same time. No hard feelings, I just want to get that off my chest! I still ain't feeling better. ShXt.

• Al buffoni on Oct 26, 2009 at 2:53 am

It’s desirous, imagine oneself cruising in one of this..sizzling, yeah? Bought a new toyota once and after 5 years the company services turned sour as if they were looking at a real junk with that kind of a look on their faces and being impatient and unhelpful at the same time. No hard feelings, I just want to get that off my chest! I still ain’t feeling better. ShXt.

——————————————

that my frend comes with age!

• Guys, i can't be sure if i'm fortunate or not as a new Camry owner, bought the unit in September. Alitstar, I've got my fingers crossed on your 10K opinion , as the consumption on my 2.0G @3.5k KM is about 325KM/40litres, resulting in me complaining incessantly to my hubby and his standard reply is "Cannot be, everybody says their Camry's fuel consumption is efficient. Let the SC people know on your next service." Secondly, if possible, refrain from pearl white colour, I just took my car for a paint re-spray on the door caused by a reddish clay-colour stain. No idea how I got that but it looked like it is caused by some stuff that was dripped from tree.

• 6 airbags, dual vvti and navigation system must have specs now for new camry!

• abuppf on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:59 pm

fantastic car… i got 2.4L. marvelous….

• Alitstar, I’ve got my fingers crossed on your 10K opinion , as the consumption on my 2.0G @3.5k KM is about 325KM/40litres.

Any camry owners to comment on this?

• My new 2.0 camry consumes about RM0.21 per litre for town driving…which i think is ok. Hey guys, is it normal?

For me, it is savings already in terms of fuel as my BMW E39 consumed much more :-)

• Hi KKK. Thanks for the input. Did you mean RM0.21 / km? Wht's the mileage now?

Assuming it is RM0.21/km :

For a 70 liter Camry,

Cost of full tank = 70liters X RM2.1/liter = RM 140

Therefore, for town driving,

The mileage of a 2.0E = RM140 / RM0.21/km = 666km?

This is slightly more than KBKL's 325KM/40liters = 568.75km for full tank.

• mithiran ram on Feb 16, 2010 at 10:22 am

toyota is the best selling car in japan……..hehehe…….camry is the best ever

• P1P2Haprak.... on Mar 16, 2010 at 11:57 pm

consider to buy camry…. But this car is too hot… Banyak kne curi… i read somwhere news tat told that this car banyak kne curi oooo…. Betui ka??

• SS Wong on Mar 17, 2010 at 9:22 am

I'm planning to buy camry.

Anyone know the fuel comsuption for 2.4?

• bebel jer on Mar 19, 2010 at 4:26 am

great…just bought 1…2.4v..it was truely amazing.. i luv 2 ride it…hua2

• najea on Mar 19, 2010 at 4:31 am

the system was really amazing…i dont want 2 get out from the car…he3

• Don't buy 2.0..lacks power. sigh…Pls go for 2.4..

• tak ada curi la…no prob…don't park at lorong la :-) I had installed another immobilizer…brand name is cheetah. So far..safe and sound :-)

• Don't but now! all new pattern will launch on Dec 2010!! Don be SOHAI!!

• Moderator…pls disallow the use of languages like sohai etc. Smear the website.

• karthi on Mar 26, 2010 at 8:13 pm

haha,,my toyota camry on the way will be delivered by this saturday or monday…camry 2.0G booked pearl white…154k plus rm800 for the colour,,,,,and free bodykit bcos purchased fortuner from same dealer so he offered free…..cant sleep haha waiting waiting……

• nokh88 on Apr 01, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Karthi,

Have you had any sleep so far? 2 more days to go. My advice to you is better get some sleep or you may get sleepy driving your new car and cause some serious damage. Good luck to you. Please share your experience with us later.

• nokh88 on Apr 01, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Oops, got the date wrong. 26/03/10 was last week and you probably got your car by now. How is it?

• karthi on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:16 am

nokh88,,, yea finaly received my camry pearl white,unbelivable 6years dream come true this year,camry change alot totaly different from those 2.2gx model to 2010 model…preety cool
          nokh the car is awesome,,simply super,some said underpower this and that bla bla,,and i feel thats crap bcos my brother owns sonata the merc kind light 2.0 and it really underpower dohc engine..but when i drive this vvti 2.0g omg its super no underpower al lah….its just nice 2.0 for this camry i think

bring from toyota terus masuk rumah and cover with cloth new car mah,,,mileage 100km only alredy 1week plus tak sampai hati nak drive haha,,,tengok pun dah puas.

i feel that the car is awesome with the new facelift 2010 the tail light and infront look…interior perfect,,,i dont regret bought this…perfect large executive sedan

• nokh88 on Apr 01, 2010 at 10:28 pm

Seriously planning of getting a Camry but cannot afford the 2.4. My friend who is driving an earlier version says no need to go for the 2.0G. Hardly uses the auto cruise and leather seat is hot and won’t last long in our hot climate. Also, when you sell, it won’t give you that extra 10k that you initially paid for. Also worried that within the next few months, a newer version will be launch since this model is already more than 3 years.

• I bought my camry 2.0E last year before the new face lift model was introduce on Sept 2009. The accelaration was not as good as the previous model ACV30(model 2005) which i traded in . But i like the shape and the instrument panel with optriton meter and gated gearshift, very classy compared to the previous model. I hope to keep it for a long time even after i retire in a few years time. The Camry is very reliable car and easy to maintain giving you trouble free motoring and very lasting car. I think i have made the right choice.

• nokh88 on Apr 03, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Thanks Amir, About this present model, what are the differences before and after the face lift. Thanks.

• Not much difference between the two, only the front grill and the tail light. I consider it purely cosmetics and you have to pay 5k extra. The rest are all the same. Toyota should have opted for a five speed auto for the 2.0 liter model. Honda have done it even for smaller capacity engine such as the city (1.5 liter) which now comes with a five speed auto. If you want more power go for the 2.4. The 2.0 liter is just nice for those who are not in a hurry. But don’t worry you won’t be left behind. So what are you waiting for…..book now.

• nokh88 on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:11 pm

Thanks Amir,
      I am a family man and 20k is a lot. No need for the sudden acceleration, ha ha. Just thought I need a reliable car until my retirement.

• Yeah, agreed Amir.

Anyway, I Should have gone for 2.4…my 2.0 (face-lift model) is under powered la. The acceleration is somewhat disappointing. Long distance driving is superb.

• Top 10 non-national car segment for Feb 2010 . Camry stood 5th in terms of volume sold. This shows how popular the camry is compared to Accord Transformer (the current model).

• karthi on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:21 am

but my purely advice go for metalic gold or other colour,,,pearl white nice too see….but i tel you only the owner knows the pain,,need to wash the car 2time a week atleast,,as what i am doing now

• Black is also nice, but a bit splash can see dirt all over. Silver can last longer, no need to wash frequently. Just keep on sending for car wash and it will shine 4ever……and the owner will become lazy……….

• i got mine last year in Nov. Grey color. Like this car very much! 2.0 underpower? I dont really feel that at all as i am not using my car to race with those ppl. haha. One thing that disappointing me is the audio set, soooo dinosaur age punya type, plan to change, but have to be patient, otherwise void the warranty. Anyone change it so far?

• The previous model ACV30(2.0E) clocks 10.5sec from 0 – 100km/h, but the current model did 12.5 sec.(From ASIAN AUTO) I think it had got to do with the gated auto shifter, just as the merc 200E 13.0 sec (Standard Model). Compare to Accord 2.0 without gated auto shifter the acceleration was much better. Correct me if I’m wrong.
    Regarding the audio system,I think its ok, the sound is clear and crisp.

• secret on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:10 pm

i think accord and camry are same matter (2.0 vti-l and 2.0G) (2.4 vti and 2.4V). Camry is more than safety than accord. Honda is better about their engine and their features but their safety system isn’t really yet recognize by people for those who are already used it.. btw, im claim that camry is more saving than accord… and accord is more advance than camry…. and the accord body shape is very sexy than camry, let alone its colour is white…. its width, height, length…..

• Nice facelift!

• still dreaming of the car and waiting..is it true end this year will camry will have new transform again??

• karthi on Jun 18, 2010 at 12:28 am

next year end i guess so lah thts how their game usualy to change facelift or model u can study by looking the model changes over the year actualy…camry worth to owned maa,why not consider hyundai sonata i feel not much changes hyundai still reliable and cheap to buy try get 4years car cheap wan over 50% less ler….i have camry and stil prefer drive my old round eye sonata cos handling same only in average but i love too drive sonata cos the handling very soft….

• Hai karthi, read that you are happy with your new Camry 2.0. Am very seriously thinking to change my Estima since it has been a pain in the neck lately. I have tested driving and am ok with it although i dont quite like the interior kayu finishing. I am a ladydriver so i dont make so much fuss on the speeding, accelerating as long as it is not underpowered. Just thinking if it’s gonna be worth it changing from Estima to Camry, or should i go for Accord. i like the comfort that Camry offers, but still it is not camparable to Estima. Also scared if the next model is coming out either Camry or Accord i will be feeling old fashioned oredi!! If only Camry change the kayu finishing then i would probably go for it..
        Please help me to solve my 50-50 decision.. anybody out there!!

• If you are not really anti Korean made, do drop by Hyundai Glenmarie and take a look on their brand new SONATA….fantastic comparing with current Camry & Accord. Hyundai place a unit each of Camry and Accord for comparison.

• karthi on Jan 11, 2011 at 5:08 pm

hye zara,
          since my advice for u lah guys correct me if im wrong
          zara please dont ever go to hyundai 50%plus slash on 2years to 3 years time
          i have suffered this and sonata still with me u wan haha?
          accord is beautiful car but i hate the gear its like normal car and handbrake its like normal sedan i hate tht,but im not telling honda accord bad i dont like the body cutting behind and tail light so ugly,infront is nice thts awesome.

zara why not new estima 2.4 v6

• karthi on Jan 11, 2011 at 8:34 pm

if u have the money why not go for fortuner 2.7v trd very very nice,seriously the suv performance is dam awesome interior good driving comfortable same like camry since we have one in family i can seriously recommend you its nce car even for long dstance no problem in single line road overtack 6cars one time i just piece of cake seriously,fuel consumption not that bad same to camry only abit diff not much come on cmry 2.0 fortuner 2.7 diff alot, but i only would tell metalic white fortuner makes luxury look other colour look like normal dont have the prestige and the gear i went to hill cameron and my dad never the change the gear he just keep in drive mode and the car never show tiredness ohw sign of changn to low gear. go for it fortuner nice but camry give you also the prestige lah

• Does anyone know if Camry will have new model end 2010 or 2011?

Am thinking of getting the current facelift model. Planning to book soon. How long is waiting period?

Any help or advice is much appreciated :-)

• karthi on Jan 11, 2011 at 8:26 pm

usually it depent on ur toyota centre of urs,if they have the model u prefer then its just depend on the bank usually hire purchase if ur current account active or pay slip strong then 2weeks car can be at home but this is only if the show room have extra camry with them if they ordered mostly 1month plus not more then two month.

• KLdude on Jan 19, 2011 at 12:50 pm

dear all, it has been a long and tiring exercise on my eyes, reading all those comments dating back to 2009..lol! didnt know that there were so many toyota/honda/mazda/hyundai/bmw fans out there competing and comparing their own chosen brands..haha! anyways, we all know that a brand new camry is coming out next year but one lucky member of my family is fortunate enough to be granted a new company car..as a company car, it will be driven mostly by the company driver so sitting at the rear is where we will be..so performance and handling would not come into the equation..just ride and comfort which we feel surpass other brands (bmws excluded due to the huge price differentiation & excluding grey imports)..the current camry is indeed a good car, not a great car, certainly no bmw! (i own both a bmw and a mercedes)..just like a few readers commented, horses for courses and the current camry fits the bill of an executive car well with all the ride comfort required and luxurious enough to be driven as a company car without being too shabby..of course, we can always argue about the 5 speed or the lack of airbags but travelling in the traffic choked environment which is kl, most of the time, we will hardly reach above 50kms..for the asking price of below rm200k, it serves the purpose well for executives with drivers as well as for those who is looking for a family car to potter around in..fyi, most of my neighbours have porsches, mercedes, bmws and other continental makes in their garages but it never seems to surprise me that they will also have a humble toyota camry in there as well..this certaily tell us something, right? so, all camry owners rejoice and others, stick to your own brands and please DON’T ever buy a toyota camry..haha! happy chinese new year to the chinese readers and happy holidays for others! :-)

• karthi on Feb 22, 2011 at 3:14 pm

hei guys happy chinese new year to u all happy camry camry chinese new year!
    let it be prosperous and lovely year,those who have wife let it be lead to new beautiful mistress,those who have gf let it be the year have beautiful 2nd gf haha kidding ni..

guys my dad just broke gear pannel gated inside the car omg he change gear from parking to reverse without press brake gosh but very much less expenses since toyata only told the top layer plastic have to change rm 60 plus on altis,

camry my mileage still low almost on year and stil on 21k,camry oklah abit regret why never bought 2.4v but at still we guys only use camry on wedding,family dinner not much on normal day so usual’s cruise on highway only outstaton so no problem i can easily cruise at 180 with all family member 5of them in not bad 2.0G…

ok this 2011 im planning to purchased luxury car,never think about benz yet but in my mind right now bmw as kl dude told more luxury,looking for 2011 model f10 5series
    i actualy love camry still but u knw competing wan teach a lesson to someone, that i can own one.

• secret on Mar 31, 2011 at 3:42 pm

very good car. good than accord. all the features we hoped already on that car. fist off, try u compare accord and camry. u will have know what are the advantages and disadvantages. for me im kinda loving toyota. so i tend to choose camry coz of specs and equipment. honda i would prefer to cr-v and civic. especially type r. =) cheers : by me~~