Hyundai i10 Electric EV set for Frankfurt debut

Hyundai i10 Electric

Here’s a first photo of Hyundai’s new electric i10 set to make its debut at the 2009 Frankfurt Auto Show. The Hyundai i10 Electric will begin limited series production in 2010 and will initially be offered in Korea only. It will be offered to the Korean government, state corporations, and utility companies. No price has been revealed as of now, but the press release mentions “sell” instead of “lease”.

The i10 Electric is powered by a 49kW (66 horsepower) motor, mated to a 16kWh battery which promises a range of 160km and a top speed of 130km/h. Because of the switch of powertrain, the steering, air conditioning, water pump and brake vacuum pump systems have been modified to all run on electrical power now.

The Koreans have improved the standard of their powertrains tremendously in the past decade. From the initial set of engines based on Mitsubishi products, they’ve moved to very competent engines with dual variable valve timing, new engines with turbocharging and direct injection, impressive and fuel efficient R-engine diesel engines, LPI Hybrids and now, an all-electric powertrain! Impressive!

[zenphotopress number=99 album=470]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• brothrsaw on Sep 04, 2009 at 8:29 pm

Good & nice, but sure hope that their maintainance cost can be comparable to Japanese makes.

• Elvis on Sep 04, 2009 at 9:28 pm

China and Korea car manufacturers learning curve are very steep. Maybe we Malaysians should realise that we dont have talents here or maybe we do have talents but too much mixing politic with school system resultant talents with retarded capabilities…what a waste…

• bonuslink on Sep 04, 2009 at 9:52 pm

Its the battery life that still needs to be worked on

Currently the technology is limited that is why Toyota has opted out of the elec.cars project untill the battery life issue has been adressed.

• Rhys Miller on Sep 04, 2009 at 11:01 pm

Its time to change your mindset about Hyundai … before you become obsolete ….

Number 4 in the world now. One of the few car manufacturers to build their own gear boxes …

LPI Hybrid, Electric, Height adjustable air suspension, Temperature controlled seats, smart cruise control, pre safe,…..as the article says… they are moving at incredible speeds …the sad truth is … Malaysian income is not able to afford all these technologies … and with the TAX makes it worse…

Malaysian's can't even afford the japanese tech… that's why you have what they called the ASEAN Cars ….

• Rhys Miller on Sep 04, 2009 at 11:49 pm

What Malaysians need is to build from the foundation up ….. EDUCATIION…. if we can't get this right we will always be chasing (assuming that we actually move forwards instead of backwards) and the gap will always be increasing … There is a reason why many graduates cannot get jobs in the open market … sometimes .. they can't even speak english or worse can't even type a proper formal letter in their native language.

• scanzew on Sep 04, 2009 at 11:51 pm

hoho…nice EV car…too many teaser on electric car but arriving EV here is a long waiting eh…berjanggut la

• scanzew on Sep 05, 2009 at 12:43 am

for me..in half 2010 oil prices skyrocketing again maybe to US$150 to 200 with petrol up to RM3-4/litre… and it's crucial EV arriving here.. with EV embedded with no tax at all make it more reliable for rakyat… or until next poll with high oil prices and 'cekik darah' imported car, maybe it's dangerous situation for current Gomen ma..

REVISE AUTOMOTIVE POLICY….

REVISE!! REVISE!!

• @Rhys Miller, you have some good points there. Our educational system, from schools to universities, have much left to improve. Err, sorry I write about this in the post instead of commenting about the car :)

• MycarMylife on Sep 05, 2009 at 1:56 am

Good one from Hyundai, surely it will kick start the rest of the players in Japan and EU to come out with more affordable EVs.

Just found out that Southern Chinese/ Viet border towns are using Evs ( like big golfcarts ) ferrying tourists for immigration and shopping and here in KL we still see some smokin' Iswara and Wiras ha ha.

Have smoke will travel.

• As far as I hate Korean and their products, I can't be hating Hyundai even though I tried to. They just got the passion to move forward and now even Honda is lagging behind! If proton want to improve like Hyundai, or even at 50% slower rate, education in Mechanical Engineering in Automotive in Malaysia should really take the biggest leap. And not forgetting to fire all incompetent managements and let the engineers do their stuffs! The CEO and top management staffs must also be someone in Mechanical and Automotive field and not just mere business or finance or social science graduate…good one there Rhys Miller.

• farhitech on Sep 05, 2009 at 5:31 am

Teman nengok kete ni dah nak jadi rupa Savvy la pulak >

• SY0H (Member) on Sep 05, 2009 at 10:26 am

Education, economics, politics… the list goes on gentlemen. But I beg to differ. I don't believe in IQ system (which is purely numbers) but I do believe in "skills", "hidden talents" and "opportunity". A person working as a garbage collector doesn't mean he's stupid than an engineer. Let's admit it, its not a fair comparison. It's like comparing an apple to a durian.

I come to realize that engineering has no shortcuts. It is an honest job. The only exception for shortcuts; introduction of new invention that will give you that necessary edge, such as the invention of atomic bomb during the era of gun powder. That's a shortcut. Unfortunately, in Malaysia we don't practice this. Same goes with our car industry, I'm sure we have a lot of good local engineers in Proton, its just probably that they've been lead by fresh people. I believe Proton is still in that learning curve mode. I just hope they'll run faster just like those Hyundai people.

An engineer are trained to be honest and technical wise, everything will be explained by science, such as computer software, calculator and engineering codes. For instance, the simple mathematical term 1+1 = 2.

SOME people (not all), such as a lawyer, a businessmen, a sales marketeer, a human resource or an admin however are trained to be verbally impressive. Good with talking, acting and craping. For as long he could maintain his pose, he will always be on top of the corporate ladder until the next better talker (or cheater) plays politics and kicks him out for good. This type of people can manipulate numbers 1+1 = not necessarily 2 but it could be 3,4,5… catch my drift? Yes, "kaki putar belit".

In Malaysia, I have seen a lot of talented people, regardless of their race and religion are not given the chance to flourish. On the contrary, it is just so unfortunate, that the world are full with these manipulative people. The real working brains such as engineers, doctors and scientist are paid with a very low salary. That's why I never blame these professionals for not returning to Malaysia and chose to work overseas instead. Meanwhile, those "pretty boys" from the Admin, HR, Marketing, smug in their tuxedos, sitting in Air Condition room, are paid three times fold. What a world!

Gentleman, we're not lack of talented people in Malaysia, its just that, they hired the wrong people to lead the organization. Our education system, which ties up with DEB, has its own good gracious objective. Unfortunately, corruptism and chronism has bend every good policies to bad. Majority bumis are not actually benefiting the DEB. The policy is good, unfortunately it has been misused by certain individuals/group. When it comes to bribery or chronism, they do not know bounds, greed are imprinted in human gene, regardless of their race and religion.

• wow.. keter ni ada imbasan Savvy… tiru savvy ke? hehehe

• well said but local universities are training engineers to be the servant of businessmen and politics nowadays. And that rather than exploring technology, they were trained to memorized equations. But it's true, great people goes overseas because there are opportunities there to develop their brains. But well said SY0H…well said.

• AutoShortNews on Sep 06, 2009 at 4:17 am

I hope to see this prototype soon

• Elvis on Sep 06, 2009 at 6:16 am

Well said SYOH….from beginning to the end of your comment…sad but true…i try to do UPSR math which is in BI for my nephew which is very good but so sad that G revert back from BI to BM. I see a very dark age for malaysians. I was in the BM teaching era so i know how bad our students with BI. Cant even put a sentence without grammartical errors. And imagine all the reference books in BI and subjects in BM. So screwed up! Political decision for the good of political gain(so that our rakyat will be 'filtered' from information which is in BI). Our current PM made a very coward decision and G will be faced with downfall in coming general election for it. I hope the next G in charge will quickly amend this. Or else, we will decision again in next general election….

• Kah Kah on Sep 07, 2009 at 5:18 am

You are right, Mech .. I am currently an undergrad in one of the local uni studying Mechanical Engineering .. the teaching method of our lecturers is indeed as what you have mentioned, " … rather than exploring technology, they were trained to memorized equations." ..

The teaching wasnt mean to spur us to think forward, to explore the future .. rather just focus ONLY the fundamental like old times old ways…

I always feel enchanted by various unique mechanical engineering activities and events at overseas universities which aims to tap the creativity of students ..

As my university previously was an university college, a lot of lecturers still cant keep up with teaching in fully English .. they find it very hard to switch from old BM to Eng .. some of the notes given are still in B.M. and the terms explained in BM, I keep wondering how are the university going to achieve global status with this kind of standard .. where the lecturer just wont change their old mindset.

Sorry, my comment is a bit out of topic here, but i feel i need to voice out this fact, I am a "product" of Malaysian Education system who study maths sciences in chinese ( Primary 1 – 6, good grades scored), switch to BM (Form 1 – 5), switch to English (Form 6 lower and upper, which aim to prepare us for university education in full english) .. and now a mix of BM and English in university ?? .. sweat enough with the translation problem for 15 years now …

• SY0H (Member) on Sep 07, 2009 at 2:10 pm

Ok, back to motoring industry, I think I went off topic too much, as usual, LOL.

Anyways, this Hyundai i10 Electric version (like its other siblings) is a very promising technology. Unfortunately, our battery technology is still at its infancy (and expensive). Guaranteed max distance of 130km? That's not acceptable to big city standard as most motorist will spend more time in traffic jam too. The car will be out of power even before leaving KL city center.

Other than having brake-generative system to retrieve some of the energy, I wonder why electrical car manufacturer do not incorporate solar panel on the car's roof and designed small "wind mill" fan tug hidden at the front of the car to garner as much as possible energy. Perhaps its the cost restriction rather than technology, but it will be worth it, no matter how expensive it is. I could imagine, in the car's HUD system, it will show data showing 3 primary energy resource; solar, wind and brake generative. At least with these multiple energy retrieve system, it could delay the power loss and the car will gain extra mileage. Phew~

• mingyuyu on Sep 07, 2009 at 11:33 pm

looks hot

• i think on Sep 17, 2009 at 11:50 pm

when i10 become i100 version… Malaysia could not even create as better as i10… may be i0 only if the same attitude apply in education and engineering field rite… just thinking…